TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Gardaí across the country voting in favour of industrial action

Following a meeting in Cork City earlier this week, gardaí in other divisions have been voting on a potential ‘blue flu’ as well as motions of no confidence in Minister Shatter and Commissioner Callinan.

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

GARDAÍ ACROSS THE country have this week been voting for industrial action in informal meetings across the country, TheJournal.ie can reveal.

Earlier this week, it emerged that Cork City Gardaí voted unanimously to pass a motion calling for industrial action over proposed pay cuts, choosing a ‘blue flu’ - calling in sick en masse – as the preferred action.

Following the vote, several other divisions of Gardaí have held meetings to discuss the proposed pay cuts and vote on potential industrial action.

In Limerick, Gardaí also voted in favour of action as well as a motion of no confidence in Justice Minister Alan Shatter and one in Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan.

Garda Representative Association (GRA) President John Parker confirmed today that several other meetings have taken place this week and said that “what happened at the Cork meeting has consistently happened” at the others.

“Representatives have been passing on concerns and issues that arose with members highlighting what they would be willing to do,” he said. “But we want to keep clear heads on this, these meetings have just been a litmus test for things on the ground.”

Parker said morale in the force is low and that the department is “clearly disconnected” from gardaí.

The association will attend an open meeting of the 24/7 Frontline Alliance on 18 February and Parker said if there is any movement by the government to cut payment then “obviously that is when our members’ voices will be heard”.

Related: Cork City gardai vote in favour of industrial action>
More: GRA rejects proposed cuts to garda pay and allowances>
Read: Emergency service workers to join ICTU marches in “large numbers”>

Read next:

Comments (234 Comments)

• @ Robert my take home pay is 329 euro. I work 10 hour shifts, nights bank holidays and weekends. The proposals are going to add an hour a day and a pay reduction of 80 euro. There are other conditions to the new proposals but I won’t go into them. Anyway to make my point. If I’m reduced to 250 a week. I won’t be able to pay my mortgage of 1100. Thats before gas electricity and tv. I cant afford to buy petrol for my car. I’m far from the worse off. One guard is on a weekly take home of -17 euro. I don’t even know how that works. Some guards are qualifying for family income supplement and medical cards. I want to say too I love my job so don’t slate me for being honest. As long as I can pay my mortgage ill keep doing it. Most of us have nothing else to give. I’m not advocating or justifying any actions or proposed actions. I’m just answering your question.

• I agree with the Garda. Ps.Lock the back door.

• I’m a Garda with over 20 years service. my take home pay would be 600 which is the max. this includes all the alliwances. younger Gardai earn half of that. I have to pay the usual outgoings from that, mortgage etc. I pay for health ins as the state does not cover any injuries I receive on duty.ive been seriously assaulted 3 times which required hospital n operations. I paid for them. as a Garda I cannot have a debt, ie if I don’t pay my mortgage I can be disciplined n sacked.i choose to live far from work as my house has been targeted cause I’m a guard. and people say its easy being a Garda. it’s easy to comment when u can free dial 999 n expect someone to come to ur assistance.

• The biggest thing is shift work. Not all but a huge amount of members will spend their career in a shift pattern working at all hours. This can be very bad for your health and has a big impact on your social life.

• I can guess how the no confidence votes will go too.

• Blue flu !!! Shatter ur a complete muppet !!!! The Garda have my vote !!

• Mick 09/02/13 #

It is time for the Gardai take the moral high ground. They have been doing a job in what has become increasingly dangerous and hazardous circumstances due to the neglect of any duty of care shown by this government . Smart policing is about less cars less stations less pay less security for you and me ! Is Ireland the only country in Europe to cut police pay during a recession !! A democratic society cannot function without an effective well resourced police force and this government will one way or another be shown that.

• Industrial action is not actually Striking and the bue flue may not even break out But either way I will be with the Gardai 100% and the best of luck to you all

• How can a TD almost claim a guards yearly salary in expenses?
    And many of them are, or close to it.

We soon won’t have any nurses left as their being driven to seek employment elsewhere.

It really is time to stick together both public and private.
    I feel the Gardai are being backed into a corner and have to take a stand.

• Shatter makes them sick !
    Shatter not in touch with the real world.
    A very arrogant Minister .

• Fair play to the guards it’s about time they stood and took action. 95 stations cut and the very unfortunate murder of a detective and the govt thinks they should take cuts …. It’s a disgrace

• Since when did going on strike become a luxury Enda? It’s not true to suggest private workers can’t strike either. Going on strike is not something that’s decided upon quickly or easily – usually its the last option anybody wants to engage in but I fully support the Garda if that’s what they decide. Shatter has brought the Garda in this country to the brink & they have to take a stand or he will continue his austerity programme until we have a skeleton crew left to police our streets. Next you’ll be saying Garda are a luxury FFS !

• It’s not illegal. It’s high time Shatter was shafted! He’s not capable in the Justice portfolio!

• Shatter will have no choice but to back down. Listen to your own people minister, not the troika.

• The government must be laughing at ye all, public Vs private sector, exactly what they wanted to happen. We’re all in the same boat being pissed on by Fine Gael & Labour. We elected them to take a hard line over bank debt and they capitulated to save their fat salaries and fatter pensions.
    The private sector need the public sector to take a stance and bring the country to its knees if required. It’s the only way they will take action.
    So, stop the “I’m worse off than you” bulllshit and stick together to fight the real enemy, enda kenny and his fellow liars.

• Debate is always healthy but theres a lot of ppl on here talking about something they know NOTHING about. Don’t come o here talking about a gardas wages and saying they are overpaid when you’re not in the job, you dont see their pay cheques and you dont have a clue what a day in that line of work can be like.

• Alan Shatter is away with the fairies !

• During the economic boom the people in the private sector (like trades men) earned the weekly garda wage in one or two days. Back then the Gardai did not complain and the private sector never thought about the public sector workers. Now the economy is in the toilet the private sector look at public sector jobs with jealous eyes. Are you private sector workers going to remember how you treated the public sectors when the economy gets out of this slump. I hope the same people that currently complain that the public sector needs more cuts will say that the public sector needs wage increases.

• It’s interesting how the focus is always on the guards and the nurses. Regardless of the facts, figures and arguments – are those really the areas we (the citizens) want to see cut?

There is a serious problem with overspending of public funds in this country. But I don’t think those are the areas with the biggest waste. Just look at how poorly equipped the guards are, by international standards. The issue of all the stupid allowances is widespread across the PS. It doesn’t mean the final take-home pay is too much.

I applaud the Gardaí for standing up to this. We should all be supporting them.

• @Sean you havent a clue

• Everyone chill and see the wood for the trees…. This government WILL cut public sector wages and by that give the private sector licence to slash their wage bill it’s race to bottom now.

• The garda should take a cut when shatter takes one . And only then . The nurses will when o reilly dose and so on . I think that fair

• Absolutely slash ever bodies only stop when the country can sustain the pay levels

• An we could double tax bracket for private sector aswell that would get us sorted quicker, simple

• Vinny private sector employees are what keeps the state going. Unlike the public sector employees when the money coming is less than money going out. The job is gone. This is what is happening the money in is significantly less than money in.
      Simple economics.

• Every cut has a price. When front line public servants default on mortgages, loans and turn to social welfare for assistance will you be happy. The reality is that proud, professional working people whom we all depend on for our society to function are crying “Stop this madness. We have given all we can but another cut will destroy our families and our society. We have given all we can to Ireland’s recovery”. Im public sector and I love my job, but the paycuts being proposed are so draconian that they simply must be defeated.

• One of the main points of contention is the proposal to cut anti-social hours payment and overtime payments and Saturday and Sunday allowances.

An 18 year old working in a Spar shop gets double time on a Sunday. Why the hell shouldn’t Gardaí?

An electrician/plumber/locksmith/mechanic gets paid extra for out of hours service. Why the hell shouldn’t Gardaí?

Garda pay is reasonable for the job that is expected. Cutting pay will make it unreasonable.

Comparing who earns what is pointless. Our jobs are all different. Conditions/hours/risk, hence our pay is different.

I’m just in the door from work. Should I not be paid a reasonable rate for working on a Saturday night into Sunday morning?

• People are giving out that Garda are overpaid can I ask have you ever worked as a guard the answer is probably no so you won’t know the s*** guards have to put up with and risking there lives everyday I think no amount of money can pay them for that.

• That Harry Price guy is insane!

• You have no chance of living a comfortable life in the public sector at 30-40 years of age unless you are on at least 120k a year. When you have a few kids 2500-3000 per month doesn’t really cover very much.
    Throw in a few “big” salaries and see how hard it is to make ends meet particularly when you factor in the cost of working.

• Governments way of deflecting from their allowances for doing nothing,
    Lets remove all allowances, except nights , weekends and public holiday pay
    Then anyone who says we’re overpaid , I will listen too, with respect

• lorak 09/02/13 #

How many put their lives on the line every time they go out the door to work? Gardai never know what will happen to them when they go out to protect the public. How many get assaulted each day?
    Now ask yourself, how many civil servants, and/or private sector workers put there lives on the line?

• A continuing argument that is put forward is that the money is not there to pay the public sector employees.

I had a plumber in my home 2 weeks ago for 60 mins, he charged me €80, (no parts just labour cost) should I have said due to lack of incoming revenue I am going to have to cut your salary.

Some may argue that if you can’t afford a plumber you should not look for one. Unfortunately it had been a cold week and my heating was not working. You could say it was a bit of an emergency. So I paid him knowing that I needed the service that he was providing.

If you don’t think you need a nurse, a garda, a fireman ( I genuinely hope you won’t ) but if you do only then will you appreciate these people, they are working now so when you need them they are there.

I don’t resent giving the plumber a large portion of my take home pay, he helped me when I asked him too and I know he had bills of his own that he needs to pay.

• Just when I paid my car tax

• The Gards arent paid enough.. Its easy for the Suit and Tie private sector worker to hide behind his desk day in day out… Public sector need the money, the recruitment and the Governments help BADLY! some horrid idiotic people out there if the gards went on blue flu for a week wouldnt take long to see your crying little jaws doing all your good at complaining.. With your big salaries! I hope the gards do blue flu and theres absolute chaos THEN ye and the cronies in the dail might COP ON!!!!

• The people on this make me sick slagging the public sector workers , tell you want ! Mind your own kids and teach them , don’t ever ring the guards or any emergency service for anything . Lastly don’t ever get sick . …… Sick of it !!

• All this unrest from the public sector should have happened about 4 years ago…. So why now?????

• How about instead of cutting frontline services the government instead of buying high end cars to have themselves driven around in they buy small affordable cars that don’t cost 30 or 40 thousand each a cheap car still gets you from point A to point B

• Its amazing to think that if 200 jobs became available in the morning for new recruits there would be minimum 10,000 applicants, even with these austerity measures. i

• Point should be there will be NO further recruitment for the foreseeable future…

• That depends on what their pay and conditions would be and we don’t know that yet. Look at their scheme to recruit 1000 nurses at 80% normal starting pay: apparently they received 100 applications before the deadline and have switched to what they call a “rolling deadline” until the 1000 quota is reached, which it may never be.

• Come on people , show me some red thumb love ………….

• Private sector workers don’t have the luxury of striking or the inclination. They are more concerned witj keeping their job.

• Public sector workers are, in my opinion, very well paid for the important job that they do.

An example – my sister in law, a Garda, complains regularly about her severe financial difficulty. She lives in a comfortable 4 bed semi in a nice part of Dublin, she and my brother (another Garda) drive 12 d cars, they’re going to Florida this year with their 2 kids, etc.

My beautiful little niece (only 2 years old) was in the doctor the other day and was referred to a cardiac consultant with a possible heart problem. The Garda medical programme is picking up the tab.

I don’t begrudge them. Front line PS workers are invaluable. There is nothing wrong with important public servants being well paid.

But in comparison to the rest of us, they are in very good shape. I am a solicitor, not the most popular profession, I accept. I trained for 8 years (4 years in Trinity, a year of FE1s, a 3 year training contract) and I’m now a couple of years qualified. I can’t get a mortgage because I’m a contract employee. I can’t afford private medial insurance. I earn less considerably than my brother and sister in law. I work very long hours. My clients occasionally call me at 3am, so I am constantly “on call”.

My job is difficult and important too. I’d also like to be able to buy a house. If I had kids, I’d like to be able to afford medical insurance so that they could have the best, but I can’t afford it for myself.

It’s a conundrum, this world we live in.

• for everyone of these guards u know there are the 1s who can’t afford the Garda medical aid. this Garda health ins was set up by the Gardai themselves. I know a lot who have stopped this health ins. the younger Gardai (and 60% r under 10 years) r under severe pressure as their salaries r poor n they bought during d boom

• The “Garda Medical Programme” as you so put it costs €3900 a year for a family of 3 children… €75 per week. It’s a common misconception that Gardai have this magical health insurance as a perk… The Medical Aid Society is a private health company set up by members themselves and costs the tax payer no more than vhi or Aviva

• Seriously though, is that not illegal?

• You’re illegal.

• Call the Gardai and report it

• Julie 09/02/13 #

Lost of things done in this country are illegal, this is a good thing, frontline public sector can’t take anymore fair play to them!

• It’s not illegal to be sick

• sean 09/02/13 #

To strike is illegal, to call in sick in the masses is not. Although, calling in sick without any repercussions is just a usual day in the public sector! When will everyone who works in the public sector realise the are paid too much and have it too easy. Probably be red thumbed to death here but needs to be said. It should, though, start from the top. #becauseimworthit – not!

• Striking is illegal but all of them calling in sick isn’t.

• I’m sure the gardai who qualify for family income supplement and have medical cards.. The govts own measure if low paid will take comfort in your generalisation that all PS workers are well paid!

• @ Sean
      You Saying “I’ll probably be redthumbed” is like that scene from Taladega Nights when Will Ferrall says “with all due respect” before openly insulting someone, thinking it’ll some how justify an idiotic outburst! These proposed cuts are targeted at our Frontline Workers! It’s an attack on shift & weekend & public holiday pay!! These cuts won’t affect the general public sector office worker or the men upon high!! It’s an attack on Gardai, Firefighters, Paramedics, Nurses etc! Are you saying the latter group are over-paid!?!?!

• Julie 09/02/13 #

That’s rubbish, frontline staff are struggling the same as the rest of us and there job is a lot harder, enough of this s€€t, we shouldn’t be doing this, oh he deserves a cut and I don’t, it is clear the government have targeted people on middle income, knocked them down to lower income and are going after them again for more cuts.all the while making sure the bankers and bondholders get all there money! This government, whether you are private public, unemployed, old, young, unborn or emigrant, they have screwed us all.

I believe the only way for real change is not going around in circles form FF, FG and labour. I strongly believe it is time to give SF and the independents, they couldn’t do a worse job then what that lot have done. Ignore media propaganda ( media is owned by rich business men who stand to lose money if SF get into power, they not goin to support that they going to try and stop that at our expense, just look at the spin on the prom note so called deal) go do some finding out for yourself. I just think we need to try a different approach this is theft and destruction at the hands of corrupt politicians, its a disaster and has to be stopped. All the have done is pass the debt onto my generation and my future children.

• @sean

….overpaid AND have it easy?

Wiseup

• Certain ranks and positions in the public sector are paid too much like the commission in the guards but his pay is not being cut, the government are talking about cutting the ordinary guards pay by €500 a month, thats €11,000 a year thats on top of the universal social charge and pension level that depending on lenght of service works out at between €6,000 to €9,000 if you cut a persons pay by what could be up to 50% in the space of 4/5 years while their conditions at work and equipment they use deteriorates, before you compair their pay cuts to the private sector take the following into account, guards are retiring and are not being replaced, they had overtime in the past to make up the shortage of guards but now they just have to make do, crime is on the increase despite what shatter says as top management are under pressure to record crimes differently so as not to increase the figures, unlike the private sector the guards is not a profit making organisation, in reality the guards have never been so busy, have less members to deal with crime, have less members per head of population than most counties in the developed world, what business in the private sector when they are at their busiest ever would reduce its work force and stop paying overtime and then introduce massive pay cuts.

• sean 09/02/13 #

@ Nuff – yep, I’m saying, compared to other country’s around the world, they are largely overpaid.

@Liam – Are you serious? Show me one full time, regular, Garda member who meets your criteria, not the trainee. Tell me, if you ran the country, how would you save money? AND, lol, thanks for the suggestion, am currently speed reading the idiots guide to running the public service. Grow up and actually have a real debate.

• well said man.

• I am a full time garda member.. 7 years service.

So then?

• When comparing to other countries did you take into consideration, standard of living in those countries, tax rates, quality of equipment used by the other countries police, standard of investigation of crimes reqired by courts in those countries, price of property, inflation rate, lenght of service required until entitled to a pension?

• sean 09/02/13 #

So, http://www.gra.cc/pay__scales_budget_2010.shtml – the GRA’s own figures showing you earning €40,000+ per year isn’t enough for you and your family to live on? That’s more than 90% of private sector employees wages! That’s without you doing overtime @ €32 per hour. If your claiming social supports then you should be investigated for fraud! Unless, and I do mean this sincerely, you have other extenuating circumstances.

• Red Robin
      Falsely reporting illness while drawing wages could be considered either theft or fraud. For Members of An Garda to indulge in such behavior could result in their employment being terminated with prejudice and a case being brought against them by the DPP.

• sean 09/02/13 #

@ my opinion – yes, and I also took into account ‘number of sick days’ and ‘overtime rates’!

• @ Sean
      The ‘My Opinion’ lad beat me to it. His comment sums up my argument retort perfectly!

• All this talk about front line workers being targeted. Well guess what the whole private sector has been targeted 400k don’t have jobs. The front lines employers are insolvent and borrowing money to make pay roll. Simple matter of fact is that we as a country can not afford to pay the wages. It’s unfortunate but its a fact.

• Sean, in fairness I take home 325 a week… Irrespective if what the annual salary is, such is the level if deductions that come out of my wage per week. Single income family 2 children… Would I be better off on the dole?

The point is I will be 80 a week down if the proposed allowances are cut. I agree that the public sector wage bill is inflated, but the high earners, my supervisors etc will NOT be affected by allowance cuts, as the allowances don’t apply to them. This is the reason I and others in my shoes feel we should stand and say no more!

Making general assumptions and quoting annual wages is not a true reflection of how I am barely managing week to week. Any more deductions and I fear I and my family will go under.

I will say no more on the matter, obviously you have made up your mind that I’m overpaid..

• Julie 09/02/13 #

But we can afford to take on private banking debt screwed up country and government!

• To receive that rate you would have to have 8 plus years service, over 60% of the guards have less service than that therefore your arguement does not relate to the majority of then. Also overtime rates are like saying there is provision for everyone to get a free car in the guards, all good and well on paper but no one is getting overtime anyways so the rate might as well be €1,000 an hour. Over time is taxed to death to the point of for every two hours overtime worked you actually take home less than then the one hour rate. In all reality when you work two hours overtime and after you take into account deductions you have for all intents and purposes worked one of those hours for free

• They will have to work hard for their money now

• 500 a month by 12 is not 11000 its 6000. As its before tax your looking at 300 cash a month.

• @brian My apologies your absolutely right

• Ur a gobsh1te sean who has not got a clue. Good bye!

• sean 09/02/13 #

Liam, that’s the thing about debates, we hear both sides. Look, I and a lot of others in the private sector, can only go by the figures that are available. As the GRA is your representative organisation they quote the take home pay of a 7 yr Garda member as 525 per week. I, and most reasonable people, would think that’s a pretty good take home per week. So why is there such a big difference?
      Liam, I’m a reasonable man, if that’s all you get then I really hope action is taken. Social welfare is a joke as well, €400 per week for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids plus your rent paid for you – actually works out more for you than your current take home pay. My mind is never made up, I speak about facts alone Liam.

• sean 09/02/13 #

@ David – Thanks for the contribution, your obviously a lovely man yourself.

• Sean …. (1) It’s very easy to comment on the lengths that some sectors such as Garda have to go to so as just to be listened to by a dept or a minister…. If a sector isn’t permitted strike then they are handcuffed and there’s no protections built in for the worker – You’re effectively given a “take what we offer you”, “do what ur told” and Ignored…
      (2) There’s other situations where people could effectively decide that a job isn’t worth it and way back at last dispute in 98 they could have all sent in resignations/retirements in-block and achieved same result and insisted on “full reinstatement for all” only it would have caused chaos for the dept as regards admin and return to work…
      (3) you say over paid and have it too easy…. In Gardai there is no “carrying a gun” allowance…. There is no “getting shot at allowance” … There is no “danger money” allowance.. There is nothing but the remuneration for doing the job. If you take on additional work, additional responsibilities and additional risks such as being assaulted, stabbed, stuck with needle, or just the usual public order situations such as 5 or 6 lads around you while you’re lying on the ground getting the head kicked off you and hoping assistance will b along quickly then u deserve the pay …
      **** If you dont want to pay a Garda for being on call 24/7/365 then don’t expect him to be available. Like BSE & foot and mouth at border, Gardai were transferred from 1 end of country to other & away from family.

• So guards who have been assaulted and suffered serious injury are overpaid. Guards are not being paid enough would you go and be a guard and suffer abuse and even have the risk of being assaulted or even killed and still be paid on a Garda salary.

• Everyone’s take home us different, tax credits etc.

If I went in the dole tomorrow I’d get @ 380/week.

It’s the same for most frontline.. Cut the upper echelons of the PS, those on 90K plus, not us who are struggling

• * is different

Grrr autocorrct

• sean 09/02/13 #

@ Liam – I completely agree.

• 50% of €40000 = €20000 less average 13200pa mortgage repayments = 6800.
      6800 – 3120pa for travel to and from work (60€ diesel per week) = 3680. Car and house insurance average 700 = 2980. Not alot let out of 40000 for food esb gas and all the other costs of living

• sean 09/02/13 #

Sorry Vinny, tell that to the rest of us in the private sector, we’re all in the same boat.

• Brian if the people who run the country are broke then will u be happy to pay 50 or 55% income tax, surely with such matter of fact solutions for the economy you will take more pain yourself? Also 400 thousand people loosing their job is not a good argument for not paying some of the people who havnt lost theirs. Surly someone like you understands that

• Ya sean but i dont go around pretending that your paid a fortune and saying that your pay should be cut or your taxes increased. Mind you, neither do you

• sean 09/02/13 #

@ John

1) No argument here other than to say if the Gardai were given the right to strike the civil unrest could get out of control.
      2) Agreed to a point.
      3) Like I said during the Nurses debate, its all part of the career path chosen. If you ask any Garda member did they sign up based on the money they receive I’m sure the answer would be no. My statement about over paid etc was a general one targeted at the PS as a whole.
      **** I actually think the closure of Garda Stations around the country is the real big mistake. I appreciate days away from families etc like given in your example, but isn’t that why O.T. Is €32 per hour?

• Ya dont get overtime for days away from family. In alot of cases you get nothing and thats fact

• They’re moany holes.

• Top comment there Padraig.

• Sean … I can see the balanced side of you argument and in an ideal world the argument would be valid… Yes re career path but when u apply to be a garda while you are aware that it can be risky you look at it through rose coloured glasses and you see the Glam side of it, the excitement, the helping others etc but you don’t focus on the heavier side or u’d never join….. Just like when u put on your stab proof vest you don’t stop to think (this might save me from bring stabbed)…. You just treat it as item of uniform like your hat. You couldn’t function professionally and would be a liability to your colleagues if you had a constantly switched on fear… You often have to just get by on your wits, adrenaline and an ability to talk/negotiate to defuse a situation where you are isolated and out numbered. The first Garda/Gardai to arrive at a row often have to wade in and help members of the public and take the injuries inflicted on them while back up is on way…..

Pay for working Sundays, public holidays & night duty is not all
      Overtime… In fact most of this duty is done on rostered duty… I was rostered to work christmas day & Stephen’s day and I worked it not because I wouldnt take a days leave & enjoy with family but because I’m on a small unit, myself & one other and you don’t let the side down. ….. There are many who travel long distances to work and they don’t get to see kids open Santas presents (big event in my eyes) or don’t get to go out for new years eve

• sean 09/02/13 #

All I’m after is fairness, if your bringing home €325 per week after 7 years then I’ll happily stand next to you and fight for your rights. If the GRA focused publicity on this figure vs what’s available from the social there would be a lot more public support.

• So is economic treason I see nobody from FF in cuffs. As is political corruption yet minster Riley is int in cuffs as is extortion yet minister Howlan is not in cuffs etc.

• Not to mention more provision of services, free health, better childcare provision, more efficient public transport..etc. Our take home pay in this country has to cover a lot more, so you cant just compare 1 countries take home pay with anothers. You have to look at it in the context of these parameters.

• @sean
      Tell us what you work at so we can systematically break down your wages and do a good comparison

• sean 09/02/13 #

Fair enough – I was made redundant over a year ago, then I decided to start my own business a couple of months ago providing web and graphic design services. I will, hopefully, have 3 staff hired within the next 3 months and am currently taking about €200 out of the business per week until its fully established. So I’m living off my redundancy and about €200 per week at the moment with a mrs and 3 kids to feed. I’m hoping it will be successful and, with a bit of luck, and some 18 hour days, I’ll probably pay myself €40,000 per year if it is. If not… Well, that’s the risk I’ll be taking not working in the public sector or for an established company and am not going to think about that yet. I’ve never asked anyone to disclose what they take home, its published on the GRA website. If you’ve read all my posts you’ll see my opinions and I think they’re fair and reasonable (jokes aside).

• @sean I have read your comments and commend you on setting up your business. I genuinely hope it works out and best of luck. The problem with the guards is that they like all public sector workers were asked to pay a pension levy. They did. Then take a pay cut. They did. Now work more for less. They did. Now with station closures, limited fleet, no back up, no chance of movement or transfer it has taken its toll. Now asked to take another hit that will affect not only now but your pension is too much.

Now before I’m jumped on over the pension issue we do pay for it. I view it this simply that for days spent away from family at those special moments and 30 years of dealing with being attacked you deserve it.

• Sean … Fair dues to you for being entrepreneurial & possibly adding jobs….. You have a skillset much in demand & trained in an area where there can be huge potential…. Unfortunately many people who left college and committed themselves to a career as Garda don’t have the fall back of the up to date skillset….. I myself studied at 3rd level, firstly in the business admin field concentrating on accountancy & foreign languages. I then found my interest was computer programming…. When recruitment for Gardai restarted after a moratorium, I left good opportunities behind to follow a career path I had always dreamed of. Over the years, When I met people I was doing the same course as & I saw they had big cars and houses compared to my semi-D then I often wondered “what if” but I never regretted it – not til now … Morale is lower than Ground-Zero …

Some of the Gardai who contact me over the past year have been asking for a redundancy package…. They would love to be in the situation you are… They want to get out but theyre boxed in & if they leave they get nothing… A paltry reduced pro-rata pension deferred to age 65…… They would love to be in your situation Where they get €200 a week & have a lump sum to draw from (maybe none this week but ability to take €100 to €200 xtra the next week or even any amount of the lump sum…. Some are excellent carpenters or mechanics & could start again but they are being offered no exit package . All not rosy as a garda

• Whats the name of your company sean?

• @Sean

And in comparison to other countries, what is the cost of living?

The real problem is that that workers in the private sector are being paid too little. They need to start standing up for themselves and stop trying to knock others.

• I fear Sean is one of the 26% of brainwashed gombeens who plan voting FF in the next election. There is just no reasoning with some people.

• sean 09/02/13 #

I take your point John. It would be political suicide to mention the word redundancy in Government so I can’t ever see that happening.

• sean 09/02/13 #

Sorry Vinny, it’s only Michael O’leary who thinks that there’s no such thing as bad advertising and with the red thumb whacking I’ve had tonight, it could be buisness suicide. My own views are just that, and no reflection on my work either way, so would rather not say. And to the previous poster about my voting views… No, I’m sticking with Labour, probably as the only support I got whilst setting up my business was from a local Labour Councilor and a Labour Senator. Realistically… Is there much difference between any party these days?

• Sean labour, for parish politics reasons, sorry to hear that as most of your opinions were based on a national view , frontline workers wouldn’t be as annoyed of these cuts were across the board, stop allowances if you like but acknowledge nights and weekend work and public holidays, there are plenty of dubious allowances payed by the state before you think of these allowances

• sean 10/02/13 #

I agree Shay, but here’s the 3 scariest words to a politician…. Croke Park Agreement.

• €325 a week? What! My mate is working in O’Briens making sandwiches coming out with more than that!!

• Sorry Brian Magee but some of those 400k unemployed are public servants too you know. It simply isn’t true to say that there have been no job losses in the public sector. 3,000 jobs have been lost in education alone, not to mention temps in the HSE. The problem is the job losses haven’t fallen where they’ve needed to.

• There has been no compulsory redundancies

• Good to hear someone contributing some sensible comments to this issue. Those dramatic “40% cut” comments are being thrown around without any real qualification. The allowances should have always been taxed. The gardai are relatively overpaid by international standards. Fact.

• You might want to check your figures because i’m nowhere near €40,000 never mind plus

• Don’t brand all private sectors and those council workers with chushy jobs they are all being weeded out. I’d say you are the type who’d be the very one to complain if you needed help but had to wait coz of all the cut backs and loss of stations . And if you saw the wages they got for the hours they do and the shit they have to take. I’m not a Gardai but I sure wouldn’t do the job ….. Now back in your box love

• Sean I take that back. Reading your further posts i realise you are a reasonable man once presented with the facts on Garda pay. I direct it instead at Brian Magee.

• The problem Brian is that the laws of economics do not apply to the Public Sector. And never have. As you rightly point out, money is being borrowed to make payroll. This could not happen in a private business.

• @ Eamonn Bolger … You say “the laws of economics don’t apply to the Public sector,Money is being borrowed to make payroll”
      …. Economics as most other things is a finely balanced scales. Public finance is made up of a lot of € expenditure and income..
      Firstly when times were good & SOME workers were making money hand over fist, (examples given at the time were the block-layer getting paid a certain £ per block rather than hourly rate)..driving big cars & buying big houses the public sector worker plodded along at an average wage (or slightly above for those workers with degrees or whose work entailed additional duties). Even the low paid public service worker had the wage benefit of consistency, regularity and security…. Those benefits are what’s being castigated online by people. But now in the economic downturn we see that a lot of that consistency has been attacked. The cuts were made to public sector pay before Croke Park – there was a 5% pay cut & a 6% pension levy, together with the rises in USC and other taxes n levies most are taking home 21% less..(urgent tidying up of the balance sheet is the cutting of excessive expenditure where Govt Depts were purchasing/procuring at over-inflated prices, where bulk buying principles weren’t adopted & where individual tenders cost more, the Fraudulent or excessive Claims in the Social Welfare system where some prefer to remain on welfare as it pays more benefit than work would. Also the non payment of income due to govt

• @john Parker: the reality John is that we cannot spend more than we earn. This is basic economics which every household is familiar with. The state is no different – and should not be.

In a normal business if income reduces then overheads are reduced. It is a necessity. The Public Sector management – in the main – appears to be incapable of staying within budget, either in a day to day basis or for projects (PPars anyone?).

I do however agree with you on SW. The number of people on “invalidity” or “disability” beggars belief and undermining the people who actually ARE invalids and disabled.

Again this is a function of incompetence in the Public Sector that this is allowed continue.

So don’t be surprised or indignant when people point out the glaringly obvious economic contradictions that make up our Public Sector.

• @ Eamonn Bolger – I am well versed in economics. We are agreed on income -v- expenditure – But you’re missing my point
      (1) Yes, we can’t spend more than we earn. Cutbacks needed to be made…
      # my point is No more cutbacks on remuneration. Its Cutbacks on the wastage/free money etc that need to be made. People seem to forget cuts were made to wages prior to Croke park & also pension levy was introduced & other hits resulting in min of 21% less in take home pay…. Manpower is almost reduced from15,000 to 13,000 making a 13.5% cut shouldered by the remaining workforce. A working week that used to be six days of 8 hour shifts is now six days of 10hour shifts – 60 hours before you get a rest day. Expenses were cut by 25%. People on the outside looking in forget this and suffer from the “more pay cuts needed” mentality…

I would liken your argument to that of the Multiple supermarkets. Pricing a branded item on the shelves and then being able to sell below cost because they insist on merchandising costs or kickbacks for stocking a product until eventually the farmer is being paid less for milk than people supplying water, or the supplier goes bust… HOW LOW CAN U GO…
      Gardai have supplied their services at a set cost. This has been reduced to what many wd now consider breaking point level … They are saying ENOUGH IS ENOUGH..

SOMEBODY should WAKE UP & SMELL THE ROSES – Garda backs are against the wall – They will not take it lying down. It’s our employers choice

• John, in the real world your argument might hold substance. If the PublicSector operated in the real world. 80% of the duration budget goes on salary; 70% of the HSE budget. And that’s probably across the PS. So where, John, would these savingscome from? No business – anywhere – cold survive with salary payrolls like that.

• Duration = education. Spellcheck.

• You’ve just made my argument for me …..
      An Garda Síochána is public sector – But it is “Service Industry” not manufacturing etc which is why for obvious reasons A.G.S. is labour intensive. You only need to spend so much on equipment, cars & stations every so often. But these items don’t investigate traffic accidents, sudden deaths, suicides, deal with public disorder, armed robberies, Fraud, assaults. For that you need feet on the street. You need 24 hour cover, a geographical spread & the ability to cater for peaks such as Queen & Obama and this year for European Summits … NOTE: The Garda Budget is being raided once more to subsidise this European event that should be paid for out of separate funding & AGS will suffer.
      SO obviously Wages is a big % constituent of budget. A bit like the ad for security company over internet – If everything could be dealt with by CCTV & a voice saying you there in the red jacket I see you stealing that, please hand yourself into the local Garda station then we wouldn’t need employees, there would be no need for wages… I left a situation of higher earnings & safer work conditions in computer programming field to work as Garda, others did same. The € currently being paid just about covers living. I joined almost 24years ago – there’s no opt out to alternative employment for me & similar colleagues. There is for those with only a few years done who had alternative skills but they will b pushed to quit by low morale & attacks on their pay.

• Brian, you can hide behind terms all you want, it only serves to highlight the weakness of your argument. A job loss is a job loss and all of the 3, 000 jobs lost in education were compulsory. Indeed, compulsory redundancy would be better than what happened in education, seeing as those teachers and SNAs who lost their jobs received no redundancy pay.

• So you have six year so go to retirement? Yet another hidden, ridiculous cost.

• What do you earn a year? What’s your occupation?

• No, I don’t have 6years to go to retirement. The first 15mths in AGS don’t count for pension and were paid at £50 a week. After i leaving a job in the private sector that paid more than that £ for lunch expenses…. I can retire in June 2020, which is almost 7 1/2 yrs away, but like most others I will end up having to serve until
      July 2028 (remember to send me a birthday card)….
      Believe it or not, up to recently the majority of Gardai served almost up
      to a year of compulsory retirement age and some had up to 40 to 42 yrs . Any length of time in this job the wear and tear does you in. It isn’t sedentary work, both mentally & physically…. A minority left on the dot at first avl opportunity…

You might have missed your calling, I have a feeling you’d be commissioner by now.
      “Don’t judge until you have walked a mile in a man’s shoes”

• F…..f Professor.

• Hide behind the child

• Well Said Liam This Country is Full Of Begrudgers who would be Too Cowardly To Do Your Job But Love To Moan About Everyone Else.

• Sean What Job Do You Do and How Much A Week Do You Take Home. Do You Get Assaulted on a Regular Basis / Do You Get Spat At On a Regular Basis / Are You Threatened You Or a Family Member Will Be Murdered / Raped On a Regular Basis / Are You Followed From Your Place Of Work To Your Home On A Regular Basis. / Do You Have To Put Up With Regular And Abusive Intimidation On A Regular Basis. / Do You Have To Accept All This Crap And Not Even Get Backing From Your Own Management Leaders. Are You Expected To Drive Dangerously Defective Vehicles While On Duty. Vehicles That Are So Dangerous They Would Not Pass The NCT Test If They Had To Undergo Same. Are You Expected To Put Your Life On The Line Every Time You Go To Work and Be Grateful For The Opportunity To Take Home 325 Euro A Week. I’ll Bet Not I’ll bet You Are Far More Respected By Your Employers And The Public You Deal With.

• Now now John. I know of three Gardai who have retired in their early to mid-50s. Just saying…….

• O’Leary Go Fly Your Kite Some Where Else, Eg Over A Cliff.

• By “Now Now John etc” you seem to b making out as if I’m engaging in spin… I’m not, my credibility means a lot to me…. Of course you know at least 3 who left in their mid 50s….. Indeed in the last few years since start of 2010 a lot jumped ship, right up to end Feb 2012 before their pension got hit with the pay cuts we all suffered.
      You were originally making out that i wd retire after 30yrs and I stated that the majority didn’t do this.. And that is fact, obtainable from plenty of sources, that most Gardai serve beyond the date at which they can first retire…

Now, you are obv very entrenched in your views and I must turn my energies to productive matters. But I’m glad that my few discourses might at least have enlightened others who browse these pages – so its been worthwhile.

• I seem to recognise a few names which figured in the Clare Daly debate. Changes of mind, hummmm.

• Yes, Vinny, I have relatives in the force.

Re Dean Foley, day 1 he was going to jail, day 2 he walked free. If you do not think that stinks to high heaven, well, you are just living down to my view of the irish legal system. If the roles were reversed what would have happened?

• how much does a garda take home? i bet its still a bloody decent wage, if they recruited in the morning with 20% lower wage, they would be swamped with applications.

• See my reply above re my pay and then tell me I’m “well paid”

• What would you consider well paid Robert?
      Believe you me the numbers stated in the papers when this topic comes up are gross figure, to get an accurate tale home estimate remove 40%. In a PS worker, 12 years in the job I take home €570, my gross is 970 per week. That’s a decent wage but nothing more, definitely not the impression you’d get from reading the indo where you’d think we’re rolling in it.

• Julie 09/02/13 #

Liam people who still have this private public divide are few and far between. Most people know front line staff are being targeted in public sector and that ye can’t take anymore cuts. Fair play to ye for taking action and ye have lots of support. People need to rem that, we need these people and we need them at their best, their jobs are for our own welfare. Lay off each other people and go after the corrupt spineless politicians at the top and most importantly the cause. SF and independents like Stephen D for next election.

• Behind the Garda 100%…let these people with their negative comments spend a week working with the guards , see what they have to do, ..then come back and state their opinion . As the mother of a young guard in the force 4 years I have watched him get disillusioned with the whole thing, if they get any more cuts he would have been better off staying in the retail job he had before he went to Templemore ….and safer I might add !!

• Let Alan Shatter or any Minister walk in the Gardai’s shoes for a week

• Well Said Andrea.

• Bernadette they Would Be Too Cowardly and SPINLESS .

• Will the blue flu stop an Garda Siochana hassling Clare Daly?

• Make a phone call some Saturday night around chucking out time from the boozers. Try to get two plumbers to your house for an emergency. Double quick. Ask for a price.

Then come back and moan about stupid allowances.

• MrKnow 09/02/13 #

wouldn’t be surprised if the government move to privatize the gardai and start giving contracts to private companies. Fines would be handed out like no tomorrow, wait they are handed out like no tomorrow!

• Frontline personnel is a very broad term.. The guards and hospitals in this country are massively under resourced. They have been for years! Why are people only talking about change now that their wages are on the line … Yes they do an important job but nobody is forced to do it. I haven’t seen anybody threatening to strike for better resources for the general public

• THE GARDAI have the BLU FLU for years that why its as it is now their own fault playing politics and not doing their job,I know for i made a report about bertie and john o donoghue and as of yet years later no answer from them

• does anyone know how much a garda earns ? I don’t mean just their basic pay, but what does their p60 reflect at the end of a working year. This might clarify if the proposed cuts are sustainable or not

• sean 09/02/13 #

WANTED – 3 other, fairly young, healthy men for 1 days work. Face masks will be provided so as to avoid the blue flu epidemic. You shall, in this one day, collect funds from several currency storage facilities, force optional. Date: TBC. ;-)

• After the Clare Daly affair, absolutely no sympathy for them!

• Its time Mr Shatter to abolish the force of gardai and replace it with a police force like the P.S.N.I. with trained professionals with brains . What do the gardai herein think ….. yes……….no……….maybe,,,,,,,,,name calling

Add New Comment