TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Do you think schools should increase time spent in PE classes?

A new study shows risk factors for heart disease can be found in Irish children as young as 10, so should schools increase time spent on physical activities?

Image: Children exercising picture via Shutterstock

A NEW STUDY has revealed that risk factors for heart disease can be found in Irish children as young as 10 years old.

The study showed that over a quarter of children were overweight or obese and despite relatively good fitness levels, activity levels were low with less than half of the group participating in the recommended one hour a day.

In the tests on 102 children at a primary school in Dublin, six had elevated cholesterol levels, five had higher blood pressure than normal and sixteen showed “clustering” of cardiovascular disease risk factors.

Researchers said the risk is greater for children who are inactive.

It has been suggested that schools should dedicate more time to physical education to keep children active but with recent cuts to resources others have said it is the responsibility of parents to ensure their children get enough exercise.

But what do you think? Should schools increase the amount of time spent on physical education?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (114 Comments)

• Schools should of course increase time spent in PE classes, but they must also find a way to make it more attractive to those kids who don’t enjoy sport as much as some of the others. It wasn’t until towards the end of my time in school that I began to enjoy PE classes because it was only then that they began to introduce a wider variety of activities such as yoga, dance and woodland walks. It’s not all about team sports and competitiveness, it’s also about keeping fit and having fun while you do it.

• Good point, Siobhan. PE can very beneficial in many ways. As well as the popular sports being played there is scope to introduce other activities like you suggest. PE can incorporate healthy eating, team work, conflict resolution, relaxation, stress management, self expression, morale and confidence building through all sorts of sports and activities. It’s a no brainer really.

• Agreed. In secondary school the one PE class a week was intimidating because it was dominated by the sports stars & the PE teacher played to their strengths & it was usually team sports. Stories from fellow students who went on student exchanges of 2 hour PE classes 3 times a week of fun activities like circus skills, swimming or yoga made us wide eyed and envious!

• one sure fire way to help the kids out of course and its very simple…..UNPLUG THE X-BOX……
      kids sitting in a classroom most of the day…and what do they do when they come home…drop the school bag at the front door…straight into their rooms and thumb twigling for the rest of the evening…. they need to hear “get out and play”!!

• lots of sport and for those who don’t like sport a good gym work out.
      Mostly its the parents fault, fat parents = fat children, there is enough info out there now for every one to know how to stay healthy .
      and food should now be given as a reward.

• There is plenty of Religion class time they could use for this.

• Dave 17/01/13 #

elevated cholesterol, I think a shite diet might have a lot to do with it.

• Parents are to blame for fat kids. They do the shopping. If they didn’t feed their kids crisps, burgers and coke and let them sit all day playing computer games, there wouldn’t be an obesity problem. Remember kids, you too can be a Loverocket if you say no to junk food!!

• siobeli 17/01/13 #

It’s up to the parents to ensure child is active!
    PE may not suit all kids personality!! Some children are better at team sports such as football etc, while others may suit swimming and gymnastics etc! My bro hated PE, football, martial arts etc, in his late teens discovered surfing, which he is mad about now and goes at least once a week. But it was my parents who encouraged him (and drove him to and from!)

• absolutely, couldn’t beat a game of indoor footy on a wednesday morning, 30 mins and once a week was not enough

• True!

A lot of parents are failing their kids. School would be the perfect time.

• More PE and less Irish classes, your health will always be important to you, but Irish may not be.

• Parents would want to cop on a little and take some ownership. If the school is not facilitating then clubs or even bringing the kids out trekking instead of fuelling them with sugar rich foods while they grow outwards on a couch could be a clear and blindingly obvious option. The schools are not the parents of these kids.

• So for the thumbs down, you think your health is not as important as Irish? Strange…

• @Rob I gave you a red thumb for belittling the irish language. As an adult my big regret is not being able to speak my native tongue fluently. Plus there’s all this outside school time that could be used for additional exercise. It’s called parenting.

• Surely exercise and healthy eating is one thing that can be done outside of school. God knows there’s plenty of sports clubs around the place. It seems like every week people are looking for schools to increase the time the spend on some subject or another.

By the way even if there were more PE classes timetabled, there is no guarantee that the kids will even take part. Plenty of my friends seemed to “forget” their gear or something most weeks!

• Mack 17/01/13 #

Rob, I gave you a thumbs down, only reason why is why should one subject for another, learning as many languages as possible when younger makes it easier to get to grasp with other languages when your older, schools are there to teach subjects that parents haven’t the ability to. If PARENTS can’t explain that eatting healthy and fitness are important then why should teachers be over burdened they are employed to teach not be their parents.

• How is saying your health is more important than learning Irish belittling it? Is your health insignificant? I can speak Irish, but it’s useless unless I present the nuacht, teach it or live in a Gaeltacht. It’s not necessary for working for multinationals, or in the case where people are flowing out of this country to seek work abroad they won’t need it either. It’s a nice to have, but that’s really it. And it’s taught very badly for a native language.

• Fair point.

• Well whatever about Irish, the amount of time we wasted in school doing religion, all religion periods should be replaced by PE.

• Deni5 17/01/13 #

Ní múinim, Ní úsáidim an Ghaelinn do mo phost (agus TÁ postanna eile go bhfuil an teanga riachtanach), níl conaí orm sa Ghaeltacht ach tá sí fós tábbachtach dom

In that case, should we stop teaching all English literature and maths beyond adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing, foreign languages, history and science and just focus on what we need? Think not…

• IOHA 17/01/13 #

Health paramount but why not make room for both?

• While its important for schools to increase PE and get the kids active, another factor is what the parents are feeding their kids.

I see some kids who are massive and wonder do these parents have no shame. I’m not talking about parents who are genuinely struggling and are forced to make do with cheap food but rather the parents who continuously buy takeaways and buy fatty foods.

Buying fruit and veg can make all the difference.

• It has nothing to do with the schools – the question is flawed. The curriculum only allows for 1 hour of PE a week. No more, no less. The questions should be about the Department of Education & Science. If schools were allowed more time for PE instead of the 2.5 hours of religion then it would happen.

• Aidan 17/01/13 #

Just don’t have them sitting all those hours of the day, that’d be half the battle. Sedentary lifestyle is lethal.

• I’m not sure, to be frank.

Ireland’s pretty well furnished with wide open green areas. Can’t kids run around in those when away from school?

• Course we do! Kids nowadays are fat! Really fat! They have no idea how to exercise. Don’t realise the many benefits of it, whether it be positive social interactions or the health benefits! Pe class gives these fat lumps the skills needed to maintain a healthy lifestyle if they want to. Did I mention how fat kids are nowadays? It’s a joke they should roll to school!

• The NCCA suggest the amount if time that should be spent on PE in schools. Currently it stands at 1 hour per week for children in 2nd to 6th Class.any schools have a healthy lunch policy too. There is only so much a school can do.

• Obviously any physical exercise is great for our kids, and schools should have more PE, swimming and games lessons. But, as usual, budget and resource matters mean many children will go without.
    Parents obviously have the responsibility too, sadly many will not make sure their children get outdoors and get moving!

• Replace religion classes with PE and the kids would be healthier of both mind and body

• I am always amazed by these polls that ask a simple yes or no question and there is still a ‘don’t know’ option. And more amazingly some people pick this option:)

• would be great if after school activities didnt cost as much…

• i volunteer with a local athletics club, ?20 membership for a year, busses to races vary on distance but that’s?10-?20, don’t have to compete but it gives something to aim for

• Ye there is some that are good my liitle one will be starting GAA in march on saturday mornings and its 20 for membership can’t complain about that, but its the things she really wants to do like dancing and swimming that are expensive.. But sure she runs round the garden like a lunatic with her sister and we walk to and from school every day so not worried bout them getting excersise :)

• More populist nonsense. How are small schools with no facilities supposed to do this? Are schools supposed to solve all the nations problems??Parents should take responsibility for their children’s general health, make them turn off the tv and wii and get outside exercising!

• In the rain, parents are paying more then enough taxes to get their gets educated and a child sitting down all day at a desk is not good for them!

• This shouldn’t be about keeping kids slim, but about keeping them stimulated. My secondary school certainly failed miserably at it. I think physical activity will a) Contribute to the childs overall wellbeing, and b) Actually aid their academia, by not burning them out on info retention.

• Parents should raise their kids properly. Just because you “pay taxes” doesn’t mean you can abdicate your responsibility for your own progeny to the state. Why did you have kids if you’re not even bothered to raise them properly?

• Yes parents play a massive role but a child spends most of their day in school and then most of their evening doing homework – especially once you reach secondary school – I loved sport but I had to cut it out completely during the week when I was busy with exams and they cut are lousy half an hour of PE during our LC year..I started walking to and from school then just to squeeze some exercise in (6 miles a day) –

Sports needs to be a part of a child’s education – it’s as, if not more important than the core subjects –

physical activity = good health and mental wellbeing = higher academic performance.

The two go hand in hand! Parents and teachers both have a role to play in a child’s education, the same should go for physical activity – without focusing in on waist measurements and BMI which all create a more image based focus rather than a fitness one (e.g. you can have a low BMI be viewed as healthy, yet smoke 40 a day – not the best guide to health)

Give children exercise – let them learn to love their bodies. If a child loves exercise, which in turn gives them higher self-esteem and more confidence then the knock on effect is that they’l also start to care about what they use to fuel their bodies – Physical fitness has to be made compulsory is schools, but it should be varied and should have a focus on fitness, health and participation rather than being competitive!

• Yes they should increase the time, provided it is in a structured manner, and not just a teacher handing out a football or whatever…

• Exactly. When I was in school we just played Soccer. Occasionally we’d play Basketball, Hurling or Football. But it was mainly soccer to be honest, which I didn’t like and was no good at. Branching out to other sports like Boxing, Athletics, Rugby, Dodgeball, circuit training against the clock etc. would have made it more interesting. I thought I didn’t like participating in sports until I started doing Kick Boxing & Boxing in college, which I loved. Throwing a few kids a soccer ball in a hall once a week isn’t really PE in my opinion.

• PE nowadays covers a wide variety of sports while all the time developing the student in many ways….communication, social skills! Teachers adapt content so to challenge everybody and to ensure everyone enjoys taking part. Or at least with teachers qualified within the last 15 years or so!

• Unfortunately schools have their hands tied on this, the Department says we can spend one hour of curriculum time per week on P.E. and we can’t take more time out of other subjects unless they change the curriculum. However, physical activity is not limited to P.E., kids can be active while learning other curricular subjects and my class only spend about half their day sitting down. There are also after school activities but that only works if parents choose to send them! Healthy eating and food awareness are taught in both primary Science and S.P.H.E. but at the end of the day it’s not the kids cooking the dinners and making the lunches! Schools can play a part but the people who can make the biggest difference, for example:
    On Monday morning after a nice sunny weekend the teacher asks “What did you do over the weekend?” “XBox/DVD/iPad,” reply 80% “GAA/football/swimming/dancing,” reply the rest.

• Sorry that should say “parents are the people who can make the biggest difference”.

• Ispini. Parents are working a hell o a lot longer hours than teachers with most not getting home till late in the evening in order to pay the bills. Also parents are the result of bad education in this regard and were not taught the emphasis of exercise in school so how can they pass this to their kids. Teachers should be made do a full day 9-5:30 with kids to accommodate their health and exercise classes. This would go a long way towards getting value for money from teachers, after school care reducing financial burden on parents
      and giving kids the life skills to lead a healthy life

• Paddy, I get to school at 8am and I leave at 5pm. For the hour before the kids arrive and the two hours after they leave I am correcting their work, putting up their work, creating posters and displays to reinforce their learning, making props and resources to teach with. Then after I get home I spend about another hour or two every night doing more correcting and other jobs. I’m not moaning about it, it’s part of my job, I’m paid reasonably well for it and I love it. I’m just trying to show you that teachers don’t work 9 to 3, most do an 8 to 10 hour day (not counting the preparation at the weekend). Besides, my point was that there ARE after hours sports and exercise programmes run by schools but we can’t force parents to send their kids and we can’t do anything about parents allowing their kids to spend the weekend glued to an XBox! I love my job but I’m not going to go around 28 houses at the weekend making them all salads and taking them out for a game of football!

• patrick 17/01/13 #

I always missed the education part of PE. In my school it was a case of “here’s a ball, lads, go play soccer for the next hour”. Only when the teacher was sick were we marched off to a classroom and made transcribe a text about lactic acid.

I remember it so well, twenty years ago.

A bit of technique, a bit of instruction, would have made a big difference to quite a few of us in the class

• Wouldn’t it be better to spend more time on exercises than teaching religion on the schools .

• Smiley 17/01/13 #

I read some research a while ago, sorry can’t remember where or when, showing that 30 minutes a day of exercise, in primary school, increased children’s ability to absorb their lessons. I’d say that the habit, learnt at that age, might stick around. Using skipping ropes, hula hoops and movement to music are options in a notoriously wet country.

• More sport less religion, it’s better the kids are fit and healthy and thought about healthy eating and exercise etc in this life than being thought a load of horse manure about various religions some fantasy afterlife.

• I dont think an extra hour of PE would do much! I think it has more got to do with what students do after school. Some choose to get out and go training and participate in after school activities while the majority will sit at home for the evening and watch telly and play video games. Even if a person is not interested in sports they should go walking or do some form of activity.

• Absolutely. A lot more time should be spent on general fitness and not just throwing a football to kids. They should be educated on correct and safe excercise techniques, a variety of sports, nutrition, good eating habits and basic home cooking skills etc. They should also be tested on these as part of the standard curriculum.

• They should be taken on Walks also, Nature walks even?

• The PE system is currently failing those who have no interest in certain team sports. PE should be a practical and academic subject. It should happen once a day to reflect how you should exercise in daily life. It should teach about nutrition and health such as the importance of stretching etc. it should include cardio, muscle, adventure sport, Yoga, and team sport. This craic of playing 45mins of soccer once a week is an absolute disgrace!! The best way to work it is keep kids after school to do their exercise, that way teachers actually get closer to their a full day of work (for no extra pay), kids get exercise and parents aren’t stuck trying to organise someone to mind them. Win win win situation.

• I just wonder in relation to this question (and others around what should or should not be taught in schools), is there NO onus on the parents whatsoever to ensure their children have a healthy diet, lifestyle, and access to sport/recreation. Children/teenagers are not unhealthily overweight/obese because they spend too much time sitting in school. One of the symptoms of neglect in children is obesity (apart from in children with specific medical issues), and therefore would it not be the responsibility of the parents in the first instance, and not schools, to ensure that our children are not living an unhealthy lifestyle which will have major health implications for the people in years to come?

• When I was in school, I wanted more PE. I knew what was best for my psyche then and I still feel the same way today.

• Yes, most definitely! I had no PE in my secondary school. Not ONE measly class. I hated school passionately, mainly because in my school, if you were considered academic, then THAT is all you’d do. I wasn’t allowed do woodwork, home economics etc. For some reason, these were reserved for those who were considered not as academic. Children and teenagers need more than just academia drummed into them for most of the day. I think PE everyday, and even a double class of it would be productive on the academic side too. Its mentally draining to do academia for 6 hours a day!! PE should be as big a priority as Maths. Religion and to a lesser extent English, were the only classes that you could actually opine in. We were encouraged to express ourselves, and not simply absorb info which was always a welcome relief after hours of exam focussed info retention. So yeah, PE all the way.

• Ireland is backwards when it comes to physical activity for kids. for one primary school teachers are getting inadequate training in PE but also the curriculum is ridiculous, in my opinion there needs to be less time spent on traditional subjects like religion and Irish and more time spent on keeping children healthy.

• I understand the Irish & Religion thing, but you can use that argument for any subject in secondary school. I did geography, and german for 6 years, but i went to Berlin and everyone spoke english and I let sat nav give me directions to places so I don’t need/use maps or care about coastal erosion etc. I don’t use any of the Maths I learned in secondary school, and I use a calculator for anything even vaguely tricky so why did I need to send 6 years learning that. I learned biology for leaving cert but don’t use anything I learned in it ever and google anything I need info on so again why not get rid of that too. If you continue on with that argument then what’s the point of history or art or music or woodwork or technology or any subject really????

• Little fat children are hilarious. The fatter the better I say.

• My son should have 1 double class of P.E. per week. His teacher has missed approx 7 of these since September. I would be happy if he just turned up for the ones he is currently being paid to teach before we start trying to add extra PE classes to the curriculum.

• john 17/01/13 #

I think there should definitely be more P.E. classes. Kids need exercise. This should also include a healthy nutrition information class.

• 9am yoga
    9.30 – 11.30 Class
    12 – 1pm PE

2 – 3.30pm class
    3.30 – 4pm pilates….

I bet they’d learn more if half the school day was taken up with physical activity…

• The people who voted no get off your lazy holes and get your children active!

• PE in its current curriculum is poorly delivered in schools. It should to be changed to sports science with a component on exercise and activity with the rest given over to health and nutrition and possibly examined. This would teach kids about what is good and bad and show importance of exercise

• Definitely more P.E. needed, especially in exam years.
    When I got to leaving cert year our P.E. classes turned into study classes.
    P.E. should be used as a break from study. Exam students need a release at lease twice a week.

• Walnuts 17/01/13 #

Stephen, you say earlier to give the kids a broader activity experience by bringing them on nature walks and then say how they shouldn’t be taken out in the rain? Too easy to use bad weather as an excuse – just wear appropriate clothing…..we do live in Ireland after all. Do you think Scandinavians don’t bother going outdoors cos it might be a bit chilly?

• Danielle, it sounds like in your case, you didn’t need more P.E., but that your school needed to actually DO the P.E. classes which were actually on your timetable? As in were the P.E. actually timetabled as P.E. but you all just did study instead, or did you just have two timetabled classes of study?

• The amount of fatties that used to skive off P.E. was ridiculous. Fit people always did it, so the hour a week was sufficient, if the fatties want to risk obesity – go for it.

• They are kids Eric and result of a bad education system that has filtered down through their parents. They need to be educated as to the benefits of exercise. This crap of soccer every week is the reason people hate it. It needs to be made enjoyable for everyone

• I put exercise first before irish, irish will not keep you fit I may get a lot of red thumbs for this remark. This will show how silly people are

• It depends on what people expect Physical Edcuation to be. Do you a) See it as a class which promotes physical literacy and lifelong physical activity for your children or b) See it as a class whcih contributes to your child’s overall physical activity? I’d like to hear people’s opinion on what they perceive the role of PE to be?

• Yes, absolutely they should.

Start with the cutting all time, resources and money spent forcing them to learn Religon and Irish

• Do away with half days on wednesdays, in secondary school and have the whole school do an exercise. If they can do mass workouts with multitudes of people in other Countries. Why can’t they do it, in Ireland?

• “Should increase the amount of time spent on physical education?”

Perhaps thejournal should spend more time proofreading!

Add New Comment