TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Merkel: German money will not save Europe

Chancellor says that countries need to cut debt, not print more money through the issuance of Eurobonds.

At the height of German hyper-inflation in 1923, paper currency was packed into boxes and sold as waste paper.
Image: Topham/Topham Picturepoint/Press Association Images

ANGELA MERKEL SAYS that German money can not solve Europe’s problems.

The Guardian reports today that in a speech to the German parliament in Berlin yesterday, the Chancellor told the rest of Europe to get real about the crisis.

“Germany’s strength is not unlimited. The way out of the crisis in the eurozone can only be successful if all countries are capable of recognising the reality and realistically assessing their strengths.”

She expressed fury at suggestions that Germany pick up the bill for other the trillions of euro in debt run up by France, Italy and Spain.

Instead, the London Independent reports that she said that:

It is our duty to break the vicious circle of new debt and rules that are breached, again and again.

Britain and the US, as well as France’s new president Francois Hollande, are arguing that Europe’s debt burden be shared through the issuance of Eurobonds.

This would involve a huge money printing operation by the European Central Bank, something which throws up painful memories for many Germans, who know all too well the possible consequences of such a move. Prices rose out of control, with the price of bread rising  from 163marks in 1922 to 200billion marks by 1923.

Enda Kenny refuses to say what he and Merkel spoke about >

Read next:

Comments (81 Comments)

• “German money”, typical. Give us a chance to pay back your banks first, so you can lend it to us again. Hold on, that’s the origin of this problem isn’t it?

• Part of Ireland’s problem but only part of it. But the lady has a fair point in my view.
      Balanced budgets give a basis for more sustainable (if delayed) growth.
      Germany is the testament to that – we can’t just keep putting the boot into them for all our ills just because their banks over-lent to our banks.

• Gagsy, no disrespect intended towards the Germans and their economy. But their economy is fundamentally different than the Irish one. Germany’s economy is more divergent than Ireland’s and should be able to support a more continuous level of growth. Ireland’s economy is by it’s very nature more a fluctuating one and will always have a more peak and through nature to it. Having a balanced budget every year would make no sense for for Ireland, maybe balancing it over the lifetime of a government would though.

• Gagsy 99 15/06/12 #

Sorry, I misused the term ‘balanced’ – the treaty does allow deficits within parameters.

But your point gets to the core of the euro’s fundamental problems (and one which Merkel continuously raises). If we want to have a common currency then there has to be more fiscal harmonisation and I think that has to mean more fiscal discipline in terms of budget deficits. And probably means more tax harmonisation too.

• Frau Dr. Merkel said “It is our duty to break the vicious circle of new debt and rules that are breached, again and again.” Funny I could have sworn that Germany was one of the countries which ignored the rules in the Maastricht treaty?

• “She expressed fury at suggestions that Germany pick up the bill for other the trillions of euro in debt run up by France, Italy and Spain.” I do believe we can trace the money back to German bond holders, OK if we burn them so.

• Jason, No big fan of Mrs Merkel but If I lend you money, I would expect you pay it back. Its true German banks lent money to Irish banks who lent it to Irish developers who built loads of houses and paid billions in taxes to the Irish Goverment who gave it back to the Irish people through tax reductions, medical cards, pension and social welfare increases etc… Its not quite as simple as ‘Lets just blame the Germans’

• Declan, you are forgetting on of the basic tenets of capitalism – risk. When a bank loans money, to individuals, businesses, or even nations, there is a risk that the borrower will default so interest is charged accordingly. it’s why Ireland’s rates in the bond market are so high yet Germany’s is so low. It is the responsibility of the lender to lend responsibly or risk losing out.

• This is Merkel’s attempt to say that Germany has less money than she wants Europe to think Germany has. Germany will also need to bail out it’s own banks for a second time. We’ve known this for many months.

Classic Merkel. The fury is a lie. It is only a disguise to say that Germany is not as strong as she said. But she cannot directly say Germany is weak because it will mean that she is weak, and showing weakness is one thing Merkel will not do. She will pull Germany down because of this. The German Iron Lady follows the same rules as the British Iron Lady, and the result will be the same.

• What do most people think about Greece in Germany Klaus. Do they think Greece should leave?

• @ Kerry – difficult question. Last year German and Dutch media was very nasty and anti-Greece. Much more negative than to Ireland or Portugal. This has stopped. There are many Greeks in Germany, and the German military have a contract with Greece to force Greece to buy equipment at high prices, so it would be bad for Greece to leave. But normal people ( apart from bigots and crazies ) think bad times are coming, and Sunday’s election will not change this. So in or out is not important, the damage is done. Thoughts are changing in Germany, we are looking inwards now not outwards. We are looking at the sickness in our own economy. This is new. We are tired of Merkel telling Europe what to do, because it has not helped the people on Germany either.

• Merkel is correct that Germany cannot solve this problem alone. She is wrong in her assertion that imposing more austerity will work. The countries she speaks of are bankrupt as a result of private bad debts that will never be paid. Unless Europe agrees that this debt is toxic and cant be repaid the Union faces the risk of a split.

• mel 15/06/12 #

Why didn’t they just bake there own bread !

• the system is broken, has anyone in europe not got the balls to admit it

• All europe is doing at the moment is wallpapering over some very big cracks. They will continue to do this until one day this wall cannot support itself anymore and come crashing down.

• What happens then Begrudgy? Its seems to me that you crave this failure.. Do you want the whole of europe to break down into chaos? What is you end game ?

• I believe in the idea of european union, of countries coming together to help each other to grow while staying individual. Problem is europe is not helping each other. They are looking after themselves. Its like something out of animal farm. Some are more equal then others. The european union as it is now with all this power control is not what was set up in the first place.

• How have we helped anyone in the EU Begrudgy? What money have we given to Germany? Of course countries like Germany are going to have more influence, they have 90 million people for Gods sake. How undemocratic would it be if 4 million people had the same weight as 90 million.

• We have opened up our economy for german and other eu states to sell their goods easier here. Likewise vice versa. We have handed over alot of our fishing waters. Jaysus start thinking man. Yes we are only 4 million but in that 4 million, profit is still made by foreign companies.

• Honestly don’t know what to think anymore, best just cross our finger’s and pray for a miracle….

• Damocles – A voice maybe if we are allowed to express an opinion that is ! ! ! Perhaps if Germany wasn’t to willing to interfere each time we want to address the Euro problem and Bank Debt problem head -on, we might actually get some where – admitting they can’t solve the problem means they should shove out and let some one with a bright idea get on with it.

• Yawn.. Same old story from the Germans …. We are in charge u will all do as your told.

• Why do the Germans refuse to acknowledge any responsibility for the Eurozone crisis. They allowed their banks to lend the money of their citizens to other banks who in turn recklessly lent to others. Where was the great German Puritan spirit then?, nowhere because it is a fallacy. The truth is that it was profitable for German elite capitalists to get huge profits from these deals and the greed lead on to more greed. .
    This crisis has nothing to do with public spending and everything to do with reckless greed by a few elites. Angela Merkel is just their mouthpiece

• Fagan's 15/06/12 #

The basic thing is as you say. They are in now, and if they aren’t willing to do what is normal in a currency union, then they should never have agreed to the Euro.

They want a currency union with all the ups for them, but refuse to continence normal currency union action, such as strong regions subsidizing weak. If the Americans tried the German approach to currency union, the southern states and the heartland would have to leave the dollar.

• why not do the decent thing and blame ourselves and our own actions!

• Fagan's 15/06/12 #

Paddy. Every unhappy family is unhappy in their own way. Yes we had a gombeen criminal Govt. in FF over 13 years, people borrowed too much etc etc. but how does that cause Italy, with its surplus, its massive savings, strong global brands and heading down the tubes. How does the mismanagement of this country account for the mass insolvency of German and French and Spanish banks.

The continent is insolvent, just over a decade after the Euro.

• Paddy O / Declan,
      You guys are of the opinion that it was the Irish people who caused this crises and are therefore responsible for own mess. The fact that German banks lent to Irish banks without due diligence etc is irrelevant in your mindset.
      Let me give you a real parallel example, that shows the fallacy in your arguments.
      Last year, when the French breast implant fiasco broke, and unsafe implants were found to have been exported all over Europe, it was the responsibility of each Government in the EU to compensate and replace the implants for the victims. In other words, a company in Europe made a total screw up, yet the Irish Government stepped in to help the victims.
      Compare that to the Irish banking sector. They went nuts lending money to 200 developers (70 billion euro between them). They borrowed this money from German and French banks primarily.
      Yet, its the Irish tax payer that is being asked to pick up the pieces from this mess.
      How come a breast implant company (supposedly under the license of the French Government) can mess up totally, and each country has to respond by supporting its own nations citizens, but when 4 Irish banks mess up, its up to only the Irish citizens to pick up the pieces.
      Am i missing something on this?
      In reality, all the banks should have been allowed to fail, and have the knock on to the European banking system, which in turn would have forced each country to respond accordingly. But it was the Germans,French and British Banking system that was going to suffer, so they insisted that the Irish people be made suffer.

I can tell you, i did not borrow excessively, i did not contribute to the mess, and yet i am paying excessive taxes to clean up the mess of a European Banking system. Why is that fair? I didn’t party. I am an Irish citizen.
      The German people did not party, so i agree that they should not have to shoulder the responsibility of their Banking system lending without due regard for consequences.
      In a proper system, the banks would have failed. The Dutch let a number of their banks fail, and the world did not end. Iceland let their banking system collapse and have rebuilt it, and their world did not end.
      Why not wipe the slate clean, and start again. Its only imaginary money anyway. It never existed and never will.
      I can tell you why, the German Government (rightly or wrongly) are using this crises to strengthen control of the European Union. They are going against the wishes of the Americans, British, Chinese and obviously the Euro Zone as well. They know exactly what they are doing.

• “Boom and Bust.

A lot of the Stock Market crash can be blamed on over exuberance and false expectations. In the years leading up to 1929, the stock market offered the potential for making huge gains in wealth. It was the new gold rush. People bought shares with the expectations of making more money. As share prices rose, people started to borrow money to invest in the stock market. The market got caught up in a speculative bubble. – Shares kept rising and people felt they would continue to do so. The problem was that stock prices became divorced from the real potential earnings of the share prices. Prices were not being driven by economic fundamentals but the optimism / exuberance of investors.

This was not the first investment bubble, nor was it the last. Most recently we saw a similar phenomena in the dot com bubble. Here, the effects were much less because it was confined to a small sector of the stock market.”

The current bust as with the Wall St crash is a product of the preceding boom.
      In the 1920’s this was caused by unsuitable interest rates, which fuelled a speculative boom. This crisis likewise inappropriate monetary policies created excess cheap money.
      Both public and private spending has reached unprecedented and dangerous levels. Both public and private debt has reached unprecedented and unsustainable levels.

• People’s naivety boggles my mind sometimes. Germany, to Ireland, is a friendly competitor at best, not a partner.

Germany has no interest in supporting Ireland other than to keep it alive enough to sponsor German banks.

Politics is not an episode of Family Ties, it’s always been Game of Thrones and the only thing that is different is that it’s done in white gloves now.

• Hi Declan, a full explanation for you. Having lived through the sixties when French and German banks ‘oversold’ money to South American and South African States. I can see incredible similarities in what’s happened here. That’s why you have the likes of Bono and Geldorf trying to get debt forgiveness for these unfortunate countries. You would think that the Banks had learned something by now but- obviously not, because the sale of money is totally one dimensional. In answer to your question, I would be asking for an immediate stress testing of French and German Banks, to get a picture of the kind of collapse we are looking at. After-all their economic position is fancifully propped by a cheap Euro compared to the original Deutschmark. There has to be a full spreading of debt via euro bonds, and an acceptance from the banks that their lending has been immature and they should take their pain too. Likewise a mixture of activity should be created which should include plenty of stimulus – trouble is its all 4 years on which makes matters worse. The Germans in being afraid of inflation have in fact boxed themselves into an impossible position, courtesy of their own lending greed.

• Martin can you explain your reference to a “cheap Euro”. I am a Brit living in Ireland since 2006. Back then I could buy Eros for around £0.70. Since 2008 it has been costing me between £0.80 and £0.90. It is currently back where it was in 2008 at £0.81. Still not “cheap” by comparison with 2006/7. In my case Ireland is the loser as I have less Euros to spend here.

• Hi Frank, when Germany joined the Euro it effectively devalued to meet the common denominator level of the new currency; thereby it’s products became effectively cheaper to by than previous. Add that to the availability of lots of money supplied through German Banks, and we all then have the means to go out an buy BMW’s, Boch Tools Neff Kitchens – hence Germany has a wicked economy – the plan couldn’t fail, until now that is. Now if we all had a bit of a devaluation (those of us in trouble) that is where our ‘rescue ‘ growth would come from. That is the ‘normal’ way the capitalist system works. But everyone in the Eurozone is tethered together, The Eurocrats are dithering, and Germany doesn’t want to loose its current status.

• Fasten yr seatbelts

• It’s like the economic summit of the damned…

Irish banks and pension funds have stocked their balance sheet with stable reliable German bunds to weather the financial climate… If we don’t honour our bonds held by Germany, Germany won’t honour theirs held by us…

How do people assume they can borrow and burn… They’re no better than the people who started this financial crisis under the assumption they can lend and lend and of their debtors assets can only increase in value exponentially as long as its in the property market or financial firms stock

• Why bash the Germans when no European politician has a clue about how to get Europe out of the mess that it is in?

• Because we (Germans) think we better at serious things than other people. Not always true! :-). It is also that we are taught to be very direct and other people see this as impolite and arrogant. A problem is a problem, not a challenge or an opportunity. I think many Euro politicians are happy that Merkel is there because they do not have to say what they think. Germans do not care about being popular and liked by all.

• The Germans mistakenly believe that it was Hyperinflation that led them on the war path* to dominate Europe. It wasn’t hyper inflation had stopped by the late 20′s. It was the Wall st. crash of 29, which resulted in a drying up of cash and liquidity, of investment that destroyed Weimar and let Hitler seize the moment. In other words it was Austerity and lets be blunt here, its in their nature as well to seize power and go marching. I’m not knocking them but there is a cultural meme of control and superiority. Look at their mythology, it is all there. Look at our, mad parties, lots of sex, fighting and neighbours falling out over cattle. Things like these do not come from the wind, they are core traits.

*They don’t need hyper inflation to try to take over Europe. 1871, 1914,1939 show that.

• The German economy was decimated by hyperinflation during the Weimar republic. Merkels concern is that if they go down the road of money printing inflation will take off like wildfire. Europe is currently extremely prone to this. Due to extremely high levels of low velocity liquidity in Europe even relatively low levels of inflation would rapidly increase velocity and result in uncontolled rampant inflation.

• The German politicians forget that the whole economy they are so proud of ,their Audi s BMW s and merc s was all built on American Swiss and commonwealth money provided to them in the 40 iesand 50ies and yet they stand so aloof and controlling believing they found the holy grail of economic success,a success simply derived by the devaluation when joining the euro ,which made their cars cheaper to buy

• we keep being told that we all need to b more competitive as countries..nd yet we account for 0.3% of the global economy but we export 6% of the worlds pharma,largest exporter of baby formula, get more share of FDI then the BRIC countries combined..hw much more competitive can we get??..There may nt b enough German money to bailout “oh i mean LOAN out” to save the euro but Definatly their policies for europe are not working and remeber we had budget surpluses up until 2008 and balanced budgets and also one of the lowest debt to GDP ratios of the western world..if you stripped out the interest repayments on that bank. we would be back to budget surplus by 2016 or sometime round then..so stick that in your pipe and smoke it MERKEL :-P

• Gagsy 99 15/06/12 #

Re-do your analysis with all the property development activity taken out….

• Fagan's 15/06/12 #

When Germany’s loan books are forced to mark investments to market value. Then Germany will have difficulty in bailing out its own banks.

Germany is roaring ahead at the moment, thanks to very effective business practices, ECB having set rates to meet its needs over last decade, blind eye turned to and a weak Euro to sell to the world. However 40% of its market is in the Euro and that is a market that is under severe pressure.

This is a Euro Zone crisis, a currency crisis. It is not a crisis of a few nations on the edge, it is systemic. Germany will go in to recession in the next 12 months, Germany is not immune to this, it may be able to defer it.

• If the U.S decided after WW2 to not help the Germans with the Marshall Plan there would be no strong Germany or a European union. The sooner Merkel cops on and realises that what we are facing is similar. I wonder how much dollars did the U.S add to their national debt back in 1945?

• Rob 15/06/12 #

The concept of a Fourth Reich is dangerously possible. Every member country must manage their economy within agreed margins acceptable to all.
    This is the end
    Beautiful friend
    This is the end
    My only friend, the end
    Of our elaborate plans, the end
    Of everything that stands, the end
    No safety or surprise, the end
    I’ll never look into your eyes…again

- The Doors

• Germany has a superior economy than any other in Europe primarily as a result of hard work, skill, adherence to the highest quality standards and efficiency. They should rightfully be commended for that and deserve to enjoy the rewards that such industrial superiority delivers. Unlike other countries their economic dominance is primarily based on industrial merit. They simply produce many products and provide many services in a far better fashion than any other western country.

However German Banks were spectacularly reckless, they invested excess German savings in a range of hare brained too good to be true investments and yet are only interested in appointing accountability for such recklessness on one side of the deal. Irish people although not directly responsible are expected to take full responsibility for the recklessness of private Irish Banks, It is surely not too much to expect the German people to do the same for their own. This simply means that the burden of their recklessness is not completely shouldered on the backs of nations of the banks on the other side of the German banks deals. Germany has thrived off reckless investments (ensuring weaker countries paid every penny back to German banks) and continues to thrive off our economic malaise (lowering demand for Euro’s and thus making German exports significantly more competitive in the EU and outside of it).

Germany is in control in Europe as it is the strongest most capable contributor to any EU solution, how they use that control is of historical significance, either they only do whats right for Germany in the very short run or they take a more enlightened approach and improve the future for Germany and shake off some of the unfair cynicism that is easily directed at them such as many of the comments here. They were aided by others after doing much to destroy an infant european democracy, I am not saying they pay everyones debts or provide unlimited credit as that simply wont solve the problem but they need to either use their control for the benefit of the EU or retreat into further isolation and watch the Euro project collapse.

• I don’t agree with alll of it but that is a refreshingly balanced analysis/opinion compared to the usual polarised hysteria when Germany is discussed here.

• @ Econ – there are other, less good reasons why the German economy is strong. No minimum wage. Very low wages compared to other countries. In Berlin the average wage is € 1000- a month. High taxes. Health service mostly outsourced to private business. Pension age increased. Many German people do not understand the anger at austerity, but only because austerity is normal in working class Germany.

• Fair enough I am certainly no expert on the internal dynamics of the German Economy but it seems wage suppression is another way to keep exports cheap. Apart from enforcing a minimum wage how else does government suppress wages. I am not suggesting we all follow German society but economically they compete on merit or are you of the view it is akin to China where they keep citizens less well off to keep the export machine fully lubricated and delivering huge trade surpluses.

• Yes, That is what Mean, like China, but not as severe. The winnings from the successful economy do not go directly to the hands of the workers. The benefits to the workers have been in social systems and infrastructure. It was a good plan and it worked for a long time, but no longer. German workers get angry when they see that their lifestyles have not risen as they did in other European countries before the crisis. Their lifestyles have been dropping but they read that Germany is successful.

• Germany they destroyed europe in the 20th Century and now they are doing the same in the 21st!

• German elites could destroy Europe maybe, but they will destroy Germany as well. The average German person is not winning. It is not a competition. Bad decisions were made because the politicians want it to be a competition. Soon it will be clear that we are all in the same situation and we have wasted so much through competing. Unite and survive. Divide and fall.

• How can we blame Germany for our Banks, Goverment, developers and indeed people who spending money like idiots for 10 years? Please explain that to me??

• Fagan's 15/06/12 #

Declan. If Ireland sank in to the sea today, with all its economic loss and disruption it would still not even be as great a threat to the Euro as Germany and France’s insolvent banks, never mind Spain and Italy. 2 bankrupt global giants.

I had a neighbour when I was young, who was a volunteer in the Black and Tan war. He said that FF always blamed the English for everything that went wrong and that Fine Gael always blamed the Irish.

Same here, yes their was woeful mistakes made here, criminal mistakes and theft, but to say that the EU/ECB has not at every turn made the Euro crisis worse at every turn is just a different form of denial.

It’s usually more complex than that.

• Merkel did not cause this problem, but she has made the problem much worse by pointing a finger at other countries, pretending that Germany is wealthier and more stable than the reality, and lowering Germany’s risk through giving “bail-out”s and highering other countries’ risk. She was not transparent about her strategies and her plan is failing. All of the EU, including Germany, will suffer.

• When are people going to recognise , IT’S NOT GERMAN MONEY , OR GERMAN WORK , in any table of individual per capita productivity , Germany is way down below half way. I am pro Europe , but I don’t want to be led by a Germany which is positioning itself to dictate to all of us in a typically supercilious way.

• I used to be pro Europe … But not any more. It is turning into a nightmare and will get way way worse , ever before it improves. All these shower of current politicians will be well dead from old age along with the rest of us before this ever improves. I just can not see how all of this could have happened . It is a nightmare !

• Damocles 15/06/12 #

In the post money era we will, no doubt, return to barter.

What skills do you have to barter?

• Time to leave this German lead Europe.

It has become something I never signed up to as a pro European. It’s been perverted by the greedy and corrupt. Time to move on and rethink our membership.

• German Money !!!! Says it all there really .

• It’s her duty to what?????
    A previous german statesperson also wanted to get rid of another perceived European issue.

• Well said Danny absolutely right

Add New Comment