TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Updated: €62 million collected from Household Charge so far

Just one day before the deadline, the Department says figures are showing “momentum”.

Fergal McCarthy's art installation and commentary on Ireland's property boom from 2010
Image: Liam McBurney/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Updated with figures from the LGMA at 21.11

THIS AFTERNOON’S FIGURES from the Government show that more than 600,000 people have now paid the €100 Household Charge.

That means about 100,000 households have paid or registered in the past 24 hours. Figures from the Local Government Management Agency show that just €52.9 million has been received with just one day to go.

The agency said 61,519 properties have registered since 6pm yesterday, bringing the total to 528,876. It believes about 5,000 properties are being registered every hour.

A further 91,000 postal applications, worth €9.1 million are on hand to be processed. The Government has included these payments in their 600,000 figure.

In addition to the above properties, 11,557 homes were registered for a waiver as of 4pm today.

The Department of the Environment has said there is a “real momentum” as the numbers of people registering for the charge is “building up”. Minister Phil Hogan has once more appealed to the public to pay the charge and thanked those who have already done so.

“This money will be used to fund vital local services in your own areas,” said the Department in a statement. Local authority offices, where the €100 fee can be paid, have been asked to open tomorrow to facilitate last minute payments.

Yesterday’s census figures confirmed that there are just over 1.6 million homes in Ireland liable for the fee. A Red C/Paddy Power poll found 61 per cent of householders liable for the charge said they would pay it, with 39 per cent saying they would not.

The deadline to pay the €100 is Saturday midnight, after which a fine will be imposed on top of the initial charge.

The Taoiseach used his opening speech at the Fine Gael Ard Fheis today to plead with people to pay the charge and “make their contribution to the restoration of sound public finances in this country”.

‘Still a million forms out there’ as household charge deadline approaches>

Full coverage of the Household Charge >

Read next:

Comments (339 Comments)

• alan 30/03/12 #

Only 1000000 to go

• @Anton, that sort of personal abuse is totally inappropriate in a discussion on current affairs.

• Of that 600k, how many have registered but are exempt from the charge?
    Headline should read of course that with one day to go, 1 million people have refused to register.

• This must be the right , because I know for sure that our government would never never never lie to us

• The way in which the government has managed this process has been a disaster no matter what way they look at it. I won’t be paying because the system is completely flawed. and I really not sure how they determine exempt estates. The one I live in is far from finished. The road isn’t complete and you’ve to drive by a large boarded up derelict site and unfinished houseses to get to my house. The coco have told me that my estate doesn’t qualify for the exemption though they haven’t said why. To make matters worse I have to pay a private management company 250euro to maintain the estate because the council won’t. What a joke! I certainly won’t be paying. Remember when stamp duty started? It started at 5punts.

• HHAAAAAANNNNNGGGGG ON A MINUTE…. How does he know 600 have paid? He hasnt opened the 57 black sacks that he is spending his day getting pictures beside like a prat yet. So how does he know?

I smell porkies

• This charge along with the impending property tax is a disgrace!
    What did I pay thousands in stamp duty for?? Is everything in Ireland tax them twice and call it something else, paddy won’t notice!
    Start cutting the double pensions and the crazy expenses our politicians get and take 40% off the top salaries. Start leading by example – people are sick of getting ripped off.

• To themamba1
      As John Tierney just posted.
      600 000 gobshites.
      I notice that you got a thumbs down re your comment.
      Now what dunce would do that?
      It just shows the low level of intelligence there is out there.

• Not registering is as important, if not more important, than not handing over the cash. Bags of cash are a drop in the ocean at this stage in the game. But once the householder is registered, they’re traceable. Once you’re traceable you can be charged/fined all sorts of crazy property related stuff in the years to come. Well done everyone who hasn’t registered, it’s very hard to go against our natural law abiding instincts. Whatever happens, I hope this becomes a turning point for Irish people, and gives us a sense of control over what’s happening in our country.

• I couldn’t care less what charges the dredge up. You get to a stage after enduring being abused by Fianna fail for years that you will take anything to resist evil.

• You will be ratted on if you don’t pay or register. That’s the Irish way. I’ve paid so f@&k them…they will too. There will be no way out of this. The force of the majority who eventually pay, combined with your gnawing desire to be law abiding will break you down. In a few weeks you and thousands more will open up your web connection and pay up. That’s the way unfortunately… Now the battle has to move on to implementing a fair and affordable property tax. Exempt boom time 1st time buyers who paid massive stamp duty and who are just threading water. Let the rich pay their fair share.

• skeolawn 31/03/12 #

Yes, SilentP another property boom run by rats is exactly what we need.

• I can’t wait for Phil Hogan to come out Sunday afternoon and claim Everybody has paid,what a deluded & inept asshole

• There is a trap in the declaration formula.

By declaring that you are the householder, you are accepting a legal liability for future unspecified house-based taxes and you are entering into a contract to pay. You are also handing over your details to a vast state-sponsored data-mining operation to build up a database to use to extract more taxes as a householder — water charges next year and the future property tax are the obvious ones.

So, in effect these supposed 600000 have paid €100 for the privilege of doing the work of creating a Facebook-like databank to the government’s advantage — they have paid to make a very big stick to beat their own backs.

This is extremely foolish. Last year alone the Gov cut €170 million from local govt services. Even if everyone paid this tax, it would not cover those cuts. Everything they say is lies.

The only answer is not to pay. And, to be outside the Fine Gael ardfheis with thousands of others tomorrow at 1.30 pm to show these assholes how you feel.

• Im also sick of people comparing the charge to the UK council taxes,they get a bit of value for their money and their political system is a lot more transparent,isn’t it less than 2 years ago where MP’s resigned for claiming £200 expenses for gardening and a host of things far less than what the assholes we have here are claiming for,not alone the unvouched expenses.

• To be fair Lairlair, we get alot for the council tax we pay in the UK. I’d like to see what the people in Ireland will get in return for this, sweet FA comes to mind!!!! :-(

• @Patrick yup thats the thing,i would not have a problem with the HHC if there was accountability and transparency,They are lying through their teeth by saying this is only for 2 years!!!!!

• I also have to add that in Spain where my parents live they pay e200 a year residential tax. But for that they get all services including bins where they could literally dump a whole house, water and a community swimming pool with lifeguard. They even get security for the area at night.

What will we get? Even when people are paying a e1000 and have to pay water and bins after that. Are the people that paid not thinking of this? Are they not worried that they might struggle to put food on the table after all the charges are paid? That’s why I’m not paying. I will make damn sure there is food on the table for my kids before I give these scumbags any of my money!

• Your Home is your Castle……Protect it with a cannon

• Sent my form plus a few more to hulk Hogan and information leaflet he knows where he can stick them not paying,fought the poll tax in England and this is the same it’s called people power !!

• That should cover Bertie Capone & all the ex TDs pensions for a year or so…

• Don’t think this can be true, 600,000 may have registered, but not all 600,000 would have paid. Would be nice to see this breakdown if we are to be expected to believe the figures.

• ”Minister Phil Hogan has once more appealed to the public to pay the charge and thanked those who have already done so”

Bully Boy Phil the Phailure ”Appeals” to the public?
    How
    By taking away their data protection rights?

• “This money will be used to fund vital local services in your own areas,” said the Department in a statement.

Is the government permitted to indulge in such obvious lies? Where is the accountability?

• How many of the 600000 are people that are exempt???????
    They aren’t saying how much €€€€€€ they have collected.
    This House Owner Tax is Discrimination against those people who try to better themselves by trying to buy their own Home,

• @ Pat
      Unfortunately not all of us were in a position to get a mortgage and buy a home, I never was. And although (as I have stated many times over the plast couple of weeks in my posts) I live in a council owned property and am exempt from this charge but I WILL be marching tomorrow, to show my, and give my support to those like you who have bought their homes. This attitude of them (council tennants) and us (home owners) is not helpful and does nothing but play into the hands of the Coalition, who have taken the lead from Mountbatton – Divide and Conquer. United we stand, divided we fall.

• Oh and just to add to that, buying a home doesnt equate to bettering yourself. After all John Gilligan had a very nice home surrounded by several acres, Tony Felloni managed to buy houses for his kids and CAB are doing quite nicely from the acquisition of property that was bought by scum with their blood money. I on the other hand may live in a council owned peoperty but I went back to University when I was 30 to better myself.

• These figures have been verified independently? I doubt it.

• I posted my flyer back in a shiny brown envelope with a big stamp .. That’s about all that was in it ! Don’t pay won’t pay !

• Sulk Hogan, time to throw your rattle outta da pram!

• Looks like round one goes to the non payers,we all deserve a clap on the back for standing up to these bullies we call a government. we hve to stay strong and stick together on this,it’s the only way forward.

• By any measure its a failure. More than 50% wont pay. Unjust laws should be resisted. This is unjust by any measure and our government should be ashamed to involved in such behaviour.
    Now if they were bullied by Phil into going along with this, then Kenny and Gilmore should grow a pair.

• Great reading folks! I can’t believe the figures either – I too know only 1 person who has paid. This is truly the best form of protest, so as the Vita Cortex workers say, keep her lit

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

Plenty of people have paid. But they’re afraid to say so. If you read the comments on this thread you’ll see why.

• skeolawn 31/03/12 #

That’s right Nicola, some people have paid because they’re scared. Bully boy Hogan and his Black Bag Mafia have prevailed. However, many others have shown true Irish spirit and are sticking up for themselves.

• I’m absolutely opposed to this tax as much as anyone, but do not hate those who have found themselves so afraid they have payed. Fear is driving the payment. Shame on you Phil hogan. Do we not already pay enough. Next you will tax the words we speak. What reward have you been promised for your betrayal of our people and land. May you choke on your 20 bits of silver.

• Even the Gardai had to issue warnings to people after big phil told us that he was going nto send (innocent) council workers to remind us to pay up . What an idiot . Has he never listened to himself ? Imagine threatening people in their own homes, and then having con men following his suggestion up… Phil you are a plank.
      Nicola @
      There are children starving in this country too.

• @anton, if your looking for a troll, I’d suggest you look in the mirror.

• jimbo 30/03/12 #

Half of them envelopes are returned blank forms.
    Dont pay..

• Sad day for Ireland that 600,000 hand over 100E at a whim.. Wonder how many of these will hand it over so easily next year when they hike it to 200/300/400…

• Exactly. Next time they’ll have a e200 a year lawn tax and off goes the stupid sheep. Sometimes I wonder how the hell we got our country back in the first place! Such a pity we all can’t stand together as one, although 1million people isn’t bad!

• I also wonder about how Ireland got independance when people are so gullible. The gutless 600k were obviously not decended from anyone who fought for Irish freedom. If they did they would have more Balls.

• yet again the government target the silent majority (ie. working/middle class) who they know are too busy trying to earn a living that they wont protest.. If they were to cut the dole/pension or even apply the property tax to council housing there’d be marches on the dail.

• Maybe they paid because you people make them want not to be accosted with you. All this name calling is pathetic. I’m not paying but with people here spouting on the way they do it’s no wonder nobody protests and it’s no wonder people don’t vote for change (vote left), it’s because they don’t want to be associated with assholes!

• That’s right Gerry, we prefer to associate with a better class of people.

• Let’s see here. Oh! 1 million still have not registered. Looks like the goose is almost cooked. Only one winner here.
    THE PEOPLE!!!!! Finally Irish citizens are waking up and taking a stand.
    Don’t register, Don’t pay, We paid enough tax on our homes in stamp duty. Now piss off!!!! Gov and their trolls!!

• Bullshit!

• mike 30/03/12 #

The Poll Tax was Defeated in the UK. How? By mass none payment.

• Dave 31/03/12 #

True, but they just got a council tax instead.

I am in the “not paying” camp. For me, its conditional – i’ll pay when there are major cuts in political salaries and pensions, when local govt is reformed, when the ECB is faced down and something credible is done about “our” debts. It is no longer acceptable for a government to lie its way into power. If they dont do the job I pay them to do – then they dont get paid. Very simple.

When i see progress on the above, Then I will pay. Til then – nothing.

• I hope people stand firm. This is an ideal non violent way to protest against what is happening and say enough is enough. If we buckle then we truly are a spineless divided nation

• @ youbetterpayup
    Would be a lot more apt if you could shut up, whatever about people choosing to pay or not to pay, this world would be a lot better off without pricks like yourself trying to stir the pot only for the sake of it. True cowardly and downright sick behaviour, even by FG standards who i imagine would disown you were you affiliate yourself with them. I’m all for free speech but not agitators like you who bring nothing productive to this country. Shame on you and EU and Steve the prick as well

• All tyranny needs to gain a foothold is for people of good conscience to remain silent.

• oh roll on 4pm tomorrow and we’ll sit back and enjoy the weekend knowing the traitors in leinster house have failed miserably on this one.

• alan 30/03/12 #

More spoofing, don’t know anyone paying

• Remember that scene from Spartacus
    when the Romans have captured them
    and they shout out “Who’s Spartacus?”

Spartacus replies “I’m Spartacus!”
    Them the whole group gets up one by one and shouts
    “No, I’m Spartacus!”

Well……to make a short story long…..
    Anton, Revolting Peasant isn’t a scruffy useless twat
    “I’m a Scruffy Useless Twat!”

• mike 30/03/12 #

So approximately 1 million have not paid yet. Am i right?

• If a government is elected by a majority to reflect the wishes of the majority, and the majority don’t want this tax/fee then, then isn’t the government obligated to follow the mandate from the people?

• mike 31/03/12 #

The Poll Tax in the UK was Defeated. How? By mass none payment.

• Sean 30/03/12 #

With So many household owners abroad, I can see some opportune gov. Officials looking to make trips to the middle east, Australia, uk etc to hunt us down for a 100e . …. Maybe they’ll get to bring the family too, it’d be
    nice for them to get a break…… Pack of shi-sters

• Lies!!!!

• The best form of protest is the boycott which is working. That will be the biggest laugh. The government are grasping at every PR stunt in the book. They could do with some monkey butlers or something on unicycles to push the figures.

• @ mike – I’m certainly not a scrounger & I’m definitely not your friend. I pay all of my taxes & have done so for many years but unlike you I have made a stand because I believe this so called charge is the thin end of the wedge. I certainly don’t believe this money will be used for anything other than making a database for being screwed for far more unjust & regressive govt pickpocketing in future years. Open up and say baa why don’t you!

• What a load of dog doo doo! My arse they have….

• B7584 30/03/12 #

LIIIIIIIEEEESSSSSSS.

• What is the fine for non payment and how will they know you haven’t payed ?

• mike 30/03/12 #

68% of people have still Not Registered.

• i find it hard to believe they have anything like that number registered or payed

• they can feck off if they think we are going paying it, either are my parents. another tax to line ‘the boys’ pockets. If this tax will go to infastructure in our area id love to see the re surfacing of a road in my area. other than that feck off :/

• Todo 30/03/12 #

Still a million forms out there’ as household charge deadline approaches> So which one of you Antitaxers has been goin around gathering up forms in order to give Phil false hope
    ? :)

• listen to the moaners in their sitting room when they have to 1300 a year from 2013. the spin is unbelievable and the good old Irish are believing it . I said it before 1916 the people didn’t have this techonology and did better than us.

• The poeple of 1916 were men and women who stood up to an empire…..they got their strenght from thoese men and women who stood against bad pay and conditions for the work they had to do and the crap they took from employers in 1912……..I think 100 years later the clock has fully turned……A nation is rising

• my dad is 72 and up till now the man refused to pay, but now he is worried about late fines and other outcomes. The bullying tactic of the government once again is prying on the venerable. Anybody have some good advice for him???

• He’s worried about having to pay an extra e10 by September and e20 by Xmas? Why couldn’t people hold off together. Worst scenario, pay extra e30 over 12 months. There is also a 1% charge per month. But no, the sheep will always go by themselves.

Tell your dad not to worry. Support him. There will be a million people with him.

• Tell your dad not to worry, there are 1 million households fighting his corner for him. Tell him to go to his local at 1.30 tomorrow afternoon and have a pint and support local jobs/businesses. We’ll do his marching for him and take down Phill the black sacks Hogan :O)

• Nicely made point, Ann and I hope your dad gets served an equally well served pint.

• A lot of people are just saying that they are not paying, but low and behold… They ARE. This was bound to happen…

• “It’s only €2 a week” …. this year

Next year it’s just over €20 per week (€600 confirmed already for next year)

the ideal they want to get to is €1000 per year – so over the lifetime of your home, you’ll pay €40,000 to €60,000 extra with this levy — which for alot of people is two to three years pay AFTER taxes … which is like working for three years for free for additional taxes to pay banking debts …….. feel any better now if you’re one of those whose paid & have just legitimised a path to €1k per year as disposable income is squeezed even further with increased fuel costs that increase food costs etc etc?

• Hello Ann That was my idea of a joke I write songs and jokes in my spare time Im writing a country song at the moment its called Love in the country I will send it to a country singer and if it becomes a hit I get a few bob It goes like this I wake the morn just after dawn look ot the window and see …………………I love reading the blogs because they are funny sometimes and give me material for jokes and songs.

• Aib already has the begging bowl out so to the 600000 suckers out there that’s probably where your money will go

• True story – A person in Wicklow with 26 years remaining on the mortgage contacted the Bank and requested in writing what percentage of the house they owned! The Bank replied back in writing confirming they own 3% of the house meaning the Bank ( who holds the deeds ) own the balance which being 97%. The Wicklow person has offer to pay 3% of the charge and written to The government along with giving a copy of the letter and stated they can ask the Bank for the balance of the payment ! …… Interesting stance…

• Funny how they only remember what they want to…..This is for the FG/LB trolls……enjoy.
    http://irishelectionliterature.wordpress.com/2010/01/16/they-will-tax-the-roof-over-your-head-fine-gael-anti-property-tax-leaflet-1994/

• I checked breakingnews.ie this morning it said over 400.000 paid-now by this evening they re saying over 600.000 paid I doubt they’ve had 100.000 people pay in that space of a few short hours. fox news spin at its finest

• alan 30/03/12 #

I seriously doubt their figures, their politicians for jaysus sake all they do is lie. Spin away, progressive tax my hole, they were told to get €1billion off the peasants so expect north of €600 a year. Well see how many cough that up on top of water charges and everything else. And then they will wonder why retail sales are down for the last 50 months. Austerity doesn’t work, the unemployment numbers show this. You can’t tax your way out of a recession and this is more stealth taxes. Pity people are scared into this, see how long before we finally snap.

• Well alledgedly they are processing 5000 payments per hour. Pity they cant be that efficient and produictive in all government departments. Provide government service like that right across the board and I think you will find that people wouldnt mind paying more tax.

• All the hogan fan boys on here are just annoyed with themselves for being utterly gutless & stumping up their money when it’s apparent to them now that they are not the majority. They should have used way more lube before Phillis made them bend over! Saps.

• Bar north korea and china, we are the most compliant people in the world and you don’t even have to threaten to kill us. “We do as we’re told” its the new slogan of ireland.

Similar to our need for houses, it must be linked to the centuries of foreign occupation.

• This is a flat out LIE! Only yesterday hogan was saying over half a million had paid yet on the 6 o’clock news it was 438,000. Talk of absolute bullshit. I’m more shocked that this amount of people have paid because everyone of my extended family, friend and colleges have not paid this tax. Everyone I meet has not paid this tax talking in local pubs and shops. Maybe there is a rural/urban divide on this one.

• I can not see how they have that many ? Every person I speak to have not paid,,,

• oooh some hostility there, i might inform you that so far only 1,000,000 people have not paid, i feel sorry for you if you did pay

• Actually, would have been better if we had each glued our card to a brick and returned it with no stamp — Arrogant Asshole Phil would have had to pay double postage…

• Nicola I read your threads I believe your very much misguided and while you will probably deny it you are more than likely 1 of the minority like enda (the fatted calf granddaddy of Leinster house) who are very much out of touch with the reality for families on the ground who have struggled on in this state inspite of mismanagement and systematic corruption but have drawn the line on this issue and will protect their family and their home against this tax ,I for one will never pay this tax and shame on those people who support this attack on people’s homes .

• Nicola 31/03/12 #

You have no idea who I am. Don’t you dare make judgements about me based on a few lines typed on a website.

• Nicola, don’t type lines on an open forum posted on the WORLD WIDE WEB if you don’t want to be judged. !!

It’s common sense, same as not paying this corrupt tax this excuse of spineless, inept and shameful government are trying to scare us into.

NO WAY WE WONT PAY!!

See you later today Nicola.

• Nicola 31/03/12 #

I should be able express an opinion without having my personal character called into question, I think you’ll find.

• Hey all,

It’s great that this issue is creating so much debate but can we please stop the name-calling.

As I’ve said a couple of times above, opinions can be made without throwing insults at other commenters. It goes against our comments policy and they may be deleted.

So, seriously, keep it clean and respectful!

Thanks,
    Sinead

• Spineless nation of cowards we are…

• I agree. A chicken has more balls then most of the irish when it comes to protesting.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

Has it occured to any of you that some people haven’t paid because they ‘have no balls’ or are afraid? Some people genuinely believe that paying it is the right thing to do. I paid it because I can (just about) afford to do so and I feel a responsibility to take a hit if needs be. I have the right to this opinion. It’s not driven by fear, idiocy or weakness. And I won’t be ridiculed for it.

• Well , I did not get us into this debt , It is not my debt , I wsill not pay this , and Nicola I am no fool either . I hope you will be able to just about pay it next year when it is €600

• But Susie you did get us into this debt, we all got us into this debt. 95% of our 14 billion overspending this year is not going to pay for banks… fact. Even if we’d never paid a red cent into a bank we’d still owe the majority of the money we borrowed… fact. So anyone who uses government services, works for the government or is on social welfare is responsible for that overspending. Every nurse, teacher and guard is responsible, every patient in a hospital is responsible. Every person on a low rate of tax is responsible. You get the idea. Far easier to demonise the bankers for it all though isn’t it..
      There will be a full property tax introduced here, there is no doubt about that. A real property tax is a sustainable tax on wealth and is seen and used that way all over the world. But bizarrely much of the left in this country are against it. We do not have a sustainable tax base now… fact and we need one…fact. The sooner we stop listening to quick fix nonsense and we start protesting about things that we can change the better for us all.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

The difference, Susie, is that I didn’t call you or anyone else a fool for not paying, whereas throughout this thread people who have paid are being labelled as such. I didn’t individually get us into this debt either, but I do believe tough devisions have to be made to get us out of it. I also believe we should have a sustainable & fair property tax system, which I hope this will lead to. I dislike handing money over as much as anyone else, but in this case I feel it’s the right thing to do. I 100% understand and respect the choice of people who are refusing to pay. Having read this thread, I do not believe that the same courtesy is being afforded to myself and others who have chosen to pay.

• Nicola
      ….and through out this thread people who have not paid are called scroungers …..go figure . I have been called many nasty names also opn other threads by other people .So maybe it is time for you and your friends to grow up and stop being so so selfish and self absorbed
      Gary @
      I have worked all my life as had my father (RIP) and it is because of the combined efforts of us that you and your little blue shirt friends can read and write and have arses to your trousers and possibly shoes on your feet .

• And straight to the name calling. I stated some facts for you. You don’t have to like them or me but they’ll still be facts.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

I’m selfish and self-absorbed because I complied with law and paid a tax that you happen to disagree with? Whatever. I tried to engage in a rational debate with you. But by resorting to name-calling, you’ve proven yourself to be incapable of intelligent, adult discussion. Good work, and best of luck changing the world, one inarticulate post at a time.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

And incidentally, Susie, the argument of ‘it’s not my fault, why should I pay?’ is pathetic. I didn’t personally cause children to stave in Africa, but I believe I have a duty to donate to charity. It’s called social responsibility. Look it up.

• Gary, you have to recognise that Ireland had a form of property tax, the stamp duty paid at purchase. It was not a fair type of tax as it did not relate to ability to pay but to ability to borrow. We know now that borrowing and lending was screwed up. Many people have paid enough tax on their homes to satisfy any reasonable taxation system already.

• nicola,
      you want to talk about social responsibility?????

What of the 1000’s of homes that are right this minute in THIS country
      simply just surviving?
      Merciful Jesus,
      don’t get me started.

Would you also not believe that you have some social responsibility to stand by them
      by NOT paying it?
      well, you’ve paid it, so clearly you do not believe in them

• Gary
      No I did not get us into this situation … You are so funny …NOT.
      Go and play under your bridge some where else like a good little boy.

• if people dont agree with you’re comment you are branded a troll or called names.

• Hey guys,

Can we please refrain from making these comments personal. If you need a refresher of our comments policy, take a look here: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/

Thanks,
      Sinead

• Terry I have sympathy for what you’re saying but stamp duty is a transaction tax, not a property tax. It was just too politically risky for any party to lower that and introduce a real property tax. Which meant of course we blew all the transaction money fast and are now looking for fix the mess.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

Yes, Joseph, you’re right. Refusing austerity measures designed to get the country back on its feet over time is EXACTLY how best to help those people. I know, let’s boycott income tax too. And motor tax. And anything else that we don’t feel like paying. And the government will then obviously magic up the money we NEED to ensure we can still pay things like benefits to the exact people you’re talking about.

• THE wind up s on this is disgraceful .. It reminds me ot the abortion referendum years ago when the cloistered nons and brothers and priests were all wheeled vout to cast the no votes , yet they never came out to vote before. The trolkling is evidence of the fear of the do as youare told brigade.
      I hope to see all of the people who wont pay tomorrow at thew garden of remembrance tomorrow, we will have another great day like we did last saturday …. Good night my friends and comrades.

• nicola,
      the boycott income tax, road tax etc is an old argument.

read other peoples posts on that, it explains it.

these other people im talking about are people who would be liable for this tax,
      many of them are whats left of a decimated middle class.

good for u for paying it.

good on those who see this as a bridge too far.

Nicola, what do u make of enda kenny statement from 1994
      about a household tax being morally wrong?
      will u use the ‘we’re in a crisis’ argument?

cause if we’re in a crisis, shouldn’t EVERYONE help out?
      Shouldn’t the G work for the minimum wage till the
      ‘crisis’ is over?
      wouldn’t that send out a message to us peasants, no?
      God knows most of them have earned at least a million+
      during their careers as elected representatives.
      Let them lead by example, let them dig deep too.

If the do that I will start to believe them.

• oh and nicola,
      ur right in one regard, the Gov is very good with magic and money,
      only in their case they’ve mastered the Dis Appearing act.

Seroiusly, is the change people voted for in the election?
      Is this the change Enda promised us?

• @ Nicola
      People are not just protesting because they are being told to pay this. People are protesting and not paying because it is unfair. The developers, the bankers, the corrupt politicians and their cohorts played a leading role in creating the mess that we are in and yet they are still walking around with the rewards they reaped from us . Why should someone who owns a house that they paid 300.000 for have to fork out 100 notes while at the same time people who could afford to spend a million+ are only expected to pay the same amount.
      You have chosen to pay this charge and I wish you all the best and I do hope that in 5 years time when they send you out a bill for 1000+ you are still of the same frame of mind and are still in a position to pay. Are you forgetting that if James O’Reilly gets his way every person in this country will be putting their hands in their pockets to pay for universal medical charge which he is basing on the dutch model. And do you realise that if HE gets his way that will cost a family of four 2,500 euros (basing that price on what they currently pay in the Netherlands). Nor shoud you forget that we will be paying for water in the near future. So from where I’m standing, I can see every household in this country being worse off to the tune of 4 / 5000 euros in 5 years time. And that is why I am protesting. The only thing on that list I will have to pay for is the water charges and I could take on the roll of “I’m all right Jack” but I wont, and I will walk past Daniel O’Connell & Jim Larkin tomorrow, shoulder to shoulder with my fellow country men & women, and with my head held high in support of the working and midde classes who work hard to earn their money and keep this county going.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

I’ve said several times, I understand why people disagree with this charge, and I respect their position completely. What I have a problem with is the fact that because I have a differing opinion and have chosen to pay, i’m considered by many to be a fool and a ‘sheep’.

Of course Enda Kenny called it morally wrong in the past – he was in opposition. It’s the job of the opposition to get elected, and generally they’ll say whatever it takes. That’s not right, but it’s a fact, and it’s true all over the world.

In my opinion, this government couldn’t do anything at all to please everyone. I agree that the €100 being the same for everyone is unfair – even the government are saying that – but I do believe, as I said before, that their strategy of moving towards a stable, fair property tax system is the right one. We should have had this all along. The fault for the huge amount of stamp duty we all paid lies with the government of the day – and that money is long gone.

I was swept up in the mood of the crazy years, and foolishly bought a second home in 2006 to rent out. I’m not a barrister, a banker, i’m not rich. I’m just normal. But I wanted something to fall back on financially and at the time property was it. Getting the mortgage was no problem at all. They practically handed it to us on a plate. It was the stupidest thing I ever did. The rent it brings in now covers around 50% of the mortgage, and to make up the difference I work full time and leave my kids every day. If I hadn’t bought that house I might be able to at least go part-time. I blame myself for that choice I made in 2006. I regret it every day. I may not be on the breadline (yet) but I am under pressure. But I can’t go through life blaming the ‘system’, or the bank who lent me the money, or the government who were in power, or the developers. I made the choice I made. And in doing so I contributed to the problem. So now, I paid my household charge (on both houses) to try and contribute to the solution.

• nicola,

you say you are paying for 2 houses despite the hardship it is causing you,
      and fair dues.
      but you then go on to say
      “And in doing so I contributed to the problem”

I’m confused by that. If you are paying off your debts, as is right,
      how did you contribute to the problem? Your paying off your debts.

Not only now are you willing to pay off ur debts, you are paying off
      private banking too.

You are also paying bertie aherns pension, flynns pension,
      the FF TD’s who got their goodbye money and pensions,
      a regulator who didn’t know his ass from his elbow,
      how much did he get, AND he gets a pension,
      the list goes on.
      and not one politician or banker has been convicted of ANYTHING???

And you are in favour of heaping more misery on ordinary people,
      who are picking up the tab for these w@nkers,
      by adding yet another bill to them??

Lets get real here.
      People are being broken,
      Im close to being broken financially
      and mentally by the sheer weight of it all.
      It gets too frustrating for words
      and i will not support any government who leads from the REAR.

If they want me to support them,
      let them start with themselves first.
      And Ive no more time or patience for their LIES and political games.

THE GAMES ARE OVER

• Non-fools have only one house. Non-sheep didn’t pay the blackmail tax.

• There is a terrible cruel streak in people here , a cold frigid hollowness . Thank goodness I am who I am , as I could not bear to be so callous. > Big day tomorrow . Can not wait :)

• Nicola: good girl!

• Nicola: “Refusing austerity measures designed to get the country back on its feet over time is EXACTLY how best to help those people.”

That’s not what they’re designed to do. Austerity measures do not recover an economy, save for a few exceptions when paired with other measures such as devaluation of currency, etc.

They are an ideological push from the currently center-right EU who’s ideology floats somewhere between corporatism and the Austrian school, a largely discredited school of economics.

This isn’t a conspiracy either there are any number of reasons why that is. Money at the bottom, generally, gets spent faster as opposed to being horded at the top. This helps keep local business alive, etc. basically in a recession there’s a reduction in spending overall, so if the state doesn’t spend either, we’re all fucked.

You have a right to your own opinion, but when you start saying things like this it doesn’t make it look like you’ve done any research of your own here. Austerity does not save anyone except the elite, and even that is questionable if you end up tanking the economy completely.

• cant believe that many people paid. talk about selfish and cowardly. couldnt even wait a month or two to make a point. and dnt give me the crap about paying our way. iv paid enough. cut the td wages or introduce wealth tax. dnt mind paying my way once its fair. people need to make a stand. i for one do not want to lie on my death bed in shame knowing i didnt make a stand and left my children and their children to pay the price. the problem is people only care about themselves. id rather make a stand now and suffer the consequences than rob my children and future grandchildren of any chance of a future.

• I’ll go off and tell my retired father, a man who worked six days a week most of his life, he’s a fool. Some stranger on the internet with no real alternatives says so, so it must be true.

He, like many other people, would like the state to be more efficient but also realise we have a completely unsustainable tax base, made that way by Fianna Fail in order to buy elections. And it worked they did buy the elections. People sit here saying that politicians don’t keep their promises but woe betide any politician that came to our doors and told the truth. They’d never get elected.
    It’s odd, during the bubble years we had less government efficiency and more government corruption but very little protest. As long as our general taxes were going down and we believed our house was ‘worth’ a million we didn’t give a shít. Now that the reality of our poor choices are coming home to roost we want to protest. Too little and too late.

• Well tell you what Gary, I’m sure my father, who grow up in abject poverty and was sent out to work at 9 years of age and often worked 7 days a week on top of overtime worked Mon – Fri to keep food on his families table, not squander it in the pub, and who at 69 years of age is still working 37 hours a week, will explain the follies of your fathers ways to him, for you. My father will be out marching tomorrow for not just his flesh and blood, but also for your father, to have one less taxbill coming through his door every year aswell as through your childrens when their time comes.
      So you sit back tomorrow and watch the footie

• I love your bravey please tomorrow go into your local and spout the same bs as you done here tonight and i think you will avail of those local services the gov want you to pay for.Namely an ambulance.

• @Gary: your generosity and dedication to our country brings a tear to my eye!

• jimbo 30/03/12 #

Youbetterpay up would you ever get back under the bridge,the grumpy oul troll.

• Man didn’t land on the moon and 9/11 was an inside job….

• shame on those who paid that tax. Once again the people of Ireland once again you allow the governent that alot of you elected in the first place add another tax to those you already pay letting them bully you. This is wrong. When will the people of Ireland finally unite as once and stand up for themselves and their fellow neighbous and revolt against this ludicrous tax that WILL continue to rise.

i find it hard to believe so many are regustering and paying, this needs to stop. The days of regrets are over have some pride and unite as one against this tax. Dont let media outlets telling you thousands have paid so they put fear un you that your on your own. Most if not all of these media’s are owned partially or fully by those who want you to pay this tax, the government.

• So i have paid but what’s the fine for others who don’t? Are we just the fools?

• Census figures reveal there are about 600,000 gobshites in Ireland.

• i keep saying that the bank owns most houses in ireland so they should pay the €100 not the people living in them

• Propaganda springs to mind, a cheap way to get people to pay shame on this governnent and those advertising there reports. If 62 million people payed that charge i find it hard to believe the Irish are truly as bad off as they say un this recession. :-(

• One would imagine ‘Big ‘ Phil, our highness , a personal friend of one Michael Lowry will be wearing a flak jacket with a Garda escort in his parties Ard Fheis tomorrow .. Because he’ll need it ..

• gary, don’t be so sure of yourself that this is too little.
    as for late,
    well, better late than never

• mike 30/03/12 #

The Poll Tax was defeated in the UK. How? Mass none payment.

• Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies Lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

This whole thread is a disgrace. Be anti-household charge all you like. But please stop name-calling and bullying those of us who hold a different opinion.

• gutless, sheepish conservative Irish poeple. some things never change!

• So People are gutless and conservative because they pay tax to support the country to get out if this mess…how do you suggest we bring ourselves up to a level where we can fend for ourselves?? Suggestions please? Sound ecomonic ones now lads- not just jibberish airly fairy ones that are based on junior infant sums…

• I know we need the money, but it would be easier to swallow if there was some kind of accountability. ANY kind. So far, the bankers, developers and politicians have f$%cked the country. And we have to help sort it out, but there has been NOOOO accountability. Not only is no one is in jail, no one has even lost their pension!!!!!

• What is with all the name calling. Some of you are acting like children. Its time for some of you to act you’re age. If people paid it then that is their choice. No need for the name calling.

GROW UP!!!!

• *paid

• sorry my mistake above. 600,000 sheep.

• Sorry Norman but I dont have a local – I cant afford to go out.

• look they are going to have to get the money somehwere..so rather than increased income tax or someother surcharge just paid for it and got it over and done with.sacrificed a meal out and a few drinks for two and its done for a year.this wee finacial hole we got people aint going to fill itself.no,i dont like it..but hey the good days are gone.

• Gerard 30/03/12 #

And what about next year, how many meals will you need to sacrifice than?

• @Michael: did you ever hear the story “how to boil a frog”?

The premise is that if a frog is placed in boiling water, it will jump out, but if it is placed in cold water that is slowly heated, it will not perceive the danger and will be cooked to death. The story is often used as a metaphor for the inability of people to react to significant changes that occur gradually

Enough is enough. During the Haughey era people just lay down and took the pain. That’s not the to run a democracy. It’s time the Irish people stood up for themselves.

• Who goes out for meals any more ? I Don’t drink and I had to give up smoking ( not a bad thing health ways) because I can not afford them.

• @ Michael Murphy you write ” “this wee hole we got”. This ‘wee’ hole was created by the troika of Irish banks, autioneers, and builders…it’s their hole, they should fill it in! No offense Michael but if we fill in this hole they’ll find us another one to start working on.

• And next year it will be the equivalent of a meal out for 12 and drinks for 12 etc etc. you see this is about not allowing our children be taxed for wanting a simple basic right. To live under a roof.

• jimbo 31/03/12 #

When the final tally is revealed i cant wait to announce new user names for the obvious here lol.

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

No need to feel sorry for me, thanks all the same. You need to learn to respect the opinions of others.

• Oh so the Red Thumb Brigade must be people who are living in Council houses Suckling off the state,

• So are the people who are on the dole. Sponging off the state

• You’re are right Pat. You are a troll youbetterpayup. Does your mommy know you’re online?

• most council hose tenants pay as much rent as private rental accommodation, another example of our divisive society, blaming those less well off for your own misfortunes, so susceptible to propaganda, it would be funny if the sentiment wasn’t so rotten

• people who live in council houses are clever. They dont have to pay a mortgage.

• but they do pay rent, which is better? rent or mortgage? depends on how much of the mortgage you have paid but i would consider in general a mortgage is better

• @youbetterpayup thank you for your lovely taxes, im counting them right now

• Revolting Peasant

paying you’re local council rent every week is a lot cheaper than paying a mortgage to the bank

• like i said, it depends on the mortgage, my sister lives in a council hose that she pays €620 a month for, i would be surprised now if there wasnt some mortgages at that price, my own mortgage is only €50 a month more than that

• Okay people as I’ve continually stated I am with you all the way in your protest but this council tennants bashing has to stop! Why should people who live in mould infested flats and houses pay an extra 100 euros on top of their rent for the privilege of living with other peoples sewage coming up through their plug holes. Have any of you ever walked into you home and found it completely flooded because the the water and waste pipes are so old that they are starting to disintegrate. In my previous flat I was flooded on a weekly basis. Everytime the woman that lived over me turned her washing mahine on, my kitchen was flooded. Every time she had a shower the water ran down the walls in my hall and bathroom. It got to the stage where I actually just got her to use my washing machine, because all the council did was a patch up job everytime they came to fix the problem – a good oexample of council waste, why fix the problem whin you can just patch it up every 2 or 3 weeks. How many of you know how much rent the conucil charges for living in these dwellings. Do you realise that some people are paying up to 160euros a week to live in what can only be called hovels. And where do you think that the money the council collects in rent goes. Because let me tell you it is not on the upkeep of their dwellings and housing estates. It is spent on providing public amenities for EVERYONE. And as a matter of fact it has only been in the last8 years that the council have decided to start putting playgrounds in the flats (to replace the ones that they had removed 20 years previously). and during those 20 years a whole generation of kids had only busy roads and streets to play on.

So enough of the council tennant bashing please.

• 1 last point – you do realise that the majority of tennats who live in Council houses in Tallaght, Clondalkin, Ballymun, Finglas, Darndale, Cabra, Coolock etc are actually buying their houses from the council, while those of us living in their flats are not allowed to buy them. The councils were taken to court on the grounds of discrimination in relation to the sale of flats, but of course, the big wigs for the council won the case. So for future reference, get your facts straight before you start your diatribe.

• That’s a lot of traitors!

• So is that 1million that have elected to pay on the double maybe treble by the times fines are included. More charges and fines means less left to be collected in income tax. Good news for PAYE workers in the long run.

• If these little green and red thumbs to actually have any power to perform a social shift in Ireland it would be brilliant, from what I can gather from this is that if you take the % of green to red in any given topic, it seems majority of red thumbs represent Fine Gael views & majority of green represent anti fine Gael views…just throwing it out there… Ive also just realised ubetrpayup is actually an very anti gov guy who actually puts up his comments to get people to dislike FG’s attempt at fixing the hole in the bucket. I like your style ubetrpayup green thumbs all the way from me lol. ….but people of Ireland can I just say no matter what happens to this country, history has shown us that no matter who came to our doorstep to take Ireland from its people over thousands of years they may have taken it for a short while but always left running from the Vikings to British empire.. We are resilient people and always have been …we will still go on rich or poor and be just as happy either way ..not foolish, but genuine happiness, with our friends and families . We have roots in every corner of this globe fear not for the emigrants they will return and if not they’re children will and there’s after. Why……..because we are all Irish….not ‘paddies’ Enda, Michael Martin, eamon Gilmore , Gerry adams, joe Higgins, …WE ARE IRELAND.MISE EIRE

• I’m happy to pay the charge.

I’m lucky enough to be able to afford it this time around and realistic enough to know the country will get the money one way or another.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his need. And all that.

Those who can’t afford it, can’t pay it. Those who can afford it, but object to it, won’t pay it. Those looking for a hook to hang it on, bang on about cowardice and conspiracies.

• If you can pay it now, wait till it rises, maybe your financial circumstances may change dramatically. Think of the bigger picture. This, like many or taxes will rise and get out of control. The wealthy getting wealthier and the poor get poorer. The picture of poverty ahead for many in my mind wreak of chaos.

But there will always be a few that believe utter us best to pay out, and continue to do this untill one day you wake up and realise just what corrupt policies you once agreed with, the very same ones that nay possuble keave you and your country in the gutter.

• and what happens when u can’t pay it next time round, or it
      could be the time after that?

If the NO campaign is broken, and next year or the year after you
      can’t pay, what will u do?

I think you may be a bit short-sighted on this.

• With so many now paid up, the gov are not in a position to reverse this. To that end, they are now compelled to secure these monies from those who haven’t paid. Measures will be put in place, be it an at source deduction, a lien on a house before it can be sold etc, an additional charge on a utility bill. This ain’t goin away…

• Baa?? To who, to all the other countries that are paying??? Those countries that are not in the mess we are in because we left the tax base too narrow for years to buy votes???? Think about things before you type….

• And which countries can you tell me have this charge in place that are living with low umemployment, first class medical infrastructure, economic growth, trustworthy & competent government etc. By all means enlighten me!

• I would just like to point out that when i lived in the UK I was paying council tax,(same thing as property tax), which was £320 per MONTH!

• What’s your point?

• True but most people prefer their politicians to tell them fairy tales about how we don’t need cuts and don’t need to pay taxes and sure ye can all have a job for life. No wonder Bertie got away with it for years.

• Mike Doyle
      go read something other than FG propaganda, educate yourself , and stop watchying RTE News too . they are great for putting a gov spin on things.

• So did I Shirley, and was happy to, but council tax is so far from this charge it’s untrue. Council tax goes to your council not the govt. so you know it’s there for local services, do you trust our govt. to redirect it there? I dont? In the UK you get an itemised bill showing where it went. Some to the fire service, no €500 call out. Some to the police. Rest to the council. No €300 a year on bins, is included, no USC, lower VAT, this is my money for nothing, not their money for services we will never get!

• Nicola 30/03/12 #

I resent that. I have paid it, and I can assure you i’m not a fool. I just have a different opinion to you. Calling people fools if they choose to pay is a bully tactic. At this stage some people must be feeling as bullied into not paying by the ‘anti’ side as they are into paying by the ‘pro’ side. I have the right to pay if I choose without being ridiculed for it.

• skeolawn 30/03/12 #

Just look at the company you find yourself in (see comment below)

• Amazing , Have you read any of the posts ? You come on here and repeat like you have no thoughts of your own , maybe you have been brow beatyen into this . and you are afraid , but Nicola you are being misled . Sadly so. Your government has let us all down . They have totally disrespected all of us , including their own ancestors.

• QSorry but you are a fool. No problem paying double or triple that next year? When do you personally call enough is enough? Seriously, do you see any of the injustice going on in this country?

I am upset by this payment because I was let go from my job after 20 yrs and now back to college. I’m struggling just to tax my car and feed my son. Now I’m expected to pay this also, the same as the likes of tubbs, pat Kenny etc.
      Do you see any fairness in that? I’m the victim as well as many ordinary middle class people but we keep getting screwed year after year. Why are you so quick to pay and as well as others here and are like cheser cats. What I say, shame on you people. Just because it’s ‘the law of the land’ doesn’t mean it’s right.

If a million people don’t pay, if it was a referendum or election that would mean something. But it’s all threats and bullying by Hogan and co. We elected them, who the fuck do they think they are bullying us!

• I predict there will be a reasonably significant number of protesters, but all it will get them is fines and more fines. All you yellow profile pictures and your bold posts will get is heartache. ( i like your pluck but its not enough sorry)
    We all wish things were better but they are not.
    Wait for the proper time to register your frustration ( I am NOT saying your frustration is not justified by the way) – the next general election – otherwise you are just pissing in the wind. These arseholes dont care because they know you cannot do anything to hurt them till then.
    And just remember all of you who voted for these twits, they probably would have done the same thing, made the same cuts, made the same taxes regardless of the economic conditions we have now, thats why they didnt get voted in before.
    (for an example – look at Australia who are making huge cuts to their public service etc and sacking thousands and their banks (who are billions in profit) who are cutting jobs while raising interest rates – in an economy that is considered to be very healthy =- the point is the middle to lower class always get screwed, dont think the Irish are alone in suffering.
    I end my late night pissed off rant but i want to say to you genuine good protesters – save your powder, wait for thr proper time, this protest wont hurt them enough for what you want, neither will the referendum. Got to find someone who can lead this country properly – devote your considerable energy to finding the people to do that.

• Wait a month or two to make point? What point is that? That we pay enough tax? We obviously don’t looking at our deficit… I want suggestions on how we can balance our books? All I’m saying is that we got to live in the real world for our children so we can get out of this mess for their sakes…I can’t see how that is selfish?

• it wnt stop at this household charge.the austerity will get much worse as the eu dictates to us. we need to make a stand now and say enough is enough. look at the figures released during d week that said in 2010 the top 10% of the wealthiest got richer and the bottom 10% got 26% poorer. there are other ways for d gov to get money. why didnt d bring in 1% wealth tax? and wait to introduce a proper fairer property tax? things are going to get much worse if we allow it to. i believe its selfish to do nothing now and do everyting we are told like sheep knowing full well the awful austerity coming down d line. knowing that by doing nothing now means condemning future generations to poverty. if we make a stand and still suffer by our own hands then so be it.but at least we would have an ounce of pride that we did our best.either way its austerity but id rather we remained irish and not yes sayers to the eu masters

• What is with the name calling. Stop acting like children and act you’re age.If people paid it then that is their choice.

Grow Up

• The same fools that never saw the crash coming still can’t see reality coming. Get over it. More people need to be paying their taxes in many ways. We can’t keep heading back to the bad old days of extremely high income tax of the 70s. We over spent and are still over spending. Get over it. Take the cuts. Take the wider tax base. Get real.

• A good start for a new tax. By year end it will be 100%.

• Do you call your own name respectful.
    Seemingly ordering everyone to see things your way. Heard of the right to protest have ya, you communist twat.

• Think I’ll change my name to
    Youbetterpayupyours
    Is that you Hogan?.

• I wonder how many people will be out protesting tomorrow. I cant wait to hear the figures. It is going to be laughable. :-)