You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Philo, decorated with a white rose on 4 January last Photocall Ireland
Back in Town

Phil Lynott statue to return to Harry Street next week

The landmark statue was damaged back in May after it was pushed over.

WORK IS UNDERWAY on a new reinforced plinth for the statue of Phil Lynott, three months after it was removed for repairs after being vandalised.

It’s planned the landmark piece will be reinstalled the weekend after next, ahead of an unveiling ceremony the following Tuesday, on the 64th anniversary of the Thin Lizzy frontman’s birth.

Two men turned themselves into gardaí at Pearse Street Station the day after the incident, which happened in the early hours of the morning on 10 May last, and officers said they weren’t seeking anyone else in connection the case.

The monument was seriously damaged after it was pushed over, with its bronze coat suffering a tear in the fall, and repairs are now nearing completion.

Phil’s mother Philomena forgave the culprits almost immediately, telling Hot Press magazine at the time:

It seems now that it was just a bunch of high spirited boys, who meant no harm. So I am not annoyed with them. I’m only hoping that none of the lads got hurt.

Council workers are planning to drill-down deep into the pavement outside Bruxelles Bar to insert a large medal rod, making it impossible for anyone to push the statue over in future.

The scene at Harry Street today (Bruxelles Bar, via Twitter)

Read: Two arrested after Phil Lynott statue pushed over and seriously damaged >

Read: Meet the hackers’ group tackling the Ha’penny Bridge’s ‘love’ problem >