TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Queen tells Taoiseach: I’d like to come back to Ireland

As a historic Royal Visit comes to an end, Taoiseach Enda Kenny says the Queen has expressed her wish to return to Ireland.

The Queen waves to the assembled dignitaries as she and Prince Philip prepare to leave Cork Airport earlier today.
Image: Maxwells Photography

QUEEN ELIZABETH HAS told the Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, that she would like to return to Ireland in the future, at the end of her historic four-day trip to the country – the first for a British monarch in a century.

Speaking shortly after seeing the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh off from Cork Airport, Kenny told RTÉ that the Queen had indicated her wish to be able to visit Ireland again, and that she had enjoyed her visit.

Kenny paid tribute to those involved in organising the visit, and in the various events and security operations had it had entailed.

Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip had received what he termed a “real Irish welcome”, and Ireland – from ordinary people to the President – had shown great restraint and understanding throughout.

Kenny flew from Dublin on the government jet to be present in Cork to see the Royals leave, after the Queen had visited the English Market and met the public at the city’s Grand Parade, before visiting UCC’s Tyndall Institute.

Among the parties she met there were Angie Benhaffaf and her formerly conjoined twin sons Hassan and Hussein, as well as surgeon Dr Edward Kiely – himself also a Cork native – who had operated on the boys in London.

Earlier, the Royal Couple had visited the Coolmore Stud outside Fethard in Co Tipperary, as well as St Patrick’s Rock in Cashel.

Justice minister Alan Shatter has also paid tribute to the Gardaí and the Defence Forces, saying the visit had posed “an immensely challenging task which was carried out with great professionalism”.

Shatter also thanked the general public for the “patience and good humour” display in managing the “inconveniences which were necessary to ensure the safety of our guest” – though he scolded the “small number of people who disgraced themselves again through thuggery and their blind unwillingness to accept the will of the Irish people.

“It is clear that the great majority of people welcomed the visit of the Queen and [I am] very pleased that it went so well.”

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• You can’t use a strict monetary value when you’re evaluating whether something is worth doing, or whether something is a valuable merit of exchequer spending.

Yes, the visit may have cost up to €30m – but if you think that’s an inappropriate spending of money, what about the €387m being assigned to the (as it was then) Department of Tourism, Culture and Sport in the last Budget? Or how do we quantify the money we put into the Arts? Investments into Film Ireland? Grants for education? Sure what’s the point in spending money relaying roads that only have minor bumps in them? We’ve managed for centuries without a fourth lane on the M50, why spend the money on one now? The State spent hundreds of millions assisting the redevelopment of the Aviva Stadium, Croke Park, Thomond Park and hundreds of county and club GAA grounds – but sure, what is sport but a distraction? Why don’t we abolish sport and spend the billions we’d save on baby incubators?

My point is that government spending is not about the mere bread and butter issues. A government’s responsibility to its people is to ensure not only their health and education, but their social and cultural welfare – and their happiness – too. For the positivity that the Queen’s Visit seems to have instilled in most, I think €30m is a modest price to pay. It’s simply a shame that the more that a country spends on events like this, the more it upsets the people whose heartstrings aren’t tugged.

• What Gavan said.

• As one who was on duty for duration off the queens visit. We don’t get paid overtime not like what the gardai are entitled to do. Besides in reality. Out off that 30 million that was spent. How much do you think will be back in the governments pockets after social charges,levies and the tax man takes his big cut from it. Sweet f all

• I agree that social and cultural welfare and happiness are really important, I just fail to see the connection with watching our elite suck up to the Queen! Culture, sport and education are socially useful and enriching things that bear no comparison to lavishing money on sterile banquets and stilted small talk with a pointless figure head. In any case the €30m was just for security and the final bill will be much more, what with Inda hopping on the government jet to wave her majesty off. Maybe people will feel differently come the budget when the Queen will be back in her palace and we will be being screwed. As for the guy who said to leave the monarchy out of it – you do know what a queen is?

• Well said Gavin

• Sorry Gavan that should have said!

• “But either way, the popularity of an opinion has no bearing on its validity.” Whoa! Trotsky would be proud of you! Fortunately, the plain people of Ireland have time and again chosen democracy over fundamentalist dogma. That does not make them stupid, as you seem to think anyone who doesn’t subscribe to your idology must be.

As for ‘fawning’, you must not have been paying attention to the events of the past few days. Do yourself a favour and inform your opinion, starting with the speech given to the Queen last night by Olivia O’Leary (http://www.thejournal.ie/we-were-a-bit-worried-about-the-curtsy-olivia-o-learys-ode-to-the-queen-140329-May2011/). Not much evidence of ‘fawning’ in a speech that got a rousing reception.

And the next time you throw insults around at those who don’t share your views, have the courage of your convictions, not to mention the integrity, to do it under your real name.

• Couldn’t agree more. This visit showed Ireland in a very positive light, and considering the bad press we’ve had internationally recently, it’s great to have something to celebrate for a change. I am far from a Royalist, but I think the Queen paid her respects to this nation in lots of obvious as well as subtle ways. It is time to draw a line under the past, and move forward, like the ‘mature’ nation we want to be seen as. I think the visit was a great success, and it was great to watch a bit of history as it happened.

• I dont think the people of Cork woukd consider themselves the elite… And look at the welcome they gave. I understand your views, because it was once how I, and i suspect most of us, once felt. But its time now to forget. She isnt our monarch, so it is not up to us to worry about how elitist it all is, or how anti democratic, because we chose a different system for ourselves. And finally, i’d ask you, will you say the same about Obama’s visit, which will cost us too? If the answer is no, then maybe a bit of soul searching is needed?

• Jethro Tull – Living in the past!

• I think the opinion is pretty obvious just by looking at the proportion of red to green thumbs on early posts. And what you hear from people. And all the other normal ways we have of gauging opinion…. I’m not saying your opinion isnt valid, but i think you should at least accept its the minority view. People are sick of hating. Its that simple.

• Bye bye Lizzy. Hopefully she does come back sometime in the future and hopefully we won’t have to have such security measures due to a small group of pricks. So glad she shook hands with people in cork. I thought it was a great success.

• Hard to believe 30 people gave this the thumbs down. The world is full of morons.

• @ Paul,its their means of communication.They can’t formulate a few sentences so they use the thumbs down on comments that they think might be about them .They don’t seem to have much in the line of comprehension.

• It’s pretty much the online equivalent of a chimp throwing faeces.

Instinctive in that it requires little thought, causes minimum progress, and invokes maximum negativity. That said, there’s a small couple of chuckies (not all who opposed the visit, before ye start!) banging on on boards and politics.ie, and their arguments against the hosting of the Royal Party are little better than those of an anonymous red thumber.

• They give a thumbs down but never leave a comment!!

• what a week. Hats off to the Queen – she’s done a great service to both nations. It feels great this. Christy’s speech at Croke Park was massive too. God but we’ve come a long way here. This is the hatchet buried.

• High cost of the visit was due to worries of security. We can’t change the past and for sure SHE was not responsible for it. Let’s build a future of respect and peace.

• Exactly. The cost was the fault of the dissidents who threatened the visit, completely ignoring the wish of the majority. Its funny how they bemoan how britain ignored the will of the majority of Ireland for so long…yet now, here they are doing the same. How Ironic…

• Fleetingwhim…i didnt hear one single negative remark about the visit. Except for the assembled misfits we saw on TV!

• It’s been a fantastic few days for Ireland, complete with the traditional begrudgers! Sure, it wouldn’t be Irish history in the making without them! :-)

• Well done to all involved in the Royal visit You have done IRELAND proud.

• Having looked at newspaper comments from all over regarding the visit it is sad to see the negative reporting from the Daily Wail, what a load of begrudgers, even the Daily Telegraph was highly enthusiastic about it. Well done to all concerned in the event.

• I’ve even found that the Daily Wail has been surprisingly positive. They only really were reporting what Gerry Adams said today which several other media outlets did to (unfortunately!).

Hopefully we’ll get a visit from William and Kate or Harry soon as well to further cement British-Irish relations! The British pensioners tourism market has been marketed very well now we need the young and vibrant crowd to come visit! :D

• Daily Wail are a load of tossers!

• Banrian eilis a do has a certain ring to it. I hope she does return when we cud have less security and more craic. But the last 4 days were fantastic. Wonder how sinn féin plan to catch up w the rest if the country?

• I am not a supporter but sinn fein actually did a lot more than most to create the peace that made this visit possible

• thats true fitzpatrick, sf did indeed play their part in the peace process and their leaders took considerable risks to do so, however they called this one really wrong, and ended up looking like a bunch of disgruntled fools, with the notable and commendable exception of the SF mayor of Cashel (whom will no doubt be getting abuse from his fellow shinners)

• I couldn’t argue with you on that Conor, Sinn Fein were more than likley concerned that the visit was of concern to their die-hards rather than their new or more moderate supporters and came up with a slightly dumb approach to the visit. Having said that certain people in ROI react hysterically at the mere mention of Sinn Fein and I think they are out of touch.

• Hey also want to say mega well done to Mary mac and all our gardai, army guys and the whole gang who put this together, you did us proud!

• And I for one hope she does. We as a Nation have done ourselves proud.

• I hope she comes back. And hope she comes to Limerick next time.

• I think that Mary McAleese has done exceptionally well during her probationary period as President and am prepared to offer her the job full time if you other members of the board are in agreement,can we have a show of hands please? :-)

• Awesome Lizzie, when are you coming back, I loved every moment!

• Take it you feel the same about Obama then?

• can she bring her grandson’s sister-in-law next time.

• Exactly

• Maybe if she or O’Bama do come back they can visit the other 3 cities next time

• I think Mary Byrne actually put it best .” We have shown we can hold on to our past but we don’t have to live it.”. Well said.

• Kinsale should be given to her as a
    gift from her subjects in West Cork.

• I never mentioned nationalism, as anyone able to see through their tears at her majesty’s departure would be able to read. My objection to her visit is the mindset of worshipping the wealthy and powerful, during an unprecedented depression, simply because they are wealthy and powerful. Why does she get a standing ovation for simply existing?

• It’s laudable to look out for the poor and downtrodden, but if you can’t see the overall significance of the visit simply for the fact that she’s wealthy and Ireland spent money welcoming her then there’s not much that can be said.
      If you want to go down economic lines though, the money spent was as much an investment in Ireland’s future. Not only the positive image it gave of us around the world (as a previous comment noted) but also of the lift it gave to Irish people.

• It all went over your head,didn’t it.I guess you are really the one who is simply existing.

• I don’t know where people like you get your theories from but I strongly suspect that if you bothered to ask any of the overwhelming majority of ordinary Irish people why they welcomed the Queen’s visit, you would find it actually had absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with “worshipping the wealthy and powerful”. Rather, it’s about two neighbours coming to terms with 800 years of confilict and putting the past behind them in the interest of a brighter future. Do try to keep up.

• Chip and shoulder come to mind!

• In the end it wasn’t about rich or poor or worshiping the powerful. It was about the greatest symbol of Britain traveling the Republic of Ireland as a guest, and I think most people were happy to put up with some disruption to show Britain, show the world, and show ourselves that in 2011 we can say “céad míle fáilte”.

You can leave the class wars and the monarchy to another day I think.

• Get a life!

• you stand alone.

• Bla bla bla, back to the bailout.

• Nothing like royalty to bring all the cringing, fawning, suck ups out into the open.

I see that one of my comments here has been censored, presumably because it hurt some poor forelock tugger’s feelings.

• Who was fawning? Is that the only insult you can throw because you know your opinion isnt one thats widely held anymore?

• Who was fawning? Our entire media for a week. Most of our political establishment. The tiny, unrepresentative, portion of the population who turned out to catch a glimpse of real Royalty. Quite a number of prominent people turned into Colonel Kevin Myers for the week, and there’s little more wretched than that.

As for whether my opinion is widely held, neither you nor I know what the population at large felt. I suspect that most people were broadly indifferent, shading into slight irritation if they were inconvenienced by the disruption caused by the ludicrously over the top security operation. But either way, the popularity of an opinion has no bearing on its validity.

• Where to start with the forelocking tugging shite expressed above? Has the entire population been brainwashed by RTE? I can’t understand why everyone is so delighted about a loaded, hereditary monarch deigning to visit her former colony, costing us €30m that could be spent on special needs teachers and that equates to the total cost of the government’s school building jobs programme. What has this parasite ever done for anyone except travel around the world having her arse licked, while the cleaners of her palace are paid less than a living wage? She hasn’t exactly been a wonderful mother either if the state of her screwed up kids are anything to go by. I’m only glad we don’t have a royal family of our own or we’d have to put up with mass outbreaks of feudal atavism on a regular basis. At least the fact she’s 85 means her threat to return is unlikely to be materialise.

• Yeah yeah. Maybe WE are happy that WE have managed to move on and show the world we have too. You can carry on about bloody cost all you want, but we’ll probably make it back ten fold in tourist revenue, which will go towards the causes you mention, so thats a rubbish, desperate excuse to justify hatred. And what exactly is this about bowing down?? All i saw was people giving a proper welcome. This wasnt about the Queen, it was about our ability to move on and not be so bitter and twisted.

• fleetingwhim, you’d be one of them begrudgers, wouldn’t you? Now, what was it Brendan Behan said about ye again?

• Oh my god, thanks for breaking me out of my moving beyond the past trance and dragging me back to the chip on my shoulder, small-minded offensive view of Britain that is my birth right as an Irishman. God forbid the people of Ireland redefining Irish nationalism. No you’re right, we’ve been fools to think that we can be proud Irish citizens and yet warmly welcome the monarch of our closest neighbour. We’ll out get back in line behind you, the idiot in chief

• The servile mentality of some of the people on this thread beggars belief. Or rather, it would beggar belief if RTE and the newspapers hadn’t spent the last week fawning on this hereditary parasite and telling us over and over again how historic it all is. Tens of millions of pounds have been spent on touring an unelected leader around the country, at a time when massive cuts to social services are being introduced. That visit cost more than a years pay for a thousand special needs assistants.

As for Brendan Behan, I think you’ll find that his views on monarchs and aristocrats were both ruder and more relevant than his views on “begrudgers”.

• @Fleetinwhim
      All I can say is… Disgusting!

• Yawn!

• I’m English with Irish parents. I’ve really enjoyed the coverage of the Queen’s visit by R.T.E. All involved in making the visit happen should be very proud of themselves.

I’m sorry you feel the way you do ‘fleetingwhim’ but hopefully the Irish tourism trade will be boosted and the Irish ecconomy as a result of the successful visit.

• The bile, venom and sheer hate that ur message contains is sad . aside from that that the fact so much what you say is laughably inaccurate we can only hope that ur views are indeed a fleeting whim, though there is no doubt ppl like u will always exist

• Well colour me brainwashed then, because I heard John Bowman make a very good point on RTE radio the other day;

He said in essence that the term Republican had been hijacked by a minority in this country and had gained mostly negative connotations. And that Republicans in the true term (he cited Dr. Garrett here) were delighted that we’d arrived at a place where the Queen could drop in for a few days like any neighbouring head of state.

I agreed with him, because they did the same thing with the tricolour for decades.

• How do you know the overwhelming majority of people welcomed the visit and weren’t either indifferent to it, or mildly annoyed by it? Then there’s people like me whose heads have been well and truly wrecked for the last week. I don’t buy into this stuff about ‘two neighbours coming to terms with 800 years of confilict’ either. The North is still a basketcase where every election consists of a sectarian headcount. Peace is not just the absence of conflict or mutual backscratching among elites.

Add New Comment