TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

O’Leary: The faster and deeper the hardship, the shorter the recovery

CEO of Ryanair says that “a serious right wing dictatorship for five years” would sort out Ireland’s economic problems.

Ryanair CEO Michael O'Leary
Image: Yves Logghe/AP/Press Association Images

RYANAIR CEO MICHAEL O’Leary has said that government spending needs to be cut – and that Irish citizens need to work harder – in order for the country to recover from its economic woes.

Speaking to George Hook on Newstalk today, O’Leary said that Ireland’s main problem was that it was “borrowing €15 billion a year just to survive” – but said that this could be solved by public servants working harder and by cutting flat-rate benefits, such as the Children’s Allowance.

O’Leary criticised payments such as the Children’s Allowance and free bus passes for all pensioners – saying that not everybody needed them. He asked:

Why are we taxing ourselves in order to pay multimillionaires like me children’s allowance?

He added that teachers did not work “particularly hard” and had long summer holidays, suggesting that they they and nurses could work a bit harder. He also criticised free education for all Irish schoolchildren.

Hook pointed out that O’Leary had been very privileged, benefiting from an education at Clongowes - one of the country’s most expensive schools, to which he said:

I value the education I got at Clongowes – but that doesn’t mean that teachers don’t have to work harder.

He said that payments to the unemployed should be cut after a claimant had been receiving benefits for a certain amount of time, dismissing Hook’s suggestion that this would not make finding work any easier. O’Leary insisted there was a “disincentive” for people on lower wages in Ireland to work because the range of State benefits they may be entitled to: “We need to take away the restrictions that prevent them from working,” he said.

The Ryanair CEO said that “a serious right wing dictatorship for five years” would sort out Ireland’s economic problems.

When asked about emigration, O’Leary said that he didn’t think it “existed” anymore, saying that while families used to be broken up forever, people can now fly home practically every week. If school-leavers are faced with the prospect of no employment in Ireland, they should simply go and work for a few years in places like Australia, the UK, US or Canada, he said.

When asked if he would consider taking over the spot recently left vacant by Ivan Yates on Newstalk’s Breakfast show, O’Leary declined – saying that he would instead by focusing on “revolutionising” Irish tourism and doubling the number of Ryanair passengers over the next few years.

Read next:

Comments (226 Comments)

• Personally I think he is right and I wouldn’t mind taking the hit, as long as it started at the top in the Dail, and everything should be means tested I mean everything..

• Definitely … My partner is unemployed, we are just about coping but I agree with you.. The government & their lackies aren’t taking the hit at all.. I also like and agree with Michael O Leary.. He knows what he’s taking about..

• Like you think MOL gives two hoots about ye. He’d have ye making more friends tho. He’d put everyone out of a job. We’d be all on the dole. Only getting a lot less. Wake up. MOL is no saviour!

• Réada
      You are dead right ! MOL isw a business man , Agood one ashe is making money , but if he starts losing big he will drop us all like hot potatoes. You would think he was risen again the way people laud him as a savior. He is not ! It is a long time (if ever) since he had to watch how much he spends on his grocery bill… or child care or petrol ,Or will it be a take away meal or a trip to thye cinema ??? What jobs is he talking about ? Is he creating some ?

• This page epitomises where we are with this recession. It’s like the government put is all in a room and said work it out yourself. They then suggested to start the recovery by setting each faction against another. People complain about the public service but do they want a service at all? I believe most of the critics believe the public service is manned by suits on over 80000 pa. it’s not , some are on FIS themselves. Anecdote. My mothers house was burgled at the weekend. The local station no longer has a squad car. You will soon have the public service of a 3rd world country along with bribery required to jump the que for service.

• I’m ‘catching his drift’, but he’s a bit flippant in the way he talks (maybe a lot flippant). The issue with childrens allowance etc is that it’s too freely available. The problem is if the government cap this and the likes, they will reduce the threshhold every year and before you know it people on low-mid incomes will be hit. Regarding the unemployed the time to hit the spongers was in the good times. Now there is little work and as much as I’d like to see it, people can’t be penalised now for being long term unemployed. Rent allowance is a joke, girls having kids from multiple fathers and sponging off the state for everything form buggies to mickey money. I wonder if they were still in their mammys house would this be the case? They’d have nowhere to ‘do it’ for starters! Nurses work their butts off, and let’s say teachers are well looked after. I could go on and on! Oh, and travellers, does anyone know any that actually contribute to the state?

• lol no where to do it.. made.me laugh.

• Joe
      You sound so bitter ! and cross ! There is always somewhere to ”do”it :). We all are being ”done” every single moment of the day by the ineptitude of this government. Stop and think , Please. It is not the poor lone parents , or the poor unemployed,or the poor disabled and their poor carers, or the new poor , nurses , gardai and teachers, or the new poor office workers, truckers, bus drivers, train drivers, the new poor firemen and soldiers, taxi drivers, chefs, waiters, etc…. We must learn to grin and bear it and get some vaseline !!!OR we can stop fighting each other down here on the lowest rung and learn to stand up and be counted, defend the rights of the vulnerable and in doing so we protect ourselves…… Travellers ? Contribute

• Agree with most of what he said except i believe that nurses are overworked and underpaid. Cuts need to come from the top. And top means politicians who need a serious pay cut. They should be paid according to the average workers wage. Top man enda should be on no more then 3 times that average. Their Pensions need to be sorted as well.

• Love this guy. No unions in Ryanair and they’re hugely successful.

Loads of unions in Ireland with too much influence and we’re screwed.

Just read the following to demonstrate what these muppets are up to: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0414/1224314731740.html

• “The staff administer over 70 different schemes and services with over 2.1 million people benefiting from weekly payments and over 600,000 families receiving child benefit in respect of 1.2 million children each month.” Joan Burton.

As one of the country’s largest taxpayers, O’Leary makes some interesting points. Universal entitlement to children’s allowance should be done away with. Why pay tax, have it pass through the Department of Social Protection and then get some of it back in the form of a monthly payment? The administration fees alone probably hits several million a year. A tax credit per child would be a better system, with the unemployed getting additional top-ups to their unemployment benefit per dependent child. The whole system could be redrawn and be vastly simpler.

As for the universal entitlements to free travel and medical cards for pensioners – again there are plenty who don’t necessarily need or even use them.

By giving ALL in society these benefits, the Department of Social Protection doesn’t live up to its aim to help the most in need instead.

• Niall 17/04/12 #

We can all say oh how would he know our troubles and this is all self promotion, (any news is good news) but why is he necessarily wrong, people completely disregard any sort of aggressive capitalism because they fear it, why should we fear it? just because we don’t know it? Everyone says oh we need a new Ireland but then as soon as someone suggests a new Ireland them same people criticise the suggested new Ireland?

• Aggressive unregulated capitalism is what got us into this mess

• No the public servant regulators didn’t do their job.

• Yes Gavin, the Public service did not regulate the aggressive capitalists

• haha yeah right Gavin, if you piss yourself do you blame the civil servants for not regulating your bladder control for you? The regulator was toothless and had no control due to the government policy of the time. Policy that was continued despite warnings from those same civil servants that what has happened was about to happen. Yes there is massive waste in the civil service, yes there are lazy gits in it and yes alot of reform is needed but don’t spout lies about an already highly abused group of workers

• Caroline Molloy for president !

• @Caroline

Blaming the mess Ireland is in on greed/aggressive captilism is like blaming gravity when a plane crashes. We will always have greed. Inorder for capitalism to work losses must be privitised along with profits. The government created an environment whereby it was clear that this was not the case. The banks knew they would be bailed out and behaved recklessly because of it. Same goes for property the government kept stoking the property bubble on and on because all that stamp duty was to much to resist. A responsible government would not have done this and all the while the government was telling the people that anyone who thought the wheels would come off the wagon should go kill themselves.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfjGSfuSQpA

Another Bertie classic!

So yes Gavin is right. Instead of regulating the agressive capilists, the government was handing out gold stars and telling them to keep on going!

• @ Brian, I agree with you 100%

• All three parties were at fault in one way or another: the banks became too big to fail (AIB, Bank of Ireland and Anglo in particular), the authorities who allowed this to happen and the FF government who encouraged it to happen.

• yes Brian but Gavin didn’t blame the government, he blamed the civil and public servants and unfortunately he failed to realise they cant act where there is no law to allow them to act

• ryan how are the regulators/authorities able to act when there are no effective regulations set out to allow them to act?

• @Ryan

I disagree with you Ryan, the banks job is to make money for it’s shareholders that is it’s only function. AIB and BOI where in direct competition with Anglo. When Anglo started to lend recklessly the other two had to follow suit or else loose their market share. This is the problem with the corporate structure, in the good times all the money generated is taken out. Then in the bad time the people who cause the mess can just skip off into the sunset. By allowing this environment to develope the government is the most culpible.

@Joseph

I’m sorry Joseph, but that doesn’t wash. If the regulators (who I believe are generally ex board members at Irish banks, please correct me if I@m wrong on this) don’t have the necessary powers then they should go to the press. They are PUBLIC SERVANTS not government servents. They owe loyalty to the people. For them to say ‘Oh I knew this was going to happen but the ministers wouldn’t let me stop it’ is quite frankly a pathetic defence. I thought the reason why we have public servants is to provide continuity between governments. The government can’t fire them. So in my opinion they are a spinless shower of c*nts, just as corrupt as any politician.

• Brian the department of finance sent a multitude of reports to the government at the time warning them about the need to deflate the property market due to the creation of an artificial bubble. the government was too busy sat in a tent in galway drinking with the bank directors and being told “ah sure we’re all getting rich today, why worry about tomorrow and sure they’re all a shower of losers why else would you be a civil servant with pay like that”. Guess who they listened to, guess whose policy of lax regulation they followed cuz “sure you can trust us”. How is a civil servant, bound by the official secrets act and with no power to act going to make a difference in that climate? As I’ve said before there are many ills in the service, its bloated at management level, certain departments are massively inefficient ect ect but mess was not cause by it so dont you go trying to pin the blame. Also, classy turn of phrase there in that last line, always aids an argument to use the most disgusting word in the language.

• @Joseph

I’m no lawyer Joseph, but I’m pretty sure that the official secrets act is for matters of national security and has nothing to do with banking regulations. Can you please be more specifc. I’m genuinely curious and not trying to be smart here. If it is a case that a whistle blower would have faced being convicted of treason and imprisoned for telling the press that the government weren’t taking the threat of housing bubble/ negligent banking regulation seriously. Then I’ll happily take that lesson on board and be grateful for the correction.

Apologies for cruising round C town with the windows down, no need for it in a polite conversation.

• i work in the Land Registry Brian and I had to sign the official secrets act because although i don’t have any matters of national security i do deal with sensitive personal information that isn’t available to be passed into the public domain, if i was to leak any of this i would be prosecuted, I’m not sure what the crime would be, I cant imagine it would be treason though!! We have quite strict data protection regulations over what is on the register and we can release as its public access and what isn’t and we have to keep quiet about. Whilst I didn’t work in the central bank as such I don’t know the ins and outs of what is restricted i can imagine they could release information about what is being regulated, which would be freely available anyway, but couldn’t disclose the how they related to a particular bank and what their situation might be. And no worries we all lose our temper now and again and this is a pretty emotive subject.

• Well without a lawyer to spell it out for us I guess we’re not going to figure it out on our own. At the same time I’m sure they could have facillitated an article on the gaps in regulation enforcement and how a bank might theoretically exploit them. Since they, didn’t I stand by my argument without profanities this time that they didn’t do their jobs properly.

• and 5 long years of working the land registry have taught me to forget about getting a straight answer out of one of them! fair enough we will have to agree to disagree, whilst there was a regulation failure and there would have been errors at the regulator i feel its incredibly harsh to saddle them with the blame, for me the majority of the blame has to lie with the government of the time and the banks. also as i stated earlier the dept. of finance did submit several papers to the government well before the bust saying that the property bubble was getting out of control and needed to be slowly deflated before it burst, there were several articles i remember reading in the news about it around a year or 18 months ago, I can not sure though if there were such on this site as i didn’t frequent it back there.

• The regulator didn’t do his job, but was well paid not to do it.

• Where have you been for the last 20 years? What age are you? Have you any idea what has just happened to the country. Apply your last sentence to yourself, child, grow up, and get studying — particularly the (economic) history of the last half century.

• What’s going on at the minute is not in any way capitalism.

• When the people who ruined this country are put in jail first only then will the Irish people start working harder again!

• i wonder if Micheal realises that you need a left wing to balance the right wing before anything can take off ;)

• I listened to the show and this article doesn’t do his points justice. He has some great ideas and he damned the government for the way the run the country. He’s not afraid to stand up to anyone and that deserves respect. Like him or hate him he would sort out a lot of problems in this country given the chance. If the man ran for election I for one would vote for him because he says it as it is. End of.

• O Leary is a one trick pony that the media role out to stroke his ego…Dont get me wrong have flown lots of times with Ryanair what u see is what u get hard sell from start to finish and add ons…

He is right about the government of aherne but now we are ok we have Herr Angela and her poodle sarkosy

• Right wing dictatorship for 5years. That’s alright for the multi millionaire businessman.

• A serious right wing government for 5 years is just the ticket. i wouldn’t cut welfare benefits after a period of time though. I would make them work one day then two then three on public works like cleaning graffiti, cleaning parks and road sides until they get enough impetus to find something. children’s allowance should very stamps only redeemable as food or clothes. the wealthy must pay more than the middle. Currently you have to be unemployed or filthy rich to get a ride off our country. You only have to walk around the city to see some of the crettins that our taxes are currently keeping in air max and le coste tracksuits. O’Leary for supreme emperor of Ireland!

• i knew the minute i read this piece that it would divide opinion. he is just like that,you love him or loathe him. he does speak a lot of sense at times.the thing is,the country does need to be run like a cut throat business and i think its time that we got a little less pc,in all aspects of society,be it in the workplace,govt policies etc. we have just got to make the hard decisions,and yes that means that certain people will feel more pain than others. he is right..if we attack this deficit and over borrowing more aggressively than ever before,it will all be over a lot sooner. we have got to realise that the govt cannot please all of the people all of the time,they should take drastic measures,whatever they may be and lets get this fiscal virus out of our society asap.bring it on and lets share the pain for the greater good.the end justifies the means.

• In all fairness to the man he makes some perfectly valid points. He’s right, we are dragging cuts so that the country don’t feel as hard a punch but if we take the punch, recovery would be faster.

But that is stating the obvious. He’s right about benefits, people on lower wages etc but no matter how many good points he makes he says we need a right wing dictatorship. What the hell…Does he want to fly over the Syrian government or something? More can be done, none of it popular but we don’t need a right wing dictatorship. T!t.

• you can’t fly home weekly or monthly from Australia

• “Right wing”, maybe he’s gonna start trying to charge for the use of his…. just as your about to land!

• Funny enough…At least in O’Leary’s house the childrens allowance will be spent on the children…Not on John Player Blue, Cans of Tennents or the 2.30 at Doncaster..

• Spot on Michael…

• Ein Reich, Ein Volk, Ein Airline !

• While a lot of people may disagree with O’Leary he is correct. We can have long term pain and short term gain or short term pain and long term gain. Unfortunately we currently choose the foremost despite the latter being the preferential option for most governments and indeed populations around the world. We also have this strange idea of tax, tax, tax our population especially so when it comes to wealthier individuals, when i first heard it I thought okay but studying shows that idea is self-defeating, they’ll all be on a plane to Monaco the next day.Really if we want to make our recovery sustainable we need to cut, cut, cut and make all our systems much more practical cost-wise, all O’Leary has done here is point that out, indeed he does this a lot which is welcome but unfortunately both the government and our population always ignore him.

• He is right, but he’s jumping ahead of himself – no point taking the pain while we’re still propping up the banks. get rid of those payments first, leave the Euro, then we might make some progress.

• Paul, a change of currency and scrapping the bank guarantee won’t fix the fact we’ve a massive deficit in the public sector, we need progress there because while we can(and WILL) pay of our debts there is still a deficit that needs to be dealt with which you have just completely ignored.

• @theJournal – have I been banned from responding to comments or something??? every time I try to write anything resembling a detailed answer I get problems. after 5 attempts at answering Karls post I give up.

• Of course it posted that one!

• Right wing dictators are well known for voluntarily giving up power peacefully. What? Oh.

• I Leary started his airline in 6 porta cabins at the back of the airport while the taxpayer was funding renovations to the Aer Lingus plush offices for the trade unions and chosen few government appointees. Which worked best? Aer Lingus has lost a fortune during the same period. Grossly overloaded with excess. O Leary could teach everyone a lesson on living within your means.

• EMD 17/04/12 #

I’m inclined to agree, pity we are unlikely to see any of it implemented as we have such populist politicians in this country. straight up no frills truth would be nice and mean we all really and truly knew the state of the nation.

• I won’t argue with his business acumen or the success he has made out of his airline, hell i use them regular enough!! It is simplistic though to say that qualifies him to run a country. The reason he succeeded in his field is because he was hard, ruthless and didn’t give a damn, its part of the reason i don’t like him as a man and he has a high staff turnover. A country, whilst needing to be fiscally viable, is not a business. It does not exist to make a profit at all costs, it is there to implement measure that ensure that society functions and that whilst entrepreneureal vigour and the quest for success should not be discouraged, it should not be allowed to run free without recourse to and supporting the weakest in that society.

• EMD 18/04/12 #

Joseph, for me it be nice to see some of his no holds barred honesty in our politicians. I find the conjecture and biased information coming from all sides on issues such as water charges thoroughly infuriating. I wish they’d take more of his type approach and simply lay it on table so we are all fully informed of the real facts & reasoning behind new charges etc.

• That’s if you believe he is being truly honest or just shouting sensationalist hyperbole in order to get his name, his companies name and his photo in front of his companies banners into the press, that would just make him a loudmouth, more PR Davy version of our politicians!! That’s not to say I agree in any way with the consistent mixed messages and divide and conquer policies the current and previous government have acted our against their citizens.

• Face it folks .. ..the man is not only right on this issue but on most others. Michael O’Leary got where he is today by knowing what he is talking about. The state buys industrial relations by giving the vested interests all they want! Ryanair is the world beater because of his no union rule.

• the state sure does bow down to the unions far too easily, but o’leary in contrast much more of a disgrace for the way he treats his staff. treat you staff right and you keep them motivated, treat them too well and some become lazy and treat them badly and they don’t care less or they leave

• He’s a one trick pony.

• First of all Ryanair is not a world beater. The world extends far beyond Frankfurt Hahn. The world beater in low fares airlines is Southwest Airlines in the US. O’Leary admits that he based Ryanair on Southwest’s business model. There was just one thing he did not copy. Southwest is every bit as profitable as Ryanair but it is fully unionized. It is obvious therefore that Ryanair’s success is based on plagiarism and not the “no union rule.”

• How many tricks have you got Holemaster?

• Seamus,
      Im afraid that you are confusing the American idea of a Union (ie. a collective negotiating unit for the employees of a company) with the European or specifically Irish idea of a Union (ie. a collective of professional negotiaters who consider it their remit to run the company for the benifit of the employees rather than the benifit of the owners (those who risk their savings as shareholders)).
      Southwestern is a great company but that does not mean that Ryanair is not. Remember when Virgin airlines was bullied by the ‘big dog’ B.A. out of certain routes? Within 5 years of this the minnow that was Ryan air at that time compared competing with this big dog to ‘beating a dead donkey’ such was their success at winning market share!! That is a world beater and is is Mic O’Leary!!

• I’ve always fancied being a Dictator.
    That or a Pirate with a nuclear armed submarine………….

By Jove, though I say so myself, I would be sublime!

• ah yes a right wing dictator. like pinochet for instance? what a great idea because the free market has worked out so well.

Michael, read the shock doctrine and weep.

• Easy solution: take away his Children’s Allowance.

I know I’d sleep easier at night.

• Andy 17/04/12 #

Has he given back all the children’s allowance he is getting?

• The first rule of business is to make a profit! Not to do so threatens the pay packets of his many employees around the world. he has a high turn over because he demands a productive days work from each employee. T his does not suit many and they leave (after paying for their own training lol).

• just a question: how many colours is it possible to get SICK in before the picture is painted for the people in high places in a way that they understand?

• fair play to him

• He’s got this spot on, dole should be reduced after 12 months, teachers should work same hours as everyone in the private sector,best thing would be to sack all civil servants and let them reapply for their jobs on a pay scale and same conditions as private sector. They are bleeding taxpayers dry.

• Teachers work the academic year. Get over it. Stop falling for divide and conquer tactics of modern democratic centre right government. Stop hating your neighbour because some rag told you what to think.

• No one told me to hate my neighbours and that is not what this is about, and I am not falling for any goverment tactics have my own opinions, which have not changed in the past four decades, that public sector workers have it too easy they need to be accountable and productive though I know this is an oxymoron where most of them are concerned

• So Michael do you think your kids should be in school 9-5? The vast majority of accademics would suggest that could be counter-productive as they wouldn’t take anything in for the last couple of hours due to mental fatigue. Do you not think that teachers have to work outside the hours the school is open? when do you think they mark your little ones homework or plan their lessons? also what do you want them to do when the kids are on holiday?

• During school holidays they should work, we have to pay them to mark exams during their extended holidays

• ok, so they work through the holidays? so that means that they then get a normal holiday allowance like the rest of us and can take it whenever. so then the school presumably needs more teachers to make sure there is cover for staff who are on holiday? you also then are happy when if a teacher, like a normal worker like me, gets a good deal on a holiday in say april/may and there is cover so they can go and leaves your little kids class to someone else just before an important exam you’re ok with it because they are after all normal workers!!

• CJS 17/04/12 #

So, is he suggesting a change of government or just more of the same for the next five years?

• People need to realise this guy is anti social and an ego maniac. He’s only interested on money. A boring one dimensional machine who shouldn’t get media time.

• He is neither of those things Holemaster… as with others on here I suggest you have no idea about Mr O’Leary.He provides huge direct and indirect employment and has many strings to his bow. Not only is he an excellent businessman, he is also an accomplished horse man and quiet a brillant farmer to boot…. In fact i would suggest that Mr O’Leary loves nothing more than herding his pure bred cattle.
      Holemaster…He has more dimensions than you could ever hope to have…

• when was the last time you flew on ryanair plane Declan that had an Irish member of cabin crew? or an irish pilot? or someone irish as ground staff checking your ticket? or when you had to call him on his €3 a min number had an irish person answering the phone? I’ve not encountered a single one of these in the last 5 years of flying mainly dublin-east midlands to visit my parents but also occassionally to glasgow prestwick, manchester and bristol to visit a variety of friends and family.

• @Joseph,

Sorry mate not following you around trying to pcik fights. But I do have a strong view on this. The reason why so few Irish people work for Ryanair is that they consider it beneath them. I have loads of freinds who are quite happy to live with their parents playing playstation cursing the government for not providing them with a sexy job after the three years they spent on the piss doing an undergrade it heritage and cabbage studies or some other bs degree.

• haha no worries Brian, disagreement and debate is healthy….. i think. I have no doubt that there is an element of this, it was a big reason that alot prefered to collect the pay out and turned their noses up at cleaning jobs and the like during the tiger. It doesn’t however account for the total lack of them and the way O’Leary pays and treats his employees is hardly makes working for him an attractive prospect.

• Well having carefully studied the Ryanair 2012 calendar it would appear that there are at least some Irish people out there with the work ethic needed to hack it in Ryanair. http://www.baltictravelnews.com/gallery/3777/mid_68769.jpg If only there were like Gillian out there!

On a more serious note though, O’leary has said it himself he calls his planes buses with wings. These people are engaged in low skill work and are paid accordingly. If we had a hundred more MOLs out there running the likes of the ESB, EIRCOM, we wound end up with services that were run much more effectively and cheaply.

I’m about to go off topic a little bit but whatever.

The main problem with socialism is that it is so inefficient when it comes to the division of labour and capital. In a pay dispute in the private sector, there is equal upward and downward pressure. The company owners have to pay the employees with their own money, as result the employees demands have to be reasonable or the company will collapse and they’ll lose their jobs.

In the public sector the politician is paying the workers with our money. So instead of opposing public workers ridiculous demands and losing the next general election as a result of strike action, it’s far easier for him to just pay the money and add the cost to the national debt.

• And the main problem with our current situation is it’s not capitalism.

• So run the country like Ryanair : a like it or lump it policy. No thank you.

• I am sure Mr O’Leary gives a toss what any of us think…And you know what he is right….

• I wish to Jesus you didn’t give a toss either. I’m sick of reading you fawning over MOL. I’m embarrassed for you

• Dont be Reada… Im just dandy…apart from the sickness in my stomach i get when i read anything you write….

• EMD 17/04/12 #

Declan, just report the comments as you end up wasting time and energy trying to respond to these comments. Speaking for myself I know I get so annoyed by them that I end up getting embroiled in pointless discourse and end up occasionally lowering my standards to their level. So from now on just report the consistent personal and abusive comments and bullying behaviour from the same sources on every article.

• Fair enough EMD. I assume we are talking about the same people?

• EMD 17/04/12 #

I would assume so, there have been a number of other complaints been made today about the same thing on another thread.The Journal needs to know that it is happening so report the posts to let them know.

• Declan Cotter is constantly having a go at me Elaine but I’m not running to report him. If anyone else is making complaints about me on other threads as you seem to be implying I’d appreciate if you were more direct with your insinuations. I can handle it. I’m well able to defend myself!

• censored 18/04/12 #

Wow, getting nasty in here.

• Not having a go. Just give an alternative point of view to yours.

• For the record Reada, there is nothing to report. Unless you call pointing out the flaws and rudeness in many of your comments as reportable?

• Declan if I want to learn to be rude I couldn’t learn from a better master. You’re no more Declan Cotter than mcbab is called mcbab. How many times have you been barred from journal? It must be tiresome having to create new names. I haven’t been barred once!

I will argue with comments ppl make but I don’t leave snide comments about them. And EMD I haven’t been involved in any complaints on other threads. Nice bit of passive aggression there. When I’m aggressive at least it’s obvious. So much for <3U.

• Never been blocked Reada…In fact , I am only viewing these forums for about 2 months. I used to check it out for news updates but never paid any attention to what was written below. By chance i looked at one thread and all I saw was you and one or two more spitting poison about this politican and that…. Vile stuff really without any real basis. I also saw you pandering for support on protests etc. I took great exception to that…Even more so after the weekend where a female guard i know was headbutted by one of the people in the protest.. That is a fact, I know the girl and she has the black eyes to prove it…. So in summary, I feel it is my duty to provide balance on this forum…Up to now all i see (with the odd exception) are people who are obviously SF or ULA….
      Declan.

• I know this is more shallow self publicity but still, how irresponsible can you be, did he not ever happen across the response of a country called Germany to the great depression?

• What a creep. I always knew I couldn’t stand him. I think I’ll raise that to despise now. Anytime I see him interviewed his complete disregard for people, be it his staff or his passengers, shines through.

• hes a sociopath and its a sad on reflection on irish society that so many respect him.

• I know he is. It’s just that I’m trying to save that word for our government Ghostie ;)

I knew I’d get leathered for saying it. I can’t believe how anyone could respect him. True he speaks how he feels, so he’s honest at least, but it’s how he feels is what bothers me. What a creep!

• It illustrates perfectly that Ireland really has plunged to the bottom when advice from a flying-bus operator is considered newsworthy. Hopefully Newstalk will balance this spiel-laden vitriol with an in-depth interview with a banana eating penguin.

• I suggest that neither of you know Mr O’Leary. He provides employment in this country, brings millions of tourists in every year.
      What exactly have any of you done????
      I imagine some of the comments he made were tongue in cheek but some excellent points made also..
      Dont expect the whinge brigade on here to get it though

• Well said Declan!

Too many begrudging socialists with too much time on their hands.

You know the definition of a socialist……someone who has nothing and wants to share it with everyone – lol

• thanks Paul…i have a feeling that the SF and ULA brigade will be firing at you now…

• @ Declan Cotter.

I’ve done lots of things actually. Now to be honest, none of them have been massively financially successful, but then again I don’t think that’s of ultimate importance in the wider scheme of things.

• “Michael O’Leary provides jobs in this country”

So what? That doesn’t make him Jesus.

• @Censored – nobody said he was Jesus, just successful.

In this country that makes him enemy number one of the ULA/Continuity Begrudgers/Provisional Victims

• I too have achieved a lot in my life , so far, again not huge on the corporation side of things , but I am proud of my achievements ,and dare anyone to contradict me ! I am not a drain on society financially , I am law abiding , resourceful and give of my time to assist less well off and vulnerable. I am not talking financially less well off either .Not every thing can be measured in money terms

• @ Decaln and Paul. It’s not important what I’ve done but i is important to know that I’ve never avoided paying my debts.

Ryanair have lost the latest round of their attempt to avoid paying passengers compensation for accommodation and meal costs following the volcanic ash disruption in 2010.

Nor have I tried to screw clients or customers: Ryanair are being investigated by an air safety watchdog over their policy of preventing passengers from sitting next to emergency exits unless they pay an extra £10.

O’Leary would love the airline industry to be ‘regulated’ similar to how our banks were regulated … Ryanair Incident Watch … so far: http://www.ihateryanair.org/ryanair-incidents-so-far-this-year/

• An airline is not a country. A country is not an airline.

• I’ll elaborate briefly for the red-thumbers. One of the perennial problems this country has had is the shortsightedness in political decision-making. Short-term thinking got this country into the mess it’s in now. Long-term thinking would have prevented it, trivially (as has happened elsewhere). It is a truism that virtually *all* thinking in business (even so-called strategic thinking) is short-term (or medium-term at rare best). (Those who think strategic thinking in business is long-term overlook the scale they implicitly use.)

There isn’t space here to elaborate on the consequences of this but you can think of the environment and human rights to start off with: no significant progress in these areas ever came about at the behest of business or business-like thinking; in fact, it is uncontroversial to point out that the biggest resistance to such progress has come from business. You don’t have to take this as a criticism of business, if it upsets you. The business of business is profoundly different from the business of country. It is a measure of the failure of something essential in the “Irish psyche” over the last couple of decades that this patently obvious fact is routinely overlooked. (Don’t like the term “Irish psyche”? Then substitute “Irish educational system” or “Irish thought-space”. You can even delete the word “Irish” if you like.)

It is (and has been) very easy to sleepwalk into a business-model view of “running a country”. We’ve tasted some of the rotten fruits of that mindset. IMO, this is the tip of the iceberg. “After the roots have died, the tree will continue standing for a long time. But, one day, it will fall.”

• And then what ?

• A prime specimen of a man out of touch.

• Well said Michael. I agree with him on that.

• Reading the headline I thought this contribution from O’Leary might be insightfull. It’s not…

• Thats alright for him to say he is minted,also he should reflect on his own makey upey charges and fares..

• frank 17/04/12 #

He is spot on I would like to tax all house hole incomes even the people the dole at a % rate of there total incomes that would stop all this crap and make it more even for everyone

• Aleo 17/04/12 #

O’Leary is no advertisement for history teaching at Clongowes. Is he aware of how most right-wing dictatorships tend to be brought to an end?

• to be honest he is sadly more aware of how once the liberating forces win they remove the dictator they tend to keep the rest of the ruling and business elite in place because they like the colour of their money. Cases in point, volkswagen, porsche and bertelsmann in germany and the japanese pharmaceutical industry post world war 2

• And I’m sure Mick would love to be that right-wing dictator. Trouble with all dictators however is that they don’t normally adhere to five-year terms. Anyone who says that Ireland would benefit from a dictatorship is, in my opinion, guilty of sedition.

• Wow… Why don’t we just shoot all the poor people? Although if that happens I might not get a chance to get my start up business off the ground. Michael I admire you in some ways but you are such a Plonker.

• I think any suggestion about turning this country into a right-wing dictatorship is very dangerous. We might already have enough to worry about with right wing Europeans trying to monopolise us by further undermining our sovereignty in this upcoming referendum. Talk like this makes me feel like packing my bags and hopping on the first aer Lingus flight for Hawaii.

• Right winged Europeans? Seriously, isn’t Europe one of the most liberal and left leaning places in the world? And seriously moving to Hawaii? The same Hawaii that is part of the US, the very right wing US…

• I was thinking sunshine and tropical things really and as I’ve said before, I think Europe is a great idea- just not this particular Europe run as it seems to be undemocratically by an often unelected banking elite. Troika- here today, no doubt setting economic and social policy for us well into the future and all behind closed doors- no press conference, no meetings with opposition parties, nothing. Doesn’t look good from where I’m sitting.

• Sure we are a right wing dictatorship already….Altho I believe the guys pulling the
      purse strings like to call it — shusssssssssh now —- a right wing democracy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Emigration is great for Ryanair, more emigrants returning on Ryanair flights to see their young children on the weekends. Michael O’Leary is a tactless attention seeking git.

• I thought we already have a dictatorship. Oisin Quinn gave himself planning permission in Dublin City Council. His uncle Raoire dictates what is happening in the education of our children without consent of the teachers. I like O Leary and I think we owe him a debt of gratitude when our national carrier was making it impossible to travel.

• Mjhint 17/04/12 #

I admire O leary a lot but I dont think he could introduce most of the stuff he is talking about. However what he is saying is the government have not got serious about sorting stuff out & they really need to. We can chose a public service like we have now & endless recession or cut the shit out of it & sort things out in maybe 5years. I know what Id be chosing. Its impossible to avoid the public service is going to be ripped to pieces.

• Why does this guy constantly get a public rostrum!?
    Ok his business has been very successful over the past number of years but they are hardly the people to sort things out when something gies wrong!!!.. Quiet the contrary in fact.. They run a mile and charge you for the pleasure.. No thanks Michael

• The question I would ask is- would you like to have him as a neighbour?
    “mike can I borrow your ladder”
    “sure but I am going to charge you for using it” !

• Which colour shirts will all you O’Leary fans be wearing when you start burning books and marching
    In torchlit parades?

• O Leary is a narcissistic turd chaser.

• Wow. Comments are being deleted. Not even offensive ones. Someone likes O’Leary here. I fear our new young copy and paste ‘journalists’ have no shame.

• Issac 17/04/12 #

haha, your such a jerk Michael!! just keep the tourists coming agus dún do bheal. G. Hook, that guys also a jerk.

• He is too used to non-unionised staff. He lives in a rare place and is out of touch. He wouldnt be able to run a normal workplace where bullying of staff would not be condoned. Bet he wouldnt last 6 months at the ESB or Bus or Train services or any big company where staff assert their rights.
    Not a fit person to dictate to us.

• A serious left wing dicatatorship would sort things out even quicker…the purge of all his kind from this country would be a start

• So all the people who bring money into the country and create jobs here would be gone. Sounds more like North Korea to me mate.

• ….and all the people who have robbed us and put us in this mess would face some actual punishment for a change, but Im not saying a communist dicatorship would be a good thing im highlighting that you are a hypocrite if you consider o leary’s point a valid one. Any extreme dicatatorship is wrong, wether its left or right. But for brainwashed people like yourself who believe the only way out is to suffer more and more in the vain hope that if we take all the consequences for their actions then our ”betters” might take pity on us and decide to help because we have been so ”good”, i say to you look at ICELAND. Theres your alternative right there.

• I believe the State should balance what it takes in and what it spends sooner rather than later, with more cuts than tax increases.
      I’m pragmatic and realise that the Government’s hands are largely tied on bank debt due to the fact the Troika are funding the shortfall in this country’s budgets.
      I feel (and have previously said this here before today) that universal benefits go against the true definition of welfare and should be scrapped in favour of a more efficient system.

Having these views does not mean I’m brainwashed. Are all who disagree with you brainwashed?

As for his comments, I don’t support the dictatorship part of his comments – however the rest I do agree with. O’Leary says certain things in a provocative way, but it doesn’t mean all of his message is incorrect.

• Of course we should balance what we take in with what we spend. but why not take some money from people who can afford it????? why not stop paying the gambling debts of the bondholders? why not get a proper deal for our natural resources? or better still nationalise them. Nigeria gets a better deal on its oil and gas than we do. What makes you brainwashed is not that you disagree with me it is that you believe we should take the punishment for their mistakes , and sell off all hope of any future recovery at knock down prices in case they get annoyed and take their buisiness elsewhere.

• I always considered him an ignorant wanker. Checkmate.

• mike 18/04/12 #

Is he campaigning for a higher a higher income tax rate for the rich? Oh No, he does not want any cuts in his income for you. Funny that…………

• Scum Baggage

• sounds like an FG/Lab politician.

• Seamus,
    Im afraid that you are confusing the American idea of a Union (ie. a collective negotiating unit for the employees of a company) with the European or specifically Irish idea of a Union (ie. a collective of professional negotiaters who consider it their remit to run the company for the benifit of the employees rather than the benifit of the owners (those who risk their savings as shareholders)).
    Southwestern is a great company but that does not mean that Ryanair is not. Remember when Virgin airlines was bullied by the ‘big dog’ B.A. out of certain routes? Within 5 years of this the minnow that was Ryan air at that time compared competing with this big dog to ‘beating a dead donkey’ such was their success at winning market share!! That is a world beater and is is Mic O’Leary!!

• As always, he is controversial but he deserves to be listened to regardless if you agree with him or not.

• usual bullshit from o leary…..

• P’rhaps he’s mixed up his tablets again or forgot to take them!

• I’m just gonna skip this article (seeing as how the usual treatnent for am attentiom seeking brat is ignorimg them) and go and point out what a fantastic picture of him that is! kudos for another great terrible picture thejournal! :D

• What a mickey!!!

• Fair enough Michael, you get em here, we’ll rip em off… No craic trying to buy a dinner out for a family of 6 in any of the ‘tourist’ hotspots here. I mean loike if it wasn’t for the old childers allowance we’d only be eating out twice a month.

• I would expect more from O ‘ leary a right wing dictatorship like it sorted out spain/ germany/ nicaragua/chile etc etc .
    I note he wants to reduce state benefits,lower paid civil servants and no doubt minimum wage …no mention of a maximum wage to balance it up. There is a case for the reduction of state benefits etc but also for higher paid civil servants , for those on radio and television , especially those with 2 or 3 or morejobs on radio and television–reduction of the big pensions , reduced expenses for tds and reduced salaries etc
    what will bring the youth back to Ireland once they have left –the national debt , in 20 years we will have a missed generation of earners and no one to pay taxes , but im sure the politicians will still have their big pensions

• Ah yes a good strong leader to lead us out of recession….. Sorry Michael it’s been done and the Germans didn’t do a good job of it, but with a decent socialist system afterwards they appear to be helping us now and doing a pretty decent job of looking after themselves.

• remove FINE TRAITOR GAEL

• some of what he says is correct. and let’s face it he is a good busines man

Add New Comment