TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Column: My father was a Garda – I’ve seen what they have to go through.

Fears for his safety, holidays without him, and the constant worry that he wouldn’t come home: Aisling O’Donnell writes about her father, the Garda.

Aisling O'Donnell

I AM THE daughter of a retired Garda. This is something that I have no problem in saying now.

When I was younger and didn’t get it, I was never the first in line to explain what my dad did for a living because people could be unkind and often didn’t seem to get what it takes to be someone who does that job.  Nobody could understand unless they had a family member in the emergency services.

There were some holidays spent without him.  Being told to turn on the news on Christmas Day to see a riot van being assailed by petrol bombs was not the height of fame which he ever intended to reach. There were many times where he was out on nights and my mam lay in the bed without him, hoping that he would be alright while she waited for the back door to slam at 6am, signalling he was back.  The comforting sound of size 11 steel-capped boots trying to tip-toe down the hall for fear of waking four young children let me know that he was ok.

I grew accustomed to seeing my dad in his uniform all the time: watching the racing on Channel 4, eating his dinner, reading the paper. The jeep would be parked in our driveway and if I had a friend over, I’d have to explain that nobody in the family was a convicted criminal offender, about to be arrested. I would be dropped to school in it; I never gave much thought to what happened with the uniform and the jeep when I wasn’t around. What work my father did, how much he achieved in a week.

“Everything sprang into action”

One of the most prominent memories I have of my dad while he was a Garda is also one of the times I was most proud of him. I was at in the kitchen after school, sitting at the table eating when he came in the door, sat down and stared into space. I asked what was up and he said he couldn’t speak for a few minutes.

He was working in west Dublin at the time and was on the M50 when he saw a young man standing on the barrier above the motorway about to jump. My dad slowed down and got out. He tried to speak to the guy but he just wasn’t listening; his speech was slurred and he appeared to be under the influence of something. Dad tried to keep his attention, inching slowly towards the precipice, toward this man who felt like he had nothing to live for.

Cars were whizzing past. One motorist stopped and got out as the guy stood faltering back and forth on the edge of his life. Dad was one foot away when the guy jumped. Everything sprang into action. Lunging forward with everything he had, my dad grabbed the collar of the man’s coat, hanging over the safety rail with a 16 stone sack of dead weight in his arms. The passing motorist then grabbed on to my dad, and like a great big chain, began to tow this young man back to earth. The ambulance was there within minutes. They thanked my dad and he just got in his car and drove home to me.

“They put up with a lot of shit from a lot of sources”

This week was a sad one for the Gardaí and for the Irish public. Detective Garda Adrian Donohue was shot and killed while on duty in County Louth. Several thousand people attended the funeral – including my father. Det Garda Donohoe’s wife and brother were both Gardaí, and the network of support was evident as the sea of blue uniforms showed their colours through the light rain which accompanied one of the saddest days for the force.

A lot of people have a lot of different opinions about the Gardaí. They’re all corrupt, they are lazy, they look out for their own, they’re paid too much. I can honestly say that absolutely none of these opinions are in any aspect true for me. From what I see these people are not paid enough: for the most part they are honest, kind, decent, hard-working individuals, and they put up with a lot of shit from a lot of sources. They are trying to deal with it as best as they can.

Every department of the force is working for you from Community Police to the Special Detective Unit, and I find that people are so quick to have a go without recognising the immense good carried out every day by respectable, modest, diligent, compassionate Gardaí like Adrian Donohue. It would just be nice once in a while to realise how good you have it, when you have it. So if you see a Garda this week, standing out in the rain doing checks or even standing in the queue at the bank, have a little think about this and spare a thought for the majority of the men and women who are trying their best at something so important.

Aisling O’Donnell is a 28 year old journalism graduate, originally from Leixlip Co. Kildare.

Read next:

Comments (149 Comments)

• I’ve always had the utmost respect for the guards. I’ve a great funny story. Always remember being stopped by a guard. I leaned out the window to talk with him and accidently put my elbow on the electronic button, trapping my head in the window, well the guard almost wet himself. Me to when i got me head free.

• Lovely article!

• Great article respect to our guards.

• I’ve a brother who’s in the job – I’d worry about the stuff that could happen but at the same time – like most PS jobs there are what he does and what the pencil pushers do.

For anyone in front line jobs, this entire “where do you expect the money from” attitude really bother me. I went back to college to become a teacher after redundancy (and am desperate for a job), my brothers in the 80′s had to head to England to do what they wanted to do. I have a few pals who have gone after EMT jobs after having jobs that would put them on shift work despite their previous professions not being on weekend and shift work.

The bottom line with a lot of these jobs is that not only are they ones which actually effect the future for individuals and for localities but the people that go into them have an altruistic attitude. When I went through college (and only graduated last August) there were few that I could question their intentions as a teacher. People take risks to go into a lot of frontline services job – there is some reward for doing the job which is not monetary but when government (and indeed many private sector die hards) seem intent on ripping the foundation from under public servants’ professions then where do you go?

No doubt there are chunks of wastage (and we all know they are at the top) but protect the vulnerable and fu*k those idiots who think they’ll never benefit from the frontline people.

I hope I haven’t hijacked the thread – just sick of the lack of address at those that deserve it rather than the frontline

• A great article. A positive reminder that guards are ordinary people doing a not so ordinary job!

• Utmost respect

• Well said!

• Fair Play Aisling..much appreciated by many Guards..

• maura 31/01/13 #

Totally agree with you. Most people complain when the are stopped by a garda, making stupid comments about being stopped. On the whole they are a great bunch of people. I grew up beside a Garda station and understand the work they do. I certainly appreciate their fantastic work.

• I think that is one of the best articles I have read on the subject in a long time

Agree with it all

• A great insight for the people of our nation, well scripted Aisling.
    As a serving prison officer of nearly 20 years I have to say that a guards job is much harder than mine, as I know who I’m dealing with and what he has on him and what his profile is, but a guard dealing with the public knows nearly nothing about someone who approaches him, and has to be polite and on the receiving end first.
    Enjoy the time you now have with your dad and listen to all his stories about the past and the jokes he played on his colleagues and them on him

• Fantastic article Aisling. I really enjoyed reading it, well done.

• Aisling you may be a proud daughter but I’m sure you father is the proudest of men to have a daughter like you. In the job myself and every word you speak is the truth! Thank you!

• Agree 100%

• Well said Aisling,
    Pity Alan Shatter doesn’t get it !

• Alan Shatter will never get it because he has NEVER walked the walk with any member of An Garda Siochana or rushed to an emergency call or had to knock on anyone’s hall Door to give them the worst news they would ever receive
      Well written account of the Life of a Daughters Memories of her Dad work as a Guard

• Don’t you think Shatters daughter could write something equivalent. Don’t be so childish to think that just because someone makes unpopular decisions doesn’t mean they are for the wrong reasons. Gardai might be a nice bunch of lads but currently we have insufficient money to finance them, the teachers, nurses and every other large body of state employees. That’s the reality. It’s a lot easier to set up the Croke park agreement and bankrupt the place by flinging money at anything that moves to secure the next election.

• Well done Aisling – as you say the Garda needs a break every now and then .after all they do a great job for us all

• Lovely article, daughter of a retired Garda myself also, I can relate to all points you have brought up! Well done!

• Bren 31/01/13 #

Thank you Aisling for a fantastic article. As the son of a retired Garda Sergeant, I can tell you that we share some very similar childhood memories.

• Im too am a daughter and sister of the uniform, grew up with in my home and didnt take much heed of it because ‘Daddy was just going work’ …loved the stories he told many years later …they too had it hard with crime, and always had a dog with him…am very proud of him and my brother …

• This makes me want to be a garda even more now, still waiting to get the call to get the garda reserve training done. The best article I’ve read today , the gardai do an excellent job and respect to them.

• A fantastic article , As a full time firefighter with 25 years service i know only too well the dangers that Gardai Firefighters/ Prison officers/ Paramedics and Nurses face every hour of every day somewhere in this country.

It shows that we are just normal people that try our best to help everyone in every way possible and not the leeches on society that the media love to portray us on the orders of there paymasters.

• Nice one Aisling, and for what it’s worth, I think Shatter is very wrong.

• Nice read. Far too often we read and listen to the news and forget that the people in the stories are real and have families like the rest of us. Maybe when we hear what’s going on in our country, and world , we should think about it more. It really is happening to someone, someone real.

• Well said girl

• I have a sister in the Gardai. They are human beings. There are good gardai, bad gardai, corrupt ones and many, many that go above and beyond the call of duty. People who curse and spit at gardai, who attack them or view them with mistrust are attacking the uniform. I ask them to take a step back and look at the person. A garda is a father, a mother, a son or daughter, a brother, or a sister.

• Brilliant article, lovely insight into the families of these people who put their lives on the line every day for us

• Well done Aisling. Excellent description and really well written.

• Great article Aishling, my cousin was a Garda. He spent 3years in uniform in the country and returned to Dublin as a detective. His whole career was undercover. His neighbors taught he was a builder. His wife and family had to keep this secret and still do. He lives in a working class area. He was not the only one. There are a few more like him. He has been in some very dangerous situations. Has been shot at a few times. He gets no extra pay. The general public are quick to slag the Garda. They are a very professional Police force. The Irish people are lucky to have them. I hope he has a nice quite life, now that he is retired.

• Well said and so true.

• Excellent read . Shame on this FG government for the their treatment of our Gardai . And now I read on rte that they want to cut Garda pay . Disgraceful . Shows the priorities FG really have . Shame on them .

• Id love to see a photo of this 1200 a week payslip that the gardai are receiving because I can assure you it doesnt come into my household.

• The Garda are a product of the environment set up by the politicians. They deal with what they are faced with every time they go out to work. They must face challenges very few people would imagine and they react with the resources they are given – which are not always up to date or adequate. Mister Shatter should do some work experience at night with the Garda and I bet the resources and future planning would be a priority.

• Very glad you said all this. It is true that we dont appreciate what we have until its gone. So sorry & so sad about Garda Donoghue.

• Over the past 50 years, I have never met a Garda who was not at the very least polite, mostly helpful and in a tragic situation, kind, compassionate and helpful.
    Recently, a lady living alone was robbed while she was out. She was very traumatised by the event. The attending Garda was so helpful and reassuring, and called several times in the ensuing days.
    As a Gaurds son, I am used to snide remarks, mostly by people who would try to get a drink driving charge dropped. I think it is a shame that all the experienced members are leaving the force.

• Paul They Have No Choice, The Commissioner Shatter And The Rest Of The Government will Starve Them Out With All The Cuts To Their Wages and Conditions. They Think More Of The Corrupt Bankers And Unsecured Bond Holders Than Our Protectors.

• I have to laugh at mr o Shea’s views at what he actually thinks goes on within AGS and the “excellent” weekly pay we receive. If he actually had a clue I’d imagine he would probably retract those comments fairly quickly. On the other hand great article. The past week has really shown public support for AGS which I was beginning to think wasn’t there. Faith has been restored in the decent of the majority of people in this country

• As a serving member very well written. Thank you and RIP Adrian

• Well said. Good old JP!!!!!

• Lovely article Aishling. My Da, joined the force on D day 1945 & pounded the beat for over 40 years through some of the toughest of times.
    He found himself looking down the barrel of a gun on 2 occasions that I am aware of. He was stabbed with a broken bottle & had his ribs broken and was left bleeding in the gutter on another occasion.
    As kids we were used to him being away on border duty for weeks at a time. Pay was definitely not good in those days. If the Guards get more pay nowadays I am happy for them.
    In those days too,people freely called to the house for my Father to come their homes to sort out incidences of domestic violence and other problems at all hours of the day and night. He always went.
    He retired after 40 years and died within 4 months of retiring, so no worries there Joe on what his pension might have cost the state….he didn’t live long enough to enjoy it.
    Most guards that I know, don’t see themselves as any kind of heroes, yes, they signed up for the job and they get on with, but The reality is that it is something more than just an ordinary job, it is fraught with danger and they do get more abuse than most workers, along with Prison officers, firefighters and emergency frontline workers. Sorry for rambling.
    Aisling’s article just got me thinking. Thanks to all the people here who have shown their support for the Guards. To Joe and the others who only have negative things to say, don’t worry, you will still be able to call on the Guards if you ever find yourselves a victim of a crime.
    My thoughts are with the family of Adrian, brutally executed while just doing his job.

• Well said, a great tribute to one man who was part of a thin blue line for everyone I this country even if they don’t realise it….

• Similar situation to Aisling, son of a Garda sergeant

Grew up wondering why dad (detective at the time) used to have to carry a gun, confused me no end, unfortunately I found out this week.

Worst nightmare for any Garda family, not the type if thing you thinku of as someone goes off to work

• My grandfather used to be a guard, my father retired on 05 , eldest brother is a guard aswell as my twin brother . Never had any problems growing up from people who didn’t like the guards. The odd smart comment which only happened rarely and normally ripping the piss out of the person or going for them stopped it fairly lively lol.
    Cousin is a detective who was the lead investigator in a very well publicised story lately .
    If you think guards are loaded then you’re far from the truth.
    Especially nowadays , it’s a job I wouldn’t do anyways . To much hassle and shag all respect from the top brass, same as most jobs I suppose :)

• I will admit I’m slightly biased but great read ash,never forget the day he drove over to have dinner with me because both of us wer working Xmas day while the rest of you wer tucking into a feast at home and we sat with our lunch boxes!

• Good debate .Primtime …

• well now we know why o shea has a chip on his shoulder about guards caught for speeding a few times well boo hoo maybe all the gardai here would have a whip around to pay his fines out of their executive wages

• A very thought provoking and pleasant article.

I do think that AGS have serious problems though. I don’t think blaming an entire force of people who work hard to keep our society save is the answer. But neither is ignoring the problems the answer.

One thing I never forget is that their role is not defined as a security force or police force but rather as ‘guardians of the peace’ and I think in our young republic that peace has been well guarded by a majority of those who are good, honest and decent people.

• Aisling, well done on writing this column, it’s a great piece. Your Mum & Dad are no doubt very proud of you, as are this branch of the O’Donnell family! We know what it feels like as well to be the son or daughter of a Garda, and you captured it really well, so thank you from all your cousins!

• Hi Ashling Lovely Piece Well Said. the Dregs Of Society and Lowlifes. Are Not The Only Ones That Don’t Appreciate Our Gardai. Either Do The Commissioner,, Shatter,, Or The Rest Of The Government.

• My dad was a painter and decorator, went out every morning to work hard for his family, he is my hero………..

• Great article Ashling. Know exactly how you felt my dad was a Garda too. I’m in the job now as well and I’m sure my son feels the same as we did when we were kids.

• Good article and it is nice to see the journal publishing a positive article. Most children are proud of their parents when they look back on their sacrifices and love and attention. Frontline services like Gardai nurses teachers ambulance personell fire fighters etc etc are special and are massively underpaid. Well done aishling

• People Joe is just a misguided misinformed typical irish male with a chip on his shoulder when it comes to gardai or most likely anybody he feels has it easier than him. although i don’t blame him for his foolishness as he is jus reacting to an article that was printed a while back which clearly was designed to paint the average garda as being extremely wealthy which is definitely not the case. you know that for fact as do i. why don’t you just turn the page and say ”i wish” as you most likely did when you read that ludicrous article in the Indo back when it was printed. I ask you are joes comments worthy of a response.. wud any of you reply to Joe? he probably still lives with his rich parents jys of the stilorgan rd and yet is applying for his student grant.. forget him.. solidarity for each other for the future is all we’d should be concerned about..

• Fair play to you, will be acknowledged by many!!!!

• I have a sister in the Gardai. They are human beings. There are goid gardai, bad gardai, corrupt ones and many, many that go above and beyond the call of duty. People who curse and spit at gardai, who attack them or view them with mistrust are attacking the uniform. I ask them to take a step back and look at the person. A garda is a father, a mother, a son or daughter, a brother, or a sister.

• tuba hg 01/02/13 #

Excellent article, a factual account of the what members and their families go through every day, I’m sure your dad is as proud of you as you are of him

• I am the sister of a retired Garda who has put it all behind him. The Aunt of a young Garda who is starting off on this hard road. Ashling, your Dad I´m sure is proud of you as are many readers. Well done and thank you.

• God bless the Gardaí.

• Trolls….complain all u like about the allowances, but who are u gonna call when you’re in a crisis? My Dad is a retired member, and my 2 brothers are currently serving. Some of the stories they tell are hair raising. Some people complain about their pay (which in NOT as good as people think) even though these men/women are prepared to put themselves in harms way to protect others. Personally, Gardai, Teachers & Nurses are the first people we turn to at times of crisis, so why are we not backing them up instead of grinding them down?

• well now we know why mr o shea has a chip on his shoulder about guards caught for speeding a few times well boo hoo have a whip round out of your executive wages lads and ease his pain

• A Garda’s pay is not as good as it used to be because of the pension levy, which takes a huge chunk out of your pay-packet, as a nurse I should know. Good article….. Not saying anymore as I don’t want to feed a certain troll….!

• I enjoyed you article I thought it really gave a good insight into your life. I am sure your dad is proud of you. Did any of your siblings become guards.

• Thank you Aisling x

• Well written.

• I must be living in some sort of twilight zone or something cause every experience I’ve ever had with a guard has been negative, even the situations where they were apparently there to help me. They’re either incompetent or apathetic and with all their pay cuts it’s only gotten worse!

• I agree guards do put up with a lot of $hit from a lot of sources. Anyone does working in a job where they must face the generic public on a daily basis, but guards regularly are in contact with the real dregs of society.

Outside of that this article offers littles insight and has far too many vast generalities. Overall being a garda is a well paid, pensionable, secure job which many people would be delighted to do. Calls for higher pay for guards, when the average garda earns a 55-60k salary are unjustified.

• Always one.

• Always happy to bring facts to nauseating eulogising of what is just another job.

• buddy… Well Paid… I worked for a bookmakers before I joined the force and let me tell you the saying the grass is always greener is so true…not that I’m sorry I left the bookmakers but I was on a lot better money at the end of each week than I am now and back then I got to go home every night to my family… Well Paid ha yeah! GREENER!!

• ha I’m just seeing 55 to 60k … ha what planet are you living on! maybe the Rank of Superintendents and above are on that kind of money but let me tell you the dopes that are out driving a patrol car for 10 hours a day at 5 am in the morning are far from 55 g a year… wake up!!

• Guards had a chance of hitting that figure once if they had all incraments and bucketlouds of overtime. This has not been so with years. Also I believe most are taxed to bits.

• Actually joe is be more then happy if it was facts you were spouting. Misinformation

• Allowances give guards €300 per week extra – as well as overtime costing €115m in 2010 (€109 per week per member) brings an average garda’s weekly income to €1,208.

Gardaí also get a rent allowance of €4,300 a year. This cost almost €60m last year.

Gardaí are paid an unsocial hours allowance for working between 6pm and 8am, and an extra days pay for working a Sunday. These cost almost €100m in 2010, yielding around €10,000 a year per garda.

A clerical allowance of over €5,000 a year is paid to gardaí confined to desk work, primarily in compensation for not being able to claim the above unsocial hours’ allowances.

More minor allowances include a uniform maintenance allowance (€4.39 a week), plain clothes allowance (€12.21 a week), boot allowance (€2.93 a week), a cycle allowance (€2.53 a week) and a detective allowance (€28.19 a week). Juvenile liaison and community relations gardaí are paid an extra €28.19 a week.

Policing the Gaeltacht areas attracts an additional €3,500 allowance while those working on the islands get an extra €1,500 a year.

Allowances for extra duties or skill sets which cannot be encompassed within the hierarchical grade and pay structure of An Garda Síochána are also paid. Recipients include ministerial drivers, who get an extra 40% – around €19,000 a year.

Gardaí working in the change management unit get an allowance of €6,500 a year. In the air support unit they get €5,000, PSV (public service vehicle) inspectors get €5,000, crime scene examiners get €3,000, radio section officers get €5,300, technical bureau officers receive €5,400 after five years, water unit gardaí receive €5,050 and a welfare officer gets €7,800.

While secure pensions paying 50% of an index-linked salary for life is a major perk for all public servants, gardaí have the additional perk of being able to retire at 50 on a full pension – a benefit which Colm McCarthy estimated would cost 48% of a garda’s salary to fund.

• Average pay is 55-60k, ha! 6 day week, 10hour shift mate which is liable to be longer, depending on what may or may not occur which you won’t see a penny for any ot incurred. Not complaining though just pointing a mis truth. Proud to wear the uniform

• Joe pet if I was on €1200 a week I’d have a fair nice car outside the front door of a lovely house … when in actual fact my husband and i are actually finding it quiet tough to get a mortgage… actually if I was on 1200 a week I wouldn’t need a mortgage at all I’d build like mad with all those lovely euros! DREAMER! BTW I drive a 05 corolla…. very posh!

• All I can refer to is average weekly earnings from the most recent CSO statistics figures available. Difficulty in getting a mortgage is not a good barometer for good your job is, especially not now when the banks are not lending. An 05 Corolla is indeed very posh, and about 5 times the value of my car.

• Will you please take a minute to read what you are copy and pasting nearly everything you have spouted there is in relation to specialised units and roles. For example the JLO officer, there is only one of these in each division in the country. Dog handlers bring the dog home, should they not be compensated for keeping the dog? Cycle allowance – I do not know.one person who claims it. Uniform allowance has been halved. And don’t get me started on pensions there seems to be be this mythical believe that pensions are just handed to us. Well they’re not. Over 10% of my gross wages go towards MY pension. I pay my way, I don’t have my hand out like the people that we have to deal with. Crawl back under your rock you troll. All you seem to do is comment against anything in relation to the state. Most people commenting here don’t feel the need to hide behind a bogus account.

• In relation to pensions, as I said, it would cost a private sector employee 48% of a garda’s salary to fund the pensions they receive.

Dont talk nonsense about me “talking against the State”. What evidence do you have for that?

As for the rest of your emotional outburst (troll, etc), can I see your shoulder number?

• Just have a look at your ‘anonymous’ twitter account. Aside of commenting on trivial stuff most of your ‘just commented on the journal’ tweets are garda/government related. That’s proof enough for me.

• Maybe keep your rant for next week considering what happened to one of the finest members and have some respect.

• Just because I choose not to post personal pictures does not make my account anonymous. I hope you’re more methodical in gathering evidence in your job if commenting on a government related matter is somehow proof of “talking against the State”.

• so that’s what a troll is… I never knew what people meant by trolls! I’ve a lot to learn! :-P

• A troll is what a simpleton calls one who holds a differing viewpoint. Always happy to educate.

• Members joined in last 6 years must be a minimum of 55 years old to retire , that leaves me to work 36 years service paying the full contribution for 36 years and receive the same pension as someone who worked the 30. Plus the average life expectancy of a guard after retirement is less then five years, pretty grim considering you can retire in your 50s , so most of this pension is never redeemed.
      Also if your going to copy and paste. At least check of the source you are copying is up to date !!!

• @joe

You’re just another idiot with a dodgy calculator who also knows how to cut and paste.

• http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-pension-worth-11m-1664588.html

Private sector have to put 100% into their pension. Gardai put in 10% and get over a 1 million pension pot in return. That is obscene.

Let’s not play the poor mouth. Big picture is, you are moaning about a cushy number. This reality is it is a fantastic package, far beyond the private sector.

• Jim I was wondering when you were going to pop up! :-)

• ‘Cushy number’. Given the week that’s in it, I’m not bothering continuing any conversation with you, absolute ignorance ! Good luck

• If its so cushy get your application form at the ready for when they start recruiting … in sure you’d be a valuable addition to the force.

• Shame on you to pull that card. And good luck to you.

• Thank you Claire.

• zodiac 01/02/13 #

Shush Claire … Little ‘jim-bob’ is getting ready to say “nite-nite” to John-Boy and Mary-Ellen…. and he needs to get to the ‘land of nod’ …. where he can dream of the Superheroes ;)

• Did you take into account the extra €100 p/w that goes into the USC and extra pension payment, the direct cut in wages and the rises is PAYE and PRSI,so as to fund welfare chumps who ‘pay our wages’?! The tax I’ve paid in January alone would be enough to keep a scrounger in Dutch for 2 1/2 months!!! The same scrounger that may someday decide to break my nose….or worse…..
      I am well aware that there are people worse of than me (I don’t profess to be living squarely on the breadline) but I just ask to be paid as I’m valued!!!

MORE IMPORTANTLY, AND ON TOPIC, FANTASTIC ARTICLE AISLING….KUDOS TO YOU!!! KEEP WRITING!!!

• 55-60?? My partner’s net pay is €533? He’s hoping to leave the guards after 9 years. We’re looking into emigration. What planet u living on? An inspector maybe on this, I don’t know. Anyway on paper it might sound ok but once everything is hacked off, pension, tax, USC, medical etc it comes to phuck all!

• Joe – there is nothing that you are saying that it is important to maintain anonymity around. Why not waive it?

As regards CSO figures – look at those for any public servant job and you’re gonna bitch about averages to the frontline without having the intelligence to realise that in a lot of those jobs there are the lads on the top money, shoving up the CSO average and then there is the frontline.

If this was an imageboard I’d be calling Spiderman thread…. Because you obviously have little to say.

• @ joe, u really need to get yourself an application form for The Guards. You think it’s the best and easiest job ever, so u need to get yourself signed up! Careerservices.ie do a prep day for the exam just to give u that extra chance. Your going to love it and the pay!

• I said it was the “best and easiest job ever”? Now let’s not exaggerate, Karolyn.

• And you don’t Like Guards Because…..?

• If your so brilliant why don’t you try doing their JOB FOR A Year after all You’ll get 55 / 60,000 for doing It. Gob Shite.

• And Here We Have Another BLUE SHIRT that Believes All The SPIN Put Out Be Government Spin Doctors. Shatter Is Probably His Idol.

• Ah now it’s becoming Clear He Is A begrudged.

• I’ll pop up for you anytime Claire. Badoom tish.. (Only jokin by the way)

• I never post on thejournal but on this occasion I had to when I saw ‘cushy number’. You obviously never got spat at, punched in the face, abused, threatened, or had to deal with rapes, road traffic accidents, drunks vomiting, pissing and craping themselves etc. (the list is unending). And for what? The 55 – 60 thousand euro a year? Don’t make me laugh you plank. You really need to examine a Garda’s pay slips! You’re a disgrace of a human being for calling the job of a Garda a ‘cushy number’ less than a week from when a very brave man, husband and father gave his life in the line of duty. And let us not forget the other members who have died, been seriously injured, mentally scarred or suffered injury when on duty. Cushy indeed!

• You will be recruiting next time so? It’s such a well paid job

• Joe, don’t know where you are getting your figures from but I certainly don’t get a salary anywhere near what you are suggesting. I am sure many people would be delighted to do my job and I am lucky to have my job as I am often told. But I work damn hard for my money. I would love to see you walk in the shoes of a guard for a day where you have to break news to a parent when there child has passed away, or you are first at the scene of a fatal accident. When you go to a call to assist someone and you are attacked and assaulted when all you wanted to do was help, and you are assaulted not because you are male or female or known to your attacker but because you “wear” that uniform.

• A Garda’s actual salary is between €750 – €850 a week and sometimes less. The figure you mention relates to a Superintendent or above, there is no Garda or Sergeant who earns the salary figure that you mentioned. Overtime is nearly non-existent except for the investigation of serious crimes such as murder. The allowances you mentioned are seriously outdated and many don’t exist anymore including the clerical allowance. An allowance for Community Gardai never existed. Other allowances you mentioned are there to cover extra costs incurred by the Garda. The uniform maintenance allowance at €4.39 a week does not cover the drying cleaning of the trousers which at €7 and after running through mucky fields after criminals, searching ditches and performing beat duty and checkpoints in the rain, they need to be cleaned on a weekly basis. You must remember that every Garda works an average of 48 hours a week which results in them working 60 hours some weeks to do that. They work in the middle of the night and sometimes don’t get to bed when they get home because they have to look after their kids while their partners work to ensure the bills are paid. They work weekends, Easter, Christmas and miss out on a lot in their children’s and family’s lives to protect and serve you, Joe.

• Then tell us what they are earning? Dispell the myth if what a sergeant with 10 years under his belt with full allowances takes home gross a month I’ve looked at the salary scales and while hard to interpret, about 55k for what I have described sounds roughly correct. No?

• Everyone is taxed. Gardai aren’t taxed more. They pay however pay less PRSI but I’m not saying that as fact.

• I drive a 98 Golf Claire. A 05 corolla is no roller but sounds right for a Garda. You are highlighting your expectations are high financially. Also I am aware of two Sergeants personally who drive brand new passats. So once again tell us a Sergeants gross average take home.

• @ Ian. I pay 25% of my gross into a pension. Even with that contribution
      My pension is subject to the market. Yours isn’t. Plus I will contribute to it for 14 years longer than you will for less of a return. The fact you complain about having to contribute 10% demonstrates your lack if understanding how people in the private sector who fund your pension actually live.

• @ Sean. When you say “someone who worked 30′ I presume you mean another Garda as opposed to a person who us responsible for funding their own pension in its entirety.

• That is a blatant lie.

• meow.

• Oh Sean wind your neck in…. It’s all very well coming out with 25% etc and you are implying you’ll be paying this for what 44 years?? Please, you need to think of your ‘facts’ before you state them.Over 95% of Gardai do not retire after their 30 years one simple reason the can’t afford to so its not a plush little number. And believe it or not we pay PAYE and PRSI which means I’ll be paying for my own pension plus your state pension. d another thing so what if a Sergeant can afford a new car. Did it ever dawn on you some people can be sensible with money? Not get up to their eyeballs in debt? Typical begrudger.

• Sean?? That for me??

• Haha no Sean sorry, I meant to say SIMON!

• Haha

• Yeah Simons just being his normal guard hating self. I wonder….. If he thinks we are so well off ! Why he didn’t join and wonder will he when the next recruitment arrives

• Yes I believe it was fairly obvious a meant another Garda , I follow the same tax rates as yourself So what’s taken off me is no different to you a only I work in the public sector

The highest weekly wage a guard gets to is 880 Gross, And that’s after 17 years service , it gets no higher than

Also a friend of mine is 21 and has worked herself to store manager in a retailing outlet, although she works very hard she is on just over a 40,000e salary in her 1st year as manager, Before store commission of 1.5% and Sunday pay which I guess you could compare to our allowances kind of
      There’s money outside the public sector alright

• Hi Mr Aidan High Side Cunningham, delighted to see we have some people on the high moral ground. When you have a problem who do you call? Ghost busters! Look at the statistics , An Garda Siochana have a very high satisfaction rate within the community, Why is that I wonder ? So your dealings with the Gardai have been greeted with sarcasm and lethargy, do you display the same traits maybe? I have been bitten, spat at , assaulted and rammed, that’s the thanks is it and you seem to embrace this behavior with your comments as if the Gardai deserve it.

• I always get a lump in my throat when I see a Traffic Corps garda hiding behind a bush on the Stillorgan dual carriageway stopping drivers going 5kmp/h over the limit.

• Really? It bothers you that the Traffic Corps are actually doing speed checks on our roads? Does it bother you that the NBFi investigate fraud? Does it bother you when the SOC do forensics? Or is it just certain sections of AGS doing there jobs that bother you?

• It doesn’t bother me in the slightest. I think they’re the real unsung heroes bringing the last bastion of serious criminality under control in our otherwise Utopian society.

• Perhaps they save the resources of the ordinary uniform members from having to deal continually with rear ender traffic accidents because of fools doing 5kph over the speed limit and running into the back of other cars

• Brilliant Gerry haha

• ~Yeah – there’s a spot in limerick too near the maxol in Castletroy where I’ve seen a motorbike cop park behind a sign in the car park of a hotel and stand out on the road. He’d never be there other than times to nab taxi drivers during low traffic.

It’s sh*t.

However, don’t be THAT GUY who got nabbed a few times by ONE tool Garda and think they’re all the same.

P.S. There are over 9000 Gardai. OVER 9000!

• Of course Tomy, real guards deserve praise and are excellent at investigating serious crime – assault, rape, murder, etc.

• actually joe im just back from week in uk and you complain about garda checks for speed well try driving anywhere in the UK and you will hit several speed checks within one hour. We have it easy when you compare. Also its not 5 km over there is alot more leeway then that. you must be confused with go safe. guards normally give you more then that. Also your previous point about pay was shot down over specialized units. as for pension, sure genorous perk but you do have to take into account that they pay into it from day one. not a free pension. Ive no idea how much per week, maybe someone can enlighten me on that but most people do not pay into a pension for 30 years or more and as for retirements after 30/35 years i would not be expecting a man or woman 55 or 60 or over to have to wrestle with a 25 year old coked out of their head.

maybe you had negative experience. Seems to be that those on right side of law like their police those that are not, well obviously they don’t

• And why was he nabbed a few times would you not think the TOOL Would Have Learned After The First Time.

• And Why Was He Nabbed A Few Times Would You Not Think the TOOL should Have Learned Something After The First Time.

• Joe – have you ever worked a Sunday? Have you ever worked between the hours of 6pm-8am? There is a lot to be said for the 9am-5pm job Monday-Friday.
      Gardai get allowance for working on a day of rest (sunday) which is justified. They get allowances for working the graveyard shift which is justified (6pm-8am). Unsocial able hours try getting up on a morning at 5:30am to go to work and try 7 days later going to bed at 8:30am after 2 early starts and 4 graveyard shifts. Graveyard shift my bollox because it is far from dead.

• As a small child the guards stood laughing while bailiffs stole our stuff. The dragged my bike out of my six year old hands. I have never been in trouble have good job but still to this day have had no positive experience and despise them all. I find it hard to feel sorry for guy closing gate on concentration camp only doing his job. Dirty job doesn’t attract normal people.

• Firstly bailiffs, if they are there then there is a reason. Names not quinn by any chance??? I could see them using this line

Secondly guards don’t take part. They have to attend at times to keep the peace. But certainly do not unload the house.

• It’s hugely important that big guards keep the peace on A six year old child. My name is not quinn but I imagine I keep better company than you.

I am sorry for any family to lose a loved one but get a decent job make something do something be something.

Boot boys and tax collectors is not going to bring joy to your lives or make the world a better place.

• When you say ‘guards’ do you mean An Garda Siochana or the Spanish Police?

• A dirty job doesn’t attract normal people? Are you for real? I shall assume by your tone you are not being complimentary. The dirty job as you so call it, attract people who will deal with the people you are too afraid to deal with, work the hours that you won’t. The street is there office. Some might say working in finance is a dirty job (which I see you do) because all it seems to hold is liars cheats and swindlers. Oh did I make a sweeping generalisation? My bad…..

• This article is biased, blinkered, sensationalised crap. I’m sure this authors dad did some good work as a member of AGS but come on, wondering if he wouldn’t come back at night? Please, 82 Members have been killed on active duty in 91 years, many in car crashes unrelated to any actual police work.
    With the greatest respect for any members who gave their life in the service of this country in any way, for the most part the force is inneffective, and filled with self serving corrupt individuals who don’t deserve the warrant card. Lack of funding and resources can’t be blamed for all of this. when dealing with GardaÍ at best one is greeted by sarcasm and lethargy,and more often than not frightening incompetence.
    If the existing members gave a crap about the job and had a real passion for it, the force would be much more effective and useful to the state.
    Any occurrences of blue flu should be investigated and where possible the participant should be severely disciplined. How dare a sworn in member of our states police abandon their duties in a gripe over pay?

• I do always think member most appropriate word

Add New Comment