TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Interviews: ‘I love the food’ – first-hand stories from asylum seekers in Ireland

What’s it really like being an asylum seeker? People living in State-funded accommodation describe their experiences.

Michael Freeman

MORE THAN 5,000 people are currently living in Ireland as asylum seekers, waiting for a decision on whether they will be awarded refugee status.

While their applications are being processed, these asylum seekers – men, women and children – live in so-called direct provision centres either provided or funded by the Government.

Families often live together in one room, while single people share with others. They are not allowed to work – though children can go to school – and adults receive €19.10 a week from the State. Many are left in limbo while the State decides on their future.

To mark World Refugee Day, the Irish Refugee Council has collected first-hand stories from several people in the asylum process. Here are their experiences. (Names have been changed.)

1. John

John arrived in Ireland alone from Somalia aged 16. He was granted refugee status in 2010 and is now applying for family reunification.

In 1995, my father was shopping with my sister and they were both shot and killed by the militia. My brother was also shot by the militia when he was 20.

In 2005, we had problems with al-Shabaab. They told me that I had to join them and if I didn’t, they would shoot me. I was 15 years old and very afraid. Soon after, I was injured. I managed to escape and went back home to my mother. She told me: “You can’t stay. If you stay, you’ll be killed.”

My aunt in Canada sent money to help me escape. I travelled to Ethiopia. Some friends of my family there introduced me to someone they said would help to get me to safety. I was given a passport and left Ethiopia.

I arrived in Dublin late at night. I didn’t know anything. I didn’t know what to do. I was on the street and saw a man who I thought might be Ethiopian so I asked him for help. It turned out that he was Somali. He took me to the garda station. I was 16 and a half. This is how I came to Ireland.

First I lived in a hostel and then they sent me to live with a foster family. It was difficult staying with a foster family. They thought I didn’t want to talk but it was because I was so worried. I couldn’t sleep. I thought maybe my family was dead. So I went to school every day and tried to work but my mind was my memory. There was no room for anything else.

Finally, with help from an international Somali radio station, I was able to get in touch with them. They found my mother, brother and sister. Now, at last, I can contact them. I call, I call, I call. I call every two days to my family.

My favourite things about Ireland are the food, the people and the love of sports. It is very good here. People are lovely. People in Ireland have very good lives. They are lucky. In Somalia we can’t watch TV. Here, if you want to watch the hurling, you don’t have to pay – you can just turn on the TV. My teachers are lovely, I have lots of friends. My school is the best. When I came here, I just learned everything. I’m watching all the time RTE2, watching people cooking. I cook every day my own food. In Somalia, we only got two things to eat: rice and pasta, pasta and rice. We don’t have pizza, I just learned about it here and we don’t have takeaway, I learned about that here as well.

5/7/2010 Ethnic Minorities Protests over Rights

Asylum seekers hold up an Irish flag during a protests at Mosney accommodation centre (Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland)

My dream for the future is to work in business or engineering. I only have one more year in school then I have to go to college. I learned to read and write after coming to Ireland because I couldn’t go to school in Somalia. We don’t have free school there so if you can’t pay you can’t go.

Now I am still waiting for the answer for family reunification with my mum and brother. I started the application in 2011 and they tell me it will take two years. They say to me I need DNA tests for them. They are waiting to come to Ireland, then we will be able to enjoy life together. I will be happy then and finally get some rest, then I can study. My hope and my dream is that actually we will be together: me, my brother and my mum.

2. Peter

Peter and his family have been living in a direct provision centre for nine years.

My daughters were quite young when they arrived in Ireland. My oldest daughter who is 21 was 12 when she arrived in Ireland; she has completed primary and secondary school here and is now looking for a way to go to college to study nursing. My second eldest daughter who is 19, was 10 when she arrived here, she is now doing her Leaving Certificate and is hoping to study law next year. My youngest daughter who is 15 arrived in Ireland when she was six years old; she is sitting her Junior Certificate examination this year. My son was born in Ireland in 2006; he’s five and is in senior infants.

It worries me to watch my children growing up so fast, and the stress they have had to grow up in breaks my heart. My son doesn’t understand why we have to live in the hostel and he’s always saying he wants to go to his own big house like all his friends. This is really heartbreaking to watch as a parent because it shows how this situation affects kids. Having a deportation order as well is very hard because my daughters miss out on a lot of school work whenever we go to sign on in Dublin 1. It isn’t fair to do this to children, but I suppose my two eldest daughters are no longer children as their whole childhoods have been taken away from them.

In the accommodation, there are a lot of things that we have to deal with. For instance you are not allowed to invite anyone to come visit you in your room. Why? I don’t know. There’s no crime in having friends over seeing as this can be seen as my house because this is where I live. Children cannot invite their friends to their birthday, communion or confirmation celebrations.

5/7/2010 Ethnic Minorities Protests over Rights

(Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland)

Most of the rooms are damp and they are not insulated well. It usually gets really cold at night especially in the winter and when we ask the manager to turn on the heating they tell us that they are on or they are not working. If you buy heaters yourself, they take them from you. To me it feels like we are being treated like prisoners. Some of the staff do not communicate well with people in the accommodation, if you stand up for yourself, the manager rings RIA and says that you are bringing problems or you are being aggressive.

After a while you get a transfer letter from RIA sending you to live in another area. As a result no one is able to complain because they fear what will happen to them.

It is a bad situation to be in and I’m hoping that its people like you who will hear our cry for help and try do something about it. I would like to thank you for this opportunity to tell my story and for taking the time to read it.

3. Samantha and Michaela

Samantha is 18 and Michaela is 13.

I’m an asylum seeker and I’d like to tell you about my life. I live in a hostel. The rooms are small. If you’re living on the first, second or third floor you’ll be able to hear the people living on top of you. You have to be careful in case someone takes your stuff. You’re not even allowed electric appliances that you need. If you have one and they find it in your room they’ll take it.

In the room there’re cockroaches. The rooms floors are dirty, very dirty. When you want to sleep the people who live on top of you are making lots of noise and you tell them to stop, they say it wasn’t them. But they just lie. If you tell the manager they don’t do anything and don’t solve the issue, which makes it hard for the people to sleep and live in the room.

In the hostel there are two bathrooms on each floor. On my floor there is only one bathroom working. We have three showers, two toilets and four sinks and two men’s toilets. We have to share with 24 families. We share with women and men. It’s for all the people on the first floor.

The toilets are very dirty. So are the showers. Only four taps work out of the eight. The showers are very cold in the afternoon, hot in the morning and warm in the night. The toilets are sometimes blocked.

4. Adam

Adam arrived in the country aged 17 but his age was disputed by authorities and he was treated as an adult. Nevertheless he enrolled in school, where he has been described as a role model for other students. He has been denied refugee status and his future is now uncertain.

My name is Adam. I am sitting my Leaving Certificate at the moment (Biology, Design Communication Graphics, Construction and Art) and I hope to study either nursing or biological engineering after I finish.

Although living in the accommodation centre has its challenges – we don’t have much privacy and it can be noisy and difficult to study so I go to the library – I really enjoy living in Ireland. Before, I didn’t have hope that I would be able to go to school again but now after studying and having the chance to do my Leaving Certificate, it is hard not knowing if I will be able to continue with what I want to do.

It is difficult being so far away from my family, especially my sisters, but I am able to stay in touch with family and friends at home on the internet sometimes. I have good teachers – school is like a family to me because that is the place I spend all my time.

Not knowing what will happen, that is difficult.

Read: State spent €70m on private and state accommodation for asylum seekers>

Read next:

Comments (107 Comments)

• Young John’s story is very moving but why is there a big chunk missing? His mother feared he would be shot and then he found himself in Ireland wandering the streets. How did he arrange the trip, finance it, passport etc. ?

• Hi Pat, thanks for pointing that out. The stories are edited from their original form, for purposes of length. It’s now been amended to include an additional passage – hope that helps.

• MAJORITY ASYLUM-SEEKERS PAY TRAFFICKERS AND USE FALSE PASSPORTS

“The asylum system is open to abuse, it is being abused, and has proven itself to be costly in terms of establishing the ‘bona fides’ of asylum seekers who manage to travel here.”
      said an Official Justice Dept. source

The majority of people who seek asylum in Ireland pay traffickers to get to Dublin using false passports.
      Sunday Times: 13 Sept 2009

• John F 20/06/12 #

That’s interesting! I’ve never actually seen a cockroach in Ireland but maybe they’re seeking asylum too??

• How do they end up in Ireland if they are supposed to claim asylum in the first EU country they enter?

• The Dublin convention is never applied. We take in everyone and anyone while our own are suffering.

• Ciara — Your comments on this post are disturbingly racist and xenophobic. There are many people who bear some culpability and responsibility for the fact that there are Irish people struggling, or homeless, but their situation is certainly not the fault of asylum seekers. Perpetuating an “us” and “them” attitude is unhelpful to both groups, and seeks to pit one against the other when in fact their plight is a shared one, and both deserve higher standards of living.

I have visited one of these direct provision centres as a volunteer for a homework club for the children there, and it was no holiday resort by any stretch of the imagination. The centres aren’t just basic, they’re de-humanising. Having to queue for squares of loo roll isn’t something that any person should have to do.

• Evelyn,nI smile at you using the emotive language to raise opposition to Ciaras remarks.nWe are all entitled to like and dislike as we choose. What you might think of those choices is for you.nnI strongly disagree with Ireland accepting ANY refugees. it relates to the now arcane Geneva Convention which was written in the aftermath of a world war in Europe and millions of displaced people.nnIt has less application to todays situation.nnThe arguments about where the dinner is nice in Mosney is spurious as the people should not be housed there in the first place. nIn addition we are helping many of these populations in their own countries anyway.nnFollowing the logic of some people on here we should allow *everyone* in that arrives with a hardluck unverifiable story.nnFor example the guy in story no.1 above ‘escaped’ to Ethopia, an one assumes was safe there as it was away from the area he lived in. nWhy didn’t he stay in Ethopia ??

• Conor
      The Pam Izevbekhai case cost us over a million, she took us to court over 25 times. Btw
      ASYLUM SEEKERS COST IRELAND €1.275 BILLION – DOES NOT INCLUDE ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS OR CRIME OR COSTS FROM OTHER TYPES OF IMMIGRANTS.

The Reception and Integration Agency (RIA) heard that the total amount spent by Government on asylum seekers in the past five years totals €1.275 billion, of which €423 million was spent on direct provision.

Source: Irish Examiner, Wed, Oct 13th 2010.

• Well, at the minute, the conditions in Greece are SO appalling that the ECHR will not transfer anyone there. There is also facilities to claim you should be processed in a particular country. But Ireland is certainly no worse off that Greece, Malta, Italy. All those countries take FAR more refugees.

• Good article. Portrays the truth about direct provision centres. For those stating fact about Irish people being homeless and hungry, that’s not the asylum seekers doing, think for a moment whom you should direct your anger toward. Or better still, do something about it instead of being a keyboard warrior.

• exactly.

+1

• I couldn’t have said it better myself Alan.. These heartless unfeeling comments regarding asylum seekers make my blood boil and I would not be able to make such an articulate point. I don’t know why it is so difficult for people to understand that we are all a part of the human race and it it mere chance whether we are born into prosperous Ireland or war torn Somalia. Just because there are Irish people that are homeless does not mean we should not help refugees. If our public finances weren’t squandered by our corrupt politicians we would have enough money to help everyone who needed it.

• I know it’s very simplistic but I think Irish attitudes have grown from a number of factors. Genuine asylum seekers like John above who have fled the likes of Somalia have a real reason to be here because of the war and the likes of Al-Shabab. That goes for other genuine asylum seekers from other countries as well. We don’t just have a duty to protect them under International law but also as human beings.

Where the problem arises is non-genuine (ie, economic migrants) asylum seekers who come in here with bullshit stories and when their lies are seen through they cost the State a fortune in legal actions and deportations so as not to be sent back home. Now don’t get me wrong, I have no problem with economic migrants sure we have plenty of those ourselves. The difference is that if I want to go to another country for a better life I have to fill out forms and do things legally. If I go to the US illegally and get caught I’m sent home on the next plane and no-one bats an eye lid. Here the State tried to send home that Nigerian woman who lied about a dead child and it cost the State €1,000,000.

Bogus asylum seekers put genuine ones at risk because after a while people get jaded and lump everyone into the same category. So you get the likes of John arriving here and the immigration officer probably thought not another one of these chancer’s. The difference is that the bogus seeker gets sent home and says as least I gave it a shot, John on the other hand actually will get shot.

Oh and one last thing. just because people disagree with the IRC or holds an opposing position on this subject doesn’t mean that they are racist. These sort of bully boy tactics for silencing dissent are losing traction and pissing people off big time and in my view actually driving people to be more hard line. Just because someone gives out about the Catholic Church doesn’t make them an atheist!

• Yeah, Irish people never go to the US illegally. Perish the thought!

• Old, perhaps you missed the sentence “. If I go to the US illegally and get caught I’m sent home on the next plane and no-one bats an eye lid.” No where in my post did I deny that Irish people go to other countries legally but if they do they are kicked out without any fuss. “… if I want to go to another country for a better life I have to fill out forms and do things legally.” Is it too much to ask that if I want a job in another country that I go about it through the proper channels? Is it too much to ask that if someone wants to get a job here that they apply for a work permit or prove that they can sustain themselves? I mean what is the point of having laws if they are not going to be enforced or obeyed?

Can you tell me what happens if an Irish person enters the US illegally and gets caught?

• Old Nokia

Of course Irish people went to European made countries, we did not go to African or Asian countries and change the very nature of their populations out of all recognition. No comparison with us going to European made countries of which we are related both ancestrally and culturally, and peoples who are not related to us ancestrally of culturally, coming here.

• Old Nokia

Are you even interested in seeing 3rd world countries become secure, prosperous and great countries for their native peoples, I do, but you seem to want there to always be some sort of problem there in order for you to feel good about yourself and claim to be better than other people, this is the thinking of snobbery old Roman Catholic church you know.
      Do you actually want to sort the suffering and poverty in the 3rd world or not?

• Scarr 20/06/12 #

Life in the asylum system is certainly no picnic. Applications should be granted or rejected in a reasonable time. However, I question why so many seekers from countries with no direct flights to ireland are here in the 1 st place. If I was looking from asylum from our gov ( and we might be yet :) ) it stands to reason that France, uk or Germany would be the 1st port of call not Australia or Asia if you see what I’m saying. A fair portion of the asylum applicants have most likely made a conscious decision to come to Ireland for a better life presumably from stories relayed by others living here.

• Why should they be chastised for wanting as good life as possible? Imagine Ireland was embroiled in a violent civil war; would you rather settle for seeking asylum in somewhere like Bosnia or would you rather go to the States where your standard of living would be higher and people are more tolerant of Irish people? I know the geographical gap isn’t equivocal but a lot of the countries surrounding places people seek asylum from are just as bad.

I certainly would be looking for the best possible life for my family. Take it with pride that these people come here. They are obviously envious of what we have, even taking the recession into account. Reading the comments on this site you’d think ours was the country people were murdered in front of their children.

• Scarr 20/06/12 #

I know what you’re saying Aaron and I can empathise. But the fact remains that asylum seekers have to hit countries like the uk, germany and Netherlands before here. They make a choice for Ireland I presume based on stories relayed to home. To be honest, if I was in a troubled area of Africa and I heard of a friends friend getting a subsidised 3 bed in Ireland I’d be pretty tempted too. If people want to live here then they apply under the usual routes not through the asylum route.

• @AaronnLets not confuse asylum seekers with refugees.nnIn this case you have described neither. You are describing an economic migrant, this is someone who has the choice of which country they would *like* to move tonn

• The basic things in life to people that have it over looks reality to think some under previlage person dont deserve help when they need one….refugees are not some kind of disease,they are real people that need help…

• asylum is a stop gap solution to a bigger problem, the reason they leave their home country is that problem. removing the reason they have to leave their home country means a reduction on asylum seekers.

• Except the West’s solution to that is bombs and stealing their oil. So that won’t be happening any time soon. So like and civilised society we should look after the less needy. Which we utterly fail at too.

• Martin
      That is not the Wests solution. Who controls the west, it is a very elite few. Most of them ar eto be found on Wall st, the likes of Goldman Sachs and their cousins, who are at this moment involved in the largest transfer of funds in history. And no nations no borders people like you are their puppet. Nice one.

• The question that needs to be is asked is how a 16 year old makes it from Somalia to Dublin “unaccompanied”. How many EU countries did he cross to get here. He meets another Somalian man “by chance” in the middle of Dublin who directs him to the Garda Station. Did he not speak to an immigration officer in arrival in Dublin? How did he get here? As far as I’m aware there are no direct flights from Mogadishu.

• Some disgraceful stuff there about the standard of accommodation given and also the treatment of the asylum seekers.

• There are 5000 homeless irish people who would love to swap with them.

• Nice Ciara back to bed with you

• how disgraceful it is the standard of living for the homeless population of Ireland, the citizens of this country.

• 5000 homeless irish?

• Ciara, why can’t both be disgraceful? Do you ever give up on the racism for 5 minutes?

• She went a bit OTT on the figures alright doubled them I would say

• Ciara, while I sympathize with the “look after our own” reaction; it may be human nature, but it is also misguided. It cannot even be argued to be equitable. Most homeless people in Ireland had some misfortune befall them before they ended up on the street, but I’d hazard a guess not many of them have witnessed war, torture, family members executed, repressive regimes or child soldiers etc. etc.
      Have you been out of Ireland much?

• Saying that they cannot leave any of their belongings unattened says it all, so stealing is acceptable and these want to be part of irish society, lies are also part of hostel life from what this account states, and complaing about the dirt , have any of these people not understant how to use a brush mop hot water bleach etc or do they expect the state to pay for contract cleaners come in and tidy up. This account shows how little these people respect what is being done for them, by most accounts all seem to be very unhappy with what ireland has to offer and i still have not worked out how you can get from Ethiopea direct into ireland without having landed somwere else first to claim asylun,dont forget the Pamela Izevbekhai asylum case which cost the state hundreds of thousands and was all lies, Ireland is not a charity

• Well said Ciara, unfortunately they are white and so will not earn you any brownie points for championing them, the multicult church does not have that at all in its pecking order of what makes a righteous new multicult pillar of society.
      So I’m afraid it does nothing to move you up the status snobbery ladder, if you help them, sorry, but no points there.

• I’ve read pretty much most of the comments on here.
      There are comments made by a Lorna Mulreavey, you speak the truth – glad i ain’t alone.
      I see the brainwashing and media washing is working to an extent.
      It’s sad, it’s unfortunate. It’s like watching the last indigenous tribe become spoiled in christianity.
      I just don’t know. I give up.
      The ‘students’ coming here, remaining on expired visas, particularily Venezuelans i’ve noticed, some
      even managing to get the old private school stamp on their forms long after they’ve finished study – for a semester fee of course. You think we don’t know this?
      Solve the problem at the source, not where its spread. Where would you fix a leaking pipe?

• Some comments in this article are sickening, Did you actually read John’s story above, his family murdered and the only prospect of a life was to become a murderer of someone else’s family. And we in this safe, wealthy (yes wealthy) developed nation bicker over giving someone like this a more prosperous future? The chance to turn a would be killer and most probably a teenage corpse into an educated rounded member of society needs to be quibbled and debated over? Shame on all you bickered bigots, take some time out from your constant moaning and bitching to consider how fortunate you are to be a citizen of Ireland.

• You’re a gas lot on here with the double-standards. nnYou are quite happy to believe hard-luck stories from John et al in the body of the story, yet no one accepts what Ed Redbird above has said. nnAnd you lecture about compassion ????

• What happen to empathy and compassion towards our fellow humans. We live in a society that hasn’t experienced REAL hardship for many years. (Famine, Conflict, Sectarian oppression.) Asylum seekers are forced to live on state or charitable handouts because they are not allowed to work. Put yourself in their shoes and ask yourself, what would you do if you found yourself in their predicament? We love to slap ourselves on the back when commenting on how generous we are when it comes to giving to disaster relief or NGO’s working in far flung places, but we seem to have a major issue when people want to come here and share our peaceful, safe and civilised existence, where freedom of speech, security, education and human rights are taken for granted.. Just saying!!

• What happened?……”The comfortable people in tight houses felt pity at first, and then distaste, and finally hatred for the migrant people” John Steinbeck. That’s what happened to some people. But not Ireland as a whole. Definitely not.

• Well said, Irena.

• Ireland has given billions in aid money to the 3rd world. Millions of volunteer aid hours, medicine, education. We owe them nothing.

ASYLUM SEEKERS IN IRELAND CAUGHT ‘ASYLUM SHOPPING’
      243 Asylum seekers were transferred to other EU states after being caught ‘asylum shopping’ where they looked for refugee status in 2 or more countries.
      40 failed asylum seekers were deported last night, a further 202 opted for help in returning home voluntarily rather than being removed.
      source: Irish Independent 12/3/10

• Bryan 20/06/12 #

Some people’s comments are disgraceful, the attitude of ‘once mine are ok I don’t care about yours’, lacks any humanity.

Girls fleeing genital mutilation, homosexuals fleeing death, children fleeing war, yet people want to turn them away?

• It’s the insanity of nationalism. Once the ‘us’ and ‘them’ parameters are accepted, good people do and say very bad things. To me, there is no ‘us’ and ‘them’, just people. And therefore, I think we should be equally ready to help Irish people who find themselves homeless and those from other countries who are fleeing unspeakable danger and want to build a new life here.

• Bryan 20/06/12 #

Well put.

• How about we have a right to protect our people and culture, and then we can help others, like we used to do in the 80′s. Everybody was happy, we had our country and we also then sent billions in aid, millions of manhours in volunteer aid work, medicine, engineering projects. We educated them, and educated some of them here.

Every consider that by taking them in we take people who might make a difference in Africa? We should help the 3rd world, help itself IN the 3rd world, not here. If we were to take in 1 million Africans each year. Then another 5 million are born every year, it makes no difference to Africa, but it does destroy our ability to help them in the future.

• Bryan 20/06/12 #

Our culture is enriched by having a multicultural society. nnThe 80s wasn’t that great either for a lot of people.

• Bryan 22/06/12 #

Lorna those comments are racist. Multiculturalism is more than a takeaway and if I need to say that to you I’m sorry.

• Bryan 22/06/12 #

Ireland has enough organisations that regard women as inferior eg catholic church.nnAlso ow do you measure your safety do you only fear other races? Do you not fear Irish people? Xenophobic much? You should break your classical conditioning.

• What a bunch of begrudgers, given our history of emigration you would expect better understanding. Ciara you seem really nice … NOT!

• look at our history again Keith, we emigrated and worked hard or died if we didn’t, there was no hand outs or free accommodation for the Paddys. gets your facts straight.

• you are mixing up emigration with asylum

• Scarr 20/06/12 #

Ah the lazy old ‘we emigrated so….’ argument. I was wondering how long it would take for you to arrive.

• Jason,
      Not strictly true a minority of Irish were well capable of and did screw the British welfare system for years for example.
      Just shows there’s always a minority to tar the rest with if you’re that way inclined.

• During the famine, Irish people were asylum seekers.

• Sluazcanal
      And they went to European countries. Or UK, the country next door. How are they by-passing many many countries in their own continents? At great expense.

Look people who support immigration are doing the 3rd world no favours. Only the rich and criminal can afford to get here, while their real poor stay or die. While also it drains their countries of people who could make a difference.

We need to help them help themselves get better, how much longer do we have to hear that Africa is still in trouble, Ireland has biven billions in money, billions in aid volunteer hours, education and medicine, it is irresponsible to keep this going just so you self righteous numpties can feel better. If you really cared, you would be helping Africa help themselves IN Africa.

• Bryan 22/06/12 #

You contradict yourself saying only he rich and criminal come here then say the people that a difference leave. Any stats?

• Ed Redbird is a liar and the comments should be removed… this is the kind of Shit i used to hear from “some” taxi drivers all the time.. its baseless twaddle..

• There will always be political baggage to sort out with every case where refugee status is claimed.

The bottom line however, is that these people are human beings like the rest of us and they should be treated as such. No-one is suggesting that we bankrupt the country to provide five-star accommodation for them but some of these stories are really bad. Given the length of time asylum applications can take, we should do more to create a better standard of living for those involved.

• I have met so many people who have gone through the Irish asylum seeking process and so many more who are still stuck in it. I have met so many incredible people who are bursting to really start living but are being held back by a rigid and unforgiving system that treats them like criminals eventhough they have not committed any crime!
    I love Ireland and its people but this is the one thing that really makes me angry and ashamed of being Irish – the way we treat asylum seekers. They came here looking for safety and equality but instead found injustice, unfairness and deep seated suspicion of their story.
    It’s time for change – give them respect, fair treatment and mostly uphold their human rights.

• Well said Dil, I completey agree with you, there are a lot of deeply unplesant comments left here , many of them make me ashamed ot be Irish.

• Tom, I think it would be more correct to say that I’m ashamed that THEY are Irish.

• @Lorna, to be an Irish citizen you need an Irish passport, plain and simple. There is criteria for that, none of which relate exclusively to genetics. Your comments are repugnant, moronic and ignorant in the extreme.

• How did you manage to stay here, after being allowed study here, this process of students coming here and then getting further prolonged visas, one after the other until they make it to a work visa then another and then can stay here permanently, is outrageous. – I’m going to throw this out there, Lorna, but a lot of us students were educated in Irish universities for industries which were actually needed in the Irish economy. Ireland is still looking to retain midwives, nurses, computer scientists. We’ve moved to Ireland and made it our home. A lot of us have married Irish people. I have no time for white supremacists like you.

• Unlike other countries asylum-seekers are not incarcerated in these hostels. They are free to come or go. But if they go my understanding is that they forfeit their direct-provision. Personally I think they should not be allowed to come and go unless to leave the country because otherwise they may try to evade deportation should their applications for asylum be rejected. We only have their word for the conditions they face. An independent audit is needed of the conditions at the asylum-centres because there are differing reports as to what they are.

I see John admits he entered Ethiopia after leaving Somalia and then claims to have flown to Ireland. This begs the question why he didn’t claim asylum and remain in Ethiopia? I suspect the reasons are economic. Now it is true that millions of Irish people were also economic migrants, but the difference is that the vast majority did so legally. International asylum law needs to be changed to require a “first safe country” rule. The present situation where you can criss-cross the globe and claim asylum in a wealthy country is not tenable in the era of air travel.

• @Irish Eamonn,nThat a bizarrre opening line about asylum seekers in other countries being allowed come and go !!nWhat countries are you referring to ??nUSA ? Australia ? France ? BritainnnDream on Eamonn.

• It’s called “safe third country” and it’s certainly in practice within the EU.

John would obviously be asked that very question at his asylum hearing. As for only their word for the conditions they face, not really. NGOs like Amnesty have well documented the persecution of certain minority groups in countries, country of origin information is not overly difficult to obtain.

• Asylum seekers were put into rented accommodation before 2000 as it was the only way to accommodate them.
    The census 2006 shows 4 out of 5 were in rented accommodation.The reported figure is that 90% of asylum seekers are deemed not valid. The Dublin Agreement 2010 on return to first port of entry has only started ,not to mention mainland Europe.A survey was done on 600 and it showed 2/3 came from the UK using fingerprints.
    Those with families are not usually deported leaving them hoping the problem will go away does not help. .An estimated 54000 are undocumented tore up their passport etc.
    see http://www.cso.ie

• And the free sky television, car allowance, cultural hairdo allowance, the free housing with upgrades if we pop another one…

Yes there are exceptions but the last three on our estate wrecked the ace and left the rats behind.

• Pure myth. But then, if you were to offer a worthwhile contribution it would require thought.

• Myth… Fact you mean?
      But let’s not get personal that’s a bit juvenile.

• First of this is a myth. Taking sky for an example, why the hell would to government pay €80 a month on 5,000 people when they only give them around €20 a week to live on (less than someone of job seekers)? Considering the government has been trying to take away car allowance from other citizens then wouldn’t it make sense to take it from those in a legal limbo over citizenship?

Secondly given that there are only 5000 asylum seekers in Ireland and most tend to be in run down government housing or private centers I find it hard to believe you had 4 in your estate or that if they where, given the conditions of council housing that they brought rats.

So….is it simple racism toward a people feeling death similar to us in black ’47?

• Please prove your assertions with some facts …. and no, ‘my hairdresser knows someone who once said … ‘ is not a fact. thanks.

• Noirin

It is called exceptional needs payments. They can and do get prams, household items, phones and even payments towards cars, if they make the case they are prone to racism in their area and thus public transport, is dangerous for them. Welcome to the neo-marxist immigration INDUSTRY.
      Hello migrant rights NGO’s I know you know what I am talking about.
      Migrant industry NGO says: ” put this down on the form, just to get them in here”

Wake up Ireland, there is a deliberate multicult agenda going on here, the media know about it, are well in with it, it is a deliberate agenda to mix up Ireland, into this multicult utopia, meanwhile ordinary Ireland has to live with the increase in crime and competition.

• thats exactly it, the exceptional needs payments. gawwwd will they ever cop on.

• I cannot be the only person who sees the irony in describing something as a “neo Marxist industry”

• Remind me how big the Irish Diaspora is again? One gent above – 9 years? Sounds inhumane to me.

• The stories above are the result of a joint Nasc / Irish Refugee Council project. For those who are interested in reading more complete accounts, we are posting the full versions on our Facebook site at http://www.facebook.com/NascIreland. We are pleased to see the interest and debate generated by these stories, particularly for the day that’s in it.

• We do have good lives here and are very lucky compared to the places these people are trying to get away from, alot of us take for granted how very lucky we are. some of the comments are so heartless, imagin u or ur family in the same position as these people.

• Last 10 years, 6 African countries have been in the top 10 of most economically developing countries in the world.

Also it is known that many asylum seekers lie. Ever think that a person from the 3rd world is capable of lying, or are you so brainwashed into looking down your nose at 3rd world people that you haev one standard for them and another for people here.

I happen to treat all people equally, which is why people from the 3rd world coming here as asylum seekers, do not get my sympathy, I know all should have taken refuge in the 1st safe African country, if they were fleeing for their lives, but somehow they manage to be picky about where to flee to.

• As a matter of interest Lorna……South Africa is the country with the most refugees in the world….. You will probably call South Africa 3rd World Oh and by the way South Africa is a part of Africa. Now this 3rd world country has so many refugees and they are still taking in more!!! South Africans know & (remember) what it is to become a refugee, to be discriminated against, to see people being killed because of the colour of their skin. It seems the Irish have forgotten all these lessons

• Bryan 22/06/12 #

Lorna do you realise how contradictory and ridiculous your statements are? Where are you getting your statistics from?

• @Lorna you appear to have a problem with the continent of Africa as you keep mentioning it. I’m sure then you must be aware that at the moment 18 million people across 8 countries are suffering from famine, not including those affected by war across the continent.
      Since the Irish experienced their own famine and it affected about 2 million people I’m surprised at your lack of empathy..? Or maybe not.
      I see you appreciate the fact that “6 African countries have been in the top 10 of most economically developing countries in the world”.
      Key word here would be “developing” not developed, there is a difference and 6 countries out of 47(the number of countries in Africa) is not particularly impressive.
      You also seem certain that the Irish did not travel to African or Asian countries? I can’t comment on the Asian countries but there are Irish communities living in and around South Africa. I’m sure you are also aware that many Irish men fought alongside the British during the Anglo-Boer war.
      Many Irish priests have travelled to Africa spreading a message of hope and peace…maybe this is where they got the idea that Ireland was a friendly and welcoming nation?
      The fact that your politicians have run this country into the ground by wasting money and resources is no-one else’s fault other than the citizens that elected them and continue to allow them to do it.
      If you were born during a famine, a drought, with no electricity and a basic structure within which to shelter do you think you would survive? By age 12 you might be lucky not to have been abused, any male in the house would be dead or recruited into war.
      If this was you or your family would you not want to escape and live?
      I agree the system needs to be fixed but discriminating against people because of where they come from, the colour of their skin, the god they believe in or for any reason is morally abhorrent.

• I think all these racist comments from Irish people are hilarious considering your history of emigration!!!

• Some shocking stories there. Hopefully it will give some perspective to the usual crowd of Celtic Tiger cubs, moaners, and whingers who do nothing but complain about their first world problems and demand their so-called “entitlements” from the Social Welfare all day.

• Glad you love the food. Spare a thought for all the Irish people going hungry today in Ireland.

• @alan hayes:
    Do you want me to back this fact with photographs? I know from the landlord next door that they insisted on a landline and sky… When he refused the state financed..
    Now they were pleasant enough people…. Clean whenever I met them.. She told me about the hair myself. HOWEVER after they left the landlady was in tears in the front garden about the state of the place… Flee ridden matrasses and all….. After cleanout my cat started coming home with rats.
    Pest control told us it was the 3rd house on the estate….. Common denominator… Asylumseekers moving house

• Is it not better than where they came from?

• How about we have a right to protect our people and culture, and then we can help others, like we used to do in the 80′s. Everybody was happy, we had our country and we also then sent billions in aid, millions of manhours in volunteer aid work, medicine, engineering projects. We educated them, and educated some of them here.

Every consider that by taking them in we take people who might make a difference in Africa? We should help the 3rd world, help itself IN the 3rd world, not here. If we were to take in 1 million Africans each year. Then another 5 million are born every year, it makes no difference to Africa, but it does destroy our ability to help them in the future.

Btw, many African countries are doing brilliantly. How much is someones life in real danger when they can pick and choose and wait to skip over many other safe countries in their own continent and then in Europe, it is because it is a scam, many are caught asylum shopping. Deciding which country is best to claim asylum in.

• Yes 9 years is ludicrous, whether or not he is seeking asylum, the case should be processed in zip time. But we should go back to the 80′s way, where there were only a couple of 100 a year, handpicked by us, IN the countries of trouble. That way the rich and criminal do not trample over the real poor hard cases that do not really make it out of their countries.
    Let in 1 million a year from Africa alone and another 5 million are born every year, immigration sorts nothing out. The problem in their countries needs to sorted out at source if we truly care about human beings and not self serving ego accolades. I believe most extreme leftists on here have no intention of wanting to end their problems, but use it as a constant source of misery for them to feel good about themselves and better than everyone else.

They are people who feed of a continuing decades old festering sore of human 3rd world misery and suffering, and they are a shame to the human race, nevermind Irish nation.

• Jesus, can I go back to your utopian 1980’s? My parents split, we lost our family home and majority of business and I personally know of 2 people who were sexually abused. Don’t think refugees were responsible but I will check again.

• Boring

• i can’t believe what i read her,,all this racism,,its not fair,,we human ,,
    i am an asylum seekers ,,for about 4 years now,,,i didnt came here for money or to get social welfare,,i stay i accommdation just 7 months ,beacuse i really didn’t know nothing,, i didnt know rules and for the easy money,,i just wanna came in one country ,where its not easy to enter.u guys who dont see us like a human ,,try and go in the country when i came for and leave for ,,every1 fight for e better life,,we dont chose where to born but we chose who we want to be,,.we are not the people who stealing the state,,but u ,,i know so many irish people they getting social and work,,and so many they staying at home because is easy money,,,i am not here for easy money ,,but to be free with my kids,,i leave in private house ,,i dont get social,,absolut nothing,,,my kids going in school here,,i work ,,i pay bills like i have status,.its this stealing u guys ,,,..i dont have right to work, but for my kids i’ll do anything,,tell me please ,,is any parent out there who not broke the law for his kids so they not to suffer ,,well my parent did this and am doin the same,,and the work i do ,u irish people refuse to do..I have pleads the government ,,,i show so many documents proves that am not here for money or to have a free house ,,but they just dont care,:’(((((,,,,i am a fighter so i will fight to have a free life,,,but u guys who have the free life ,,dont judge us please,we are human we are made by blood,,we just dont have same colour ,dont speak the same lang does this metter, , in the end of our lifes we go in the same place,thank you

Add New Comment