TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

69-year-old woman “humiliated” by Ryanair over colostomy bag ordeal

Frances Duff, 69, tell TheJournal.ie that she was forced to stand in a queue at Fuerteventura airport and show her colostomy bag.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall

A 69-YEAR-OLD WOMAN from Louth who was refused permission to bring a change of colostomy bag with her on a Ryanair flight has said that she was “humiliated” by the ordeal.

Efforts by Frances Duff to show a doctor’s letter to the air hostess were ignored. She was then told to lift her T-shirt as proof that she had a colostomy bag.

“She just pushed it out of my daughter’s hand. She didn’t want to speak to me  or know me. She humiliated me so much that I started crying in front of people. I cried all the way home and I’ve been crying ever since. One day she’ll be my age and by God I hope she doesn’t go through the same ordeal,” Duff told TheJournal.ie.

Duff was eventually allowed to board the plane, which was flying from Fuerteventura in Spain to Dublin, with the colostomy bags in seperate hand luggage, from which she was separated during the flight.

According to Ryanair, passengers who wish to carry and use medical equipment during flights must first contact their dedicated special assistance line. “This special assistance phone line is used by thousands of passengers each year, without issue,” the airline said in a written statement.

However Duff claims that she did so on three different occasions. Each time she was forced to wait 30 minutes and could not get through.

“Why are they making me feel guilty? I did nothing wrong. I would like nothing more than to sit in a room and tell Michael O’Leary how hurt I am. I am speaking up for all the people out there like me. I am standing up to be counted.”

Ryanair have apologised for the inconvenience she incurred in not getting through to the phone number, but not for the incident itself.

Duff’s local TD Gerry Adams has called for a “full and fulsome” apology from Ryanair.

“Frances was treated in a disrespectful and disgraceful fashion. The staff lacked any empathy and Ryanair’s regulations did not allow for staff to exercise any common sense or discretion. Ryanair needs to examine its procedures and the resources and ensure that they have put in place the necessary resources for their dedicated assistance telephone line.”

Ryanair makes record profits of over €500 million>

Read next:

Comments (175 Comments)

• Unbelievable, my mother has a colostomy bag and I would dread to think she would be treated like this. Shame on them

• good oul private sector

• You think that airline cannot get any lower then you read this :(

• This is not a Public vs Private sector issue but one of basic human rights and dignity. Any airline has a responsibility to its passengers and whether Michael O’Leary likes it or not his Ryanair is no different in this regard.
      I find it very troubling that any passenger who may need to carry or use specialist medical equipment on a plane must first contact a dedicated special assistance line,why? I can understand security concerns but these are not going to be relieved over a phone line and a colostomy bag is so small it would fit in your pocket.
      For any passenger to be singled out like that is unacceptable, for a passenger with a medical condition to have that condition disregarded is not only rude, it has potentially fatal consequences and demonstrates a complete lack of training.
      I’d like to think that Frances Duff will recieve a full and frank apology from Mr. O’Leary but there’s as much chance of that happening as seeing bankers jailed, maybe Frances should show him what several full colostomy bags are like. If you catch my drift.
      An American doctor I met many years ago believed that far too many mistakes are made in this country, he believed that lawsuits should be taken, American style, for vast sums as only when people have to pay dearly for their mistakes will they learn not to make them again. Its a theory and he has a point. Frances sue the bastard for a million and he won’t do it to the next person with a colostomy bag.

• I smell a set up, a colostomy bag would fit in a hand bag no problem and nobody would know. How did the attendent know she had a colostomy bag unless she told them. She said she knew she should have called first so why tell them she had a colostomy bag when she knew how they would react. All she had to do was keep it in her bag and use it if nessary and no one would have known. Does not add up.

• And that’s why we should hope they do not succeed in taking over Aer Lingus……

• John McG,
      It’s not the actual appliance, it the medical bag that we need to carry with us incase of emergencies. It’s generally about 8inches cubed. It contains all the equipment required to change the appliance.
      Rhos bag is considered a medical bag, and isn’t considered as part of the hand luggage rule. See my comment below.

• 8 inches cubed, my wife has hand bags you could fit a house brick in :)

• My advice? Just don’t fly with RyanAir. Hope he doesn’t get the chance to buy up Aer Lingus. One can only imagine what his next step will be. Probably to carry one’s own large bag to the hold if he allows large luggage for much longer. Soon, very soon, he’ll be charging double for a large bag and will be charging for hand luggage in the very near future.

My choice? Aer Lingus, the professionals, at all times. No, I don’t work for them.

• Could not agree more. Michael o Leary and the ground staff involved should hang their heads in shame. Bad enough for the lady in question having to use a colostomy bag . Without being humiliated . If Ryan air have any sense of decently the will apologise . And offer some form of compensation this would not happen with aer lingus

• Rules are rules.

• Yea but if your mother was in Al’ Queda and had a colostomy bag full of nitro glycerine we’d all be blaming them for not checking. I knew people used to smuggle vodka and coke into concerts in colostomy bags back in the 80s. Sick but true. One flash of the bag to security and you were waved on by embarrassed staff . Joking aside they are a potential hazard but a little profiling on the part of RA would have avoided this.

• @Strongbow62 While you may have a point, the 69 year old lady in question here was attempting to bring a spare colostomy bag onto the plane and attempts to show a doctors letter to staff showing that she was genuine and had the condition were ignored.
      We can all agree that security is a real concern these days, but how the Hell will calling a phone line before the journey prevent any of these concerns, knowing Ryanair its just another excuse to keep someone on the line for an hour and make more money out of them.

• Ive travelled with them before and I swore never again as I found all the staff so rude, I watched as they humiliated an elderly gentleman and others, the flights might not cost much but manners and respect cost nothing.. That poor woman should not have had to go through that.. Shame on them.

• The exact same thing happened to me last summer.
    I had to lift my t-shirt to show the person that was checking hand luggage my ostomy bag.
    I did receive an apology from Ryanair later, plus they told me that they would contact ground staff to make sure that this wouldn’t happen again.
    I’m disgusted that the exact same thing has happened again.

• I’d like to add, I had contacted Ryanair the week before the flights to tell them about my medical bag. I was told it wouldn’t be a problem.

• Here was my apology from Ryan air….
      “Ryanair’s policy in such cases is clearly set out on our website and ensures that passengers can carry such item with them. Our Faro handing agent, Portway, did not implement our policy correctly in this case, for which we sincerely apologise. We have been assured by Portway that this error won’t recur.”

• I think this ordeal is awful. However, I have travelled to England twice with out any problems. I brought letters from docs. But never got searched or asked. I doubted if they even noticed I packed a few supplies. Forgot to mention I have an ileostomy. . . . What medical kit do you need? All I need is a bag and two seals in case of an emergency. I really feel for the lady. I couldn’t see where I had to ring any helpline regarding letting them know either…… So even thought I think I’m confused a to how she was identified

• Jamie,
      I also have an ileostomy, in fact, this is my 2nd. I had it repositioned 7 months ago.
      In my present job I fly between 8 to 16 times a month to the UK. I have no problems. I carry what I need in my hand luggage.
      A holiday situation is different.
      The only reason you fly Ryanair on holiday, is to keep the cost down. ThT means 1 to 2 bags in the hold for the family and the rest as hand luggage.
      To the Caneries, it’s a 4 hour flight. You want all your sprays and spares available for the flight. Also, if your luggage gets lost, you want spares available.
      That’s why you should take the Med bag onto the flight.
      Ryanair allow this. It’s on their website. There is no problem until you meet the Bag Police before boarding the plane.
      They have admitted this to me personally after my experience.
      I hope your ileostomy is treating you well. It’s always nice to converse with a fellow ostomite. It’s the best thing that ever happened to me. Do you have the chance of a reversal?

• Hi Danny,
      Thanks for the clarity. Suppose I’m just fortunate enough that my bag doesn’t give me to much hassle. and i.e. haven’t been on long flights. no option for reversal as of where the crohns was/is but it gave my life back and even though I’ve scars and a bag I have a happy life.

• That company has no shame. Pathetic.

• Shame on you O’Leary

• Stay classy Ryan Air.

• Its simple, any route that has a choice I always use Aerlingus. Even if this is 50 more or so. When there is no choice I go with them. If that was my mum and I was with her the only people crying could be their staff at the gates.

• Stay classy, Ryanair…One company that I have been boycotting for a long time. They are simply beyond reproach as a company and as human beings. I hope they are hauled in front of whatever body deals with such disgraceful behavior and whipped.

• Ryanair is not really an airline, but a gigantic human experiment called “how low can you go”. The majority of staff and passengers are apparently willing collaborators in this.

• You survive on €5 / hour because they have to. Why don’t they move on?
      They do. But at that stage they have €3k of debt to work off. After 10 months Ryanair get rid of them anyway. And it all starts again.
      Why does nobody believe this?
      The man has lies in court. Came close to prison for contempt of court and as usual the perpetually dumb Irish nation believe the whole myth. They circumvent the rules. They earn €5 / hour. Last season a guy stopped the Man City v Everton match when he handcuffs himself tj the goals at half time. Why? In protest against this. Dies anybody believe anything. How much proof do you need?

• @Sean,

Why don’t you speak to a journalist that could go under cover with cameras, dictaphone etc. Might with some luck, they’ll show it on RTE/TV3/ITV/BBC. Yes, competition is good, but professionalism is important also and as far as I can see, Ryanair are far from that. They are cheap….. the use of the word cheap here has nothing to do with the ‘final’ price of a ticket flying with Ryanair!

• I have been on that fuerteventura run many times the girl on fuerteventura is a full on pig and I have no doubt this woman is telling the truth. All the people who witnessed this despicable incident and the many more should write in!!

• Can we just get rid of this nonsense ‘if it wasn’t for Ryanair’.
      Ryanair did NOT bring about lower fares. Deregulation did. If we didn’t have Ryanair we would have EasyJet all over Dublin and some would be saying ‘you know what, if it wasn’t for Easyjet bla bla bla.
      It’s mostly red thumbs for Ryanair on thus but wait until next Ryanair topic next week and the usual fools would be saying this man could sort the country.

• That poor lady has had enough trauma and indignity in her life without this disgraceful treatment by a company that’s makes millions of euros profit. shame on Ryanair, you can’t excuse this. Animals wouldn’t get that kind of treatment.

• So in order to receive any kind of “deal” in this world we need to learn to expect a pure lack of empathy or indeed just good manners in dealing with people???.. Sorry I don’t get that deal…

• I’ve flown with Ryanair dozens of times but use easyjet as a low cost alternative whenever possible. Just as cheap, but there must be a completely different ethos in the company as I have continually found their staff friendly & helpful – qualities far removed from most of my Ryanair experiences. God help everyone in Ireland if they are allowed buy out Aer Lingus.

• Is this not the company run by the same person that everyone wants running the country?

• AbM 20/07/12 #

Michael O’Learly is a mannerless ignorant man – why should anyone be surprised when some of his staff emulate him?

• I hope he doesn’t get his hands on Aer Lingus because I will not fly across the Atlantic on one of his planes. I will fly American or British airways.

• People will give out all the want about Ryanair but people will still fly with them due to their cheapness.

Feel for this lady, no one should be out through that, Air hostess could have used some common sense and moved on.

• I use Aer Lingus as they only cost a little extra.I never fly with Ryanair.I like to feel like I’m taking a flight (not an everyday thing) and not feel like I’m some burdensome cash cow that should make do with crap service and rudeness because its cheap!I would have torn strips off her if she spoke to my mother like that…..but then again she is a product of her company…she gets paid crap money (having to even pay for her own uniform) which gives her zero motivation to be even civil!!I’d rather get a ferry and train than fly with Ryanair!

• Does anyone REALLY want this pack of clowns running Aer Lingus? At least this poor lady can rest assured that Aer Lingus wouldn’t treat her in the same way. Disgusting behaviour from Ryanair, competition is good! #2seperatecarriersforireland

• I used to fly from Belguim to Shannon return a lot and I always found the Belgian Ryanair staff the most horrible you could meet.. cold & rude….I never had a problem with the staff in Shannon, Eindhoven or Dusseldorf either… It’s awful to see staff so miserable though..I feel so sorry for this woman, it’s difficult enough for her at the best of times I’m sure, Michael O Leary should apologise really .. not good enough…

• Brat 20/07/12 #

This is a bloody outrage and possibly the lowest Ryanair has stooped. Ryanair need to be reprimanded about this. It doesn’t matter how sh!t people should expect their service to be but this is unacceptable and there should be laws to prevent this kind of behaviour from any professional organisation – low fairs does not mean licence to treat people like crap. OLeary needs to have his head pulled out of his arse and be thought a lesson on good manners. People pay for poor service not to have their dignity taken from them.

• Watch this space! He’ll offer her a free return flight to some out of the way arse of a town where she’ll have to pay huge money to get anywhere!

If I had the choice of flying with Aer Lingus and Rudeair the obvious one would be Aer Lingus. If I chose Rudeair, that would be like buying a ‘lada’ when I can have a merc!

• I was in Fuereventura a few weeks ago. A lovely place but the Ryanair staff were brutal! Our bags fitted but because it didn’t slide out without been pulled out, we had to take out clothes.
    Very rude staff! What a disgrace!

• Look does the phrase ‘ What do you expect from a pig, but a grunt’ mean anything to anyone. O’Leary has made €500M profit this year on the back of noone manning helplines etc etc etc. we need a moral code of practice for business in Ireland whereby if you do not comply you cannot avail of tax perks. Anyone?

• Next time you go with them make sure it’s full and when they ask to look at it give it a bit of a squeeze.

• Sean Slevin: I enquired about wages in Ryan with friend of mine who knows someone who worked there and you are not making this story up my friend…I am shocked. He told me Ryan only paid him for time spent in the air, all other time was unpaid, so official rate is more than 5 an hour, but after deductions and calculations it works out indeed in that region. This is utter disgrace and I promise I won’t use them ever again from now on, unless completely desperate with no other option. I hope more people can join me. Michael Oleary what a greedy filthy pig.

• Fizi.
      You could not comprehend the underhanded scans they get up to.
      Think about this one.
      If the cabin crew miss 1 day sick they must have a doctors cert or they are deducted €30. Bear in mind though they don’t get paid for that day because they only get paid if they turn up for work. To see a doctor and get a cert costs about €50 so O’Leary knows they will go for the cheaper option and take the €30 fine for missing a day they won’t get paid for anyway. It’s putting pressure on people to fly when they are not fit to.
      We haven’t even got around to talking about the pilots.
      Do people FINALLY believe these stories?

• Fizi.
      If I could add something else.
      Why are people slow to believe this stuff?
      They make massive profits.
      Cheap flights. They do it because they do things other airlines wouldn’t contemplate. They take pilots other airlines won’t touch because their experience levels are so low.

• That staff member should be named and shamed.there are times when common sense is needed.The person involved here would need to wise up. I certainly would never employ someone like this. This was a personal call for this Ryan air staff member. I am sure they would not be sacked for something like this, and if they found that they were, then they should asked them self why they could work for this type of employer.

• That’s not one bit fair I must say. The poor woman. She rang 3 times and didn’t get threw and now there blaming her for what like?? We all get sick one day in one way or another and it’s no one fault. The poor woman!!! Michael and his company were wrong and that’s it. It’s a health reason.

• From personal experience, the Ryanair check in staff in Fuerteventura are rude and ignorant. Not surprised to read this story as I have seen many a person humiliated at the boarding gate in Fuerteventura. Very good publicity for the island, not.

• This is one of the many reasons why Ryanair should’t be allowed to buy Aer Lingus.

• n365 20/07/12 #

I will not fly with this shower. I AVOID at all costs. it’s not worth the stress. Pay more if you have to in order to fly with someone else. If fact you may find it cheaper anyway. It’s only a KNACKER that runs it anyway IMO .

• I would gladly fly air lingus any day than use these ,being a regular traveller i have found that on a lot of cases its a myth that swineair are truly low cost, in fact the only low thing with swineair is their customer care, I would rather walk than use this crowd from top to bottom they reek of disservice and most of the staff seem to have a chip on their shoulder and litlle or no customer skills, since stopping using these it has again become a pleasure to fly and no more being treated like a 2nd class citizen that has paid to be treated like dirt , no service + stress+no big saving = Oleary and his ever obdieant army of underlings Swineair

• Aleo 20/07/12 #

Perhaps it is about time Ryanair began to offer flights for nothing at all? That would be an accurate reflection of how much their ‘service’ is worth to consumers.

• yasser 20/07/12 #

I seen O leary at Dundalk races with two big minders, Now I know why he needs them the jumped up bully.

• What a bunch of ignorant and arrogant fu***ers

• Ryanair are an absolute disgrace I have refused to fly with them for the past 5 years and will never fly with them regardless of the price, if you shop around you can get excellent deals.

• There has to be a time when you draw a line in the sand. As people have said, this is not about baggage allowances or assigned seating. At this stage, continuing to fly with Ryanair is contributing to the denigration of basic human dignity. If that was your mother their position would be harder to rationalise, and there’s no reason why it won’t be them next. Each to their own, of course, but that’s it for me.

• jody, reading your article I can’t help thinking your commentating on a football match or something of the sort. Surely a woman of 69 deserves some formality and respect in how you refer to her? Especially in light of the story!
    Duff this Duff that….. how about Mrs Duff or Frances Duff. eh? Clarke!

• And people want this Pri@k to but Aerlingus??

• Let me make a point here about Ryanair staff. Cabin crew earn €5 / hour. I say again €5/ hour. They are treated like dirt. Sometimes they may be abrupt but the culture comes from 1 horrible man at the top.
    The man who has given false evidence to the courts of this land yet so many say he should be running the country.
    My niece worked there as cabin crew and earned €5 / hour. It started as €12 but after a series of deductions like rental of a 10 yr old uniform. Yes, she rents her horrible uniform. They devise a series of schemes and presto €5 / hour.
    Business genius?
    Easy make money when you circumvent the rules.

• How would you even survive a month for 5 an hour, if this is truth then I don’t understand why anyone works there.

• @Sean Slevin,

Being a TD should suit him so. His kind. Making his money out of people just trying to work and get some kind of experience. I still cannot believe that he charges staff for their training. He may call himself a business man, I’d call him a bully.

• Birdie 20/07/12 #

Just when you taught RuinAir couldn’t get any worse , people of Ireland need to wise up and avoid this lot like the plague . After all how many times has MOL publicly abused Irish Citizens . Aer Lingus offer a far better service and most of the time with Ruinairs hidden costs Aer lingus are as competitive in price but MOL s gang come no where close in terms of customer service .

• R⊕B 20/07/12 #

How sad to live in a world where one human being treats another like this. Shame on Ryanair.

• I booked a flight to London city airport with air France to avoid being treated like crap

• John F 21/07/12 #

Anything to do with the fact that Air France/City Jet are the only ones who fly from Dublin to London City? also London City airport is a business airport the fares are usually ridiculously expensive!

• http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/magazine/2012/0128/1224310781008.html I read this article by Conor Pope in the Irish Times Mag, after reading it you get a real sense of the companies work -and I use the word loosely-ethos. No wonder the staff are rude and grumpy. We regularly fly with them to Leeds Bradford as choice is limited, with three kids it is always stressful, at this stage we are pros at the packing having been walloped with overweight fines on a couple of occasions, but you can never plan for rudeness or ignorance. On one occasion they wouldn’t let me or my husband carry our 5 year olds hand luggage….1 piece per passenger so she has to carry it to the plane herself!

• Eimear.
      What you must understand is that these rules come from the very top.
      If the staff don’t obey they get sacked.
      Simple as that.
      So please forgive them for prioritising their employment over a little bit of lee way.
      Everybody is caught up in this and the travelling public are also to blame in this because they continue to support this airline. I don’t believe many passengers worry too much about cabin crew earning €5 hour.
      If they get a cheap flight they care little about anyone else.
      Am I wrong?

• Sean, I included the article link to highlight the fact that the working environment is far from ideal and clearly pervades into the attitudes of staff. Yeah sure ‘ prioritising employment over a bit of lee way’ is perfectly within an individuals right but if everybody in employment had that attitude I dread to think where the country would be. Are you right? In my opinion no, a little lee way in this case would have meant a staff member showing some empathy to another human being…. If people can’t do that regardless of their employer then there’s not much hope for us as a nation….

• Manners and respect don’t cost anything, simply there is no excuse for this person to be treated this way, Ryanair had a chance to redeem themselves and still refused to apologise.

Having travelled with Ryanair many times I have lucky enough not yet to have any issues, but this would definitely make me book elsewhere in the future. Remember Ryanair will continue with their ways if people continue to reward them with their custom, if you want them to change don’t use them.

• Would never fly ryanair…..! Aer Lingus all the way…..and no I’m not a trolly dolly….!

• No frills should not equate to no manners….and why does this bully get away with such behaviour…because people use him that is why…personally I’d rather walk on water…as for running the country…he’d love that…he could hear himself and his over-inflated ego chattering all day. This is an outrageous insult to this lady as was the incident where he tried to charge someone for using a wheelchair. He only understands one thing…falling revenue so that is what people should do….boycott him and his bullying little cult!

• This company should not even have the license to carry animals never mind people. He is disgusting but sadly will continue to make millions of euros from us people that have no choice but to fly with them.

• Has anyone ever tried calling ANY of Ryanairs phone lines? I was calling their reservations enquiry number before..took hours to get through!!!

• Lets hope O’Leary’s kidneys or bowels packs up sometime in his old age and he see’s how it feels to have the discomfort of having to live with such a medical condition nevermind having to deal with an arrogant completely out of touch airline like Ryanair making matters 100 times worse, shame on him and the awful disrespect shown to this poor lady, i hope she goes to her solicitor and sues Ryanair for the terrible unnecessary stress and humiliation they caused her.

• He’ll apologise once he gets the publicity out of it

• Ah yes the Ryanaer ethos raises its head yet again. I haven’t flown with this shower in many years & never will again. MOL is without a doubt one of the most contemptible arrogant wastes of skin that ever breathed air. This company is the very essence of capitalism at its worst! I would live to see a boycott of this insufferable mob but it won’t happen. And they know this. Have people forgotten how MOL used every loophole to limit his tax liabilities in this country? How he has a taxi plate just so he can abuse bus lanes? This poor lady is the most recent in a litany of cases; everyone who had been treated in this manner by Ryan air should sue them. No doubt MOL will crawl out from under his rock to make some snide comment.

• Ryanair a a– holes poor woman.

• Not too sure how much control Ryanair had over this. We had an awful experience there last year. The usual over the bags not fitting in the cradle but I had 3 kids in tow, 1 legged it down the gangway and they wouldn’t let me go after him. These were fuerteventura ground staff, not Ryanair.

• Don’t forget folks, Ryanair are also trying to scare you in to buying their designer luggage.

• That is terrible my man has a colostomy bag and needs to bring spares with her as it cud burst or leak at any time

• Btw does Richard Branson or southwest airlines behave this way?

• no sympathy no appolgy no frills airline now peeps would you expect anything less infairness

• Couldn’t Care Air ! Dreadful behavior >:(

• In many cases it’s cheaper to fly art fungus to the canaries,
    And their crew don’t treat you like crap

• shame shame shame on you Ryanair.

• One Word For This , Disgraceful !

• The great Nile Rodgers was refused water to take with his medication recently on a Ryanair flight, this isn’t an isolated incident it seems.

• It’s a simple as this………Aer Lingus provide a proper service, Ryanair don’t. I have flown with both airlines and feel qualified to make such a statement. I don’t work in the aviation (or related) industry BTW.

• I agree with you competely Sinead about finding alternative airlines to bring you where you want to go but sadly in most cases unless you can fly from Dublin finding anyone other than Ryanair go get you there isnt always an option, the smaller airports such as Kerry or Knock for example dont in most cases give you any other option to Ryanair other than the expense of travelling to Dublin, toll and airport parking charges, etc..

• Saw are disabled guy on crutches in Friedrichsavin airport get marched from the priority boarding Area (not his fault as no signs indicated it was a priority board area) to the average joe area only for them to announce (as he struggled to go to the correct place) that all can board now! oleary is a complete sadist. Forget shareholder value for disabled/ persons requiring assistance. Hell awaits the senior management team at Ryanair.

• This certainly is outrageous. Sue him is right.

• What an absolute disgrace that any person would be treated in this manor. There is a lot to be desired for the level and standard of customer service training provided by Ryanair. Mayber refresher courses should be incorporated and reviewed often. Personally, I refuse to fly Ryanair and have successfully managed to avoide a flight with them for several years now…..

• I don’t get this story at all. Why was she even asking permission? You have to do practically a strip search to find a colostomy bag in the first place. This wasn’t at security, it was at the gate. And there is no rule against bringing empty plastic bags in your carry on luggage either.

A colostomy bag isn’t specialist medical equipment either, it’s about as specialist as a tampon. They come in different sizes, but that’s about it. They roll up and are tiny.

I dunno, something missing here.

• It’s not the pouch that is attached to the stoma, it’s the extra bag with all the equipment required to change the pouch.
      Technically, it shouldn’t be included as extra hand luggage, but as a medical bag. this is what they were refusing to allow on board.

• Shocking, just shocking. I’m travelling Ryanair next week, lucky me :-(( Now I feel really bad about using them. Next time Aer Lingus (if they haven’t been taken over).

• Despite my utter contempt for O’Leary & Ryanair I don’t want to too much love go the way of Aer Lingus either.
    Remember Aer Lingus robbed this country blind for many years with their militant unions and exceptional terms and conditions. Having said that, the answer to these unions is not the O’Leary approach. The answer to finding Siberia too cold is not to go live in the Sahara.

• Dave 20/07/12 #

Fares were set by IATA, an intergovernmental organisation. All state carriers were the same – it was not Aer Lingus who robbed you blind, that was how international air travel was set up. Then we had liberalisation of the market.

• So it’s ironic that Ryanair are attempting to take over Aer Lingus which would recreate that monopoly but this time around the difference would see the monopoly in Ryanair’s favour, a situation Ireland needs to avoid.

• This has disgusted me! I had two grandparents who had Bowel cancer with the same colo bag. Ryanair maybe cheap and an inspiration to business’ but this is down right violation! I will never fly to Europe with Ryanair ever again and if Aer Lingus is taken over by Ryanair I will use connection flights from the Uk or any other European city to get to my destination! And If I am flying transatlantic I will never use Aerlingus!
    I flew from Eindhoven to Dublin once on a Ryanair flight. There was an elderly Dutch man in front of me with his two daughters; the hostess came to collect the trash and the man in front let it drop by accident when giving it to the hostess. She raised her eyes as if she thought he was a simpleton. That is my lasting impression of Ryanair they are a horrible airline to travel with.
    I worked in the Aviation industry and I can tell you one thing Ryanair are only about money they don’t care about their customers. They will drop aircraft mechanic apprentices like hot snots if their exam results aren’t up to scratch.
    Dislike this comment if you want but I will never fly Aerlingus again if Ryanair takes over! EVER!

• I despise O’Leary who is the root cause of this behaviour. I don’t accept this point being made about Ryanair staff. I think what you get is people in a heightened state flying Ryanair. I think because of the very strict rules passengers are seeing rudeness where it doesn’t exist. I think what you will find mostly is that passengers are frequently rude and need to have a look at their behaviour. The fact is these staff are exploited.
      And please. A little less of the ‘love Aer Lingus – aren’t they great.’

It’s not that long ago that Aer Lingus were robbing people blind.
      I despise Ryanair but it doesn’t shove me in to the arms of Aer Lingus. I have a long memory.

• Stay classy O’Leary … No point in being ignorant unless you can show it

• Have people not learned yet, why fly ryanair? We here nothing but bad press and all to save small monies. I gave up flying with them 8 years ago. Join me its good for competition.

• in principle we should treat our elderly and sick with utmost respect – but the combination of the “ive been crying ever since” and gerry adams kinda puts me off!

• Another ryan air story that stinks

• This sickens me, though it doesnt surprise me, what i wonder is why no one stood up and said something, if someone was being so unjustly humiliated I couldnt stand there watching, its almost as bad

• Steve 27/07/12 #

If you fly Ryan Air you get what you deserve. Pay peanuts, get treated like a monkey.

• Gemma 27/07/12 #

and some people thought this guy would be good to lead the country. Ya couldn’t make it up!

• Ryanair do things by the book, their book granted, but if you know the rules going into the game you can’t complain later. I don’t like it any more then you lot.. and I’ve been burnt by them too but there’s no point complaining..It’s the other 50 or more times when things went fine and I saved a packet that keep me going back to them.

• So don’t worry Paul about the way this lady was treated. As long as you get your little bargain.

• Why should you not complain about the rules even if you sign up to them. O’Leary should never treat this lady like this. I don’t care what rules they have.
      Nobody deserves this. Nobody.

• reds 20/07/12 #

Getting your flights cheap can justify lower standard facilities, less luggage and minor inconveniences.
      It doesn’t however justify humiliating anybody or denying them of basic rights. I’m sure anybody in this lady’s position wouldn’t be too fond of highlighting her requirements but to have this pointed out and questioned by the company is outrageous.

Regardless of the company’s policies, anyone that could work for them and adhere to those ridiculous rules lacks as much courtesy and empathy as Ryanair themselves and shouldn’t be serving the public.

• Niall 20/07/12 #

I don’t see what the big deal is. So what if she had to show the bag? And crying all the way home and since? What’s that all about! Nobody died. Get over it people.

• Don’t the rules include being allowed bring on medical equipment without it counting as your one piece of hand luggage?

• I’ve flown with Ryanair many times and have always found the staff courteous and helpful. Better than Aer lingus if I’m honest. But the way this women was treated is a disgrace and the least that should be done is an apology.

• In short “I’ve had my fun and that’s all that matters.”

P.

• I have flown with Ryanair from Spain and its never Ryanair staff at the gate!!!!! So was it not airport staff that that this sould be directed at?? I have crohns and always carry a letter from a gp in case I get stopped at security it’s common sense

• This should not have happened. I use Ryan air on a regular basis and I think they are an excellent airline. They are always on time, my biggest problem is having to stand in the q and listen to all the whingers moaning about how bad they are. Why don’t they shut up and travel with aer lingus no one forced them to go with Ryan Air. They don’t want to pay for the over priced tickets that’s their problem. Ryan AIr is an example of how a company should be run. They are not perfect but the world is not perfect either but they carry more people in one month than aer lingus carry in one year do they must be doing something right

• This story doesn’t really add up at all. Has anybody tried calling the special assistance line? It doesn’t take long to get through. Also, anybody who is familiar with colostomy bags knows they’re small and very discreet. I can’t understand how or why the cabin crew needed to know about it at all.

Additionally, I know several people with medical issues, including one who travels frequently on Ryanain, because they’re cheap not because they’re the only airline service a destination, with an oxygen concentrator (which requires permission and careful checking to bring on board any plane) and has never had any problems with Ryanair.

• It’s not the appliance itself, it’s the medical bag we have to carry in case of emergency. It contains all the equipment we need to change and dispose of the existing pouch.
      Ask those people you know with an ostomy appliance to tell you the amount of supplies required. Then you might understand.
      The bag is considered as a medical bag, and normal luggage rules don’t apply. It’s even on the Ryanair website.

• Why the attack on Ryanair staff? This was ground staff in FUE. From all the comments above it seems that other people have had problems but always at foreign airports. This was a lack of common sense from the ground handler at FUE, but because they are the agent for Ryanair, O’Leary has to stand behind them with the “Terms and Conditions”. No need to be taking it out on the hundreds of Ryanair crew that do their job properly and with the common sense needed in this situation. As always another great excuse for the usual Ryanair bashing!

• Paul I’ve flown with Ryanair plenty of times over the years and I can sincerely say that probably twice I have met nice staff, the rest of the times I have come across ignorance, rudeness, unwillingness and outright contempt. A smile, a good morning or hello to passengers isnt very much to ask. People aren’t just having a go for the sake of it, making up stories just to indulge in a bit of ‘Ryanair bashing’. Ryanair has no real customer relations so these forums are about the nearest you’ll get to making a complaint

• Paul 21/07/12 #

For over 40 years I’ve travelled with different airlines to different destinations. If the choice is there, I Choose the airline I will use and I generally find all airline staff pretty much the same, if not courteous but professional. In my opinion, Ryanair does exactly as it claims, it gets you to the destination you paid them to take you, on time. Airline Staff throughout the world are Human and being such are prone to emotion and reaction. If they react unfavourably to a customer it’s unfortunate. They have to adhere to the rules of their Airline, a breach may result in the staff member being reprimanded or dismissed. the customer is always right does not apply with airlines and as such customers should adhere to the rules that apply to them. It cause less embarrassment for travellers and staff alike

• Eimear.
      I take your points and they are well made but I must come back to the same point. If they are caught giving an inch they will be sacked. It’s not right but that is the way it is. If O’Leary doesn’t give 2 figs about this lady or giving false evidence to the courts in this land then he ain’t going to worry about a lowly check in girl.
      It’s is all wrong but it’s not the fault of the check in staff or gate personel. The passengers willingly sign up to this and expect an exploited worker to risk their job to satisfy the passenger.
      It’s wrong I know but where is the protection of the state for these exploited workers.
      We make a big song and dance about Enda Kenny meeting Denis O’Brien but nothing about him meeting O’Leary.

• I made a point last time about the propossed Ryan air take over of Aer lingus and how bad this would be for Aer lingus with its focus on customer care great flights and friendly staff and a great service all round a credit to Ireland let’s face it we have sod all else to be proud of here.. this woman was treated exactly as I would expect from these ass holes at Ry**air. I used to travel with them on the short hual to England through work after a hand full of attitude and crap flights I refused to board another one and paid xtra for Aer lingus out of my own wages… could you imagine if they had the monopoly their standards would drop even more

• People wants pay low fare and this is what they get in change of savings few bobs. Looking forward their business closure. In general I would have to say that the Dublin airport security staff at the entrance of the boarding area are little bit grumpy and sometimes they loose that humanity touch while you are scanned and searched for any imaginary weapon that can be used for terrorism purposes.
    In my personal experience with Ryanair as I am strictly follow their rules, because I don’t want to deal with any of their staff, my hand bag was in perfect size but according to an hostess she wanted to check putting into that sort of metal cage and she were little sad because she couldn’t get any extra charges off me. The worst it happened at Gatwick airport where like crows, Ryanair hostesses walk around each queue with their carton boxes to check the size of each hand bag and also during the way to the gate they are located with electronic scales like it was an ambush.

• It’s time for EU politicians to introduce legislation for one price air tickets- no extras!

• If I was given a ticket for nothing I would not fly with RYANAIR!! They are trained robots no manners! That poor lady…

• I have travelled with both airlines as well and lost my luggage with aer lingus as well as delays on many occasions. Some of their service is better than Ryan air but you get what you pay for. The public vote with their pockets and they have not bought into the aer lingus model. It’s an over staffed badly run company and has been for a long time. It’s run by unions at the expense of the tax payer.

• That is not accurate. Every time I have bought a ticket I have checked out the price of both Ryanair and aer lingus and only on 3 occasions out of 25 flights has Ryan air been cheaper when you ad in all the extras. It is a disgrace of an airline with no ethics. I know of one occasion where a young girl in a wheelchair travelling with Ryanair was told to get out of the wheelchair and either walk or be carried to the plane as it was too much trouble to open an accessible door out to plane the route involved two sets of stairs

• Empathy & Compassion =Frills aka if we decide a market exists we will kindly request you swipe card here if you wish to receive or ‘choose’ another airline… For now

• Just another marketing stunt.. No such thing as bad publicity!!!

• Ryanair – the private sector airline with the public sector level of service.

Except their monkeys are paid peanuts.

• Jeff 20/07/12 #

Don’t like Ryanair don’t fly Ryanair… 75 million people disagree with you, if she followed the rules there wouldn’t be a problem or put it in her bag.

• She swore she was the only person who got humilated by Ryanair. Ryanair are a business and are there to make money. They dont care about passengers personal problems.

• Ryanair. Taking the p***! or not in this case.

• Colostomee, colostoyou, if podge and Roche sang it then so can you… Perhaps Ryanair’s new motto shall be “we don’t take shite from anybody.” either way a case of over the top rule implementation. Use your discretion flight crews if it’s not a security issue, a bag of crap isn’t taking the jet down

• Rules are rules

• There are a lot of Muslim academics who become doctors who could give medical Certs saying one of their terrorists has an colonostomy bag and they could b carrying dangerous substances .. Better b safe than upset. There is a less crude way of dealing with this tho. but michael o leary always goes for the option that will get him publicity

• g

Add New Comment