TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Irish fans urged not to use prostitutes during Euro 2012

Irish fans travelling to Euro 2012 games are being urged by Labour Women not to “put any money in the pockets of the pimps who control the sex industry”.

File photo
File photo
Image: Lewis Whyld/PA Wire/Press Association Images

IRISH FOOTBALL FANS are being urged not to use the services of prostitutes when abroad for the Euro 2012 games this month.

Labour Women is urging Irish soccer fans travelling to the games not to use prostitutes during the games in Poland, as part of the Europe-wide campaign Together for a Europe free from prostitution.

The campaign aims to combat prostitution and raise awareness of the harm done by prostitution.

Katherine Dunne, Labour Women Chair, commented:

We know that demand for the sex trade goes up during big games. In 2006, the European Parliament stated that: ‘Experience has shown that any major sporting event at which large numbers of people congregate results in a temporary and spectacular increase in the demand for sexual services’. We are asking Irish fans to continue being the best fans in the world and not use any prostitutes during their stay in Poland.

Dunne added that the European Women’s Lobby, who are spearheading the Together for a Europe free from prostitution campaign, quotes figures which illustrate the violence against those in prostitution.

Seventy three per cent of women in prostitution report having been subjected to physical aggressions while in prostitution. Sixty eight per cent of women in prostitution meet the criteria for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in the same range as victims of torture. Sixty two per cent of women in prostitution report having been raped.

Dunne added that Labour women are asking Irish fans “not to put any money in the pockets of the pimps who control the sex industry”.

The murky world of the sex trade is one of violence, money and crime. Let’s not support it.

Read: Frugal Irish fans ‘can sleep rough’ in Poland>

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• I’m not sure that the alleged reputation Irish fans have for being the “best fans in the world” was earned by not using prostitutes. What a bizarre thing to say indeed.

• Well if someone scores i hope its our lads.

• What is being the best fans in the world got to do with using the services of a prostitute, strange comment.

• Well I’m going to the the Spain match next week and I’d never do anything like that to Mrs Hanratty!

• Has this woman ever been to Poland. Has she suggested to the Polish government to close down these brothels which by the way are legal in Poland. A Europe without prostitution. Are these politicians f##king mad or what. I would suggest to her she should consider the fact there is likely to be a europe without Ireland a lot quicker if she & her side kicks dont start doing their jobs. These kind of statements go to show me how out of touch these politicians are. I would be more concerned about the safety of our fans fans from polish football firms.

• In Cannes this year a documentary called “Paradise: Love” was much lauded. The film focuses on sex tourism from the perspective of the middle-aged female consumer. Conclusion? When women do sex tourism it’s called ‘romance traveling’. I have never used the services of a prostitute in my life, and I don’t need any victim-hood addicts to accost my gender with this insulting nonsense.

BTW: If Katherine Dunne is Labour Women’s Chair, who is the Labour Men’s Chair?

• I think this article just reminded the Irish men about the legal hookers. woohoo

• Do Labour honestly think the men who use prostitutes think of their welfare or where their money is going?!

• deidre is right – and a labour woman telling them not to is going to do worse than f**k all.
      Methinks Labour Woman is only trying to make it like she is doing something about it than actually solving any problems.
      (disclaimer – not endorsing all the bad things that go with people trafficking and the problems with pimps etc- i just think this Labour Women thing is more interested in self promotion than actually solving problems for these women)

• Dave, you are right. It would make more sense for this group to quote the opinion of the people who work as prostitutes and work with prostitutes in the Polish sex industry, but not give their opinion as a woman living in Ireland.

• You’ll probably get more bang for your buck over there

• What an odd thing to say.

• I think we need more geniuses like these women in politics. How else would we find out such things as “sex is the number one cause of pregnancy” and “prostitution is baad mmmkay”

Give me a break.

• I thought all the European prostitutes were over here.

Given Irish people are so great at denying their urge to drink I’m pretty sure they’re onto a loser with this one.
    Where’s the parish priest when you need him…. (locked up probably these days).

• No surprises there. The Labour party passed a motion in their 2010 Conference advocating for a Sweden style Sex Purchase Act to be introduced in the Republic of Ireland. This basically means that the purchase of sex will be criminalized. It’s based on this so-called “radical feminist” ideology that claims that all paid sex is a form of rape and that all prostitutes, and I mean *all* prostitutes, are forced into sex work.

• Eleen 07/06/12 #

I agree with you here, Paul. They’re as reactionary as the catholic church in some ways.

• Ah, but all the individual TDs seem to have asked for their names to be taken *off* “Turn Off the Red Light” site since. I have a feeling they were suckered in by all this “trafficking” hype. I might have been myself if it wasn’t for the blind luck that a very old friend happened to be over here touring regularly so I knew the truth.

• “I laugh, ha ha!” That’s like telling others when going on golfing holidays and/or to Thailand not to be tempted either! “Allegedly”. Does Ms Dunne honestly think that anybody is listening to what she has to say. People will do what their drunken minds will tell them to do. Let’s hope none of them bring anything home to their ‘partners’.

• Most Irishmen I know are stingey mummies boys, I can’t see them paying for it if they can get it free. They would have to be really hard up.

• Get in there!!!

• and where do they get these figures from? 73% of prostitutes have reported this that and the other…blah blah blah… they have no idea how prostitutes are even out there, let alone go out and interview every single one of them – loada crap!

Fair enough there are many “victims” which is probably the best reason to legalise the whole business and keep these woman safe in controlled areas!

• does this women really think that drunk Irish fans negotiating with a hooker while away will get suddenly get a surge of conscience about where his hard eraned money will end up? Shurrup woman – go back to catholic Ireland and realise that some of these women do it as a career choice. They are not all drugged up victims of traffickers! ffs…….

• Scary attitudes as usual to prostitution on here. It’s all like Pretty Woman lads, nothing bad ever happens to these woman. And you’re definitely not funding criminals or people traffickers. Definitely not :)

• Suggestion Martin. If you go to Poland or Belgium or Germany or Switzerland or any other country where is legal & sort it out. FFS your as niave as these politicians. It no business of ours what prostitution goes on outside this country because theres as much of it going on here illegally & more likely with more abuse involved. You obviously dont get out much. Travel around Europe & educate yourself. People like you & this politician have very sheltered lives.

• You’re right, since most Polish prostitutes are Polish, and it’s legal, so no criminality or trafficking :)

• I suppose it’d be no business of ours if people were being murdered in Syria too? You call me naive yet you seem to think that prostiution in Poland, because it’s legal apparently, is some sort of safe haven for hard working women who need some extra cash to get their hair done. Nothing degrading about it at all. As for the implication that legality equals safety, how I laughed. Are you serious or what? What happens when the chap decides to slap the girl around a bit for the craic? Does the swat team fall out of the cupboard because it’s a safe, legal profession? Prostitution endangers and demeans women, legal or not. Cue comments about how I’m a) gay b) a prude c) sheltered and need to “get out more” and d) do not get the “banter”

• Martin regarding your two major arguments, that prostitution endangers and demeans women, you’re right, in a sense, it does have the capacity to be a dangerous profession, but with the right approach it could be no more dangerous than any other. But in righteous and moral Ireland we decided that it’s a dirty immoral thing and made it illegal, which in economic terms doesn’t mean getting rid of it, it means handing a monopoly over to the most dangerous and uncouth criminals around. Look at Australia where sex workers have to be registered with a regulator, who has the authority to inspect and register brothels. Safe than here you have to admit?

And regarding the demeaning, so what? Women are smart and strong enough to make up their own minds, it’s not a profession I’d want to be a part of but I’m not gonna tell somebody else it’s demeaning to their gender, and with no sense of irony essentially tell them whats good for them.

• I dont know if your gay im not interested but you are niave. Why dont you go to Poland & sort it out or maybe you have some answers about our own prostitution problems here which are a bigger because there is no protection here for these women they are actually treated as criminals & that doesnt happen in Poland. So in Poland if they are abused its by their pimps but here everyone including the state gets to abuse them.

• I’m not telling any woman what’s good for them. I’m not going to go down to Leeson street and moralise to some woman who’s out there selling herself. You’re confusing the two completely different objections to prostitution. One is the conservative, religous, sex is bad, prostitution is hence immoral argument. That is not me. The second objection, and in my opinion the much more valid one is that what sort of a society do we have if women are forced (maybe not explicitly but economically) to have to suffer such work? The majority of women operating in prostitution are being either coerced into doing it or, because of desperate economic circumstances, have no choice but to go down that road.

That’s without even examining what sort of person visits prostitutes. I’m sure plenty of men with low self esteem or confidence do it because they see no other option for attaining sex. I’d sympathise with people like that, it’s sad but I can partly understand why they’d do it, especially if the naively think these women are all pretty women types. But most men that visit prostitutes in my opinion know full well that this women is being coerced in some way. They know the women has no interest in them beyond the economic and yet they still want to have sex with her. They reduce the women to an object of sexual gratification. So please don’t dismiss my objections as conservative moralising. I’m a socialist and feminist and if we had an equal society, without the economic pressures of our own, I really don’t believe many would choose (and obviously not be coerced) into that line of work.

• @Michael, one minute ago you were saying aint it fantastic it’s legal in Poland. Now in poland the women “only” get abused by their pimps. I don’t support criminalising prostitution. I’m not even sure where you picked that up from what I’ve said. I’m just saying that it’s a messed up society where people think it’s a bit of craic to visit a hooker.

• So as your a feminist & I guessed that bit before you said. Prostitution is not exclusively for women. I myself was shocked to learn how many men & transgender worked here in Ireland. It may be demeaning to all these people & maybe they are vurnerable people but I dont think that the Irish have the knowledge of this subject to go around telling other European states where its legal & controlled how to have a moral position on prostitution. Ireland & the Irish dont have the moral standing Im afraid.

• Martin niave & you cant read. Please quote were I said fantastic?p

• So your objection is to the commercialisation of sex?

Well then if you consider yourself a feminist(a bad word in my books but anyways) why are you so quick to chastise men who are lonely and seeking some sort of sexual embrace, even if it’s fake, the emotion isn’t there and she’s only doing it for the money, yet you’re fully on board with the idea that if a woman enters prostitution it’s because she’s forced to, because of economic circumstances, and it’s not even her choice. Men and women alike have struggled through tough times worldwide without resorting to prostitution, and it’s patronising that you expect so little drive and ambition from women, but call on men to just suck it up, be the bigger person and not fuel thius business.

• Yes Brendan, I am saying it’s the men’s responsibility. My argument is that the women are trapped. The men have the choice. That is one of the central feminist criticisms of prostitution. It’s just like rape, women shouldn’t take steps to avoid rape, men should just not do it.

As for the comments on it not being exclusively women in prostitution. Of course there are men and transgender people working in the industry and they’re being exploited in exactly the same way. I’d venture that the proportion of women is much higher though. Anyway, goodnight!

• Michael when you say naive what exactly do you mean? I’ve been to many places across Europe and do you know what all the worst places i seen had in common? They where all centred around red-light areas. I think you’re the one that’s a bit naive to think that is a grand old profession.

• Ah, just like all central feminist criticisms, that everything is the men’s fault and women are helpless victims. Prositution is a choice, perhaps not most people’s first choice, but no one is forced into it any more than they’re forced into any other job, I refuse to accept these women would starve if they weren’t prostitutes, its not as if poor countries are full of female hookers and men dying of hunger. Goodnight to you too.

• @ I Love Lamp @ Martin : I live in a red light district. I do not buy sex. I do say hello and sometimes chat some normal rubbish with the prostitutes because I see the same girls every evening when I go to my local kiosk to buy milk or cigarettes, and they see me. They are my neighbours. They are not forced into prostitution, much of them are college students funding their studies. It may be different in the non-regulated red light districts, but here is is business and the girls are doing business, like any worker in any sector. Men are pigs, but the girls know this and they take safety measures against this. Overall the girls profit from prostitution more than their customers.

You both talk a lot on this forum but you both know very little about the subjects you talk about.

• Klaus, you might be a pig but speak for yourself

Martin, you just hate men, and it shines through in what you’re saying. “Men should not do it” Why? Why is it ok to give pleasure for sex but not money? Why is it ok to massage people for money but not to have sex with them? And do you think no women ever pay for sex? If so, you really are naive

Brendan, I agree with most of your points but when you said “why are you so quick to chastise men who are lonely and seeking some sort of sexual embrace, even if it’s fake, the emotion isn’t there and she’s only doing it for the money” I think it’s worth bearing in mind that the word “fake” is a bit subjective. If you have a one-night stand and the other person is only doing it for pleasure, is that fake? In fact, it doesn’t even have to be a one-night stand. Plenty of people have faked emotions to get sex, which is surely far more abusive than an honest transaction between consenting adults

• @ Chuck Regardiong the notion of fake, I think you’re right, all the more reason to relax the stigma, if people are willing to have sex purely for their own pleasure, or because their on the rebound, or to make their ex jealous, then surely commercial sex isn’t that big a deal.

• @ Chuck : I apologise. Men are pigs ( Männer sind Schweine ) is a normal phrase in German and the title of a famous punk song, and my English language friends tell me that “pig” is stronger in English, in German not so. The insulting word for police in German is not “pig”, it is “bull”. “Pig” is more like a sometimes friendly dog, mostly loyal and with a short temper, but easy to control. It would be good to know that this is the reason for your message, and not anti-German feeling.

• “Irish men, don’t have sex with willing women. We are threatened by that. Sincerely, Irish women”

• Wes 08/06/12 #

Back of the net!

• kljkl;jk;

• They’re actually less likrly to be victims of trafficking or abusive pimps over there. It’s not illegal over there. Banning something drives itn underground, into the arms of organised crime. Legalisation and regulation protects prostitutes from abusive pimps.

• D’je know what?
    Couldn’t give a shyte.

• howzat 07/06/12 #

They are all over here has there been a special flight to take them back for the two weeks

• So what has led this woman to think that Irish footie fans are particularly likely to go with prossies?

No smoke without fire.

• Rob 14/06/12 #

Here we go again… Only in Ireland where the ancient catholic teachings of mormonic organizations like Katherine Dunne of Labor Women. Conservative monolithic Ireland trying their best to ban the oldest business in the world that so many other countries recently legalized.

Irish women are the most backward, intrusive, small-minded on the planet. No wonder so many Irish men are dating other nationalities. Who would date a boring woman who only thinks about her superiority? You want to prevent me purchasing sex in Poland? Come try and stop me!

• Love lamp seems a lot of people cant read. At no stage have I promoted prostitution. All I have done is point out that we have a bigger problem with it here.So name some of these red light districts in Europe you have been to & lets compare views.

• ”Here we go again… Only in Ireland where the ancient catholic teachings of mormonic organizations like Katherine Dunne of Labor Women. Conservative monolithic Ireland trying their best to ban the oldest business in the world that so many other countries recently legalized.

Irish women are the most backward, intrusive, small-minded on the planet. No wonder so many Irish men are dating other nationalities. Who would date a boring woman who only thinks about her superiority? You want to prevent me purchasing sex in Poland? Come try and stop me!”

Wow Rob!! You are so progressive and open minded, buying women for sex! Unlike us boring Irish women who only think of our own superiority! How selfish, narrow minded and ENTITLED of us to not want to live in a society where it is normal and ok to buy women for sex in an abusive and exploititive industry.

Also, legalisation does N0T work.

http://www.prostitutionresearch.com/laws/000022.html

• Rob 20/06/12 #

The sum total of the ubiquitous Rew Power-Branfield’s juvenile and churlish trolling herein can (without much effort) be reduced to the following three polemical points: consent issue should have no right nor standing in court; Two – This industry should banned in all forms since the possibility of embarassment or lack of objectivity may cause her to go into another aggressive feminist snit; and Three – the old playground rejoinder, “Sheet at the police station!!!!” Rew Power-Branfield’s first proclamation has been proven patently false in light of our court having taken retrospective cases. Her second point is legally irrelevant and moot since 58% now want the laws against prostitution to be abolished:

http://scripts.ireland.com/polls/head2head/index.cfm?fuseaction=yesnopoll&pollid=8193&subsiteid=352

And her final point? Rew has generalized an industry as ”abusive and exploitative” with no truthful basis whatsoever. In other words, the people who CHOOSE out of their own FREE WILL to work in the industry are supposedly being ”forced” in the eyes of a right-wing feminist who adores the gospel teachings. No existing court (civil or criminal) would give that argument any legal consideration. In fact, any playground monitor would give our boorish little Branfield a well deserved slapdown on that one.

• libby 08/06/12 #

Just what the wives/girlf’s/partners staying at home want to hear!
    Nothing worst than telling a man he can’t/shouldn’t.

Add New Comment