TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

In pictures: the Working Abroad Expo at the RDS

Thousands attend the event hoping to come across the ‘dream job’ – outside of Ireland.

LONG QUEUES FORMED early this morning in front of the RDS in Dublin as thousands of people headed to the Working Abroad Expo.

Jobseekers looking outside of Ireland for opportunities not available to them here paid €10 for entry to the event. Eighty companies will be recruiting at the exhibition but advice on visas and other aspects of emigration is also available.

Just some of the jobs on offer include physicians positions in Canada which come with a promise of $500,000 earnings and $55,000 in assistance to “get settled”, as well as a house and a car.

The attractive packages come as other countries suffer skills shortages and Ireland’s unemployment remains at stubbornly high levels. Migration experts VisaFirst.com has said that the competition between Canada and Australia for Irish farmers and other skilled workers is now in “full swing”.

In pictures: the Working Abroad Expo at the RDS
1 / 7
  • Working Abroad Expo

Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Working Abroad Expo

Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Working Abroad Expo

Brother and sister Jack and Katie Dunne, aged 22 and 21, visit a Canadian stand at the Working Abroad Expo at the RDS this morning.
  • Working Abroad Expo

Karen Martin (27) and Darren Zeltner (23) visit an Australian stand at the Working Abroad Expo at the RDS this morning.
  • Working Abroad Expo

Many commenters on social media sites have noted that the packed Expo is taking place beside the Fianna Fáil Ard Fhéis. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Working Abroad Expo

The exhibition provides information on visas, emigrating and job opportunities overseas. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Working Abroad Expo

The queue outside the Working Abroad Expo at the RDS this morning. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Where in the world? Saskatchewan wants Irish workers>

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• So that’s how the dole que is getting shorter they are all leaving the country

• ” ….. No longer shall our children, like our cattle, be brought up for export.” Eamon Devalera. 1944

• Pics don’t do any justice to the amount of people there.

• A picture speaks a thousand words! :-(

• Well said Noel…2-3 months from now when there is a drop in the dole queues the government will say their job strategy is working…disgraceful…

• Did Bertie not see the queue? That is the saddest sight in a long time.

• Just turned on the rte news to watch this and hey guess what? They didn’t bother to show anything about it…they did however dedicate the prime spot to all the backslapping fianna failers. Ridiculous. Friends of mine went today and were turned away because the queue was so huge. It’s beyond sad.

• I’m so sad to see this, it reminds me of the queues outside the American Embassy in the 80′s.

• That’s our future right there, queuing up to leave. Bright young people, mad for work, a whole generation lost probably for good. So very sad.

Don’t know how Bertie has the gall to show up around the corner from this, and he probably doesn’t even feel in the least bit guilty about it.

• I was there we were turned away as there was too many people there and the queue was so big we couldnt get to door by five let alone get inside…………and around the corner the back slapping and the smoozing carried on as normal………..thanks Bertie and cronies…….

• How very sad. Was it really necessary to charge eveyone a €10 entrance fee though? I’m sure the companies are paying the organisers for their stands too.

• The shit will soon hit the fan when we get our conditions for our second bailout.When every worker has to take a 40%wage cut. Then we will see some change here.Dont get me wrong,jobs abroad are great,but it leaves less people to pay taxes here.Jobs need to be started here before its too late.

• It was a sad and angering site at the same time. I thought it was a bit sick charging people ten euros to stand in the que. There where also so many whole families waiting in line. My only question is why are they not standing outside Leinster House?

• Just saw a clip of Bertie ahern laughing his arse of at the FF gig. The neck of that guy annoys me. He should be fed to the fishes.

• i live on the other side of the world so i think i can speak with some detachment. my question is: will canada (or any other place) be able to take all these people? the answer is obviously ‘no’. so what of those left over? what of their lives? everyone ~ each and every citizen ~ has a responsibility, whether they are intending to leave or not, to show their anger at the situation which has driven irish people to leave their homeland. as with the great famines of the 19th century which helped to populate my country, the conditions which are driving people out are not of their own making. my great-granny o’shea was ever thankful for the more comfortable life she was able to live here, but she sang of ireland to her last days…

• Alan
      Canada will welcome them with open arms, as it did me. I don’t live there now, I’m back in this infested Isle.
      Infested not by the potato blight like in your Great Grannies time but by corrupt, inept and self serving politicians and bureaucrats who have sold the country out and squandered the inheritance of those who might leave and wish to return one day like myself.
      This country will return to the days so loved by the postcard printers of old men in cloth caps, deserted streets and people scratching for survival in a land they don’t own where the only reprieve is a plane ticket or a boat ride.
      Best of luck to the young and talented that are spilling out of this country and best of luck to the country that takes them, they’ll be better appreciated.

• Very somber photo. On a light note I say Mr Martin was rubbing his hands for a spilt second this morning . Hey lads looks like we are popular again …..

• The bottom line is that if the “national station” cant be bothered to cover the fact that thousands of people were turned away but can devote time to FF crap even tho whether you work or not you need a licence for RTE ……….that shows how out of touch our national station is……………..eh hello ………….there is something very wrong with this picture ……………sad. I was there the queue was unbelievable I was turned away we got there shortly after twelve.

• From personal experience I can say Australia isn’t the land of opportunity that the indo and rte paint it to be. Its a very competitive jobs market – especially in the big cities..

However if you have good experience, are pro active and a strong work ethic you can make alot of money here

Anyone who is in hospitality and is reading this should consider moving over. Me and my girlfriend are saving on average 1k a week… And we’re only outta college! :)

• What an oxymoron, an emigration expo and FF get together next door to each other, oh the irony of it!!! For the record my son went, said nobody accepting cv’s, apply on line, eh hello, what the hell are they at!!! Maybe others had different experience?

• That’s some dole queue!!!!!

• These are all the people that the minister for social destruction is calling lifestyle unemployed

• I was there today and it was a shocking site..Sad to say but i cant wait to leave this island.

• The ‘gratuity’ paid on top of pension lumpsum to retiring county managers should be taken back and distibuted among those who emigrate for work to tide them through their first couple of weeks.
    What a sick place this is.

• Pity the FF party members didn’t see that que.

• Governments answer to unemployment. Mr Noonans Lifestyle choice policy. Get the country back to work. Where?. As Niall says, should be standing out side the Dail.

• would love to have gone to the expo but i’m unable to afford a bus or train ticket to it. Thanks very much to the Irish Government i cant even get out for a pint.

• Standing outside Leinster House would do nothing to help them realise their goal of finding opportunity and employment.

• 2 things I noticed today at the RDS first the Fianna Fail Ard — was on and the que was full of old people. Secondly the que for the jobs in Canada was full of young people. Who votes? I met a friend who was at the jobs fair and as he speaks fluent French he was offered the first job he wanted – strange how we are still teaching Irish in schools when the jobs require languages other than Irish. To get a job in Ireland in the civil service people need Irish, maybe that’s why they teach it.

• louise 04/03/12 #

Fianna fail turn the light off on yer way out

• I am from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. This city of 250,000 is in the heart of the prairies where we are blessed with a large farmland base, the worlds largest supply of Potash and Uranium deposits. We have more oil than Saudi Arabia. Our province is huge and is loaded with opportunity. I have meet British truckers that moved here a few years back and we so amazed that they can drive for days and days and not hit the ocean yet. We dont want to steal your people. We just have too much here and not enough people to share it with. My family moved here from France 400 years ago when there was even fewer here. My wifes grandparents came from Ukraine when things got tough over there.

Come on over and give it a try. It will blow your mind how much different it is. Nothing here is more than 100 years old. We still have animals to hunt and fish to catch for those that want to. We are so diverse of a population that religion and race is something that we cherish. We are a mosaic as opposed to the USA where you are expected to lose your identity to fit in. Over here, we keep our history and culture. You would be known as Irish Canadians. Your accent would give it away but we love accents. No one here is going to feel like you are taking our jobs away from us.

Give it a try.

Norm Lalonde, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

• And now, I just checked out the job postings for Saskatchewan at the job fair. These are not McDonalds burger flipping jobs. These are top paying positions. You may be wondering why there is a shortage of heavy duty mechanics, welders, electricians, etc. They are all making tons of money in the Oil Sands, or the oil patch. We have a shortage of nurses and doctors.

Most immigrants that come to Canada come here as refugees. Mostly they are not educated, trained professionals with English languange skills. Many of these people are employed in the lower paying jobs. Businesses are not allowed to just go outside of the country to recruit. They must exhaust all efforts to recruit from within our country. Only then can they recruit abroad. These positions that are posted at the job fair are skilled trades. All you need to do is get here and then you can do like everyone else and upgrade your job opportunities even further. Our province is running around 4% unemployment. Alberta next door is about the same.

Take a look for sure.

• My friend was sad because he would have to leave his wife and 3 children behind. They offered him a house and schools for his kids but he felt it too upsetting for his kids to move so he needs to go and send home money to pay the mortgage at inflated price as the banks are putting him under pressure. Do any of the politicians care ? Even Sinn Fear are taking from this man by stealing his tax money in the form of print cartridges. That 53K would allow him stay nearly 3 years. That would at least let him see his kids grow for another 3 years. Let the Shinners buy their own ink.

• I don’t know why people want the likes of all the unemployed to demonstrate outside our local TD’s offices, what good would that do? Make politicians do something for someone other than themselves?? You must be joking! They’re all the same, just look what has changed since last years #GE…..NOTHING! They’re still the same teacher lead shower of self serving gowls that was there all along but this shower have different names + faces. Irish politicians, and politicians in general are a certain type of person, so basically protesting won’t change anything. I’ve made my mind up, until the politicians have to suffer consequences of their actions they are willing to deal with abuse, wouldn’t any of ye withe their lifestyles!

So there is no point in wasting our time protesting, instead, use the time for better purposes…..like going to job expos!!!!!!!

• It’s o.k. guys I heard that there was no politicians (and family members) or senior civil servants (and family members) in the cue.

So, not to worry our country is in good (if not very expensive) hands.

Is it back to the old days of the emigrants sending a few quid home to pay the ”Landlord” and the ”Penal Taxes”?

• It’s about time we Irish took responsibility for our own failings as well as our successes, we are a determined people capable of doing whatever we put our minds too or at least most of us ar. All those blaming any particular political party are most likely the same folk who tried to profit from the false property boom and the over inflated “Celtic Tiger”. Grow up, any elected government is only as much responsible for anything as the electorate that put them in office. It’s sad to see the same crap coming out of people as was the case back in the 80′s. Ireland will only recover when we all accept that mistakes were made and MOVE ON, regroup and rebuild. Ireland punches well above her size and I, I hope like all of my fellow Irishmen and Irishwomen, will aid in rebuilding a better future for Ireland having learned from the mistakes made. I’m born Irish and I’ll die Irish even if I now Luce in the States.

• my daughter will be joining that Que soon to. How sad. not only have you ruined our country but now your splitting family’s up….Well done hope your proud of your selfs

• We were in the queue for over 3 hours yesterday and while it was pretty frustrating for us i felt worse for the familys there with young children. We were then charged €10 to make our way around a hall where many of the stands consisted of general recruitment agencies who simply gave us their email address and told us to forward on our CV’s.
    A few hundred years down the road the FF Ard Fheis was taking place. With allthe back slapping that was taking place in the car park between the BMW’s and Merc’s i would not be suprised if half the party are not looking for treatment for whiplash today.
    I wonder if they even gave us a second thought.

• I left Ireland 22 years ago thinking I would return some day or maybe retire there. Now I can’t see it. This is so sad……
    I feel so sorry for the young, with very little hope for the future.

• Depressing comments on here. Doing something about the systemic, cyclical and frequent failures of our political system would help ensure that it didn’t happen again to you, your neighbours, families and children (and yes, a lot of people have been through this MORE THAN ONCE). Which isn’t to denigrate the desire to flee a state with so little regard for its citizens and such low levels of social solidarity.

• Remind me why we’re in the EU again? Ah this expo was about job opportunities in Europe right? No?

• Merowig 04/03/12 #

@Lynton: How many Irish can speak fluent German or Polish?

• Why German or Polish? There are many more continental European languages, of which I speak three.

• Merowig 05/03/12 #

@Tom: There are plenty of languages in Europe – but some are more important than others.

The Spanish, Portugese, Greek and Italian economy are wrecked as well.
      Should Sarkozy lose power France will follow most likely as well.

I have listed Polish and German as Poland didn’t entered the recession at all and has a lot of potential for the future. And the German economy is strong – right now attracting Spanish and Greek immigrants.
      In the end not many EU countries offer a lot of job opportunities… and if you don’t speak the local language chances for a decent job are slim.

Add New Comment