TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Emergency service workers to join ICTU marches in “large numbers”

Organisations representing frontline workers have said the march is an opportunity for members to show their opposition to recent government proposals.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

MEMBERS OF THE 24/7 Frontline Alliance, which is made up of organisations representing Gardaí, firefighters, healthcare workers and prison officers, are expected to turn out in large numbers at today’s ICTU protest.

Today The Irish Congress of Trade Unions is holding coordinated ‘Not Our Debt’ protests in six counties across the country to protest  the nationalisation of banking debts. Most of the marches will begin at around 1.30pm.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this morning, General Secretary of the Garda Sergeants and Inspectors Association (AGSI) John Redmond said that, while many of his members will be working today, those who can make it will attend.

“There are buses coming from all over the country to the march in Dublin so we’re expecting several hundred to turn up,” he said.

It’s vital for emergency workers to get out on the streets today. This march is twofold. First of all, it allows everyone in society to have an opportunity to protest austerity but it also lets the government see the feeling from public sector workers and all workers. When our members turn out in force, it will show them that we weren’t bluffing in the talks when we said we were acting under the directions of those members.

Last week, Gardaí in Cork City balloted for industrial action and voted unanimously for a ‘blue flu’, which involves officers calling in sick en masse. Redmond said that while AGSI members would never want to take action that would put the public in harm’s way, they have said they are “willing to withdraw their labour if it comes to it”.

“Most likely, if action was taken, it would be a work to rule situation,” he said. “Members often take on up to fourteen roles as well as their own and operating a work to rule would still involve doing their job, just not going out of their way.”

A spokesperson for the Irish Nurses and Midiwives Association (INMO) told TheJournal.ie that the association also expects a “large turnout” from members.

“This is an opportunity to demonstrate for the average person that they are not prepared to pay bad debts in banks when their own wages are being cut arbitrarily,” the spokesperson said.

The Garda Representatives Association (GRA) decided not to take part in the marches today, though members from the other organisations in 24/7, including the AGSI, will be in attendance.

A GRA spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that the organisation did not attend due a number of matters coming up in the next two weeks , saying their priority had to be dealing with the issues at hand. The spokesperson also said a general march would not highlight the uniqueness of their working conditions.

Related: AA warns of traffic disruptions over ICTU debt marches>
Read: AGSI demands ‘actions not words’ from Noonan over garda pay talks>

Read next:

Comments (122 Comments)

• I really wish we could stop bitching and stick together, i am personally dreading the household tax and water charges, this is the real problem and this turning on each other is only giving the powers to be a chance to slip more in there ,will we ever learn …..

• Excellent words Catherine, we have to stand united as a nation, and not turn on each other. We the people are our best asset.

• Bollox, where were the ICTU and the rest of them during the last 4 years, when all their pay was protected under the Croke Park Agreement?!? It’s only now that pay is clearly back on the table that these protests are being organised, this has nothing to do with bank debt or anything of the sort, this is about trying to force the continuation of a set of completely fúcked up policies that dictate that it is correct to continue borrowing 1 billion Euro a month more than we collect in tax, just to keep the lights on in this country and meet current, (not even capital), liabilities, and that we can just keep putting it on the never never. If pay can go up in the good times, then it has to be able to come down in harsher times, like it does everywhere else, and just because labour is organised in the public sector, doesn’t mean that the principle that we generally can only spend the same as what we generate in taxes, can get set aside. People need to snap out of it and get real and start facing up to pay cuts that are required so that we are not borrowing a billion Euro a month just to keep the lights on.

• @John Sinclair – well said. In a nutshell.

• @ John

They’ve been organising marches for the past 4 years, some of those had about 100,000 people at them. For instance there was a large one on November 27, 2010.

• disagree john, sure who in good times is going to protest?? why on gods earth would you. Oh as general secretary of ICTU i think or members are paid too much lets go on protest for lower pay?? are we on same planet here??

pay had to go up in good times to meet more expensive cost of living and i don’t know where you head has been the last few years but pay has gone down. in many cases far more for frontline then anywhere else in economy where people still are employed. thats not even being protested. the protest is again even more savage cuts to people who have already given more then fair share. if someone is professional and qualified they command more then min wage. If your the likes of a paramedic that earned lets say 60k in good times with over time and allowances id say that was good value for someone so skilled and that person might now be on 40k. I dont know but to me that seems catastrophic drop and now they say well you need to pay even more. NO, same goes for guards nurses and teacher too. I have sister in law who is teacher and the horror stories of them having to supply the class room with things and pay for printing out of own pocket, thats just NOT on.

Fully support ICTU and AGSI on this one

• That’s it lads, unite.

• Can anyone tell me why the GRA decided not to attend or support this march today? Is it not in their members interests that they get out in support of each other and protest on a united front? With all the other 24/7 members

• I could be wrong, but the GRA aren’t a union. They cannot get involved in official union discussions or protests. The Gardai aren’t allowed to be involved in a union.
      I’m sure there are member there in a private capacity though.

• Danny is correct in that they are a representative association as opposed to a union. However the AGSI (sergeants & inspectors association) are marching today so I dont know why the GRA decided not to participate

• Agree with the protest but instead of calling for “No pay cuts” they should call for pay cuts for the upper tiers across the public sector. That would shake things up. Higher civil servants have used front line workers as a shield for too long.

• Members are there in private capacity. On prev occasion ICTU wanted govt to take cuts from unsocial etc allowances and not basic pay/core pay… GRA argued that unsocial hrs etc are Garda core pay. Eventually they backed off and the load was spread over all public service in equal %. GRA have bussed members to a lot of events (incl carrying AGSI members on buses). If people can realise there were buses etc laid on nationally the other week. There is the same use of GRA (in effect members GRA members) resources next week when GRA have to try and get a large turn out for the 24/7 frontline alliance open meeting in Dublin on Monday 18th…. If the energy was put into this ICTU march it would take from turnout on 18th…. The same people going to dundalk and then ictu march and then hoping they go to 24/7 event…….Members have had enough of the “Grand old duke of York mentality”…. The rhyme Marching them up to the top of the hill and marching them down again …
      The ICTU event is confined to trade unions, they have allocated the matching positions to their affiliates abd left a spot at back fir “all others, non union” ….GRA or even others like AGSI in the 24/7 would have to march at the back of parade with the protest groups such as Eirigí etc or try tail in behind a 24/7 group like prison officers….

• There will be other protest groups there including ones who have stated online in forums and Facebook that they intend to cause trouble at end of march….(that might or might not happen). GRA has our members and the fight re garda pay as priority

• Guess we shouldn’t believe the Garda estimates on this one then……….

• Mick 09/02/13 #

The GRA should not attend events like today and also should not take part in the frontline alliance. As a police force they should be protesting alone and demanding a separate pay deal. Marching today would make the Gardai’s battle with the government about pay alone . The GRA must demand resources , support from the government and no cuts to pay. Recent outpouring of public emotion has shown that the vast majority of the public are behind this. The government have already recognized the police force as being different by making it illegal to withdraw services. Many other European countries including England have separated the Police from the public service and it’s high time it happened here !!!

• Good man mick. Get a stress pill from doctor of your bothered that much.

Gra not at this for few reasons I think. Might be waiting for rest of front line such as fire services and nurses to really make big big numbers. Secondly for sergeants who are off today its easy for them and by and large most of the higher ranks dont work weekends.secondly fat more guards would gave to communicated with transport arranged. Harder to organise.

• And anyone unhappy with the way this country is being run should join them!

• Will you please stop using pics of a fallen colleagues funeral for these sort of articles, it’s very distasteful!!

• Best of luck to all participating, hopefully it will go well, and not spoilt by some just out for trouble. Wish I could have been there. Union march or not every working man and woman is entitled to a fair days pay for a fair days work.

• John Mefeinclair I learnt in school that when you work you get paid, if you dont get paid fairly for your work it’s abuse! People in frontline jobs face adversity and danger as an everyday occurrence, our front line workers are financially hurting, don’t tell me they arn’t coz my husband and son are frontline! Tell me, would you put up with already two pay cuts, increase in prsi, USC, pension levy and now a possible third cut, I think you had better educate yourself to the real world and not your belligerent ‘screw all the civil servants’ world!

• At Marie Agnew. I have also had all the things you mention – and I have to pay for my pension privately – and have been doing so for 29 years. So don’t proceed to lecture people without having our facts straight.

• Eamonn Bolger everyone has the right to protest about their pay including you, all civil servants are heavily taxed like the rest of us. And I find it very insulting that you insinuate that my husband does not pay for his pension, he has always contributed to his pension, from day one, and he too is almost 29 year in his job. Don’t forget years ago a lot of people didn’t want civil servant jobs because if low pay. All this bitching is awful.

• Good for them. This march also needs to highlight the public anger over a disaster of a deal on promissory notes that enshrines the debts of failed private investors into our national law.

• The gra have said as an association that they are not marching but there will be hundreds if not thousands of rank and file gardai out today showing that enough is enough

• On reading these comments, I now understand why the Irish as Christy Moore stated “are a nation of shit takers”! It’s very simple because we’re a nation of begrudgers! We want what the other one has, the private worker thinks the grass is greener on the public worker side, the public worker thinks the grass is greener on the private side, everyone doesn’t want anyone doing better than them, yet everyone’s entitled to everything. What a backward country.

• I think the silence of the unions in recent years is deafening. Too little too late. If we had mass action we might have forced a rethink on a lot of things. It is only when their own pockets are hit.

• Some comments on here appear to believe that public workers have taken no pay cuts and that Croke park protected us while everyone else was cut , I am down €800 per month , my pay is gone back by at least 10 years, Enough is enough

• You still have your job Michael. What about he 200,000 or so private sector workers who lost theirs – at the drop of a hat?

• You must be on massive money to begin with if they cut 800 a month off you. Or else you are exaggerating as many public service workers do

• Did y’all not read the first comment suggesting that everyone stop fighting with eachother and direct their energy to enforcing positive change?? All this arguing about private sector vs public sector, employed vs unemployed is a waste of time! “I’m worse off than you”, “NO I’M worse off,” “at least you HAVE a job,” blaa blaa blaa… The bottom line is that as ordinary people, public sector or private sector, unemployed in work, each and every one of us are being screwed by this government to some extent or another. PLEASE, stop bickering and start directing your anger to where it REALLY belongs!

• On route to muster point, talk is cheap..
    Let’s march!

• Get the boots on lads and stand together like the other European countries enough is enough!

• Why are retiree Quango’s still earning massive pensions? Can’t the gov’t tax them higher?

• The march is pointless. Few thousand people meet in town, vent some frustration and then go home. Government continue as they are. Waste of time, we need effective targeted and prolonged action.

• trust the Irish to march on a Saturday do it Monday so it would be disrupting

• There hasn’t been a word out of public servant unions in the last few years. Even when the government went after the new teachers last year, all was quiet. Where were the unions when private sector workers contracts were being ripped up everywhere? It’s only now that their precious Croke park deal is under serious threat that they’re starting to protest. Thousands of private sector jobs have been lost in the last 6 years, with many of them only getting statutory payments, and the unions didn’t care. It’s too late for us, so I’m finding it hard to sympathise with what’s going on now. I was an active trade unionist for years, but I’ve become so disillusioned by their corrupt, out for themselves attitudes, that I’d never contemplate joining a union again. I really do hope that huge numbers turn up and the government decide to take their views on board, but I’m not holding my breath.

• @ Rodrigo

They’ve been marching on a fairly regular basis since 2009 at least; some of those marches had about 100,000 at them.

When they went after new teachers the ASTI began to take legal action against the government: http://www.asti.ie/news/latest-news/news-article/browse/8/article/new-entrants-test-cases-needed-for-legal-challenge//back_to/latest-news/

• All a waste of time, look at the polls this morning, FF the most popular party in the country and these muppets are going to ensure that they get back into power again by marching. 5 years from now they will be marching again that FF ruined the country. When will they ever learn.

• JakkiB 09/02/13 #

Lads just S.T.F.U and get your Ass to the march, Have all your debating in there, never know you may even unite!

• That’s right Pat – sit on your hands & accept your lot. Nothing changes with a no can do – don’t give a toss attitude like yours. I’m here in Dublin marching today & there’s a great turnout because someone has to stand up for the ordinary citizens of Ireland and it’s the right thing to do.

• It is a disgrace. How were things allowed to get this far. Someone did not keep their eye on the ball.Sometimes you would wonder are the politicians in touch with reality. Some former Politicians would want to cop on and take a cut in their pensions. It will reach a stage where there will be no workers left to pay their Big Pensions. Because at the end of the day it is the tax payer is funding the pensions. Somewhere something has to give.

• How were things allowed to get this far? I guess most of us are busy with our lives and don’t pay attention to what’s going on on the political and financial front. Anyone who does pay attention knows, that the root of this misery is the debt the government guaranteed back in 2008. And instead of doing something about it ever since, the government acts like there is no other option and the people seem not to care and just watch. And they bicker about the private and public sector :). There are options – unity, protests against the root of the problem, ie. against the debt, against the government doing nothing, demanding a viable solution. Iceland survived, why shouldn’t Ireland survive? But how many people even think about these things at all?

• Reports suggest 25,000 in Dublin. Bit of a disaster for ICTU and David Begg. Hardly surprising. These boys have huge salaries and didn’t reduce union subs by a cent despite their members taking wage cuts. And all we got from Begg when he was interviewed? Cliches.

• So how many marched? Bear in mind, gardai support the marches.

Protesters count 9th FEB

Dublin: RTE – gardai – 25,000 ICTU – 60,000: Cork: RTE – Gardai – 6,000 ICTU – 15,000: Waterford: RTE – Local – 2,000 ICTU – 13,000: Limerick: RTE – 8,000 ICTU – 10,000; Sligo: RTE – Gardai -6,500 ICTU – 7,000; Galway: RTE – Gardai – 2,000 ICTU – 5,000
    Total: Gardai – 49,500 ICTU – 110,000

Even take the average, and it’s an embarrassment for ICTU

• Problem is the two issues are not connected. Its not our debt that they nationalised two days ago and while that was an utter disgrace the current account shambles will only get worse if there are not more cutbacks. There is no Santa people wake up.

• Where were the trade Unions when the last budget was anounced cutting everything from child allowance carers grant etc etc and hiking up vital priscriptions, motor tax, cutting electric and phone allowance. the silence was golden.As I said where were the unions when this austirity budget was anounced they did not protest, or when the pensions of former ministers were given back to 150k in some cases but no they did not touch the golden circle but targeted the disabled and children who have no unions behind them, even though carers themselfs work for the pitiful amount and saving this state a lot of money in the process. Did the unions protest.NO?

• Why are so many people against my suggestion that we should be marching for laws to be changed to get better protection for front-line staff and in A&E, I think it’s appalling what these people put up with, it appears that its more important to protest about money.

• What’s wrong with this march is the union banner. They march against austerity yet drive it through their protection of an un-affordable public service. You couldn’t make it up…

• That is true O’Reilly, it’s straight out of Father Ted. A union leadership organising a protest and then claiming it’s against Europe and not the Government – the traitors who signed this off last Wednesday.

• Did Sinn Fein vote in favour of the Bank Guarantee?

• A protest against one group of gombeen men and women,organised by another group of gombeen men and women.Pretty much sums Ireland up!!!

• is it true that if you work in the public sector it’s nearly impossible to be sacked?

• Its a pity the unions didn’t unite for a common cause against the reprehensible property tax scam, like any job in any company if they are unhappy with pay & conditions the door is there.

• Why is it that its only the Public Service who protest and go on strike, could it be that they are the only ones in unions? Salaries and pensions paid from the public purse which means that the rest of us have to work longer and harder to maintain their privileged lifestyle.

• Paul 09/02/13 #

It’s not just a public service protest. It’s against the nationalisation of corrupt private debt while profit is still private.

• “Privileged lifestyle”. Can you explain to me how I have a privileged lifestyle as a Paramedic with the HSE? Last time I checked I have to work for a living, the same as everybody else!

• Privileged lifestyle.
      Yeah, it’s a real privileged lifestyle I live working 70 hour weeks.
      Troll.

• No doubt the march will be a great success for all concerned with all unions, eirigi, Sinn Fein etc quoting how it shows the people have just had enough. Perhaps the journal good do a straw poll to see what % of those attending are public sector workers.

Speaking for myself and those people I know in the private sector we will not be attending this march or any forthcoming marches. We are more concerned in ensuring our businesses or those of our employers can continue to survive whilst we are taxed to oblivion to feed the beast that is public sector pay and conditions

• Taxed to oblivion.
      I pay 60% between tax, USC, PRD’s and statutory pensions.
      I took home €840 for two weeks work, incidentally, same two weeks work where I worked 135hours.
      I am not being paid overtime, therefore am relying on getting my time back on leave. Which will not happen due to fact that I am covering 2 positions which are not being recruited for, and my own.

• Privileged lifestyle? Pat u haven’t a clue! You know what’s a privileged lifestyle is to me? The family I know who don’t work, get their lovely decorated council house for nothing, holidays every year, sky television, kids in best of clothes, iPads, kids with iPhones. While my family go around in rags, wondering if we’re going to lose our home, is their enough food for the week, utility bills not being paid. Partner never home, always working the sh!ttest hours while everyone else is out getting p!ssed! Yea maybe there are some civil servants who got it cushy but a hell of a lot don’t!

• What privileged lifestyle would that be? I don’t have a big car I get away on a holiday once a year we have to pay the same bills you do after all the deductions that are taken from our gross pay (many of which you will never have to pay) we take home barely a living wage. So please tell us who among the rank and file public servants is living it large?

• When was the last time you were spat at ? Or how about assaulted ? Or maybe verbally abused on an hourly basis. When was the last time you had to come home to your loved ones and tell them you have to avoid contact because you were spat on or blood sprayed by a hepatitis carrier and have to hope your going to be clear .
      This is the life of public sector workers in the emergency sector . Garda ,Nurse ,Paramedics ,Firefighters. And you would have there conditions reduced because you have an issue with public sector employees . Wake up

• Surely by working 70 hours a week James, you’re doing someone else out of a job. Isn’t that just greed then?

• Rodrigo, you say that like I’m the one who’s refusing to hire?

• Are you being deliberately facetious? Front line HSE is dreadfully understaffed. We in the public sector are constantly told to do more with less and yet when someone points out that they are, you call them greedy.

• Silly comment, Id say you can’t wait to vote FF back in Pat. We all (who are fortunate enough to work) pay the same taxes. Who should pay public servants if not the state? The magic public service pay fairy?

• Without private profit there would not be enough tax to pay Public Sector wage and pensions. If that’s what you want it can I’m sure be arranged.

• Rodrigo – greedy? Did you not see what James wrote? “I took home €840 for two weeks work, incidentally, same two weeks work where I worked 135hours.” If he was greedy he would not be working in Ireland. We should be grateful we have any healthcare workers here at all.

• You see I agree with you, all these state spongers getting away with ripping us off but what do we do about it, NOTHING! We are all too PC. Why isn’t there a march today against state spongers?

• Fair enough Pat, I’m sure we will find top quality candidates to work for free taking abuse from drunks in A&E, changing adult nappies or even getting shot dead while doing the job. I can see the Qs building up already!!!

• Luxury! I’ve only had one holiday in 7 years so compared to me you are living it large.

• Agree completely! But what are you doing about it? It is not a human right for one person to abuse another, now there is a reason to march on the streets to change the laws.

• Whatever arsehole disliked this comment has issues.

• @ Pat Lynch – without a public sector, you wouldn’t have an economy. You’d have no roads on which to exchange goods, no bridges crossing the rivers, no law and order, no legal system, no fire service, no health service (except perhaps for the very wealthy). In this country, even the electricity generation and distribution system was built from the ground up, by the public sector. The public sector is no more dependent on the private sector than is the private sector dependent upon it. They are co-dependent. All this private versus public sector rivalry is self-defeating nonsense and serves only to make it easier for government to screw hard-working men and women which in turn makes it easy for private sector bosses to do the same.

• My reply to that is to refer you to Rodrigo’s comment.

• Paul, I can tolerate all the other vitriolic comments as people are entitled to their opinion but to accuse me of being a FF supporter, that goes beyond the pale. To mention me and those people who have ruined this country in the same breath has really offended me.

• Jason 09/02/13 #

Yes and stands to reason that there would be no public services for anyone to avail of then pat. What’s your point? What about the public money given to private companies in the form of grants, subsidies and tax breaks? Why should the public service be demonised just because they work for the government?

• Paul, I refer to my reply to AlanH, I agree it is a disgrace that you have to tolerate abuse in A&E but as I said what are you doing about it? That is something you have a possibility if changing so get out there and march to change the law.

• Pat with all due respect to you, you have fallen into the same trap and swallowed the spin that a lot of people have fallen into. It is not by your own fault, all people have to go on is what they hear on the news and read in the papers or on line. Tarring front line ES personnel with the same “High wages” brush as the high earners in the public sector is a common misconception. Would you consider someone coming out with €320 to €380 per week after deductions are taken well paid? Remember out of that bills must be paid, mouths must be fed, fuel must go in the car.

Please do not mistake front line ES workers in with the higher paid members of the public service.

• Sorry Pat calling someone a FF supporter is pretty bad, I withdraw that remark.

• Well said !!

• Unions….what a waste of my money. Risk my life and safety. Wage cut back and expected bind over and take further cutbacks. If i am cut further i am as well off on welfare.

• Mark Downes …. @ Pat Lynch …. Your100% Correct Mark … And if Govt cut public sector wages then the private sector will once again use these cuts to show their private sector employees that they are due a further cut —- Private sector and public sector are only agreed on one thing, that this debt is not either of their’s making and Govt are landing it on all of us

• You will find, if you read a little before commenting, that ICTU represents far more private sector workers than public. Mr Google will assist you. Go-ahead now, it’s not that hard to do…..

• Well said Pat. I am a union member of 35 years standing and I’m not attending for two reasons. 1) Begg tipped his hat to the Labour traitors by saying it was a protest against Europe – not this idiot Government and 2) Union activists in Waterford objected to the building of a new City Centre here in Waterford – effectively objection to over 1,000 jobs – and then said they hoped it would proceed when it was granted by An Bord Pleanala. When it was too late. And people are expected to listen to these fools mouthing from a platform? No thanks.

• Wickla.. Ha ha..

• Mick, I think the point he is making about a “privileged lifestyle” is that the laws of economics do not seem to apply to he public sector. All we here about on a daily basis are “entitlements” and “increments”.

While the average Public Sector wage is €900 a week, the average Private Sector wage is €600 a week. Yes I believe people like you work very hard, but, as you said yourself, this is your choice – and your job.

The problem that most private sector workers have is that there is an apparent positive discrimination for public sector workers – for which the rest are expected to foot the bill. This is the nub of the problem and it won’t go away.

We as a country are borrowing €17bn a year to fund this – on top if the illegal gambling debt which has now been attached by the treasonous FG/Labour “Government”.

• Daffy this is no laughing matter..chuckle

• Average wage is artificially high due to the managements pay… The commissioners wage of 250k per year is included in working out the average wage due the rank and file Gardai… So don’t believe the hype. The same goes for wage of consultants inflating the health sectors average pay…

• Don’t believe the average wages of the public sector… It is artificially high as managements wages are factored in, ie the 250k wage of the commissioner is averaged onto the Garda’s average pay… Same for consultants pay factored into health workers pay.. It’s all relative!

• Jason 09/02/13 #

That average public sector wages spin is completely skewed. I saw a report around 3 months ago that spouted all sorts if averages of public v private comparing “like with like”. 2 points. 1. You can’t compare certain aspects of public sector with private sector. Gardai and firemen don’t have comparable jobs in private sector. There are private ambulances but they can’t be compared either as there is cherry picking of duties for profit in the private sector. The second point in that report was that at the very end of the piece after comparing public v private and concluding that public was much better paid they put in brackets that the calculations did not include the pension levy!!!! How is that fair? The media are lapdogs for the govt spin doctors. You watch what will happen with private sector out of hours rates after the govt cut public sectors. They will be forced down too and everyone will be standing there wondering how this happened…

• Not surprised emergency services joining march. Hard to tug my heartstrings when they are the highest paid in Europe. Not many private sector workers in the march. They know the unions are just as much part of the problem as government and banks.

• And how much did policing and shutting down every major city centre and town centre in the country cost the economy exactly?

• We all have choices, if people are not happy with the conditions they have to work in then they should choose to change career.

• I was glad to see two undercover guys in an unmarked car arrest two suspects outside my place this minute and two other local Gardai arrive to give them assistance. It’s not a good idea for ICTU to be encouraging frontline services to be absent from work….time that they not only begin to think outside the box but to throw away the box !

Add New Comment