TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

More than 300 fines issued as gardaí crack down on broken lights

Operation Light up was held over two days last month and resulted in 317 prosecutions.

File photo
File photo
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

GARDAÍ ISSUED 317 fines to motorists driving in vehicles with defective lights over two days last month.

Operation Light Up was held on 20 and 21 Feburary to tackle the growing problem of broken and missing front and back lights.

The Garda Press Office said it appreciated some motorists are under financial constraints but emphasised the legal requirement that a vehicle’s lights and lamps are all in working order.

More than 1,300 cars were stopped because of issues with lights. The majority (1,089) were just given advice by the garda but 317 were issued with fixed charge notices.

The most common problem was having no working right front lamp with 114 offences recorded. Counties in the south of the country noted the highest incidence of problems with 508 cars stopped and 128 fines issued.

Some offences were detected during daylight hours and it was deemed appropriate that it be dealt with by way of advice to motorists, according to gardaí.

So far this year, 40 people have lost their lives on Irish roads. This is a fact that cannot be ignored, said Assistant Commissioner Gerard Phillips.

“We appeal to the public to get the basics right. Slow down, wear your seatbelts always and make yourself as visible as possible when walking or cycling.”

He said the operation last month was about raising awareness rather than doling out fines.

Although there were 317 prosecutions detected, many people took our advice and rectified their defect or the inappropriate use of fog lights or fog lamps beforehand. We would like to express our thanks to the public for their support of operation Light Up.  Initiatives such as these ultimately help make our vehicles and roads safer for all.

RSA chief Noel Brett added that the number of drivers being prosecuted was “disappointing”.

“It is important to realise that it is a very serious road safety issue. For example a car driving in the dark with a broken headlight could easily be mistaken for a motorcyclist. The consequences of this happening are unthinkable.

“That’s why I would urge drivers, to set aside a couple of minutes before a journey to perform a quick check of their vehicle lights. A couple of minutes that will give you peace of mind knowing you are not facing a fine, prosecution or worse, being responsible for a crash further down the road.”

During January, 184 people were caught for driving dangerously while 641 drivers were found to be driving while intoxicated.

Read: Woman dies after being struck by a van in Mayo

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• Still plenty of one eyed monsters on the roads…

• I was driving on a rural road which had no streetlights the other night . I had my dipped lights on as a car was passing. When I put my headlights back on, a tractor appeared from nowhere driving along. Not one light on it, Im not sure how the driver could even see where he was going – maybe he was on a stealth mission to spread manure and had some night vision goggles on.

• I like the ultimately way more serious sub note at the end of the article:

“641 drivers were found to be driving while intoxicated”

:O

• Instead of all the excuses why can’t we admit that the problem is all those drivers who know that they are driving with no lights and don’t care.

• The feeling of entitlement is a dillema world over. However, this nasty trait is often kept a bay by law enforcement, punishment, equality, fairness and education. Unfortunately, our country isn’t consistent with embracing the fore mentioned. As a result we have created a culture where people chance thier arm. In essence, they give it go… It doesn’t matter if their actions are dangerous or selfish…. As long as they get what they want…

Headlights is an example.

• The amount of people that drive with their fog lights on at night in clear weather is shocking. It’s almost one in two or three cars I pass on the road.

• Lights on 24/7
    Make motorists visible

• I have my lights on all the time when driving, supposed to decrease accidents by 30% or something like that, however it also means with all the driving i do my lights often go, i often have spare bulbs etc but not going to pull over on the motor way or a dark country road to replace it!! Not safe between traffic or nutter risks!!

• Not mentioned here already and worth pointing out that when on a motorbike (visors gets dirty and we have no window wipers!) its almost impossible to judge the speed of a car with only one headlight working. Also front fogs are blinding when we are watching traffic behind for cars changing lanes, coming past etc. In a car where most people only care about what’s in front this would go unnoticed but on a bike where we need to watch all around for the person that may be about to take us down, defective lighting on cars has a huge impact on the ability to monitor the area around the bike.

• Yes its important to have all bulbs in working order, they’re checked during NCT but What if the bulb blows mid journey? They can hardly hold you accountable for that?

• If your tyre blew mid journey would you not replace it, so why not the bulb.

• Indeed, I believe this is compulsory in France? I carry spare bulbs and a screw driver in the car if a bulb ever needs changing, however its easy to change the bulbs on my car, some manufacturers build cars where the bumper has to come off to change a headlight!

• some cars need to brought to the garage to change a bulb,some people may not know how to change them either.

A solution would be that it should be manatory to know how to change a light, and any of the cars that need to go to the garage must produce the car within we’ll say 2 days to a garage station to be checked

• Colin – with all due respect, you would know if your tyre blew out.
      You would probably not know if one of your lights stopped working mid-journey, especially a tail-light.
      My front headlights were working ok one day last month before I set out on a journey – it was only when I was parking at my destination that a work colleague kindly informed me that the front right headlight bulb was blown – wasn’t I lucky it wasn’t a Garda!
      Through no fault of my own, I could have been looking at a fine [and probably points on my licence too].
      Would it be right if I was pulled over by a Garda on my way to buy a new bulb in the shop? Or are you telling me that we need to call AA to carry out a bulb replacement?
      All I’m looking for is a bit of discretion shown by the Gardaí.

• It’s hard luck if it blows just before you’re stopped. It might make people more conscious of inspecting their vehicle before they drive it. If a headlight is gone you should know in fairness. If another bulb is gone the Garda might show a little discretion and record you’ve been stopped so if you’re stopped again you get done but headlights should be an instant fine. It’s done in most other countries so about time people were pulled up for it.

• Your story doesn’t reflect being stopped by a guard , so moaning about lack of discretion is a bit silly, especially seen as the article highlights the amount of drivers who were just cautioned, a lot of which could have been in a similar scenario as yourself.
      Also defective lights on vehicles don’t carry penalty points

• My headlight blew two days before the clampdown I had spare bulbs in the car I was driving at night and I noticed a change in the amount of light at the front of the car so I changed my bulb. It’s called driving with due care, I want me and my family to be safe on the road and I want to keep my licence.

If I had caused another driver to be blinded by driving on full beams or caused a crash because I looked like a bike should I use the excuse that ah sure I couldn’t fix it or I didn’t have a bulb handy?

• I hope you’re not a cop, Sean.
      “Some offences were detected during daylight hours and it was deemed appropriate that it be dealt with by way of advice to motorist.”
      I was driving at night so I would have been fined – NO discretion for me.

• I was stopped in traffic at one of these check points as many unlit cyclists in black clothing and no helmets passed the garda without any problem, in fact one garda actually joked with one. Hilarious stuff.
      I carry spare bulbs and discretion should be shown as a bulb can fail at any time wether you check each morning or not . Our hearts can fail at any time too . Does that mean we need a medical each time we set out?

• Maura, an easier solution would be to make it compulsory for car manufacturers to include a flashing light on the dashboard to inform you that a bulb was broken.

• of course it would make more sense Rory but unfortunately you still couldnt account for the cars thatwould be on the road before this would come out :(

• Dave
      Why do you hope I’m not a “cop” ??

How can you presume there would be no discretion for you, based on an article in the journal about one month long operation.
      I’m sure the majority of incidents dealt by discretion were during daytime, but I’m also sure there was some at night !
      You also had not originally mentioned you were driving at night
      I agree with some of the arguments Above. If driving at night you should be able to notice a ‘headlight’ missing which you didnt, Maybe you shouldn’t be driving and maybe you shouldn’t deserve discretion

• There is no requirement to wear a helmet of a bicycle

• You or nobody can say what might happen IF you were stopped you can only say what did happen WHEN you were stopped so please stop second guessing what might happen

• That was for dave murray

• Dgar 07/03/13 #

Unfortunately not everyone is as honest as you. People will always argue with gardai that it must have just blown. To be honest….I think I’d rather get hit with a fine than by another car with dodgy lights.

• 5*filly maybe there is no requirement in law to wear a helmet on a bicycle but common sense should tell you to wear one. Have you ever visited the Rehabilitation Centre in Dublin. It’s frightening all the people who are there and brain damaged because of falls of of bicycles.

• Int it mandatory throughout Europe that you must have spare bulbs in the car as well as a first aid kit? I know in the Czech Republic you do plus a bright orange or green vest.

• Try driving at night on country roads when oncoming traffic has one functional headlight or worse full beam on to compensate, far worse and far more dangerous than fog lights being on when no fog, yet foglights on exorcise people more than faulty lights. Can’t use cost as an excuse as replacement bulbs are less than a fiver

• No fines this month !!! Stop cutting garda / nurse pay….keep up the fight for a decent wage..well done..support you all the way…

• Matt
      Interesting to see you support the Gardai flouting their Oath of Office and contributing to breaches of the Law. What kind of society in this regard do you want?
      Why don’t we ask the Nurses to stop washing their hands before they treat patients post surgery or maybe ask the Gardai to leave the cells in their stations unlocked.

• Exercising discretion is not a flouting of duty. As someone said, you could blow a bulb mid-journey and not be in a position to change it; would you have Gardaí issue fines in such circumstances?

• They’re not flouting their oath of office or indeed the law. They are exercising their power of discretion, which is in itself recognised and accepted within the law. They may still do their job by highlighting such offences to drivers (reference article above which states many warnings were issued during this operation) through the issuing of advice and/or warnings. I’ve said in a previous thread. I was stopped for using a mobile while driving, many months ago, the very nice Garda cautioned me sternly on the dangers of same and left me on my way with a warning. I’ve never used it since. I got no fine but I did get the message. That Garda did their job very effectively in my view.

• Here here Matt.

• Wouldn’t it help this campaign if the motor industry make cars where changing a light can be done by the driver when required. This idea of needing a mechanic to do it on some makes of car only exacerbates the problem

• Hm. I was wondering why everyone was driving on the M50 today in fairly heavy mist with all their lights off; now I know. Shame that the research all shows that driving with headlights on during the day reduces the number of accidents, but we have to keep up those fines, don’t we boys and girls of the RSA?

(Gardai? Like this was their idea. They just enforce the law, it was someone else’s truly daft idea)

• Thankfully the law abiding citizen is the norm in society. The level of ignorance and disregard for road safety expressed in some of the posts here is truly breathtaking. The mé féinners never want to take responsibility for the consequence of their own actions.

• Excellent results from a worthwhile campaign. We have been a long time waiting for increased road safety incentives. What about speeding? I regularly travel the M7/N7 between Limerick and Dublin with my cruise control set at exactly either 120 or 100 according the appropriate limit. If I’d a single euro for each time I’m passed out easily (and I mean by someone who must be doing 140+) I could retire tomorrow. Lone women seem to me to be the worst offenders. Sorry girls, but it’s true.

• I was agreeing with your comment until your claim that lone lady drievers are the worst offenders. I to drive that road with the cruise control set, I find there is very much a mix of people over taken me but on the whole none are going much over the limit, The ones I find to cause the most trouble are the crawlers on the motorway, you know the “I must not go about 80kph on the motorway” ones.

• I agree with that one too Claire. In some countries there is a minimum speed limit on motorways because crawlers do indeed cause as much, in some cases more of a hazard than speeders. Well spotted.

• Joe. Could slow driving be dangerous or careless ? Yes

• Yes Rory. Someone doing 80 in a 120 limit requires those doing 110 or over to pull out in front of someone doing 115 to 120 in order to pass them out. That’s why I agreed with Claire. Domino effect Rory. If the maximum on a motorway is 120, and given that we have only 2 and not 3 lanes, why not have a minimum of 100?

• Drive between the two motorbikes

• They love dishing out handy fines, why not fine people who don’t use their lights? Typical behaviour for people on Irish roads approaching a junction; jamm on the breaks without warning, turn left or right and use indicator just as your going around the corner.

• What about the people who are running this country with no lights on? Should they not be fined too?

• I support increased road safety. Human safety and life are critically important. We should drive with all lights functioning.

That said, I have never encountered a dangerous situation, even on unlit country roads, due to cars with only one headlight working. This prompts a genuine question. Are there are statistics or surveys available to show how many accidents, fatal or injury, caused by malfunctioning lights.

Incidentally, it is a bad idea helpfully to draw a Garda’s attention to the fact that their Garda vehicle have malfunctioning lights. They tend to take umbrage. It is poor examples for Gardai to drive unroadworthy vehicles. If Gardai refused to drive unroadworthy vehicles, standards would improve.

To go back to my query, how many deaths or injuries result from collisions caused by defective or malfunctioning lights?

• tom 08/03/13 #

Very few if any. All cars have parking lights so its very rare one side is tottaly dark. Plus what idiot thinks a one headlamp car is a motorbike unless they need glasses. And I do drive back roads at night.

A fairer system would be a sticker system as used in UK where you have a few days to rectify the defect.

• Dishing out fines and prosecutions is not any solution to this problem.
    Setup a Garda check point along with a van from an autofactors parked alongside and make people buy and fit the bulb there and then at a penal rate of say €50. No clogging up the courts and paperwork for Gardai just good old fashioned cop – on. Also at least they’d be sure when the car left the scene that the bulbs had been fixed and they were no longer a danger.

Then again if the Irish public sector were this practical they wouldn’t work in the Irish public sector……

• Huge increase in the number of Garda cars going around with one light! They could make a killing before they left the station!

• Them broken lights are destroying the inner cities with heroin and other anti social behaviour.

• I got away with a warning last month :-)

• I don’t know if anyone else has commented re: this but this seems a clear plan by the government to raise finances through this ‘crackdown’ by using Gardai as Revenue Officials. I see very few crackdowns on other offences where the state can’t make money from fixed penalty notices..

• Good lads. Keep on being the good little tax collectors that ye are.

• Senario 1 : bulb blows, get warning on dash, get out change the bulb. Sorted

Senario 2 : driving to work in morning, bulb blows, no spare bulb and no garage open till after you start work, leave work and get stopped on way to garage. Fined.

You could list off a thousand scenarios showing how easy to change bulb and how easy to not get a bulb in time and get fined.

From my understanding this was rushed in overnight, to start collecting fines immediately. With the safety side of it as and added bonus.

Let me ask this question, is there a fine for driving with no headlights on at all, because this could be your loophole for not having a blown headlight bulb, just don’t put them on at all.

And if you really want to talk safety, lets fine cyclists with no hi-viz or no lights, motorcyclists fined for weaving through traffic, cyclists fined for NOT using the buslane.

Feck it, how about fines for the county councils for pothole riddled roads.

• All this could be easily sorted if the car manufacturers install a few sensors. One to warn of blown bulb. One to auto dim and switch on or off lights relevant to visibility. Why are air bags, crumple zones and various other safety features given priority? Surely all aspects of safety should be equal?But if they did it would be less revenue to govts that fine motorists.

• Will this apply to gardai as well? I’ve spotted quite a few patrol cars with lights out as well as gardai driving whilst using their mobiles. I’m fairly confident I’m not the only one!

• PR stunt so somebody in Garda HQ can get promoted .

• Like Mr Brett to give us the stats on road deaths and injuries are due to a broken light. For over 20 yrs I have used them at all times but if I am stopped by Gardai on a bright sunny day with only one light working why should I be fined? I once asked the RSA a question about a very common road sign, they didn’t know the answer and told me that CIE may be able to assist me. What an insult from safety experts

• Completely ridiculous to fine someone who’s driving a car where the bumper and the battery need to come off to chance a bulb that has blown mid journey.

The car i drive a child could change it as the unit slips out with a pin.

• It is an awful shame that the Gardai have not arrested anyone yet for thr economic crime committed by the banks and the politicians.

• Hopefully they will soon pursue the banksters and corrupt politicians and businessmen who bankrupted the state thus causing the economic crisis that means people can no longer afford to run a car let alone have it regularly serviced with the same vigour

• You don’t need a service to change a lightbulb in your car. It’s a bit of a copout to pit this issue against another like “go after the bankers”. The country is in ruins for over 10 years now and people are still using their cars, so they can obviously afford to run them, otherwise they would be sat in a driveway gathering rust. A bulb costs a fiver and you can change it yourself. It’s down to a matter of laziness and a simple lack of respect for the safety of other road users and people like that should be fined continually until they are either forced off the road, where that kind of attitude belongs, or they get off their arses and fix the bulb, because it’s that kind of attitude that contributes to road accidents, which ultimately ends lives.

• Aye, so an unemployed family of 8 have plenty of cash lying around for your 5 euro light bulb. They face that you cannot separate the economic climate and peoples ability to pay for the parts and services leads me to certain conclusions

• Hi Colm, I think the PR dept of Leinster House have invaded this comment thread. You got 31 dislikes for your comment. Clearly any person with a brain cell would not dislike comments critical of the banks, unless the were PR trolls. Keep up the good work – Sergio.

• My car needs a trip to the dealer to have the lights changed so if a bulb goes on Thursday it’s usually 4 or 5 days till it can get it. Saying that when one does go I don’t drive at night unless totally necessary. There is however no excuse for driving with fog lights on both front and just we bad rear ones. If I’m behind someone at night with their rear fog on the get my full beams in their mirror.

Id say in a month I pass more than 317 cars with out working lights or using fogs so they could easily do better than that on fines

• Major checkpoint in Furbo, Co. Galway this morning with upwards of 8 cars impounded and they were letting cars with broken lights through without so much as stopping them to inform the driver they need to fix it. Yeah, some crackdown!!!

Add New Comment