TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Garda sergeants and inspectors withdrawing from Croke Park talks

The AGSI said yesterday that it was dissatisfied with the proposed cuts to allowances put on the table during talks.

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Updated: 14.20.

THE ASSOCIATION OF Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) has decided to withdraw from talks with government officials over the extension of the Croke Park Agreement.

The announcement comes after a meeting of the national executive this morning. After the meeting, AGSI General Secretary John Redmond told TheJournal.ie that they were “totally gone and done”.

Yesterday Redmond said he expected the association to pull out of the talks following the most recent briefing meeting in which it was confirmed that the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform wanted to cut allowances for working nights, weekends and bank holidays.

“Given what’s on the table, our members don’t seem to have much choice,” he said. “Theses allowances make up a very significant proportion of our members’ pay.”

A spokesperson for the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform said “the departure of any union is disappointing, in particular since any group that chooses to leave the negotiations gives up the opportunity to shape the outcome on behalf of the people they represent”.

“All sides accepted when the invitation to discussions was issued and accepted, that a major challenge faces both sides to shape an acceptable outcome for public servants across the broad range of employments in each sector. The talks process will continue to see if that can be achieved.”

The Garda Representative Association (GRA) will hold a meeting of its executive committee next Wednesday, which was already planned before the move by the AGSI. The GRA has been to the same briefing sessions as the AGSI but a spokesperson stressed today that the association had never entered into negotiations on pay and allowances.

“The terms of the Croke Park Agreement have been adhered to by our members,” the spokesperson said. “The agreement had defined terms and members took pay cuts before it was signed. There has been an attempt to call what has been proposed an extension and it is not.”

Related: Gardaí expected to withdraw from Croke Park talks>

Read next:

Comments (237 Comments)

• This is not the area of the public sector to be focusing on, I would prefer to start with the ridiculous number of County Council offices in the country, not to mention the locally elected councillors – 90% of whom are completely useless and unnecessary. Start there for some real savings !

• HelloGoogleTracking allowances for uniform & boot are taxed even though they are technically an expense. The only people getting mileage are those getting paid for using their private cars and their petrol for work (not to go to and from work) and the rates are far lower than the AA per mile rate, in fact it hardly covers the cost… The Public Accounts Committee of the Dáil stated that money paid for unsocial hours such as nights, sundays Christmas day and also overtime etc are pay for hours worked and are not allowances and should never have been included on list of allowances… I (and a lot of others) worked Sunday 23rd December to Weds 26th December this year – so that weekend was screwed, Xmas eve was not a family occasion, Xmas day was a short period with kids opening Santa and a hurried dinner and Gardai dealing with family rows, Stephens day when many were overindulging with drink Gardai and other frontline workers were picking up the pieces.

If anyone wants to work my shifts for Xmas and new year 2013 they are quite welcome to claim my pay, allowances and I’ll even throw in a few € myself and hold a collection for them.. It simply doesn’t pay you.. Everyone seems to forget – prior to Croke Park Gardai took cuts to pay and allowances 2009/2010 and have a pension levy. Together with other items like USC the average Garda is on 21% less

• Thx John,

I can accept all those facts, can you confirm Rent allowance is not taxed or taxed. My understanding is it is tax free, but I have received abuse for stating this, and branded a lier.

• HelloGoogleTracking! Rent Allowance” is fully taxed and has always been taxed as “income in the nature of pay”. … Initially it was an allowance tied to rent, Garda is prevented from working in area certain distances from relatives, is subject to transfer (often at minimum notice to places such as border for anti-subversive duty, later for BSE/Foot & mouth duty ). In later years the Department increased the “rent” allowance instead of giving certain pay rises as they wanted it to have no knock on effect in other sectors. By all means get rid of rent allowance by incorporating it into basic pay rate.

• @Hello
      The rent allowance as with all others is taxed.

• I’m afraid google probably won’t accept your explanation either John, sure that’s not what it says in the report he’s been quoting all evening.

• @Betty + Jim

From what i can find the situation is this, they should have been taxed but were not, there was a huge investigation in 2011 finding that the gardai were breaking the law
      Reference
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-face-tax-hike-of-2000-with-ruling-on-allowances-2900895.html

I assume this has now been fixed and they currently pay the tax as John has said.

I hope this clarifies the situation, and why my information from 2009 did not reflect this.

• They were breaking the law alright working illegal shift changes without legal adequate rest periods in between them…. for years!!!!! They didn’t complain…enough is enough.

• HelloGoogleTracking – I see where ur making your mistakes. You’re depending on media articles. Unfortunately that’s a bit like trying to diagnose an illness online :-) That article is in 2 parts, the 1st deals with The Garda Commissioner had contacted revenue re some Garda allowances that werent taxed (these were uniform & boot, which we all believe are expenses and shouldn’t be taxed… And then other allowances that were in nature of pay/income such as detective allowance). This situation was regularized and tax now applies to these….
      However the article then refers to rent allowance as being one of the larger Garda allowances. It doesnt state, but seems to infer, that by including rent in the article, that rent allowance wasn’t taxed but was found by revenue and taxed…. THIS IS INCORRECT ….. Again I state, Rent allowance has always been treated in the nature of pay. I state it as fact. My credibility means a lot to me so I wouldn’t mislead or use trick terminology. I did my thesis back around 1995 on “Pay & conditions of service in An Garda Siochana”. I have every pay slip since being attested in 1990. Rent allce has always been taxed and it always rose in line with general “PAY” rises whereas boot/uniform etc rose in line with Inflation/CPI.

• I don’t think even this will sink in John.

• Ah hopefully it will Jim…. Id also hope that people will realise that the job description of a Garda and the roles he fulfils are multitudinous …. Garda is also a point of contact out of hours 24/7/365 for other agencies who often only operate a token out of hours or “on call” service. So out of 100 things that go wrong, where you need emergency help – you can be guaranteed there is some Garda involvement whether it’s crime, traffic accident, sudden death, injured or ill person needing garda escort even while in ambulance, sudden deaths, post mortems, motorists broken down, assisting with area control re large fires, Assist customs, assist road transport officers, Social welfare inspectors, immigration officers. When a crime happens and a Garda is dealing with it, it’s the Garda who has all the legal knowledge As regards the power of arrest / detention/ search etc and the responsibility that goes with it… Management only generally get involved at paperwork time…. With responsibility should come acknowledgment financially … Im not going to critique any type of worker private or public — but if you want Garda to b paid the average industrial wage then give him only the average industrial tasks or responsibilities. Maybe then Gardai wouldn’t have half the stress or the injuries or the disrupted family life ….. Life is Give & Take – Government are TAKE & TAKE

• Let them cut those allowances for working nights weekends and Sundays. No problem, Put a 9-5pm sign on front door and then lock up and go home.
    Simple

• its not just Gardai that will suffer if these cuts come in. The public will suffer greatly also. It is a very tough job the Gardai have as it is, Irelands criminals are the only ppl who will benefit from all of this.

• I agree bud it’s a pity that more of the public don’t appear to appreciate what they ( guards ) have to endure evert time they go to work. We won’t miss them till their gone and then it will be to late. The public of this country should appreciate what they have before the criminals completely take over.

• They’re right. Add up the cost of working these days. Car, petrol, childcare etc. After all this is taken out how much are they really left with? Feck all and thats a fact. If alot of people on here had their way they’d have them getting dole money and a pat on the back. There are guards in this country with kids struggling to pay the mortgage on the family home after the initial cuts. We’re a nation of begrudgers to the core.

• Is this the same government that wants to put its front line Firefighters and Gardai on the Breadline that has just given €20 million to tart up the national gallery , another example of how out of touch the political elite are !

• Good. Front line staff have been hit again and again. It’s time the country stood up for itself and said enough is enough.

• Pity they didn’t walk out 4 years ago. It’s about time middle a low income workers stood up to the unions/government.
      Austerity isn’t working.

• And they will keep on abusing all front line staff unless we the people get a back bone and show them we have taken enough shite so they ( Fat Cats ) can continue to live their life of luxury.

• I agree the bloody unions are as complicit in the suffering amongst ordinary working class people as the Government and the fat cat elite.

• James, the article is about their union refusing to take any more

• I’ll believe it when I see it, the words lazy / SPINLESS /. Moaners / spring to mind they also know it and will keep throwing shite at us. They will never take notice of what is happening to ordinary people. They just don’t care none of the cuts affect them so they just carry on with their privileged life style and will continue to do so because we the people let them get away with it.

• Hi frank I know that, I’m saying its about time it happened it took them long enough to grow some back bone. It’s already too late for some guards they like everyone else are sinking under a mountain of dept with mortgages and everything else. Imagine having that worry on your back and then having to go and do a dangerous thankless job and having the likes of Shatter telling you, you are going to have more cuts and longer hours to work. Imagine having the constant fear of being attacked and knowing there is no back up coming because there are no cars available to transport any help which might be available. Then being hauled in front of a langer of an ombudsman to explain why you pulled out your Batton to defend yourself even if you are in danger of being stabbed with a knife or dirty syringe. So I’m saying its about time their union got a back bone and protected their members as they should have been doing for years.

• This country at this present time cannot afford to have the “linchpin” of of our security undermined by way of threats of unilaterial paycuts, to undermine their ability to do their jobs with undue pressure from an unaccountable government to please unaccountable bankers.
    The Gardai have “never” renaged on their promise to ” protect and serve” the people of Ireland.
    Why some dimwitted minister can’t see that is beyond belief.

• HelloGoogleTracking. All Garda allowances are fully taxed. Check your facts! Travel subsistence i.e. bus fare for court is not taxed. Btw subsistence is rare these dates

• Dead right

• AGSI walking out on talks will do nothing to stop cuts rolling in. An Garda Siochana have no union, no real protection. Walking away from talks will not protect them from the next round of cuts. I’m my opinion they should not be cut in ANY way but they are an easy target for government.

• Well done to the AGSI and the Irish Police Force . They have shown a back bone and finally they may force the rest of the unions to grow a spine and follow suit. This is a wonderful window of chance to shame and disgrace this pathetic Government and bring them to their knees. Seeing as we have the PRESIDENCY OF THE EU and diplomats will be arriving in their droves what better way to show these over paid suits when they step of their planes that THE IRISH PEOPLE have had enough. When there’s no police, nurses , prison officers , fire service , transport , teachers etc etc in their designated places of work , but instead outside the gates of the Dail with posters and bill boards shouting enough is enough , for the whole of Europe to witness , then lets see how Enda and Co will cope. Lets bring the curtains down on these overpaid clowns !

• Hear, hear! Well said.

• I would be very happy to see them earn good wages if they were doing the job properly. In my opinion they are a complete law unto themselves, who don’t answer to anyone. I remember ringing my local station to report a serious traffic accident that left 3 cars strewn across a busy main road. Imagine my horror when I was informed that they were in the middle of a tea break, and advised me to try another station located. 15 miles away. This was back in 2005 when the force was at full strength and wages weren’t an issue.Countless other people tell similar stories, so with that in mind, I find it very difficult to sympathise with them?

• I frankly do not believe that.

• That’s complete rubbish you’re coming up with rodrigo, and not for the first time either.

• Then what Christopher??…..I want to hear the end of your logical chain of events.

So everyone stops working, and then magically money starts raining from the skies to pay for everything. Then we all award ourselves with whatever salary we want, irrespective of where it comes from, or what revenues we have to pay with.

Sounds great, put me down for 1 million, good man yourself, you are obviously someone with a firm grasp of reality and the real world.

• Firstly I welcome your correspondence and the pleasure will be mine in explaining where this ” plan ” will go. I work in the public service , the Prison Service to be exact. I work in a very hostile environment as I’m sure you will acknowledge. On joining the service like every other person I knew that I would face difficult instances within my 30 years of service , I also knew that I would be dealing with people who would be very problematic and dangerous , and I also knew that for the most part I too would be serving in my own way a sentence , as for the 30 years if serve, I too would be locked up funnily enough. I knew I was open to contacting diseases in my line of work and also there was a very high chance that on occasion I could suffer assault or worse. I also knew that I would unlike the majority work every day of every year ( Xmas Day , Bank Holiday etc and would be subjected to weekends and nights ) . However I took this on knowing that I’d be rewarded in the way of fair payment. Like other civil servants we never complained about our duties but after taking a 27 per cent cut ill be damned like other front line staff if I’m going to take more. As for 1 million Euro . . . Unfortunately I’m not aware of any front line staff on these wages. We pay over and above our fair share of tax . . However you can give me an example of another front line position that pays this 1 million euro if appreciate it if you’d notify me as soon as possible .

• Very well said Christopher , Very well said.

• I doubt google tracking had an answer for that one Christopher.

• There’s always us the underpaid defence force to step in and hold the fort,drive the buses,do the bins,build the floods barriers,it’s hard to cross the picket when we are the lowest of the public service………what do we need an army for…bla bla bla…….what do we need this for…….our pay is under fire too and we have no union to represent us ,only an representative association to which the government don’t really acknowledge cos thy not really a union.

• @Christopher

First thank you for the reply and for your courtesy and manners, I appreciate your point of view.

You never did tell me where it would all go however, I do understand your outrage, believe me I share it.
      I wont tell you stories about the private sector and contrast and compare, illustrate the risks involved, the protections / exposures, pensions, competition, requirment to generate more than you take etc. I wont go through benchmarking, and pay rises, staff increases, pay bill increases overtime, corrupt government and cozy unions deals etc etc.
      I will just say the picture is a lot more complicated, and point out that other perspectives exist, and have validity.

Finally, the 1 million i mention was satire……I was making the point that in a make believe world where all we have to do is demand salaries, independent or circumstance and where the money comes from…..in that make believe world I would ask for 1 million.

I wish you the best of luck, a bit of class even when outraged is rare, and you have it.

• Ryan'O 25/01/13 #

^^^*
      Broken record. YAWN

• What a load of rubbish

• Thank you Christopher for explaining that so well. I shudder at the thoughts of what all frontline staff go through. I am also appalled at the emergence of a second class pay structure emerging for Nurses, Teachers, Gardai etc. creating inequality is not the answer and I am very surprised that the Equality Authority do not take issue with this. So I am glad that AGSI have taken the steps that they did, after all, there has never been any official recognition that they had a role to play in negotiating their own pay and conditions, these matters were decided at Government level and it was take it or leave it. So why pretend that they will have a say now, they will simply do as they are told. We are heading back to where we were pre 1919, reading the book at the moment, A City in Turmoil, Dublin 1919 – 1921 by Padraig Yeates, where @Labours founding Fathers fought to get a standardised 40 hour working week with better conditions and proper pay, the present Labour Govt. with their Union based TD’s and Ministers and Tanaiste, now preside over a concerted policy of extending working hours, reducing pay and conditions and job security, and they on their huge salaries, perks and benefits, yes, way to go!! The only legacy that Bertie Ahern got right was his use of the phrase, ‘a race to the bottom’. Oh and when they finish with the Public Service, they have made no secret of the fact that the same mindset will apply to the private sector with the assistance of IBEC and Patricia whats her name. !

• Sky News Newsdesk ‏@SkyNewsBreak
      A detective has been shot dead in Ireland during a botched hold-up in County Louth Breaking NEWS .

• Bring it on this joe citizen will be there with them.

• And then you woke up, phew what a nightmare.

• Is that the reason we have an army, if so we don’t need one in the ordinary world I think the word Scab springs to mind . What is the point of front line staff standing up for themselves if their fellow workers step in and do their jobs. Ye also need to step up to the plate and support one another otherwise ye will always be stuck on the bottom rung of the ladder. Maybe a green flu might overcome the country at the same time as the blue one. If that is the only reason for an army in this country then maybe it should be disbanded and the forces transferred to the navy where they could be used to patrol our seas on fishery protection and drug prevention duties. Maybe some could be transferred to the guards so that we had a good strong police force then we could get our country back to being safe for people to walk the streets and be safe in their homes. Imagine having well trained Army Forces patrolling the streets and countryside in Garda uniforms the lowlifes and criminals would shit themselves at last the people would feel safe again we would have the winning hand for once. Lets face it if a war was to break out in the morning this country would not have a hope of defending ourselves.

• Aid to civil power,entitles us to take over roles of others in case of industrial action,if we where to patrol the grounds in uniforms like the guards we would be called guards, the defence forces consist of the army navy and air corp,on many occasions the defence forces have and still to this day stand side by side and are reliant on the set of skills that each has to offer,whether its at a checkpoint and the guard is unarmed and the solider is armed, the recent years at the border where both was doing the same job but different rates of pay,or cash in transit,or such common occurrences as the containment of viable explosive devices ,the garda air support is flown by air corp pilots and the operational stuff is there for the gardai,the defence forces isn’t soley there to do the jobs of others,but is highly trained to deal with situations that may arise from industrial action,and I don’t think that if the guards/firemen/ambulance,prison officers,staff where to picket tomorrow they wouldn’t be ruffled at the defence forces stepping in,cos professionally respect is and always will be there,and thru the years chances are they served in the defence forces as I have known many to become gardai,firemen and other frontline line staff,but regarding your remark about going to war,I chuckled,the defence forces is held with high esteem thruout the world,so educate yourself and use the Internet for other things apart from Facebook …..so bleeding there… :)

• If the army where to patrol the streets which would be a great deterent,and I assume you mean the army be armed,it would be a legal nightmare,with this country been health and safety mad,and the soldier whilst having to abide by the law of the land like every other folk is subject to its own military law,we are not a police state yet,

• Good stuff. Lets hope more follow. Hopefully the rumours about fine gael purposely sabotaging the negotiations aren’t true.

• Fair play to them. Maybe the rest of the unions will follow suit and grow a pair.

• What you say makes great since the unions are useless they too are only interested in their fat cat wages, no matter how hard the ordinary workers are hit it does not effect their inflated wages.

• And they are right, for the amount of crap they have to deal with they should be getting wage increases, not cuts.

• Gail 25/01/13 #

Allowances form part of the pay. Not everybody is doing the same job.

I.E.

Allowance for ‘plain clothes’ is given to buy clothes that no doubt will be covered in puke, blood, dirt etc. They’re hardly the clothes that’ll be worn when off duty!

Dog Allowance for those who train Garda dogs and to have them in their own home, food etc.

• Barty 25/01/13 #

On the 8th of February Minister Hogan is going to sign off on way’s to obliterate the Fire Service in Ireland. Congratulations to the AGSI for fronting up for it’s members .The main fire service unions would want to do the same otherwise there will be a large number of fire station closures this year and a lot of firefighters will be put in unnecessary danger because of cutbacks. And the document that the Minister is signing off on is called “Keeping Communities Safe”

• His idea of keeping comminities safe is not having Travellers living near him

• Well said, At least IFESA are making noise about the KCS document , SIPTU were supposed to Ballott members re the contents of it but are strangely Quiet.
      SIPTU are useless in my opinion as they represent penpushers and frontline staff and the Firefighters will be sacrificed to appease the bigger numbers of penpusher subscriptions to SIPTU

• I bet very few realise that fire service control rooms are ringing Garda Stations and asking them to check out fire calls before they will dispatch a fire engine all in a bid to save money.. Life is so so cheap.

• So its proposed that front line staff work one extra hour a day unpaid as well as reduced rates of pay for unsocial hours or public holidays

So an eleven hour shift with an hours commute either side of it because we cannot be stationed near where we live for even less money. Seems fair

• To those of you who think the guards should have their pay cut, would you do the job they do for less than what they are earning now? I know I wouldn’t!
    If the front line staff get hit with yet another pay cut what do you think will happen? Let me tell you, mortgage payments will be missed, electricity and gas bills will be left unpaid and we will have decent, hardworking people unable to afford to actually get to work.
    The low/middle income earners in this country simply cannot take anymore hits, I can’t make that any clearer.
    I know if salaries are cut in my house it will be a case of me deducting every single cent against my mortgage payment.

• Ryan'O 25/01/13 #

I hope people saying that these cuts are justified realise the real implications if the cuts. Everything you said is happening already (but on a small scale) if these cuts go ahead it will be disastrous for thousands if families. It’s not looking good, I say all frontline staff unite and strike. Show the ginger puppet how much he needs us!

• Dave! 25/01/13 #

Journal reporting that a Garda has been seriously injured in Dundalk and sky news reporting that he has passed away, hope that the journal has the accurate information and if so that he can recover. Maybe today’s Garda bashers can have a look over the comments they’ve made today and realise that a Garda isn’t a payroll number. Hope those of you who say they know the risks when they take the job are particularly sickened by your attitude, known risks or not this Garda did not show up for work today expecting this, this is the reality of their job and although its not common it’s never ok.

• *cough*.*cough* I heard there is a dose of the Blue Flu going around=)

• all unions, if they have the bottle , should pull out of talks. when the great leaders{ha ha} we have cant cut the big pay outs that the bastards that ruined the country, cowan, lenehan rip roche , ahern etc and the b/w ankers and speculators got, why should everyone else keep payin for it. . they all should be in prison for theft and treason. its like the politians think they have a god given right to do what they want. and that we should be lad they are screwing us. the democratic left and labour party should b ashamed of themselves. great talkers on what is wrong when on the back bench, same as others in power, screw the common man

• Might help if the public knew what was on the table in the first place then they would get the support they need

• The belief is that what is on the table for all sections is so bad all will reject it that is what the government wants so they will have the excuse to legislate new laws so they can enforce what ever cuts they want across the board. The working class board.

• Hi Google tracking i can confirm for you that rent allowance is most definitely taxed. Not as a benefit in kind but taxed at the same rate as pay. Which is what it is.

• Well done AGSI, now let the rest of the frontline workers walk out and leave the Govt in no doubt what is thought of them, strikes are imminent throughout the public service because of Govt buffonery and lack of respect for ordinary hard working people who are barely getting by

• Gail 25/01/13 #

Eh why should Gardai wait til 65 before they can draw their pension after spending at least 30 years serving Ireland and it’s people. Ridiculous..

• How about cut the sky tv with sports and movies that prisoners have in their cells

• Ryan'O 25/01/13 #

Dail bar tab. Dry cleaning for ministers…..the list is endless. The point is FG are raping the middle income earners especially front line staff yet again. There is no more to give . The T bags in the dail will be the very last to have any significant reduction in pay, core, unvouched expenses and back handers!! 166 TDs + a multitude of ex T bags all getting in excess of 200k a year..<THAT IS THE PROBLEM!

• Fair pay for a days work,
      Allowances are payed as an Irish solution to an Irish problem
      Helps give rises to one group without a what about me from the rest
      Sorry everyone they have to end, pay what people are worth, pay extra for unsocial shifts nights / weekends that’s all
      Politicians are the worst culprits but most public servants are receiving allowances that should be moved to core pay if justified otherwise you should lose them

• @hellogoogle

youve a serious chip on your shoulder mate.

• It does appear that way ill grant you, but it is not the case.

I only started trying to get to the facts, establish them, then use that to form a basis to consider the rights and wrongs about allowances. What are they, are they all justified, is there some that are legacy or that don’t make sense.
      Which ones are good and should be defended, how much is spent on them, how many garda do we have etc etc…….

Before I knew it I have opened a can of worms, and seemed to be attacked from every angle without basis.
      Probably got carried away defending myself and my rational, but that is the nature of these things.

Im still genuinely interested in the questions above, and still believe it should be openly discussed and talked about rationally and in a fair and balanced way without the knee jerk reactions without facts to back them up
      (as i see it of course) and without personal attacks

• @google

One if the “facts” you stated was that rent allowance is tax free. Do you still believe this to be true?

• Garda shot dead tonight in Dundalk. What about the cuts now!!!

• And still shatter / callinan will get on the telly and tell us the public that morale is high in the Gardai .

• Then they will need to negotiate independently of the other unions, without the treat of strike they are our most vulnerable group , leaving croke park alone is foolish,
    Yes croke park may not get extended but frontline staff need to stick together and that includes their unions

• All front line staff should stick together wether it be strike / blue Flu or other forms of action. They should tell their unions to negotiate as a collective on their behalf or get lost stop paying their union dues and the over paid union bosses will soon see that maybe their fat cat jobs are not so secure. As long as there are separate negotiations for each front line sections there will be decide and conquer.

• Any idea what was tabled guys??

• Saturday allowance ?14 a day abolished. Sunday and public holiday pay reduced to time & 1/2. Twilight allowance (6pm-8pm) abolished. Night duty reduced to twilight rate. Premium payment abolished. As a package these amount to a savage paycut.

• Ryan'O 25/01/13 #

Absolutely staggering shocking cuts for the people who keep out streets and family loved ones safe. Fair play to them, they have all my support. FG have to stop taking from the ordinary joe. Either it stops or there will be mass strikes, Garda, nurses, ambulance, firefighters all out together. Maybe then FG will take notice, the sleeveen corrupt bankster loving puppets. ENOUGH

• Also one extra hours work a day unpaid and reduced overtime rate.

• Ryan'O 25/01/13 #

It amounts to daylight robbery. Seriously these cuts are dubfoundingly staggering. It must be a plot to sabotage negotiations, it has to be. They are totally unrealistic.

• Sunday pay , night duty allowance , these are no go areas, seriously people if there touched we should form our own union , frontline , and strike until they return them, no more bullshite

• I am not surprised they have withdrawn they like all PS have taken savage pay cuts and pension levy and all general tax increases. Its time they looked elsewhere banking salaries, wealthy individuals and big business ‘s. cut tax reliefs that would save the billion. PS have done their bit for the country its time other sectors contributed.

• What type of society are we left with if the forces of law and order are dismantled an ideological battle to stay in a currency that dies not suit out needs.

• Barty 25/01/13 #

Does anyone on this thread think that afire authority would refuse to turn firefighters out to a cardiac arrest in the absence of an ambulance.

• Brendan calling people fools because of misinformation is a great way forward like i said already if the information was put out to the public then we could all make up our own minds if we support the public service or not in there actions just because people ask legitimate questions doesn’t mean we do not support them

• The information is already out in the public domain and nowhere in it does it state you get a travel allowance for going to work. People who want to take a swipe at Public servants don’t want to know the facts but only want any excuse to bash. I understand money needs to be saved but do they really think that they can get anymore blood from the front line staff ie the nurses gardai firemen ambulance crew prison officers. Each TD in this country gets nearly €15000 of an allowance to pay rates on their constituency offices yet they don’t pay these as they are exempt, theres a big saving.

• Where can i find a list of allowances paid to public servants please

• Garda allowances are not taxed, and in most instances pensionable.
      On average the bill for allowances per garda was approx 17000 per annum. This is an average with some members claiming amounts in excess of 60,000.

• @hello

what allowances arent taxable, man i,m owed a fortune since i’v been paying tax on my allowances for the past ten and a half years,

oh and the vast majority dont receive a mechanics allowance, nor travel allowance

• @Cormac

Allowances for rent (4k+) + mileage + clothes + boots etc are all untaxed. Rational being they are to meet expenses, and not in return for “work” done.

So apparently each any every Garda receives 4k+ per annum tax free as an allowance net, this translates gross into 10k before tax earning for someone in the PAYE system to get the same benefit.

Make sense?

• P.S Cormac.

I agree not all garda claim all allowances, I’m not claiming they do.
      However the Allowances bill was over 220M Euros, with approx 13500-14500 members claiming. Not all received the same and not all claimed the same, but the total is massive is divided by the number of members.

• Rank and file garda I receive no mileage allowance for travelling to work everyday nor the majority of the listed allowances some of which only apply to a handful of members and allowances are taxable

• @hello

yes they are taxed. All the allowances you mentioned are paid weekly and are added up as our basic pay. which are all taxed. Also most of our allowances are a % of wages, as our wages have decreased so has the allowances.

i do not receive this mileage allowance you mention, we do not get an allowance to travel to work.

• Your wasting your time cormac, google tracking knows it all.

• I can give you one that is named as an allowance,MSA allowance,military service allowance,if they cut that from me my weekly wage falls below 350,

” The Defence Forces are unique in the public service in that military personnel are subject to military law, discipline and curtailment of personal liberty and rights. The allowance is designed to compensate for the unique conditions associated with military life such as risk to life, long and unsocial hours of duty, exposure to danger, hazardous working conditions, frequent transfers and the constraints inherent in military discipline.
      Defence Force personnel conditions of work are characterised by either 12 or 24 hour service requirements, which impose greater imposition on home life. A member of the Permanent Defence Forces has a full time commitment to military service in that he/she is liable for duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week and is required to serve for a fixed engagement which he/she cannot terminate at will.
      The military discipline code involves restrictions on personal liberty, which has no counterpart in any civilian employment. Personnel cannot engage in industrial action unlike other areas of the public service. Additionally Defence Forces personnel cannot become a member of a political party or trade union.

• Why don’t you stop your clearly agenda driven rants.
      Garda basic pay is among the lowest in the public sector. Allowances for working unsocial hours are well deserved (hours you no doubt don’t work) and hard earned and rent allowance was to brought in to bridge the gap in basic pay compared to other jobs.
      The figures your quoting are peanuts compared to what’s being wasted elsewhere and them allowances are taxed by the way.
      Front line workers have taken a 20 percent pay cut already. Enough is enough. End of story!

• @Comrmac

“The rent allowance is also tax-free and not taxed as a benefit in kind as it would be in the private sector. Gardai receive the allowance even if they are not renting. Senior Gardai also get Un-vouched travel allowance of €4,260 a year.”

• Bullshit!!
      You couldn’t lie straight in bed!

• I know Betty, he’s been cutting and pasting like crazy all evening, it’s pointless to argue with somebody who thinks they know it all because of what they read in reports.

• @hello

i have my paycheck in front of me for an average week

on the left side is what i get paid, wage + rent + boot + uniform. i’v added them up and guess what, they are the exact number that is displayed in the box labelled TAXABLE PAY. now i’m no accountant but taxable pay, means what i’m taxed. just to make sure i’v added up all my deductions that are on the right side and guess what, my taxable pay(wage+rent+boot+uniform) minus my deductions equals my net pay.

cant explain ita any better

• @hello

and just to state, paying tax on ALL my allowaces is not new. i”v been doing it since 2002.

• Ya that’s why so many young Garda Officers want to get out but can’t because of mortgages etc. people don’t believe the spin being put out there by government yes men and top civil servants their aim is to devide and conquer.

• You are defo a blue shirt.

• Wow did not know that.

• Hear Hear well said brother.

• Yawn blue shirt.

• Can we get a breakdown of the allowances involved, the costs involved, the entitlements, and the rational behind them.
    Can we also get a figure for the salary, and the distinction between the two.
    Once we have this information we are in a position to make a rational decision, based in the information in the article, no-one commenting can say they do so informed.

If some of the allowances are not justified, then the of course should be cut, early retirement should also be looked at, and pensions restricted to being drawn down before the age of 65, like the rest of us.

• @helloGoogle tracking

yes and can we get a breakdown of how many mouths the gardai have to feed in their families and how much their mortgages/rents are and the miles they have to travel to work and the amount of time they have to spend away from their kids/families/friends when they work nights and most weekends.
      cop on. The allowances are there for a reason and let me tell you they are needed and should not be cut.

• @Giraffeman

There are allowances paid to members on leave, to compensate them for the allowance they would receive it they were working unsocial hours (I.E. if they were not on leave!!!!!). Getting paid an allowance to compensate for not getting paid another allowance, CRAZY

This is insanity, and there is no rational to justify it.

We all have families, we all have to travel to work, we all have mortgages, that is what our salaries are for, when they work extra hours they get overtime like the rest of us. Allowances are Union negotiated premiums, screwing the taxpayer and often unjustifiable.

Allowances that make sense I have no question with, but there are over 50 allowances, and a lot of them are ridiculous.
      Rent allowance??????

Not to mention they have them pensionable? WTF? It is unions gone crazy and the taxpayer being milked, we need reform, and accountability, transparency, responsibility and common sense.

• How come you can only see the allowence aspect ? The cutting of “so called”allowences that make up a living wage is the spin being used to undermine the Gardai.
      You need to remember there are no more garda recruits NONE. Unless you want a force to work until they are as decrepid as the equipment they have to use you need to show more support for them and not buy into the bullshit being put out by government spin doctors

• @oneilljohn

The reason no recruitment is happening is to reduce Gardai numbers, once the numbers are down recruitment will take place to maintain those numbers.

Gardai number in 2001 were just over 12, 000, in 2009 it was just over 15,000. A 22% increase and with no indications that this has had any impact on reducing crime.

Allowances Bill was on average 17000 per member a year. This is on top of pay, and has been ringfenced by the gardai and the unions as seperate from pay for years. So that it could not be analysed as core parts of required duties, and to prevent scrutiny.

Now they want to reverse their approach and claim it is core pay when it suits them.

The allowances need to be reviewed, and any ones not justified by rational should be scrapped, how can anyone disagree with this?

• @google traffic, some one is telling you a load of porkie pies!

• @Paddy,

All figures I quote are in the public sphere, quick google searches will confirm if you doubt any of my facts.
      If you have problems finding the info, I can post links.

The might appear unbelievable, that is because they are !!! And also why they have to addressed and reviewed, no rational country who is bankrupt and running at massive deficit can continue spending in this way.

• What part of yer hole did you pick that piece of uneducated verbal diatribe from? Shoo go on go home!

• “allowances” being separated from the basic wage of a front line public servant is a bit like saying that the long list of deductions are not tax!!

• There was never 15000; at the height of it there was a bit over 14500, including students who weren’t in stations. This was all during a time of population increase and immigration. The government has said it wants to reduce the force to 13000, but has refused to give a commitment to keep manpower at that level & not reduce it further. If you think you can rely on them not to let numbers dwindle further if it suits you’re being naive.

• @Fiachra

The 15000 number is accurate and includes staff under the Gardai and justice umbrella, clerical and mechanics etc, classified under the Gardai pay budget and eligible for the allowances in question.
      Technically approx 500 not Gardai true, but the figure is accurate for the purposes of my point, and the topic of gardai allowances bill reductions.

Yes the numbers can be reduced / increased to any level decided by government, that is self evident. I am not naive, the point remains that increasing numbers by 3000 had no effect on reducing crime, therefore why assume a reduction by the same number would have any effect either?

• If over 500 of the 15000 are not gardaí then you can’t include them in the manpower & then say that they had no appreciable impact on crime levels, and those employees who are not gardaí are certainly not entitled to the same allowances.

• I disagree,
      Re Allowances : They can also claim unsocial hours allowances, mileage allowances, special mechanic allowances, not getting other allowances allowances.
      Re Staff numbers : Their numbers increased and had no effect on reducing crime levels, supporting the increase in gardai numbers.
      So their inclusion is relevant to manpower reductions and pay bill reductions discussions.

All this is straight forward logic, but if you want to remove them to make it simpler, I have no objection, it makes very little impact to the substance of the point. And if used as a distraction then better of without it.

Do you object that the number increases as pointed out by me?
      Do you object that crime rates were uneffected?
      Do you object that a lot of the allowances are not rationally justifiable?
      Do you object that the unions disallowed allowances being considered during benchmarking, arguing that they were not part of pay but something separate?
      Do you object that this is a complete reversal of position that is self serving and hypocritical?
      Do you object that 17000 on average is a allowance figure that is unsustainable and needs to be reviewed?

• How you getting on with saving Quinn insurance

• Do you think that crime levels stagnated throughout the period of increased recruitment? The increase in Garda numbers coincided with the increase in population, high levels of immigration and the massive increase in the level of drug use & organised crime. The students got no allowances until they were attested, the civil servants attached to the Gardaí do not get anti-social hour allowances as they don’t work them & there’s about 20 mechanics left so anything they get is of little impact on the wages bill. The vast majority of Gardaí get only four allowances: boot, uniform (both under a fiver), rent and anti-social hours. There are plenty of private sector workers who get uniform allowances & anti-social hours payments; rent allowance is an exception, but it has been admitted that this was given as an allowance in lieu of a pay increase. There’s no way Gardaí are getting 17000 on top of their salary in allowances, your staffing figures are off and the unions didn’t disallow anything as they’ve no power & the government know it.

• Hello, allowances for nights and weekends hit the guy on the beat, so background staff escape again, no you can’t touch them, there for the people doing it on the frontline, guards , nurses, ambulance men
      Yes cut these allowances by doing without the service during these times, be real and fair in your opinions

• Gardai do not get an allowance for being on leave you f@@kibg idiot!! It’s spanners like you who give Gardai a bad name!!

• @Betty Blue

Here is a quote
      “Premium Payments (€9.07m in 2008): to members who are on leave, etc, and would ordinarily be entitled to claim unsocial hours allowance if they were not on leave;”
      Reference
      Report of Special Group on Public Service Numbers and Expenditure 2009
      http://www.finance.gov.ie/documents/pressreleases/2009/bl100vol2.pdf

This is a fact, you are either talking from a position where you don’t know the facts or deliberately lying.
      I assume it is that you don’t know what you are talking about, read the report educate yourself, then offer your opinion.

You are quick to curse and call me an idiot, how quick are you to admit you are wrong?

• I stand over what I said. I do not get an allowance for being on leave! Fair play to ya for believing all that the government tells ya!! If you don’t work the front line then don’t comment on something you know nothing about!

• No it’s the hardy bucks in Donegal and Waterford and robo in Dublin that give guards a bad name

• Touché!

• @googletracking

Rent allowance is most definitely taxable regardless of what you read or what you believe.

• @ Betty Blue

The report I reference is accurate, it was independently commissioned and accepted ny all involved, including the garda unions.
      I have supported my statement with facts and references beyond question, a statement you said I was a f$%king idiot to state, and that gardai never receive allowances when on leave.

If you decide to stand over that back it up, or shut up, otherwise you will become the definition of an idiot.
      Any gardai I know are intelligent reasonable people with manners and respect, since you display none I seriously doubt you are one as you claim.

• Mursh 25/01/13 #

@Hello:

“Here is a quote
      “Premium Payments (€9.07m in 2008): to members who are on leave, etc, and would ordinarily be entitled to claim unsocial hours allowance if they were not on leave;”

All you’ve proved here is that allowances are core pay. One cant be penalized and loose money they would ordinarily be paid when on annual leave.

A Garda is not employed 9-5 Mon-Fri, they are compensated for that very reason and so allowances are core pay.
      You think someone in Intel that works shifts has the shift money deducted when on Annual leave?
      You might not think it but we do have employment laws here, just because you want to stomp up and down and throw a hissy fit doesn’t make you right

• @Jim

“The rent allowance is also tax-free and not taxed as a benefit in kind as it would be in the private sector. Gardai receive the allowance even if they are not renting. Senior Gardai also get Un-vouched travel allowance of €4,260 a year.”

Where are you getting your facts Jim?

• @Mursh

Gardai and their unions stated that allowances are not part of core pay during benchmarking, this allowed them to present their salaries as being low to justify larger increases. All the official documentation going back decades makes the distinction.

Now if gardai and their unions argued this during benchmarking, which is it? Core or not?

• Mursh 25/01/13 #

Prove it.. Put up a link to that info.

At the moment it’s been shown that you are in fact a liar by stating that rent allowance is not taxed when it is.

• I’m going to tell you for a second time and listen very carefully because you must have missed it the first time!
      Gardai do not get an allowance for being on leave! I can’t be any clearer than that. You can post all the links to reports that you like. In 13 years I have used my full complement of annual leave each year. At no time have I ever been paid an allowance for being on leave! I don’t know any of my colleagues that have either! As I have already said don’t comment on something you know nothing about!

• @hellogoogle or whatever, just looking at a 9 years service Gardai pay check right in front of me now €533 net pay which after mortgage of €386 which goes directly out. €147.22 is actual net pay for food, utility bills, car insur/tax/petrol, estate fee’s, clothes, not forget the CHILD (small human being that doesn’t come free), Etc. hmmm so let’s see what has led to this.. Pension SU 1.5%, pension PE 3.5%,Pension Related, (that’s 3 separate take outs for pension (€103), PAYE (€130.44), PRSI-EE (€45.76), Medical Aid (€35.77), USC ( 50.89), and 10 other charges which amounts to €28. (Funny isn’t it I know a family who get more on the social bear in mind they have a council house not a mortgage. Your talking QUARE SH!TE!

• @Betty Blue

Your hearsay is interesting but ill rely on the published confirmed facts thank you. What you receive or have received is not the point, the point is is this mayment made, is it a allowance, is it recorded and does it take place. The reports say yes, it is not my opinion, I am not making it up, do not attack the messenger.
      Did you even read the report link I provided, I suspect not.

• One point googley Gardai don’t have a union, they have representative associations, not allowed be unionised.

• @Karolyn

That equates to a salary of 44000+, before allowances, and child allowance, and mortgage relief.

Your mortgage is 1544 a month which is very high, and by far your biggest expense, this is the main reason your are in difficulty. Your salary is with respect very good.
      Im sorry you are in trouble, but everyone is, and we all have to pay our way. you have a secure job with a good salary, you have guaranteed pay increase up to 2016, and a huge pension.
      You made a bad call with property purchase but so did a lot a of people, but you knew the risks when you signed the mortgage.

• Would love to see this allowance for being on leave that you are so mad about. The crap coming from some people on this is astounding.

• @Paul

Just read the report

Report of Special Group on Public Service Numbers and Expenditure 2009
      http://www.finance.gov.ie/documents/pressreleases/2009/bl100vol2.pdf

It is all there, no need to personalise

• And by the way Google tracking or whatever it is you hide behind the current Garda numbers are bull. They are made up of civilian staff working in District and Divisional offices and also the reserve. The real numbers are vastly different. Do some more research before spreading more crap.

• @betty blue. Fair play to ya. This guy must be either one of the Governments spin doctors or else he/she got a parking ticket somewhere. Obviously an axe to grind. I note he/she has no issue with pay, pensions and perks the TD’s and Ministers both past and present receive. He/She also has no issue with paying for the Quinn family’s holidays.

• @Paul

The figure are included in the report, it is dated 2009 and lists 15000+, max gardai numbers reached 14500 for this country. I never mentioned current numbers, but it will be less.
      I have done my research unlike you, it is simple analysis to extract the real facts from peoples reactions, feel good factors, self interest and others just talking rubbish.
      Without these facts what is the point in discussing it, what is the basis of your objections?

The facts I refer to are accurate and verifiable, personal attacks on me do not make sense, if you can refer me to contrary facts I will accept them.

What are current garda numbers?
      What was the allowances bill last year?
      What is that bill divided by the number of gardai?
      In the absense of these give the most recent you can find, I have provided from 2009, and no-one is disputing them except with nonsense.

Get those facts and then you will be informed and your contribution with be very helpful.

• @ Paul
      I can’t talk to ya! I’m too busy filling in my claims for allowances! I’m on leave tomorrow night and Sunday!! I’d hate to lose out! I have to make up my €17000 of my yearly tax free allowances. Oul googly doesn’t know what he’s missing out on!!

• @Betty

Did they not teach you what “on average” means in school?

• I agree about the break down of what the allowances are, on the pension topic lets say a guard has his 30 years service done at age 52 then he has no option he has to go his time allowed in the job is done. If he cannot draw his pension until age 66 what is he and his family supposed to live on. I see your point but it is not realistic.

• I think google an will be very surprised when he see what the allowances are there for that is why I agreed with him. As for the rest of his argument it just does not stand up. What we should see regarding allowances is what the Politicians are creaming off the Tax Payer in Millions every year.

• Don’t know where you get your information bud, but your talking about allowances the Guards don’t even know about. Could you enlighten them of the other 49 allowances you know about so that they can check them out you’d never know maybe some of them might be entitled to draw down on some of them and maybe even get them backdated. ( n pigs might fly ). What about guards that are off work because they were assaulted and hurt and are unable to work for weeks or maybe even months maybe you have an allowance that you could enlighten them about so that they don’t have to try and survive on half pay while their out of work and falling behind on their mortgages etc.

• Maybe he’s a Fine Gael follower of fashion. Doesn’t seem to have much time for the Guards. Wonder why that is.

• Don’t know what planet you come from bud but it is obviously far more law abiding than where we have the misfortune to live. Your nickname is not spin doctor by any chance.

• Two words. Fine Gael.

• Maybe these figures apply to top brass they certainly have no reference to front line staff struggling to make ends meet in a thankless unprotected job.

• @ James

Most Garda allowances are listed here:
      http://per.gov.ie/wp-content/uploads/Garda-Pay-and-Allowances.pdf

There are conflicting sources about the total number available, some papers of record referance 108 in articles, the ones here are in Garda produced report. Some can also be found on the GRA website, and the various Justice bills dealing with Gardai.

The facts as I can garner so far are spending in the region of 240M on allowances, split amoung approx 13500 – 14000 (I am allowing for extra for fairness), you can do the math yourself.
      The exact figures for 2009 are contained in the report I have linked to earlier, and also analysis of some of the unjustifiable allowance, with recommendations. It is an objective report dealing with facts, and has not been written by me.

My understanding is garda are well covered for recuperation and there is compensation packages available, as well as leeway for extra reward payments to be made by the minister in individual cases.

• And why would it bother anyone what front line staff earn they deserve every cent they get for the dangerous thankless job they do. If you want to have a go at the Guards look at what all the yes sir top brass are getting.

• Two words Fine Gale,,, the answer my friend is blowing in the wind a gale of wind.

• Hit the nail on the head.

• @James

I agree 100% by the way, the waste and cronyism at the top has to be tackled and should be priority no 1
      Across every Dept, starting with politicians.

That said it has to be tackled everywhere down the line as well, i’m not targeting front line entry level employees.
      Did you know the about 60+ gardai claimed over 60,000 in allowance last year? not a big number of individual granted, but it is wrong.
      The increment scale is available on the GRA website, and the pay increases every year, and the salaries are very respectable before allowances and extra perks.

• Maybe if they had been given the proper equipment to work with we might have seen how the law worked properly. They had Radio equipment that would not work in most areas so they had to use their own mobile phones at their own expense, they had to bring their own biros to work because they had none in the stations and the list goes on, talk about the ski stone cops. Would you work under these conditions I don’t think so.

• @googletracking

You seem to be a great one for spouting “facts”, alot of which have already been rubbished today. You need to stop taking what you read on the Internet as being fact. If you’re not in a position of knowledge in relation to these matters then maybe it’s best not to comment at all.

• marymary 25/01/13 #

Nice one karolyn fair play girl!

• marymary 25/01/13 #

She gets €500 to work 6 10hr shifts day and night everyday of the year it’s crap pay and you kno it googley!

• I responded to the rent allowance tax issue above, on an earlier post. They didn’t pay tax until 2011.

My fact were and are based on 2009 data.

Hope that clarifies, I am making an effort to research and figure it all out. What are you doing except sniping?

• marymary 25/01/13 #

She doesn’t need to she has the proof in front of her!!

• @googletracking

Yet again you are insisting that what you have read in a 4 year old report is true beyond doubt. You have had at least 10 current members of the gardai telling you that they have been paying rent on their allowances for over ten years. Are you suggesting that the guards are mistaken about how much they pay or are you outright calling them liars. You seem to be a very obstinate individual when it comes to this issue.

• A few bad apples so paint them all with the same brush.

• Politicians get travel allowance to travel to the Dail even if they use the train and the Free Travel Pass why do you not go a hunting after these parasites. Could it be you wear a blue shirt.

• Well said sir.

• That is so true.

• More is the pity.

• Hello, the rent allowance is dodgy , can’t agree with that myself, maybe if you move station, for the first year, but to have it as part of pay seems wrong, if the pays not right it should increased thus avoiding situations like this that cause resentment , it smacks of bankers bonus, politician allowances, senior management bonus, all wrong

• I enjoyed that comment :)

• They’ve no problem with benchmarking once it’s in one direction only. You go find a single private sector worker who might live in Kells, Drogheda or Killucan and has to travel every day to Dublin to work, yet gets a significant housing/rent allowance or a travel allowance for getting to work in the morning. Same for automatic increments, these lads and all our cossetted PS staff are still living in a parallel universe and should be told to snap out of it.

• You fool. Nobody gets a travel allowance to go to work in the morning. Rent allowance is part of their pay otherwise most would be below minimum wage. Its a sad day when a persons wage only equals what people can get sitting at jome on welfare but let’s not talk about that as its not politically correct

• You think guards get an allowance for travelling to work? What universe are you living in?

• how do benchmark the everyday guard?

• Ehh…Christmas bonuses, company cars, fuel cards, free phones, subsidised canteens and gyms. Many (not all) in the private sector do ok and fair play to them. Gardai get a wage and shift allowances. They have to be worked to be earned. Would you work Saturday nights, Sundays, public holidays for no reward? Maybe you would and your employer would tickle your belly and call you a great chap.

• Publish ALL Private Sector pay rates and pensions and stop hiding behind “Commercial Sensitivity”

• Gardai go to work from their homes just like everyone else. There is no allowance. By the way it’s time for a reality check on bench marking. Gardai got very little and that has been eroded and then some by the cuts. Management and Politicians creamed the benchmarking process to suit themselves. I didn’t hear anyone from the private sector calling for pay increases for frontline services during the good times when private sector workers enjoyed themselves. These very same front line workers who work day and night, at weekends, at Christmas and all other times when everyone else is at hone with their families. Now the Government want to extend working hours for free and cut critical allowance that would put most frontline workers below minimum wage. FACT. Time for a reality check people and go after those who deserve to be hit. Stop this anti frontline bullshit.

• Have to agree and disagree, front line staff are living in a nightmare universe it’s only the high up leeches that are licking all the cream from the pot.

• The bloody politicians do and a lot more.

• From what I hear some are having to borrow petrol money from their parents to keep them going until the end of the month. How demoralising is that and to do a thankless job.

• They could not get paid enough for what they do. Would you go to work where you are consistently in danger and you cannot even defend yourself because your afraid of being sued or hauled before an ombudsman to explained why you did not allow some thug to stab or shoot you. I think not. People need to cop on and realise that without the guards no one would be safe on the streets or in their homes.

• Well said bro, the public need to cop on to what our guards have to do to earn a patethic wage. No I’m am not a guard just a joe soap who needed help and was over powered by the help and kindness offered to me. The only ones that have to fear the guards are the criminals and Yes there were a few bad apples in the barrels but that runs in all sections of society just look at our esteemed politicians. Need I say anymore.

• Right on bro.

• Could not have said it better myself. Time to save our frontline staff. People please wake up to what is going on around you. This Government are Toxic to our Health and Safety.

• For the last 5 years my girlfriend was working in food production and she was rostered in every third Sunday. Then she had the following Friday off. Would something like that not work for the guards?

• The words, toys and pram ,spring to mind .

Add New Comment