TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

GRA national executive meeting to ‘consider all options’ following votes for industrial action

The GRA said concerns raised in recent meetings of garda divisions across the country will be brought before the national executive.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE NATIONAL EXECUTIVE of the Garda Representative Association (GRA) will hold a two day meeting starting today to consider feedback from members who have been holding regional meetings across the country over the last couple of weeks.

Last night, gardaí in South Dublin passed a motion calling for the GRA to establish guidelines for a work-to-rule, commencing 19 February. This would see gardaí withdrawing any goodwill activities within their roles such as using their personal phones or personal protective equipment or refusing to attend calls that are not a garda matter.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie ahead of today’s meeting, John Parker, President of the GRA said the decisions made at meetings were a “reflection of views of divisions and they’ll all be brought before the executive for consideration”.

“Irate is too mild a word for how people are feeling,” he said. “Members are livid with the situation and they’re sick of having to apoligise to people for turning up late and not having appropriate resources. They want to be able to go out to the old lady who has been burgled but she has to wait four or five hours because she’s on a list.”

While the chances of industrial action across the board as soon as next Tuesday are not high, Parker said that if the meeting comes out with a particular message, the association will act.

“The GRA will discuss all items that have been passed on from divisional meetings and open meetings, and the campaign ahead,” he said.

Prison officers

Last night, gardaí in South Dublin also passed a motion which would see no garda work in the prison service if prison officers were to go on strike.

Jim Mitchell, Deputy General Secretary for the Prison Officers Association told TheJournal.ie that if its members were to strike, it would be a matter for the management to work out who to put in their place.

“We take on board the sentiment and we appreciate it because there’s the exact same feeling among our guys,” Mitchell said. “There are more prisoners coming in and less officers to deal with them, people are getting assaulted and injured and still coming into work and then they say they’re going to reduce Sunday time and take away pay for night duty.”

Members of the gardaí, fire fighters, healthcare workers, paramedics and prison officers are all due to attend an open meeting on Monday of the 24/7 Frontline Alliance. John Redmond of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors said today that the Alliance will be hearing from members from the floor about how the cuts are affecting them and whether there is an appetite for future cuts.

“I already know that members from the AGSI have made it clear thay there is no question of them accepting further cuts to their pay,” he said.

Redmond said it is not likely that a decision will be made on collective action at Monday’s meeting but he said the Alliance was meeting regularly to discuss options for it’s members.

“We’re meeting on a regular basis and we’re obviously not meeting to have cups of tea and cucumber sandwiches,” he said. “We’re meeting to discuss action.”

Related: Dublin gardaí plan work-to-rule for next week>
More: Gardaí across the country voting in favour of industrial action>

Read next:

Comments (94 Comments)

• Im a private sector worker since 2008 my wages have dropped roughly 30% with job security not assured and the possibility of me having to follow my job abroad looming all the time.
    However I support the frontline public sector workers in whatever action they decide to take- why- simple I have friends and family who work in these jobs and can see how they are being effected – unable to pay bills due to cuts- will lose there homes due to cuts- low moral, in certain sections higher ranking members trying to coverup the problems informing the public everything is fine when clearly there’s massive problems- in the case of the gardai for example not being able to speak to the press to inform them of the real situation in there workplace etc.
    Don’t get me wrong i am also suffering the same as the above but with no union it’s an up hill struggle- but there comes a time when u have to stand up for urself- both private and public sectors are fighting similar battles but due to the media believe they are separate when there not the country should stand together as One- we are being fooled everyday by our govt and laughed at by Europe we look idiotic in there eyes and what’s worse we ourselves are beginning to believe it.
    Also I see Reginald Thompson is back-this man is a troll who puts forward his Sinn Fein views ie-calling those his brothers who were involved in the love ulster parade causing millions in damage to the private sector -he is a scam under a false name to fulfil his ego

• Prison officers, guards, fire service, nurses, teachers, all if ye go on strike, the country is behind you, do it.

• Speak for yourself there, Ted. People in the public sector should be thanking god for their job security! Us in the private sector could only dream of it. My wage has dropped approximately 35% since 2007 even though I’m not in an area which was not all that affected by the downturn, yet am I out protesting!? Of course not. Disrupting the economy isn’t going to change anything! Do you think chanting some catchy song about a politician is going to make money appear out of nowhere and the debt disappear!? You’re living in a fantasyland…

• I hope the government stands-up to the unions. The majority of the public support these cuts to spending. Otherwise, it’s higher taxes. Ted’s comment doesn’t represent most people.

• Unfortunately Ted, this ^^^^^^ is the common sentiment. People haven’t a clue just what it is to work in the public sector. I too have taken a large drop in wages but I am prepared to fight not to take any more cuts. If your prepared to keep taking cuts to your wages I feel sorry for you.

• B 13/02/13 #

Martin, public sector workers have taken similar reductions in pay (25%-35%) and the govt is now looking for more. Cut at the top earners first and if we still need to save money then consider the middle income and then as a LAST resort consider the lower paid and welfare receipients.

This lot are going straight for the lower and middle income earners and leaving themselves untouched.

BTW if you don’t want to protest and be like a lamb to the slaughter then by all means carry on.

• The country is Not “behind” them. Since when did you speak for everyone else, Ted?

• I’m not speaking on behalf of trolls I’m speaking in behalf of the people who want they’re children’s education to be secure, people who want to be safe in they’re homes, people who want want our essential services looked after. As I said before look after the people who look after us.

• Mark since when did you!!!

• You’re ignoring the point there Simon. Protesting hasn’t and won’t get you anywhere in this context. It’s not going to make more money magically disappear. Maybe it will in the fantasyland yourself and Claire Daly TD seem to inhabit but not here… You also ignored the fact that it is virtually impossible to be laid off in the public sector. Incompetent or not! I’m not complaining, the majority of the private sector have been hit harder than I… If you want to continue to pay the humongous wages of the union bosses, then be my guest…

• @martin, Last time I checked God didn’t give the public sector their jobs and the public sector weren’t the cause of the private banking debt that everyone is paying off

• You have a point there Martin. Talk is cheap and I personally think the protests are ignored by government. Withdrawal of services might get their attention though. It’s not about being laid off either, true my job is secure, but my wages aren’t. No point in having a secure job if if doesn’t pay you. Your missing the point that not only are they facing pay cuts but what should concern you is the effects all this will have on the service provided. Gardaí are being asked to do more with less numbers. There are proposed cuts to the fire service which will put both public and fire fighters lives at risk.

• Simon, I’m not saying that the cuts are a good thing, I acknowledge the damage they could cause, what I’m saying is that a few hundred people chanting insults about Merkel and Noonan isn’t going to make the debt disappear. Look how the protests in Greece have further disrupted their economy and damaged any chance of FDI that may help them… @my_opinion No the public sector didn’t cause the banking crisis. Either did 99.999% of the private sector. However, many economists argue that huge public spending was at fault for the extraordinary impact of the banking crisis. Read the McCarthy report if you’d like. Incidentally, civil servants had just as little to do with the Celtic tiger but were not complaining as their wages rose during that… And if you don’t want to thank god for your job, you can thank the government for your job I suppose. Either way, a combination of the two probably can’t take it away from you…

• @ Ted, everyone wants their essential services looked after. Nobody is in favour of unnecessary cuts. And I hate to break it to you, but lots of things our essential services today. A grocery store, a petrol station, a butchers, a telecommunications provider and hate to say it, but so is a bank… Or do you keep your savings under a mattress??

• Since about the same time as you did Mark

• Again Martin I agree that the debt will not go away. And that they can’t take our jobs off us. But as much as the protesting wont make the debt go away saying the public sector have secure job wont change the fact that the lower ranking, frontline staff can’t take another pay cut. It’s not about keeping a wage to buy a new car or holiday. It’s about keeping a wage to pay your mortgage or hear the home you can barely afford. Job security offers little comfort to those who can’t pay bills.

• @ Martin I don’t think anyone is ever going to urgently need a butcher for some meat at 4am in the morning!

• Don’t go there Martin, just don’t go there!

• @Simon but someone in the private sector can afford to lose their job?? @Ted Fair point. But let’s leave the butchers out of this…

• No Martin they certainly cannot. The difference is if the private sector on here seem to think we should just shut up and take it. I would support any worker who fights to keep their pay and conditions. Part of the problem is the public private divide. Another part seems to be old fashioned Irish begrudgery. It’s unfortunate that more private sector workers do not have union representation and have to take substantial cuts in wages.

• There isn’t much union representation in the private sector because we have been cut enough without adding a portion of our wages to another union leader’s €100,000+ wage. If you want to vent your anger, look at Jack o’Connor et al, and the ludicrous wages you are paying them them to achieve very little…

• Ted: allowances are not entirely a part of “essential services”. Also, you won’t find many Irish people willing to surrender to emotional blackmail. Look after you? I think €600 a week (or thereabouts) is looking after you. Also, you won’t find the majority public’s viewpoint on the journal.ie. I’m guessing Unions and their supporters and family populating these threads.

• The Government want to implement paycuts commencing in July. That is a clear breach by Government of the Croke Park agreement. A deal is a deal. A Garda with 5 years service will have pay reduced by €80 a week under these proposals. More paycuts are forcast in January 2014 & 2015. That Garda will have their pay reduced by €170 a week if these cuts go ahead. How can anyone taking home circa €380 a week be expected to take such draconian paycuts lying down. Start at the top. Garda Commissioner €200K PA.

• How is cutting the wages of a small group of frontline workers going to cut the fiscal deficit. What a load of bull. The private sector have been brainwashed into thinking that the cuts they took are for the good of the country. Fair play to you but i have had enough and Im not lucky to have my job or the security that comes with it. I applied for and got the job nothing to do with luck.

• It’s about stopping targeted cuts to frontline worker’s wages. It’s about having just enough at the moment to pay bills and feed our families. Enough is enough. It’s Time for 24/7 to stand together.

• Oh yeah and where do you think the money will come from to finance your idea?

• What about cutting social welfare. Getting money for doing nothing.

• Well why not start with the 72 million travel for TDs as I said yesterday. And then the top brass wages and TDs instead of always coming to the teachers nurses and Gardai, they have no more to give. I really don’t think they you know how bad it is at the moment. And then they want you to work an extra hour for free I’m sure you wouldn’t work for free. People think that teachers jobs finish when the children go home ha that’s when it starts, getting ready for the next day, talking to parents, correcting copy’s, doing out there weekly plan and the list goes on.theres alot more to Gardai teachers nurses jobs that people just don’t see. I know every one has to take the hit but public sector has taken enough there is no more to take. You’d be better of in this country if you owed 5 million rather than 5000. They’ll always come after the poorest first.

• It was explained to you previous that even if they “start at the top” (which I fully support), it would barely make a drop in the ocean. The figures are daunting.

• So frontline workers lose the ability to pay bills and mortgages. Tell me how that gets the economy going.

• You have no idea

• You still haven’t properly explained where all the money will come from.

• @ Regonald “to finance” whose “idea” Regonald? Gardai are paid an adequate wage to do a difficult job – that’s nobody’s “idea”, it’s just the way it has to be and the way it is in every other country. It’s not the case that if you don’t come up with an alternative source of funding that you have to accept whatever cuts are thrown at you. That’s not the way things work. The state needs a police service. That costs a minimum of one adequate wage, multiplied by the amount of gardai they have. It’s upto the government to find that money, whether through taxes or cuts in other areas. You cannot expect a garda to do his or her job on a sub-adequate wage, just because through no fault of theirs, state finances are in poor shape. Mortgages still need to be paid and families still need to be fed and clothed. People in front line services were among the very first to suffer cuts and they have given enough. They certainly cannot withstand what is being proposed.

• Pay needed to be cut because the country is bankrupt and under the IMF.

• The workers of this country have taken enough cuts to pay for the greedy elite and golden circle who blew it all the time to stand and fight for what you have has arrived that’s the mood clearly being expressed good luck to them they have my full support

• Rt- as stated I don’t work for the PS but have close ties to that area- but I stand by what I said
    Public v Private divide is exactly what a weak government want – ur not that much of a threat if u stand alone- play one off the other and we are stupid enough to fall for it-
    The only way forward is a united stance where everybody stands together and a solution is found that is viable for all where everyone takes a share of the pain but not castigated for the pain they endure

• So i hear the next pope might b black eahhhh

• Harry just as a matter of interest what do you do for a living?

• Everyone opposes cuts but nobody has any alternative. I’m not singling out any particular civil servant but I think the entire system is broke and needs to be repaired. If it isn’t repaired, a second bailout with even deeper cuts is likely.

Thank Fianna Fail who got us into this mess.

• Here’s an alternative, start looking at the current social welfare & court system!!!

The continuous amount of money that is being thrown out here is disgracful. Don’t get me wrong people on the social that genuinely deserve it I.e lost their job after years of employment etc. deserve the governments help but there are those who are happy to go through life with no intentions of ever getting a job!!! Sponge of the Irish people.

As for the court system, rob a bank/house/person, get caught, congratulations you have just been appointed one solicitor & council… Don’t worry about the cost we will pay for it!!!!

• @Mark what is your solution ?

• Exactly john and off course there is no sign of Alan shatter hitting any off his mates in the legal system. That’s if his career as a TD goes bellyup he’ll be right back there himself. Legal aid given to career criminals every day of the week, who in most cases are claiming dole with no intention of ever doing an honest days work. Then if the lose a case they continue to get legal aid on appeal. Then you have solicitors who drag out legal aid cases to thicken there wallet knowing its going to be a guilty plea. There are a lot of ways to reform the public sector and save money but all the government can come up with is cut lower and middle class earners. They’re the exact same with budgets hitting the lower and middle class never targeting the higher earners

• Any Gardai meeting up to discuss, plan, or consider a protest or industrial action should be arrested, charged and dismissed from the force, as an offence is being committed. I know they do a hard job but they chose it as a career option and they are still very well paid by any reasonable standard. Wages in the private sector have come down in this recession so the same must be allowed to happen in the public sector, especially when we are still borrowing a billion Euro a month to pay for the provision of public services. People on 55K a year and upwards, in secure jobs for life, with guaranteed regular pay increments, with loads of opportunities for career progression, during these recessionary times have an awful lot to be grateful for and really should snap out of it and stop deluding themselves that they are poorly paid, “under attack”, etc…

• liam its time to move up here it your page

• treason

• Mr Shatter if this goes ahead …. call in the president and ask him to have the army to restore law and order

• The 51% in favour off gardai taking the same cuts as the rest of us in the pole taken yesterday speaks loud and clear and shows that most writers herein have an agenda. I believe if taken to day it would be a bigger vote well up tp 70% so no need to be arrogant and insulting in here

• jim………. it would be great if you could dictate. but we the people have a say over you lot ,,,,,,,, in the minister ,the president, the army and people power..

• want to hear more jim

Add New Comment