Advertisement
  TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Wednesday 26 July, 2017

#Arrests

# arrests - Tuesday 18 July, 2017

Gardaí arrest two men after spate of armed robberies in Cork this morning

Gardaí said nobody was physically harmed during the incidents.

# arrests - Sunday 16 July, 2017

Gardaí make two arrests in Barry Corcoran missing person's investigation

These are the first arrests in the case.

# arrests - Saturday 15 July, 2017

'I was just screaming... It felt like someone threw fire in my face': Acid attack victim

Delivery driver Jabed Hussain (32) was one of five people attacked with acid in London on Thursday.

# arrests - Wednesday 5 July, 2017

€730,000 worth of cannabis found at Dublin Port concealed in truck carrying farm machinery

Gardaí said the Revenue’s new mobile x-ray scanner was crucial to the detection of the drugs.

# arrests - Saturday 1 July, 2017

Two men arrested at Heathrow on suspicion of terrorism offences

The men – both aged 21 and from Leicester and Birmingham – were detained after landing on a flight from Turkey.

Three men arrested in London on suspicion of plotting terror attack

The arrests come against a backdrop of increased security in Britain following a string of terror attacks.

# arrests - Tuesday 27 June, 2017

Two men arrested as gardaí seize cocaine and cannabis worth €1.2 million

The drugs were seized when a vehicle was stopped and searched in Slane on Saturday.

# arrests - Tuesday 20 June, 2017

Thirteen people arrested after cocaine and cannabis seized in Clare

The two day initiative was part of Operation Thor.

# arrests - Sunday 18 June, 2017

Associate of murdered gang leader David Byrne arrested as gardaí foil gangland murder

Armed gardaí became suspicious when a car tried to avoid their checkpoint.

# arrests - Saturday 17 June, 2017

Two men arrested and handgun seized in Dublin city centre

The men were arrested following a routine traffic stop in the north inner city last at about 10pm last night.

# arrests - Friday 16 June, 2017

Gardaí arrest two men after armed robbery and car chase through Rathfarnham

The two men are believed to have carjacked a woman in Saggart earlier in the day.

Another man arrested in connection with Mark Desmond murder

Last night, four people arrested over the murder were released.

# arrests - Tuesday 13 June, 2017

Armed gardaí arrest two men in investigation into murder of well-known criminal

Mark Desmond was murdered in a park in Lucan.

# arrests - Saturday 10 June, 2017

Four men arrested after these drugs were seized

They are being held at various stations.

# arrests - Wednesday 7 June, 2017

Man arrested over London attack as police search house

The third attacker was named by police last night.

# arrests - Saturday 3 June, 2017

Man 'stabbed in head' during robbery

Three people have been arrested.

# arrests - Thursday 1 June, 2017

Four more men arrested in connection with 1987 rape and murder

Lorraine McCausland, a mother-of-one, was raped and killed in north Belfast 30 years ago.

# arrests - Tuesday 30 May, 2017

Three arrested over attack on elderly couple in their home in Tipperary

The three men were arrested in Dublin.

# arrests - Monday 29 May, 2017

Man arrested on south coast of England in connection with Manchester bombing

Two more arrests overnight have brought the number of people taken into custody to 16.

# arrests - Saturday 27 May, 2017

'Incomprehensible': Elderly couple killed in home named as Michael and Marjorie Cawdery

It is believed that both were stabbed to death.

# arrests - Friday 26 May, 2017

Russia warns citizens against visiting Britain in wake of terror attack

A total of 10 people have now been arrested in connection with the attack.

# arrests - Tuesday 23 May, 2017

Two men arrested and gardaí recover €900,000 as part of money laundering operation

Gardaí arrested the men (aged 31 and 67) this morning.

Two arrested in connection with death of young girl who fell unconscious in wooded area

The 15-year-old girl died after falling unconscious in a wooded area in Portadown, Co Armagh last Saturday.

# arrests - Friday 19 May, 2017

Man in his 30s appears in court over dissident Republican activity

A second man remains in custody.

# arrests - Thursday 18 May, 2017

Two men arrested as part of investigation into dissident Republicanism

Both men are aged in their 30s.

# arrests - Tuesday 2 May, 2017

Two arrested over gangland murder of Noel Kirwan

Noel Kirwan was shot dead in December of last year.

# arrests - Thursday 27 April, 2017

Man and woman arrested in Waterford on suspicion of involvement with international terrorism

Gardaí said they had arrested two people as part of an operation in Waterford city this morning.

# arrests - Monday 24 April, 2017

Two men arrested as gardaí seize cannabis worth €740k

A car and van were stopped and searched on Sir John Rogerson’s Quay earlier today.

# arrests - Tuesday 18 April, 2017

Guns, an IS flag and 3kg of explosives found as French police foil terror plot

Two men were arrested just days before the first round of France’s presidential election.

# arrests - Monday 17 April, 2017

320 cannabis plants worth €250,000 seized in Fermoy

Three men are due to appear in court today.

# arrests - Sunday 16 April, 2017

Two gardaí were attacked on the streets of a Mayo town last night

Three men have since been arrested.

'Real men pay their taxes' - dozens arrested amid violent scenes during anti-Trump tax protests

At least 21 people were arrested in Berkeley, California, as pro- and anti-Trump protesters clashed.

# arrests - Saturday 8 April, 2017

Two men arrested over shooting of great-grandmother in south Dublin

The woman received a gunshot wound when a man discharged a firearm when she opened the front door of her home.

# arrests - Thursday 6 April, 2017

Cannabis worth €500,000 seized outside shopping centre in Kildare

Two men were arrested at the scene.

# arrests - Monday 27 March, 2017

Russian opposition leader jailed following unsanctioned Moscow protest

Alexei Navalny has been a vocal critic of the Kremlin.

# arrests - Thursday 2 March, 2017

Two men arrested in Donegal in connection with murder of David Black

Black was shot dead on 1 November 2012.

# arrests - Friday 24 February, 2017

Gardaí seize €250,000 worth of cannabis at random traffic stop on motorway in Laois

Nearly half a million euro worth of the drug has been seized today across the country.

# arrests - Wednesday 25 January, 2017

Fifty-one people arrested after 19 searches in Kilkenny

Heroin and cannabis herb were seized along with diesel, power tools and gas cylinders.

# arrests - Monday 23 January, 2017

Two Aer Lingus staff among three arrested at Dublin Airport over alleged people smuggling

The arrests are connected to a garda investigation into suspected facilitation of illegal immigrants.

# arrests - Tuesday 10 January, 2017

Community collects enough money to carry the cost of Reece Cullen's funeral

Reece Cullen was stabbed to death last Thursday.

1 2 3 4 5