TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Marian Finucane defends six-figure RTÉ salary

Broadcaster rejected criticism of her perceived working hours: “Would you say to the editor of the Sunday Times that he works one day a week?”

Broadcaster Marian Finucane.
Image: Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland

RTÉ BROADCASTER Marian Finucane has taken to the airwaves to defend her six-figure salary.

Finucane, who presents two two-hour weekend shows on RTÉ Radio One, spoke to Ray D’Arcy on Today FM yesterday morning to discuss the publication of a collection of interviews from her Saturday Interview programme between 2005 and 2011 before talk turned to her salary.

Finucane was the fourth-highest paid RTÉ radio presenter in 2009, earning €513,270.

Asked yesterday about her salary, she said she feels uncomfortable about the focus on her wages, but that “the world has transformed” and she has taken three pay cuts – “everything that was asked”.

“There’s been an understanding that that was then and this is now. That contract was negotiated really in the context of the fact that the weekend had worked out very well, if you know what I mean.”

She said she never threatened to leave RTÉ to increase her salary, although they would have known she gave it consideration at one time.

Questioned about her weekly working hours, Finucane said she works much more than people perceive, adding:

Would you say to the editor of the Sunday Times that he works one day a week?… You know as well as I know that the on-air time is the payback for the other work. And you do the work and then you get to go on air. And that’s as simple as that.

The Sunday Times editor Frank Fitzgibbon later responded to her comments on Twitter, saying: “Cheek. Other than a diary item in Atticus we ignored her extravagant pay package…”

In the latest JNLR listener figures released late last month, Finucane’s Saturday show lost over 60,000 listeners, falling to 335,000 from 403,000 last year. Her Sunday show fell from 365,000 listeners to 335,000, according to an Irish Times report.

Finucane’s colleague Joe Duffy also recently defended high wages among RTÉ’s top presenters. He said that although he had agreed to a further pay cut and said that changes had to be made within the organisation to keep it viable, he said the salaries had been agreed “fair and square” through negotiations with RTÉ.

The broadcaster’s director general Noel Curran said last month that some of RTÉ’s presenters could face a 30 per cent salary cut.

Speaking to D’Arcy about the interviews selected for the new book, Finucane said she chose Mary Coughlan’s interview over Brian Cowen’s partly because Coughlan had said much more than the former Taoiseach did. She also said that Cowen had gone into the interview with the attitude of the radio presenter being ‘the enemy of the people’, she said.

Finucane also said that she didn’t feel that you had to like the person being interviewed, and that she did not meet with the interviewees in advance of the programme because “the spontaneity” is better for listeners.

Read more: RTÉ’s top 10 earners revealed – altogether, they were paid €3.95m >

Read: “It’s not at all funny”: Peter Collins to pursue fake Twitter accounts >

Read next:

Comments (27 Comments)

• Big fish in a VERY small bowl! Like all RTE’s top earners, she’s not in touch with reality and hasn’t been for years, with their uber privileged life style. The poor and those working for minimum wage get everything cut back, and Marian defends her salary. The arrogance of these big fish is that they ACTUALLY believe they deserve their huge salaries…

• It sickens me when Marian touches on the economy and austerity when she represents a big part of the problem here. The way people get much more than they deserve compared to others is a cancer here. People paid out of the public purse should be paid close to averages not way ahead of them. No wonder people begrudge paying taxes.

• I can’t understand how the government financed RTE can allow most of it’s highest earners to avail of a tax avoidance loophole and cheat the country while taking home grossly indecent wages. This is beyond believe

• Even if she worked 24/7, being paid over 500k with a listenership of 335000 is fooking obscene!
    And people bang on about people on welfare having a sense of entitlement!

• At the end of the day it’s not her fault she get paid so much. If we were going into salary talks we’d all look for the best deal. It’s up to RTE to cut her wages.

• BJ 16/11/11 #

Yeah, but she betrayed common sense by trying to defend it! We have a tiny media community within this country and there is NO WAY any of these RTE personalities would receive the same remuneration if they had to compete in a competitive Market. If they were offered half of what they currently receive it’d still top the salary they’d be offered by the likes of TV3, Newstalk etc…

• She is grossly overpaid and refuses to accept this by comparing herself to the Sunday Times editor. Hers is a far lesser job and requires nothing like the time required to edit a newspaper. A four hour chat show round up of the weeks news for over 500k? She’s deluded and has compromised herself when government salaries etc are being discussed on her show.

• Quick question, in what other industries can you go to your boss and say, I don’t want to be a PAYE anymore can you pay my Limited Company instead and I’ll look after my own tax?

So did she really take a salary cut. Well her company (Montrose Services Ltd) was paid less by RTE and she had to then cut her own salary from her own company, or maybe she didn’t. 8 of 10 top earners at RTE aren’t employees of RTE.

• Salaries must be brought in line with the realities of today. Out with the old ways and bring in the New Irish Way !

• The breathtaking arrogance of the woman! The sense of entitlement! She doesn’t live in the real world so is unqualified to host a radio show which is supposed to be relevant to the ordinary person. Sack her!

• I think she is very overrated. Claire Byrne was far better when she stood in during the summer. Time for a shake-up.

• She gets paid more than someone running a bank is supposed to, she has some bleeding cheek!

• Time for the govt to stop propping up Rte, reduce the licence fee by half & make TG4 the national broadcaster , let the ‘ Stars ‘ of rte earn their true worth without the taxpayers input

• RTE management have failed for years to face down excessive costs. The very idea that a more or less permanent fixture can remain a contractor makes little commercial sense. How much preparation do her programmes require? Mostly it seems to consist of chatting with a few worthies about what someone wrote or did that week. Indeed, the format is so worn and familiar that once you know the weeks news you could have a good guess at the various professions that will be represented, and even put a name to a few such is the cliquish nature of the circles that have been cultivated as media commentators in Ireland.

• Rte went high to get her there. It’s then that are the muppets. Wasting our money. If someone gave me a big wage to do a job. The. Wanted pay cuts I’d complain. Rte are at fault here.

• Who here thinks they can live happily without RTE tv and radio?
    I know I can, I dont watch tv personaly but know that TV3 has better shows and doesnt require both ad and license fees to survive.
    I’d be just as happy to see its doors close before I have to pay for this, and the Gov’s new internet fee can also swing. Im not going to pay the Gov for using the internet. I pay my provider enough and of that theres VAT. Why should they get more from me when its put towards this shower of over paid tax dodging arsebags?
    They cant continue taxing us to fix thier sinking failures!. If it were a private company it would have been gutted and restructured but in Ireland everything contiunes on as normal and we are expected to cover the costs of their waste and ineptitude.
    Until people refuse to continue to prop up their faults they will contiune and not change anything, Strip them of this revenue and they will be forced to rethink its spending. Its money we worked for and could be better spent on food or other esential overpriced bills like petrol, gas, electricity or waste.

• The big salaries are to keep them inside the ascendancy tent so they always present the conservative and priveleged viewpoint on every issue. Its ideological right-wing insurance; cant have Dole-TV types upsetting the trough. Might lead to a sense of social solidarity or some other unclean disease..then what ??No-one to cheerlead for the joys of emigration while they swan off to the next freebie on your taxes.

• Pay her what she’s worth. Very simple really. If her show takes in the (advertising) money then it’s only right that she’s paid accordingly. Either that or someone else will, and then RTE will be left with sub standard presenters. Revenue will drop, listeners will drop, and then they’re really in trouble.

• That’s pretty much the size of it. Pay her what RTE feels her role is worth.
      Replacing her or losing her to competition may be more costly, or maybe not. But not too many are qualified to answer it.
      And no, I don’t listen to her. But my listenership wouldn’t be worth a great deal!

• RTE isn’t as simple as that, as RTE takes it on the double. Both reciving a direct tax from the Irish tax payer via the TV License and also receiving advert revenue. This skews competition in the Irish media and destroys advert revenue for TV3, and hence why we only have one competing channel.

The best way to reduce costs at RTE is to give them the choice between TV License fees or adverts, they shouldn’t be allowed to have both. The fact that RTE has lost money in recent years while taking it on the double is another example of a bloated quango in Ireland.

• That wage could be used to employ young journalist trying to break into the profession !
    She could re- direct some of it for that use ! So it is her fault , she is keeping it !!!

• Genuine question.
    Does anyone know of the salary of these top earners are PAYE or as contractors?
    I read a few years ago that contractors produce the shows, pay for researchers and such, then sell the show to RTE. That the total that they are paid isn’t salary as such.
    Does anyone know if this is the case?

• That is true, lot of contractors produce the show, a lot of the presenters are also contractors. If you look at the producers of shows in this country, it reads like a Cairde Fianna Fáil dinner guest list, that is not a coincidence. If you buy the loyalty of the presenters, it is a permanent form of canvassing.

• our newly elected politicians put her in the shade

Add New Comment