TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Quinn refuses to rule out blanket cull of postgraduate grants

Ruairí Quinn admits the Budget will be so tough that a blanket cut to postgraduate student grants “cannot be ruled out”.

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

EDUCATION MINISTER Ruairí Quinn has refused to rule out scrapping all grants for postgraduate college students – saying the Budget process is so harsh that the grants cannot be left untouched.

It was reported last week that the forthcoming Budget would have to take the radical step of cutting all grants to postgrad students, as part of the government’s efforts to reduce spending by €2.2 billion in next month’s Budget.

Seeking assurances from the minister that the reported cuts would not materialise, Fianna Fáil TD Brendan Smith and independent Michael Healy-Rae tabled Dáil questions asking the minister to dismiss the rumours.

However, in his response – published over the weekend – Quinn said the current economic circumstances would mean “difficult choices will have to be made”.

Quinn said he could not comment on the preparation of Budget estimates, but that changes to student grants “cannot be ruled out” while the government seeks “to control public expenditure and to ensure sustainability in the long run”.

The minister asserted, though, that he would try to ensure that disadvantaged students were protected by the education cuts contained in the Budget, which will be announced in 15 days’ time.

The Union of Students in Ireland, which has condemned the idea of cutting all postgraduate grants, is currently seeking leave for a judicial review to last year’s revision of grant eligibility criteria.

They claim that last year’s changes – which mean that students living within 45km of their college are no longer entitled to the higher ‘non-adjacent’ rate, increased from 24km the previous year – were unfair on students already in college.

Students’ union condemns Govt proposal to abolish postgraduate grants >

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• BREAKING NEWS: Minister Quinn refuses to rule out the removal education all together.

• Kev Mak 21/11/11 #

I feel the airlines will be doing well after this budget with those wishing an education clamouring to get out.Great to see our leaders further erode our future generations education.Shameful.

• Where are they/we supposed to find the €2.2B needed? Should they cut social welfare? Remove Child Benefit? How about abolish the OAP and social housing? Everything and everyone will be feeling the pinch this year – some more so than others, granted, but we can’t see any one thing as being ringfenced and more important than all others. I think it’s a shame that grants will be cut, but I’d rather that than seeing OAP’s without assistance and more people on hospital trollies.

• @Catherine.

Third tax band. NO ONE IS AGAINST THIS ISSUE!

• Good man Conor. They’ve broken all their other promises. Break a decent one and raise the money from taxing those on higher wages. Leave the lower paid alone!

• So long, so-called “Smart Economy”!

• Dear Labour,

I want my vote back.

Regards,
    Niall

• One of the few attractions Ireland has for quality foreign business to come here is the number of young people with University qualifications.I wonder if Minister Quinn has any more ideas which would further assist in shutting down our economy?

• I had hoped that when Labour went in with Fine Gael they would be a moderating influence on FG, it seems that the opposite is happening.

• FG cynically gave Labour very high spending Depts. They want to annihilate the left vote for next election. They know we won’t forgive FF and want Labour to feel the backlash. Please notice this.

• And Reada, Labout are so consumed with Power, and the peks of the jobs, they are more than willing to suck up to FG. Labour are actually championing the cuts. They will do anything rather than implement the sensible solutions to our bloody mess. Third tax rate for anyone over 100k (extra 2% versus the current high tax rate) and limit ALL tax payer funded salaries to 100k per year. But Labour will not do this for the following reasons ….

1) They are in bed with the Unions, and the Public sector workers are the Unions.
      2) They get most of their funding from the welthy. So taxig the welathy would impact their pockets, and lose them funding at the next election.

FG/Labour/FF are all one and the same…. A shower of lieing bastards who will look after their own first, and the most vulnerable in this society second.
      They dont have the foresight to see that by removing further education avenues for the graduates, they will potentially kill the smart economy, or force the multi-nationals to hire in PHD’s from outside Europe and drive up racial tensions.
      They dont see that by sticking 2% on the luxury goods like washing up liquid, detergent etc, that the are basically saying two fingers up to the poorest in our society. Its ok for the wealthier people in thi country. They can afford a car to drive up the North. its the poor gits that dont have a car, that will be forcd to buy their weekly shop, their christmas presents in the south.
      Cuttng child benefit across the board, again has a much bigger impact to the poorer in society. The welthier in teh country wont even notice the 10 euro drop. Whereas the 100,000 people living below the povert line, will feel it in their bellies.
      This Government does not give a fiddlers about how the least well of in this country are living. They are more concerned about talking about how people dress in the Dail, how to salute eachother.
      People, please do not vote FF/FG/Labour EVER again. They will get the message. If a by-election comes around, do not give a single vote to the establishment parties. Maybe then, they will get a clear message…. We will not accept this crap ANYMORE.

• Cal. You’re making me sad. I’ve always voted Labour hoping some day their party would grow big enough to compete with FF and FG. If we keep bashing them it’s back to FF. I can’t bear the thought of it. Personally I’d prefer a government that consisted of TDs without any party whip where decisions could be made by our representatives for the good of the country. I’d just like most of them to be socialists. I’m starting to despair slightly – which hurts as I’m really an optimist.

• im a single mother doing a masters (taught) at the moment. if it wasnt for the grant I wouldn be able to afford fees. mind you the maintenance grant doesnt cover my childcare fees nor my rent.
    im struggling on a grant as it is. If I didnt get the opportunity to do masters, chances are u could have been easily sucked into the poverty trap of social welfare and rent supplement. with a postgrad qualification iv better chance.of getting a good job.
    what would be better, giving a maintenance grant to someone, who will pay taxes once they ve a decent job or paying them social welfare long-term?!?!

• in all fairness you would have to be fierce gullible to believe labours pre election bluster

• I know of some people at undergrad that attend college (under grad) only for the simple reason of the grant. And that really does annoy me. As their goal is to get on the dole after college.
    However postgraduates generally do care, and If they need the grant surely they should get it and get an education.
    Tighten up sure. Like make attendance good or loose the grant or something but giving money to those that don’t care and not to those that need it can’t go on.

• Paul 21/11/11 #

Jaysus I worked part time & got a loan to pay for my post grad! & I got on with it! Don’t think a bankrupt State should fund peoples post grads, if the State has already funded their undergrad, maybe work for a year & pay for it yourself! Bitta motivation & self reliance never killed any1 even a student!

• To be fair, I don’t think anyone could survive on the grant alone, you’d always need another source of income. But it does make things easier for people whose mammies and daddies can’t afford to bankroll them. Loans and jobs may be harder to come by these days, also.

I think it’s very important that people from all backgrounds have the best possible chance of reaching the highest level of educational attainment that their motivation and ability allows.

• Students are no different to anyone else Ye will just have to get on with it like the rest of the people….. Unless your a politician that is !!

• Fair enough Stephen but I do,
    one guy last year never showed up for college,
    came in one day saying how delighted he was with his latest installment of the grant and how he was going to get his teeth whitened.
    Wouldnt you prefer to see the money go to a post grad than be wasted on a person like that, and I assure you there are many from my experiences.

• I just finished a post-grad that I paid out of my own pocket, can’t say I noticed any significant difference between the likes of me and my grant funded classmates in terms of commitment and attendance. If anything, they had better records, generally not having full time jobs or families to think about.

Add New Comment