TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: Chávez was a charismatic leader – but his economic legacy should be a warning

We’ve lost a colourful world leader who genuinely seemed to have the best interests of his people at heart. But the facts don’t lie – Chávez’s economic legacy is a warning against statist socialism, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

THE UNTIMELY DEATH of Venezuelan President Hugo Chávez at age 58 has been a deep and scarring shock for his countrymen and followers of his “Bolivarian revolution” over the past 14 years. Cancer is a personal tragedy and Mr Chávez has departed us well before his time was up and his influence spent, having just won a third term as president late last year. It remains to be seen if the socialist revolution he has spearheaded nearly single-handedly will continue in the absence of his oversized personality, when all Venezuelans are left with are failed social programmes and deepening troubles like rampant 30 per cent inflation rates.

There has been a common theme following his death in an argument about whether or not Chávez was a dictator. He was no such thing, subjecting himself to elections that were free but, as the secretary general of the main opposition party Ramón Guillermo Aveledo put it before the last one, not fair. Chávez by this stage had come to control the media and would put on party political broadcasts lasting hours while his opponent Henrique Capriles Radonski got three minutes a day.

Authoritarian legacy

Chávez was about as democratic as you could hope from a Lieutenant Colonel who staged a bloody coup attempt in 1992 and ran around in his red paratrooper beret till his last days. The elections weren’t rigged, and voters did deliver a rebuke in one referendum that revolved around allowing him a third term as president. Admittedly he got his way in the end, but who are we to lecture others on what should happen when a government loses a referendum campaign?

Human Rights Watch has criticised Chávez for leaving an authoritarian legacy. He centralised power to an incredible degree, set up a parallel parliament after his election to usurp the one he didn’t have a majority in; ruled by decree much of the time and kept official Venezuela under thumb. He had María Lourdes Afiuni, a judge who released a man imprisoned without trial for three years, arrested and charged with supposed crimes against the state. She remains under house arrest after spending a year in prison awaiting trial.

There is no gulag archipelago in Venezuela, but like so many statist socialists Chávez found it necessary to centralise power and trample over human rights in order to see through his vision.

An attractive – but ultimately hollow – vision

Prior to the end of the Cold War socialists in Europe and elsewhere looked to the Eastern Bloc countries as the workers paradises to be idolised and mimicked at home. When that façade crumbled along with the walls used to cage their populations, socialists were cut adrift for most of the 1990s. Then came a series of socialist revivals in Latin America, most notably in Venezuela. Poverty has been a never-ending scourge of the continent and corrupt governments have kept wealth in the hands of the few for decades, so it is of little surprise that people look for a redistributive alternative.

Chávez offered such a vision, and people at home and abroad flocked to it. A close ally of Fidel Castro’s Cuba, Chávez used the oil wealth of Venezuela to kick off massive social programmes that have seen top line rates of poverty and deprivation fall in the country. Nevertheless his time in power has seen the creation of yet another hollow statist system, where industry is nationalised and withers; foreign investment flees; and grand social projects turn out to be massive white elephants. Underneath the façade there is a country with soaring inflation, crime rates and corruption.

In the wake of his referendum rebuke in 2007 , The Economist visited some of the collective projects underway and discovered one reason why Venezuelans might have seen fit to give their president a drubbing. A model collective farm failed and its workers forced to seek income elsewhere when the state-guided plan for what to plant went awry. Elsewhere a fishing processing plant stood idle because the planned wharf didn’t come to fruition (albeit, reminding me somewhat of the famous IKEA road in Ballymun. Governments the world over…).

Another failed experiment

The statist approach to control of everything brings to mind Milton Friedman’s life of a pencil, in which he described the massive complexity of putting together a seemingly simple and humble pencil; and essentially asking the rhetorical question, “Imagine if someone tried to organise that?” Venezuela has joined a long list of failed socialist states that have attempted to answer it.

One of the leaders of the collective farm, Jacobo Pacheco, told the paper that he had seen receipts to indicate that between them the officials and supplier involved pocketed 1 billion bolívares ($465,000) for the uncompleted work. Corruption is rife in the country, with party apparatchiks dong as they tend to do everywhere in the world – free reign is given over government spending and trousering as much as possible.

At home we’d do well to consider the lessons of Venezuela’s flirtation with a hard brand of socialism, as another failed experiment. Yet, we persist in having academics and politicians at home on the left look to these countries as a model for our own success.

Today With Pat Kenny had a discussion on the death of Chávez during the week with Barry Cannon, author of Hugo Chávez and the Bolivarian Revolution, who gave off a whiff of an apologist in the mould of today’s Labour Party leaders who idolised the gangsters running the places like the German Democratic Republic back in the day. When corruption was mentioned, he told listeners that Ireland suffers from it as well as Venezuela. When it was pointed out that Ireland ranks 25th on the world corruption index and Venezuela 165th he challenged the methodology of Transparency International’s survey; just like he challenged the statistics about Venezuela’s squandered oil wealth and the reality of failed social programmes as reported by another journalist who was in the country.

It’s always some sort of capitalist imperial conspiracy to either distort the numbers or, in the face of incontrovertible evidence, sabotage the revolution whenever failures of statist socialism are presented for discussion.

Brazil: combining a free market approach with social equality

Venezuelans and Irish socialists would do better to look to Brazil, where a free market approach is combined with a drive towards social equality. Let the free market do its bit to provide the wealth to pay for the social programmes. Previously a Chávez acolyte, Peruvian president Ollanta Humala has come full circle from hard-line statist to follower of Brazil’s model. That country is booming, while Venezuela took two years longer than its neighbours to emerge from the world recession despite its massive oil wealth, now mortgaged away to the Chinese in return for cash today.

We’ve lost a colourful world leader and Venezuelans a charismatic comandante who, for all his ideological faults, did seem to have their best interests at heart. Now would be a good time to take a sober look at his economic legacy and consider it a warning against the preaching of our own left wing brigades.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. He is also involved in activism in his local area. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna. To read more columns by Aaron click here.

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• What human rights watch failed to mention is that Chavez and Venezuela were at war with the CIA. The US government was actively trying to destabilize his government for years with the help of the wealthy families inside Venezeula who were cut out of the action by his implementation of socialism.
    That is NEVER mentioned, and it goes a long way toward explaining his “autocratic” policies. The US interred Japanese citizens during WWII. I’d call that autocratic, but at the time, most people called it prudent.
    The US supports democracy. Look how the supported the elected president of Haiti, who after proposing a modest raise for cane workers to $1/day was overthrown by US-backed thugs from the Dominican republic and then “flown to safety” by US Marines. Any leader in Latin America who stands up for the people against the corporations is treated similarly, elected of not. Castro. Aristide. Chavez. Allende. Ortega.
    There is a “long list of failed socialist states”, Mr. McKenna, because there is a long list of countries that have been destabilized by your friends who worship at the altar of the (so-called) “free market”. There is a long list of countries that have had their democratically elected leaders removed (somtimes with a bullet) for trying to implement reforms that the corporate elite disagree with. Don’t see you mentioning that anywhere in your poorly-crafted propaganda piece, pal. Crack open a history book sometime. You might find it enlightening.

• Another Saturday, another column from the well heeled guy pointing the finger and explainng to us how everybody whos not like him is either incorrect or needs to pay more tax/take a pay cut.i

Aaron, the policy of socialism itself is a good thing. Look at the nordic countries or France for instance as how a more socialist model can benefit a nation. Imagine if our natural resources were being extracted for the benefit of the Irish people instead of signed away for a pittance to people who already have more wealth than they could spend in 10 lifetimes? How long would it take to pay the banking debt with that cash coming into our coffers? If Chavez were in charge, our people would not have been inflicted with the debt in the first place.

Running a nation first and foremost for the benefit of its people should be every governments first concern.

• Agreed, but are you saying that Chavez’ s autocratic model with its nepotism, corruption and poor economic policies wasn’t flawed?

• If you want to take France as the model, fair enough. In France you can at least set up a business with the expectation that the profits won’t be officially or unofficially confiscated whenever some guy in government feels like it.

The problem with Chavez style socialism is not so much that it runs out of resources as that it runs out of the ability to exploit them. Then you end up mortgaging the country’s wealth to the Chinese.

• Sounds a bit like Charlie Haughey

• I’d like to see all the resources and research to back up his arguments – the Author is a Businessman/capitalist this tells me there may be biased view at play. However for all his faults Chavez significantly reduced poverty and increased educational attainment. To try to have a socialist state with US and international Capitalism undermining you at every juncture must be incredibly difficult. I’m wondering if its a better place to live than when he came to power – I imagine It is, I think it gained a heart.

• Emily sounds like the goverments we have in this country.

• Interesting Milton Freidman was mentioned the man and the Chicago school of economics were directly responsible for the economic mess of the southern cone since 1940’s and its that reason that the left has such strong support there.kind of ironic really

• “Let the free market do its bit to provide the wealth to pay for the social programmes.”

Like here? Ha.

• That is a shockingly simplistic analysis. The Journal could surely do better than this.

• Richard 12/03/13 #

I fully agree that ‘a sober look’ at Hugo Chávez’s economic legacy is a good idea. However the only source cited in this article regarding Hugo Chávez’s economic legacy is a piece from The Economist -not known for its socialist sympathies- in 2007.

This page from Thursday, 07 March 2013 -Venezuelan Economic and Social Performance Under Hugo Chávez, in Graphs- ought to offer a decent starting point for those who fear the ‘preaching of our own left wing brigades’.

http://www.cepr.net/index.php/blogs/the-americas-blog/venezuelan-economic-and-social-performance-under-hugo-chavez-in-graphs

• Socialism is only for millionaire bankers / business types here. The rest of us get your precious failed capitalism.

The revolution will not be televised.

• For anyone who wants to look past the bullshit hyperbole of articles such as this, he is an excellent analysis of Chavez’s time in power. I am currently writing my dissertation on media frames of Chavez and Uribe and some of what is written about him in the press is amazing. Real journalism no longer exists, we just have sheep who bleat out the same old tune nowadays…. anyway, have a look at the stats for yourselves to see how Chavez improved the lives of Venezuelans
    http://www.cepr.net/index.php/blogs/the-americas-blog/venezuelan-economic-and-social-performance-under-hugo-chavez-in-graphs?utm

• Excellent stuff Derek McKenna. It wouldn’t do to have notions of social justice or equity catching on. Chavez was a human being, with flaws as all humans have. He achieved huge progress for his people. Now we will watch the oligarchs and their friends try to tear down his legacy.

• Firstly shocking article it is so far from investigative journalism. Your all wrong. Before Chavez that country was very unequal, like here you have people on 200,000 no cut of any significance.
      America, IMF, ECB all owned by bankers who have their own agenda. America is angry they are angry they can’t get the oil. That has been their main goal from day one with every country they invade. They want to own all ye natural resources so countries can’t be independent and have a Chavez type of direct democracy. If Ireland did it Chavez way we would have oil,sustainable energy and a rich fishing industry, plenty to sustain ourselves. Chavez was only stating to build up the economy, he knew this himself and a few of his last words were I don’t want to die, I think he new the devil as he called them( and I would) will come back in and destroy what he had just begun. America like Fox News celebrating his death while the people of Venezuela morn in their millions. Show a bit of respect. I want a Chavez in Ireland. Strange most Latin America leader got cancer, weaponised cancer is not a conspiracy been tried since 1960s. Stop saying anything that doesn’t slot in with your comfy world is a conspiracy they are not 60 percent are true and backed up with facts. Would just like people to listen to this song PLEASE STOP WITH THE PROPAGANDA MACHINE AND FIND OUT THIS INFO FOR YOURSELF.

Your children will be next
      http://youtu.be/RZFeO2t4luQ

• Adelle you’re wrong on so many levels.

1) America doesn’t need oil, it has enough of it’s own already and has a trade deal with Saudi Arabia for any shortfalls. Not to mention that Chavez sold oil to the US anyway. Every country it has invaded was for oil that they wanted? Here’s a list of every foreign intervention they’ve had since 1890 http://academic.evergreen.edu/g/grossmaz/interventions.html

2) There isn’t enough oil in Irish waters for us to become some sort of oil mogul. Sustainable energy can only be reasonably achieved in this country with nuclear power but of course your beloved SF opposed Nuclear energy. I’ll cede the point on fisheries, it has suffered from EU directives and fishing policies.

3) Weaponized cancer? Really? If their government had any evidence that America had given Chavez weaponized cancer they’d have said it by now. The sheer idiocy of the idea reminds me of the time Chavez accused the U.S of causing earthquakes in the Indian Ocean!

• Sean you are wrong, have you done your research on anything I have said there are mountains of evidence from the last war that they were trying to weaponise cancer. That’s a fact and everything I said can be backed up with facts, just not facts you have ever heard because you are glued to mainstream media, the brain wash machine. You are a perfect example of how there propaganda machine works. Chavez was a great leader and as a Venezuela citizen said that Chavez was not a dictator this was not Chavez victory this had been a struggle for the people of Latin America for years and Chavez was just the man who made it possible.
      I feel sorry for you. I would hate to be so clueless as to what is really happening in the world around me. The fact that you don’t have a clue, just your spin babble babble, makes it clear to me now why you vote FF.

• My beloved SF I was a FF supporter until 2011 and now am an undecided voter. Good for SF I would not let either enda Kenny or micheal Martin look be responsible for nuclear on this tiny island they couldn’t even look after the banks and screwed their own citizens over so no I don’t want nuclear anywhere near this country.

Is this how it works now anyone who doesn’t conform to yer way of thinking is a shinner. Yer a joke.

• TRYING to weaponize cancer, trying being the key word in the sentence, there is absolutely no evidence that they have had any success, otherwise we’d have heard by now don’t you think? I’m brainwashed? Because I get most of my news from Russia Today, which is arguably one of the biggest most anti-western English language news channel available.

Here’s your oil production figures: http://www.eia.gov/ipm/supply.html

Here’s more from OPEC: http://www.opec.org/opec_web/static_files_project/media/downloads/publications/ASB2012.pdf

Here’s Ireland’s: http://www.indexmundi.com/energy.aspx?country=ie&product=oil&graph=production

I’ve done my research alright, with actual facts and figures. You believe Fidel Castro and a man who thinks the U.S caused the 2004 Indian Ocean Earthquakes.

You’re the one who said you’d be voting for SF not me!

• Oh dear, no point in arguing with you so, and I’m supposed to be brainwashed?

If you want all the facts and figures about crude production and how you are wrong then here;

http://www.opec.org/opec_web/static_files_project/media/downloads/publications/ASB2012.pdf

http://www.indexmundi.com/energy.aspx?country=ie&product=oil&graph=production

I have actual figures, you’re listening to Fidel Castro and a man who thinks U.S Weapons tests caused the Haiti Earthquake. . . . .

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2011/12/30/hugo-ch-vez-claims-u-s-gives-leaders-cancer-and-more-crazy-quotes.html

• Venezuela is ranked in the top ten regarding intentional homicides per capita.

• Agree…Chavez did well to reduce US influence and give the very poor some hope. Pity his chosen method of government was doomed right from the start and the country is now a total mess.

• For all you Chavez supporters, here’s a country that you can look up to – CANADA!

• The right wing government in Canada leaves a lot to be desired, I’m afraid. Where would Canada be without its glut of natural resources?

• Brian, is it bad to have natural resources? A country has what it has. It’s what it does with it that’s important. The Canadian people have one of the highest standards of living in the world. That matters.
      If you are against a right wing government, you should also be against a left wing government. Both sides can be extremists.

• In better shape than Venezuela with its present Government squandering its oil revenues

• @ declean Noonan – canada – who support US and isreali terrorism – and for their tar oil – they attack indigenous peopel – then literally scrape the barrel of planet earth to get at these tar sand oil – and charge students very high fees for education – as seen by student riots . No – u can keep canada .

• He looked after the poor but forgot the rest. There is shortages of everything in the country. The poor will suffer most now. There will be years trying to fix the mess he left the country in.

• B Lowe 09/03/13 #

What a load of dribble.
    How can the author say when nationalism of industries fails and withers and talk about a single collective farm and mention that a journalist who has just visited observed. I mean, are there any standards these days to writing pieces.
    First off;
    no, nada, faic, evidence provided of the failure of nationalising industry
    you talk about a single collective farm and take this as proof that all collectives farms in Venezuela are failures.

I mean, it is an extremely far right opinion re Venezuela.

• Fact: Inflation is at 30% and rising rapidly. Fact: Power Cuts are a regular occurrence. Fact: Foreign investment is non existent. Fact: The currency has been devalued by 38% and is still falling.
      Fact: Only for the Oil the country would be completely bankrupt and even with the Oil is only just keeping above water. Fact: Corruption is rife and as bad as any African banana republic.
      Fact: 14 years of oil sales and very poor infrastructure.
      You wanted facts there are some for you.

• What Mr.McKenna seems to miss is that in both systems power gets concentrated into the hands of a few at the expense of many. Capitalism in its pure form is merely stealth totalitarianism. Democracy should be based on a more even distribution of power and wealth than exists in either Venezuela or the USA. People should be allowed to accumulate wealth and consequently power, its the Darwinian drive but this privilege should not be unfettered.

• What a terrible piece of journalism. Attack a guy who who put his own people first and above the imperialist greed of the US and it allies. Free market only benefits those who want to exploit the poor. Argentina was the guinea pig for this neo librealist agenda and the country nearly collapsed. Poverty is rising and the gap is widening wake up.

• There was no mention of Chavez’s greatest achievement. Liberating Venezuela from the US and oligarchy domination

• Keep the vast majority happy so they’ll vote you in again and again while at the same time hide from them what is truly happening to their country.

Well played Mr C.

• B Lowe 09/03/13 #

Shocking article.
    Chavezs economic policies are a beacon of light for mankind not a warning.
    I could not disagree more with the viewpoint of the author.

• Again B Lowe, is this coming from the state media in a country where they invade other countries for sport and then call the US an imperial power? You still haven’t responded to me on that one.

No surprise you’re defending a dictator yet again. You seem to have a love affair with Assad, Ghaddafi and Chavez. If that’s your “truth” I’d rather not thanks.

• B Lowe 09/03/13 #

Re Jason.
      You lost me there on that one? What are you referring to again about countries invading etc?
      By the way Jason, Chavez was not a dictator besides what the corporate media is trying to insinuate or plant. He was elected on Democratic Elections.
      Ejections by the way which have been proven to be more open, transparent, fair and accountable than US elections.
      Your obviously from the far right corporate mindset, either that or you have truly been brainwashed by the corporate media.
      The very fact you would call Chavez a dictator testifies to that.
      By the way, Libya under Gaddafi was a beacon of light of light compared to the Mad Max situation in that country today.
      Gaddafi was loved by the vast majority of the Libyan population and enacted enlightened policies there. The poor man never knew he’d get invaded by NATO and Qatar. NATO bombed Libya back to the stone age just like the US did in Iraq. If countries who are part of NATO receive retaliatory guerilla attacks who could blame them.

• A dictator, no.
      A corrupt autocrat, definitely.

He certainly achieved a lot for the poor in Venezuela, but if a capitalist government engaged in some of the questionable practices Chavez regularly employed while in power, some of the left leaning commentators on here would be outraged. It appears to be ok when the leader in question is a socialist though…

• Brian 09/03/13 #

@B Lowe – When I criticised Chavez for his patronage of a thug like Fidel Castro, who kept himself in power for years through force and has never allowed his people a free vote, you responded by claiming “People in Cuba do vote. They elect local representatives to regional and national bodies.”
      At least you had the good sense not to respond because I couldn’t take you seriously after a truly idiotic statement that.
      And by defending Gadaffi as a ‘poor man’ …..well, I don’t think I need to add anything more to that. Your ignorance is utterly astounding.

• “Gadafi was loved by the vast majority”
      Are you dilusional? He was hated by the vast majority. Only his own tribe supported him. Its like saying Pol Pot was beloved by the vast majority of Cambodians.

• B Lowe 09/03/13 #

Re Mick.
      Gaddafi was popular among the vast majority of the population.
      You obviously did not see any of the mass rallies in support of Gaddafi future during the illegal NATO bombings. 98% of the population of Tripoli came out in support of Gaddafi.
      Michael, your an extreme far right fanatic who believes wholeheartedly the corporate media propaganda.

• Brian 09/03/13 #

@B Lowe – You really need to brush up on your current affairs. Your comments are just making you look like a complete fool. I’d also advise you to get a dictionary and look up the meaning of the word ‘dictator’ and then apply it to Gaddafi.

• if capitalism ;lism is so wonderful – how come so much of the world that follows it is in a dreadful mess right now – following Freidmanns NeLiberalism .
    Fact is Capitaism has failed – and we pay the price for it .
    one would want to take into account waht Cahvez took over – and waht he achieved . eg taking over a very poor country run by the rich for the Rich [ as Ireland is headed for now ].
    The article is just more right wing scaremongereing – yes he had faults – unlike Freidmann , Obama , Cameron et al whom we follow – and if u really want corruption go to the City of London – but all these failed instsitutins have goos PR . If u want to see communes working well – go to a Kibbutz in Israel . They worked a treat – a fact that one does not hear much about .
    And re Chavez – here is an article worth reading – gives a more a ccurtae account
    http://venezuelanalysis.com/analysis/7513

And a piece fro Pepe Escobar piece on Znet
    ”No wonder the Goldman Sachs gang and cohorts saw him as worse than the Black Plague. Venezuela bought Sukhoi fighter jets; entered strategic relationships with BRICS members Russia and China – not to mention other Global South actors; maintains over 30,000 Cuban doctors practicing preventive medicine living in poor communities – what led to a boom of young Venezuelans studying medicine.

Stark numbers tell most of the story that needs to be known. Venezuelan public deficit is a mere 7,4% of GDP. Public debt is 51,3% of GDP – much less than the European Union average. The public sector – defying apocalyptic “communist” accusations – accounts for only 18,4% of the economy; less than state-oriented France and even the whole of Scandinavia. In terms of geopolitics of oil, quotas are established by OPEC; so the fact that Venezuela is exporting less to the US means it’s diversifying its customers (and exporting more and more to strategic partner China).
    And here’s the clincher; poverty accounted for 71% of Venezuelan citizens in 1996. In 2010, the percentage had been reduced to 21%. F”

• What absolute horseshit! Socialism is a failed experiment. Eastern Europe, Russia and even China have abandoned it economically. Because they all realised that it doesn’t work. Its only you western Socialists that won’t/can’t see it. Ask most Russians or Chinese if they would like to go back to the old way of doing things and you will get a resounding “Not on your life”.

• Venezuela is not a authoritarian communist regime like Russia, Eastern Europe and China used to be. They have a growing middle class and the Capitalist system hasn’t really been effected under Chavez. Chavez was a democrat, he increased the number of co-operatives from 1,000 to 100,000, introduced 6,000 new polling stations for the poor and encouraged democracy on a local level. There have been 17 elections since 1998. Jimmy Carter said, “of the 92 elections that we’ve monitored, I would say the election process in Venezuela is the best in the world.” .

Socialism can mean either production or investment in the public sector or the workers controlling the production. China, Russia and the Eastern bloc weren’t socialist, despite what they claimed. George Orwell, who was a Democratic Socialist. Wrote the book Animal Farm because he believed that the Soviet Union was a brutal dictatorship enforced by a brutal reign of terror. This he thought, was a corruption of the original socialist ideals and made more him dedicated to the Socialist cause than ever before.

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/hugo-chavez-was-a-democrat-not-a-dictator-and-showed-a-progressive-alternative-to-neoliberalism-is-both-possible-and-popular-8522329.html
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3B0RbU_UhCA

• @Mick Jordan -
      did u even read the article – it looks like u did not – . as for asking the Russians would tey like to go back to old ways – many would say Yes . Moscow has lots of Billionaires etc but rich / poor divide is growing . As for capitlaism – yes – it suceedds for the Rich but for the rest it has – and will continue to bring poverty – juts look at the figures for home of capitaismtoday – the USA – Poverty on the increase , medical costs out of reach of most , Education falling apart etc etc etc

• So true Aaron. The only problem with socialism is it has never been fully tried.

• Populist clown who hated anyone or anything more successful than himself. … his hatred of the USA was astounding and his choice of friends questionable as were his failed policy of economic redistribution at the expense of his country’s middles classes and educated ranks which have now been depleted. .. nothing more than a jumped up bully who has left behind a potentially wealthy country battered and bruised and in bed with some very dodgy bedfellows such that other clown from Iran and King Kong ding dong in North Korea. ..congratulations to the decent people of Venezuela for finally being rid of an ignorant tyrant

• Oh Marc your brain has been thoroughly rinsed and washed.
      3 million people have came to pay their respects and see his body laid out in 2 days. Does that not tell you somethin? 3 million? No? Nothing?.
      I say Enda would barely manage 3 thousand god forbid.

• There in Notting wrong with my brain Leonard. … it actually works quite well thank you. …I am equally entitled to my own opinion based on my own experiences in Venezuela and with many exiled people from that country. … just because 3 million people choose to come out for his funeral does not make him either an effective leader or a spokesman for all venezulans… there are many millions for who this man was nothing more than a state terrorist and quite frankly at a basic level it is always a good idea to consider a persons friends to gain some insight into their true identity. ..

• Millions came to pay their respects to Kim Jong Il yet he left the country in a state of famine. Millions came to pay their respects to Stalin, a dictator with a higher death toll than Hitler. Judging a leader based upon how many people “mourn” their death is a pretty poor way of looking at it.

He was a mixed bag. His economic policies weren’t great and he centralised a lot of power around himself but he never invaded another state and gave his people some hope.

• Jason you cannot compare Chavez to those other lads. I am not a socialist, economically I am in the centre, but it annoys the hell out of me when people refer to Chavez as a dictator. He was repeatedly democratically elected by his people.

Just because you a free to disagree with the policies of an elected president does not mean you call him a dictator. It’s like all those wealthy Venezuelans who fled the country as it became more equal dancing in the streets of Miami when he died; calling him a dictator just because they didn’t like what he did.

• Some people really need to wake up, I am not trying to be mean to anyone or call people sheep. I need people to please stop looking at the world with tunnel vision. Look at the big picture. Conspiracy theories until a year ago I too was like oh ya what ever people with their own agendas. I am telling ye right now to pay attention or I will be on here telling ye I told ye so. This is happening. In sure there are a few reading this will think I am mad but a few might go look these things. No longer can I call them conspiracy theories, when I see the theories they were suggesting a year ago coming true right before my eyes. America is owned by bankers who own corporations. Federal reserve, IMF, ECB. Our own Mario dracgi was involved with Goldman sacks. The system we are in is run by bankers and corporations. Politicians don’t have a say and others like Irish politicians are clueless. Ruthless bankers. Most profitable thing for a bank is war. Look back at what old presidents say one actually said we don’t own America a secret group of bankers own us, right before he was assassinated. We are brainwashed with bias media( media is a profit making corporation) we are told what way to look think feel dress and what to do. If people don’t wake up soon we are in for a lot of tough times. The Fall Of The Republic
      The Zeitgeist
      Ann Blessington Australian politician
      Cash crop
      all these are available on Internet so no cost .
      Watch Ann B 20 min speech on YouTube first.

• Ok, we can critisize and disagree with him in many ways but the kettle cant call the pot black.We at thesame time must ( and have a duty to) remain very critical of our so called democracy.Usa cals him a diktator?What irony. Usa supported south american diktators ,and in Africa and Asia as far as one can remember,with devastating consequences for their peoples. Perhaps this (so called diktator) denied them access to his oil.The hypocracy here is astounding. While he tried to aleviate the vast majority of his people from poverty in the last 14 years,we at the same time have have also developed a very strange idea of socialism.Bailing out failed and corrupt bankers who manipulate the libor with little or no consequence.Very few people have faced criminal charges and if . then Ihave stolen a million and face a possible fine of 100.000.Our governments bail them out and the tax payer must foot the bill. Inthe USA poverty has increased to an alarming rate in the last 10 years and now not only efects the poor. More and more hard working middle class are loosing thier houses and having to take thier kids out of college. Very sad.Unfortunatly democracy does not work in US any more where large corperations invest billions, keep the war machine going and decide who the next president is going to be..What to do ? In Norway ,Sweden and Finland they have a very progressive and transparent social democratic system with a robust economy and do not need to go around the world invading other countries for their wealth. Maybe we can learn something from them. Or we can take a good example from Iceland who chose the good of thier people as rather than the goodn of the banks.

• ‘@Marc Anthony Power .
      ”his failed policy of economic redistribution at the expense of his country’s middles classes and educated ranks which have now been depleted. .. nothing more than a jumped up bully ”
      Are u saying that the Poor should not be educated – or that the rich should not pay tax – or that the people of a country should not benifiet from the wealth of a country – not just the wealthy few ??.
      U could read this if u rae interested in a more balnced view .
      http://venezuelanalysis.com/analysis/7513
      as regards bullys – well we have expierince of many of them – they even visit us and are feted – eg Legarde , Obama

• @Padraic Odwyer – well said . Pity we did not atke the Icelandic soloution sooner . Both Eishenhower and Lincoln warned aginst the Fiancial sector – banks etc getting control .
      Now they have control – and as Adelle Smyth said banks now make money out of war – but also Fraud – which moctly goes unpunished . they might get a small fine – but they mange with smart accounting to get taxpayer to pay that too .
      Kenndy also made a famous speech about small groups controlling a country – was it his death warrant ?
      The US of 40 years ago was bad enough re Foreign Policy – but now USA is totally run by the Rich -. They select the President – who is no more than a talkng head -.
      In fact Parliaments in general now only serve to preserve the myth of Democracy – they answer to the money people .

• And it was such a paradise before he came to power. You, Sir, are another buffoon.

• Sorry, that was in reply to m a power, not any other poster.

Add New Comment