TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Column: What can you do when you’re trapped on a council estate?

Drugs, violence, no sense of community and nowhere to turn – social housing can be a heartbreaking place for a mother bringing up kids, writes Lisa McInerney.

Lisa McInerney

COUNCIL HOUSE BRED and buttered, me. I was raised in a council terrace, and was awarded tenancy of my own local authority home when I was old enough. ‘Course, when I was old enough to know better, I handed it back again, and moved to the big city to chase employment, which no doubt I will be vilified for. You’re not supposed to hand back the keys to a council house. It smacks of throwaway gratefulness – “Thanks, but no thanks” – the very kind of wavering poverty pontificated on by those wary of benefit frauds and Burberry Boys.

A good friend of mine, a single mother (in full-time employment and taxed accordingly, haters!) was also bred and buttered along the same grey terraces, and has had her local authority house for a few years now. It’s stability for her kids, of course, and a roof over her head, which is fantastic and all (how lucky we are to live in a passably socialist state, where those who cannot afford their own are given government-subsidised homes?) but it’s not perfect, not by any stretch of the imagination. Now, I know perfection is something you have to buy, and that no one who can’t afford it should expect it. That my friend’s living arrangements aren’t perfect has nothing to do with the quality of the house she’s been given. It is not the fault of the state. She was not expecting a spiral staircase and her own two-car garage. Her conditions are not perfect because of the behaviour of those living around her.

But what can she do about it? She cannot afford to move, and the state has no intention of giving every uncomfortable tenant a carousel of alternative addresses to choose from. She’s stuck there, in her gift house. You shouldn’t mouth about a gift house, right?

There’s no standard to Irish council estates. You can get beautifully-kept terraces where all of the tenants are respectful of their neighbours and their surroundings, and go on to buy their local authority homes as soon as they are able. There are plenty of such estates in Ireland, swathes of once council-developed land, now privately owned. My own terrace is one of them.

And then you get those clusters in constant flux, some homes occupied, some boarded-up, some re-let to newcomers after past tenants moved on. They tend to be occupied by younger families – lots of kids, lots of teenagers. A different kind of culture from the meticulously-kept and neighbourly estates. All chavvy stereotypes aside, you know the places I’m talking about. You may feel uncomfortable just passing through, and you sure as hell wouldn’t want to live there.

‘No point calling the guards’

I can’t pin down why you get anti-social behaviour in certain council estates, though like I say, it tends to happen most in estates with younger tenants and younger kids. Unemployment would be high, education, not a huge priority. The place would be full of them oft-lamented Disenfranchised Youth, kicking lumps from anything solid enough to pass as a scratching post and peering like myopic cultists from under their perma-hoodies. There’d be nothing to do and all day to do it; Ireland is not very good at providing diversions to its stretching, restless teenagers.

There’d be a swaggering kind of one-upmanship, an endeavour confined to drinking marathons, drug-schnozzling, and sexual conceit. You’re the best if you’re the brashest and the loudest and the least afraid and you have to fight for that crown every day anew. Authority? Fuck authority. Education? Fuck education. Prospects? Fuck prospects. Who needs prospects? What kind of idiot flaunts a bit of focus and a bit of a longing for something bigger and better? No kind of idiot.*

What do you do, if you don’t want to raise your kids in such an environment, where those with ambition are encouraged to bury it, for fear they be thought conceited? And outside of my tedious sociological theories… What do you do, if you don’t want to raise your children in an area where underage drinking and hard drug use are the norm, where girls are expected to get pregnant and host house parties, and boys are expected to brawl their way to the top of the food chain? Where the other adults around you have no real interest in guiding their lanky teenage offspring, and leave them to raise themselves? Where, if you have a complaint about a fifteen-year-old boy rolling a joint in your porch, you’re expected to sit on it? No point calling the guards. You’ll have your tyres slashed if you call the guards. No point going out there to give the kid a piece of your mind. At best, you’ll be mocked. At worst, he’ll come back later and put your bin through your front window. Or stab you.

What do you do, if you can’t leave potted plants outside your own front door because you know they’ll be taken and smashed? What do you do, if you see a teenage boy barely able to walk at four in the afternoon because he’s out of his gourd? What do you do, if your neighbour decides to have a loud screaming match with her sister outside your front door at three on a Sunday morning? What do you do, if you’re genuinely afraid of leaving your kids out to play, because you’re scared of what might pass for normal amongst their peers, or you’re terrified they’ll come home with a bag of syringey treasures?

‘You could be homeless’

The general consensus is that you’re lucky to get the house at all. You could be homeless. You cannot expect the Council to move you because your neighbours are nightmarish – the awarding of subsidised housing is not undertaken after long consideration of the moral merits of the applicant. And Irish social problems are far too complex to be wiped out by some clever urban rezoning – sure, the superestates were created by overly-clever urban rezoning, in the first instance. Though promoting a healthy sense of community wouldn’t be a bad move, how in Christ’s name can recession-plodding Ireland start on that? The major problem with socialism is that in order for it to work, everyone needs to have an equal sense of personal and civic responsibility. And, of course, they don’t.

My friend spoke to the Council about the possibility of moving from the estate she rents in, citing liberally from the examples I posted above. She was dismissed sternly with, “We do not move tenants because they complain about anti-social behaviour.” And, of course, it’s hard to blame the councils, whose resources are scant and finite. It’s not the immediate fault of the local authority if some of its tenants are determined to sully the gifts they were given and sour the experience for everyone else, too. My friend, it seems, must either get a better job, rob a bank, or put up and shut up. The wheels of bureaucracy grind slowly, you see, and they only grind one way.

* We have this funny carry-on in Ireland; you cannot be seen to want to be better than the fella standing beside you. So many of us don’t trust that kind of ambition. I wonder if it’s a leftover from the days when ambition was a luxury of the landowning classes and a peasant’s head sticking above the parapet meant that they were trying to ingratiate themselves to the enemy? I don’t know. I’m not a historian (says I, to the cries of “Look at yer wan over there thinking she knows everything. Does she think she’s some kind of historian or what?”)

First published on lisamcinerney.com. Lisa McInerney is an award-winning Irish blogger who writes for The Antiroom and Culch.ie as well as her own website.

Read next:

Comments (21 Comments)

• Excellent article

• well written article. Captured everything perfectly. It really should be down to parents collectively to instill some sense of pride in the children and make them respect themselves and their area. I have seen parents before mocking their children for being good in school and just thought, those kids better have a superhuman sense of belief and hope to get their lives on the right path.

• I wish the red thumbers would grow a backbone and speak up… the article was excellent and personified the sort of frustration that many of us who grew up in council estates felt/feel, it’s not an attack on all people from council estates, it’s simply an opinion which happens to resonate an awful lot of truth.

There’s decent people in council estates but those decent people put up with an awful lot of shit thanks to a minority: f*&king braindead morons being dragged up rather than raised,
    thanks to idiot kids who are taught to preach that the world owes them a living,
    thanks to scum who’d rather steal or sell drugs than do an honest day’s work,
    and thanks to bleeding-heart excuse makers:
    “we’ve nothing to do….”
    you could start by not living up to the labels

There’s many decent people born and/or bred in council estates and they need more support when it comes to getting rid of the minority that f*&k it up for everyone.

• Excellent article- grew up in flats in ballymun where there was a great community spirit until the heroin epidemic of the late 90′s. Noone dared to achieve more than their perceived worth, and people who did achieve were quickly forgotten

• anto it was mentioned in it that not all are the same.

well written and true!!!

• not all council homes or estates are so grim, I grew up in kilbarrack and there was a great sense of community spirit, while I agree some areas are very unsocialable its not all.

• Grrrrrrr had a big long reply typed and pressed submit and then the bloody site said I wasn’t logged in, EVEN THOUGH I WAS, so lost the reply. (Could you sort that actually The Journal? Surely the text should stay in the comment box. It’s HUGELY annoying.)

Anyway, the gist of my comment was, great article. I grew up in a council estate too but thankfully with good neighbours, who all tried their best with the little they had to make it a nice place to live. But it was a desperately poor area. Drugs. Stolen cars. Wandering horses. Unemployment. Low level of education. No post office, no public phone, no doctor, no school, nothing but one small shop and then later a small community centre. Whenever I see someone with a drug problem I think ‘there but for the grace of God go I’ because it so easily could have been me, it could have been me in a heartbeat. Luckily I had wonderful, strict, supportive parents who went out of their way to ensure that didn’t happen. They even sent us to a school miles away in a leafy suburb, alienating themselves from the neighbours, to ensure we got the best education possible.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my home, it will always be my home and I’m hugely proud of it and of being from there, but it was tough.

I feel for the author’s friend. To get stuck in that cycle of antisocial behaviour, desperately trying to escape it, can’t be easy. I hope her situation changes as soon as possible so she can get out of there.

• I sympathise with your friend. I live in a council estate I bought my house I reared my childern here and thank god they have turned out ok. There was drugs and drinking going on and stolen cars being driven madly around the estate. I kept a watch on my children, and they knew they were being watched. I bred morals into them. I feel sorry for kids who are left to roam the streets while parents do their own thing, they don’t stand a chance. It’s a vicous circle those parents were probably reared the same way. Where does it all start? And how can we do something about it? It’s a tough one.

• 100% agree

• Why don’t they put the Scumbags together in one big Estate and the decent law abiding folks in an Estate with folks having the same values ??????

• A real and brave piece, it is so refreshing when a good journalist steps out if the land of banal ‘PC-ness’ and paints a vivid, truthful picture.

• Great article, really reminds me how good most of us have it; of course recession or not these are the kind of social issues that have always been with us .. certainly the standard of living has skyrocketed in the last few years in a great many respects, but we’ve still got a long way to go in making sure it’s uniformly distributed.

• Community spirit is a long forgotten thing. I was raised in a council house in ballymun (80′s) and in hindsight, yes there was a certain togetherness there that was lost to my younger self. My mother spoke of “residential houses” and of how people took pride in their homes and area’s. She worked hard and bought her house eventually, in ashbourne just before the boom. I first settled properly with my girlfriend of the time in a council house in the pinewood estate – balbriggan. 5 years of hell, riots, parties, screaming, shouting etc (i once watched a fella assault his girlfriend then urinate on my car as she wept). I worked and saved hard, thinking a lot of the time about what my mother used to say and eventually bought a home in a “residential” area. Imagine my dismay when i got there and found that the people and the attitudes that my mother had so dreamingly spoke of had seemingly dyed out, due in some part at least i think, to the vast number of homes available on the rental market (it seemed society had made everyone a landlord again) and the vast number of gouger’s availing of overly generous rent assistance subsidies, peace would be hard to find, do resedential estates i.e owner-occupied estates, even exist anymore?, particulary newer so-called resedential estates. I have since moved on and I firmly believe that finding peace and a suitable environment to raise young children could be totally attributed to simple, nae glorious luck. Community spirit is dead – i lament. Social anarchy reins supreme everywhere. Unless you are of massive wealth and can afford a home fitting of that wealth, it’s a sad truth that lady luck needs to glow ladylike for peace, and a sense of pride to take you and your children into slumber’s waiting arms and fortune’s greater charms – without a stupid rave song and primitive howls screaming in your ears. As for solutions, who know’s but certainly county councils and the gardai could try harder to foster peace and spirit and anti-social laws with strict penalties must be introduced. For the sake of every well-meaning and hard-working person who want to live the right way – with respect for themselves, their homes and their neighbours – i have’nt met too many – i again lament.

• I also live in a local authority estate in South Dublin and have done for over 30 years. There have been some ups and downs over the years. There are some issues with teenagers (drink and drug related) from time to time and there are a few difficult families but on balance it’s been a good place to live and here’s why.

It was designed with plenty of open green space and with a community centre run by the community at its heart. There has always been a strong community spirit among a core group of people living there and people do tend to be involved in various groups through the community centre and the local primary school which is also on the estate. An estate management group has also been an important development creating a link between the local community and the local authority.

There are facilities in the area such as shops, bus and rail transport, library and so on. It may sound idyllic but it wasn’t always and it was through hard work by various community activists including myself that the quality of life for us all was improved gradually over the years.

My fear would be that with funds being tight and a dearth of employment for young people in particular we could start to go backwards and find that a new generation will grow up without the resources necessary to
    keep them on track and out of mischief.

• I agree with Virginia. People who live in such council estates should be marked on a five point scale for disorderliness. One for peaceful citizens and up to five for people who burn kittens for fun and throw rocks through your windows and deal drugs. People who are the most disorderly should all be put together in the same council estates and there should be arrangements made for a detachment of soldiers to go into such estates at the least sign of vandalism to pour out copious amounts of tear gas and rubber bullets if need be. Such people should probably have their benefits reviewed also.

• Excellen piece, I used to live in an estate like that in Dublin, saved all my pennies and now have a farm down the country. Unfortunatley now loosing it to the banks :(

• Very Good

• Great article!! Well said.

Add New Comment