You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED

As it happened: Biden ends busy day, including Oireachtas address, with Dublin Castle banquet

The US President brought a busy day of engagements to a close with a banquet in Dublin Castle.

A BUSY DAY of engagements in the capital for US President Joe Biden ended with a banquet in Dublin Castle.

Prior to the banquet, Biden addressed the Joint Houses of the Oireachtas, becoming only the fourth US president to do so.

This followed meetings with President Michael D Higgins at Áras an Uachtaráin and visited the Taoiseach at Farmleigh House earlier in the afternoon.

Biden’s visit to Ireland will take him to Co Mayo tomorrow. 

Good morning, Hayley Halpin here. 

Welcome to our liveblog on the second full day of US President Joe Biden’s official visit to Ireland. 

We’ll bring you all the latest on his visit throughout the day. 

So, to kick things off, let’s take a look at what Biden is getting up to today. 

At 11am, Biden will meet with President Michael D. Higgins at Áras an Uachtaráin, where the US president will participate in a tree-planting ceremony and ring the Peace Bell.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar will also meet with Biden at lunchtime at Farmleigh House in Phoenix Park. After, the President will attend a youth Gaelic sports demonstration.

Biden will deliver an address to the Oireachtas just before 4pm today.

Following his address at Leinster House, Biden will attend a banquet dinner at Dublin Castle.

A quick recap on what Biden got up to yesterday…

Biden arrived in the Republic yesterday afternoon after beginning his day in Belfast with a sit down meeting with British Prime Minister Rishi Sunak.

He also gave a speech at the new Ulster University campus, before flying into Dublin.

us-president-joe-biden-delivers-his-keynote-speech-at-ulster-university-in-belfast-during-his-visit-to-the-island-of-ireland-picture-date-wednesday-april-12-2023 US President Joe Biden delivering his keynote speech at Ulster University in Belfast Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Biden stopped at an airport fire station just off the tarmac, where he delivered brief remarks to a crowd of about 250 US embassy officials and their young children.

After leaving Dublin Airport, Biden made his way to Dundalk and Carlingford, where he braved the Irish weather and met with locals.

“Feels like home,” Biden said as he entered the Windsor bar in Dundalk yesterday evening.

handout-photo-issued-by-government-of-ireland-of-us-president-joe-biden-right-at-the-windsor-with-tanaiste-michael-martin-in-dundalk-co-louth-during-his-trip-to-the-island-of-ireland-picture-date US President Joe Biden at The Windsor with Tanaiste Michael Martin in Dundalk, Co Louth Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

While speaking to the crowd in the bar, Biden also appeared to confuse the name of the New Zealand All Blacks rugby team with a contentious War of Independence-era police force in Ireland, the ‘Black and Tans’, during a speech in Co Louth.

The US president also paid tribute to the people of Dundalk and the County of Louth – and commented how Carlingford Castle was likely the last sight of the locality as his family fled the Famine and emigrated to the US.

Biden’s great-grandfather, James Finnegan, emigrated from Louth as a child in 1850.

Screenshot 2023-04-13 095643 US National Security Council Senior Director for Europe Amanda Sloat Screengrab / YouTube Screengrab / YouTube / YouTube

US National Security Council Senior Director for Europe Amanda Sloat spoke with travelling US media this morning about Joe Biden’s trip so far.

She said that his message to both President Michael D Higgins and Taoiseach Leo Varadkar was likely to be around “strengthening bonds” between Ireland and the US.

Sloat added that the war in Ukraine was also likely to be high on the agenda today, given Ireland’s support for the country since the invasion began.

Asked about a reference to the contribution of Ulster Scots to the development of the US in Mr Biden’s Ulster University speech, Sloat said the president had spoken about this before.

Asked if it was a response to an allegation that Biden was “anti-British”, Sloat said: “We were coming with an even-handed and balanced message.

“If you look at the president’s own track record, he has a history of engaging with unionist and nationalist leaders, British and Irish leaders.

“So I think that’s what the president’s track record and remarks in his speech reflected.”

While there has been a mostly positive reaction to Biden’s visit, it has drawn some criticism.

People Before Profit in particular have stated their opposition to Biden’s arrival in Ireland, with protests planned along with a boycott of the US President’s address to the Oireachtas.

Asked about the party’s planned boycott of Biden’s speech, Sloat said the US President is looking forward to meeting the leaders of the main political parties in Ireland.

“He has received an incredibly warm welcome here in Ireland,” she said. 

“He is very much appreciative of the invitation to address the houses of parliament today.”

She said it was a “historic opportunity” for Biden to set out his views to the Irish people.

Our reporter Lauren Boland is at Áras an Uachtaráin ahead of Biden’s meeting with President Higgins. 

While speaking to the crowd in the Windsor bar in Co Louth yesterday evening, Biden appeared to confuse the name of the New Zealand All Blacks rugby team with a contentious War of Independence-era police force in Ireland, the ‘Black and Tans’.

The White House has this morning played down his remarks. 

NSC senior director for Europe Amanda Sloat said it was “very clear” to Irish rugby fans that Biden was referring to the New Zealand rugby team the All Blacks when he made a mistaken reference to “the Black and Tans”.

Asked if he realised his mistake, Sloat said: “It was clear what the president was referring to, it was certainly clear to his cousins setting next to him.”

Biden was standing near former Irish rugby international and his distant relative Rob Kearney, who had played in the rugby union match being discussed.

The White House has also corrected Biden’s reference yesterday in an official transcript. 

Lord Mayor of Dublin Caroline Conroy has told Sky News that “it’s great” that Biden is visiting Ireland.

“We’re here to welcome him home to Ireland.” 

US National Security Council senior director for Europe Amanda Sloat told reporters earlier that Biden was not “kept away” from people in Northern Ireland, adding that it was a “briefer stop” than his visit to the Republic of Ireland.

“The president had the opportunity to engage with the leaders of the parties ahead of the speech and others.

“I can say, as one who sat in the motorcade for about an hour before we left after the speech, the president was on the rope line in Belfast for I think almost an hour, engaging with virtually everybody, it seemed, that was sitting there.”

She said a “broad cross-section of people” had been invited to that event.

“The president really enjoyed his time in Belfast.”

Traffic disruption

Biden has a busy day with numerous engagements in Dublin. 

Because of that, road closures in and around Dublin, and in particular, Leinster House, will be disruptive. 

The Phoenix Park will be closed to the public until 5pm today as a security measure for the visit.

Earlsfort Terrace remains closed to traffic until Saturday, while road closures in the following areas will remain in place until this evening:

• Kildare Street
  • Molesworth St
  • Merrion Street
  • Merrion St Upper
  • Fitzwilliam Lane
  • School House Lane
  • Merrion Sq West
  • Merrion Sq South

Ship Street, Castle Street and Palace Street will also be closed from 8am this morning. 

Members of the public travelling in the affected areas are being asked by An Garda Síochána to plan their journeys to ensure they leave enough time for possible traffic disruptions and to expect some localised delays. 

Our political reporter Tadgh McNally was on the scene in Dundalk yesterday for Biden’s visit. 

Here’s a look at the Irish and American delegations for the Áras visit today: 

I’m heading for a break now – my colleague Niall O’Connor will keep you up to date with the developments over the next hour. 

Good morning all, good timing for your eleven break time. The Irish army military guard of honour drawn from the 27th Infantry Battalion has just been called to attention. 

The people of Louth will be jealous of today’s conditions as the Áras an Uachtárain is bathed in bright sunshine.

I’ll be bringing you updates while Hayley is away. Our colleague Lauren Boland is in the Áras and she will be feeding in information here. Biden is due at 11.15am.

Captain Michael Crawley is in charge of the Guard of Honour who are all based in Dundalk. 

The 2 Cavalry Squadron are providing the motorcycle escort. Information is that President Biden is due to leave his hotel shortly to make the short trek towards the Phoenix Park. 

The White House press office has just said the cavalcade has left the Conrad Hotel and is en route.

The garda helicopter has arrived over the Phoenix Park – advance motorbikes have also arrived in the area.

Keep your eyes out for a sight of the Joe Show if you are out and about in Dublin 8.

The Cavalcade has just turned off Conyngham Road and is now into the Phoenix Park en route to the Áras. 

The Secret Service have arrived at the door and Captain Michael Crawley has shouted the order: “Gárda onóra, aire”.

The vehicles stopped briefly to let the Secret Service and handlers out but he is now pulling up at the door of Áras.

Thanks, Naill. Hayley Halpin back here. 

US President Joe Biden has just arrived at Áras an Uachtaráin in the motorcade. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 120305 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

It seems as though Biden is still in the Beast while members of his delegation make their way towards the Áras building. 

You can watch the events as they unfold at the Áras here: 

The motorcade has pulled in at the front of the Áras and President Higgins is on the steps, ready to greet Biden. 

Biden has been greeted by President Higgins and his wife Sabina. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 121008 Screengrab / SkyNews Screengrab / SkyNews / SkyNews

Elsewhere in the Phoenix Park, the media is gathering outside Farmleigh House where Biden is expected at around 1pm. 

There were cheers from onlookers at Biden’s motorcade entered the Phoenix Park.

This is Biden’s third visit to the Áras, but his first as president.

He has been taken to the drawing room to meet Tánaiste Micháal Martin and Ireland’s first female secretary-general to the president, Orla O’Hanrahan.

Biden has just signed the visitor’s book at the Áras.

Screenshot 2023-04-13 121722 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

Screenshot 2023-04-13 122131 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

A pause for a quick photo.

Our reporter Lauren Boland was in the room when Biden signed the visitor’s book. 

US President Joe Biden is now walking through the Defence Forces troops outside the Áras. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 123112 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

As is the case whenever the US President travels on official duty, a pool of dedicated US reporters is on hand to file detail on his every move – including, if appropriate, what he’s wearing, who he’s travelling with and what the weather is like. 

We’ve signed up to these pool reports, which are sent out via the White House press office. Here’s the latest version: 

“The pool pulled up at the Irish president’s residence at 11:58 am IST. The president’s motorcade drove through the heart of downtown Dublin to get there.

“Citizens flanked both sides of the street for most of the drive, taking videos and photos with their cameras and waving at the president.

“Some spectators held American flags, several homemade, including a group of young preschool age children.

“Many cheered as POTUS drove by, appearing excited by his visit. As we got near the residence, one man was holding a piece of paper that said ‘Arrest Biden’.

“I didn’t spot other signs along the journey, but there were many spectators, so I’m sure I missed someone.

“The residence includes massive grounds that we drove up filled with trees and open grass. It appeared there were animals, perhaps deer, in the distance. It’s an absolute gorgeous day here after yesterday’s rain and wind.” 

Biden is introducing President Higgins to members of the American delegation now outside the Áras. 

President Higgins and President Biden, along with the Irish and US delegations, have made their way back into the Áras and are heading to the garden behind the residence. 

An update from Lauren Boland at the Áras: 

Members of the Defence Forces have arrived at Farmleigh House ahead of Biden’s arrival. 

Biden is outside in the garden at the Áras where he will participate in a tree-planting ceremony and ring the Peace Bell.

Biden is trying to get Misneach the doggo to come over and say hello. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 131257 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

President Biden, President Higgins and Sabina Higgins making their way to plant the tree. 

Here’s Biden planting the tree. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 131420 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

The US President has just rung the Peace Bell. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 131509 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

If you missed it, here’s Biden planting the tree in the Áras garden: 

And here’s the US President ringing the Peace Bell:

Fianna Fáil Senator Shane Cassells has chosen some, ehm, interesting socks for the day that’s in it. 

Biden stopped to speak to reporters after a tree-planting ceremony at the Áras.

He said it feels great to visit Ireland as he reflected on the importance of the Good Friday Agreement.

He also re-iterated his hope that powersharing will be restored.

“I hope that the government begins to function as it used to in terms of functioning as a representative body in the north.

“I think that’s necessary and that’s for you all decide, not for me to decide.

“I’m very proud of my colleague George Mitchell. He did a fine job. He said 300 days of failure, one day of success. We have got to build on that one day.

“I’m feeling great and learned a lot,” he said.

Asked how it feels to be “home”, Biden said: “It feels great, I know it sounds silly.”

He went on to reflect on the experience of Irish-Americans, reflecting on the geographical similarities between the Boyne Valley in the east of Ireland and Pennsylvania.

Screenshot 2023-04-13 133841 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

US President Joe Biden has departed the Áras and will now make his way to Farmleigh House. 

Just a quick reminder of the road closures around Dublin today. 

The Phoenix Park will be closed to the public until 5pm today as a security measure for the visit.

Earlsfort Terrace remains closed to traffic until Saturday, while road closures in the following areas will remain in place until this evening:

• Kildare Street
  • Molesworth St
  • Merrion Street
  • Merrion St Upper
  • Fitzwilliam Lane
  • School House Lane
  • Merrion Sq West
  • Merrion Sq South

Ship Street, Castle Street and Palace Street will also be closed from 8am this morning. 

Members of the public travelling in the affected areas are being asked by An Garda Síochána to plan their journeys to ensure they leave enough time for possible traffic disruptions and to expect some localised delays. 

US President Joe Biden has arrived at Farmleigh House and has been greeted by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 135709 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

Our political reporter Tadgh McNally is at Farmleigh House:

“Beautiful day,”Biden said as himself and Varadkar shared a joke while shaking hands in front of a number of cameras outside Farmleigh House. 

Irish and US flags were positioned side by side next to the carpet, with a bed of purple flowers situated in front of them.

Biden tells Varadkar: “I think our values are the same and I think our concerns are the same.”

Varadkar says he appreciates America’s efforts in securing peace in Ireland and responding to the war in Ukraine.

A few snaps of Biden’s visit to Áras an Uachtaráin:

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN ARAS JB2 Julien Behal Julien Behal

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN ARAS JB1 Julien Behal Julien Behal

Aras Biden Visit 07 Julien Behal Julien Behal

Aras Biden Visit 03 Julien Behal Julien Behal

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN ARAS JB4 Julien Behal Julien Behal

Biden and Varadkar are now holding a bilateral meeting in Farmleigh House. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 142916 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

A bit more on what Varadkar and Biden spoke about infront of the press at Farmleigh before their private meeting..

Varadkar told the US President: “It is wonderful to have you back in Ireland and I think the visit has been going extremely well, you very much grace us with your presence and I look forward to the meeting later on.”

Biden told Varadkar it had been great to see him in Washington last month, and said: “I think there really is an opportunity to make serious progress, not just because of the accord that was signed 25 years ago, but in terms of the way Ireland is moving, the way it is taking its place in the world, working on helping countries around the world that are dealing with starvation, the way you’ve welcomed – I know it’s not easy – welcomed Ukrainians here and the leadership you’ve shown.

“I just think it feels so good to be able to have this stronger and stronger relationship between the United States and Ireland, I think our values are the same, and I think our concerns are the same, so I’m really looking forward to continuing to work with you.”

The White House has published its transcript of remarks made during Biden’s signing of the visitor’s book at Áras an Uachtarán. 

Some of it makes for amusing reading. 

image (1)

Here’s what Biden had to say when a reporter asked him what he thinks his quintessentially Irish characteristics are..

Screenshot 2023-04-13 143621

During their chat in front of the media at Farmleigh, Biden and Varadkar praised each other’s leadership in relation to the Ukraine war.

“Ireland is moving in the way, it’s taking its place in the world, it’s working on helping countries around the world that are dealing with starvation, the way you’ve welcomed – I know it’s not easy – welcomed Ukrainians here and the leadership you’ve shown,” Biden said.

Varadkar said US leadership on Ukraine was helping to protect democracy in Ireland and in Europe.

“I really want to thank you and your administration and your country’s leadership when it comes to Ukraine, because I never thought in my lifetime that we’d see a war of this nature happen in Europe again,” he said.

“Democracy and liberty and the things that we believe are in retreat in large parts of the world. If it wasn’t for American leadership, and if it wasn’t for America and Europe working together, I don’t know what kind of world we live in.

“So we really do appreciate your leadership and your personal leadership, both in terms of security and peace in Ireland, but also in trying to protect democracy and liberty here in Europe.”

Our Political Correspondent Christina Finn is at Leinster House ahead of Biden’s speech to the Houses of the Oireachtas.

She reports that security is very tight in the building. 

Our reporter Lauren Boland is back in the media centre at Dublin Castle after covering the visit to Áras an Uachtaráin. Here’s her wrap-up of the morning:

IMG_5313

US President Joe Biden got an impromptu Irish lesson this morning when President Michael D Higgins translated the message he wrote in Áras an Uachtaráin’s visitor book on the fly. Never one to miss an opportunity to mention his Irish ancestry, the American president spent a solemn two minutes inscribing his message in the book, paying homage to his Irish roots and leading with: “Your feet will bring you where your heart is.”

President Higgins was quick to translate the phrase into Irish for him as the two shook hands.

By that point, there was something of a sigh of relief from the journalists in the room who had been stood waiting in the state reception room for two hours, including an hour-long delay. (The Irish journalists, that is, who had to be at Dublin Castle by 8am for security screening before being bussed down to Phoenix Park – the American journalists arrived about five minutes before Biden.)

P1040239 Lauren Boland / The Journal Lauren Boland / The Journal / The Journal

After the signing of the visitors’ book, it was out to the front garden for the Irish and US national anthems to be played and an inspection of the Guard of Honour. Media were herded around to the back of the Áras ahead of a tree-planting ceremony while the presidents disappeared inside again for a brief meeting – but the real business came when the pair joined forces to try to coax one of President Higgins’ famous dogs into public view. Misneach, just off to the side of the main pathway, stayed back while he was being beckoned, but came out for a peek once the presidents passed by.

P1040248 Lauren Boland / The Journal Lauren Boland / The Journal / The Journal

Shovel in hand, President Biden planted a tree for the garden and then rang the Peace Bell, dedicating one of the chimes of the peace bell to his Irish ancestors and another to… well, peace – something that was in the spirit of the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement that Biden’s visit was timed to coincide with, but which likely will not have impressed the protesters elsewhere in Dublin today who have been raising their discontent with the US’ oft-aggressive foreign policies.

After being slightly delayed due to a rain shower, Biden and Varadkar are now outside Farmleigh watching a camogie exhibition. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 150433 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

Biden’s first full day in Ireland yesterday was met with cold and wet conditions. 

Today has thankfully seen blue skies all morning and so far this afternoon. 

It’s starting to rain now though… 

That’s all from myself, Hayley Halpin, for today.

My colleague Diarmuid Pepper will keep you up to date over the next few hours. 

Hi all, Diarmuid Pepper here with you for the next few hours.

As was noted earlier, a pool of dedicated US reporters are on hand to provide minute details of Biden’s visit. 

They thought the camogie that Biden and Taoiseach Leo Varadkar enjoyed outside Farmleigh is very reminiscent of Lacrosse.

They also recount a very close call for Biden: “A sliotar wizzed right by Biden’s left shoulder, nearly striking the president.

“Biden started going after the ball, but a young girl ran by him and POTUS stopped chasing.”

Screenshot 2023-04-13 150433 Screengrab / Sky News Screengrab / Sky News / Sky News

Details of Biden’s meeting with President Higgins have been released. 

Higgins presented Biden with a gift of a vinyl copy of ‘Patrick Kavanagh: Almost Everything…’

Higgins also gave Biden signed copies of ‘Machnamh 100: Centenary Reflections volume 1’, which brings together the first three Machnamh 100 seminars, as well as a book of the President’s speeches delivered in 2016 as part of the centenary commemorations for the 1916 Rising.

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN ARAS JB9 Tony Gavin Tony Gavin

President Biden is now on his way to Leinster House for his address to the Joint Houses of the Oireachtas.

“What’s it like to be home?”

The White House has provided a transcript of Biden’s remarks after a tree planting and ringing of the Peace Bell.

biden remarks

biden 24 Sam Boal Sam Boal

Biden is due to arrive at Leinster House in about ten minutes, so before his arrival, we can take a look back at his meeting earlier with President Higgins.

Topics discussed included:

The need for continued work to build and strengthen the Peace Process in Northern Ireland.

The future of work – President Higgins spoke about Biden’s long-term support for collective bargaining and the right for trade unions to organise, including the importance of the green transition.

The importance of our shared responsibilities on global issues such as climate change, global food security and the need to prioritise implementation of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

President Higgins noted Biden’s strong support for same sex marriage and LGBTQ+ rights.

The latest situation with regards to the consequences of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the need to prevent escalation, and the future of the United Nations and global peace.

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN ARAS JB9 (1) Tony Gavin Tony Gavin

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar speaks to reporter earlier before departing for Leinster House to see Biden’s Joint address to the Oireachtas. 

Former Irish president Mary McAleese and ex-taoisigh Bertie Ahern and Enda Kenny are working the room near the busy Dáil chamber ahead of the historic address by US President Joe Biden.

Biden will be only the fourth US president to address both houses of the Oireachtas. 

Seats are filling up as anticipation builds for the speech.

Ahern was seen near fellow Good Friday Agreement negotiator and former Sinn Fein leader Gerry Adams.

Representing Northern Irish politicians were SDLP leader Colum Eastwood, Alliance chief Naomi Long and Sinn Fein’s Northern Ireland leader Michelle O’Neill.

The DUP’s Jeffrey Donaldson is not present. 

The chamber also welcomed the Ukrainian ambassador to Ireland Larysa Gerasko, while relatives of Biden including former Irish rugby international Rob Kearney watch from the public gallery.

Today’s schedule is running a bit behind time, and it’s now thought Biden will arrive at Leinster House at around 4.45pm. 

Some more people-watching in the Dáil, where the youngest person in attendance is the baby daughter of Labour senator Rebecca Moynihan.

Elsewhere in the chamber, GAA legend and pundit Joe Brolly had a photo taken with former president Mary McAleese.

Brolly is married to Laurita Blewitt, a Co Mayo native and distant cousin of Biden.

RTÉ’s Ryan Tubridy is also in attendance.

The infamous Beast gets a quick clean at Farmleigh House in the Phoenix Park Dublin.

Biden is due to arrive at Leinster House any minute now. 

047Biden Visit Day 2 Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

Per the White House press pool: “The president’s motorcade pulled out of the Chief of Mission Residence at 4:46pm.

“We are headed to the Leinster House where Biden will address the Irish parliament — the Houses of the Oireachtas.”

Some pictures from earlier today, one of which showing Biden holding a sliotar. 

There was a close call when a sliotar whizzed passed Biden’s head.

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN FARMLEIGH JB19

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN FARMLEIGH JB13 JULIEN BEHAL PHOTOGRAPHY JULIEN BEHAL PHOTOGRAPHY

Today is all about Dublin, but tomorrow attention will shift to Mayo.

Bus Éireann has advised customers travelling to and from Ballina to check service updates on their website and have advised that passengers can expect some delays and diversions, so it is important to plan your journey and allow additional time.

A picture of The Beast in transit from our very own Laura Byrne. 

Biden’s arrival to Leinster House is now imminent. 

1a696fff-3ea2-4b46-8703-e5bafa0ffc7a Laura Byrne / The Journal Laura Byrne / The Journal / The Journal

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar awaiting Biden’s arrival at Leinster House.

Not too long for him to wait now…

president-biden-visit-to-the-island-of-ireland PA PA

Joe Biden has now emerged from his motorcade and has greeted Ceann Comhairle Séan Ó Fearghaíl and Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, Senator Jerry Buttimer.

Biden is now in the Dáil Chamber and we will bring you the main parts of his address to the Oireachtas. 

As we await Biden’s address, here’s a flavour of what it is like to travel with Biden from our friends in the White House press pool:

“Spectators stood on both sides of the blocked off streets during the drive to the Leinster House.

“The crowds were very large, but I can’t guess a number. Some rows of people were eight or 10 people deep.

“An entire class of preschool kids sat on the steps of one row home, holding little American flags and waving.

“One young teenager boy held a homemade sign that read, ‘Love you Joe’.

“A young child, probably 7 or 8, was draped in a large American flag.

“There were a few protesters holding signs near the parliament building. One read, ‘Acts of War … US blows up pipeline.’”

The White House has also released a readout of Biden’s meeting with Taoiseach Leo Varadkar in the past few minutes. Here’s what the two leaders spoke about:

“The leaders underscored the strong and historic connections between our governments and peoples, including the robust trade and investment links.

“They discussed U.S.-Irish cooperation on a range of global issues, including food security, the challenges posed by the People’s Republic of China, and our continued support for Ukraine. 

“The leaders also marked the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement and reaffirmed their steadfast support for preserving and expanding its peace dividend.”

BIDEN VISIT TO IRELAND 2566 Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Biden’s address will take place shortly.

US secretary of state Anthony Blinken has arrived in the Dáil chamber, along with Ireland’s ambassador to the US, Geraldine Byrne Nason.

They sit among other guests including Marie Devlin, widow of Irish poet Seamus Heaney.

Joe Biden’s son Hunter and sister Valerie Biden Owens have also taken their seats.

Biden is now in Leinster House, but here is a picture of him upon his arrival with Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl, and Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, Jerry Buttimer. 

An exchange of gifts is taking place prior to Biden’s address.

Biden is presenting a Tiffany & Co. Round Pewter Tray with the Seal of the President of the United States to Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl.

Meanwhile, Ó Fearghaíl presents a signed book of poetry from Seamus Haney to Biden on behalf of the Oireachtas.

As we await Biden’s address, take a read from our political reporter Tadgh McNally who has been closely following Biden’s visit. 

Here, he recounts Biden’s departure from Áras an Uactharáin towards Farmleigh House, and onwards to Leinster House. 

“After what felt like an eternity waiting for US President Joe Biden to leave Áras an Uachtaráin to head towards Farmleigh House, the rumble of the Presidential motorcade was heard before it came into view.

“The Beast rolled up to the front door and Secret Service members stepped into view as Taoiseach Leo Varadkar walked out of Farmleigh House to greet the US President.

“After a quick chat at the doors, the two were swept inside Farmleigh House with Irish and US media following swiftly behind them.

“Remarking to the media swarmed in around them, Biden said that the relationship between Ireland and the US had been growing “stronger and stronger” in recent years.

“Shortly after, media were swept back out and into a holding area while Varadkar and Biden held a brief bilateral, discussing Northern Ireland, climate and the war in Ukraine.

“The media swarm was quickly brought around the back of the estate, where three teams of kids assembled to play exhibition matches of camogie and gaelic football for the President and Taoiseach.

“When the two eventually strolled out the back, the weather had begun to turn and there was a drop of rain as Biden and Varadkar approached the pitch.

“At one stage, there was a close call after a sliotar sailed over Biden’s left shoulder and into a bush.

“The President made a move to retrieve the sliotar, but was beaten to it by one of the camogie players.

“Not long after, Biden made his return indoors before quickly heading for the Beast while a brief bit of hail elicited groans from the gathered press.

“The hail didn’t last long and the President sped off to the US Embassy before making its way through Dublin City Centre to Leinster House for Biden’s historic address to the Oireachtas.”

20230413_152004 Our political reporter Tadgh McNally with The Beast. Tadgh McNally / The Journal Tadgh McNally / The Journal / The Journal

Biden is stood outside the Dáil Chamber as we await his historic address to the Oireachtas. 

Biden receives a standing ovation from the Dáil Chamber but the noise is pretty bad. 

Ceann Comhairle, Séan Ó Fearghaíl wonders if it is something to do with interference from mobile phone signal and jokes that Danny Healy Rae may be to blame.

Ceann Comhairle, Séan Ó Fearghaíl says that we have been looking forward to this visit since Biden’s election as the 46th President of the United States just over two years ago. 

“Today, you do us the honour of addressing our Joint Sitting,” said Ó Fearghaíl. “The fourth time the Houses have been addressed by a US president.

“Almost sixty years ago, on the 28th June 1963, in a very different world and a very different Ireland, the late President John F. Kennedy addressed the Houses and inspired our people.

“It is particularly fitting therefore that you should address us so close to that anniversary.”

Ó Fearghaíl introduces those gathered from Northern Ireland, and notes that Biden “would have liked to have been able to address” the Northern Assembly. 

The Ceann Comhairle welcomed a young attendee to today’s events – Senator Rebecca Moynihan’s new baby, Margo.

Screenshot 2023-04-13 at 17.45.30

The Ceann Comhairle jokes that Biden “sure can draw a crowd”.

“Perhaps afterwards you might give me some hints on how to ensure such a good attendance around here on Thursday afternoons!”

Screenshot 2023-04-13 at 17.45.46

“The Ireland you are visiting this week is a multicultural, progressive nation benefitting enormously from an inflow of immigrants who have arrived on our shores from across the world,” says Ó Fearghaíl.

“They enrich our society and help us grow our economy, just like the Irish did in the United States in years gone by.

“They also challenge all of us to be better then we are and better than we think we can be.”

The Ceann Comhairle continues:”Mr President, two years ago on a cold January day in Washington DC, you spoke of the importance of unity and hope. As we gather in this Easter week, we recognise that the world is in need of hope. 

“Hope for those affected by war, hope for those suffering from hunger and hope in the face of the existential threat of climate change. 

“On this island your visit to Northern Ireland is an important statement of hope and support for building a better and continued peaceful and prosperous future for all.

“We thank you for your unstinting and constructive support for the Good Friday Agreement over the last 25 years and for your continued close engagement which you demonstrated so powerfully this week.”

Screenshot 2023-04-13 at 17.46.31

Biden now getting up to speak, after the Ceann Comhairle says: “To quote the memorable words of the iconic Seamus Heaney, you challenge us to believe that the “farther shore is reachable.

“I invite you now to address these Houses.”

“You knew I’d be coming,” says Biden.

“It is so good to be back in Ireland. I’m home. I only wish I could stay longer”

Biden says he has a part of Ireland with him always in the Oval Office, and notes that he has a signed rugby ball from the Irish rugby squad from the time they beat the “ALL BLACKS”.

The remark draws laughs, as it’s a reference to him addressing the All Blacks as the Black and Tans in a speech at The Windsor in Dundalk yesterday. 

Screenshot 2023-04-13 at 17.57.12

Biden speaks of Irish immigrants who have come to America over the years. 

“The journeys of our ancestors expanded our horizons. They became the backbone of America even as they endured discrimination.”

“The United States was shaped by Ireland,” says Biden.

“That’s not hyperbole, that’s a fact.”

“Name another country that uses the word dignity as much as the Irish use the word dignity,” says Biden.

“It matters. Everybody matters.”

Biden notes Ireland’s assistance in combatting the Russian invasion of Ukraine and draws applause from the Dáil Chamber.

“Ireland is not neutral between liberty and tyranny, and it never will be,” says Biden. 

Biden says Putin was wrong to think the West would become disunited over the war in Ukraine. 

Biden also thanks Ireland for its leadership of the UN Security Council and notes Ireland’s deployment in UN peace keeping missions.

“Ireland remembers what it means to have to flee home, leaving everything behind and to begin again on foreign shores.”

Biden remarks on the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement. 

“Yesterday I was in Belfast to honour those who commit themselves to peace.”

Biden says some American corporations are hesistant to deal in the North because political institutions are not operating. 

“The United Kingdom should be working closer with Ireland. Political violence must never be allowed to take hold again,” says Biden. 

“The United States will be your closest partner, your most dependable partner, and your most enthusiastic supporter every step of the way,” says Biden. 

Biden says we “don’t have a lot of time” left to deal with the impacts of climate change. 

Says Ireland’s “famous fields of green are being supplemented by green energy”. 

Biden is now recounting the story behind his decision to run for president in 2020. 

“Our world stands at an inflection point, where the choices we make today will determine the future.”

“At this moment, the world needs Ireland and the United States and our limitless imaginations.”

Biden recounts telling Xi Jinping that America can be summed up in one word: “Possibility”.

He says this can be applied to Ireland too. 

“Let’s set our eyes squarely on the future, let’s harness what’s best in us.

“Our courage, creativity, loyality, tenacity.

“Let’s strive to make hope and history rhyme.”

Biden notes his age but says that with it “comes a little bit of wisdom”. 

“I come to the job with more experience than any orhter president in American history. It doesn’t make me better or worse.”

“We can do so much, we can. No matter what party we belong to, our values are the same.

“It’s about honesty, dignity, justice, and you have every ingredient to make it work.”

And with thatm, Biden closes his address. 

Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, Jerry Buttimer, now delivering closing remarks. 

“It is obvious that you have a genuine, personal pride in your Irish ancestry.

“Today, I think of the wider Irish diaspora in America who share that same pride.

“Your presence in this chamber acknowledges the story of emigration as the shared story of our two nations.”

Buttimer says he hopes the undocumented Irish can be looked after during his term in office.

Buttimer continues: “This week we turn another page of history together by commemorating the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement.

“We welcome your visit as a reminder of the role the United States played – and continues to play – as a broker of peace.

“Too many of us still remember the terrible violence that devastated our communities for decades.

“We must persist in our work of peace and reconciliation to ensure the positive legacy of the Good Friday Agreement can be fully realised.”

“On a personal level, I want to thank you for being one of the first leaders to publicly support marriage equality.

“In your infamour ‘Meet the Press’ interview in 2012, you reframed the debate as a simple proposition: Who do you love, and will you be loyal to the person you love?

“With this statement, you held aloft your respect for diversity, and others followed.

“This was truly a transformative moment that changed the political narrative around marriage equality.

“Because of you and the generousity of the Irish people, I can wear this wedding ring as a symbol of my love for my husband, who is here today.”

“There is an old Irish proverb ‘Anáil na beatha an t-athrú’ or ‘Change is the breath of life’. 

“Looking ahead, we know that change will be constant. And we will embrace that and keep our positivity.

“We will continue to value and strengthen our special relationship with the United States as we work together on shared global challenges.

“President Biden, I hope that you and your family enjoy your visit to Ireland, your ancestral home.”

And with that, Buttimer brings his closing remarks to an end, as the Dáil adjourns. 

Biden now sharing words with Mary McAleese, Enda Kenny, Bertie Ahern, and Gerry Adams. 

Biden now departing from Leinster House and is greeted at the bottom of the stairs by baby Margo!

Biden is now heading to Dublin Castle for a banquet hosted by Taoiseach Leo Varadkar.

Our reporter Lauren Boland will be there to report.

Here’s a picture of Biden holding Senator Rebecca Moynihan’s daughter Margot

The Dublin Castle banquet was due to be starting around now, but with the delayed start to his Oireachtas address things are running behind schedule.

Here’s the latest from our man in the press pool…

“The pool and the motorcade took a very short ride back to the Conrad Hotel, arriving at 6:55 pm.

“Citizens, again, were packed on downtown streets to watch the president drive by. One teenage boy held an Ireland license plate that read ‘Biden.’

“President Biden entered the hotel and the pool stayed in vans. We are waiting outside while he’s on the hotel. Then, we are going to the banquet.

“Your pooler didn’t lay eyes on Biden entering the hotel.”

Some photos from Lauren, who’s at Dublin Castle – rolling out the red carpet for Biden (at golden hour, no less)

IMG_5578

IMG_5584

IMG_5577 Lauren Boland / The Journal Lauren Boland / The Journal / The Journal

The menu for the evening is “a seafood starter with Lambay Island crab cake, a roast lamb main course and pear and maple tart for dessert”.

Biden has enjoyed a cosy reception everywhere he has visited, but some TDs were absent from his address to the Oireachtas.

One of these TD’s were People Before Profit’s Paul Murphy:

Other politicians have been more effusive in their praise however.

Here’s Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald sharing her snap with the president:

Meanwhile, Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien called Biden’s address “one for the books”.

Elsewhere, Culture Minister Catherine Martin said is was “very moving hearing of his deep love for Ireland and his Irish roots”. 

Some of the inner mechanisms of policing a US presidential visit can be seen here:

And a photo from our reporter Lauren Boland, who is at Dublin Castle, of a helicopter circling overhead, also pointing to the logistics involved in such a gathering.

IMG_5617 Lauren Boland / The Journal Lauren Boland / The Journal / The Journal

Thoughts and prayers go to the catering team at Dublin Castle, where Biden is currently running 90 minutes late…

The Beast is outside Dublin Castle and Biden’s arrival is now imminent. 

Biden greets Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, and both men enter Dublin Castle together and the banquet can get underway soon. 

Stephen Kenny, the manager of the Ireland’s men soccer team, among those gathered in Dublin Castle. 

Some of the great and the good who are gathered in Dublin Castle.

IMG_5673 Lauren Boland / The Journal Lauren Boland / The Journal / The Journal

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar is now leading Joe Biden into the room.

Here’s a video from inside the room, courtesy of our reporter Lauren Boland.

“Our countries share a similar past and philosophy. We are joined by bonds of kinship, as well as friendship,” Varadkar says before the banquet at Dublin Castle.

Varadkar calls the war in Ukraine an “attack on the international community, and therefore an attack on us all”.

He thanks Biden for his leadership over the war in Ukraine, and says Ireland stands shoulder to shoulder with the States for as long as it takes. 

Varadkar now says 25 years ago, referencing the Good Friday Agreement, that “America helped make that peace possible”. 

He adds that Biden has made an enormous difference and thanks him for this. 

“Your country and your politicians from across the aisle helped protect that eace in the years since and for that we are eternally grateful.”

“Our mission now must be to keep the promise of 25 years ago and to honour the sacrifices that have been made by so many from across all communities in Northern Ireland and beyond,” says Varadkar. 

Varadkar thanks Biden for “spending so much of your precious times on our beautiful island”.

He now welcomes Biden to make an address.

“Growing up, my Grandpa Finnegan used to say, ‘if you’re lucky enough to be Irish, you’re lucky enough,” says Biden. 

“Every corner of the United States is loaded with Irishmen who would be delighted to be here,” says Biden. 

He now thanks Marie Heaney for her attendance and says a lifelong regret is that he missed out on meeting Seamus Heaney due to a vote that was taking place at the time. 

“The word ‘dignity’ seems to be used more than the Irish than any other word. It’s always about the march toward a better future,” says Biden.

“Our mother used to say, ‘Joey, remember, no one in the world is better than you, but everyone is your equal.”

He then recounts how he overcame a severe stammer with the help of his late mother. 

Biden talks about the idea of standing at an “inflection point”, an idea he spoke about in the Dáil.

“We have an opportunity to make things better or lay back. Let’s resolve to march onward with each other, and seek a better future.

“So let’s renew our commitment to defending all the values we stand for. 

“And let’s remember, there’s no barriers too thick or too strong for Ireland or the United States of America.

“I mean this from the bottom of my heart, there is nothing our nation’s can’t achieve if we do it together. I really mean it. So thank you all, and God bless you all. Let’s get it done.”

And with that. Biden wraps up his address prior to the banquet in Dublin Castle.

It was an action packed day for Biden.

He met with President Michael D Higgins at Áras an Uachtaráin, then visited the Taoiseach at Farmleigh House.

He then addressed the Joint Houses of the Oireachtas, becoming only the fourth US president to do so.

He finally wrapped up the day with a banquet in Dublin Castle, where he called on both Ireland and the United States to “renew our commitment to defending all the values we stand for”.

Now, attention turns to Co Mayo and in particular to Ballina, where Biden will deliver a speech at the town’s cathedral tomorrow evening.

Bus Eireann has advised customers travelling to and from Ballina to check service updates on their website and warn that passengers can expect some delays and diversions, so it is important to plan your journey and allow additional time.

There will also be a number of road closures in Castlebar and Ballina to facilitate the visit. 

Tomorrow, Biden will visit the Knock Shrine and the North Mayo Heritage and Genealogical Centre’s family history research unit, before going on to Ballina.

From there, it will be time for Biden to depart his home from home. 

See you again tomorrow morning for the final day of Biden’s visit to Ireland. 

One final post before we leave for you this evening, with this photograph of Biden with the Cabinet. 

NO FEE DFA POTUS IRISH VISIT DUBLIN CASTLE JB1 Biden at Dublin Castle with the Irish Government Cabinet posing for an official photograph. JULIEN BEHAL PHOTOGRAPHY JULIEN BEHAL PHOTOGRAPHY