TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Reilly: I’m not a bully, nothing inappropriate over primary care sites

The Health Minister gave a strong defence of his conduct in relation to the selection of sites for primary care centres, two of which are in his constituency.

James Reilly
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly has mounted a robust defence of his conduct in the decision to select two sites in his constituency for primary care centres.

Reilly insisted this morning that that “any contention that there’s anything remotely inappropriate about this is utterly wrong” referring to a story in today’s Irish Independent regarding to the owner of the site for one of the centres in Balbriggan who is a Fine Gael supporter.

The Minister told RTÉ’s Today with Pat Kenny that while developer Seamus Murphy is a member of Fine Gael and has been for four decades “anyone in Balbriggan would know him” and he said that this site was identified for a primary care centre as far back as 2010.

“The selection of this site is absolutely nothing to do with me,” Reilly insisted pointing to a parliamentary question from February 2010 in which the site had been identified by the previous administration.

He insisted that the town of Balbriggan needed a primary care centre pointing to the doubling of its population in the last 10 years and the high unemployment rate, repeating his claim that it was an insult to people living there to say they were benefiting from ‘stoke politics’:

It’s a town that needs very much a proper primary care centre.

Reilly rejected the notion that he had interfered anyway in the drawing up of a list of sites for primary care centres saying that the list was drawn up by the HSE.

“I really reject any sense that I have interfered in anyway or have tried to get benefit by this,” he told RTÉ saying that in fact he had been hit financially by his decision to enter politics.

‘Toreador’

The Minister rejected the characterisation of him as a ‘bull in a china shop’ or a ‘bull in a bullring’ who was at the mercy of the bullfighter or toreador, stretching the metaphor, he said:

I know who the toreador is, and the toreador are my electorate and the people who put Fine Gael into government, and they are the ones I’ll answer to.

On criticism of him from the former Primary Care Minister Róisín Shortall, who resigned last week following tensions with her senior minister at the Department of Health, Reilly said that Shortall would have known these changes to the list of primary care centres would be happening.

But he said that he was the one who was in charge and tasked with taking the final decisions, he rejected her claim that he was trying to Americanise the Irish health insurance system and said the reality was the government was improving  the provision of health.

He also rejected claims that he was a bully: “There is no way that I have a bullying manner, and I reject that completely,” adding that he had an “excellent working relationship” with his other junior health minister, Labour’s Kathleen Lynch.

The Health Minister is due to make further comments on the matters related to primary care centre site selection in a statement to the Dáil at 3.45pm today.

Read: Reilly to give Dáil explanation over primary care centres today

In photos: James Reilly is good with his hands

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (81 Comments)

• “I’ve had my fun,that’s all that matters”

• so only the people who voted FG will be listened to by reilly ? typical bullshit from this corrupt man

• “he told RTÉ saying that in fact he had been hit financially by his decision to enter politics.”

Wow….tough luck James…sad story but if its any consolation there’s an awful lot of people in this country who have been hit financially by you and your lots decision to enter politics.

• Election in January anybody?

• Nope, have to wait till Feb.
      “no elections before the pensions!”

• I hope so Jim, when people see that. They’ll get a worse thumping because of it!

• Hold on lads! Who the feck do we vote for. Not this lot or the other shower, not Gerry and his loolaas and as for the technical group.

We’re doomed I tell ya, doomed!

• Election now, before they get at ours.

• Dec

You may be wrong. What we do know is that there is no top or bottom of this list. There was funding for twenty Primary Care sites and the Junior Minister opted to select just twenty and all on the basis of economically disadvantaged locales.
      In the past fifteen years these areas have found it impossible to attract doctors to set up GMS practices because they are not financially viable.
      The Senior Minister apparently told his Junior as far back as June that to get twenty practices off the ground they should increase the potential number and added fifteen that had been on HSE lists and he brought this new list to Cabinet which then became an approved list. None of that seems problematic.

• Paddy Rogers the ministers answers to how or why they were added to the list do not match the facts. Read the below article and tell me that there are no problems with what went on.

Speaking in the Dáil last night, Dr Reilly said Swords and Balbriggan were identified as high priority areas by the HSE five years ago.

But both “lost out” after Ms Shortall, the then-Minister of State, increased the weighting attached to deprivation in selecting priority locations in which centres would be built.

“Multiplying the deprivation index by three, they lost out. They were swept from high priority to low priority. Under the original priority system both would have been in the top 35. However, under the new system with an altered weighting system they ended down the list.”

This is not borne out, however, by documents obtained by The Irish Times under Freedom of Information legislation last week. They show that Balbriggan ranked 44th and Swords 127th in a draft list compiled last June – before Ms Shortall ordered officials to increase the weighting attached to deprivation.

This exercise did little to alter the rankings of the two towns in the list, with Balbriggan remaining at 44th and Swords slipping just three places to 130th, the documents show.

• Yes yes bring it on it An election may save mass riots Election as soon as possible please and get rid of these liars and traitors

• “Replace the liars and the traitors”

Didn’t we just do that two years ago and replaced them with other liars and traitors ???

Is there anybody worthy ???
      http://www.thejournal.ie/dail-764k-allowances-no-sittings-617498-Oct2012/

“Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results.”

• Would you buy a used car from this man?

• another obese Minister for Health……another cockup……..vive la bananna republic

• I wonder will James do the right thing and resign.Its hard to believe he is a doctor.

• Kenny is losing whatever grip he has, NOTHING is going to plan. We need a shake up, and something drastic, stop paying the unsecured bondholders, drop VAT, legalise cannabism SOMETHING. We have to be dynamic

• Kathleen knows her place that’s why ..

• Kathleen knows there is a lovely pension a few years down the line. So much for her insisting last week that all women in particular know instinctively how to ask the “awkward” questions: http://www.labour.ie/press/listing/13487573048316460.html

• Nothing wrong you say, and yet the land is owned by one of your financial backers……….. He’d be in jail already in America… he need to stand down as his position as a minister in government is untenable

• @ Aisling: Yes, exactly. Minister Lynch seems to know that you have to be in power to bring change, and that in a coalition government you share power. Unlike Shorthall whose departure was most likely motivated by her dissatisfaction regarding being left out of Cabinet twice. It’s much easier to criticise from the sidelines rather than make decisions in power.

@ Brian: Did you read the story? The site was selected by the HSE before the current Minister came to power. How do you explain that?

• @ Ryan Allen, Have a read of the below from the Irish Times. Can you explain the contradiction because to date Reilly hasn’t. Also Shortall couldn’t make a decision as Reilly had not vested the power in her to do so.

Speaking in the Dáil last night, Dr Reilly said Swords and Balbriggan were identified as high priority areas by the HSE five years ago.

But both “lost out” after Ms Shortall, the then-Minister of State, increased the weighting attached to deprivation in selecting priority locations in which centres would be built.

“Multiplying the deprivation index by three, they lost out. They were swept from high priority to low priority. Under the original priority system both would have been in the top 35. However, under the new system with an altered weighting system they ended down the list.”

This is not borne out, however, by documents obtained by The Irish Times under Freedom of Information legislation last week. They show that Balbriggan ranked 44th and Swords 127th in a draft list compiled last June – before Ms Shortall ordered officials to increase the weighting attached to deprivation.

This exercise did little to alter the rankings of the two towns in the list, with Balbriggan remaining at 44th and Swords slipping just three places to 130th, the documents show.

• @Ryan.. you muppet…. Reilly selected the venues in Swords and Balbriggan and added them to the list that was selected by an independent committee…. Stroke politics at its best……. Some people are so stupid it defies belief…….

• Check her out, she gave a good reference too a child abuser of two young girls a few years back. Imagine her protecting children?

• I keep saying – it could be even worse – it couldn’t – imagine having this Bully in denial, as ones Family GP ?

• That’s a very friendly photo of of devious person!

• Eamonn Gilmore and the rest of the Labour party who i voted for should be ashamed of themselfs ,the way they left Roishin Shortall to fend for herself against a bully with his own agenda is disrace ,there only interested in keeping there feet under the table long enough to collect there huge pensions ,the politicions in this country are only interested in there friends ,they dont care about ordinary people ,James Reilly should not be minister for health and if he wont go he should be sacked ,but Enda wouldent have the stomach for that ……the only hope we have is if right thinking backbenchers of both parties rise up and say enough is enough ,if they break away now they have a chance of being re elected if they go along with the party line they will sink without trace ,grow a backbone ,dont let them drag the country into the dark ages ,dont fear the people they will respect you and reward you when the election comes round ,throw this shower out and defend your country ,we will be watching and waiting

• Bully may be incorrect but feathering their own nests while the ordinary person in this country continue to suffer after their continued mis-management is absolutely CORRECT…they are all the same.politicians in this country should be ashamed of themselves……

• A couple of points to consider.

Why did he decide on two centers so close together, is this the case in other parts of the country?

Why can he not explain the criteria for adding two centers to the list, regardless of there location.

The country acted against the crony-ism and very questionable behaviour of the last government, what does FG think will happen at the next election if O’Reilly does not clear this mess up.

At this point I can only assume that FG are following the same mantra that Mary Harney once verbalised. “The electorate have a short memory”. She was right, she was returned at the following election. But that was during the Boom. Labours’ focus on Governmental pensions rather than their promises will see them outed at the next election, but what other choices will we have. FF and FG seem to be the same party, with the same ethics and values as each other, just different faces…

• physician heal thyself!

• He’s right he’s not a bulky – he’s just another overfed, over paid politician who’s only interest is in feathering the nests of those cronies chip in to his electioneering expenses from time to time. As a GP, it’s hard to see how he will ever think of the public good first rather than his own lifestyle and wealth and that of his fellow GPs.

• The medication practice attracts bullies who crave power and money. O reilly fits that criteria to a tee. They get a rush out of picking on the vulnerable in our society.

• If the HSE thought that 2 more centres were needed in that area, surely they would have out them on their list. They didn’t and he stuck his big oar in to look after HIS constitutes, those who vote for him.

• mike 03/10/12 #

The HSE is ran by a bunch of overpaid, self interested and under skilled parasites who only got their current positions as a result of longevity of servitude and not on ability. Anyone who thinks that a list compiled by these people is infallible is deluded.

• Yeah! Sure ! Pull the other one Reilly ?!?!?

• Pull the other one, it plays Danny Boy…

I’m broadly supportive of the current government, though – as with any government – I don’t agree with every policy and even strongly disagree with some. But the continued support of this man as the evidence of his total uselessness at his job mounts up, makes both FG and Labour look terrible (more so, if anything, for Labour since this is exactly the sort of incompetence a junior coalition partner is SUPPOSED to be watchdog, not obedient poodle, over)

• FG/LAB = FF = SAME SHITE DIFFERENT DAY

• Right wing Facists are bullies, FG Blueshirt Dictators will get their kicking in the Elections along with Labour!

• To be replaced by???????

• There’ll be many independents elected, next time round. Don’t worry, there is alternatives and Once FG/FF/Labour/SF get throttled in an election. We’ll be making progress, time now for change!

• Who cares who they’re replaced by as long as those lying, stroke pulling, eu puppets are out!! I will relish in taking back my wasted vote, FG total let down & waste of space.

• ha, dream on…to grasp and hold power you will see a rainbow coalition…no doubt….FF/FG/LAB…any of them would get in to bed with either slut to get at the trough!!

• Hahaha, a government of independents. Thanks for the laugh. Maybe Mick Wallace as Minister for Finance (he’s good at cooking the books) and Michael Healy-Rae as Minister for Kerry (there’d be no strokes there I’m sure)?

Of course the ULA would possibly need to join as well to make up the numbers – if they could stop arguing between themselves! And SF could also join – Gerry Adams as Minister for Justice of course (though Justice for the Disappeared would be forgotten about).

@ Ryan: Voters give out about stroke politics, and yet reward it almost every time at the ballot box. See Lowry and Healy-Rae’s enduring support as an example.

• if a majority of independents took control and agreed to appoint a suitable person as prime minister, that person could appoint suitable people in positions as ministers. You don’t have to be elected to be appointed a minister, outsiders with suitable qualifications can be appointed. What is going on now, is jobs for the boys/girls!

• @ Stephen: Yes you do in fact have to be elected, unless you are a Senator. But there only can be a maximum of two Senators in Government. It is all explained in the Constitution:

“1° The Taoiseach, the Tánaiste and the member of the Government who is in charge of the Department of Finance must be members of Dáil Éireann.

2° The other members of the Government must be members of Dáil Éireann or Seanad Éireann, but not more than two may be members of Seanad Éireann.”

http://www.constitution.ie/reports/ConstitutionofIreland.pdf

I would love this to be amended by the Constitutional Convention, to allow more experts in Government.

• Reilly and co need to go they`ve broken countless election promises hid from debates wont answer simple realistic questions on any subject they are as far out of reality as were FF and have constantly failed the people in need, we need a NEW ELECTION……NOW

• A puppet.. Is’t he deputy leader ?If we want to scalp him we will have to scalp them all he will be replaced by another clone.

• Nothing wrong, LOL. That’s how caught up in their own bull shyte this current bunch are. They’ve lost the mandate of the people. Kenny said, we went mad during the boom, well if they don’t start fighting back for us soon he may find out what us going mad looks like!

• Haughey will ne’er be dead!!! Different coat, same size…..

• Primary health centres are being built so we can get some photos of TD cutting ribbons great for reelection
    What self employed doctors want to move into a health centre run by a hse managers ??

• physician heal thyself!

• More sweeping generalisations flash in the pan comments and pantmime politics to catch gaze of proliteriate. Obv the issues r now centre stage but at what price. A farce and circus. Romantic ireland led way to corrupt ireland enter over acting idiots who get zero done. Imao Could be off cntre!

• mike 03/10/12 #

We whined for years that our health ministers were too weak to take on and properly reform the HSE. we then at last get a tough health minister who won’t be pushed around and looks like he will make real changes and guess what.. We start whining that he is a bully.

• Mike we whined for years about dodgy deals and corrupt politicians and we were primised by this government those days were gone…as I have said on another story James Reilly has an easy way of sorting out this problem..all he has to do publish his criteria including the weights and figures he used..this should have been done straight away

• ‘Who can believe the Minister, when her own minster of state expresses concern?’ James Reilly to the then health minister Mary Harney back 2007.

• Mike, we are not complaining about a good effective politician doing the right thing. We are complaining about percieved stroke politics, which this politician accuses other politicians of and promised through his party that it is a thing of the past under this NEW broom. I am still waiting for them to make those difficult decisions that they claim they are making. Everything is so complex they say, so why not resign and let effective and intelligent tds take on these complex decisions sooner rather than later.

• “We whined for years that our health ministers were too weak to take on and properly reform the HSE.” Really? Harney CREATED the HSE. We had non-minister Coughlan for two months, and now we have Reilly. Exactly who are you talking about?

• Rosin Shortall (minutes before her resignation) went into James Reilly’s Ministerial office and told him that their relationship was dying and asked him what he was going to do: Reilly said he’d boil an egg in that case.

• Quick question to all those knocking OReillys decision. What two areas would you chose as more deserving than Swords & Balbriggan for Primary Care Centers and why? If you are going to argue against a decision at least offer an alternative. BTW Not an OReilly fan myself.

• The original 15 that would have numbered 21 to 35 on the list the HSE drew up? The list contained 200 possible sites that had being identified as priorities by HSE officials.

• I think that rather misses the point. I have no problem with those locations per se, and I’m not sure anybody else does. There may be excellent arguments for those locations. But if there are, then it’s up to O’Reilly to make them. He hasn’t and, indeed, refuses to. If a due and diligent process found these locations as the best ones, then that would be fine, them being selected for O’Reilly’s personal political gain isn’t it.

And I think most people see this as another straw on this particular camel’s back more than anything. By itself, buttering up one’s own constituents is on the minor end of the scale. So is not being able to work well with colleagues, so is not being able to manage the department budget, so is not paying his debts.

But those straws add up, and the question becomes how many minor scandals can the *one* minister generate and still be a credible holder of their job?

• So Kerry & Peter. That would be a big fat NO then. Well at least you replied and disscussion is how democracy works. The 16 people who red thumbed a simple question confuse me, maybe they are against discussion or questions, our way or no way is it? This country is screwed for want of decent leadership, to elect leaders you need to be aware of the issues. It seems from the lack of answers that the people complaining on here are totally unaware of the facts surrounding this issue.

• Bit confused Dave. I answered you there was a list of 200 sites drawn up I said the original sites numbered 21 to 35 should have been used not the ones Reilly decided to add.

• Which 2 on the list Kerry and Why. Dont think I missed anything but will be delighted if you prove me wrong.

• Dave Kavanagh, the point is not which ones would be alternatives, but why this minister changed the list and the criteria. After all shouldn’t he have cautioned the junior minister a long time ago if he was so deeply involved in and so well aware of the needs of the country. I wonder what influence the nama decision about this particular property had in this particular constitutency. That property couldn’t have been used without the nama decision. It smells of stroke politics of the haughey/healy rea era.

Add New Comment