TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Government outlines plan to tackle mortgage arrears

Minister for Finance, Michael Noonan, said that targets will be set for banks with regard to these mortgages, which will be monitored.

Fine Gael Minister for Finance Michael Noonan
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated 5.55pm

THE GOVERNMENT HAS launched its plan to tackle the current mortgage arrears crisis.

At the end of December 2012, there were 792,096 private residential mortgage accounts for principal dwellings in Ireland, of which 143,851 (18.2 per cent) were in arrears.  Some 94,000 (11.9 per cent) were in arrears of greater than 90 days.

The approach to Mortgage Arrears Resolution can be read at this link (PDF).

The documents state that possible solutions to mortgage arrears could include a split mortgage, where a lender splits a borrower’s unaffordable mortgage loan, with an amount set aside to or ‘warehoused’ at a later date. They also include deferring payment, or debt write-off.

Strong action

Finance Minister Mr Michael Noonan was joined by Deputy Governor Matthew Elderfield from the Central Bank, and John Hogan assistant secretary in charge of banking policy in the Department of Finance at the launch of the plan today.

Minister Noonan said that the government is at the point where it has all the legal underpinnings in place to allow it to take a very strong action on mortgage arrears, and that it is able to put forward a plan to deal with impaired mortgages.

Also published today were the proposed changes to the Code of Conduct on Mortgage arrears. The amendments seek to ensure that borrowers are not subject to harassment, and that the borrower engages with the lender in a meaningful way.

Banks will be required to meet specific targets which stipulate that: by end-June 2013, they should have proposed sustainable mortgage solutions for 20 per cent of distressed borrowers, and by end-September 2013, 30 percent, and by the end of 2013, the banks for 50 per cent of distressed borrowers.

Framework

The framework applies to ACC, AIB, Bank of Ireland, KBC Bank, permanent tsb and Ulster Bank in relation to both principal dwelling homes and buy to let mortgages

Elderfield said that it is realistic to expect “a substantial acceleration in the number of cases that are dealt with on a sustainable basis, improved prompt management of early arrears cases, and, more effective action to staunch the flow of new cases”.

In some cases, where the borrower is insolvent and is at the threshold of repossession despite cutting their expenses right back, the Central Bank believes that some form of sustainable debt relief makes sense.

He said that voluntary surrender of the property or repossession is a possible outcome under the targets “where the borrower’s ability (or unwillingness) to pay falls short of the recoverable value of the property”.

Those borrowers who do not cooperate with their bank are liable under the revised Code to immediate commencement of legal proceedings and rule themselves out of possible participation in the new personal insolvency arrangement.

“The process is designed to assist those who can’t pay – not those who won’t pay,” said Noonan, adding that repossession should and will remain the last resort.

Insolvency

Work is taking place to get the new Insolvency Service of Ireland (ISI) operational in 2013 to provide new options to people in mortgage distress and other debt by facilitating agreed arrangements to allow people stay in their homes.

Regarding the Mortgage to Rent scheme, around 25 cases will be completed by the end of March but over 800, have been put forward for the scheme. Funding has currently been provided for 250-275 households to benefit from the scheme this year.

A mortgage to rent scheme for local authority borrowers in arrears has also been set up and is being rolled-out nationally.

Fianna Fáil finance spokesperson Michael McGrath TD described the plan as “long on aspiration but short on real action”, and criticised it for the additional power it gives to banks and its “failure to set any meaningful or enforceable targets”.

Labour Party TD Ciaran Lynch welcomed the plan, saying that it contains “realistic and measurable targets” and “sets out a workable pathway towards addressing this crisis”. He added that the Oireachtas Joint Committee, on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform will monitor closely and carefully how the targets are met.

Read: Banks ‘do not have a veto’ to block insolvency deals, insists Kenny>

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• God theres an awful lot of anti people posts here. Blueshirts must be out in force. Shame on all of you smart remarking about people in mortgage distress. Not all those in trouble live in big houses. Many have worked hard to pay their way and were laid off work and are struggling to survive. All who lose their home will probably need to be rehoused so how does that help the economy??

• Just in time for the by election. Don’t be fooled.

• Many of those so called over borrowed supplied the taxes that allowed for dramatic rises in social welfare and public service wages. 50% of those in rental accommodation receive rental allowance, why should somebody breaking their neck to pay a mortgage support these individuals? There are 2 sides to every coin, personalizing this and saying “what about me” isn’t going to solve the issue. When the govt ran 2 tax amnesties, I didn’t benefit? When the govt is dealing with the biggest problem affecting our economy, I won’t benefit and I don’t mind, why? It is the right thing to do. The reality is you can’t get blood out of a stone, you can throw in the “what about me? what about renters” comments all you like, but it won’t stop the arrears from rising.

• @ John Morris, a perceptive voice of practicality and sanity. I agree.

• censored 14/03/13 #

The “what about me” crowd need to realise that we all live in a society, and destroying that society benefits nobody.

• @ censored, you are absolutely right. It was radical individualism and pursuit of short term profit for a narrow sector of bankers, developers, property professionals as well as certain politicians which caused this crisis. We need a sensible and sustainable society approach. We cannot live the victims of the Great Mortgage Scam in misery and left with the spectre of dispossession and homelessness. It is a truth that we are inter dependent.

• Ah but “what about me” is ingrained in the Irish personality!

Wise words John Morris. Everyone thinks they are worse off than the next. Grass is always greener

• Don’t see any mention of the subprime lenders who some of our friends are in arrears of over €40,000 n will never be able to pay €1800 per month what will the government do for them ?

• Blah blah blah

Is that why only recently the government closed a “loophole” to make it easier for banks to repossess houses!

Easily known there off on holidays this weekend, not a thing to worry about!

• “Today, Irish mortgage holders were thrown to the lions as fresh meat”. Guest on TodayFM’s “The Last Word” commenting on how Michael Noonan has stacked the cards in favour of the banks who now have free rein to start re-possessing family homes. Every day this government drives more and more people to despair. Inevitably more suicides will result from this latest fiasco from clueless and heartless Coalition.

• The government capitalised the banks to the tune of €10-15 billion for the possible loss incurred on mortgage write downs. This is ludicrous. The government should have handled this themselves instead of handing this money over to the banks. This money will not be used by the banks to write off mortgage debt. €10-15 billion would make a big dent in mortgage arrears and negative equity

• The term good money after bad was never so apt.

• Anyone can declare them self bankrupt

• What’s negative equity got to do with this? Doesn’t make a mortgage harder to pay. Negative equity is a combo of market flux and in some cases borrowing too much against the value. Has no relevance here.

• You’re right it doesn’t make it harder to pay. I should have explained that I mean sorting mortgage arrears and negative equity would help kick start the economy and improve things for the nation as a whole.

My main point was that the €10-15 billion should not have been handed to the bank. It should have been handled by the government and used properly

• censored 14/03/13 #

Iceland wrote down mortgages.

The US forced banks to write down mortgages in return for not investigating some of their dodgy lending practices.

But in Ireland….. you can talk about moral hazard until you’re blue in the face, but at the end of the day something is going to have to be done.

• Padraig, it may not make a mortgage harder to pay. It does however, make it impossible for distressed homeowners to sell and holds banks back from repossessing where mortgages are unsustainable.

Look at it how you wish, pursuance of negative equity is relatively fruitless anyway so write downs are absolutely the best option. The alternative is evict, banks spend a fortune in legal fees to recoup nothing and in most of these cases the govt will have to re-house families.

• Distressed mortgages should be looked at case by case; if there is negative equity then this must be taken account of. However, it does say in big letters on all mortgage advertising “Your home is at risk if you do not keep up payments”.

• How is it we can’t evict the Government ?

• John 13/03/13 #

Dermot, we can evict them. We can take to the streets and protest in massive numbers and if that doesn’t work
      We could then call three days general strike. I’m old enough to know that this would work perfectly. So how about it?

• Join you on the street no probs but I can’t strike …………. I’m a bloody farmer and the sheep just don’t get it !

• This New legislation id just suit the bankers friends of FG and enable Noonan after his kicked out of the Dail with a place on the board of some large financial company.

• What happens customers of EBS?

• We were hoping to speak to the bank about our relatively small mortgage. We started attempting to talk to them before any arrears, but they refused to speak with us. That was in 2009. We wanted to discuss paying a lump sum, but we didn’t let them know that, because we felt they should talk to us either way.
    Now we’ve got another house, but the bank still hasn’t talked to us. It doesn’t answer registered letters and it is dragging it’s heals all the time…. guess it’s just too small for them to bother.

Given today’s announcement we realise the pointlessness of paying for it at all.

Time to stop.

• What saddens me with only three years to run on my mortgage is the total lack of acknowledgement by the Central Bank of Ireland, the Minister for Finance and the Taoiseach that it was grossly excessive over lending by the banks unregulated by IFSRA and the CBI all of whom wilfully facilitated a Ponzi type housing and mortgage market.

The only moral hazard is the criminal recklessness of the Banks, the CBI and the Department of Finance which now collectively seek to leave most of the consequences with the borrowers whose only mistake was to accept the orthodox advice give to them by the media, bonus driven bankers, professional advisers with a vested interest, the cooperative Central Bank of Ireland and the exhortations of Bertie Ahern and others.

The unfortunate borrowers who had the bad luck and accident of timing to buy during an asset bubble are now required to accept the consequences of the bad, irresponsible and self interested advice and actions of others.

It is morally wrong to impose repossessions on those who are unable to afford their current mortgage repayments. It is wrong that they should lose their homes.

Any person who buys a court ordered repossessed home is a selfish and despicable opportunist.

One thing is sure. If reposed properties are released to the market in any volume, property tax will no longer be a significant problem.

• In all your citations about who was to blame, you forgot to actually mention the persons who took out the loans. Yes them ones without the moral hazards who went into the bank with a gun pointed to their head saying “take this load or else”. !!!!!!

“Any person who buys a court ordered repossessed home is a selfish and despicable opportunist” – are you saying that all reposessed homes should be demolished, no one to live in them again?

• If you cannot afford to pay your mortgage how would the bank or government help you?

If you cannot pay you cannot pay and that is it.

• Should the same principle not therefore apply to the banks?

• Or the bond holders?

• And they have given the bank the green light to hound the borrower with phone calls and letters.

• I don’t see how ‘that’s it’. If you cannot afford to pay what ought to happen? Should you get kicked out of your house? We’d have thousands of evictions then and the social problems and ruined lives that would entail would be awful. Or should the banks say ‘you’re grand, you don’t have to pay anymore, you can stay in your house for free’? Then you’d have the problem of moral hazard, with people who are paying their mortgages questioning as to why they should.
      So to say ‘that’s it’ is a completely unhelpful comment as it’s clearly ‘not it’. It’s one of the biggest challenges facing the Irish people today.

• If you can’t pay then you should be kicked out of your house. End of. Go rent.

• @Joohn, No it’s not end of. Even if you lose the house, in Ireland the debt stays with you. You’re still liable for it. It’s not like in the USA where you hand the keys back to the bank and walk away.

• Yeah I didn’t mean the slategets wiped! I meant that the end of them trying to get debt forgiveness, they can go rent and pay back what they owe to the bank for buying a box for 600k!

• @ joohn no not end of, obviously you have no problem with the idea of evicting families on hard times because your alright jack, remember, if someone is evicted the government still has to supply alternative accommedation and at what cost? €900.00 a month? use your head.

• @ Gillian.
      The majority of these people CAN and WANT to pay their mortgage on their home,
      a sustainable mortgage,
      based on a REAL values,
      REAL values based on REAL fundamentals and
      not interest rate
      Crap Shoot
      Lucky Dip
      Ticking Timebomb Mortgages
      based on bank managers monthly lending targets
      and or corrupt/criminal bank’s ability to
      label the mortgage Triple A+++,
      securitise it,
      bundle it up and sell it off on the stock exchange.

With nearly a couple of hundred thousand of these distressed mortgages in the country (approx 20-25% of all mortgages),
      and another couple of hundred thousand imminently heading that way,
      we are now in a situation where 50% of all mortgages in the country could be affected,
      I’d safely say Gillian that these mortgages were poisoned at source and not fit for purpose in the first place.
      And I’m afraid this useless government can not bring back the victims of mortgage stress related, emigrations and suicides, that are a direct result of corrupt/criminal banking practices.

Far to little,
      Far to late, Mr Noonan.

• By the way have any of you
      “Baying For Blood” “Alright Jacks” who sit on your “I bought in the 90′s” or “I didn’t buy at all” fence
      met face to face with any of these
      “Come in And Talk” mortgage arrears “specialists” in your local bank branch???
      Personally I have had first hand experience with 90% of the banks in the country.
      And all I can say is that if you are only €100 Euro in arrears, they treat you like you are €100,000 in arrears.
      The attitude of these so called “specialists” are
      these mortgages are doomed to fail anyway (sher isn’t that the way we sold them)
      lets try and get the mortgage holders in a worse situation
      so we can call in their loss making mortgages
      sack staff
      shut shop
      repo and resell homes
      and get out of here fast
      before there is a banking inquiry
      or mass compensation claims for financial malpractice.

Listen people
      A large amount of these mortgages are on 1% above ECB rate trackers
      an ECB rate that’s at its lowest level EVER,
      and still a lot of these families can’t get anywhere near paying there mortgage,
      All that these families wanted was a basic run of the mill financial product to buy a basic run of the mill family home,
      and instead they got shafted and vilified.
      So I please ask for you, to kindly save your Low Digs for NAMA’s 74 Billion Euro Boys and their Banking and Government Bedfellows!!!

• How about we take back and nationalise the oil and gas fields, develop them, reap the benefits and invest in infrastructure, education, health, employment etc then there would also be no need for bond holder taxes as they could be burned as we would not need the bond markets or banks, Simples, oh yeah sorry I forgot Irish people are not that clever or innovative or brave enough to get off their backsides to fight for what rightfully belongs to them.

• A Failed Society:-

- cant hand back the keys without taking the debt to Australia or the grave!
    - banks have complete control over the lives of citizens … ’till they die?
    - after 2 world wars Europe still does not have the US law to allow citizens to hand back the keys and be free of the debt. … crazy. The loan should be on the asset not on the person’s life! Balance between borrower and lender.
    - there is stronger legislation in place to protect the consumer on the purchase of a pair of shoes!
    - Hollande was right! ……. the real enemy is……………….. and 6,400 get paid > €100,000.

- any society that cannot put a system in place to build affordable homes for its citizens is a failed society.
    - any society that charges citizens TWICE the price for a family home is a Tyranny.

So how do we ensure we fix this and dont repeat it?
    I’m impressed with John Morris ……. any views?

• The goverment has created this, if you lose your job or go out sick while renting you can claim upto €650 a month rent relief. However now if you own your house and are paying a mortgage you get €0. A debt write off is not fair on those keeping up repayments that are also struggling but cutting back else where. Extending the period of the loan or shared ownership giving a percentage of your house to the bank are options to be looked at.
    This does not need to be this hard to sort out, banks and customers should be able to work out a plan on an individual basis and as a last resort customers that are not willing to come to an agreement deserve to lose the house.

• Its a gas country – You take almost any finincial risks and the gombeen men in power come up ideas to bail you out of the mess you created.

• Touch wood so far we’ve being able to make all our mortgage repayments. However it is a big struggle. If my wife and I had of gone mad in the boom built a palace had two brand new cars in the drive we now would probably not be able to service our mortgage. We lived modestly while all around us were throwing money around the place like confetti. Every month it’s a real struggle with me having to work up to 60 hours a week just to make ends meet. What in this deal for us? Nothing .Maybe we should stop paying and chance our arm like some people are doing but that’s just not in me. I feel now we should have went mad and at least we would have some good memories as now this is not living it’s barely keep our head above water.

• @ Patrick, you are in a better position than many. You have the security of a roof over your head. Others need help in the greater public interest. We should not begrudge them that assistance. I too work over 60 hours a week hoping to hold on for three more years to pay off my mortgage. I don’t begrudge assistance to others. I live a frugal lifestyle but that is my choice.

• In my best yaw roight accent the conversation of next year :
    Yaw property is just so cheap right now I think I’ll pick up a few rental numbers …..Yaw the government are great they keep borrowing for the rent allowance -can’t loose , so glad I waited till the trough in the market !

and the conversation the following year
    “property is the place to be !”

• Buying a gaff is a risk, if you can’t pay you should hand the keys back.

• You can hand the keys back if you want, but you will still owe the money and can be pursued for it in the courts. So they can bankrupt you anyway. If you could just hand the keys back and walk away thousands (tens of thousands) of people would have already done that, with joy and relief.

Some people have done it and fled the country (ie emigrated) but their debt will be waiting for them if they ever return, so basically they can’t ever come back.

• Getting up in the morning is a risk,starting a business is a risk what’s your point?Just remember people bought houses when they had jobs,before their pay pack was raided by government.

• If you take a gamble and lose, you should accept your losses, even if it does mean moving our of your big comfy home and renting

• So having over 90,000 households unable to take part in the economy is a good thing?

• @ brass rat, your right in a normalised economy which ours is not. The banks also borrowed in order to lend and they got caught with their trousers down but hey, it one rule for them so we bail them out with soverign capital including enough to cover bad debt on the domestic loan book but fillet the poor aul citizen who got sucked into the spin being played out by those who shudda known better. The banks need to be controlled not given more powers.

• If a brass rat falls does it have a “soft landing”?

• I hope every slime ball defaulting on their mortgage is fcuked out… Lets gets the real people who can pay their way starting this real economy…

• jenny – Hand the keys back to back to bank and rent a cheaper house in a different area.

• Did you miss where a pervious poster told you that is not an option available to a mortgage holder.
      Btw i have a very small mortgage more than able to meet it,but more than willing to see my tax money help a fellow citizen in trouble.

• Actually it is an option. Whisper it softly as the banks don’t want you to know the Facts. It depends on circumstances but if you genuinely don’t have the money to service the debt and you have no other discernible assets the bank can do nothing. The bank will get a mortgage judgement on selling the house, this judgement will be registered against any assets one has. If one has no assets, the judgement will lapse after 6 years. If one has other assets (say a property in negative equity), the debt will be registered against that property but if it is not enforced within 12 years it will be null and void & the claim to the debt dies (to be enforced, significant equity to cover the shortfall will need to exist). The bank can make an application to obtain some of your income but if you are struggling to survive no judge will grant such a request.

Particularly in the case of those leaving the country with zero assets of significance (or zero traceable assets), it is a myth to think you can’t hand back the keys. Sure the bank can pursue you for bankruptcy but that is very expensive & a route they will never take if you have an ordinary mortgage debt outstanding.

• Agree with this except for the bit about a judgement mortgage – it can be renewed prior to the 12 years and be extended for a further period.
      I don’t know what the answer is to the mortgage crisis. I think there are a lot of people out there who genuinely can’t pay but there are a lot of people out there who can pay but won’t!
      I don’t think the answer is the government paying a huge portion of mortgage interest supplement on a mortgage that is unsustainable. But if that person looses their house the state is obliged to house them so they will be paying the same if not more in rent allowance!
      The whole thing is just a disaster.

• @ Jenny Rosen, that is a decent and enlightened view. I have three years to run on my mortgage and I feel that society as a whole will benefit if mortgage debt can be adjusted to a sustainable level. I don’t want to see families dispossessed of their homes.

• @moneymaid, I’m open to correction but I’m 99% positive a judgement mortgage is not renewable. Can you refer me to act that states otherwise and I will review ? Thanks

• @ Money Maid and John Morris, sadly a Judgment Mortgage, once registered, remains indefinitely as a charge on the folio or unregistered title unless or until it is satisfied.

• Hi Peter, yes it remains on the property but after 12 years if it is not enforced is null and void. The debtor can then make an application to have this removed without any recourse to the creditor. After 12 years if the debt is not enforced it effectively dies.

• @ John Morris, did not the Land Law and Conveyancing Reform Act, 2009, clarify that there was no 5 year renewal requirement and that a Judgment Mortgage is given the same status of an ordinary annuity mortgage?

The other dimension is the practical one. If you try to sell a property with a judgment mortgage registered on it, the buyer’s solicitor will require it to be discharged but the judgement mortgaged won’t do that unless it is paid in full.

I don’t know if you can apply to a Court or other authority to cancel the judgement mortgage. A debt under seal has a 12 year limitation period but the problem is how to get rid of the judgment mortgage. You may be right. I must check it out as a matter of curiosity.

• Thanks a mill! My justification for commenting is that it helps me understand the nuances of Irish culture.

• @karolyn – If a mortgage holder on 35k is having trouble paying a mortgage and get assistance from a state owned bank why doesn’t the government give a renter struggling on 35k the same financial help?

• Blah blah blah mortgage. Blah blah blah owe. Blah blah blah debt. Blah blah blah learned a valuable lesson. Blah blah blah doubt it.

• Blah Blah Blah green shoots of recovery

• How many people with mortgage arrears losing sleep would welcome some of the €638 million given to Africa by our stupid government every year. We should start a movement called charity begins athome

• Blaa blaa turned a corner blaa blaa bullshit.

• I agree with you in some part Susanna… Our tax money should be going towards those in this country who are really in need. Not those who have been on welfare for generations. Not those who fake medical issues. Not those who refuse th offer of work. Not our politicians who recieve huge salaries or benefits. Not those whose pensions we continue to pay after getting us in this mess. And finally, not those folks who refuse to pay any part of their mortgage and can pay…
      Because they know that our taxes will eventually bail them out.

• Well Susanna how many people will die due to aid being withdrawn, happy to life with that, if so how can we bring your theory back home, perhaps if u reach a certain agreed cost of health care, if u are sick and exceed this, tough the budget, or maybe if we lump everybody with special needs into one big area and care for them there, providing they don’t exceed your health care limit. Quality of life, secondary as long as we make the budget. Right?

Being Irish I tend to want to help those suffering famine conditions etc, not just because of our history, but because us, you me “the west” have directly contributed to these human beings suffering.

Wake up!

• I don’t Sussana, pretty heartless IMO
      Pretty cold on your part

• PunchUinFace.. Well said! By the way I think Susanna brought Africa into the picture as a personal dig. Susanna, if this is not so… My apologies.

• Sorry that happens man – you’ve some class to keep commenting on here :)

• Re Africa …it was reported that computers were being bought in Uganda with Irish Aid money ……….. furthermore a nation we gave aid to ordered a load of fighter jets ! ……………… How many people will starve in these countries ;don’t know but I do know you can’t eat computers or jets ! ……..

• censored 13/03/13 #

The flip side of that is that if the money saves even one life then it is worth it. Of course there are abuses.

The €638 million is a drop in the ocean compared to the abuse and corruption here at home. It is money well spent on helping (mainly) deserving causes.

Marlon, I thought the same and was a little shocked. Hope this is not what susanna intended to convey.

• Very interesting…. Yes there are a number of countries within Africa that misappropriate funds and are corrupt. After Colonialism and foreign occupation many African countries didn’t know how to handle profiteers and holding their government responsible. … Sounds familiar?

Sorta like our country. Profiteers and greedy politicians making poor decisions for personal gain. As the EU continues to lend us money… A large percentage of the borrowed money goes pay the salaries of current politicians and fund the pensions of the folks that got us in this mess.

So I ask you… How is Africa different than Irelands corruption and bad goverment guidance?

• Censored. .. I always give folks the benefit of doubt. Jealousy, ignorance and fear can cause the most intelligent a lapse in judgment. So the best to Susanna.

• Wish i could drop into African countries and dictate the terms of their country with the weapon of “racism card” if anyone dared to disagree with me,… SUCH BULLSHIT!

• Joey Potatoes. .. What are trying to say? Spit it out? I don’t understand?

• I feel sorry for all those who over borrowed and are in debt.

Oh, wait, I don’t.

Tough luck, shouldn’ta bought.

Add New Comment