TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Organisation in Dublin launches campaign to reduce street begging

The Dublin City Business Improvement District is encouraging people to place donations in new ‘giving boxes’ instead of directly to people begging.

Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

DUBLIN CITY BUSINESS Improvement District (BID), an organisation which represents more than 2,500 businesses in the city centre, today launched a campaign to raise awareness of issues relating to street begging.

‘Change for the Better’ aims to encourage members of the public to place the money they would normally give to people begging on the streets in one of forty ‘giving boxes’ which have been placed in locations around the city centre from today.

BID said today that “problematic street begging” creates a perception that Dublin City Centre is unsafe, when this is simply not the case. Research conducted by Dublin City Council last year shows that feeling unsafe is one of the most significant factors to impact negatively on people’s experience of the city centre.

The organisation said that there are concerns that money given directly to people begging will not make that difference.

Proceeds collected from the new giving boxes will go directly to the registered charity Tiglin, which supports people with addiction issues. Dublin City BID and a number of the businesses supporting the campaign have offered to match the donations made by the public through the boxes.

Commenting today, CEO of BID Richard Guiney said the objective of this campaign is “to reduce active street begging on our streets, while at the same time directing funds to a very worthy organisation who is making a real difference.”

“This way, each donation will have a much more beneficial impact upon the genuinely disadvantaged people in our society,” he said.

The pilot phase of the campaign will also see a poster campaign featuring the slogans ‘Change For the Better’ and ‘Know Where Your Money Is Going’. BID said it plans to increase the number of giving boxes in locations as the campaign progresses. There is also an option for people to make a donation by texting ‘change’ to 57030.

Read: Number of people sleeping rough in Dublin increases by 20 per cent>

Read next:

Comments (107 Comments)

• Look, I have worked with & know one the biggest homeless Day Centres in Ireland & the founder & organiser is possibly the most spiritual & giving person I have ever met & even he is against street begging.

If you want to help homeless people, give to the Simon Community or Capuchin Day Centre or volunteer. The fact is that Dublin is full of organised street beggars… Yes, some of the beggars are desolate & desperate & often feeding addiction to either alcohol and/or drugs & most of these have very tragic back stories. However, all of these are looked after by respected agencies & shelters & are begging for money to fund the habit. There are beds to sleep in & the Capuchin Centre feeds 500 every day with no questions asked. The other beggars are often non Irish & are professional beggars. These arrive in the city & spread out to agreed locations & can be organised by criminal elements.

The fact is that there should be no place for street begging. It is uncomfortable on a night out for starters.. Outside a pub on Sth William st you can expect to be stopped up to 10times a night. Tourists hate it & feel unsafe & threatened & it leaves a lasting image of our capital city. So, DO NOT give to street beggars. Homelessness is complicated. help those who understand this issue help homeless people. Donate to respected charities who feed, sleep & give medical advice to those tragically & genuinely homeless & yes, let’s make OUR streets a no begging zone for everyone’s sake.

• Yeah the “organised” Roma gypsy begging regiments in Dublin city center are gonna love this…

• ‘Know Where Your Money Is Going’ – yeah, I really hate the way homeless people in Dublin spend soooo much of my donations on administration and other bureaucratic costs.

• My interest I this article was to see where the money in the ‘giving boxes’ would go. I work in services and never heard of ‘Tiglin’. On further investigation it’s part of Teen Challenge an organisation which in my opinion seems to substitute drug addiction with an infatuation with god. I’m not saying this is worse or the same as a drug addiction but it does need considering. I would imagine that larger, more well known charities that work with homeless people would not accept the businesses offer of receiving the funds from ‘giving boxes’ so as not be associated with this kind of business led ‘solution’ that’s only purpose is to appease business owners not really to help the people who do beg move on from this situation successfully.

• Good points, another aspect I don’t like is that it’s just one addiction charity, not every homeless personal is even addicted to drugs

• Oh! those odious business owners, how dare they try to make the city a nicer place to shop, helping the ordinary citizens to go about their legitimate business without being intimidated by lowlife organised beggars and drug addicts, disgraceful …………..

• @Brendan
      maybe if your fascist rightwing government done something constructive about it instead of pushing more and more people into poverty we might not have the situation we have today.
      but oh wait
      there too busy selling our country down the river

• One thing that I have learned from recent experience is that weaning people off drugs and on to god can be disastrous. People with addictive personalities seem to also be prone to zealotry. I suppose getting addicted to the god, getting consumed in it.. It leads to fanaticism. I am wary of religion based addiction services for this reason.

• Folks, I am a volunteer with this charity and find the work they do to be very inspiring, and not as Niamh puts it to ‘substitute drug addiction with an infatuation with god’. The folks from BID I’m sure didn’t just pick Tiglin out of a hat but put some due care into the process. I would invite anyone to contact me for a visit to Tiglin and see for yourself the work they do, I’m sure your perception would be altered on doing so.

• Most begging I see is organized and yes it’s the Roma gypsies. Some genuine people are begging too but giving money to junkies is a bad idea – it won’t go on food.

Best thing is to donate to charities or even better, do some charity work now and then or buy homeless people a sandwich and soup.

• A good idea. The amount of aggressive beggars, dubious beggars (begging to supplement an income) and opportunistic beggars means that genuinely needy cases are overlooked.

• I think the reason,these homeless people don’t use the shelters is. Because they feel safer on the streets. The roma are so professionally organised, its scary. I think the boxes are a joke. The homeless situation needs to be dealt with in a. Meaningful way and not left to charities to sort out.

• Start by getting those Romanian gypsies off our streets. And help the genuine in need

• I remember a beggar followed my wife and myself into the one of Dublin’s multistorey car parking pay areas looking for change and would’nt let up until he got what he wanted. I remember I started to get so angry I could feel adrenalin pumping. I’m not at all a violent person whatsoever but the gall of this lad just really really angered me and I was going to punch him. In the end I just plain out told him to f**k off out loud. There was a crowd of people around so it did create a bit of a scene. This lad was Irish by the way and was around 30+ years of age.
    Keith above is right, if people are generally homeless and in need of support there are plenty of facilites of them to support them in some shape or form. However I’m not feeding some person’s drug habit!

• How much of the money will actually go to the homeless.As the vast majority of these groups take their contributions first to cover their salaries etc…

• I’ve a direct debit set up with enable Ireland.
      Imagine how sick I felt when I read in the Irish times before Christmas that its head feels the need to take a salary of over €120,000 p.a.

• lorcmul 31/01/13 #

How much of the money given to street beggars goes on food or shelter ?

• Couldn’t agree more Eamon. I had a Direct Debit set up to Barnardos but cancelled it recently when I discovered a lot was going to admin & expenses. It’s much clearer to see how your donations are spent by giving to small local charities. SVP & Simon do excellent work although. When I get a chance I give direct to a needy fella who busks and is homeless. Haven’t seen him around lately. Always buys a coffee and a sandwich, it’s sad so many pass him by when the guy is simply down on his luck and actually attempting to better his chances.

• @ John Murry – I wouldnt give a penny to St. Vincent de Paul or the Vinnies as some of my career dolite neighbours call them. Every year St, Vincent de Paul send them on holidays down to Tramore and every second year to Spain for 2 weeks. Not only does SVP pay for the holiday they also give them money to buy new clothes for said holidays aswell as vouchers for Dunnes Stores to buy food to take on their self catering holidays. These people do not need help from SVP. One of these neighbours has a 50″ plasma TV in their sitting room and 40″ inch tellys in both bedrooms, not to mention the holiday to the Costa del Sol that they can afford to pay for themselves every year. I have a jar that I throw my coppers in and Christmas week I go down Grafton Street and give it to the Simon Community collection. Simon, Threshold, penny dinners and soup kitchens are the only direct action homeless charities in the country.

• Forget begging. These are people down on their luck it could easily happen to any of us. Now if they could do something about those annoying guys in Grafton and Henry St. Looking to stop you and get your bank details that’d be brilliant! God I hate those guys.

• I go to great lengths to avoid them, or sometimes for a laugh, I do my best Rain Man impression, chuggers are a scourge on our city

• Funny you mentioned Rain Man, I know two people with high functioning autism and Aspergers who gave away their bank details to aggressive Chuggers on the same day. I had to help them cancel their standing order.

The national autistic society in the UK doesn’t use Chuggers to raise money, people with autism are particularly compliant and naive, vulnerable to Chuggers.

• Great news, was just hassled getting a ticket for the Luas about 15 minutes ago. This should be rolled out nationwide if it’s successful.

• id never give money to romanian gypsies.

• You would want to be careful… there are many do gooders lurking on here that would consider your comment racist!!;) I agree I would never give it to Roma gypsies. They are a plague….

• Interesting idea but it would seem that begging in Dublin is an organised business carved up among various individuals so can’t really see how begging donation boxes will help solve the problem….perhaps a zero tolerance to begging would be a better solution especially for some of the characters I’ve seen holding children to try tug at heart strings

• The services need to be capable of providing alternatives to these people first. Saying people have no reason to beg is one thing but ensuring they have no reason to beg is another thing entirely.

• My uncle is a down and out cause he’s an incurable alcoholic. Funny how he manages to avail of the services, beds and money available to him but some people just refuse. It really pisses me off to see beggers out in the rain today, they know damn well there’s places they can sleep. Wasnt begging made illegal? Why is there more than ever then?

• Begging no longer illegal… Supreme court decision repealed the law which was contained in the vagrancy act…

• The problem is that giving money to charities can just mean they pump it into more advertising and street chuggers. It won’t change the situation on the street.

It would seem to make more sense to have a food voucher system, like with itunes cards, so you can give it to the homeless and they can use it to buy food in shops.

• Hang on, this money is going to a charity that cares for people with addictions?? So you have to be homeless AND addicted to crack in order to benefit?? Thats complete crap, what about the people who are freezing cold and just want some food and a place to sleep, they have to stick a needle in their arm to qualify?? It should go to the Simon Community!
    And John Duggan you are so ignorant, selfish and fat, you look like a newspaper caricature. You clearly have no idea what some of these people are going through.

• Will this have implications for the latest Irish religious organisation The Poor Quins.?

• I think these ‘giving boxes’ are nonsense, if you want to donate to a charity do. but I think it is unfair of the government to, essential, give a contract to a religious based organisation to advertise themselves in prime location to the detriment of homeless people without addiction or who don’t want to be preached at. Time for this government to take responsible for its citizens with sustainable solutions and stop passing the buck.

• The begging on the Ha’penny Bridge is particularly systematic. There are usually only two beggars at a time and they seem to rotate throughout the day. I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s a premium on these spots either as it’s not hard to imagine being able to earn (beg) €40 an hour on the bridge on a Saturday afternoon.

• Try more, what people don’t realise is a lot of begging is organised and genuine homeless don’t beg. They go to soup kitchens for food, it should also be noted, that there is a bed available for every single homeless person in Dublin. They choose not to avail of them

• They choose not to avail of them for many reasons.. Sometimes despite best efforts the places aren’t safe. There are some who would rather take their chances on the street – what does that tell you about the shelters?

• I think in Berlin it’s illegal to beg, so instead of asking for money, homeless people ask you for empty plastic bottles so they can recycle them at various recycle centres and get upto 80c or so on a bottle. They should introduce plastic recycling like that here.

• Conveniently placed “Giving boxes” … I hope the kind people who donate don’t get mugged when opening their wallets on the street to make a donation..no good deed goes unpunished

• I think this is a great idea, I know people who give money to beggers have their heart in the right place but panhandling has gotten out of hand in the city of late and it can make people feel very uncomfortable.

• Im far more concerned about the genuine homelessness crisis in Dublin, there are however proffesional beggars that are profiting from others misfortune.
    “BID said today that “problematic street begging” creates a perception that Dublin City Centre is unsafe, when this is simply not the case”
    We need to be careful not to advocate sweeping homelessness under the carpet.
    That uneasy feeling you feel when you walk past a homeless person/ beggar is called your conscience. They should listen to theirs and instead of trying to remove the homeless/ beggars they should offer a solution to the causes of it!!
    We promised to eradicate homelessness by 2011 in our last PfG.
    We failed.

(I also dislike when charities collect right outside the doors of a bank/ post office… there should be a legal buffer zone to them!
    Nearly crashed a charity stand over coming out the door of the bank today!! Why hit the individual beggar!!! Charities have become the biggest hassellers on the streets of Dublin… those concern guys on college green?? Sanction them first!!)

• You should never give a homeless person money. Buy them a coffee or a sandwich instead. At least then they can’t use it to fund a drug habit.

• The guy from BID just dropped a box and poster into our shop an hour ago. We have a shop on Liffey street and are willing to give anything a go to reduce the numbers of beggars. At any given time there can be up to 5 or 6 people begging between Henry street and abbey street.

• I’m afraid I don’t think this will be very effective. It’s far easier to ignore a “giving box” than a person, we’ve less empathy for a box than a loving, breathing human being, so overall I think people will be less likely to donate. It removes the “there but for the grace of god go I” element..

• You get on the spot fines for littering. They should do the same for people giving money to beggars,

• thats funny a law saying it is illegal to be broke in Ireland

• I’m just back from Rome, the homeless beggars there covered their heads and begged quietly. I walked the city over 6 days and wasn’t hassled once. I get back into Dublin, off the bus and the first thing you see is a sleeping bag wearing guy asking people for money. Why is this tolerated in Dublin. Honestly it’s the only city I’ve been to where “homeless” target other folk actively and are visible on most streets. Something has to be done.

• Seems strange that a convenient charity appears, one of which few people seems to have heard when the business owners want homeless beggars hounded off the streets. Is there some financial or other connection between the business organisation and the charity?

• Off-topic, I know, but it’s so nice to see the Ha’penny without all of those ridiculous locks upon it!

• Worked as a doorman in a city centre night club for years. Lots of these are homeless but a good % are scam artists. One lad use to drive and park a ford focus 07 D and change into his begging clothes. Make about €150 a night and drive home.

• Not generalising as there are some genuine cases out there, but not so long ago walking my kids to school i saw a guy park a car.Get out and he looked shifty! So i noticed him especially near a school.Anyway walking back there is the same guy begging outside the local garage kinda made me wary of giving direct to beggars which is unfair on the genuine cases so maybe this is a good idea

• So hive my money away to a charity that supports junkies… Ehh no thanks, charity begins at home and I’ll keep my hard earned cash in my pocket rather than dish it out to some government backed think tank !!

• Are there really beds available for every homeless person in Dublin to avail of if they wanted to? If so, my view on this will be a little different.

• It looks terrible to have people beg. There is only a law to stop people begging beside ATMs. Only way to stop beggars on HaPenny bridge is to put an ATM on it. Ridiculous!
    A single person gets €188 dole or disability benefit/allowance + rent allowance. Free travel if you’re on disability. People who beg ARE GREEDY, selfish and usually have drug problems. They just want more and more and more and give nothing back to society. More money buys more drugs. By giving them more money you are inadvertently hurting them.
    The Roma Gipsies beg like it’s a profession. It’s like the begging industry.

• Disgusting! Let’s hide them all away.

• Giving boxes? How long will it take for them to be robbed? By the same people Merchants Quay and other addiction clinics like Rutland Centre & the Heroin Addiction Centre in Tullow are supposed to be helping. Sometimes, these beggars, addicts don’t want to be helped. I’m fed up of them getting help from tax-payers money for their’ own failures. “Society” can be blamed going back generations for “facilities” not being there. How’s about this. I didn’t take the drugs. I didn’t become addicted. I am expected to foot the “recovery” bill in so many ways. How does that make sense?

• I agree. The human waste that litter our streets are an incredible eyesore. They are terrible for tourism and the majority have places to sleep.

• Hold on John, I thought you were pro-life, but you call these people human waste. You hypocrite.

• Julie 31/01/13 #

Human waste so the two Irish that I met in an area of Dublin, that were made homeless because their house was taken off them are human waste. These people have no addictions they are a couple that have had no help given to them, can someone explain to me how they will benefit from these giving boxes ?

• I’m not up for killing innocent kids but these people are far from innocent and are nothing but a nuisance.

• Disgusting comments John these are people just like you and me

• just ignore John Duggan, don’t feed the trolls.

• “Human waste” = psychopath speak.

• So because I don’t agree with you and have some pretty radical ideas, I’m a troll? Was Da Vinci a troll? Is David Norris a troll? No, we just don’t go along with populist nonsense.

• john duggan is a troll who pontificates here on a daily basis. do not feed the troll.

• I guessed as much with this flip flopping of opinions. *Zombie Troll Alert*

• You’re right Karin, with all the attention he’s now equating himself to da Vinci and David Norris! :)

• How long now until the conversation turns to Hitler?

Whoops, too late!

• Radical!!! LOL – I think you’ll find that many have come before you with those same radical ideas, which resulted in the slaughter of millions of innocent people. People find themselves homeless for many reasons and not just because they are addicts or alcoholics. Theres a chap that sleeps rough outside one of the side doors of Stephens Green shopping center (Mercer St.) who has conversations with people who are not there. This young man is not a junkie or alchoholic, he is a dillusional schizophrenic who has been let down by the state. There are also a young couple who sleep in the other side doorway who lost their home 10 years into their mortgage – again this couple are neither addicts or alcoholics, they are just down on their luck. Some people are just too quick to judge others and to assume the worst of everyone. As for John, well he probably cracks open the champagne everytime a homeless person dies of hypothermia.

• That’s a disgusting thing to say John. How are those people `human waste`? A lot of them don’t even have addictions (although even if they do it doesn’t matter, they deserve all the help they can get) and are out on the streets because they’ve lost their houses to banks who are responsible for the mess we’re in anyway. If anyone is to be described as ‘human waste’ its the bondholders who have destroyed this country and destroyed the lives of common working class people. Go back to your cosy little life where you don’t care about anyone else.

• @John duggan – I thought your remark was a joke – but u are seriuos . Yes – it is terrible that the homeless are an eyesore – - and if they affect business – wow .. As the medic in Galway allegedly said ” this is a catholic country ” – sadly it does not appear to have many christian values .
      Of course catholicism and christianity are poles apart .

• It’s trolls like John that make the journal a vile app. It’s moderators do nothing to prevent such behaviour and idiots like him simply have another platform to spread their crap.

I’m afraid as a result of this I will be deleting the app from both my iPhone and iPad and will no linger be logging on.

Shame because otherwise it was a good source of news but alas, it has allowed the ignorant minority cheapen and turn the site into a joke.

Goodbye Journo peeps!

• @ John – I think you misunderstand what “human waste” means. Are the streets littered with sh**e? I honestly thought that came from dogs and their lazy owners.

• Tony , I agree the comments section has some awful bile at times. Possibly the Journal would consider an ignore button to hide certain commentators. May not be tech possible without logging in as a user or keeping cookies on at all times.

• Good idea, sadly most of the homeless in Dublin are drug or drink addicts & giving them money that goes on buying more substances won’t help in the long run.

• You are a callous idiot Sir. Shame on you. Hope your luck holds out.

• JayTee 31/01/13 #

Wait, wait, wait….did you just compare yourself with da vinci…….hahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahaaaaahhhhhaaaaa

• Jim
      How did we go from begging on our Capitol streets to Catholicism and Christianity?
      To revert to the subject may I say that the majority of beggar in Dublin are either drug dependent or Romanian and are permitted to be there because a High Court case found that begging is not illegal as the Constitution allows free speech.
      Ordinarily people would suggest that I am trolling with this statement but I kid you not!
      To stop begging we need a referendum………..Wow!

• Dgar 31/01/13 #

One way to stop begging is to deal with it like they have with prostitution. They could fine people for giving money to those begging. Then soon enough there will be no point in begging on the streets ! Not a nice solution but probably effective.

• Ah John, here to prove that the pro life obsession with forcing women to stay pregnant against their will has nothing to do with preserving human life. Or at the very least, that once they’re born the concern for them ends..

And as for the comment about human waste, be careful when pointing your finger – you always have three more pointing back at you..

• Yet again it’s up to DUBLIN CITY BUSINESS Improvement District (BID), to do the job of the Gardai. The Gardai seem to thing it’s beneath them to enforce public order laws- whether it be begging or littering. DUBLIN CITY BUSINESS Improvement District (BID), also spends millions a year on trying to keep a lid on littering in Dublin City Centre because guards couldn’t be arsed to issue litter fines. Part of the problem is that we have an extremely lazy police force – please dont blame cuts because it was the same during the boom.

• Really???
      And I suppose that Garda who got his head blown off with a shotgun last friday died of laziness too?
      The fact is that they’ve more to be worrying about than litter and the potential offence that you might take at seeing it.

• You’ve obviously never been to New York or Cork!!

• Cork ?

Please we’re talking about capital cities here.

• Hmmmmmmmm and there was me thinking that Corkonians believed Cork to be the capital city…..It doesnt matter what city they are in – homelessness and begging happens in every city, all over the world. And they all(I am excluding the organised units of Roma) need to be helped. As pointe out by Mick above – most addicts have known nothing but misery since the day they were born.

• I am quite unhappy about the bile against beggars on here. I sincerely doubt that any of them do it as a scam. If any of them uses it to buy drink or drugs it only means that society is not looking after their needs: to sober up, detox, rehab or keep on cheap, preferably legal drugs. Whoever chooses begging as a ‘career’, as suggested by several forists, good luck to them judging by the comments on here. And to give any of my sparse cash to some new organization and their forty begging boxes: ha ha ha ha ha

• Well stop giving them free travel passes for starters!

• Shows yet again the dis jointed approach to infrastructure, social services and people in need.

• How safe are the boxes? With the calibre in Ireland I could see them being knicked or the slack jawed corpo worker dipping his grubby hand in when he empties it to spend on Johnny Blues and dog racing. The way the used to do with the parking meters.

Add New Comment