TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Over half a million have paid the household charge

A poll today found 61 per cent of householders say they will pay the €100 charge, with 39 per cent saying they won’t.

Phil Hogan in the mailing room during a visit to the Household Charge Bureau in Dublin today
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

OVER HALF A million homes have now paid the €100 household charge according to the latest figures from the Department of the Environment.

Census figures today confirmed that there are just over 1.6 million households in Ireland – meaning that more than one million homes have yet to pay the charge with two days to go before the 31 March deadline.

Some local authority offices around the country will be opening on Saturday to deal with what the government has said will be a last minute rush.

A total of 35,087 properties registered to pay the charge between Wednesday afternoon and this afternoon. Meanwhile more than 10,000 properties have registered for a waiver.

Minister for the Environment Phil Hogan today visited the Household Charge Bureau in Dublin where more than €7 million in postal applications have yet to be processed.

A Red C/Paddy Power poll today found 61 per cent of householders liable for the charge said they would pay it, with 39 per cent saying they would not.

The poll also found that more than one in ten of respondents did not know if they were liable to pay the charge or not.

Phil Hogan thanked homeowners who had already paid the charge and encouraged those who haven’t yet paid to do so.

“Irish people have had a tough time of it over the last few years and, in spite of that, over half a million people have paid the Household Charge,” said the Minister.

They understand the importance of compliance with the law of the land and, by paying the Household Charge, they have made their contribution to the continuation of essential services at the local level. I would like to thank them for this.

Full coverage of the Household Charge >

Homeowners warned over bogus household charge collectors >

Read next:

Comments (236 Comments)

• So much for the mass protest…

Unless they get around to opening those envelopes and they’re all full of God knows what!

• Don’t be disheartened. There is well over a million of us unregistered. Glass is 2/3 full not 1/3 empty.

• Don’t be disheartened. I’d say a lot of those sacks contain “Feck the Charge Spoilt Registrations”! Remember together we can beat this. We cannot allow ourselves to be bullied.

Stand by those who cannot afford to pay this charge. Remember the CSO Reports yesterday.
      The top 10% in Ireland had an 8% increase in disposable income!
      The bottom 10% had a decrease of 25%!
      Its not bloody fair. We are being fleeced to pay bankers and speculators and gamblers. We need to stick together. Pleeeeeeeeease!

The fine is only €10 for first 6 months. Only €45 after a year. They have to bring you to court to levy this fine.

Please attend the protest march this Saturday. Garden of Remembrance at 1pm marching to Convention Centre. Please bring as many as you can. See ye there. :D

• paul 29/03/12 #

why does the headline not say “over 1 million have not paid household tax”.

• Because to say it the other way doesnt make for good propaganda!

• Dead on. They’re using every trick in the book to bully and harass people. And they’re still failing miserably..

• Probably because yesterday’s version of the article was called “over 1 million have not paid household tax”. The journal is just attempting to balance their reports. They could have easily have called the article “61% of those liable say they will pay the household charge”. I can understand the conspiracy theorists saying that the government is making up the figures. But for people to be implying that Red C polling or the Journal.ie are involved in some kind of propaganda machine in conjunction with the government is ludicrous.

• I’ve paid my for local services already. €15,500 stamp duty when I purchased my overpriced home five years ago. €300 USC every month from my salary. If our government can’t afford to fund our local services they’ll just have to become better at doing more with less. Practice what you preach guys. This well is dry.

• Lies, lies and more lies from this Government. If you don’t pay the household charge we won’t be able to afford to provide you with local services. But they can afford to buy Irish Life for €1.3 billion. I don’t believe you regarding planning investigations Phil, I don’t believe anything that comes out of your mouth, to be honest, but you wouldn’t understand that concept, would you?

• mike 29/03/12 #

I think the figure 39% may be wrong. As it was 29% at 4.30PM Today. There are statistics, statistics and down right lies.

• Why should ordinary people who are struggling as a result of austerity pay the same amount of money as millionaires living in Dalkey??? This charge is unjust & unjustified!!! I take heart from knowing so many people are willing to stand up to bully boy Hogan & the blueshirts! The smug arrogant Git!

• EM 29/03/12 #

What local services?
    I paid the fire service €500 recently, reckon I’m sorted for the next 5 years so.

• So you reckon 30cents a day is all you owe a whole fire station to be on standby, maintain equipment, and be ready to run into your burning building to rescue you and yours? You have a funny idea of fair.

• Darren 29/03/12 #

@ Eoin, it’s hardly down to one persons contribution to pay for an entire fire brigade. Also, fire brigade charges are generally paid by insurers, so your comment is pointless!

• C’mon Eoin, that comment is ridiculous and you know it. Are we not already paying for a fire service through our taxes, USC, prsi,VAT, DIRT,BIK, to name but a few of the means by which the revenue collect monies. I doubt the €100 is even going to fund local services. Cop on to yourself for god sake.

• Sure you have but the Firw Brigade are paid from county council which is funded by central government which collects taxes every week from all our incomes so already you paid twice and they want you to pay more with this HHC

• Nearly half a million out of 1.8 million is pretty pathetic take-up for the government. How many of those registered did so to avail of the waivers? A massive chunk clearly. And when the charge comes in next year and it becomes clear that the ‘its only e100′ is shown up to be bull, many of those will change sides.

1.3 million people holding the line. A matter of hours left before the deadline. Well done everyone, this has been a magnificent show of solidarity.

• No chance. 1 million of us in jail… nahh.

• Why the government propaganda headline? Why not 1.1million have not yet paid the household tax?

• Look at that gurning prick with his very best effort at a ‘smile’; the very same contrived one that he rolled out while cruising the doorsteps of Kilkenny begging for votes. I hope he ends up being remembered in the annals of history as the man that finally drew the wrath of the Irish people after four years of lies, spin and treachery and that he ruins this poxy excuse for a government. He’ll have earned it, the arrogant, scandalous, fork-tongued tyrant.

• I think thats the end of the proceedings for tonight All Rise.

• May I ask ” who believes Mr Phil liar Hogan’s Figures” ?????? I DO NOT

• On the Coleman show on newstalk106 last night he announced they had past the half a million mark , only for his news announcer to say 5 mins later that it was nearly a hundred thousand less than he said. Terrible that FG can’t gets one of its propaganda outlets to stay on message.

• People should not allow themselves to be bullied or stampeded into paying this unjust tax. Don’t register, don’t pay!!!!

• The bullying seems to be pretty heavy on both sides. The level of aggression on the dont pay side is as bad as the level of deceit on the governments side.

• @Sean Beag… Would you blame people for being pissed off?? Do you expect folks to just continue being good little boys and girls and shut up and put up so that the govt can continue to pull fast ones? There has been a tradition of being too civil in this country for too long, that’s why they have generally gotten away with this type of thing… It’s nice to see people speak up and stand for something now.

• really, is as bad?
      let me see,
      has the no side threathened people with court…… NO
      with fines………………NO
      With a lean against ur gaff………..NO
      Leafleted every gaff(well the G couldn’t pull that off)…..NO

So Sean B,
      stop talkin poo-poo

While Im here,
      DONT REGISTER DONT PAY
      or ill send a team out to hunt you down
      and kill yis, ya hear!! :-)

• It’s pretty sad if you have to resort to insults to prove your point. There’s plenty of people that have been able to object strongly without doing that. And the ire is not just directed at the government. It’s directed at anyone who dares disagree with the don’t pay mentality. And these are the people that accuse the government of facism.

• your insulted by my comment?

no sean, i think ur annoyed that ur comparison
      is false.

• Sean beag
      I am part of the anti house hold tax campaign , I actively canvass , not once haved I or anyone with me been aggressive , BUT , I have had the most awfull insults directed at me and my family and friends, It is I am sure a feeling of annoyance on the part of the pay up and do as you are told brigade , that they have paid the €100 and given their personal details for the ‘lists’ the are trying to compile in Europe ,that has made them so cranky and nasty . We are still smiling and will continue to do so . Have a nice evening and don’t forget to iron all your lovely blue shirts for the Party at the week end . :)

• No Joseph. I don’t bother addressing your comments too much.

And Susie, just read throught he comment threads on the journal and you can see the bile spit out by your side. Just read the comments above you.

• Well Sean this protest is our picket line and you will find that there is always aggresion when people pass the picket – fortunately or unfortunately such is human nature. And this 100 euros is taking 100 euros worth of food off the table of every rish citizen. And I have no intentions of allowing anyone to take my dinner without putting up a fight!

• now now sean,
      you don’t have to hurt my feelings like that.
      im a very sensitive soul.

but i don’t blame you for not responding to my posts,
      its hard for you to respond when you get caught out
      with your little porkie pies

keep spreading the BS sean,
      but not to worry,ill keep an eye on ya :-)

• Sean, there may be ‘bile spat’ but those comments that are that bad are in the minority. People being angry and speaking out with a strong opinion isn’t necessarily an ‘insult’ or ‘bile’ because it stands in contrast to your own opinion. Its fair argument. Learn the difference.

• Sean Beag
      I am middle aged and go out talking to my neighbours and friends and I meet other people and our campaign has spread by word of mouth. Not through un fair propaganda and a misuse of public media outlets…..

• Anger is no excuse for insult. Maybe for a child it is. And a picket line? It’s a free country Ann. Who are you to attack me for obeying the law? You believe in democracy yet attack people who want to do their part for the country because they don’t do it your way? Try directing your anger at the people who brought us here.

• Youre still not taking on board what we are saying. Anger expressed in an opinion isn’t always an insult so stop repeating that like a broken record. I don’t even know where to begin with your last comment Sean. I respect your right to an opinion but like try and use it wisely will ye?!

• Sean Beag
      It may be the law, but it is also our duty to protest against a bad law . Look at the suffragettes of 100 years ago .If they had not protested for the right of women to vote , women would not have the vote.
      We all have to choose.

• Don’t believe the propaganda folks. Those sacks are probably just stuffed full of cash from the fg councils in thanks to mr h for dropping the investigations into their planning practises over the past decade or so! Not paying – ever.

• Its actually 200 euros if you are on the top rate of tax. YOu have to earn 200 euros to get 100 euros to pay this charge. All other homeowners taxes elsewhere are tax deductable!

• Don’t tell me I’m still on that feckin island?!?

• Anyone i’v been talking to says their not paying the charge, could it be we’er being told tens of thousands have paid, when in fact they havnt…??!

• Theresa, people do not admit to things like conformity-to-the-law in Ireland. It is against or nature as a people to admit to such things. I suggest that some of the people you have been talking to (somewhere between a third and two thirds) have paid but they are not going to admit it to you. They know it is an unfair tax but have come to their own conclusion that they will pay it. They probably do not feel that they should tell anyone since they do not want to get into a confrontation or to have to justify why they have confirmed. I know I have only indicated to two people (in reality; not on the internet) that I have sent the 100 euro and I had convinced myself that they had probably paid before I did. Look at the comments on this site… just see how aggressive some people are….. why would someone put themselves up to such aggression in reality? I am sure you would not verbally attack someone who has paid or treat them differently afterwards, but there are plenty on this site who would react in such ways. Why would one of those who have paid open themselves up to such ridicule?

• L 29/03/12 #

They will be laughing at you when you have €100 plus charges to pay

• I believe the figures are lies yes

• mike 29/03/12 #

71% have not paid the HouseHold Charge Tax

• made 29/03/12 #

It’s all propaganda by the government, telling us that thousands are paying daily, this is only to try and get more people to pay trying to frighten people into it again. Stand against this arrogant smug bastard. DON’T REGISTER DON’T PAY.

• Aldo 29/03/12 #

Enough moaning about it. No amount of posting on this website will change anything. If you’re really that pi$$ed off then make your way into the protest on saturday. The more feet on the street the better.. Strength in numbers and all that… See yiz there…

• Aidan 29/03/12 #

Well said Aldo.

Property tax is bull.
      Implement it just cause other countries have it?
      Would you jump off a cliff if others did?

This is not the way to solve our problems.
      You cannot tax your way out of recession.
      This tax will increase astronomically and you’ll all be complaining when it does.

The lack of intelligence displayed on the forum here today makes me think that there may be some truth in those figures. If so, it’s a sad day for our once great country.

• @ Aiden,

Property tax is a sensible way of raising revenue that is stable and guaranteed. Remember one of the reasons why we’re in this mess is because a large chunk of our money came from taxes relating to purchases of houses and cars and other lavish spending items.

However, the way it is being handled now is a joke. Here in Holland property tax along with water charges is normal. But to show for it, the country has a top notch public transport network and the services are excellent. The government here will just take the sensibly earned property tax and use it to finance ridiculous things like the banking debt, instead of the high quality services Ireland deserves as a developed nation.

• Aidan 29/03/12 #

In that case if this tax is so reliable etc then lower other taxes to compensate.
      We cannot tax our way out of this.
      To think its possible is madness.
      I’ve nothing left to give.
      Same with many others.

• I agree that taxing your way out of a recession is madness, I learned that in my basic introduction course to economics so I’m gobsmacked that politicians think its a great idea.

But the idea of property tax and water charges make sense IF they would go towards improving public services. The roads are a disgrace, except for the privately owned Luas public transport is unreliable, water mains are in an appalling condition and gas/electricity prices are through the roof. The property tax should be going to addressing these issues but it won’t. Instead people will pay up to a grand just to foot the bill for debt that isn’t even the states to begin with.

• Ok I just had to leave this comment as I am wondering if anyone has asked this question. As we all are aware the ministers have to pay this charge on their own private homes which is fair enough, but we also know that they all have expenses that they can claim back. So I am wondering if they pay the charge and claim it back on expenses ( if they are allowed not to sure) doesn’t that make it a bit redundant in paying it and leaving us stuck with a bill which we can not claim back on expenses so therefore making it unfair.

And also wondering if this is for all the utilities that we use everyday and all the maintenance of our roads and areas well for the last 50 odd years how has this been paid without this charge. Just Wondering

• I’m just wondering since you have a very similar writing style to “youbetterpayup” are ye two prehaps related ?

• No Norman I am not. I have not been rude or abusive I just asked a question and was wondering if anyone else thought the same. The reason I asked was, why should we pay the charge if the Gov ministers are going to be allowed to claim it back on expenses.

• I’m sure they can take their families out for a nice meal and it would cover two or three household charges. Their expenses are unvouched, so we have no way of knowing what they do with them.

• I did not imply you were rude but from the comments you have posted along with others of a similar writing style as yourself i believe you are TROLLING.Also the fact you hide behind a Twitter account to my mind confirms this.

• @ Norman Hunter. Wow so you make a comment asking a normal question and you are considered a troll and as for hiding behind twitter a lot of people comment on here from twitter and facebook you can use one or the other. The only reason I came on here was to ask if anyone had thought the same or wondered if they could claim it back on expenses, because if they can claim it back then that makes this charge a redundant and unfair one . I am not saying people should or shouldn’t pay. That is an individual choice. But I would like to know if they are going to be able to claim it back as this would be completely unfair and go against everything they have said. That is all plain and simple

• I won’t use you screen name because i don’t know which one it is, but if trolling is how you get your jollies well then off with ya.Just sad.

• Because anyone who doesn’t agree with you must be trolling right Norman?

• @ Norman Hunter. Wow and this is why I generally don’t join social networks and the likes. I asked a perfectly civil question but I guess I am a troll. Wow and as for not knowing which one I am well I am the one that has responded to you how difficult is that. I like anyone else understands that everyone has an opinion and that is fine but I really don’t think I have said anything out of line or something that would make you think I am a troll. It was a general question. But if you want to think that hey that is fine with me. Have a good night

• @Sean no i’m happy to have someone disagree with my point of veiw but if you care to look at some of this posters comments and others of a similar style you’ll see why i stated what i did.

• The CSO figures show that there is over 2.004 million dwellings in Ireland (plus 4,000 completions in 2011). The fact that 14% are unoccupied does not mean they do not have to register, in fact they do have to register unless otherwise exempted. From the CSO figures the only clear group that do not pay or register are 190,000 in council rented dwellings. The rest must register. That is 1.8M plus. Using a figure 1.6M fed to the media my the government is sloppy. The significant number is 1.8M+ for registration liability. This is the function that attracts the largest of fines (Class C fine). Clearly the government talk in terms of 1.6M as it massages their failure figures a bit more in percentage terms.

If on Thursday the official day rate of payments is 35,087 and the 4pm official LGMA figure on Wednesday was 426,000 then the total has NOT exceeded half a million. If the journal is including unopened post in its figures, fair enough, but please state this. I notice in other media the LGMA is counting its chickens on the unopened post, they have factored in that €7.2 million is in the bags, but they also say that over the first 88 days of the collection they only collected €5million via post, which represents 17-20% of all registrations. The problem they will find is that only 9591 (5%) of the 200,000+ expected registrations from the waiver/exempt owners group has been registered up to Wednesday. Many of the remaining 95% could me in the unopened post, this will contain NO MONEY.

Also in claiming (again in other media today) that the have raised €44million so far, they have projected forward the direct debit payments received in the first 62 days. DDs were 20% of all registrations in that period and a good rule of financial accounting is to count the money after it arrives and not 9 months before is doesn’t.

I will be marching on Saturday to the Fine Gael Ard Fheis in Dublin. RIP Household Tax.

• My family and I intend to march this saturday against this” payment to bondholders tax” that goverment try to dress up as a” local council charge”.It is nice to see the people of this Nation are awake after a long slumber and are not afraid any longer.

• Shame. . . sixty percent. mother of Mary! bullied into it! completely. like a packa sheep. . typically Irish.
    we deserve everything we get. no solidarity nothin! disgraceful cowards!

• That’s a lovely picture of Phil getting ready to open his hate mail. Hope he likes the turd I sent him.

• mike 29/03/12 #

Has Phil Hogan TD paid yet???? And can he prove it. Oh that’s right nobody can prove they have paid.

• Who the hell are you, Big Phil’s lackey. It is an unjust tax on overburdened compliant tax payer’s, and the ballot box will sort this gobshite next time around.

• I wonder how many will be happy to pay 1300 Euro in two years time. that’s when they will moan about this change .too late then folks.

• According to the census figures there are almost 2 million houses in the republic with 14% of those unoccupied. not 1.6 million. I won’t be intimidated into paying.

• Govt propaganda

• 1 million have not registered. Um!!
    Power to the people!!!!!!!
    Don’t register,Don’t pay, Don’t believe the propaganda and spin. Take a stand against austerity once and for all.

• If those in local authority houses aint payin then i aint payin im sick and tired of funding their lifestyle while i pay a massive mortgage on my barnby shed…. If the left want communism fine then im not payin if their not.

• Here Here. Either “all” make a contribution or nothing. It’s not treating each citizen equally.

• I concur! :)

• @ Randy. I think you will find, that it is not necessarily a left, versus right argument in this case. My other half works with three people who live in council housing. Their other halves and themselves combined, earn on average between sixty and ninety grand a year gross. They pay a minuscule rent when compared to the private sector and do not have to pay this tax. I agree with you, that at least in these cases, they should have to pay also. Then contrast that example, with unemployed people trying to pay their mortgages and being told that they have to pay this tax. A ten year old child could come up with a fairer and more competent system of taxation,than these impostors. No offence to ten year olds intended!.

• @ Dhakina’s Sword. Sorry, but you are mistaken about all people in local authority housing paying a miniscule rent. If the tenants are working, the main earner in the household pays approx. 15% of earnings in rent per week. Then I think it is about an extra 15 euro or so for each extra person living in household, counting children. These figures may be a little out of date, it may have gone up. Therefore, there are some working people living in local authority housing, who are paying roughly the same in rent, as people with a small or medium mortgage. There is no ceiling to the rent payment, as it is based on household income, and the number of people in household. I think they call it a differential rent payment system. On the other hand, those who are unemployed or pensioners pay a much smaller rent … maybe it is these people you are referring to?

• Margeret, I take your points. I did not imply that all recipients of council housing were paying minuscule rental payments. Some, however do pay a fraction of the private rates. You seem to have taken from what I said that all council tenants pay a minuscule rent. My only point was that where both council tenants were earning well above the average industrial wage, then, how is it fair to ask unemployed people who are struggling to pay a mortgage, to pay this extra tax?.

• I have received NO info. in the post on the Household Charge. They say it’s for “everyone’s benefit ” as it goes to local services, and yet not “everyone” who use these services have to pay, i.e. those in local authority houses and those renting their homes, even though ‘they’, as much as everyone else, and More So, in fact, uses these services that are predominately available to those living in towns and cities, unlike myself! I’m already owe €110 for my Group Water charge!!!! :(

• That’s my gripe with it, Alan. Not everyone is contributing. It’s my view that everyone must make a contribution. That’s one reason why I choose not to pay. Aren’t we all suppose to be treated equally under the Constitution in a Republic ?

• Some people all talk no balls to stand up to this government if the money is ring fenced for local services what about people in rural areas with no footpaths or street lighting no services can any person tell me where their money is going I wonder will it go to those that don’t have to pay for various reasons on improving their estates etc

• Just wondering how many votes big Phil got from Carlow in the generan election to make the inquiry into local planning isues dissapear (i.e. the road to nowhere)

• I had a dream that Phil could put a household tax on every home in China…

• From my cold dead hands will they get this. Just saw the RTE news winding up the propaganda machine. Reminds me of a well oil propaganda machine that existed in Germany in the 30s and 40s. Mmmm.

• Are you honestly comparing a €100 household charge to Nazi Germany? Seriously? And they won’t have to take it from your cold dead hands. They’ll take it from your wages directly.

• He is comparing the behaviour of the current dictatorship to it yes…

Given the chance the old Blueshirts wouldnt be much different from the lovely right wing thugs of the Nazi party..

• Such a comparison is shameful Kevin and you know well why! Your comment is a disgrace.

• The Truth really does hurt these Blueshirts

• @Sean just to clarify something for you, they cannot take it from anyones income until they get an attachment order from a judge in a court of law.1million plus not paid might take a while for the attachment orders what do you think?

• more poo-poo there sean? maybe? perhaps?

• @Norman. I think there are about 35 district courts sitting five days a week. 46 weeks a year. i think that a case like this will take a maximum of five minutes (if even) of a judges time. If each exisiting court only spends 2 hours per sitting on these cases that’s 200,000 prosecutions in the year. Now if you factor in the likely scenario of special sittings dedicated solely to household charges as well I’d say evary case could be finsihed in the courts within a maximum of three years. That’s assuming 1 million don’t pay. But I’m sure you’ll probably accept that after the first 50000 convictions the level of compliance will rise dramatically and the outstanding cases will drop and will probably be done much quicker than that.

• sean, they start convicting that number of people,
      they’d better watch out.

if u think this is the height of civil disobedience
      let them convict masses of people
      and see what the outcome will be.

• @Sean, I think he was just comparing the efficient use of propaganda. Not the tax to the Nazis. At least that’s how it seemed to me, hopefully!

• @Sean i’m stunned you know so little about the legal system in this country.I have no problem with anyone paying the charge that is their right.As it is my right not to as a form of protest.But please drop the uneducated scare tactics.I’m not a pensioner it won’t work with me.

• That;s it. Just tell me i’m wrong and not say why. Please enlighten me.

• @Sean i’ll just say this do you really believe our courts would move with the speed you suggest.I doubt that you do you seem like an intelligent sort.As i said i respect your choice do me the same courtesy and drop the scare tactics please

• Norman have you ever seen a traffic ticket go to court? It’s strict liability. Warden gives their evidence, accused gives an excuse, judge convicts and fines. Takes minutes at most. The household charge will be even quicker. Either you’re on the register or your not. There’s not much of a defense you can put.

• @Sean last comment to you since you think your’re correct i would check with a solictor to the veracity of what you say and you’ll be informed you’re wrong.

• Thanks but I’ll go by what I’ve seen with my own eyes thanks.

• @ Sean Beag
      some of us have broad shoulders and steel spines, but beyond that you just doent seem to be accepting the fact that there are tens of thousands of your fellow country men and women who ARE willing to do time for their principles. Given you dont seem to have any I wouldnt expect you to understand.

• Seanbeag 30/03/12 #

Good going there Ann. If you can’t argue the point just put yourself on a pedestal and insult the poster. Pretty much your standard reply.

• Fair play to them they got through the 57 black bags in 24hrs they must of worked all night to come up with these figures

• When RTE interview people if they paid the household charge, it is always old people who say they have with fear in their eyes. DONT PAY – NO WAY. HOGAN OUT

• Gerard 29/03/12 #

And also keep it in mind that 490,000 have registered but 200,000 are exempt from payment so realistically it is possible that only 290,000 sheeple have paid so far

• @ChristineBohan Gerard makes a good point. Maybe the journal could solve the question? I saw yesterday that the term “registered to pay” was used which would imply that the number includes only those who have paid a lump sum or will pay the 25 x 4 instalments. Is there an additional group who have registered but have waivers? Or are those with waivers included in the figures above?

• Why don’t we all just go down to our local fire station and give them the €100 zed get a receipt of them to prove to them that we have paid it to the local authority where it should go.

• ali o'd 29/03/12 #

or dont hand over any money people need it… put it all into a community fund if its going anywhere that way if people are really in trouble the moneys there to help them, many people are struggling to put food on there table

• Stephen 30/03/12 #

If you’re involved in a road accident or if your house goes on fire, you’ll receive a bill for at least a grand from your local county council. Even if the firemen arrive stand around at the scene of an accident and leave because they weren’t need after all, the bill still goes out the the vehicle owner, regardless of who called them.

• Stephen 30/03/12 #

This is the second photo I’ve seen this week with bags of mail purporting to full of cheques of €100. I can’t help noticing however that a lot of the labels on these bags contain the words “Royal Mail” and “UK”. There’s one in this photo with Phil Hogan. I smell a rat, besides Phil Hogan that is…

• Those who allow themselves to fall for fear tactics from the Goverment are unworthy of the Nation hard won by those who refused to let fear rule them!

• Spin Spin Spin Did you expect anything less from them over these last few days .

• A quick reminder of the real numbers they actually need.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77852334&postcount=9120

• I have my banner ready for tomorrow it reads HI BULLY PHIL WE ARE NOT PAYING YOUR CORRUPT BILL

• Really and can this figures be actually proven as everything that comes out of the governments mouths are lies.

They couldnt tell the truth if they wanted too.

Stage one nearly complete, Stage two, wait to see how they try to bring it in via the backdoor these criminals never learn.

People should not force the dissolution of the government and have the last 10 years of government and the current dictatorship tried for treason and aiding a foreign power eg,, the EU and Germans.

• Lies lies lies

• mike 29/03/12 #

The majority of people ie over one million have not paid the household charge

• mike 29/03/12 #

The majority of people have not paid the household charge i.e over one million plus

• Were these guys given arrogance lessons on day 1 of the new Dail? Jesus – Hayes tips the poll with Varda Car and hogan next.
    Will Varda Car please give a job to a driver instead of getting a senior Garda who is on a nice pension already. People have to leave this country to earn a living and he gives a second income to another person not in need.

• FF and Jack Lynch got rid of rates, now that we’ve got property FG and Enda want to bring them back. Tax wages not property. They’re already wasting €18 billion more than they have. The locals will be even worse.

• I truly believe d media are propelling this government propaganda from mr bully man hogan . I would like to see his own receipts for paying this charge and the receipts for his other properties ! Does he not realise how most people prioritise their home that they have spent countless years working to pay for are at their wits end why should we now pay for the privilege of actually owning the roof over our head which took so long to do ? I firmly believe we need to stand up and let them know we will not be bullied into this charge ! If I thought it would help to genuinely fix local roads help small businesses and promote your local area i would say pay it absolutely but I do not believe that for a second .

• When I read nonsense like that I feel tempted to pay the charge. If, like many, you built, or bought new, you paid a fortune in VAT for the privilege of owning a house. Anyone who bought in recent years paid big money in stamp duty. If the government called this a community charge or local tax, your reason for not paying would be invalid. There are many valid reasons for opposing the HHC. Is property really the issue?

• jimbo 29/03/12 #

Dont pay dont worry

• 1/2 a million fools sorry mam including you

• louise 29/03/12 #

Lies lies lies all to get people feeling guilty for not paying up

• I admit I did pay up because I’ve no choice ……but a bully man like Phil Hogan wouldn’t get away with this!

• So you let the school bully intimidate you then.

A bit like the paramilitaries in the North they controlled by intimidation.

• Robbie W
      There are some people who do not have a choice but to pay , people in the civil service etc, may feel under pressure. It is not easy for every one to make a stand . Having said this, bullies like mr hogan and his crew should be ashamed , but they have no shame.
      Toureag
      I feel maybe you paid against your will ,that is a shame.
      The rest of us who has a choice and are not afraid ….. will continue with the protest. :)

• Well said, Susie.

Many people will pay, for whatever reasons they have. That’s no reason for the rest of us to berate them or intimidate them. Let’s just got on with making a stand, without ostracising or being disrespectful to our fellow citizens.

• Irish People caving into propaganda bullying.. Our Fore- Fathers will be turning in their graves.. More red thumbs against protest & not paying..
      Where has that strong Irish Spirit gone??…Caved in because yellow
      bellied cowardice..
      No Solidarity, no justice, no pride
      or courage to stand up and be counted.. We must be the only Nation who stab each other in the back..
      Well keep your heads down & your
      minds closed, cause you have dug
      your own little burrow to hide.. Where
      are you going to hide next year when this poll tax doubles.?
      My My how short your memories are.!
      I’m going out guns blazing first before they steal another cent from
      me & mine.. Sorry for waffling on, but
      I’m raging with the cut throats in our
      Island..

• If the government demanded that we set ourselves on fire, or give up our first born, would you comply? Would we have a bunch of people shrugging their shoulders and saying “but its the law”. This government lost the consent of the people when they broke the first of their pre-election promises.

• if enda k has any cop he will sack hogan. he is a model of govt ineptitude… so I expect he will keep his job then.

• Yes we’d love to pay for your library. What’s a Library? They never did anything around here even when the councils were loaded so show me the services ill be getting and I’ll gladly contribute.
    Sad subservience never ceases to amaze. The powers that be with their hand in the till know they have the Pawneens of Ireland to clear up their mess and pay for their lifestyle. They’d jump off a cliff if they made it a law. Pathetic

Youbetterpayupyours!

• I just did a very (unscientific) count of who is for and against the tax… on this forum alone…the nays win by a massive majority (99 to 1 I reckon, I did say very unscientific)…but I am surprised by the couple of yeas whose arguments are quite ridiculous….local libraries, local services cost money, blah blah etc etc…I think the 2 people on this thread who were for the tax must be TD Hogan’s friends…..why doncha get back behind your desk and come up with another spin hey?

• Don’t like Bully’s never did I would always stand up to them in primary and secondary school. It’s years since I have met a bully so when I seem to be getting bullied again. Into paying a charge that is unwarranted then my reaction is to stand up and fight. This so called house hold charge should be called the house hold up charge. It feels like the way a bully in school would ask for your lunch money and then beat you up if you didn’t pay up. Or you would have to pay each day 50 pence in order not to be beaten up. So don’t pay the house hold up charge even the €2 euro a week is a bullyboy tactic. don’t register don’t pay this is a unjust tax and over the past 4 years nobody has been convicted of fraud or anything the banks have rolled over their debt and gotten there fat bellys stuffed with cash or bonds. What have the people gotten more taxes to line the pockets of the banks and other market forces. I know it sounds like a broken record but at the end of the day I have been patient for four years and I am mad as hell and I am just not going to take it any more.

• Tax is for the PAYE. Say no to property tax. They’ll only waste it anyway.

• What happened to the movement of heroes who were going to give the €100 directly to Crumlins Children Hospital. i guess warm weather and beer gardens put a hold on that plan.

• Interesting reading on page 12 of the poll report where Fiscal Treaty support (also covered in this poll) was broken down by party voting preference. Doing the figures on those who indicated a vote for a party/independents (excluding those who wouldn’t vote and don’t knows). Party support broken down as FG 43% Lab 19% FF 17% Ind 11% SF 9%. Good reading for the government. Not so good for SF. Me suspects that a lot of the poll figures we’ve been quoted in the past few weeks/months have not been looking at likeliness to vote as seriously as this poll did (page 2). Link available here: http://www.scribd.com/fullscreen/87212706

• il b der on sat :) along wit every1 i no not payin it… most people have a morgage wich means banks shud pay the charge its technacaly der houses if ya wanna go legal… and that 450,000 people who paid is mostly the council for council houses because they had to pay it so its mainly them maken up the numbers…

• Great to see that i am now reaping the reward of completing the census! it is now being used as the basis to ensure everybody is taxed.

• Anyone I know who pays this I will disown

• This is becoming hilarious….

Luddites, I have a big hole dug in my garden and I am ready to put my head into it and hope this goes away.

I can dig a hole for you too if you like ?

• Our Garda have enough to do without issuing summons to a lot of people. They have not got enough rescourses to investigate Anglo and the rest if the financial institutions. Noon am will probably make Garda available simply to save his face.

• I will happily pay although I haven’t paid yet.

I trust all those who are boasting about not paying have written letters of complaint to the FF head office ?? Im interested to know what response you got.

Incidentally stamp duty is NOTHING to do with paying for services for your home. It is a tax on the purchase.

Continually insulting Government Ministers who are trying to bring our country back from bankruptcy is really not helpful.

Not paying the tax will just add it to next years and so you will have a bigger bill than otherwise.

• Really this money is going to fund local services can you prove this or can you also prove it is not going towards the upkeep of the bondholders ?

The government ministers are destroying the country, you dont tax your way out of a recession and also we should only be paying soverign debt not private debt and gambling of the so called “elite”

If I go down to Paddy Power and put a bet on a horse and it doesnt win are you going to give me the money back, off course your not, you gambled you lost, so f*ck the bondholders and the government they and the previous regimes have done more damage to this country than the British or any Foreign powers did in past times.

They the government sold the Irish people out, they are unqualified mouthpieces for the bankers of europe and do as they are told…

This maybe a small victory but there is many battles to come and hopefully all the moronic supporters of the current regime might do us all a favour and leave and goto say North Korea !

• Any chance you can explain what a development levy was for then if not for services?

• Give me figures to prove it is for services seriously give us the complete break down, the proof.

It is a precursor to impose a major household tax in the future for absolutely nothing else but paying off the bondholders.

A bit like VRT which the EU amazingly decleared to be illegal but they continue to charge it…

Next up Oxygen will be charged for and toilet flushing…

• @dubinnass I am self employed so I have no choice but to pay as I won t get a tax clearance cert at the end of the year. The self employed are probably a large portion of those that have paid already. It’s the same as playing Russian roulette- pay it or pull the trigger. That’s my first comment. The second one is if people can remember the last time this so called straight and good as gold party where in power during a recession, their way of getting out of it was to tax children’s shoes. How long big phil before this happens again?

• @ Tom Flynn – if you give Bertie a ring he’ll tell you how to get around the tax man without a Tax Clearance cert – to the bests of my recollection he managed it for years while holding the title of Taoiseach.

But seriously I wasnt aware that if you are self-employed you really have NO option but to pay. Well I’m exempt as I live in a Council owned property but I’m still marching on Saturday and I will include you in my list of who I am marching for.

• Seanbeag 30/03/12 #

Robbie if you went down to paddy power and bet on a horse but were subsequently told that the an employee had shot your horse and the manager had stolen all the cash would you expect your money back? I think so. If you didn’t get it back would you ever bet in paddy power again? Nope. Would anyone? That would be the end of paddy power.

Unlike most taxes, this one goes directly to the councils so it definitely will be used for local services. The likes of PAYE go into the government coffers and this is the money that pays the bond holders. You are protesting the wrong thing.

• Seriously Sean ! That analogy does not make sense

• Finally people are listening and paying it. Well done. People who havent paid it yet. Only have two more days.You better get a move on.

• Well with an anonymous user name like yours you clearly only signed up for one reason and one reason alone!!!! Back to the Dail with you ya rat!

• @ Youbetterpayup – are you sure your name isnt Phill the Black Sacks Hogan, your smugness and arrogance seem to know no bounds. How do you know that the unopened envelopes arent filled with HHC reminders and not postal orders/registration forms, I posted my reminder back to Black Sacks Hogan and I know of many others who have done the same.

• sing a different tune would you… it’s all you ever say.

• You talking to me Katrina ?

• Perhaps the Journal could once again inform people how and where they can pay their household charge.

• Three comments that show why people moved away from the not paying movement. Insults seemed to be a large part of the movements strategy, which can be easily seen on the Journal comments sections. You don’t win hearts and minds like that folks. i feel sorry for people like Reada who put a bit of effort and thought into their objection because people like ye have let them down.

• Read The Journals Comments policy.

Treat other commenters with respect. Even if what they are saying is unreasonable, you will make your point much more effectively if you do so in civil terms.

• You betterpayup
      Maybe you should read the comments policy yourself . No doubt you have speeches to write for your own paymasters for your Party this weekend . Maybe I will see you there when we march down to the conference centre on Saturdat afternoon . I do not trust this government . They have lied , and lied. Ido not believe thgeir figures , but I will NEVER pay this tax.

• Is that you Phil?

• YouBetterPayUp
      You have a point about respectful comments having more impact. Fair enough. However, the implicit threat in your username reflective of the threatening behaviour resorted to by this government in relation to the payment of this poorly organized, chaotic and unfair tax is beyond irritating.

• Have I missed something here.
      We spent 800 years trying to kick out the invaders who made us nothing less than tenants in our own country. We gain independence, vote in an elected body to represent us and become tenants in our own homes. WTF is going on. This fee, soon to become tax has reduced us to nothing more than sponges to be squeezed by foreign invaders. Well balls to that, I’m fighting for my right to own a home, and raise my family without the threat of fines and imprisonment.

• howzat 30/03/12 #

Thanks enda

• i cannot understand why so many people have paid the household charge as the banks own most of the houses in ireland so its the banks that should pay the €100 charge not the poor misfortunes that are living in them & struggling to pay mortgages.if u have a mortgage u do not own the house the bank does.think about it?

• Not strictly correct, as far as I know. The mortgage lender has a security interest over the property to secure the loan made to you (the homeowner) to buy it. The lender only becomes the owner when the security interest is enforced.

• I agree if the bank has the security on it then you don’t until you are finished paying for it ,so in real terms you don’t own it your buying .yes your the registered owner but not the actual owner. that’s how I see it.

• 500,000 patriots and counting! when ireland’s in trouble, we’re ready to share the weight.

Only a small % of the remaining 1.1million will refuse to pay the tax and freeload on their neighbours who will pay for their share.

I hope the no-tax activists will refrain from stoking up civil unrest; repairs of damage and disruption will squander some of the funds collected by those people who are prepared to pay their way.

I read above there are council house occupants, who are exempt from the tax, planning to protest against it. Talk about biting the hand that feeds. Perhaps cutting social welfare would have been a better way to go than a household charge?

• U are a patriot?so u like paying for other peoples greed.its people like me who had to emigrate as a result of these peoples greed.its people like me who send money back to ireland on a regular basis who are the real patriots.what an idiot u really are.

• skeolawn 30/03/12 #

Nope Arbitrasure: you’re a disgrace to the Irish nation, making fun of the people who are standing up for themselves.

• God help us all !

Ministers ae
    Re paid a salary to do a job, and thats ok. They gey paid more than you or me and thats ok too.

I wouldn’t do their job for a million euro a year if I had to continually deal with prople who hold so of the views on here.
    Views driven by emotion rather than rational logic.
    Views driven by ignorance rather than informed intelligent debate

Proletariat comments with the same inaccurate and biased views that just get me frustrated

The past is gone !
    The FF days of stroke and dependency thinking is GONE.
    This is the real world and its not nice here.

• Come the day and come the hour
    Come Saturday 31st of March
    We have come to answer
    Our Country’s call
    To pay our fair Household Charge

Ireland, Ireland
    Together standing tall
    Shoulder to shoulder
    We’ll answer Ireland’s call

From the mighty Glens of Antrim
    From the rugged hills of Galway
    From the walls of Limerick
    And Dublin Bay
    From the four proud provinces of Ireland

Ireland, Ireland
    Together standing tall
    Shoulder to shoulder

Hearts of steel
    And heads unbowing
    Vowing never to be broken
    We will fight, until
    We can fight no more
    From the four proud provinces of Ireland

Ireland, Ireland
    Together standing tall
    Shoulder to shoulder

• Good man phil your flying so!

• Local services cost money. Anyone lucky enough to own a home and use these services should be happy to pay €100.

• skeolawn 30/03/12 #

I’m happy to pay €100 for these important local services. Where do I sign up? (and I assume that €100 charge replaces my current enormous income tax bill, correct?)

• This is not a movement. We just don’t like paying money to wasters. And if someone else like wage earners can be caught for the bill then we’re very happy with that.

• paula 30/03/12 #

I agree with McBab, if the amenities in our area are being maintained by this, in any way, then it’s fair enough. I wasn’t going to pay it until last weekend’s debate.

Add New Comment