TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Psychiatrists at odds over effects of any X Case legislation

TDs and Senators have heard from a number of psychiatrists who spoke at length about the issue of suicide in any legislation for the X Case.

Dr Anthony McCarthy from the College of Psychiatry giving evidence in the Seanad chamber today
Image: Screengrab

TDS AND SENATORS have heard differing views from psychiatrists on what effects any legislation for the X Case would have on the availability of abortion in Ireland.

The Joint Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children heard from a number of psychiatrists specialising in perinatal treatment this afternoon as the issue of the providing for suicide in any legislation for the X Case was raised.

The X Case judgement in the Supreme Court in 1992 provides for abortion in cases where there is a risk to the life of the woman including from the threat of suicide.

Professor Patricia Casey, from the Department of Adult Psychiatry and UCD and  the Mater Misercordiae University Hospital, said it was her belief that legislation for the X Case would lead to “widespread abortion within a short period of time”.

However her view differed from others giving evidence including Dr Anthony McCarthy, consultant psychiatrist at the National Maternity Hospital, who expressed his belief that there would not be a huge increase in the number of women needing psychiatric assessment.

He said that pregnant women who were feeling suicidal would still be more likely to travel to the UK to undergo a termination.

Dr McCarthy said that a very small group of women are going to be so distressed and depressed that they will access an abortion in Ireland if legislation is brought in.

But in the vast majority of cases “they are not going to come near us” because of the narrowness of the legislation in Ireland.  “I can’t see the floodgates opening,” he added.

‘Widespread abortion’

Professor Veronica O’Keane, from the Department of Psychiatry at Tallaght Hospital, said that the majority of people are going to the UK for terminations were doing so for mental health reasons.

She told the committee that there was confusion about suicide being a leading cause of death in pregnancy. She claimed it was but added that it was also rare because all death in pregnancy is rare.

Professor Casey, whose membership of the conservative Iona Institute was raised by the independent senator Dr John Crown, said “there will certainly be widespread abortion within a short period of time” if the X Case is legislated for.

She said this was because many pregnant women who have suicidal feelings will go to their GPs who will “in good faith” refer these women to psychiatrists for assessment. She claimed the system would be criticised for being “cumbersome” and “in due course will be opened up”.

The committee also heard from the psychiatrists giving evidence that it was was not absolutely possible for any psychiatrist to determine whether or not someone was definitely going to take their own life.

Dr McCarthy said that members of his profession were still best placed to make determinations on whether or not people are suicidal as they made subjective decision making based on objective facts.

But Professor Casey told the Committee that numerous studies suggest “we are wrong more often than we are right”.

All psychiatrists giving evidence raised the issue of a lack of psychiatrists in the country who have the expertise to treat women who are pregnant and suicidal with the three working in Dublin being the only three available in the country.

LIVE: Oireachtas committee hearings on abortion, as they happen

Read next:

Comments (127 Comments)

• Surely Professor Casey has a vested interest in not allowing abortion and should not be part of this discussion. Personal beliefs should be put aside when it comes to the welfare of patients by medical people !

• The only people who know what affects thier own mental health is surely the person them selves. Having a mental health difficulty does not stop a person from having a right to self determation

• It was good to hear the expert from the Rotunda blow the whole youth defense/iona argument out of the water about abortion never being necessary to save the life of the mother by stating that it saved 6 mothers lives in the last year alone, and that was just in the Rotunda.

• It’s very simple.
    Legalise abortion now.
    Stop letting religion control our country.

• Abortion will never be legalised in all cases pal, it will be introduced where mothers life is at risk first and maybe come in then in other risk factors

• @jack- plenty of atheist pro-life advocates in Ireland. Characterising it as a religious issue is a cynical attempt on the part of pro-abortionists to feed off anger against the Catholic Church. Genuine pro-abortionists would be better served focusing on the issue itself rather than the profile of a subset of proponents.

• @Vincent – Riddle me this, then. How is abortion legal in our nearest neighbouring country, and is legal in most countries of the EU?

• @Vincent – Why should it be up to other people to decide whether a woman gets an abortion or not.
      It won’t be the government official / mental health specialist _actually getting the abortion_.
      It will be the pregnant woman. Who are we to make decisions for her?
      Why not let HER decide?

• MVM 08/01/13 #

Did we not hav a referendum about this

• @Jack- And the death penalty is legal in the US, our neighbours on the other side of the water- should we introduce that too? Some states allow minors to be put to death. I wonder how quickly we could get that through the Dail? If “everybody else is doing it” is your best argument you don’t have one.

• @Jack- because no one gets to determine whether someone else lives or dies.

• Can I just say a few things;
      One can be aetheist and prolife, one can also be catholic and prochoice. I’m catholic (practicing), and I’m prochoice.
      As Rhona Mahony said to the OirHeaEnq, trust your professionals. We deal with very difficult situations every day of the week, abortion is not the worst of them, not the best, but certainly not the worst. It happens, for whatever reason. It’s time to own up to the issue and take responsibility for our social and health issues, instead of sending them across the Irish Sea.

• Well said…do you work at the memorial!!!!

• It should be up to the actual pregnant women to decide . Not a politician or religious group etc

• I’m agnostic but absolutely do not deny anyone the right to their beliefs and I’m actually married to a very religious man (he’s not RC, but we work very well!). However religion should not dictate the law of the land, and really nobody in this day and age is forced to have an abortion or a divorce…lets get real here and treat the populace like adults…after all the UK has been looking after this problem for us for years. This is about the life of the mother, nothing else!!!!

• Ah here casey saying this will lead to more people getting abortions .if a women wants to have a abortion she will have one no matter what. if thats through legal ways or not this whole women will pretend to be suicidal is a load of bull. Do people really think women would put them selfs through the ordeal of people deciding if their suicidal or not, or just hop on a plane or take a pill they got on line. I know which one id choose if i wanted a abortion and its not the first one.

• They’d have us believe we live in a free world… Bull&&&&.

• I always find it amusing that the camps are called pro-life and pro-choice..
    Pro-life should really be called pro-We’ll Decide What You Can Do With Your Body.

I have said it before and I will say it again..
    When it comes to abortion Ireland is a 3rd world country : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Abortion_Laws.svg

• Vincent – do you really mistrust women that much? Do you think they will go through the rigmarole, let alone have the acting capabilities, to fool TWO medical practitioners that they are genuinely suicidal? It is grossly offensive to women to suggest that there will be large numbers of pregnant women doing this, and hugely offensive to the medical practitioners of Ireland to suggest they will not do their jobs thoroughly and in the best interets of their patients. The belief that this legislation will ‘”open the door to abortion on demand” is only a “legitimate concern” for those people who trust neither the women of Ireland nor their their doctors.

Also, no doubt you’ve heard it before, but no one is ‘pro-abortion’. It is never a pleasant or easy option, but for many women it is the right thing for them, their partner, their other children and their family. Every woman, every case, every circumstance is different and no one else should have the audacity to say they know what the right solution is for a woman. That is why a woman must have choice to decide what is best for her and her family. No one wants women to have abortions, but the fact is that in today’s world there are a multitude of reasons why a woman may not feel able or willing to continue with a pregnancy, and that must be her decision in the end. If you are truly against women having abortions I assume you support greater access to effective contraception, more sex education, more community and financial support for mothers and families etc?

• Pro lifers – stop acting as if abortion was just made up – it is here, (well in the UK and many other countries) it is real and none of your bible bashing bullshit is going to stop it.

If you dont like abortion – dont get one – nobodies forcing you – just shut the hell up about everybody elses choices.
    It
    Is Not
    Your
    Business

• Legalise abortion.. The only answer. Wake up Ireland.

• Pablo 08/01/13 #

Thankfully the country is changing, albeit at a snails pace. Abortion on demand will eventually be an option for any woman who wishes to avail of it. Deal with it you God fearing half-wits!

• Abortion on demand WILL NEVER happen here! It should never happen! I have no sympathy for a girl who gets herself pregnant true carelessness! Deffo not a reason to kill an unborn

• Shane is that a missing comma or poor spelling because you keep saying it and it doesn’t make any sense..
      Should it be “I don’t have any sympathy for a girl who gets pregnant, true carelessness”
      Which implies no sympathy for any pregnant woman and that ALL unplanned pregnancies are as a result of “true carelessness” or should it read:
      “I have no sympathy for a girl who gets herself pregnant THROUGH carelessness”?

Because it does take two to tango, and you lads get to bugger off. You don’t have to have your body change, your organs squashed, your skin stretched, your hormones all over the place.. Run the risk of gestational diabetes, hypertension, oedema, and that’s with a normal enough pregnancy.. You can also develop life threatening seizures, have your spine twist permanently, go deaf.. All of which have happened to friends of mine. Have known several girls who have suffered greatly as a result of carrying a pregnancy – but as they WANTED those babies they took the risk. If a woman doesn’t want the baby – you reckon its should be up to you whether she has to experience all that?
      What punishment do you suggest for the father?

• I’d give him the snip for not using a condom and her a rollicking saying ” what the hell were you thinking not using a form of contraceptive”

• And what if they had used contraception Shane?

• They wouldn’t be in the position if both used it properly! I’m 26 having sex since 16, I’m just always very careful and make sure she is before I go there! Ur gonna say contraception can fail! Yep it can BUT in most cases it’s only when one form is used and both parties are not on it! If your careful with contraceptives for male and female you won’t get pregnant! no more excuses please and negativity towords contraceptives for male and female

• Off to sleep, night

• Sorry to shit on your parade Shane, but as a WOMAN, who has been having sex for over 20 years I have had contraception fail, TWICE.

I was on the pill both times, and condoms were used but literally split in half. Thankfully I miscarried, because there’s a high chance that they were both ectopic and may well have killed me..

Stick that in your assumption pipe and smoke it – it’s NEVER as easy as you would like it to be. Real life happens..

• It has been easy for me over the past 10 years using a condom and the girl on the contraceptive whatever it may be! it’s dealt me good cards so far ill keep taking care and it will deal me some more! I have never have a condom split on me! As I once read that’s a very rare occurance and usually happens from a rushed technique in applying the condom! also if I was having sex and accidentally ejaculated inside her, even tho not 100% effective I would get her to go to the hospital and get the morning after pill! I would try any means possible but as I said I will continue with the technique that has served me well so far

• Yes Shane – and of all your wordly years you have obviously ran the full gamut of what happens.. We should all bow to your superiority..

It was nothing to do with incorrect application – it was down to the fact that condoms have a failure rate – I take it you realise they aren’t infallible? Same goes for the pill. Same goes for the coil, in fact any form of contraception – even vasectomy – you know a woman can get pregnant without technically having sex as well as while she is pregnant don’t you (that’s what paternal twins are).

It’s not an exact science – it ever has been.. But by all means ignore reality in favour of your half baked and poorly educated assumptions..

• All you focus on is negativity the whole time! A woman can get this a woman can get that a woman can get the other! It’s all downturn with you! End of the day abortion is the killing of a unborn child! I agree with avortion true life of mother at risk, suicide risk, rape and baby severely deformed detected early! Absoloutly not do I agree with abortion under all condition or if u want to put it on demand

• No. I focus on REALITY, perhaps you have heard of it.. Just because your friend smokes and didn’t get cancer doesn’t mean smoking doesn’t cause it!!

With a failure rate of between 2-5% with most forms of contraception, out of 100,000 people having sex that’s 2000-5000 failures – THAT is reality.. Sorry if you don’t like it, but you don’t get to switch it off because it doesn’t suit your agenda..

• Again negativity! All u do is talk about what can happen to women during pregnancy! Look at the positives, a pregnancy is a gift of life that most women accept deliriously! contraceptives in the majority when used by both work properly what so u do, look at the small negative rate again! abortion as I said is killing an unborn child! Why not have the child and if u don’t adapt to living your child through 9 months and when born, have it adopted! also I no a girl with a bar in her arm who was by the medical practitioner virtually she won’t get pregnant as its so good! You( as a woman) will get your wish, abortion under serious condition but not under every circumstance

• Virtually guareenteed

• Virtually is not the same as completely Shane, no matter how you wanna dress it up.. It seems that not only do you have issues with grammar, punctuation, and logic – you seem to have issues with the English language..

The fact is that it happens. No amount of poorly formed assumptions on your part can change that.

Now – with regards your criteria..
      In the case of rape – does the rape have to be ruled on in a court of law before the abortion can be procured? How long will that take? Surely it’s best to get the abortion early – when its still an embryo as opposed to a foetus?

Abnormalities aren’t usually found til later – how does that fit into your worldview?

Threats to her life – what sort of level of threat are we talking here? Cancer but the chemo can’t start with the pregnancy in progress like Michelle Harte? A threat of suicide like X? A miscarriage that has failed to complete leaving the cervix open and opening the uterus up to E. coli and other infections like Savita?

This abortions in certain circumstances doesn’t work – there’s too many variables. Set a time limit – ie – the point where the baby could survive if born (21.5 weeks was the absolute earliest on record – with a lot of help)

As for the other stuff – stop assuming all women want babies, they don’t. Many have perfectly valid reasons not to – such as health. The fact that you are ignorant to this leaves a massive gap in your reasoning..

• I could give a huge paragraphs and paragraphs reply to that but I won’t! If women constantly worried about all the things that can go wrong and happen to them during pregnancy no woman would have kids! Your negativity yes negativity everything that can go on during a pregnancy you harp on about and it’s astounding! ill relate to one thing tho! Lack of abortion did not kill savita, septacimia did! Plus an abortion wouldn’t have saved her! I no contraception has a failure rate lol but instead of worrying what will happen I look at its purpose, a condom and a female contraceptive are invented to stop pregnancies! Dunno what age you are but I’m guessing your over 30. Have your tubes tied! If so many girls didnt want kids and like so many say how abortion is so easy to have in the ul they would all hop on planes BUT most young pregnancies are accidental and girls feel shocked and panic BUT they go ahead and bond with their pregnancy (not worry about all the things that can go wrong) something you bounce on all the time and then bond with their healthy gorgeous babies!

• And there you have it.
      You don’t give a toss about what women actually *want*. You reckon that they are there to have babies, they do want babies – whether they say they do or not.. They just don’t know what they want.. Let the pregnancy show them eh?

Force them to experience a pregnancy. Something you yourself will never have to do and have NO idea what it is like. Sod that – there’s labour too – lets ignore that little chore shall we?

Have you ever tried putting yourself in a woman’s shoes? It’s one thing if you have plans to have kids someday and it just happens a bit earlier than you would like – what if you have reasons for not wanting kids? Health reasons for example?

Just because you don’t want to face up to reality doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist – sticking your head in the sand is no solution for anything..
      But there’s no point in trying to talk rationally to someone who takes their half baked assumptions as fact.. Come back to me when you’ve realised that there’s more colours than black and white.

Oh and ps – how do you reckon Savita got septicaemia? Having a dilated cervix for 72 hours wasn’t a factor no?

• The chairman of my local gaa club got septicimia! He didn’t have a dilated cervix! I tell u what i no that some women don’t fancy having a baby heck I no 2 who never wanted to be pregnant but found themselves pregnant and both adapted to it and love it! What u want me 2 say is I agree with the women who want abortion on demand regardless of the situation! My answer is I don’t! As my father said to me once yes under circumstances! I said what about in normal cases! His reply was Absoloutly under no circumstance should she be allowed kill a baby’s life! That somes it up for me! Jesus Christ throughout this article your like an anti pregnancy woman giving all the things that can go wrong! I tell u what go and highlight all of them to all women and no one will have a pregnancy lol

• Ah, anatomy and physiology isn’t your strong point either is it?
      Septicaemia is blood poisoning. It is caused when an infection enters the bloodstream directly – see, all other avenues into the body have defence mechanisms, but an open wound doesn’t.
      A dilated cervix is essentially like a gaping open wound – it’s not a wound (before you misinterpret this), but it is an open entrance to the internal organs, which have a rich blood supply – and happen to be located beside the anus – which is where you find E. coli – which Savita is also supposed to have had – it may well have *caused* the septicaemia (blood poisoning with faecal germs – get it?)..

Leaving that wide open for 72 hours is the EQUIVALENT (note not exactly the same) as leaving a cut that goes down into muscle, open for 72 hours beside some faeces. Never mind the candida..

You know – usually when people are so set on their opinions they have some form of understanding of the subject besides “it’s what my dad told me”.. Perhaps it’s time you started thinking for yourself? Of course this would require you learning quite a bit, but it could only be of benefit to you..

• Of I have my own opinion which agrees exactly with all I have spoken to about it so far! Not one agree with pregnancy been terminated in all circumstances! It is exactly killing a child’s life!

No I’m not gonna claim to be a doctor and no all about septicimia but I do no what I read by 2 experienced medical personal In that area plus my cousin is a qualified doctor( female). all said its high that an abortion wouldn’t have saved her

• “Doctor” is a vague term, what’s her speciality?
      Because here’s an OBGYN who reckons different (that stands for Obstetrics and Gynaecology – or doctors who specifically deal with pregnancy and the female reproductive system)
      http://drjengunter.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/did-irish-catholic-law-or-malpractice-kill-savita-halappanavar/

And, to be fair, had you read any of James Connollys input here over the Savita case you would have read all of this already (it’s his field of work so he is more than qualified to comment).

I suspect that your lack of knowledge in the area of pregnancy leads to the impasse here – you have the ideal view of it – and that is fair enough, but it is an extremely narrow view, and as a result you seem ignorant to the harsh realities that can and do occur every day.
      Rather than deal with that you seem to be happy to continue sweeping them under the carpet and ignoring them. But that is what led us down this road in the first place. It is better to deal with things and take action than to try and ignore them and let it get worse. Even if we had abortion on demand here there wouldn’t be a massive increase – women who want abortions have abortions. The difference is whether they have one under medical supervision or if they risk their lives with a home job. Would you prefer to let pregnant women die because you can’t deal with them having a choice?

• That’s horse manure, “abortions wouldn’t increase here if legalised”! Of course they would! You think that everyone who doesn’t want their baby goes to the uk for an abortion? Don’t make me laugh! I told you I agree with abortion under conditions! It’s the same now! life of the mother I’s one of them and one of the main reason we are here is savitas case! You never addressed my point if every women had all the negative views on pregnancy you have and all the “risks” to themselves in the process nobody would have kids! if its so easy to have an abortion in the uk, I tell you what! Brining it in here in serious conditions only should suffice to women and let the ones who don’t want an “accidental pregnancy” go to the uk! How’s that for an idea? Lol

• Shane reading your comments makes me want to bang my head off a desk. Here’s what I’m reading.

Shanti: Men don’t have to commit to all the physical changes a woman does
      Shane: Use a condom!
      Shanti: You know contraception isn’t infallible? I’ve had two incidents myself.
      Shane: Use a condom! You’re so negative.
      Shanti: I’m explaining how pregnancy can occur regardless, and how women’s bodies respond to it.
      Shane: Use a condom! I heard women love babies anyway.

Your comments absaloutley reek of illiterate, ill-informed judgemental misogyny.

• I’m been smart at times on purpose but her comments scream negativity! Not one thing positive posted! Read my last comment on this story as I’m not typing everything again! It’ sums it up for me

• Shane, let me spell it out nice and clear.
      Some women want babies, it’s the one thing in life that they look forward to most. They won’t start having abortions unless its necessary.

There are women who do not want to have children, they will seek out abortion regardless.

There are health conditions that can be made significantly worse by pregnancy – whether the woman *wants* to continue would depend on how she feels about having children.
      If she doesn’t want to, and she can afford it – she will go to the UK, 4500 per year do at present.
      We do not have figures for how many women die from home abortions here as far as I know, but it is a leading cause of maternal mortality in nations where abortion remains illegal worldwide.

Hormonal contraception works by fooling the body into thinking it is pregnant – and as a woman can get pregnant while pregnant (although admittedly at a very early stage), this is why these drugs are not infallible (that and some other factors), Barrier methods are susceptible to holes and tears, this is why they are not infallible. Morning after isn’t anywhere near 100% either.

If a woman gets pregnant and feels that she can continue with the pregnancy then she can keep the baby or offer it for adoption. If she does not feel that she can carry a pregnancy then she should be able to terminate, and be near her friends and family for support rather than sent away under a cloak of shame imposed by people who have no idea what she is going through.

• My comment disappeared! I’m broken hearted

• peter 08/01/13 #

I am not practising any religion nor am I supporting any of the sides in this debate. I do not like the phrase ‘abortion on demand’ & fundamentally to me conception is the start of life however in certain circumstances & within a limited time I feel women should have the right to terminate without been branded murderers, inconvenience is not a reason & I am really unsure if suicide can be averted by a termination alone either. In a large number of cases pregnancy can be avoided quite easily & women who look for changes in legislation because they did not bother to use contraception really piss me off as this is not a womens rights issue. It is a delicate issue & whatever legislation the government arrive at must be rock solid & completely understandable without the need for an experienced barrister to explain it.

• Conception is start of life? Seriously, stop being funny. Molar pregnancy also starts at conception, which can be a form of evasive cancer. Now, is that your baby and sacred life?

• You think that women would choose abortion as a form of contraception?!

What complete and utter nonsense.

• peter 08/01/13 #

Tricia please do not think I am defending or championing abortion but what percentage of unwanted pregnancies do you think are avoidable. Irish women thankfully demanded easy access to contraception against the wishes ( to say the least ) of a very powerful church so Abortion as a contraception is not something I would imagine to be too common.

• 22% of UK pregnancies . These were all suicidal girls, rape victims or women in mortal danger during pregnancy? Clearly not. Clearly it is used by some people who just don’t want to have a baby. So how would you define contraception?

• peter 08/01/13 #

@vincent
      Unsure if you are asking me that question but I will answer it anyway & please ignore if it wasn’t directed at me. I would define contraception as a means to prevent conception.

• Answe me this ladies! Would ye be happy if it was introduced in certain circumstances?

• do these individuals think they have a right to even speak on these matters considering the hypocrisy practiced by a large proportion of medics in the pychiatric field not to mention how individuals are treated if they are single parents etc..

what ever about an individuals decision or the pure control professionals try to exercise or FEAR individuals without delving into every aspect of their life or hierarchials projecting their opinions on women facing extreme pressure .. what about social workers . etc or the hse judging on these matters or does goverment think they own ovaries or a right to choose to say yes no or my body my choice

pressure from pro lifers or the other side or doctors thinking they own an individual..

im a single mother and its can be difficult but the doctors and politicians and judges seem to think they own individuals along with the politicians etc or other interests in their power players over people

let the people decide surely..

i wouldnt trust a pychiatrist with an orange let along judging what supposed indiduals of high ethics or hypocrisy even think theyd know certain aspects of life or their perception of the pressure put on women or single parents with real real concerns even in relation to the recent case of savita and countless others .

WHAT about SOCIAL WORKERS ETC putting pressure on women who arent married.. hypocrites

• Pablo 09/01/13 #

@ Shane Mc Donnell. FFS proof read your drivel before you post it. You’re not doing yourself or your argument any favors.
    @ Shanti Om. I wouldn’t waste anymore time on him. He clearly lacks the intellectual capacity to properly understand the issue.

• For me, the issue from a pro-life perspective is this. If suicide is allowed as a reason for abortion and “certification” is widely available and every town in the country will have a pro-abortion Pyschiatrist who will certify that a life is in danger as willingly as some Doctors dispense sick notes to the fit & well. Next thing you know we’re the UK and 20% of healthy Irish babies are being aborted. If you think that’s ok, you’re entitled to your opinion but opponents of the suicide provision are not stupid, nor do they not care about Mothers with a legitimate mental health issue. It’s a legitimate concern that it would kick open the door to Abortion on demand.

• Since you seem to know exactly what will happen in the future, can I please have the lotto numbers.

• Sorry for double post – was meant to be a reply to Vincent:

Vincent – do you really mistrust women that much? Do you think they will go through the rigmarole, let alone have the acting capabilities, to fool TWO medical practitioners that they are genuinely suicidal? It is grossly offensive to women to suggest that there will be large numbers of pregnant women doing this, and hugely offensive to the medical practitioners of Ireland to suggest they will not do their jobs thoroughly and in the best interets of their patients. The belief that this legislation will ‘”open the door to abortion on demand” is only a “legitimate concern” for those people who trust neither the women of Ireland nor their their doctors.
      Also, no doubt you’ve heard it before, but no one is ‘pro-abortion’. It is never a pleasant or easy option, but for many women it is the right thing for them, their partner, their other children and their family. Every woman, every case, every circumstance is different and no one else should have the audacity to say they know what the right solution is for a woman. That is why a woman must have choice to decide what is best for her and her family. No one wants women to have abortions, but the fact is that in today’s world there are a multitude of reasons why a woman may not feel able or willing to continue with a pregnancy, and that must be her decision in the end. If you are truly against women having abortions I assume you support greater access to effective contraception, more sex education, more community and financial support for mothers and families etc?

• Don’t know about Vincent, but I not only mistrust women, but humans in general to act unselfishly with the legal ability to terminate another.

• Same bullshit arguments from the prolifers.
      It would be much easier for a woman to travel to the UK than to convince trained professionals that she is suicidal.
      The hypocrisy you show by ignoring the thousands of women who do travel is mind blowing. “Sure, it’s grand if its not happening here”. It’s still irish women lads. But you don’t care about the abortions, just the location of the abortions. Most of you are cowards with half beliefs and even less conviction.

• @kate- I think people can be selfish. Deadbeat Dads walk off and leave not only their child but also the mother to fend for themselves. The fact that we legislate to stop this doesn’t mean we inherently mistrust men- it just means we won’t as a society let the exceptions get away with it. In the UK 20%+ of healthy pregnancies are terminated. That does suggest that for some Abortion is a contraception of last resort and they enter into it flippantly. That doesn’t mean women as a gender are selfish- but some are. You’re right- I have heard the “no one is pro-abortion” argument before. It’s the same as the “well I wouldn’t do it but I’m not going to stop someone else” argument. If you won’t do it because you think it’s wrong, and we’re talking about life & death here- well then you have a responsibility to stop others doing it.

• Here we go again . The pro aborts hiding behind ‘choice’.. ‘ we are not pro abortion but pro choice ‘ … You can’t be morally neutral with abortion . It involves the destruction of the developing child . It’s with good or bad. It’s a Good job you were not around when slavery was legal . I can just hear you say ‘ I m not in favour of slavery but if some want to have it , it’s their choice !’

• You win, clearly the best argument I have ever heard on this issue. /facepalm

• Compulsory pregnancy and compulsory continuation of pregnancy are striking forms of slavery and servitude.

Women should and must have the right of bodily integrity, autonomy, the right not to have life or health endangered by being compelled to continue in pregnancy and the right to chose what happens with their bodies.

I value one woman, pregnant or otherwise, over all the foetuses in Ireland.

I have no right to dictate what a woman is entitled to do with her own body.

Let the pregnant mother have the freedom to chose until the 22nd week.

No woman resorts to termination of pregnancy for trivial or capricious reasons and there is no “mischief” which justifies legislative intervention.

We stigmatise abortion/termination by exporting the problem and its solution to the UK, Netherlands etc.

• T 08/01/13 #

Abortion is murder.

• T 08/01/13 #

You don’t need any experts abortion is murder simple as that.Ireland is on a road to nowhere.

• Just like to say I love women tho

• Comment disappeared again but my last point here sums it up! One above this one

• Bottom line in this case guys is some people in Ireland who want abortion on demand give no consideration to the life of the child! It’s as simple as that! That’s why I say in serious circumstances! That associates the life of mammy! Why don’t I agree in not serious circumstances true accidental pregnancies? Because in this instance I don’t agree with killing innocent unborns

Add New Comment