Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

‘Many-body problem’ simulation wins Young Scientist crown

Mark Kelly and Eric Doyle from Synge Street CBS celebrate their victory.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A PROJECT simulating how objects respond to gravity in certain environments – and making it easier to send objects through outer space – has won the top prize at this year’s BT Young Scientist and Technology Exhibition.

‘Simulation Accuracy In The Gravitational Many-Body Problem’ was the entry of Eric Doyle and Mark Kelly from Synge Street CBS, Dublin.

Their project saw them define new algorithms (a series of mathematical ‘steps’) which predict how bodies move in certain scenarios, such as when gravity is not present.

Their work may allow astronomers and physicists to come up with more accurate predictions of how man-made objects like satellites travel through space.

The ‘gravitational many-body problem’ is the name given to the study of how bodies interact with each other through gravity.

The boys share a cheque for €5,000 and a Waterford Crystal trophy, as well as the chance to represent Ireland at the 24th EU Young Scientist competition later this year.

The boys have also been given tickets to the London 2012 Olympic Games to mark their achievements.

The group runner-up award went to Balbriggan pair Deirdre Harford and Colleen Kelly, from Loreto Secondary School, who had examined whether genetics could be exploited to breed potatoes which resist drought.

Best individual award went to Eoin Farrell from St Eunan’s College, Donegal, who researched the reliability of methods for estimating the weight of children in the field of paediatric resuscitation.

The runner-up in the individual category was Aoife Gregg from Loreto College on St Stephen’s Green, who studied the history of cryptography in the Irish language.

Gallery: Taoiseach opens this year’s Young Scientist Exhibition

Read: Dublin teen scoops top prize at EU Young Scientist competition

Read Next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• Gavin Gray 13/01/12 #
    Report this comment

If the government had any cop on they would invest in this and all the other great ideas on show at the young scientist comp. Great ideas and new inventions is what Ireland needs to become a tech leader in years to come. Well done to all who entered.

• Gavin McGuinness 14/01/12 #
      Report this comment

It takes a lot of dedication and hard work to stick with a topic for research purposes. They all did a great job and lets hope they have no problems finding jobs when the graduate from college in the distant future.
      Well done guys! and congratulations to the winners who, I am sure, will represent us tremendously at the next stages of this competition.

• Anne Whelan 13/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Your point being?

• Joan Featherstone 13/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Well done lads!

• Trad Musicman 13/01/12 #
    Report this comment

This story reminds me of another I read recently about a chemist student in Arizona.

HELL EXPLAINED BY A CHEMISTRY STUDENT

The following is an actual question given on a University of Arizona chemistry mid term, and an actual answer turned in by a student.

The answer by one student was so ‘profound’ that the professor shared it with colleagues, via the Internet, which is, of course, why we now have the pleasure of enjoying it as well :

Bonus Question: Is Hell exothermic (gives off heat) or endothermic (absorbs heat)?
    Most of the students wrote proofs of their beliefs using Boyle’s Law (gas cools when it expands and heats when it is compressed) or some variant.

One student, however, wrote the following:

First, we need to know how the mass of Hell is changing in time. So we need to know the rate at which souls are moving into Hell and the rate at which they are leaving, which is unlikely. I think that we can safely assume that once a soul gets to Hell, it will not leave. Therefore, no souls are leaving. As for how many souls are entering Hell, let’s look at the different religions that exist in the world today.

Most of these religions state that if you are not a member of their religion, you will go to Hell. Since there is more than one of these religions and since people do not belong to more than one religion, we can project that all souls go to Hell. With birth and death rates as they are, we can expect the number of souls in Hell to increase exponentially. Now, we look at the rate of change of the volume in Hell because Boyle’s Law states that in order for the temperature and pressure in Hell to stay the same, the volume of Hell has to expand proportionately as souls are added.
    This gives two possibilities:

1. If Hell is expanding at a slower rate than the rate at which souls enter Hell, then the temperature and pressure in Hell will increase until all Hell breaks loose.
    2. If Hell is expanding at a rate faster than the increase of souls in Hell, then the temperature and pressure will drop until Hell freezes over.

So which is it?

If we accept the postulate given to me by Teresa during my Freshman year that, ‘It will be a cold day in Hell before I sleep with you,’ and take into account the fact that I slept with her last night, then number two must be true, and thus I am sure that Hell is exothermic and has already frozen over. The corollary of this theory is that since Hell has frozen over, it follows that it is not accepting any more souls and is therefore, extinct….. …leaving only Heaven, thereby proving the existence of a divine being which explains why, last night, Teresa kept shouting ‘Oh my God.’

THIS STUDENT RECEIVED AN A+.

• Joan Featherstone 13/01/12 #
    Report this comment

@Trad
    I got bored reading this, cos I don’t think any of us are going anywhere, so it’s all theory! Hello furnace, but not just yet I hope.

• Report this comment

How are they so smart?! This stuff is so far off the curriculum… Amazing! Congrats to all involved, keep doing what you’re doing!

• Cossiemum 13/01/12 #
    Report this comment

That was brilliant. It made me laugh out loud.

• Anne Whelan 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Very funny. As for my first comment , totally lost in translation.

• Duewest 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

They should all be very proud of themselves. Great achievements!

• Gavin McGuinness 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Why do they continue to allow Waterford crystal to make the trophy for this competition. They have move most, if not all, of their production out of Ireland. We should give the prestigious honour to another crystal manufacturer who is holding out and continues to employ people in Ireland.

With that rant out of the way. Congratulations lads! I am sure you will do us all proud representing Ireland for next stages of this competition.

• Richard Carroll 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Fair dues to these young fellas, no doubtedly this will lead to bigger and better things for them in the future. Young people in Ireland get a raw deal sometimes, and these lads are a perfect example of why we should listen more to the views of our young people in this country.

• Auntie Dote 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

The young scientist competition is one of the best things that happens, and it is fantastic to see so many thoughtful young people making us so proud.

• glamviva 14/01/12 #
    Report this comment

Well done to these guys. The government and entrepreneurs of the country should be investing in the young people and their ideas.

Personally I think the guys who created the sanitizer for the toilet door handle that were on the late late show last night were true genius and the real winners for me. That is a fantastic idea and really wish someone would pick that idea up and run with it.

Add New Comment