TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Two arrested after clashes between Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers fans

The arrests were made after around 40 fans were involved in scuffles near Dalymount Park.

Mountjoy Garda Station
Image: Google Streetview

TWO MEN HAVE been arrested today in a public order incident in Dublin before the match between Bohemians and Shamrock Rovers in Dalymount Park.

A garda spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that the incident took place on the Phibsboro Road, Dublin, at approximately 1.45pm this afternoon. Two groups of rival fans clashed, with around 40 people involved in scuffles with gardaí and each other.

It is understood that various objects were thrown at gardaí but they brought the situation under control quickly.

Two men, one in his 30s and the other in his 20s, were arrested and taken to Mountjoy Garda Station. They were charged and later released and are due to appear in court on 8 April.

Read: PSNI clash with section of Shamrock Rovers fans during Setanta Cup game at Windsor Park>

Read next:

Comments (120 Comments)

• Pathetic thugs

• Yea, Longford Town V Waterford Utd match at the week-end was an example to many bigger clubs; top class facilities, great atmosphere, pure passion and no little skill on show….and fans mixing and having the craic .

• The “rivalry” that plays out each year between Shamrock Rovers and Bohs is cringeworthy.

• Jimbohs 18/03/13 #

Two idiots, regardless of who they support and you’d think the thirty something would know better in the first place. Now that their identities are known it is the duty of the club or clubs to ban them for life. We don’t need this filth in our game.

• Trouble between rovers and bohs is nothing new but it always seems to generate the usual ott reaction.there are some thugs who just use this fixture as an excuse to act the bolix but truth be told most clubs have one or two fools who like to have a few drinks and act the tough guy.a bunch of idiots if you ask me but you’ll get that.all clubs need to do there best to weed these fools out asap and at least be seen to be doing something.
    The loi isnt the best football you’ll ever witness but there is nothing quite like being at a match and feeling some identity with your club as opposed to sitting on a barstool wearing your overpriced epl jersey watching fools on sky sports tell you that you’re watching the best league in the world.

• See this? This stuff really really winds me up. Why is the vast majority of coverage of our league negative and grossly over exaggerated? I’m a die hard bohs fan and have only seen trouble at three games one of which was glentoran fans kicking lumps out of their own crowd. How in the hell is the league supposed to progress and improve when horror stories like this are circulating? Also if this “clash” was in any way serious or big then surely there would have been more than two arrests. Compare that to how many were arrested on o Connell street last night and it’s nothing. Shoddy and irresponsible journalism if you ask me. Mountain out of a mole hill and ruining the already diminishing interest in our domestic league.

• The biggest problem the LOI faces is the attitude of the general public. Irish football is always going to underachieve as long as “football fans” lazily remain on their bar stools,or couch and 3,000 in Thomond park for a Limerick/Cork premiership game is considered a good attendance. There was more at the Young `munster Cork Con AIL rugby game at the weekend. My cousin is a big football fan and scoffed at my remarks regarding supporting irish teams and building a competitive league. They can do it in Scotland and many other smaller European countries, why not in Ireland? If rugby supporters had the same attitude at the beginning of professionalism where would we be now?

• Biggest problem is the FAI ….

• Stuff like this doesn’t help either though my mother was terrified when I started going to the games with the lads rather than with my father because of stuff like this and as I said I’ve only seen trouble three times.

• @ Niall, the FAI and particularly Delaney haven’t exactly proven themselves to be anything resembling a professional organisation but it’s down to the soccer people of Ireland to switch off Sky and get on to the terraces. Exactly like they used to.

• A lot of it is down to people getting off the barstools and their asses and going down to local match but the fai need to assist clubs in this.the prize money for winning the premier division isn’t much more than the entry fee…that’s hardly the way to allow clubs to be sustainable and improve facilities…cut Delaney’s wages…and invest in the league

• Think delaney and his cronies have a lot to answer for. They’re tearing apart the league from the inside out

• How well would each club do if every Irish football fan gave their local team the price of their sky sports subscription I wonder?

• LOI is complete rubbish .no product no fans that simple. Dublin based league ,parts of the country haven’t a club with in a 100 miles. And the argument that scotland has a good league,is crap .2 super clubs that want out and scotland has only rugby to compete with. Irish professional football is a very distant 5th or 6th behind gaa football,hurling ,rugby,horse racing and so on .Though the non professional game is in good shape.

• Ah here, you’ve never seen trouble at a Bohs V Shams game before? I lived beside Dalyer for 4 years and twice a year (each time Rovers visited) there was a mini-riot in Phibsboro.

All premises in Phibsboro shut as the Rovers fans arrive on their wee march from O’Connell Street and then shut again as the Rovers fans march / run /
      are chased by mounted police back towards O’ Connell Street. The windscreen on my car was smashed after a game one year and a wing mirror was kicked off another year. You’re in dreamland if you really believe there’s never been trouble at this fixture before. But as a number of previous posters have already stated – it’s always Rovers.

• Marc,
      I am not staring anything with you but the league is not Dublin based. That is another problem with football, as well as many things about this state in general, the myth or skewed belief that everything is based around Dublin. It simply is not true. Sligo Rovers won the league last year in style and the FAI cup two years in a row previous to that. They have sold players such as Seamus Coleman, now a star at Everton, and Richie Ryan to Dundee to name just two. The Showgrounds is full to capacity for most games and people want to see the team performing at the highest level. I really would have to say the FAI are a very pathetic inept crowd. Just look at the grassroots GAA community in every square inch of the country. Youngsters fanatical from the day they can handle a ball. Why? They are encouraged and nurtured by the organisation. I don’t like the GAA but they know how to run a show. You reap what you sow.

• SO Mark you’re saying there isn’t less populated countries in Europe with better attendances and viable leagues? As a frequent traveller to the UK I’d say it is quite possible more people travel to British football matches from Ireland every week than attend irish ones. Maybe it’s time the Irish soccer supporter demanded a better “Product”?
      Unfortunately, it’s got to the stage where United or whoever will always come first, and any potential talent is taking the boat at 14 to whatever academies because there’s no home based equivalent.

• Rugby supporters can support their team without throwing objects at the guards. I lived in phisborough and when rovers are playing its a no go area. The clubs can’t see how by letting a few mindless thugs support their club they ruin the chance of hundreds more turning up.

• Oh please chris, I’ve been walking those streets on match days by myself since I was 15 those mini riots as you put it is just taunts. I’ve stood at Doyles corner shouting abuse myself that’s all that happens apart from maybe one drunken idiot trying to swing a dig . When there is a substantial clash between the clubs the vast majority of the time its organised and will usually be in smithfield.

• Apologies it was James who referred to it as mini riots

• …. and you make it all sound so romantic.

Sure there’s nothing wrong with standing on Doyle’s corner and throwing abuse at the other team’s supporters, just as long as the one drunken lad doesn’t ‘swing a dig’ at you. Or that they at least have the decency to organise the altercation to take place in Smithfield and not Phibsboro eh.

…. and you make it all sound so romantic.

Sure there’s nothing wrong with standing on Doyle’s corner and throwing abuse at the other team’s supporters, just as long as the one drunken lad doesn’t ‘throw a swig’ at you eh. Or that they at least have the decency to organise the altercation to take place in Smithfield and not Phibsboro eh.

This Bohs and Rovers sh1t pisses me right off. Take a leaf out of Sligo Rovers or even Derry City’s fans books …. and leave me car in Phibsboro alone!

• i never once condoned the behaviour of these saps I’m simply putting it in perspective. fans will always shout abuse at other teams, even UCD are guilty of it, that’s what happens. The rivalry between bohs and rovers will obviously mean this is more heated. i don’t condone violence in any circumstances the point i was making is that this is all being made into something far bigger than it is. The area is no more dangerous than it is around turners cross, tallaght stadium even flancare park regardless of the day. it’s all to do with perspective and unfortunately because of stuff like this peoples perspective is completely warped.

• The actual match report has 1400 views, while this piece has nearly 20000. Says it all really, that bad news in always more popular than good news…
    Trouble before or after the game by a mindless bunch if idiots is not going to stop me going to the match. Just like seeing trouble in one of Ireland’s cities on a weekend won’t stop you going out for a drink again the following weekend.
    People have a right to expect to be safe and enjoy themselves but there will always be some people in society who cause trouble, that’s just a fact of life. We just get on with it and try not let the minority ruin it for the rest if us.

• Ah Ger, the match wasn’t great in fairness and the result says it all. I’m glad there wasn’t any real controversy on the pitch (apart from maybe the sending off?) otherwise there is the potential for more trouble outside.

• Shamrock rovers again. Jeeez.

• ISBA 18/03/13 #

Hear Hear – Shams are the trouble makers – consistently – Shams (at least a section of them) did their best to start a riot at Sligo Showgrounds last October- these guys are identifiable and should long since be barred from League of Ireland.

• Meanwhile your lot shat on the buses of a northern team and consistently put windows through of other away fans buses. Thugs at every club

• They need to get though on theses thugs.
    Their not real fans.

• This is the last thing that struggling league of Ireland clubs need

• sean 18/03/13 #

3 out of the last 4 games , thats a record indeed

• tim 18/03/13 #

Shamrock rovers get huge crowds every at match. And like every large crowd it’s easy for stupid “tuff guys” to hide in these crowds. I think 99% of real fans would support life time bans for these dopes. Tallaght stadium are bring in lots of new measures this season affecting all supporters to stop all standing at the barriers and in the aisles. Hope this might force these thugs to find a new home.

• Always Rovers. Always, always Rovers….

• I’d say a good 80-90% of the people commenting on this thread have never been to a League of Ireland game in their lives. Irresponsible journalism, coupled with the strange colonial psychology that Irish ‘football fans’ have about English teams and you have an awfully uninformed thread where any Manchester United supporting w***er can throw slurs at real football fans. Two arrests? I’d say there’s at least double that at a GAA match with similar attendances; where the so called ‘civilised fans’ congregate. Sick and tired of the anti-LOI sentiment by Distilled Media,

• Very simple lads why would you take your children to a LOI game when you know that if you take them to Croker or Thomond or the RDS you are guaranteed no hassle whatsoever.

• They’re different sports. Good crowd today. Saw the boyos being sheperded away as i arrived and was able to sit in peace in the jodi with a few dozen other hoops (for those non-football fans the jodi is the main stand, for bohs fans). Rovers end was sold out. Crap match by the way but am i right in assuming that all events where a massive total of 2 people are arrested will be reported on this site? They are an embarrassment , all 20 or 30 of the several hundred, maybe over a thousand Rovers fans there today…

• They’re different sports. Good crowd today. Saw the boyos being sheperded away as i arrived and was able to sit in peace in the jodi with a few dozen other hoops (for those non-football fans the jodi is the main stand, for bohs fans). Rovers end was sold out. Crap match by the way but am i right in assuming that all events where a massive total of 2 people are arrested will be reported on this site? They are parasites, all 20 or 30 of the several hundred, maybe over a thousand Rovers fans there today…

• Conor 18/03/13 #

Rovers = Sc*m.Simples. !!!!

• Typical of rovers supporters.think they are the big boys again.
    Well rovers will win nothing again this year.
    The league will be either pats or Sligo

• Der jus wannabe English hooligans!! If ya asked dem wat de score was dey wouldn’t know! #idiots

• I’ve lived in Dublin nearly 10 years and met one person who went to LOI games on regular basis….he is a rovers fan…met plenty of Celtic, United and Liverpool fans…that’s the problem…sky generation fans

• British clubs like Liverpool, Man U and Celtic were just as popular in the pre-Sky days.

• I don’t get this. Can you not support more than one team? What is the problem exactly with supporting your local team AND supporting a Premiership team and/or Barcelona and/or Celtic. People are entitled to spend their money on tickets, jerseys or Sky TV if they want. So what if they want to watch an English match on TV?Who makes up these stupid rules anyway!?.

• There were so many Gardai in Phibsborough earlier I really thought they would prevent this kind of thing. I too am a Bohs fan. I rarely see trouble but I have taken to avoiding the Shams fixture recently as it’s just not worth the hassle. Clearly more needs to be done. The Gardai, Clubs. FAI and even supporters groups should have a united front. Efforts like this worked to keep control of this stuff before, perhaps it can work now to prevent more in future.

• 30 years supporting rugby, never once saw an ounce of trouble. 80,000 Munster fans in Cardiff in 06 and 08, not an ounce of trouble.

• Soccer-heads being silly again.. Dublin/Kerry is the biggest game in the country probably, and I never saw anyone get arrested, maybe a bit of slagging only.

• well maybe should have been arrested after the ” tackle ” on Mickey Sullivan in 1975 Final – but u may not rember that .-also dublin fans killed a Donegal supporter – after the 1992 final or semi final – but when ones see even the Dutch having problems and deaths – unheard of years ago – just shows that society is becoming more violent .
      League Of Ireland used be a great laegue with vg crowds – bohs used get 15- 20,000 evry game – and when I was in Cork – Hhibs got 12-15,000 every game – and Cork Cetic – also were very well suported – as were just about every League of Ireland club. Daly mount was a stadium in those days – but they are gone – and the violence , drugs and cheating that are part of modern day sport are here with us .
      as for Kerry / Dublin – how many Kerry fans do u see on hill16 nowdays – there was a time when it wa safe to go there .

• There’s just as many instances of trouble at gaa games, there’s just never as much made about it.

Trouble at gaa games generally involves supporters invading the pitch and chasing the referee. Real pitchforks and lanterns stuff.

• Flavin I never heard such trash, my point is GAA fans never fight with each other

• Another reason why gaelic is much better than soccer. We have great fans, we like a bit of a mess, we don’t act like a grenade goes off when a defender comes near us and we can handle a good few pints :-D

• @Niall C… You’re completely wrong there aul son, you do not have trouble of this nature at GAA games and have never seen running street battles after a game involving GAA supporters, fact.

This has sadly become all to frequent at league of Ireland matches. The problem is not with the real supporters, 99.99% of the league supporters are good, decent, ordinary football supporters who bring their kids and families to see good games of football.

Unfortunately, there is a small minority of idiot thugs who seem to hijack these games to cause trouble and anti-social behaviour. They need to be actively weeded out and banned from all league of Ireland grounds.

• You’d see me in the hill anytime we play the Dubs or anyone! Still safe there just gotta take no crap from them. Give back just as much abuse as I take!

• Id say tis more the bohs fans causing it as opposed to rovers.prob the same muppets that caused hassle in turners cross on Friday.

• And may I add its only a small minority ruining it for the decent fans

• Obviously cause rovers are the model club. Cop on will you …. six of one and half a dozen of the other very ignorant and arrogant to assume it was just one club that kicked it all off we all have our share of saps

• I agree that we all have muppets going…and maybe I was a bit rash blaming it on bohs but to be fair after the behaviour I witnessed of a minority on Friday in my head it was a fair assumption! The sooner all clubs get rid of the muppets the better for all the genuine fans involved.

• Oh and by the way I’ve done extensive research on rivalries and violence in the league and in a survey of 500 league of ireland fans spread across all teams in both divisions nearly 80% of people ranked rovers as the most notorious and said that most trouble they had seen involved rovers so there is very little to support your assumption

• Rovers were causing trouble when they played linfield not so long ago either the big problem is that regardless of how idiotic they are they are still paying patrons so if they aren’t caught red handed we won’t be rid of them which has its pros and cons

• I’ll completely agree that most people would associate rovers with trouble but in recent years in my opinion a very small element of bohs fans are giving ye a bad reputation.its unfortunate cos bohs used to be one of my favorite away games

• Rovers still think they are boys nobody still can not touch.
    Well rovers supporters are no good always and will be.
    The rest of league of Ireland teams supporters are down to earth and great to have a drink with them.
    Rovers are and will be a disgrace to the league if Ireland.

• Won’t mind but both teams are rubbish like the whole league of Ireland

• The league is struggling but it’s not rubbish. Sadly not enough Irish people support their local clubs. Waterford UTD & Longford supporters arranged to meet in a pub & shared the craic before the game this weekend without any trouble. These muppets causing trouble are 0.01% of fans & certainly are not real FOOTBALL fans.

• Hope you don’t fall off your barstool.

• Well said Thomas.I’m from tallaght.live near the stadium and never hear of trouble from rovers fans.
      Genuine fans travel to the games home and away.they wouldn’t bring the name of their club down.i know a few real rovers and pats fans.they support their team without causing trouble.
      Theses people are thugs NOT fans.
      I don’t support a team in the league of Ireland,I watched the rovers v pats game on Friday and it was a great game.
      Some idiots need to look past the glitz and glamour of supposedly “the best leagues in the world”.

• Well said.i am a loyal blues supporter all my life and living in Dublin.
      I must say we never had trouble with any league of Ireland team not like rovers.
      Shamrock rovers are a disgrace to the league of Ireland,are and always.

• True about Longford and Waterford fans, I was there! Don’t dismiss the whole league on a whim, make sure to give it a try at the very least.

• So James is saying he wouldn’t mind if they were good?

• Thomas is what u just said there not enough to make people realise that the league of Ireland is a waste of time. “All the supporters of Longford and Waterford met in a pub before the match”. What size pub was it? I’ve been to the RSC to see some of the games over the last few years. There has been more people attend junior Gaelic club matches then attend this drivel. The basic thing of any business is that ur product has to be profitable, and provide entertainment. People don’t get that with loi clubs. U can’t just make people go to loi matches because u think its the thing to do. If people are honest the premiership is becoming like this as well. I ve been to 2 utd matches this year and the standard over there is starting to become pretty poor too.

• Rioting after a League of Ireland match…its beyond pathetic, its absolutely embarrassing!! Watch a bunch of clowns!!

• Dubs, great bunch of lads.

• Violence doesn’t happen much at LOI games but when it does there is one common denominator: shamrock rovers. Note to rovers fans: mounted police and Garda dogs are not at every league of Ireland game: they are only brought out when it’s rovers playing

• No wonder nobody bothers with the LOI – when this type of rubbish goes on ! Time for the LOI to step upto the mark and do something about it ! Start punishing clubs involved and banning these so called ” supporters” from games !

• Clubs get hefty fines from delaney and his cronies and it’s not unknown for fans to be given lengthy bans for this kind of thing but that’s at the clubs discretion but seen as you clearly know everything about how the LoI, although I think you mean the FAI, need to improve you’d already know that

• 2 blokes arrested…. That was half of d crowd

• Rioting after a League of Ireland match…what a bunch of clowns!!!!

• Down with that sort of thing…

• It says a lot when there is double the amount of Garda around for the likes of a bohs v rovers game as there is for an all Ireland final which would have up to ten times the crowd.

• Ten times the Gardaí? Now where in the world did you get that figure from? Probably never been to a League of Ireland game in your life. There’s skeleton Gardaí in attendance at League of Ireland games – the guards cover their own games and don’t give a toss about our league. Get your facts right next time.

• You should be well behaved like us dundalk fans

• So glad my brother wasn’t there. He’s not a trouble maker, but he’d be at risk like the other innocent spectators. I always dread him going to a Bohs match when they’re playing Rovers :(

• Typicak dubs.

• At least we’re being coherent

• Just a question I’ve been meaning to ask when one uses the term “muck savage”. Do you think everyone not from Dublin in Ireland is a “muck savage”? I take from it that you are implying that somehow once you drive out side the county boarders of Dublin that people wear wellys, work on farms, drive tractors and are worse off than their superior, more intelligent, educated and sophisticated Dublin cousins. Would this be correct?!

• @ Colm, May the curse of Molly Malone and her nine blind illegitimate children, chase you so far over the hills of Damnation, that the Lord Himself cannot find you. –

• @Tony I’m not hard to find send in anyone you want…. Just don’t send in anyone you want back

• Listen shit you not…. I lived in sydney for 4 years in d Irish community & I can honestly say 70-80% of d people from outside Dublin despised Dubs.. Had a real bitter agenda against us.. I went out with a girl from Galway & any of her male friends would hardly acknowledge if I was in their company…… The term muck savage I use is a laugh because I know much it riles them up

• @Colm. They dont exactly get the creme de la creme of this country in Australia. They get all the parochial nutters and the worst thing is that being in a vast country does’nt seem to change their attitute.

• It’s for the reason I’ve outline above why the dubs aren’t thought of affectionately by our non Dublin Irishmen.
      It’s the arrogance of Dubs that mistake street smart with intelligence.

• I just responded to the ‘typical dubs’ comment from @bitethedust…..
      I find a jealousy from d country people towards Dubs… Weather it’s your horrible accents or d fact that your SO far behind the capital… Il let you decide

• Hahaha thank you for proving my point you dope Colm hahaha
      Its wether not weather and “SO far behind the Capital”…really?? Did you actually say that for real hahah dont even know what it means, oh and yeah that accent is something to be jealous of “stery bud”.
      Brilliant..

• Anything of any relevance in this country goes on in Dublin… It’s the only real city in the country the rest is countryside…

That country accent is poison to the ears…. Rotten

• @ Colm I was having a little joke with you but now I am serious. You have traveled to OZ so I can’t say ‘you are the typical insular gob-shite the majority of Dubs make up.” I would still think from your comments you really aren’t that well traveled because your arrogance is still obvious, try traveling outside of the Irish pack it may help. The Dublin accent is not even a true Irish accent, it ranks bottom of the list for our famous lyrical brogue. Dublin is an echo of London only 6 months behind. People from the rest of Ireland consider ye west-brits for too many obvious reasons to list. You were going out with a girl from Galway, that must have been difficult – you being from the most despised city and she being from the most loved! In short you are obviously, a bitter, blinkered CLOWN.

• Yeah consider us ‘west Brits’ because what we have pisses all over d rest of d country… Sure anyone that does well from down d country can’t get a ticket to Dublin or London quick enough…. Seriously the accent thing you need subtitles when a muck savage speaks on d telly

• Ah no this people are trying to act like thugs to be as good as let’s say in Poland or England back in the day. But this is just sad. They will never be proper hooligans.

Add New Comment