TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Cork City gardai vote in favour of industrial action

Motion for action over proposed pay cuts passed unanimously at Cork City Garda division meeting this evening.

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

GARDAI IN CORK city have tonight voted unanimously to pass a motion calling for industrial action over proposed pay cuts.

One hundred per cent of the Cork City Garda division present at a meeting this evening passed the motion. There were approximately 350 officers present at the meeting.

The move is the first such motion passed by a Garda division in the country since it emerged in a briefing document last week that the Department of Justice is looking to make savings of €60 million in the Garda pay bill over the next three years up to 2015. Just over €18m of those proposed savings are to be made in the second half of this year.

While it is illegal for gardai to go on an all-out strike, they could conduct a work-to-rule campaign, call in sick en masse – so-called ‘blue flu’ – or carry out other protests.

The Garda Representative Association (GRA) held a meeting yesterday to discuss the proposed cuts and reiterated their position afterwards that they would accept no measures that would impact on either pay or conditions for their members. The GRA represents rank-and-file officers.

The association said:

The central executive committee of the GRA has rejected all such proposals that include a cut in Garda pay, and will not participate in any process that proposes such cuts.

It did, however, say that it was open to examining any revised proposals and cost-saving measures that did not impact on pay or hours.

The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) pulled out of talks a week and a half ago over a successor to the Croke Park Agreement when it was confirmed that cuts to allowances for working nights, weekends and bank holidays was on the table. AGSI general secretary John Redmond told TheJournal.ie at that time that “these allowances make up a very significant proportion of our members’ pay”.

The latest briefing document had revealed that the Government is requesting:

• that all public servants work one hour extra per day –  including gardaí – and has outlined three options to cut overtime to save either €16 million, €14.5 million or €8 million by reducing overtime rates;
  • that a standard working day run from 8am to 8pm and a cut be made to allowances for working Saturdays which would yield €4.3 million in savings;
  • that there be a reduction in the Sunday premium and payment for public holidays which could save up to €31.5 million and that Good Friday become a standard working day, creating savings of €1.4 million;
  • that night duty payments be cut to deliver another €13 million in savings.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan had said yesterday that he was not aware of any plans for industrial action by gardai. Speaking at the launch of a new initiative aimed at tackling cyberbullying Callinan said:

I am on no notice that such an event [protests] is planned for the future. Obviously I would hope that something like that would not happen.

We are a professional policing service, we are the guardians of peace, our job is to ensure that we maintain that peace. Any form of industrial action would mitigate against providing that type of service. It’s not on.

Gardai “won’t be sitting idly by” if pay cuts proposed>

GRA rejects proposed cuts to Garda pay and allowances>

“It’s not on”: Garda Commissioner critical of ‘blue flu’ and work-to-rule threats>

Garda sergeants and inspectors withdraw from Croke Park talks>

Column: My father was a garda – I’ve seen what they have to go through>

Read next:

Comments (227 Comments)

• Dear God let this be the start of the real Irish fighting spirit!! Fair play to the lads – about time we all stood together against this madness!!
    1000% support for ye!

• The shit has hit the fan.

• and about time too, Garda we are all with you and we’d like it if you were with us when the people rise up against the government, it may not happen tomorrow but it has to happen or we are all feiced, this goes deeper than austerity and is a global concern against the people at the very top that pull all the strings through their middle management structures and who enjoy complete control and power through the finance and big business/pharma and war industries

POWER TO THE PEOPLE \o/

• Dear Gardai,

The most effective form of protest was recently done in Spain whereby Policia refused to issue prosecutions. This helped win the hearts and minds of ordinary Spanish citizens who often viewed the police with animosity. It worked against one common enemy: the government.

• The DPP are responsible for most criminal prosecutions.

• actually all prosecutions joe old buddy old pal, but for summary offences guards have authority to act as dpp. where its a arrest-able crime then a higher rank acts as dpp. only in cases of rape murder dangerous driving causing death and offenses against the state must the dpp be directly consulted. When it comes to summary offences guards could refuse to enforce the fcps system. That would wake up the gov as it would be a massive loss of revenue

• Stewie, old friend, don’t forget the cases the Attorney General can still prosecute.

• Nice attempt of a comeback, but please, when ur beaten, take it like a man.

• Stewie, pal, the DPP prosecutes most cases taken on indictment, except for a limited category of offences still prosecuted at the suit of the Attorney General. Not to mention summary offences which can be prosecuted by investigative bodies such as the HSA, Competitition Authority, Revenue, other regulators, etc without reference to the Director.

• wrong again joe. Theft can be tried as its by jury so that’s trial on indictment and its. Dpp is not consulted, garda act as dpp. Love the way you desperately try to come back when you get pwned

Hse mmmm I guess they could prosecute for health and safey. But where the matter is serious its guards

Stewie obviously knows bit more than you. Fairly evident,

• I said DPP prosecute nearly all cases.

And I was correct.

Stewy said DPP prosecute all cases. They dont. As I pointed out, the Attorney General and other bodies prosecute criminal law also – hence why I said DPP prosecute NEARLY all cases, whether the office is consulted, or whether gardai are acting under DPP general orders.

• We have heard enough lies from shatter and all the media spin. I was at the meeting tonight. It’s the line in the sand. Gardai were given 2 options. Accept the proposed pay cuts (approx €80 per week) or they will be imposed on us. My pay check came today €329 after paying medical, pensions etc. I don’t have anything after paying my mortgage and bills as it is. Much like many people in both private and public sectors. When this pay cut comes in my take home pay will be €250 per week for working 11 hour shifts, over weekends, nights bank holidays. I don’t get to see my family as it is and now I won’t be able to pay my mortgage. This is the line in the sand. It started tonight in cork. Hope the rest of the country joins in. I know guards whose pay cheques are in the minus figures. It is absolutely the last thing we want to do but our hand has been forced. The powers that be better not call our bluff. Nice to see support from the public. Thanks

• No problem Johnathan, we appreciate you more than you know, and we will be expecting likewise support from the Gardai when we say “enough”.

• Jonathan
      We will support you all the way .

• I’ve always had total respect for the Guards,people really have not a notion what the public are capable of doing when they are full to the brim with booze or whatever,I’m very happy for this country to operate on a skeleton crew of politicians and top civil servants if it means the people who keep this country together get the rewards they deserve.in this case the ‘rewards’ are simply fair pay!

• They are looking to take 80 euro by July of wages followed by another cut in January followed by another so in total u will be looking at minus 170/180 euro on your wage along with reduction in pay of unsocial hours and bank holidays eg Christmas on top of wage cut!!!!! Not to mention levys and USC already hit by!!

• Michelle Stafford
      That is appalling . The gov know people can not accept this , they know that the Garda will have to do some thing about that. What are the government up to ? What is their game ? What do they want us to do ?

• Jonathan I appreciate what you are saying and I support you all the way 100% and yea need to take a firm stand or as you say it will not be worth picking up your wages Best of luck and I hope the Prison Officers association ,Nurses ,Teachers ,Doctors , Fire Brigade, etc etc come out with industrial action too and I do not actually mean Strikes…… I mean work to rule type of action. BEST OF LUCK

• There is a plan. It is a very quiet plan. Not a lot have heard about it yet. It is a plan to allow the Emergency Services in Ireland to continue to do what we do, save lives and protect the innocent citizens of Ireland. The Government have slashed and burned the Emergency Services in this Country of ours. They are risking the lives of the Irish people and the front line Emergency service personnel who serve them.

This is not about politics nor is it about history, it is simple, it is about lives. In the Emergency services we have all seen it, the patient who should not have died but did because there was no Ambulance to go to them, the criminal who got away because he was driving a decent car while the Garda chasing him was driving a clapped out Yaris or Fiesta or even better a criminal who was released because there was no where to put him, or the person trapped in a car for far too long because the Fire Brigade were not sent immediately the emergency call was received.

Emergency Service Personnel are being attacked on a daily basis and despite many promises from the Government the culprits get a slap on the wrist and not the promised sentences. Who remember the much lauded mandatory seven years for attacking a member of the fire service. Has it ever been handed down. No it has not. It has been seen again and again that when Emergency Service Personnel are attacked in the course of their duties that light sentences are handed down but if the same crime was committed against a member of the public then a stiffer sentence would be the outcome. We are being hung out as targets and left there with no back up.

There will be no name calling of politicians in this plan nor will there be any violence, we are professionals and thus we will act as professionals. There will be no union involvement in this plan because as has been shown to Emergency Service Personnel on numerous occasions we cannot trust our own unions. Gardai cannot strike, the Fire Service must provide emergency cover as must HSE ambulance crews. There is not one Emergency Service worker who wants to strike but our backs are against the wall. All we want to do is feed and home our families while we are saving and protecting every one else’s. The Government is now making this close to impossible.

When it gets to the stage that front line Emergency Service Personnel qualify for family income supplement and medical cards it shows how far the Government is removed from reality of day to day life in Ireland. Yes you read that correctly. There are members of An Garda Siochána , the Fire Service and other front line Emergency Service Personnel who qualify and are receiving these state issued legs ups to a decent wage.

Well no more.

We will stand and we will fight. We will fight for the rights of people to feel safe in their own homes, the rights of people no matter where in this Country they live to get the same Emergency Services as everyone else, the rights of every hard working man and woman in this Country of ours not to be sold out to bail out people who cost us what we had, and lastly we will fight for ourselves and the right to hold our heads high again and say proudly that we are a member of the Emergency Services and know that our families are housed, fed and safe while we risk everything to save others.

Minister Shatter joked about how many Garda Stations he could close in ten minutes. Well Mr Shatter how many governments do you think the entire Emergency Services can take down in ten minutes. Unlike the one hundred plus Garda stations you have closed we only need to bring down one. Not by violence, not by corruption but by simply not being there.

Mr Kenny, there is a storm coming and it is a storm tinged with blue lights.

http://www.facebook.com/es.zerohour

• They want us to take a large pay cut & work an extra hour for free.i travel 250km daily to & from work,I pay 100€ a week fuel, I’m gone 14hrs a day from my family (and they want an extra hour). I can’t sell my house to move closer to work.the Gov thinks that Workers (private & public) of Ireland are there to be the serfs of the wealthy & political classes. thanks to spin, workers r too busy fighting amongst themselves to unite.

• This will be mirrored right across the country.

• The Cork City GRA decided tonight to have the balls to become the catalyst and starting point for a long awaited movement opposing these ridiculous government proposals! Fair play Mick Corcoran and those who turned up at tonights meeting. Hows about Alan Shatter works an extra hour a day? Or one better…why don’t you fire on a high vis jacket Alan and I’ll swap jobs with you for a week? Roll on the u turn then!! Perspective.

• After 30 years I have never seen the morale being so low. This situation is so serious that the GRA must keep everyone fully informed. Some District Reps are treating us like mushrooms (keep us in the dark and feed us sh.t) shame on you. I am a single income family and if these cuts come in I will not be able to pay my mortgage. This is the thanks I get for working for the state. I wasn’t one of the people who made a fortune during the boom so why am I having to pay for it now when the people that caused the problem get away scot free. I don’t expect to get money for nothing but I do expect to get a fair days pay for a fair days work. Why are all these cuts aimed at the public servants at the bottom of the pile. Why can’t the government reverse Benchmark 2? We got nothing out of Benchmark 2 but all the managers in the Public Service got big pay rises. Why are these rises not being taken off them, it is because they are the people that said that the cuts should be put on the public servants at the bottom of the pile who can least afford these cuts. I am old enough to remember the “Winter of Discontent” in UK in the 70′s and what happened to that government, well I feel a summer of discontent coming up in 2013. My blood is boiling.

• Eamonn, all you and your colleagues need to do is stop issuing fines, use descression and just issue a warning, it would cut off funding for the government and get the force some much needed traction with the people. Also, refuse to assist with eviction orders, don’t help the government to hurt the people. Its an easy out really when you think about it!

• Just wondering as a matter of interest if the weekend and nights are just the normal these days, why does the Dail not sit at these times ? Also seeing as this GOVERNMENT – ( excuse me I should of referred to them as the viewers recognise them , apologies , ) these CLOWNS , keep telling us there is so much work to be done, I imagine that they will all be working for the next year free of charge . I actually could not believe the report they came up with , regarding the cuts. Please someone close that bar in the Dail, happy hour has gone on long enough .

• Seems as if the serfs are begining to react,you can’t keep kicking without getting a reaction.
    Well done the Garda.

• Mjhint 06/02/13 #

Wow. Things are heating now.

• They are playing a sneaky game, the government have proposed cuts that only concern front line workers. The normal 9 to 5 civil servant doesn’t receive any of these allowances and would not be subject to these cuts so their unions will naturally agree.

They are clearly attempting to turn the public sector against themselves never mind public versus private

• They don’t call them the Rebel County for nothing!!fair play to them and no doubt the rest of the Garda Divisions will follow suit.

• Wages in all professions are cut to the bone as it is! Good to see they are standing up for themselves.

• Yep I’m a public servant and any cut to my “allowances” would be a pay cut. Only going after the 24/7 public workers is completely unfair because the public and civil servants won’t be affected by the cuts. Think again fg/lab their is plenty of picking at the top branches.

• Does shatter and Kenny realise that they have just poked a hornets nest a little to much this time!!!!!!!

• Good for them. Hate this discourse the government use of “making savings” when there not saving anything. There destroying everything to pay Anglo.

• A NEW GENERATION OF POLICING ??? Give me a break ! Seriously what planet does Alan Shatter hail from. He disgusts me with his arrogance. Is he a direct relative to Marie Antoinette – all he’s short of saying is ” feed them cake ” he’s that detached from reality. The AGSI and the GRA are after taking a stand for the whole public sector. They have raised the flag and are after showing the rest of us that we must not walk away from this BULLY GOVERNMENT. The PUBLIC SECTOR has to follow suit and take their stand. There’s no point in coming together at a later date , we are already on our knees. We need to shove home the realisation that enough is enough , lets bring this government to its best before date. They have pitted against the public sector from the start of their office and what’s worse they have tried to force the private sector against the public sector. They have created this mess and they have shown that they don’t value any public sector worker. I say let them reap what they sowed. Let them explain why our schools aren’t open when the teachers head out , our hospitals are non moving when our nurses walk out , why there’s no guard coming to the scene when they walk out, why are prisons aren’t open when the POA members walk, why the private sector workers can’t make it in because our transport members walk and on calling a fire brigade out to a fire was a thing of the past when they walk. Lets see how long they will remain in office then.

• Good man Chris tell them how it is, we will take a stand a put a stop to this bullying, and what’s with making us bear the burden when those well off fu@#s in the Dail still enjoy all their allowances and expense accounts. Down with this sort of thing.

• It’s not just Garda nurses carers in disability services and child care homes will also be hammered. The 24/7 group who work 365 days a yr

• not one person in this country is immune from the very real feelings and suffering due to corruption of this state and the reluctance to do anything but keep the charade going by hook or by crook so I expect this could very well be the tipping point that is needed to see real numbers on the streets immediately

• All have to stand and be counted now otherwise divide and conquer wins the day again. The Guards, Prison Officers, Fire Personnel, Army, Nurses, Ambulance Crew, Medics, Doctors, all Front Line Staff Have To Stand Shoulder To Shoulder From Now On. Together ye will Show The Parasites In government and Brussels and IMF That Ye Will Not Be Made Scape Goats Of Anymore. Ye No Longer Will Be Cannon Fodder For The Corruption That Has Overtaken This Country. The Government, IMF, and Their Masters In Europe Can Go To Hell. No Way We Won’t Pay.

• Overpaid is it….spat at, punched, kicked, 7 Gardai injured and on shot in the last week…overpaid is it

• Padraig O Toran Exactly Padraig …. Only Some Garda Knockers out there don’t realise …Theres no “getting shot at allowance”… NO “possibility of getting stabbed” allowance…. NO “get ur head kicked in” allowance ….NO “Danger money” …

• Good for them these men are putting their lives at risk every day as we know only to well from the shooting of a gaurd last week the wage they are on is not good enough for what they do

• I’m pretty sure that any public service staff be they guard, nurse, ambulance crew, fire fighter etc. will not be able to give the standard of care expected coming into their 13th hour of work and especially knowing its for nothing. And the fact that driving is an integral part of some of these jobs is 13 hours not illegal???

• Ok so we have to make 60 million savings (not sure if that is JUST what the Gardai are being asked or whether that is the public sector share)
    Here’s my top 5 suggestions:

1) Senators get paid for work done (not a salary but for actual days in attendance in Seanad Eireann) that should make a nice dent in the €65k they get per year x 60 senators (who are currently only required to attend 120 days per year)
    2) Get rid of expenses for TD’s and Senators they get enough pay in their salary let them cough up for their mobile phones & lunches out of their salaries like everyone else has to
    3) Appoint a Fraud investigation team to the Dept. of Social Welfare to Stamp out social welfare fraud (potential savings of up to 100 million annually)
    4) Cut the salaries of the top brass in the HSE & Gardai (anyone should be able to live on 100k a year)
    5) Get rid of all these ministerial advisors that the government keeps appointing. Jobs for the boys has to stop
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/world/kfqlgbgbcwmh/rss2/

I could go on…

• The cops are on strike?! Wow, it’s Robocop in real life…

• Don’t forget Minister Howlin in all this it’s his dept who make these calls!!!

It’s high time for the 24/7 Frontline Services to stand together and UNITE!!

They’ve taken cuts and accepted them they’ve adhered to the croke park agreement but again and again get sh&t on I Say Enough Is Enough!!

WE NEED TO STAND AS ONE!!
    STRENGTH IN NUMBERS!!

• Fair play to them. How could they be expected put up with a minister for justice divorced from reality who jokes about them and several pay reductions already. Cuts to gardai resources endangers public safety, as do cuts to all front line services. It’s not a matter of we all have to take a hit. Our first responsibility is to protect our citizens, not appease other countries citizens by paying back debt we didn’t run up.

• they’re joking about us all, the fools who keep Ireland moving, while winning at every turn, wining and dining on the finest food and drink paid for 10 times over by us, remember this that if we stop playing ball even one day they will be reminded very very quickly who has all the power

• Red Ed 06/02/13 #

It would be terrible if there happened to be a large countrywide strike at the same time as a blue flu… :p Resign Shatter you pleb! Fair play gardai!

• I hope The army and prison officers and the rest of the frontline go too . Disgraceful treatment if our frontline workers by this out of touch and overpaid FG/labour government . callinan on more money than Obama . Says it all really .

• Wow, things are hotting up. good to see them taking a stand.
    Martin, You claim they are overpaid and then ask what are they on. Run off somewhere else misinformed idiot.

• The Gardai want to do their job. They want to go into work and police. Just like firefighters, paramedics, doctors, nurses etc. They did not join the job to get rich but joined it to help. Sounds simple you might say but it is true. When we pick up the phone and dial 999 we want out emergency services there. We want to know they will do what they can to help and the majority if not all will do this. I am tired of the usual bashing that goes on from people who give out about emergency services getting night and Sunday allowances. They work and are entitled to it.

• The rebellion begins, long live the revolution.

• ya rebel’s are on a roll keep it up :)

• Come On Front Line Staff The Public Are 100 Per Cent Behind Ye. Rebels Rebels Rebels.

• Should say *one

• Great news. I thought the Gardaí weren’t allowed go on strike. Fair play anyway.

• No they can’t ”strike” but they can have industrial action, Blue flu …..
      I just want to say that I support the gardai 100% in thisd decision,
      They are a great group of people who see the worst in society and rie above it .
      Shatter , Kenny You just had to keep kicking ,didn’t you ?

• There’s always a way Petr.. blue-flu.. about time someone stood up, well done Cork Gardai

• Susan Daly
      Prison Officers do have the right to strike and have done so .in the 1980’s ….

• Susan and others — Thanks for clarification.

• @susan- when you say “can” take other types of industrial action, who exactly are you suggesting give them permission to do so. Lets call a spade a spade. When they do so, they’re merely circumventing the prohibition on striking- a prohibition they were aware of when they joined the Garda Siochana. Lets not afford any legitimacy on such tactics. In the private sector pulling a sickie would result in dismissal.

• As far as I know its just Gardai and the Army who do not have the right to strike Susan

• Vincent everyone has the right to say “enough is enough”..

• Susan
      Ringing in sick isn’t Industrial action unless the person concerned is not sick in which circumstances it is both deceit and theft. Any employee found to be self certifying themselves as I’ll when they are not should be dismissed with prejudice.

• @jamie- everyone had the right to say it. For fundamental democratic reasons the Gardai are prohibited from acting on it. You can’t have a situation when the body charged with the duty of protecting the state can hold it to ransom.

• Susan
      Can the journal not do something about all the trolls ? We all know who they are ! They ruin debate .

• Ignore VD Eileen, he has those initials because he’s about as welcome as a dose of the clap…..

• werejammin
      Lol.

• And nurses Angela.

• @eileen- getting to you?

• @eerejammin- the international comedy circuit is missing an important voice in overlooking your comedy stylings. I mean the ingenuity and the wit….inspirational stuff. It’s an honour to share in your ruminations and marvel at your keen observational sense. It’s something I will treasure always.

• Vincent
      Not at all .

• Please read over what you just wrote. VD is annoying and abusive, but that doesn’t make him any more a troll than you or I. We’ve all had our moments. I can’t shake the feeling that you’re calling him a troll because of his manner, but because he holds different political beliefs. After all, you don’t ask the journal to bar abusive people who have similar political beliefs to yours.
      It’s very bad form to publicly comment that someone should be barred. It’s playing to the choir. If you feel they should be barred, or their comment be removed, you have the option to send an email directly to the article’s author or you can report the comment. Complaining publicly about an individual is just grandstanding and leaves you open to valid accusations of bullying. At the end of the day, you’re not Distilled Media so you do not own this website.

• The above for Eileen and Were Jammin , obviously. I don’t like cliques, they’re inevitably elitist and reductionist.

• Nikolas Koehler
      You are quite entitled to your opinion . But , VD is also known as Dillon Costigan and many other names and has a habit of commenting numerous times on the same thread using the different names, How do i know this , He slips up , and answers a reply to one of his identities with another ID … The journal already know this , as he has been reported as have his other IDs . But he is narcississtic and loves this attention so That is all I will say about him now. He is in the wrong This thread is about our Gardai and the brave stand they took tonight and I for one will support that decision. VD is just that a parasite.

• Vincent you badly need an enema.At least it would ensure the “shite talk” would come out the normal route.The 3 billy goats will be so gruff with you when you contaminate their drinking water!

• Eileen – you’re right, I am entitled to my opinion. And as long as thejournal indulges me, I can post my opinion here. As can you. As can Vincent. The point is, like it or not, you, Vincent and I are equals here. That probably leaves a bad taste in your mouth, but I think it’s wonderful. Democracy at it’s finest. You have the right to be abusive as you like to anyone here. As does Vincent. As do I. It is not your decision who gets to have a voice here. Ultimately that right is held by Distilled Media, more or less ( the legal structures are always complicated ). You, as far as I know, are not a major shareholder in Diatilled Media. If you were, I date say that this website would be a very different place. Accept that you are tolerated rather than liked, accept that the same applies to all of us, accept that we are all equals here, and finally, stop being a bully. You’ve cone a long way over the last year, you’ve gotten, if not more considerate, at least more intelligent in how to present yourself. You’ve toned down the grinding negativity. Don’t lapse back into rabble-rousing and witch hunts. Have you not noticed how boring this site is when everyone who doesn’t agree with your clique bug**rs off because listening to the same old rhetoric is just too dull to bother with? If you annoy people too much, you’ll have no one left to play with except those who agree with you. And there’s almost nothing more dull than a circle-jerk..

• It was funny, as is your caustic wit. Keep up the good work Vincent.

• Nikolas K
      Why ,Thank YOU for such a studied critique . I think we have uncovered A. N. Other ID.
      Fascinating . Needless to say I do not agree with any of your strange observations on me personally
      It is strange that you take such an interest in me and my musings.
      But I am not concerned ,as it is a long time since I have had to sit an exam or do a test as to be worried on how I will rate…..
      Your following comment :
      ” You’ve toned down the grinding negativity. Don’t lapse back into rabble-rousing and witch hunts. Have you not noticed how boring this site is when everyone who doesn’t agree with your clique bug**rs off because listening to the same old rhetoric is just too dull to bother with? If you annoy people too much, you’ll have no one left to play with except those who agree with you. And there’s almost nothing more dull than a circle-jerk..”

Amazing ! I can not imagine how or why you have taken such an interest in me , perverse even !
      Lol , Lol ! You should also know that I am not intimidated and I certainly will not be silenced by strangers on a site like this . As for friends ….. I have plenty !

• @vincent,
      I think we’d be better off with an objective and relatively corruption free police force who took a stand then a force open to being compromised at every level because many members find themselves unable to meet bills, mortgage payments etc…
      Also, if its anything like in the defence forces there’ll already be members struggling as it is and receiving FIS!

• What a yes man for shatter callinan is you’d think in all fairness he’d look after the people he’s mean’t to be leading…. is that why he didn’t retire when he was mean’t too so all the cuts would go ahead and he’d keep his mouth shut…..

• Good stuff, now for the rest of the underpaid public servants……

• And our bankrupt country will pay for that, how? You should drop that blank chequebook of yours into the Department of Finance. They could do with it. Cue “burn the bondholders” rubbish….

• Message to the G.R.A –

The Ordinary rank and file Gardai are ready and waiting.

Don’t back down

• I’m most concerned about the extra hour… Do they want me to work that in addition to the 13hrs I worked each day last week, the week before, this week, next week, and most weeks? In addition to the overtime that they’re already not paying me? After which they still want me to pay up 60% of my salary in tax, USC, pension contributions?
      Two words.
      Hell NO.

• What this article fails to mention is that the extra working hour is
      1) unpaid.
      2) is not performed on the day but rather “banked” over the weeks and months that follow
      3) this will amount to over 210 hours a year (21 days)
      4) if the public servant does not work the extra hours as required, in the following year they will have it deducted from their annual leave.

How does that make sense to anyone?
      Who will work 3 weeks for free?

It will cost the Gardai money to do this as they will need to travel to work and maybe employ a babysitter.
      They will have to leave their family on their rest day to go into a station and work for free!!!
      What idiot in government thought the public service would accept this …

• Promissory note to be paid on march 31st…
      Noonan , Kenny et all should grow a pair and say “ENOUGH”!!
      How come Greece could stick two fingers up to Europe , Iceland refused to burden their citizens with bank debt, but the EU’s lapdog (Kenny ) never even countered the option on this debt.
      I’m afraid Kenny is more worried about how he looks “personally” by the EU leaders, rather than have any compassion for the citizens of his own country!!

• I presume what they are saying is that if you are working between 8 and 8 you won’t get over time but if you work outside if that you do ? I’m not sure any garda when entering the job thought they would not be working nights on rotation ? I have a a couple if mates in the private sector who
      work all nights and the money isn’t amazing either.

• @falstaff- who would work three weeks for free? Anyone in the Private Sector working for a company in trouble, fearing being let go- a fate Gardai mercifully don’t need to worry about. And Ireland plc is in trouble…

• @colm- you might want to swap places with Greece. Me, not so much thanks.

• Rob O Reilly
      Have any of your mates been shot dead while doing their job , or stabbed, beaten spat at , rammed by a car , punched kicked or bitten ?

• @eileen- if people like you were paying your taxes in full some of these cuts wouldn’t be necessary.

• no to be fair the don’t but they don’t get into coppers for free either so I guess every job has it perks.

• Vincent
      Call a cop !

• If the unsecured gamblers/bond holders were not paid for losing their bets, then the money would still be there to pay all the frontline staff. To use an analogy, imagine if bookies paid out even when your gamble lost. This should be the reality for the unsecured bond holders. Strangely it’s not. The game is rigged.

• “And our bankrupt country will pay for that, how? ”

On march 31st the government will hand over TRIPLE the entire savings sought from the public sector over three years in a single payment that can be suspended.

Back under your bridge VD

• Who organised this meeting? Local GRA? It needs to be nationwide instead of a few going it alone…

• There was 1.8 billion euros handed over yesterday to unsecured bondholders ………..

• Same sh1t as always out of you Vincent either change the tune or better still stop posting it your worse than a broken record at this stage

• Other gra reps aren’t holding the meetings that’s the problem in cork city we have a good gra rep mick Corcoran who is willing to listen and back his local Garda, that’s the difference

• Vincent Dolan
      “Who would work 3 weeks for free? Anyone in private sector…”
      Anyone in public sector who receives an allowance which are not being paid (most have been stopped, those that haven’t are because the state knows there would be outcry if they were stopped – ah yes, the things you never hear from the state), anyone in public sector who works un-rostered overtime, anyone who works overtime that HR deem unnecessary, (I have been working unnecessary overtime since January 1st, despite the fact that if I don’t turn up and replace the 2 people that cannot be hired to work with me – nobody does my job).
      Rob, your mates in the private sector are entitled to receive an extra payment for working nights. If they’re not receiving it, they can take their grievances to the labour court, if they don’t do that I’m afraid it’s not my/our problem.
      Richard, I earn 57k, of which 3k is not paid (allowance), and 60% of remainder is taken before I see it through PRD’s, USC, tax and pension contributions. I took home €890 for 2 weeks work last week. I have a nursing degree, 3 diplomas, a masters and a PhD. I didn’t do any of those for to take home less than those who work full time in their local supermarket.
      That sounds up myself, and it is, but I’m a highly qualified and experienced professional, my take home pay should reflect this.
      Vincent, there may well be a recession on, but if you can find a front liner whose job as gotten quieter/easier as a result of it, I’ll eat my scrubs.

• I did exactly that in the 1980s; worked for free because I thought it would help my employer out and would save my job. Never again. It helped my employer out but it didn’t save my job. It could have, maybe, but my employer made his decision, and that employer looked on us, not as loyal parts of the team, but as schmucks. Cutting frontline services and applying “doing more with less” with essentials is not going to wash. And we should take notice when the IMF themselves say that this not a road to go down.

• Paul, I only hope that this prompts other areas to get with the rolling. It is momentum that is badly needed.

• @jonathan- I find repetition helps get things across easier to the less bright. Keep with it, it might penetrate your skull eventually.

• No, Yes, Yes, Yes, No, Yes, Yes, Yes. But what’s your point? It’s a dangerous job. But that it is a dangerous job is not the issue here. This comment is like a graphic anti-abortion poster ( thank Christ they’re not quite as common as they used to be ); shocking, but pretty much meaningless to the debate itself. Shock tactics, nothing more.

• Because no-one has as yet come up with a reasonable instrument to balance out the payment without having to hand over taxpayer’s money. The magic money tree that was the bank bail-outs must be balanced out. Simply not paying won’t change anything. We’ll still be in the red. “We won’t pay” on it’s own is not a valid option. A mechanism that allows us to balance off the payment without it coming back, biting us in the *rse and landing us in even more debt is very much a valid option. So, do you have a financial instrument that will enable this? Because that is what we need, not more slogans and empty emotive outrage.

• Let’s get this straight; you receive a public service pension, but you refuse to pay government taxes and charges? Where do you think your pension comes from? All magic money trees must balance out. That’s why magic money trees are only ever the option of last resort. You can’t magic money up without consequences.

• That is exactly what was said on to Pat Kenny on PRIMETIME programme tonight and the people of Ireland have been saying this for years at this stage but it is nice to hear it from a economist from Germany actually reiterating what we have all being saying here we have thrown away everything just to look like the foolish Irish and Enda Kenny could stop these unnecessary and unjust payment to the BONDHOLDERS NOW we have as we all (apart from the blue shirts) agree we have paid unsecured gamblers billions which we as the citizens of Ireland have been bullied and robbed with extra taxes and charges and threatened fines and jail and fear of our future and loosing family members to Australia,Canada, England,U.S.A. etc etc etc and then they talk about us all promoting “The Gathering”

• Well Rob. You know what they say. Presumption is the mother of all FOOKUPS. Anybody private or public working a rotating shift receives an allowance for doing so. These can range from 16% upwards depending on the shift. I’m with the Garda on this one. Law and order is collapsing in this country, stations closing, senior Gardai retiring, No new Gardai being recruited, Templemore mothballed. And Shatters rubbish about gaining “efficiencies”. At this point it feels like Shatter is working for the mafia stripping the Gardai of all assets. Enough is enough. Keep up the good work GRA

• Someone is a bit cranky Rob.

• Nicely said James Connolly.

• Yawnnnnn, always reducing it to the common denominator. All bow before Vincent’s superior intellect. It’s getting really tiresome. But please do keep stammering away at your keyboard.

• Nikolas
      The “pension I receive is not what I pay in.
      I pay in on the basis of all my income, so inclusive of allowances, premium payments, overtime (when it’s being paid), everything. All my income.
      My pension is paid to me on the basis of my basic salary. Not inclusive of anything but the salary.
      As for there being no money, I’m aware if this, every day I am being asked to do more and more with less and less, I cannot keep going, none of us can.
      By all means, cut my pay, but do so while making my job better. Do so while making sure that instead of having me work for 60-70 hours a week, that I get out when I’ve worked 40. Or hell, at the moment I’d settle for 50. Anything!
      But that is not the case. My job is getting worse, my pay is getting worse, my morale is currently crashing through the basement floor, and still hurtling downward at a rate of knots that would embarrass the speed of light.
      We have given more than our share, we are broke. Broken. Broke.

• Dats a ridiculous comment how dare u reply with a disgraceful comment like dat u should b ashamed.

• Charming as always Vincent….

• Extra hour is a disaster if it happens. This will make every day up to 15 hours for many people especially younger members. I can see huge issues from health and safety perspective. Plus in many instances the 11 hour day could easily become much more, as it regularly does currently, when serious incidents occur.

• Yes, we have. And that’s the basic problem. We can’t shave more savings off public services, because public services will suffer. We can’t cut low-to-mid level PS wages because we’re taxing them to the hilt and if we cut their wages we’re cutting their ability to pay tax. Same ultimately applies to the private sector, but at least it’s not the same money going in and going out as it is with PS. Absolutely no-one has recommended that cuts that damage frontline services should be made, but that’s what the government has done.
      On the other hand, the only realistic solutions are those that attempt to balance the books. If this is ignored, which the calls for unstructured or unilateral default do ignore, then we’re only digging ourselves into a deeper hole. Any default must be a regulated and negotiated one. The ESM taking over all or a significant part of the debt would be better again. But simply saying “no” doesn’t help.

• @baldyeggs. think that only applies in the public sector. how is it that bar and restaurant workers are allowed time and a sixth or half when working past 8pm for working Saturday or Sunday ??? its because its considered to be the nature of the work to work late and weekends. again back to my original post, do you think that its outside the nature of a garda’s work to work nights or weekends ??

• bar and restaurant workers are not allowed overtime rather. sorry !! dam predictive text.

• Rob, of course there is an expectation to work rotating shifts covering nights. No one joins the force on the expectation that its only a day job. I’m actually a bit confused with your point. All I was saying is that rotating shifts carry a premium or allowance, not overtime, and everything worked after 39 hours would be covered with O/T. I’m not sure if making a comparison between someone working in a restaurant and a Garda is a fair one.

• We have to act, and not by just no using our mobile phones it needs to be proper action

• Fair play to the guards and the public sector. Someone got to show Herr Merkel enough is enough. Roll on Feb 9th……….

• In that case Shatter and Kenny should be locked up….

• There is a storm coming!!!

• Blue Flu on Paddys day!!! That will sh1t this government up big time. No Gardai for for Paddys day parade= No Parade= No money for the government. That would be a major statement by Gardai that needs to be made. Hit the government where it hurts. This government needs the Gardai a lot more than they think. Without the Gardai, how would these ministers get around for Gods sake. Gardai have a much stronger hand this time if there is a blue flu as there is no student Gardai or probationer Gardai to take up the slack like the last time because of this government anti recruitment policy. Time to take a stand. Well done Cork!!

• I support the guards 100% , doesn’t it show though how much other public sector unions are in the governments pockets by not voting their members to strike, even when the likes of hse workers have been suffering cuts also. shouldnt all the unions of public and private sectors unite and propose all out strike to show a point to this government.

• @Sean. I suppose shatter will have to get his handcuffs out to arrest the Gardai so is it? Will he have to tare those paycuts aswell then?

• Cops have my full support.

• As a public sector worker I am absolutely delighted with this, my only anger is at my own union – the INTO – who have not got the balls the gardai and nurses unions have to stand up…instead they just lie back and accept government crap and then deny it completely with generic rubbish….maybe now is the first step for Enda and his gang to see they cannot get away with this rubbish anymore. Industrial action should be done by everyone – except the fat cat bankers who did this- and then see how the weird smile on Endas face changes… 100% support for the guys in Cork, and I hope more follow!

FEB 9th PUBLIC + PRIVATE countrywide protest against cuts to all jobs and the debt crisis being so badly handled…turn up and show support for everyone and yourself….

• The changes that need to be made are choices. The current fascists in power continue to make the wrong choices. Start at the top!!! With the damn cuts. The majority of citizens have had enough of supporting those at the top of the food chain. Their nepotism, lobbying, and disregard for the well being of the Irish society as a whole has really become offensive. Things are really about to heat up. ABOUT TIME !!!

• Finally!

• We need to get rid of this corrupt Government. Everyone should be taking to the streets. We cant take any more austerity.

• About time . Let the politicians start cutting there own wages show us that we really are in it together . . FAIR PLAY TO THE BOYS IN BLUE

• @ Sean Bambi Keeling
    I suppose Shatter will have to get his handcuffs out to arrest all the Gardai is it? i wonder will he actually qualify for pay cuts then too?

• This country is not broke. There are massive amounts of wealth in this country. The government for that matter are running a deficit which is over inflated as a result of paying the gambling debts of investors. If we decoupled from banking debts we would be back in the markets in the morning, roll over our existing debts and maybe even get a stimulus into the economy and have growth with employment. It’s time for citizens to educate themselves about public and political issues. The price of apathy towards public affairs is to be ruled by EVIL men. Tonights announcement is an encouraging step in our right to a true republic and self determination. There shall be no taxation without proper representation!!!

• Cut all tax breaks and loop holes for the wealthy. This would achieve massive savings. After all these are the rich mans welfare payment which isn’t talked about at all in the adjustment debate. The argument that usually refutes this position is that investment in employment would cease. B.S. I say to that. The days of investing in human capital and labour have passed. It’s easier now for the wealthy to pump their money into equities, commodities,bonds and hundreds of other manufactured financial financial instruments.

• Mick 06/02/13 #

Go on da Rebels !!!!!

• It’s time for a 24/7 presence outside the Dail and Government buildings with Nurses, Firefighters, Paramedics, Prison Officers, Gardai, Defence Forces etc
    Don’t tell me Gardai and defence forces can’t – they can
    The gloves are now off people – get off your arses and fight for you and your families

• Pa Mrf 06/02/13 #

@Vincent you are a pathetic old fool who loves to troll on any topic or debate relating to frontline workers. Give the guards a break you wouldn’t last two minutes out on the street !!!!!

• Cut social welfare instead which is costing the State circa €20 billion per annum or nearly 40% of the State’s expenditure.

• Back under your rock.

• Why don’t you repeat your normal comments about Garda pay.

• @ joe you’ve changed your tune, normally you love your public sector Bashing,
      God what a sad existence you have.

• While I agreed with the closure of one man stations, I think something’s wrong when front line workers are getting hammered given the obscene level of welfare payments and entitlement culture in this country.

• Try living on the dole, as many are through no fault of their own, and get back to us.

• Try working your ass off in a rotten stressful job, paying bills, paying rent or a mortgage, paying medical expenses and at the end of it all being the same as or worse off than someone with no appreciation living off the State.

• Joe do you,try putting your life on the line each,worrying about paying your bills only to have idiots constantly state you get toi much

• Cut social welfare FRAUD which cost us €93 million in 2011
      That would be a start

• Norman
      Are you living on Social Welfare?

• You can’t lump everyone in that bracket Joe , there certainly are a fair share of free loaders in this country but branding everyone on the dole as such is callus. For some its the last thing they want, and can far from afford to live but by the bare minimum.. For some its depressing enough to be out of work without having to deal with people tarring them with the same brush as others who have never worked a day in their lives.

• I agree Bilbo there are some genuine cases, but I cant help arriving at a general opinion when I have witnessed countless people give up good jobs to get unmarried mother’s allowance and free housing, or when I have seen countless people working on the side bringing in significant income while claiming. GIven my own experience, I wonder how systematically rotten this sort of practice is.

• If I were to guess I’d say its somewhere around 150,000 as that’s how many were on the dole when we didn’t have enough people too fill the jobs available. These are easy to target, they’ve been on the dole for 5 years or more. A more targeted approach on that demographic would be much fairer imho. There should be no ability to be a lifer on the dole. The system is designed (or should be) to help people back up when they’re down. Not to hand out cash.

• Joe o shea .
      you are what is wrong . Go away with your ould divide and conquer routine will you …

• Tom 06/02/13 #

You are the most informed trol in journal land

• “United we stand, divided we fall” ideology unfortunately doesn’t address the structural deficit problem that is a 20 billion gap between what this country takes in and what it spends. And that’s aside from promissory note payments or bondholder payments, a default on which leaves us in unknown territory as Argentina found out to it’s peril. While an improvement in the global economy would close that gap, unfortunately some stark choices still have to be made on where the cuts happen. Without doubt, FF governments of past created a welfare state buying elections.

• Jason 06/02/13 #

We are

• @ Angela – There is a huge scam going on in this country which is costing the state (ie we the people) aprx 120 million euro (and rising) every year, and it is being run by godfathers who call themselves politicians.

@ Joe
      @ Bilbo

Some research on your parts wouldn’t go amiss.

1 – the only free accomadition in this country is to be had in homeless shelters/hostel. EVERYONE else pays for the roof over their heads regardless of whether they are paying a mortgage, landlord or council. Those in receipt of rent supplement, beleive it or believe it not, have to put their hand in their pocket and contribute. The SW does not cover the full amount of their rent.

2 – During the “tiger” years there were 120 000 people claiming social welfare, of these some – 28000 people were classed as being long-term unemployed. So thats only 28000 lazy feckless wasters in this country. The other 92000 people were in receipt of, lone parents allowance old age pension, disablilty allowance, invalidity pension, blind persons allowance and widow/widower pensions.

28000 lazy wasters and approx 15000 lazy lone peranets are a far cry from you’re assumed 150,000 scroungers.

• Apologies – I forgot to mention the most important group that were included in the 120 000 people. That would be those in receipt of Carers Allowance who save this country millions of euros every year and get feck all support or recognition for doing so.

• @joe

You seem to be changing your tune a little bit there fella, has it finally sunk in?

• Richard thanks for the concern but i had to go to bed up early for work.Lucky to have never been on the dole.
      On another note do you expect a fine from the council for the pollution you claim your septic thank caused?

• Not called the “rebel” county for nothing ……

• Don’t hide behind a Blue Flu. The public and media reacted badly to the original one and are never slow to abuse Gardai for taking this action. There was no GRA until members met in the Macushla Ballroom, which they were forbidden from doing, and they were all sacked the next day. Eventually all were reinstated and the GRA was formed. If enough Gdai STRIKE the Govt will back down. That’s how serious feelings are running Shatter, if your’e reading this!!

• A well-known burglar walked into a Garda Station today and said to the Garda ‘So **** * ****** Station is closing soon isn’t it? And sure D***** Station closed last year too didn’t it?”.

His smile went from ear to ear.

• I doubt all the Garda are from cork .

• Who would have thought Cork, eh?

• Don’t feed the trolls!

• No Blue Flu. Just strike. There was no GRA until the Gardai met illegally in the Macushla Ballroom. they were all sacked but were reinstated and the members got what they were looking for, a representative association. Don’t hide behind a Blue Flu. Call it what it is, a strike. Everyone out!! See what they make of that.

• I bet the Criminals are delighted to hear this news.

• So your masters have turned on yous stand with the people and they’ll stand with yous

• Sure they might as well go on strike and all the rest of the public service. This country was hit by an economic synuami 5 years ago and the waves are only starting to break in the public service now. THIS COUNTRY IS BROKE!!!!!!

• Ah yes meanwhile the public sector have had it hard. Our wallets are to small for all our fifties and our diamond shoes hurt our feet.
      Wake up you idiot, the average public sector worker has seen their weekly wage packet decimated. They have and continue to carry the burden whilst paying their share. My advice to you stay off the PC and continue reading the indo.

• How are we broke when we can afford to extend the Luas at 370 million euros for a 5.6km. That money alone would ensure that Gardai will not have to endure a payout plus new cars and equipment. That paramedics are hired, that new entrant nurses are paid there full amount. That more prisons are built. Do we really need an extension of the Luas

• Harry C
      This country is NOT broke . AIB handed over 1.8 billion euros to unsecured bondholders YESTERDAY. We are not broke.

• We’re bankrupting ourselves paying for the debts of Europe. We are the single highest paying country for the Euro debt crisis. Not Germany, not France. Our entire deficit would disappear overnight were we to stop paying gamblers debts. We would be one of the best balanced countries in the Eurozone were it not for debt that isn’t ours.

It’s time the EU accepted that if it weren’t for the Irish people the Euro would have collapsed. Hand the debt over to the ECB where it should have been and get this dead weight off our shoulders. But they won’t. Because Ireland is paying interest. The EU profits off of Ireland sacrificing its economy to save the Euro. That is why they don’t want to pay the Guards.

• Now that the government want to tackle the Croke park deal there is a potential revolt. Just when the people with less have been hammered into poverty and emigration for years. The troika will probably disappear now and we will be back to the better off minding their own. So much for a Christian country. This is the opposite to patriotism. Punishing your neighbour and the vulnerable by making them pay for secure jobs with pensions is what Ireland has become — led by a selfish self serving group of elite people in positions of power.

• macca 06/02/13 #

Savings have to be made guys and no matter where they are you will always have disharmony

• over paid in the first place ,what they on about ?

• You shouldn’t be complaining like that Martin, looks like your well looked after anyway!

• Hey Martin, your twitter account says you live in London. How about you mind your own business? Some of us cant run off to another country, and if your not Irish, shove off and complain about something British.

• Strangely enough, people have the right to leave Ireland and should be commended for doing so. Taking responsibility and finding work inside or outside the country is far more patriotic than complaining without taking any action. This “I’m more Irish than you” line is always a thought-free argument. Personally, I find it worrying that certain self-styled “nationalists” show nothing but contempt towards “the nation”, i.e. the sum total of Irish citizens and Irish residents. Another oft heard insult is “traitor”, an ugly word if ever there was one, but I sincerely believe the “traitors” are those who belittle and condemn anyone who has chosen to improve their lives and the lives of their funds and families. Immigration or the dole? Multinationals or the dole? Are these really such hard decisions?

• Alien8 06/02/13 #

Well done, Ornaigh. Great use of police time, stalking journal user ids, berating people who had to emigrate. True patriot.

• garda shoudnt be even allowed to consider strike as a action. they should be treated like the army. Anyone that does strike should be arrested for endangering public interests

• Colin C 06/02/13 #

So, looks like most people here support an unelected mob being allowed to over-ride the democratic institutions of the state, and are calling on publicly-paid gardaí to stand idly by while that happens.

Jesus, lads. The black and tans couldn’t have countenanced how the Irish people themselves would be the destructors of the state. Good on ye.

• Unelected mob eh.
      This is not question of these people being elected or for that fact unelected, nor was it ever.
      It is very easy for those in power to point to those who would choose to challenge their authority and brand them an unelected mob. I’d be fairly certain that scenario occurred in 1916. So in my opinion your reference to it is nothing but hot-air and hyperbole. You mentioned democratic institutions, surely one of the key tenets of a democratic state is the fair and just treatment of its people. This treatment being based on justice and equality instead of who their employer might be. The PS in this country has in recent years taking a kicking. They have paid their fair share and have carried the burden.
      Do try and remember what it is this unelected mob are asking for, a fair days pay for a fair days work. I bet even the Black and Tans received that.

Add New Comment