TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Howlin confirms review of €1.5bn of public sector allowances

One union says it expects the review of some 800 different allowances and that some will go.

Brendan Howlin
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

SOME PUBLIC SECTOR allowances, which cost the State some €1.5 billion annually, will not be protected as core pay under the Croke Park Agreement, the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin has said.

Speaking in the Dáil yesterday Howlin said that while some of the 800 different allowances could be considered as part of core payments, some are “historic” and there is no longer a justification for them.

Changes would be likely to affect only new entrants to the public sector with the IMPACT trade union acknowledging today that some allowances would be removed following a review.

In response to a question from the Sinn Féin deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald, Howlin told the Dáil yesterday: “Some of the allowances in question are historic.

“When the Deputy reads all 800 cases in due course, she will raise an eyebrow when she comes across some cases and she will wonder whether there is a place for them.”

This could mean that the €65 per year shoe allowance could be scrapped. The controversial payment is made to some 1,000 service officers in government departments who spend a lot of their working hours on their feet.

“We are reviewing every sector of expenditure for the first time in my Department so we can determine objectively whether shoe allowances or others are proper and fit for purpose in 2012 and in the current economic climate,” Howlin said.

Speaking on Newstalk’s Breakfast programme this morning, the IMPACT trade union’s communications officer Niall Shanahan acknowledged that allowances would be reviewed and said that a business case could be made for some of them.

“Our expectation is that they will remove some allowances but we don’t yet know what those allowances will be,” he said, adding that it was a “very complex” review to undertake but that he was “confident that you will see very substantial savings”.

Nearly two-thirds of civil servants in line for pay increase this year

Government unveils ‘master plan’ to move public services online

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• It’s going to be very hard for him to reduce allowances for the PS, when he increased allowances for ministers to spend on secretaries and PR. It should be from the top down , why don’t the TDs start paying their own fuel cost first, pay full amount for their own food and drink at Leinster House, their own dry cleaning bills, to name but a few, and maybe we just might take them seriously.

• How about looking to the office of the headman?
    That only spent 17 million last year! See: http://tinyurl.com/d48367h
    Why are we still paying (in the thousands) for Mr Ahern to use the VIP area in Dublin airport every time he takes a trip?

• €65
    × 1,000 public servants
    = €65,000 in tax free unvouched expenses.

€5,950
    × 12 months
    × 1 TD
    = €71,400 in tax free unvouched expenses.

So you are debating the negative impact of the entire public services shoe allowance bill has on the economy when it is less than one rural TD’s travel & subsistence allowance for a year.

• He should name all the allowances and not just pick 1 the shoe allowance as people have already said this will impact the lower down the ranks, what are the top,civil servants getting…. We have a right to know these as we are paying them…

• I wonder is it possible to get a list of these extras and perk. Does anyone know off hand where I could request it. Safety footwear is by health and safety law provided by the employer and I’m sure there are plenty who require them. A close friend working for the central bank has a parking spot paid for in the fleet street car park. She gets the luas to work ….. I asked her about this and she says it’s handy to use if I have to leave the car there at weekends so why would she give it up. Trust me the list of perks in there your sicken you

• Works for the central bank!! There’s your answer. The rest of us don’t get ridiculous ‘perks’ like that. That’s like the golf trips and a special party fund they get. Don’t try to say both things are the same!!

• Money is not scarce when it comes to the appointing themselves new sidekicks to do the job they are already getting paid to do, if they cannot do the job then they should not be appointed as ministers, Its the same across the board no problem with deductions as long as its the small man that has to take the hit.

• paul 25/04/12 #

I once had a job where i was did 12 hour shifts suzie and was on my feet all the time, I still had to buy my own shoes. crazy

• And I had a job in the private sector where I worked 12 hour shifts and we were provided with footwear, clothing and special absorbent matting underfoot so it all depends on the type of work. A little more research would need to be done on who gets these allowances rather than knee jerk reactions.

• @paul
      Are you at risk, standing on used syringes or sharps in your job. If you were and payed for two pairs of safety shoes a year out of your own pocket you would be glad of a few euro towards the cost.

The hate and anger towards the bottom paid PS is astonishing! And I agree with the above comments…..it’s easy to pick on us but not ministers with exorbitant salaries, allowances, and the blind eye to ‘advisors’ pay cap!?!!

If the allowance is stopped, you can be sure workers will stop paying for shoes and wear a pair of runners to work!! Won’t be long before the compensation claims start rolling in….from both workers and public, no safety shoes no picky up dirty sharps….that lovely park you let your kids running around will be filled with them!!!!

Look at the bigger picture!! Don’t let the headlines turn against us!

• Well Paul do you not think your employer may have been responsible for your health and safety

• I would love for Howlin and CO.to go into a gda station or a prison or a drink tank or the back of an ambulance after some one has shit , pissed , bled (a lot) or puked or done all 4, and then tell me I can not have a pair of shoes or that I have to buy my own uniform…..I am not talking about sick people here .Anyone can be genuinely sick ,I am talking about drunk and drugged people who have no self respect and less for you. Then there are the genuine cases where an accident occurs and you arrive and god only knows what the scene will be like …. 65e does not seem like a lot then …. Allowances are not pensionable ! Ask Bertie and Pee Flynn first for their pensions and jail them ,maybe then Howlin you will get some support from ordinary working folk.
      @Paul
      was health and safety involved ?

• paul 25/04/12 #

yes ryan of course i would have been delighted to have my shoes paid for, but they were not paid for so i had to buy them myself, which i did without causing any disruption.
      Suzie it was simple really, I bought my own shoes or kicked up a fuss and got fired, and I had no problem with that, I never even considered asking my boss for a shoe allowance as he would have thrown me out of the building and rightly so in my opinion, and yes we did have to buy a specific type of shoe for the work

• Will the ministers laundry allowance also be included in this review?

• Kerry I don’t think It’s an allowance of 3.5k but a tax credit of a maximum of 3.5k so they can only claim back a percentage they use. I’m not defending it but there is confusion on it. it would be similar to a uniform credit for nurses etc but its completely OTT

• Oh yeah make a holy show of the shoe allowance which I can assure you mostly goes to the lower paid uniformed grade who ARE on their feet 24/7, but don’t cast the cold eye over exorbitant minister and td expenses the only argument for which is ‘historic.’ hypocrites!!!!!

• Totally agree. Remember Health Minister got his dirty clothes washed by taxpayer

• This is more propagandist BS being thrown out in the public arena again and again with the sole aim of getting people to turn against bottom level, lower rung civil servants on 20 odd grand a year and create this public V private argument… Don’t fall for it

• The €65 shoe allowance most likely saves thousands each year in sickness claims and medical bills as those workingas doormen porters gatekeepers etc are on their feet all day and require shoes of a far better quality than most other workers!

• Once again though it will be new entrants hit, not the existing staff. No wonder the unions don’t have a problem with it.

I agree with cutting out frivolous allowances. But if we agree that they’re frivolous surely everyone should lose them?

• Jason 25/04/12 #

Good man howlin, ur like a broken record, no doubt you’ll get rid of allowances that are actually needed by public sector. For a start why don’t u get rid of James reillys new side kick, 2. The car parking spaces we rent out. We all pay for our own parking. Let me see. Christ a saving straight away of 10.25 million. Grow a pair howlin and prove ur the hard man u Think u are. Go after those on big money.

• What is not talked about with allowances in how much they save the tax payer. I don’t think anyone would object to a Garda for example on 40k per annum but what has happened is the basic is lower lets say 34k and the 6k is made up in allowances giving the 40k. For pension contributions the 34k is the figure used not the 40k. yes there needs to be review of allowances on a major scale but it could cost more if basic salaries and pension contributions are increased but definately some need to go.

• I think it is quite clear how to solve this issue.

All public servants allowances for this sort of thing should be got rid of and their employers should pay for them to have the proper equipment to do their jobs including, safety gear, uniforms, tools etc…Then you don’t have anyone abusing the system, all workers are properly equipped and the government can get economies of scale in mass purchasing that will save the tax payers of this country in the long run.

For anyone with special needs they need to be ergonomically assessed and then supplied with the appropriate equipment.

The very term allowance suggest that there is something ex-gratia about the whole thing. It is the employers negligence of care over their employees that has made this ridiculous situation arise in the first place. Its a bit like soldiers having to buy their own guns and kevlar armour in Afghanistan.

All of the above should apply to politicians as well and especially their expenses and engagement of “experts”, staff, “Consultants” and any other johnny-come-lately. Politicians should also be made to pay the same taxes and have the same allowances as the normal tax payer in this country…then they will know what its like to live as an ordinary citizen.

• mattoid 25/04/12 #

I can see where you’re coming from, but I don’t think anyone is going to get rich fiddling their €65 a year shoe allowance…
      Unvouched TD expenses are a different story though…

• Dave 25/04/12 #

Starting to tear the edges of the pages of the Croke Park Deal, eh?

• Jesus christ – a shoe allowance?!?! Never heard of that!! These clowns really are taking the piss!

Lads, how are we going to stop this crap??

• For new entrants!! What’s all that about? Howlin, either grow yourself a backbone or resign! You’re starting to sound pathetic !

• Well I supose you would rather the state pay out thousands on compensation to workers who get jabbed with needles as no safety work wear is provided?! This is a reality. PS workers on the lowest scale are being scapegoated.! Don’t let them decide and conquer there are finer details to this story.

• *divide* typo

• Journal,

Does this relate to PPE boots or fancy clarks shoes?!

• Safe foot wear is a necessity in a lot of public service jobs ,particularly if you arer on your feet for 12 hrs or more …65e is not that much as I had often had to spend that and twice that maybe at least twice a year… then 200e on orthodics …

• @susie
      Boots do own brand orthotics for €32
      FYI. ;-)

• Jambbie
      Thanks ! but they were not good enough for 12 hr shifts 5/6 days /nights a week… I had mine prescribed and fitted specially to suit my feet .Made all the difference and well worth the spend . Maybe boots ones have improved as I do not work any more .

• Suzie,

A lot of private sector workers are on their feet all day and guess what?! They buy their own bloody shoes!!

• Hitthepotthomas
      Yes I Know that. Is it health and safety ? Tese allowances were agreed and part of other ‘deals’ with depts . Take your anger out on the ministers not the workers.

• Is it shoe allowance for Our Gardai and if it is it is a disgrace to stop the allowance… The shoes are part of a uniform so the next thing the will have to buy the Uniforms next
      Howling Howlin how about stopping the Cleaning bill for all the TD’s first second get rid of the travel Expences for the TD’s we all have to cover our own travel expenses to get to work This alone would certainly start the recovery in Ireland so Howlin Stop howling and do your job and leave An Gardai Siochana alone

• Bernadette. The private sector gets a tax credit not an allowance which reduces the paye they pay each month. Uniforms would probably e15 a month. All employers have a duty of care and should supply safety and where the employer does not maintain the equipment such as a uniform then you should get a tax credit reducing paye payable. Just wondering would you and I am assuming you are public service agree to a tax credit to replace allowances?

• @ Eugene O’Rourke no I am not a Public Servant and never was I worked in the private sector all my working life am not working any more But I have Family that do work in an Gardai and Prison Service and I appreciate the dangers of not wearing a certain Quality Footwear both for protection and safety The Politicians should be taking hits before they cut safety shoes and clothing on the workers of Ireland

• @ Bernadette. I agree that PPE should be supplied to all and allowances / tax credits were justified. 2

• Um we have two allowances that only one or two people are eligible for so we will get rid of them and we will spend twice what we save each year on reviews and making sure we are not wasters!

• This kind of stuff is what makes non-civil servants enraged at what happens within the public bodies. I mean a shoe allowance…have you ever heard anything so ridiculous????

By that margin I should have a tyre allowance for my car because I drive to work or an ink allowance because i use my own pen at work.

Its time to get serious and stop with all of this nonsense. I have no problem with people in the public sector being paid appropriately providing its measured and is not seen as an entitlement. But I do have a problem with all of this historical and farcical stuff that has been around since Jesus was a boy.

• Maybe you should direct your anger at the laundry allowances (3,500e) the ministers get ….You if you ever spent time I mean real time on your feet you would then realise how important it is to have decent foot wear…. Not only have you to protect your feet from all the standing and walking you do , your feet must also be protected from assault , I am not being funny .

• You are assuming that I don’t spend all day on my feet…I don’t have any anger towards public servants as such. It’s more directed towards your unions and the government at allowing this to be the case. I don’t agree with laundry allowances either. There should be no allowances. The employer should provide equipment, clothing or tools as part of the role if there is a safety aspect or nessecity.

• Enda Kenny should set aside all personal feelings about Vincent Browne, put Ireland first.

• I am not assuming anything . Of course people spend time on their feet and they should be provided with safety equipment , so please people do not direct your anger at people who are going through similar struggles to make ends meet . These allowances have been there for years and years and were agreed in the past by the relevant departments . They are vital for a persons safety and security , as much as skin sanitiser is relevant to a surgeon …

• @susie….there is no point in discussing this with you as your emotions overtake your ability to read my comments properly.

• I’m an employer in the private sector and I provide protective footwear for employees who need it. I presume this allowance is not for ordinary office workers, but staff in areas where proper footwear is essential. We’re very quick to jump on ANYTHING when it comes to the public service and – you what? – I think the media and the ministers like it that way. The media gets the readers/viewers and the ministers get to deflect attention from their allowances. I find it galling and insulting that miniters who earn in excess of 100k get laundy allowances, for instance.

• That is a unnecessary comment Grant ! I got shoes (not an allowance when I worked) but I had to look after my own transport to and from work . Like I have already said some allowances may be unnecessary , but not ones that interfere with a workers safety and ability to carry out their duties professionally and securely. By all means Grant if you get a mileage allowance for your job and or a car to carry out your job that you can then use in your private time( company car) , I am the last person to begrudge you …..

• The 3.5k is not an allowance it is a tax credit which is very different as the tax credit can be claimed as a percentage of the laundry bill. it is completely OTT and should be reduced in line with nurses uniform tax credit for example.

• If you look at the Gardai’s uniform they wear stab proof vest and their shoes must be a pacific type shoe to protect their feet and backs because they do not sit at desks Prisons Officers I assume are the same Ambulance Crews also and Nurses too about the shoes The Private Sector get a tax free allowance attached to their income for allowance also so I wonder is Howlin talking about stopping the tax allowance for the Private sector too Well I say bring it on Howlin Cos you think the House Hold Charge Protests are a thorn in your side well this suspension of clothing allowance on our tax will be political suicide fir the Government

• @ Bernadette. I am not saying they should not get a good quality shoes and they definitaely should get all the PPE available as with all employee’s. I think personally the Dept should supply the shoes to make sure they are up to standard. I too have family/friends in the Gardai and Public Service and I know the thankless job they do. The point is that the for example they get an allowance of x amount onto their salary so it increases there income and where as in the private sector you get a tax credit (not an allowance). The credit is then offset against your PAYE deductions but your gross overall income is not increasing compared to allowances. I have also said below that allowances can be a benefit to the tax payer as pension’s are calculated based on income minus the allowances but we need to find a balance as Define Benefit Pensions are gold and are not easy (and if you get one very expensive) on the private market. Its trying to find the balance that is right. There is to much Private vs Public instead of how each can help each other from the Public Sector helping start up businesses and the private sector helping to cut costs in the Public Sector by outsourcing (where it can be done and feesable to do so).

• I see a lot of people moaning here about Howlin sounding pathetic, and that he should resign. The self same people were ranting about the civil & public service being “protected” and yet when Howlin tackles allowances in the pubic service, they are still moaning.

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

• According to the Central Statistics Office, the average industrial wage in Ireland in 2011 was €35,487. Out of a workforce of 428,845, an incredible 42% (i.e. 179,361) of public servants are paid in excess of the average industrial wage in their basic wages (i.e. €40,000 excluding allowances and bonuses etc.). Of those, 5% (i.e. 22,987) are paid over €90,000. The €90,000 salary scale is that of principal officer to which TD’s salaries are linked. A further 0.4% (i.e. 1,755) are paid more than the Taoiseach (i.e. over €200,000). As the Power City Ads used to say, “this madness must end soon”. Debate over! For further information refer to http://politico.ie/latest-from-politico/tonight-with-vincent-browne-liveblog/8455-post-show-11-april-public-service-pay.html

• mattoid 25/04/12 #

Barry, if I’ve read your posts correctly you have stated that 58% of public sector workers earn less than the average industrial wage (in spite of the fact that average level of qualification is higher in the public vs. the private sector) yet we should be tearing up their contracts, banning them from joining a union and re-employing them with reduced terms and conditions?

• No talk about Mr kenny getting an allowance to get rid of the rats from his office ,I see they spent 900e to get rid of the rats , I believe they will not get rid of all the rats until he is gone with the rest of his clan.

• No worries they’re going to run out of money by year’s end in any case so divide and conquer all you want.

• The ministerial laundry allowance is a tax free sum claimed from relevant department. If it was a tax credit we all would be able to claim it as tax credits equally apply to all

• We need to have a referendum to suspend the constitutional right to associate (i.e. to form and join a trade union) for say 30 days. The Government could then immediately terminate all existing civil and public sector contracts and re-hire these individuals on new contracts that fully respect their employment rights, but have meaningful and effective grievance and disciplinary procedures so appropriate sanctions can be imposed in appropriate cases, like in the private sector, without union interference. Any ex gratia payments should be discretionary and performance related.

• Jerry 25/04/12 #

How would you judge a nurses or Garda payment on how many people get better and if they die they don’t get paid or the garda pay on how many arrests and convictions

• Apologies to every one but Barry Sheehan that suggestion is pure and utter BOLL**. How dare you think that you can suspend Gardai , army , navy , nursing, teaching,fire and ambulance personnel on a whim of Howlins suggestions . Have you any conception of the insult you have dealt ? No not for a minute have you ever considered the jobs these good people do. …Yes there are some unnecessary allowances Ministers laundry ,for one ,travel expenses for td’s to get to Leinster house etc., . Maybe you should sit down some evening and watch real life rescues / road wars/ night cops/ jail/any of those programes altho not Irish I can tell you it is the same all over the world … Then come back and tell us who you want suspended and rehired …

• @Jerry and Susie. Firstly, I said ‘suspend the right to associate’ not suspend public sector workers. Secondly, there is no rational basis why public sector employees should be insulated from the recession just because they happen to be employed in the public sector. I repeat any allowances/bonuses should be at the discretion of the em

• You want to use the fact that the country has been pillaged by corrupt tycoons and Td’s to set us back to the middle ages? why not bring back serfdom as well?

• Employer. A rejection of the Fiscal Compact Treaty will bring these issues into narrow focus as the State will have abandon the Croke Park deal. Finally, @ Susie there is no need for such an emotive outburst and it distracts from your argument. Front line services should of course be protected as much as possible, but these comprise a very small number of public sector workers. For example, I believe somewhere in the region of 80% of HSE staff are administrators.

• Mark L’ingarde
      Have you not realised ….that is exactly where they want us , going cap in hand and wearing rags !
      F**k Howlin and the rest of them ! Clueless and immoral !

• Barry
      I will be voting No for the Austerity treaty ,I will not fall for the blackmail clause the government have inserted into the the treaty . Having spent my working life as a public servant , in situations that no money could compensate , to have it reduced to a mere 65e by other ordinary workers ,just as I was, yes I am emotional. I paid my dues ,and I continue to pay them through taxes and cuts .
      By the way . I agree that there seems to be a lot of admin workers ie. management level in the HSE. but it is not fair to just say ,get rid of them ….they too were employed to carry out their own jobs . We must stick together and stand up to this government and say NO

Add New Comment