TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Burton’s Social Protection department spend €5k of public money on party

The party for retired staff was held a few weeks before Budget cuts were announced, it was revealed today.

Updated 8.15pm

PUBLIC MONEY WAS used to fund a party held by the Department of Social Protection in the weeks before the Budget announcement, with €2,990 going on food and drinks alone.

In total, more than €5,000 was spent on the party, Ken Foxe revealed in the Mail on Sunday through documents that showed that the annual retirement get-together for ex-staff members was held on 31 October.

The documents also showed that €1,000 was spent on spot prizes, with €7.50 spent on coat hangers and €150 paid to an organist. The postage for invitations sent out for the event cost just under €700.

burton

(Pic: Ken Foxe)

According to the paper, the Department said that it had tried to restrict expenditure as it was appreciative of the current economic climate.

The information was revealed days after Social Protection Minister Joan Burton’s controversial Social Welfare Bill moved to its third stage in the Dáil, where amendments to it will have to be voted upon.

The changes include a cut to the annual Respite Care Grant and child benefit, and an increase in PRSI contributions.

Today it emerged that the Seanad could put a 90-day block on the government’s Budget plans as it could see rejection from opposition members when the chamber debates it for three days this week.

Limerick-based Senator James Heffernan said today he had concerns about the cuts to child benefit, and was not going to “be strong-armed or bullied into voting one way or the other”. He and several other Labour senators are to meet with senior Labour ministers this week to discuss their grievances before they decide how they might vote.

Read: Social Welfare Bill passes in Dáil, moves to committee stage>

Read next:

Comments (160 Comments)

• I’m a public sector worker. We pay for our own bloody parties. Is anyone THAT surprised to hear this happened?

• I don’t begrudge having staff party but do when ,as Americans say, my tax euro is paying for it …while savage cuts are being implemented…pay for your own bloody party….lord knows ye can afford it.

• This is public money to fund a staff party. That’s a disgrace. I work in the public sector and I can assure you all my Christmas staff party will be funded from our own wages, and will consist of a few beers and fingerfood.

• Staff Christmas parties are a norm & nobody would take that away from the staff working at the Dept of Social Protection, but €5,000, in a time of belt-tightening, is surely excessive?
    Wonder could we see it compared to previous years.

• SMcB 16/12/12 #

I believe that that over 700 people were invited / attended… 5k is not excessive to be fair. Also at least 1 company benefited. By the way some people are going on, Christmas should be cancelled. What a nonsense.

• They are not the norm in my job. We have a few Christmas drinks at our own expense, not a penny from our employer

• Staff Christmas Parties are normally paid for by staff themselves, and I do not know of any public service workers whose Christmas parties are even subsidised let alone paid for by their dept.,.

• It was a retirement party. Haven’t had Christmas one yet, that’s in New Year when this particular storm dies down. # reality is for fools.

• Oh right a retirement party paid for by the department , seems reasonable enough so .
      After 40 years service, for I imagine all members of staff retiring this year, is little enough to be spent.
      Good luck to them.

• It was a retirement party. Christmas party is in New Year when this storm has passed over. All Departments are under strict orders to keep the publicity to a minimum, but still have a good time at tax payers expense. #reality is for fools

• Exactly Steve. Nobody is saying to
      Cancel xmas or that nobody worked hard during the year.. I havent seen anyone on here saying that!?
      I work in a financial services company ,who laid off 25% of its workforce in 2009 also and since 2008 we have had to pay for our own xmas parties. No ‘tough decision’ made here obviously to tell the department staff that theyd have to pay for their own

• Eileen, I play football with a bus driver for Dublin bus, he told me of the parties they have that are subsidised by the company, loads of booze, food and entertainment all paid for by the company. He changes his car every two years for a new one and always has plenty of money for the better things in life, he told me that if you are there over 10 years you have it made. All at our expense!

• were I work I have to pay for my Christmas party and my Christmas bonus was raped with tax..

• It wasn’t a retirement party. It was a party for people on fat state pensions.

• Paul Mc
      I worked as a public servant,and in all the time I was working we never had a party paid for or subsidised . We did however get a letter pinned to the notice board from the relevant minister thanking us for our dedication and our professionalism throughout the year. This was the only ‘thanks’ we got above our wage that acknowledged we worked Christmas day, nights, New Years, etc etc., We didn’t look for more either ,or expect it. As for your ‘friend’ bragging about the great perks that Dublin Bus have for their staff well I think he is telling you Porky Pies just to wind you up. .

• we pay a ceremonial president 250,000 for nothing

You’re going to attack our president who voluntarily reduced his pay by 23.5% ever before the bill went through on public service pay capping and also has stated that he will not draw any pension entitlements while he holds the office of presidency?

This while there was no mention of any pay cuts for tds in the budget?!

• paul 16/12/12 #

Of course they should have a Christmas party, but in no way should the taxpayer pay for, it’s fairly simple to see that I would think

• really? I work in the civil service and nit once in 13 years have I had a staff party that wasn’t paid for by us staff!

• According to TodayFM this morning which discussed this, its working out at about €20 a head. The invite would have went out to a large amount of people like those working on the ground in social welfare, dole offices and so on. Christmas Parties are indeed the norm and acceptable. Some small businesses spend the bones of €500 on a night out for a small staff party. Large businesses spend more as they have more people to invite.

Seems to be just the media having a go for a sake of having a go.

• John 16/12/12 #

Oh go away you puppet, big bleedin deal… he still gets E250,000 for what? How is that disgustingly exorbitant salary comparable to the GDP of a small Ireland in recession? What are we paying him for? Why does he get paid more than the chancellor of Germany? Not to mention the millions he gets in expenses, the house, servants, private chefs, 5 star hotels. You and the likes of you are the reason we are a laughing stock throughout the world. Tom, you make me sick, you are the epitome of what we have become.

• Mature response there. I believe the president should be paid less too – but I think you attacking him in the context of so many other, and much more relevant, targets is blinkered.

For anyone that hasn’t noticed – this was not a Christmas party

In total, more than €5,000 was spent on the party, Ken Foxe revealed in the Mail on Sunday through documents that showed that the annual retirement get-together for ex-staff members was held on 31 October.

• Thats another bug bare of mine. Why are Bonuses of 800euro taxed at 52% just as bonuses of 1million euro!!?

• Bruce 16/12/12 #

john green thumb from me. you are spot on.

• Heil on Sunday non story trying to whip up some cheap outrage against Burton and the Public Service in general. Smacks a bit of desperation if you ask me, would b more in their line to ask the government to prove that there’s really any evidence that a couple of points extra PAYE or USC on six figure earners would scare off the multinationals.

Speaking of which, I worked for a multinational that paid for staff parties twice a year, you can be guaranteed that it cost more than €5k. At the time management were running the place into the ground, more redundancies were coming every few months. But you can be guaranteed, also, that the men and women at the top were still getting their bonuses.

• Businesses are not spending public money – your point is irrelevant with respect

• At least u get a Christmas bonus. In public sector I pay for my own Christmas night out and get no bonus!

• I despise the cuts, particularly those to carers, but €5k for a retirement celebration with many attendees is modest. This is hardly cutting edge journalism. Move on tabloids, nothing to see here.

• Staff parties are a standard way to improve employee morale and therefore productivity. Normal HR practice in the private sector, why should the public sector be different? It’s not exactly an unusual operating cost.

Plus, I think the Heil on Sunday’s agenda has less to do with a supposed misappropriation of public funds, and more to do with their ideological drive to attack the public sector at any given opportunity, because they’d rather their mates run public services for profit.

• D

• SMcB
      after this budget Christmas is all BUT cancelled for some of the less well off in our country.i do hope you enjoyed your christmas party this year

• Most public servants pay for their own parties, what’s so special about this lot

• @ steve mc nally so you as a public servant never had your work pay for a piss up?????????????? how much did DUBLIN FIRE BRIGADE pay for the open bar at the 150 yr celebrations???????? was it in the region of 17,500 euro???????????????? yes it was, and that was tax payers money fact!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• @ jimmy riddles. I’m 9 years working in the public service and never once had an Xmas or any other party paid for or subsidised.

• @ nocturnal paramedic, its a fact dublin fire brigade spent 17.500 on a piss up free bar to celebrate the 150 yrs, i think thats disgusting, its tax payers money and in these times people not being able to clothe and feed kids its sickening

• @Jimmy – how are we to take this as fact? where is it reported?

• @ Paul Anthony Ward. Party was for retired staff…

• @ tomy, ring up and ask the assistant chief im sure any descent journalist can get it under freedom of information, mark my words its fact its wide spread knowledge that the free bar cost that much, alot of the lads were disgusted by it and think its sickening.

• This was for a Christmas party for retired staff, not current staff! Bloody disgraceful!

• SMcB 17/12/12 #

I will thanks James. Seeing I’lll pay for it out of my own pocket.

• Not true stop making false statemts. Front line, low paid public servants pay for their own Christmas parties but when I worked in the private sector it was free bar etc all paid by the Companyy. We get nothing for free except abuse from ill informed trouble makers like you

• @jimmy riddles – I’m not about to ring anybody up. But thank you for confirming to me that your “fact” is not backed up by anything whatsoever.

• @ tomy, i work in the job so belive me i know what it cost

• Forgive me if I don’t take your word as fact. If you feel so strongly about it why don’t you talk to someone in thejournal.ie then??

I’m not saying you’re fabricating it – I have no doubt there are plenty of that kind of abuses of tax payers money – I just don’t understand why you want to support your argument with something unverifiable…..

• congratulations to the Journal. What a newsworthy article, stirring up the public private rivalry again. I’m a civil servant and in my office we pay for our own parties – rare occurrence that they are – we don’t receive bonuses our Christmas boxes. Everyone in this country is acutely aware of the state of the place, and for people to think that civil servants are insulated from the recession is just crazy. we had our Christmas party on Friday night making that the THIRD time this year I have gone out because my pay has been reduced so much – just trying to make the point that I’m fed up of all public sector workers being vilified for being lucky enough to have a job.
    and before all the naysayers start attacking I have been unemployed in the past and I worked in the private sector for 17 years before joining the service so I have literally seen all sides of the devide.

• Well said, Olive. Unfortunately, the knee-jerk response when anyone mentions a civil servant is of the usual, unthinking “burn them at the stake” variety. The professional sneerers don;t want to hear that your pay has been cut by 14%-18% or that there are clerical staff out there paid so little that they have to apply for family income supplement. The media enjoys this because this kind of article gets the attention. The government loves it because it deflects attention from them.

• Let’s not forget the Banks partying all over the town this Christmas #Fact

• This is a disgrace. It wasn’t a staff Christmas party, it was a retirement “get together” that we paid for. All this going on while carers are facing cuts and people are worried about keeping a roof over their heads. Absolutely disgusting.

• I know plenty of private companies including the one who I work for who have not shelled out on a party for staff this year as some employees were laid off during the year. No matter what the cost per head this shouldn’t be allowed with all the cuts just announced.

• Thought i was the only one disagreeing with this! Does Joan not get enough in her salary to pay for it? or if it was “only” 20 quid a head then why didnt theycpay for it themselves? Country is in the shit and they still spend money on frivelous things!!

• I’m not completely sure that media insisting on highlighting this kind of thing is completely helpful. Perhaps a bit of balance might be better. Name the people that were at the party as well as the people who signed the cheque. I don’t agree with public money being spent on anything except the pursuit of better services for the public but I do think the media could play a major role in sowing the seeds of positivity in the nation. How about high lighting the good work (if any, and there must be lots) that is being done, the savings that are being made, the social welfare fraud that is being caught, the jobs that are being created now and not within the next 5 years. How about trying to highlight those stories or do they not sell ? Sensationalism is a very powerful tool.

• you are absolutely spot on Martin but good news doesn’t ever sell the cut backs and fraud investigation successes aren’t publicised ever as it would appear that the public/civil sector are easy targets as they can’t fire back. I believe some of the unions even tried taking out full page ads in the national papers highlighting what was being done but were shunned because accuracy and objective honest reporting no longer exists.

• It may not be helpful but that’s not for thejournal to decide. As readers we decide if something is or isn’t newsworthy. The piece above is not an opinion piece, it’s more a statement of account with no sides taken – just facts presented.

The idea of suggesting that stories shouldn’t be reported out of some kind of public interest could be extended right up to the most important of stories. Certainly ones with wider implications than this.

• There is no suggestion of no reporting I’m just suggesting that they examine their sensationalism and its not just the print media. Why promote the villains and forget the victims? The media can play a major role in our community in a very positive way if they just think a little differently. A different way might just work!

• My son – a civil servant – tells me that in his department, their Christmas party was staffed 100% by the staff themselves and that there was no question of it being any other way.

The particular event referred to in this article was for pensioners, not currently employed people. It’s worth pointing out that the vast bulk of civil service retirees are not on the megabucks pensions that the likes of Dermot McCarthy et al got. Even so, maybe they should have cancelled the pensioners’ party.

• Whats the point in publishing this????
    So that people can sit banging their fists on the arms of their chairs…muttering the words”How can they get away with this”
    Get out and do something

#pointless

• To anybody interested in whats happening now and not what has happened.
    This article was picked up and it was a small article about something small in the scheme of things and got so many people talking about it through this medium.
    Well I always say that we can’t change what has happened, we can change the future if we try hard enough.
    I say that there are plenty of Political people out there who could very well take a pay & perk freeze for 4 weeks, at least and this would save them most of the money that is needed for to save them taking money from the mouths of poor children and carers who are living on the edge of Society because of the actions of others and this is a crime on Irish Society that we don’t rise up and say to the Government, STOP.

• Typically hysterical Daily Mail “exclusive” designed to divide people. #Gettalife!

• What are u talking about, a 5k retirement party, they need to have some type of cop on when they making the sort of cuts that they are. How many people retire from the public service every year, if each got a 5k retirement party then it would start being a problem.

• Let them pay for their own f***ing party. Another pensioner waits for another operation whilst the money is spent guzzling food and drink at the taxpayers expense.

• I heard on the radio that there was 250 staff at this party, works out at €20 a head. Not bad for a staff do – they were hardy drinking champagne and eating foie gras with that spend.
    Looks like a storm in a teacup to me.

• Public money should not be spent on entertaining the staff, when its needed elsewhere. If burton wants to have a night out with her staff, surely she could use 2-3 wks of her wages to look after them. They’re squeezing every cent they can out of us, when they should be sorting out their own hse 1st

• This article lacks 3 details that are vital to get a decent conclusion: how many guests were invited, who’s retirement and in what frequency does it have these parties?
    This is not proper journalism without giving a proper picture.

• Aoife Barry 16/12/12 #

Hi – that information is in the attached document but I have now added it into the text.
      Thanks
      Aoife

• dose it matter whose retirement bloody party its was its our tax euros paying. for the heartless bast. . s

• Aoife, my apologies. I have difficulties seeing images on the iPad and jumped the gun on this one.

• Aoife Barry 16/12/12 #

No problem Mark! I should have made it clearer, really.
      Thanks
      Aoife

• Of course it does John. Especially the frequency. if they do this for everyone who retires, it would be excessive. if this was a one-off, its not such a big deal.

• Actually, Aoife, the article is not all that clear unless you can enlarge your screen to read the text on that scan. The party was for pensioners/retirees. It wasn’t a retirement party, it wasn’t a staff christmas do. I’m not excusing the department for spending public funds like this but the focus is important. Even a cursory look down the comments (the usual enlightened stuff) shows that your readers are now gunning for the *staff*. You have a little responsibility here.

• Aoife Barry 16/12/12 #

Hi Chris. I never said it was a Christmas party, I said it was a retirement party.

The bits I added in were ‘annual’ and ‘ex-staff members’ – the word retirement was there since the piece was published, so I’m not sure why people were presuming it was a Christmas party.

Aoife

• Aoife Barry 16/12/12 #

I see where the issue may have arisen – the use of the word staff. I have deleted this now to make things clearer. Thanks
      Aoife

• Agreed, Aoife, you *didn’t* say that but it’s clear from the commentary that a fair chunk of people are seeing it as a lavish piss up for pampered staff. I know it’s not your fault that people aren’t bothering to read the article.

• Regardless of whose retirement party it was, why should it be funded by tax payers money? This money should be used to help the vulnerable not to fund a piss up.

• I just can’t see the harm in that. Yes its public money, but 5000 isn’t exactly a back breaking number.
      There’s this witch hunting going on where every time the civil service does something it is demonised and for all their failings and mistakes, I just can’t see this as “such and evil”.

• Don’t do it again!!

• and their is no invoice available for the over priced postage stamps

• I dont feel that anyone begredges a retirement or christmas party but if €5000 of departments money is spent when that same dept cuts the most vulnerable of irish society – then surely that is morally wrong? I workfor a sme – our chirstmas parties have ceased as there just insnt the funds for the firm to pay or the employees to pay for themselves – much of ireland cannot afford a party so why are tax payers momey being used to fund “paries” in austerity?

• It’s doesn’t matter what it was for the fact is that they can squander our money while crippling us with taxes cuts and the like and tells us to tighten our belts
    How long more are we going to take this shite from them ?
    It’s disgusting

• Really sad to see the amount of idiots here that take the bait and go into public service bashing rants. Get a life guys, scapegoating other workers isn’t the answer. Try thinking for yourselves instead of allowing nasty little tabloid turds do it for you.

• My workplace party costed alot more. Fair play they did well to keep the costs down.

• Why are people commenting this was reasonable for a Christmas party? The article states the event was a retirement party. It is not alright for a Government department to spend €5,000 of much needed public money on a personal event like this.

• so when will I be meeting everyone at Leinster house ?

• I doubt very much you’ll be saved from a fire in the near future Jimmy Riddles!! And here’s hoping you don’t have to be cut out of your car in a crash situation!! Let’s hope your luck is in!!!!

• Heard about this article earlier. Wasn’t surprised to hear it was reported in the Mail.
    While this isn’t right (funding a retirement do) it’s hardly the most important issue to be focusing on.
    Well done to the Journal on reaching the same “level” as the Mail.
    “€7.50 on coat hangers” is my personal favourite quote.
    Who gives a fly in fuuuu…..
    We could do with focusing on priorities slightly higher than coat hangers.
    People give out about pot hole politics! Coat hanger protesters are just as useless.
    Focus people.

• They sent the invitations through the departments HQ post and then tried claim 700 for invitation posting .. Seriously these guys get better and better .. Shower of Robbin gits pay for ur own party like everyone else .. I don’t want my tax paying for u to get locked and stuff ur faces !!!

• I really don’t have a problem with the staff getting a “thank you” from their employers.
    That is quite reasonable for the amount of people.
    As much as I detest burton I don’t begrudge the staff a Christmas party.

• So now in this country no one is allowed to have a party? €150 was paid to an organist? There was mass after all in the pro cathedral, did you expect the organist to play for free?

• Whoever pays the piper calls the tune….this is a perfect example of the mentality that scares us taxpayers in the private sector…”did you expect the organist to pay for free?”…did it occur to the organisers to knock the organist on the head (not physically I hasten to add)…of course not…you’re entitled to it right!!!

• @John – you are my hero – we should get that old scheister (aka the president) out and make his position redundant. €250k could feed and cloth a lot of needy kids. We could just send mario rosenstock to pretend its him if some VIP hits town :)

• In my opinion the point about the article is the government keeps telling us the country was/is on its knees when they took over, we are in a bailout programme and the government imposed cuts and increase taxes across the board which is the most unfair method it’s all about optics and again it looks like the top brass in the dept of social welfare are having a great time off the back of the Irish people they are all as bad as each other, when is the revolution going to start?

• Build a bridge people 5000 is nothing for 900 ex staff. This article serves no purpose but to annoy and generate anger as if it was lunacy spending

• Good value yeah in fairness….. 5K would make a fairly serious difference to a few carers though. It’s been reported in this case but how many other government departments are at this? I’d expect JB’s isn’t the only one. It all adds up, just like a lot of cuts add up.

• John 16/12/12 #

I wonder if this grave robber thinks that all those people at the party will give her their votes. She should hope so because she is gone at the next GE. She’d need to throw a hell of a lot more parties like this one to save her skin. She definately will not get my vote anyway.

• They are civil servants, if they want a piss up they should dip into their own pockets to fund it. What a bunch of unmitigated fu€kers.

• The cheap shot journalism rolls on! What a crock of…. This is not journalism it is populist witch hunting

• Great little country

• Rotten bastards when people are on the streets getting their home reposed and children hungery Joan burton should hang her head in shame I didn’t vote for any of the government we have today but stuck with them pigs

• Giving out in this forum will not stop or slow down the reckless spending. Where where you all for the austerity protest??

• Typical media having a pop at the government and trying to divide the people over the public sector. This is a complete non story. Headlines and content written purely to sensationalise a non-story. Is this the best the media can do to show possible ‘waste’ of public tax payers money?

Your talking about €20 per person at a Christmas Function – a norm in both the public and private sector for decades. People on here claiming their employer doesn’t bring them out or they have to pay for it themselves. I remember this during the Celtic tiger – businesses didn’t give a red cent towards their staff to say “Thanks for all the hardwork, its appreciated”. The fact is that a lot of small, medium and large businesses DO in fact pay towards Christmas parties. Restaurants and Pubs rely massively on the income from staff parties such as these, especially during these hard economic times. This scope also includes public sector parties – although to a lesser degree or with much less funding.

This party would have had a large number of people on a low salary. Don’t immediately think it was high flying public sector workers raking it in with high wages and high expenses. These people at the party would have been people on the ground dealing with the public on a daily basis. I wouldn’t begrudge any person being paid a certain amount towards their Christmas party – public or private. Within reason of course. I think what was spent is a drop in the ocean and is hardly breaking the bank or a deal breaker towards budget cuts.

There is far bigger financial wastage in the public sector than a 5k Christmas Function for a few hundred staff members who have got themselves a job and work hard it.

• your right it’s only a drip in the ocean, and so it the gov’s travel expenses that add up to 11 million a year. every bit or tax payer’s money counts because who will be paying it back us the tax payer that’s who.

• Your comparing apples with oranges. 5k a year cannot be compared to the monthly expenses TDs/Senators make which make up the 11 million per year you mention. It cannot add up any further or even come close to the expenses bill.

• 5k for 700 people? Where did they have it, McDonalds? Seems very reasonable to me. More mock outrage generated by citing a figure but omitting to focus on the numbers involved. Same as happened with the HSE’s 10k spent on text messages non story.

• Shame, shame, shame….

• Public sector are still on another planet. Increments and partys while children go hungry. The county is broke and they still don’t get it.

• Get a grip. Children going hungry. Children go hungry because the more than adequate amount of money the welfare household gets is mismanaged or spent on alcohol, gambling, drugs etc…

• Just shows your ignorance. Children are going hungry because of cuts. Easy to blame there parents. If you can’t see that Increments for already well paid and cuts to child care are related. oh yeah and a 5000 grand party. These are choices made with my tax money. I voted for a change and fell for the lies. Viva la grave train.

• Read my previous comment above. We get it!!

• I have a fair idea what i am talking about. More than you think.

• Who are “they” Mark. I’m in the public sector. I don’t see the gravy train anywhere. I’m not entitled to handouts or any form of social assistance because my gross income is just over the limit. Like most, I’ve had to change gas/electricity providers to keep costs down. I look for the cheep brands when shopping and there have been weeks I’ve prayed the kids won’t get sick because the money just wasn’t there to pay the doctor. I own a 6 year old car which was second hand when I got it and I haven’t been on a holiday in years. I have sympathy for anyone on hard times but its some kick in the nuts to work your arse off nights/weekends etc for 14 years and be nearly in the same boat.

• More public service bashing. So glad that whatever guff is spouted and cuts are made, I’ll still have my subsidised restaurant at work, my annual increment (until I hit the ceiling – not long now!), foreign travel, office refurb, porters and secretaries to attend to my needs, daily newspapers, reduced gym membership, real coffee on request, and the ability to conduct private consultancy. Let the proles fight over a 5 grand party I say!

• So they spent €5000 on a party to which 700 pensioners and retired persons were invited. Is this correct? €7 per person?

• Revenge will be sweet !

• I’d say she spent the money on one of those circus mirrors to make hetself look normal, a bit like Rocky Dennis.

• How many taxpayers were asked did they want to fund this party? www,ottosbunker.com

• Terrible, gosh what,s the people coming to expecting them to pay for their own party like
    Come on now a bit of fair play

• Cloakroom tickets for ?2? “And if you want any numbers higher than that, you send off for them in an envelope”.

A thought regarding the postage for invitations though. I don’t suppose anyone would have thought about emails which wouldn’t cost anything?

• not everyone has email brains

• You’re right. It’s completely unreasonable to expect people who work/worked in an administration department of Social Welfare to have email. Quite foolish of me. They could have reduced their bill by 10% by using something that has been around since the late 90′s but I suppose that is too much to ask.

• @Declan you are nit picking just like other whiners on here It’s gone to the stage now any money spent there will be moaners and be grudges. Seriously cop on trying to implement goverment austerity.

• Try reading my original comment again. I’m not whining or moaning (for the record I actually agree with you on that point which is a large part of why I read the journal), I’m merely asking a question that I think illustrates how backward things can be sometimes. If you look at the bill, it’s not even that bad. Catering and spot prizes aside theres no unreasonable expenditure. I just wonder sometimes why some one didn’t think that they could save ?700 by simply emailing people. Call it nit picking if you will. But Im used to a business enviroment that would be hung drawn and quartered for spending that much on something as stupid as posting invitations to people that you obviously have a phone number or an email for.

• And??

• Party for ex-staff, your having a laugh…

• 700e postage for invitations divided by 55c per stamp: ~1200 postage stamps.
      5000/1200 is 4e per invite…
      I agree… And?

• this is all part of an ongoing strategy by the media . I.e, The Journal TV3 and others to demonize those sections of society that impinge most on the governments budget. The Public service and Social welfare recipients are under the screw now. A few years ago the private sector was wasting money on elaborate parties fit there staff and using tax right offs. now their party is over and they are attacking any section that appear tight better off than them, or the life style they were used too. people need to snap out of it. we are all being manipulated by media interests while the big boys lap it up . whoever posted this story is up to no good and has an agenda.

• padraig 17/12/12 #

The private sector wastes the money of their own, shareholders and investors. Usually they also generate tax, not consume it. Can you grasp the difference?

• Why the party in the first place, it’s for ex staff who are already enjoying a generous pension. No company holds an ex staff party at their expense. Also emails are free.

• Parties in private section were paid for by the company profits. Parties on a loss making public service are funded by the tax payer. That’s a big difference .

• //700 for post? wtf

• Its good to get this information out there so people can make up their own minds on the greed and corruption within the Government. It will destroy the country in the end. Its not sustainable.

• 7.50 on coat hangers! Do we need to know this?

• Andrew P 16/12/12 #

Small change compared to the “green” energy scam.

• omg the gov just keep on taking public money will they ever stop. robin hood’s evil twin sister the gov is, robbing from the poor and giving to the rich.
    this just makes me so annoyed reading this shit, like who gives a fly’n f-ck about (annual retirement party) to the ex-staff members, shame on you’s hope yous are happy when kid’s will be going hungry while your drinking the money that could of fed them.
    shame on you’s and shame on the gov.

• ay get real, go out and do a good day work and forget your perks, we all in one big mess.But some people dont care because they think have the right to take what they think are entitled to, and have being given through unoin pressure and bad policies.
    wake up ireland or we will be back to civil war.
    civil’s against the working class

• all this xmas party crap, getting management to pay for ur 3 course meal and a few free drinks, then talk nonsense and whisper about how baldly things are run, can’t beat a few scoops with ur close work pals on the day u finish up.

• Groaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, a 5k party and Billions being wasted?

• A lot of public servants with siege mentality on “The Journal”!

• Party on!

Add New Comment