TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Southern Israel pounded from Gaza by Hamas militants

Rocket and mortar attacks hit an empty school and dozens of other targets as diplomats try to quell the violence.

Israelis inspect damage to school hit by Palestinian militant attacks on southern Israel
Image: AP Photo/Dan Balilty

MILITANTS IN THE Hamas-ruled Gaza Strip fired a barrage of rockets and mortars on southern Israel early this morning.

The attacks struck a school, empty of its students at the weekend, and a dozen other targets. US and Egyptian diplomats are now scrambling to keep the new convulsion of violence from escalating.

Senior Israeli officials met late into the night to discuss the violence, weighing whether to step up retaliatory operations against Gaza militants they say triggered the latest round of hostilities Thursday with a roadside ambush along the Israeli-Egypt border that killed eight Israelis.

Military spokesman Brigadier General Yoav Mordechai said Israel’s current response to the surge in violence — airstrikes that have killed 15 Palestinians, most of them militants — was not its final word.

Israel “will not hesitate” to widen its military operation if necessary, he told Israel Radio. “We will see how things develop on the ground,” he said without elaborating.

Palestinian security forces reported that the Israeli military rounded up 50 Hamas activists in the West Bank in an overnight raid. The military had no comment.

A reconciliation pact signed in May has stalled

The West Bank is ruled by the Western-backed Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas, who lost control of Gaza to bitter rival Hamas in a violent 2007 takeover. A reconciliation pact the two sides signed in May after years of failed efforts has stalled.

Since Thursday’s ambush, militants have fired around 100 rockets and mortars on southern Israel, killing an Israeli man and seriously wounding two other people on Saturday. No serious injuries have been reported from today’s bombardment, the military said.

Diplomats were scrambling to prevent the flare-up in violence from spiraling out of control.

Yaser Otham, the Egyptian representative to the Palestinian Authority, told Voice of Palestine Radio that Cairo was “in contact with all parties to restore the truce in Gaza.”

Militant factions in Gaza confirmed the efforts. Talal Abu Tharefeh, spokesman for the small Democratic Front for the Liberation of Palestine, said “all the Palestinian factions are interested in restoring the truce in order to protect our people.”

Militant attacks from Gaza diminished sharply after Israel launched a three-week war in the territory launched in December 2008, following years of relentless rocket and mortar fire on its southern communities. Since then, armed factions have largely maintained a cease-fire.

Egypt was drawn into last week’s violence after at least three of its security forces were killed as Israeli troops pursued militants involved in the ambush along the Israel-Egypt border. Cairo initially threatened to withdraw its ambassador to Israel but relented after Israel apologised.

Western diplomats in Cairo said Washington was mediating between the Egyptians and the Israelis to try to prevent the violence from exploding. They spoke on condition of anonymity in order to discuss ongoing diplomatic efforts.

US, French and German mediators were involved in defusing a diplomatic crisis

An Israeli Foreign Ministry official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said US, French and German mediators had been involved in defusing the diplomatic crisis with Egypt.

While the crisis appears to have been defused, Israeli officials say they are not convinced it cannot re-ignite.

In the Egyptian capital, popular anger simmered, and protesters gathered outside the Israeli Embassy for a third day on Sunday, demanding the expulsion of the Israeli envoy who is now vacationing abroad.

Although the military leaders who now rule Egypt have expressed their commitment to the two nations’ 1979 peace treaty, anti-Israel sentiment has grown in Egypt since its longtime autocratic leader, Hosni Mubarak, was toppled by a popular uprising in February. Israel is watching closely for signs that Egypt’s new rulers might be responding to that sentiment.

Israel relied on Mubarak as a trusted, if cool, ally, maintaining the peace accord despite Egyptian disappointment that it did not lead to peace between Israel and the Palestinians, and a comprehensive Arab-Israeli agreement. Israeli officials are wary about instability in post-Mubarak Egypt and fear a new government that might distance itself further from Israel.

Israel retaliates with strikes on Gaza>

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• Aidan M 21/08/11 #

Clan OD is on the ball IMO.

• No danger of a disproportionate response from Israel I am sure!

• No Willy, the danger is a proportionate response. The rules of war state that a proportionate response is that using no more force than is necessary to achieve the military object, in this case stopping the attacks from Gaza.

If an enemy dedicated to Ireland’s destruction was raining artillery on Cork what would you recommend as a proportionate response? A very stiff complaint to Brussels, perhaps?

• If we’re going to criticize TheJournal.ie for (previously) ignoring the rocket attacks on Israel, it’s only fair that we should acknowledge when they have showed impartiality and fairness in their reporting. Thanks for showing both sides of the conflict. That’s all we ask for.

• “Mortar shells containing phosphorus, which when exposed to air burn through anything with which they come into contact, are illegal under international law when fired at civilians.”
    Marc says.

Yes indeed, they are illegal in populated areas. And the @IDFSpokesperson deleted his/her tweet to that effect about Hamas today, because he/she remembered that Israel used phosphorus over Gaza during Cast Lead. (Was that why the tweet was deleted? Hm?)

Here is the @IDFSpokesperson ‘s deleted tweet
    http://twitpic.com/69hg9r

And here’s the hypocrisy for you:
    http://nevercastleadagain.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/the-attacks/

Have a look there at Israel’s hypocrisy. “White Phosphorus Rains on Gaza Jan 11 2009″.

• By the way, if TheJournal blocked Clan O’D because he/she commented on someone’s FB profile, that’s a bit rich. TheJournal forces people to log in with either a FB or a Twitter profile and then *links* to that profile. If those profiles are a state secret, don’t force people to log in with them.

• I think alot of the countries involved in this crisis were waiting for some situation to raise its ugly head.
    Israel has been under huge diplomatic pressure lately,300,000 Israeli protesters have taken to the streets
    in the past 2 weeks over social issues (housing affordability) mainly.Put that with the UN vote coming around the corner,the Obama administration is been dragged kicking and screaming to Veto the UN vote under severe pressure from the Israeli lobby in the US. But this attack near the Egyptian border on Israel could be Hamas,
    it could be the Muslim Brotherhood,it might be Salafists inside Egypt ?? But the Israeli Gov found a great reason to stoke
    tension yet again,and at a crucial time. I am sure its just pure luck for Israel to have this opportunity to show up
    Palestine as they decide their future at the UN next month. I really despise Israeli overeach in gaza,
    I just can not imagine Hamas deciding to derail this whole process they gave up so much to originally support.

• Are you for real? What did Hamas give up so much of and to support what process?

• Are you serious, Raynond ? Your last sentence is simply unbelievable. To many, no matter what happens, it’s always Israel’s fault. Your reply goes out if its way to find any excuse to blame Israel. You are entitled to your opinion, of course. I happen to think you are wrong. Cheers !!

• On real news network on 20th aug Col Liebewich the IDF milatary spokesperson,was asked why the blame
      Hamas,and what proof is available he said “We never said it was Hamas,but the shooters at Eliat had
      Kalashnikov bullets and rifles and these are the weapon that hamas like to use” That from Israeli intel,Well
      my god theres proof,thats the best the IDF has to offer.Also in order for the Palestine vote to go ahead
      at the UN, Hamas had to get in behind the Palestinian Auth. They lost a lot of support in Gaza allowing
      the salifi groups to grow, they also lost a lot of financial support from Iran,which has nearly bankrupted
      the Gaza strip, along with the fact Israel has witheld millions in tax reciepts belong to palestine it collects on their
      behalf at the crossings, PS I am not a supporter of Hamas or the PA, but the people who live there voted for them. They choose who represents them,But someone who believes in the Hauge/Geneva conventions
      which state you do not kill all the family of a murderer just because you are related to him,obviously both Charles and Declan like to style the law to suit you own needs, Peace and Love!!!

• Raynond Cahill, The bottom line is that Israel is held to a higher standard than any other country would be in similar circumstances, while Hamas is held to no standards at all. So they can celebrate the slaughter of the Fogel family, mourn Bin Laden as a “Holy Warrior”, knock off their Fatah rivals when it suits them and aim rockets (sometimes successfully by their terms) at schools and schoolbuses, knowing that there are plenty who will make excuses for them. If people voted for them then that is a reflection on those voters and on Fatah, Hamas’s corrupt opponents. Israel apologised to Egypt for the obviously accidental deaths of Egyptian security forces. When did Hamas ever apologise to anyone for anything?

• Look Charles i agree with you about Israel being held to a higher standard BiBi is forever telling the world
      how Israel is the only real democracy in the region, bit you can not say you are a democracy but cherry pick
      what pieces you like and dump the rest?? They do not have the respect of world nations,they continue to
      set up an apartheid system that in reality can never work. Yes you are right Hamas have done terrible things
      i agree with you,But so did the british in ireland,so did the serbs the kosovans,so did the hutus the totsis,
      I could go on all day,but your a smart man, when you are as a nation surrounded by nations who dispise
      what you are doing,ye gotta make peace man,sit down like all other nations have done and sort this mess
      out.Now i know you are most likely a tea party neo-con,and thats fine,but you can not inflict solutions on people,
      As one of my fav people stated” Peace cannot be kept by force it can only be achieved by Understanding”,(Einstein).Nice chatting to you,I hope you find your inner peace some day,I mean that,Bye !!Word!!Love!!

• @thejournal_ie,
    Are you preventing Clan O;D from commenting now,
    and if you are, why would you do that?

• Why are you taking down my comments? Why don’t you do your own reporting instead of parroting the Associated Press? And why do you take down comments critical of the AP and yourselves?

• I’ve to agree.Credit where credit is due and this article was long over due. But well done to the Journal for at least trying to give the Israeli p.o.v .
    It is getting very tense and the situation is worrying. I hope for peace.

• Fair play to the journal.ie for reporting these rocket attacks. It’s importnat the Israel standpoint is highlighted. THAT is fair and balanced journalism.

• Interesting article, Isreal sems to be alone in this region surrounded by agressive arab nations, I hope that no new Nasser type figure emerges in Egypt. Arab nations have enough of their own problems without picking a fight with Isreal.

• They wouldn’t respond if they weren’t attacked, Willy. Like any nation, they have a right to retaliate when provoked. If they weren’t attacked ( first ), there would be no response.

• Well said, Marc.

• Even when Israel is attacked and has the unmitigated gall to defend herself, there are always those that will always make Israel the aggressor instead of the victim. Some people are just clueless.

• And some people are grossly ignorant. How is Israel “defending itself” when they attack Gaza although they have no idea who the attackers at Eillat were? Israel tries to justify everything with the mantra that it’s “defending itself”. But they kill Palestinians at will, with impunity, because of people like you.

• @Marc Samberg
      Tell me, how is shelling Gaza fishermen from gunboats along the shore, Israel “defending itself”? Do you seriously think that the entire population of Gaza are “terrorists”?? So why is Israel currently hitting them with F-16s, Apaches, and gunboats? Aren’t you aware that collective punishment is a war crime?

• U are very irresponsible to comment on Marc’s info like that & then to use it in your rather – shall we say – “enlightening manner”. I’m sure The Journal.ie don’t intend for responders to behave like you. Whatever Marc’s view, he is entitled to his views & his replies were made with dignity, intellect & responsibility.

• The trend to make Israel apologize for being attacked
    http://www.jpost.com
    When its borders are breached – either by activists on water or terrorists on land – Israel naturally defends itself. Yet instead of receiving an apology from those countries for allowing the breach in the first place, Israel is made to get on its knees and beg for forgiveness.

• Phosphorus Shell Fired from Gaza
    Israel Defense Forces | August 21, 2011 at 20:19 | Categories: Facts & Figures | URL: http://wp.me/ppbEs-2ih

Hamas breaks international law, firing a mortar shell with phosphorus at the Kerem Shalom land crossing along the Israel-Gaza border. The Hamas terrorist organization intentionally aims rocket attacks at major Israeli civilian population centers.

Phosphorus Shell Fired from Gaza

International law states that it is illegal to use the substance in inhabited areas. Mortar shells containing phosphorus, which when exposed to air burn through anything with which they come into contact, are illegal under international law when fired at civilians.

Add New Comment