TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 4 July, 2015

#Crime

# crime - Today’s News

SPONSORED

# crime - Thursday 2 July, 2015

Woman in her twenties arrested over shooting in Limerick car park

A man in his thirties had earlier been arrested in connection with the incident and remains in custody.

# crime - Wednesday 1 July, 2015

London 7/7 bomb survivor: ‘There was a thick blackness that was engulfing my whole world’

Gill Hicks lost both her legs in the London bombings 10 years ago.

# crime - Tuesday 30 June, 2015

There’s been a rise in burglary, sexual offences and threats of murder this year

The force is piloting a new incident recording process to ensure reported crimes are recorded consistently.

# crime - Wednesday 24 June, 2015

Man sentenced after cocaine found hidden in his runners

The drugs were in a sandwich bag that was stuffed into the toe of a pair of trainers in a sports bag.

# crime - Sunday 21 June, 2015

Cat bites woman, woman bites man, woman gets arrested

The woman was charged with domestic violence.

# crime - Saturday 20 June, 2015

Man charged over mistaken identity shooting in Clonsilla

Two other men arrested in connection with the murder were released without charge.

# crime - Thursday 18 June, 2015

Dublin woman spared jail after smashing beer bottle over taxi driver’s head

“I’m not going to pay you. Leave me alone or I’m going to fight you,” her co-accused said.

# crime - Monday 15 June, 2015

Child rapist moved to UK after gardaí saw a video of him raping 11-year-old girl

Michael Smith went on to commit further offences in England.

Man has top of ear bitten off in London assault

Police are appealing for information to help find the man responsible for the attack which happened in April.

# crime - Friday 12 June, 2015

An open casting for extras in BBC’s Ripper Street will be held in Dublin next week

Looking like a Victorian-era criminal is probably a bonus.

# crime - Tuesday 9 June, 2015

Teen who took his own life after posting photos online is buried

The PSNI has issued a warning to young people about the death of the 17-year-old.

25-year-old man dies after assault at Dublin guesthouse

A man is being held over the incident.

# crime - Sunday 7 June, 2015

Gardaí search for thief after blade stolen from athlete

The blade was custom designed for the athlete and is of no use to anyone else, gardaí said.

# crime - Saturday 6 June, 2015

25 years on: Sex, death, taboo and America’s first TV ‘Trial of the Century’

Bill Flynn was 16 when he killed his 22-year-old lover’s husband in 1990. This week, he walked free.

# crime - Wednesday 3 June, 2015

New York cop charged with using dead man’s credit card to buy a diamond ring

The prosecutor called it “disgraceful conduct.”

# crime - Tuesday 2 June, 2015

Police chief tells overweight officers: You shouldn’t be ‘waddling down the road’

Sir Bernard Hogan-Howe said officers should lose weight or else risk losing their jobs.

# crime - Monday 1 June, 2015

Baltimore police are afraid to arrest people, and murders are at a record high

The city just had its deadliest month in 25 years – right after the death of Freddie Gray.

# crime - Thursday 28 May, 2015

A mankini ban has been great for one small seaside town

“You couldn’t walk the streets on a Saturday without seeing someone wearing a mankini or what have you.”

# crime - Wednesday 27 May, 2015

Two men arrested after guns and ammunition found in Finglas raid

The search was part of an intelligence led operation and investigations are ongoing.

# crime - Tuesday 26 May, 2015

Two held over shooting dead of Benny Whitehouse in north Dublin

A man and a woman are questioned by gardai.

# crime - Saturday 23 May, 2015

Bonnie and Clyde were caught and shot dead this day 81 years ago

The infamous duo were young, in love, and murderous.

# crime - Friday 22 May, 2015

Man set his pit bull on gardaí as they tried to search house for drugs

The three detective gardaí were injured in the incident. The man’s been arrested.

# crime - Thursday 21 May, 2015

DNA from pizza crust helps identify suspect in murders of millionaire and family

Savvas Savopoulos, his wife, their young son and the family’s housekeeper were killed in a fire at the family mansion earlier this month.

# crime - Wednesday 20 May, 2015

Irish police officer praised for his role in record New York heroin seizure

Dave McIntyre, originally from Co Mayo, helped locate $50 million worth of heroin.

# crime - Tuesday 19 May, 2015

Ireland has a Witness Protection Programme and we’ve spent €400k on it this year

The protection programme was set up as gardaí tackled gangland crime.

Woman dies after 42 years in coma following brutal rape

She has been in a vegetative state in a Mumbai since being attacked by a hospital worker in 1973.

# crime - Sunday 17 May, 2015

State surveillance: What the government and Gardaí don’t want you to know Exclusive

Part Two of TheJournal.ie’s two-part series on state surveillance in Ireland.

State surveillance: How Gardaí and others can secretly monitor you Exclusive

Part One of TheJournal.ie’s two-part series on state surveillance in Ireland.

# crime - Friday 8 May, 2015

Shots fired at house in Ballyfermot in broad daylight

The incident happened at 10am today.

# crime - Thursday 7 May, 2015

Stolen jewellery and guns seized in Lucan raid

They were found during a raid last night.

# crime - Sunday 3 May, 2015

Are taxi drivers at greater risk of being robbed? We asked some to find out

One Sinn Féin TD thinks taxi signs get attention from “undesirables”.

# crime - Sunday 26 April, 2015

# crime - Sunday 19 April, 2015

Man found with 31 pellets of cannabis in his stomach

He was charged and will appear at the Criminal Courts of Justice on Parkgate Street tomorrow.

# crime - Friday 17 April, 2015

Mystery still surrounds art heist of paintings by Irish masters

The paintings by John Lavery, Paul Henry and Jack B Yeats were stolen from a house in Wicklow last year.

# crime - Thursday 16 April, 2015

Shotgun fired at rural Garda station

Sources say it is the latest in a number of incidents.

# crime - Wednesday 15 April, 2015

Has your home been burgled?

Tell us about it.

Thieves are fishing keys from homes and sending the stolen cars to Africa

They’re taking them through your letterbox, gardaí say.

# crime - Tuesday 14 April, 2015

‘You can shop for it like a pint of milk’ – Co Down family blame legal highs for son’s death

Dawn and Carl Owens say the drugs made their some distracted and suicidal.

# crime - Monday 13 April, 2015

Police trying to trace movements of young man killed in ‘frenzied’ stab attack

A man and woman were arrested yesterday on suspicion of murder.

1 2 3 4 5