TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Enda Kenny refuses to say what he and Merkel spoke about

Germany has indicated it is not interested in a bank debt deal for Ireland – despite the Government lobbying hard for one after the referendum.

Six Fianna Fáil TDs laughing during Leaders' Questions

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has refused to tell the Dáil exactly what he and German leader Angela Merkel spoke about in a telephone conversation after the results of the referendum last week.

In heated exchanges in the Dáil this morning, the Taoiseach was asked a number of times what the Chancellor had said about a possible bank debt deal for Ireland following the Yes vote in last week’s Fiscal Compact referendum.

The Taoiseach’s refusal to go into detail about the conversation comes in the wake of comments by the office of the German finance minister indicating that Germany is not interested in negotiating any kind of deal for Ireland. The government has repeatedly said that it wants a deal to reduce the debt. As recently as Sunday, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore had said that high-level discussions were already taking place and that the government is committed to securing a deal.

The Taoiseach was asked by Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin whether he had requested a write-down in Irish bank debt or a restructuring of the debt and exactly what had been said.

“The feedback from the conversation does not seem positive,” Martin told the Dáil.

Enda Kenny said Chancellor Merkel had praised the ‘very strong, very clear, very decisive decision’ by Irish people in the referendum but did not go into detail. The Taoiseach reiterated that the bank debt situation is a separate issue from the referendum.

“Believe you me, this is a tortuous and complex process and there are no quick fix solutions,” the Taoiseach said.

He told the Fianna Fáil leader that he was mistaken if he thought something as complex as debt negotiations could be sorted out ‘by words over a telephone’.

Enda Kenny told the Dáil that he had been one of the first European leaders to raise the possibility of using the ESM to inject cash directly into banking, an idea which he said is now gaining traction with other leaders.

“Europe is now having a proper debate about the separation of the sovereign debts from bank debts,” he said.

Shatter plays down German resistance to bank debt deal >

Dan Boyle: Performance of Phil Hogan could help Green Party’s return >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• In fairness Enda’s German probably isn’t too hot! He probably bottled it and talked about the weather instead!!

• Not unusual. Most people’s dogs couldn’t tell you what their master said last week either

• Considering indas ability to argue his point consists of cowering behind a teleprompter reading a prepared speech, I think we all know the type of negotiating that happened with the self appointed Empress of Europe.

• Enda didn’t say anything… As usual he just listens…. Better get this school teacher back to teaching before its too late…. Or maybe it’s already to late…

• Germany and France will not lift a finger to help countries like ours until they feel threatened themselves. We should have voted No, to send a clear signal.
      However, its not too late, if Enda threatens Merkel with an untidy default, i can guarantee you, she will get a finger out. In this scenario, it will be both in Germanys and Irelands interest to come up with a debt write down.
      But alas, i fear Enda and Gimpmore are only looking to stay in power long enough to get their pension rights. The rest of us can go sing for our suppers. What do the rank and file Labour and FFg TDs think while they sit there and listen to the bullsh8t Kenny is coming out with. He promised transparency, and all we are getting is smoke, mirrors and half assed statements like ‘we will keep trying’. We need action, not words Kenny. Merkel couldn’t give two damns about you or your personal fortune. Do something…. anything. If you are unable to take a decisive line, then get out of the way, and out of Government and let someone in there who knows what they are doing, and are willing to stand up for the Irish people.

• @ Too Trueleft,

With all the money (tax payers money) that this gombeen is paying for P.R. one would think that they would remind him not to be so patronizing to colleagues on the other side and also the electorate. He needs a good slap on the back of the neck every now and then to remind him. I’m sure he got a few of them when he was in school.

By the way, we have some great teachers in education at the moment, not sure if I’d want him teaching my children. Thankfully, finished schooling after this Leaving Certificate!

• On another point it’s infuriating to see the picture that this story uses… To see 6 FF TD’s laughing so heartly is sickening…. WTF is so funny… These morons every single one of then should be kicked out without pay or pensions…. If I may say so a half dozen relatively smart patriotic people would run this country way better than that incompetent shower.

I want to bash heads together…

• MERKEL: “Sit Enda sit”
      ENDA : “whimpers”(and sits)
      MERKEL: “good dog”

• The righteous one speaks

• @cal. Merkel knows we cannot default. She knows this because we still run an enormous fiscal deficit. If however they took the hard decisions to balance the books, that would be a very different story. Default would be a feasible option and I guarantee you, she’d offer a deal without being asked. And an apology…

• Obama never speaks without a tele-prompter, what’s your point ?
      Merkel is financing the EU, our pay checks and ATM’s, she is our queen.

• The ‘inda’ thing is a bit tired now, by the way, 1250 people were asked why they voted yes, 540 said SF helped sway their YES vote, Good job

• That spineless toad Kenny needs to be reminded who he works for and that it is his obligation to inform the people about what was discussed with Merkel.

• Mark, unless I was in the room when he made the call I would not believe what Kenny says, he has lied to us all from day one when he was running for election, why would he tell the truth now. When he speaks he has one story for us and another for Europe, an example being the banking debt not our fault one day and totally our fault the next. The man is a liar and a cheat and should be removed from office and charged with treason along with Noonan and Gilmore.

• Anybody ask noonan what he discussed at the bilderberg get-together over the weekend. Would venture that was more important thanks edna and merkel’s pillow talk.

• Excellent point John, Kenny will make up some kind of lie later about his chat with Merkel and it will all be passed over for some other news item. Noonan’s meeting with the Bilderberg group in Virginia is one we will hear nothing on but far more important as these are the people who are making all of the decisions, pulling all of the strings and making happen what they want.
      Some interesting quotes I read earlier..
      “It is well enough that people of the nation do not understand our banking and monetary system, for if they did, I believe there would be a revolution before tomorrow morning.”
      – Henry Ford

“Today, America would be outraged if U.N. troops entered Los Angeles to restore order. Tomorrow they will be grateful! This is especially true if they were told that there were an outside threat from beyond, whether real or promulgated, that threatened our very existence. It is then that all peoples of the world will plead to deliver them from this evil. The one thing every man fears is the unknown. When presented with this scenario, individual rights will be willingly relinquished for the guarantee of their well-being granted to them by the World Government.”
      – Henry Kissinger, Bilderberger Conference in Evians, France, 1991

“The drive of the Rockefellers and their allies is to create a one-world government combining super capitalism and Communism under the same tent, all under their control…. Do I mean conspiracy? Yes I do. I am convinced there is such a plot, international in scope, generations old in planning, and incredibly evil in intent.”
      – Congressman Larry P. McDonald, 1976, killed in the Korean Airlines 747 that was shot down by the Soviets

“Some even believe we (the Rockefeller family) are part of a secret cabal working against the best interests of the United States, characterizing my family and me as ‘internationalists’ and of conspiring with others around the world to build a more integrated global political and economic structure – one world, if you will. If that’s the charge, I stand guilty, and I am proud of it.”
      – David Rockefeller, Memoirs, page 405

“It is the system of nationalist individualism that has to go….We are living in the end of the sovereign states….In the great struggle to evoke a Westernized World Socialism, contemporary governments may vanish….Countless people…will hate the new world order….and will die protesting against it.” – H.G. Wells, in his book, “The New World Order”, 1940.

• i hope he did not give away the recipe for the sugar baskets

• Enda Kenny seems intent on only adding to the indignity of it all, not only facilitate the permanent imposition of billions of private speculative bond losses on Irish citizens but add to it with his words and buffoonish evasion of answering any important questions. However is Enda not just a personification of the Irish attitude that allowed all this injustice be perpetuated in the first place, he is after all democractically elected as the Taoiseach and arguably could not be a more obedient accomplice for German policy in Ireland, he actually acts like he is elected by them to come here and explain or refuse to explain their position

• ‘Enda Kenny said Chancellor Merkel had praised the ‘very strong, very clear, very decisive decision’ by Irish people in the referendum’ . A pat on the back for the good little paddys!!!!

• I had a similar post above and it was removed …….???
      Perhaps the journal does not like the word bottom ? or is it the word treacherous that does not go down well ?
      However I was also accused of not accepting the decision of the people . I do accept it , given that it was made under duress and false pretences it seems a tad unfair , but that is democracy for you . there is always the general election to look forward to ….. Bottoms up people :)

• Micheal Martin seems to ask these questions in a convenient disregard for his direct involvement in allowing the catastrophe to hit this country arise in the first place! Sadly the golden rule is that he who has the gold makes the rules and being the potentially largest and capable contributor to any EU wide bailout Germany is in control. Finge Gael’s position is that so long as we continue to overspend as a nation relevant to what we earn we will be dependent on Germany and there is truth to that. This however does not acknowledge the injustice or unsustainability of the imposition of the speculative losses of European (many of them German) high yield bondholders on the Irish citizens. Germany takes the view that it is just that Irish people should pay in full for the recklessness of Irish banks, which conveniently ignores the obvious consequence that Germans should pay for the recklessness of German Banks and bondholders, but of course that is a point that is either lost of ignored by Fine Gael, they have really sold this country into debt enslavement in exchange for a temporary reprieve from cutting the income of the many in this state overeating on the national trough. The Germans aren’t interested in whats just or what is sustainable, in control as they are they have made a bad situation far worse in Europe. What is unjust is usually also ultimately unsustainable. Something has to give. The Spanish issue is a larger proxy for our own dealings with Germany, hopefully Spain will show more metal.

• mart_n 06/06/12 #

“Micheal Martin seems to ask these questions in a convenient disregard for his direct involvement in allowing the catastrophe to hit this country arise in the first place!”

I’m no FF supporter but this argument is getting really old now. He’s the leader of the opposition now, whether we like it or not. He’s absolutely right to be asking such questions. If it wasn’t him it’d be a SF TD, and people would still be decrying the fact that they had the nerve to ask questions considering their history. Who exactly is qualified, willing and in a position to actually oppose the government? Frankly I don’t care who is asking the questions.. that’s not even remotely important right now as far as I’m concerned.. I just want the questions to be asked.. and when Kenny and Co. dodge them and refuse to answer then they deserve to be called up on it.

How many questions did FF avoid answering when they were in power.. do we really want to see that again?

• Eh, the man is in opposition, it’s his job!!! He is supposed to ask questions of the goverment.

• I appreciate that he needs to ask the questions but its kind of like the instigator of a massacre questioning those charged with cleaning it up, I know the point is made many times but the damage Fianna Fail did to this country is probably unprecedented in the developed world, save for a dictatorial coup has any other democractically elected western government ever failed its people so much and yet a key member is now in a position to question those failing to properly deal with it. He was democratically elected, he is obligated to ask questions in opposition but it seems wrong that that is his role considering the damage he and other prominent FF members are responsible for.

• mart_n
      Where were you for the past 4 weeks ? FF supported the government .So it is a little bit of a wasted exercise for Michael to come along now and pretend that he is in opposition …. He is leader of FF not the opposition . He has made it very clear where his loyalties lie and it is not with us the people , it is with Germany’s Merkle and their banks.

• I have to agree with mart_n here. When things go wrong it’s was always a FF policy that the government can’t change, when something goes well it’s new government plan. If FG/Lab are true to form I’d like to think that Enda blamed Cowen for the current European mess and probably Chelsea winning the champions league, when he was on the phone to Dr Merkel. The minutes of the conversation will be released in 30 years anyway, round about the time our children pay off our mortgages.

• Fagan's 06/06/12 #

Ye are actually both right. Yes it is his job to ask these questions but it also true that he couldn’t give a tossa bout what is good for this country, has never exhibited any concern for it, as a minister and in general his presence in the Dáil is a reminder of how he and his party colleagues destroyed this country.

• bang on susie this goverment is every bit as treacherous as the last one

• Postpone all payments now. Not 1 more cent. If germany continues to be ignorant and play hardball then F..k them and the horse they rode in on. Lets take the smack to the the jaw, get up and move on. Sort this mess out in our generation and not the next.

• No doubt Edna got down on his knee’s and rolled around the carpet awaiting instructions from his master Merkel, its just sickening to watch our elected taoiseach continue to behave like a new puppy around these european leaders. Get some backbone and tell these F****** were too go.

• It reminds me of the way thatcher played with Fitzgerald. Here boy!, sit! Roll over! Play dead! That’s a good doggie, now run along I’ve got some real work to do.

• Exactly and it didnt get him anywhere with her. Ultimately people respect those who legitimately assert their rights because dominant people would have had at least to do that to get to where they are themselves. Doing what your told without challenge and succumbing to dominance without question engenders zero respect. Enda has zero respect

The German’s undoubtably laugh at how stupid the paddies are, bankrupt themselves to pay off all speculative bondholders in full, never publicly challenge those who insisted upon it and consider progress a few loans to push off the inevitable consequences of their incompetence.

• enda kenny is a crap person to be leading this country. He has no back bone and while I know this and every other person knows it, why do we allow the little gutless runt to represent us on such important issues in europe.
    while merkal has a kicking boy to deal with the irish problem it can and will only get worse

• Thats our electoral system Eugene, you join a prominent party, you win a local popularity competition based on local issues, you massage the ego’s of the powers that be in the party and support their position on national issues, if the party does well in an election and your well in with the powers that be, your a minister and if you hang around long enough and can trump the gamesmanship and allegiance conlficts of vying for inter party power you could be Taoiseach.

Local issues elect people who through inter party and inter parliamentary power battles form a national government. The system can only allow for incumbents to form governments, if an election was held tomorrow Enda would be voted in the system could not allow for any other candidate.

• Problem here Eugene is there are only a couple of ways to rid the country of the little runt, a breakdown in the current government resulting in early elections or a revolution. The latter will never happen while the pubs are open and the dole payments are being made, Sad but true, the VFI don’t realise the power that they hold :-)

• Fagan's 06/06/12 #

Enda Kenny should offer Micheal Martin a 3000 a night hotel room plus expenses. It kept him quiet over the last 13 years, it will do the same now.

• So the leader of the country that we voted in is refusing to tell the people of this country what’s really happening?

Any one else think this is wrong?

• How do we know they really lobbied hard for a deal? I don’t believe it for a second given previous form and the people involved.

• I was watching the Taoisachs Questions this Morning and Kenny just dropped names and would not answer the question which was asked again and again “What did you (Enda Kenny) ask Chancellor Angel Merkel and he refused point blank to answer my television is lucky to be alive. Kenny is so useless I cannot understand how Fine Gael are not ousting him he us destroying Ireland with every word that comes out of his mouth

• Understand the need for discretion etc, but the Taoiseach could’ve give some sort of briefing to the Dáil, as he is technically required to, rather than be unnecessarily cagey…
    I mean, I genuinely don’t see the purpose of his reticence.

• He does realise that this is not the classroom and that he is answerable to us… Damn it! Just got detention.

• So much for transparency.

• He has done so much damage in less than 18 months what damage will he leave at full term we need them out now

• He seems genuinely like a nice and personal man with a lot of positive traits but he is adding to the indignity of what has occurred in this county in how he completely abdicates any responsibility for advocating forcefully on our behalf and although many may say “you don’t know whats going on in private” and I don’t there is a public dimension to leadership and advocacy and from Enda in public it seems he is only advocating on behalf of the Germans.

• I think fg/lab are worse than ff (and thats bad) because they knew what was going on before they made there election promises…. Thank goodness I didn’t fall for there lies and deceit…

• “What are you wearing?”

• Everyone here is calling for “negotiations” and when Enda does exactly that with Angela Merkel everyone complains. Of course he won’t tell us what they’re talking about at the moment, that’s what negotiation entails.

And Michael Martin is one to complain considering his party landed us in this debt mess in the first place!!!

• The Yes Man Kenny is not in negotiations with Merkel, he is taking orders from her. FG are only a continuity FF with more of the same old BS so get of your little hobby horse there Higgins!

• To be honest it doesn’t really matter if he tells us or not. Truth is he has zero influence in Europe and Ireland’s only hope is that some of the bigger countries such has France, Spain & Italy decide things need to change (direct funding by the ECB to banks). Then if we are lucky we might be able to grab hold of their coat tails and also get some benefit. The credit Kenny and co claim for cutting the original punitive interest on our loan is nonsense as that only came about because of the crises in Greece and for no other reason. We have no influence at all.

While I’d agree it is a bit ironic that Martin is complaining it is also just as ironic that Lab/FG are carrying out the FF/Green deal to the letter despite all their claims before the election. Add to that you could also say they made a very poor fist of being the opposition and holding previous governments to account for their actions which brought Ireland to this current crises. The political class of all shades have failed us.

• “…..but I promise you one thing now, and that is that I will lead the most open and hardworking Government in the history of this State, a Government acting with urgency and a sense of responsibility, always keeping the interests of the Irish people at its heart. ”
      Enda Kenny.

• “Though no conclusion has yet been reached on the renegotiation of the bailout terms, I believe the exceptionally strong mandate our new Government received from the Irish people on February 25th cannot be ignored by Europe – the Irish people voted for a new direction for our country, and I will continue to fight for that on their behalf.

Kind regards
      Yours sincerely

Enda Kenny TD
      Taoiseach

It sounds more and more hollow every time I read it.

• Cynic 06/06/12 #

That referendum is over – the no side lost so you are obviously in a minority – get the hell over it and stop whinging like some spoilt child

Add New Comment