TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Taoiseach should not be forced to give opinion on gay marriage

Fine Gael TD Jerry Buttimer tells TheJournal.ie that people should stop treating the issue as “a political football”

Fine Gael T.D. Jerry Buttimer
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE TAOISEACH SHOULD not be forced to give his opinion on whether he is for or against gay marriage, according to Fine Gael TD Jerry Buttimer.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, the Cork  South Central TD said that people should stop treating the issue as “a political football” when the program for government outlined that the constitutional convention was the forum for debate on the issue.

He said: “He can’t direct members of the constitutional convention how to vote when they may be nominated to A, B or C board in the future. Either way, he hasn’t come out and said what his view is on voting rights for 17 year olds or on the review of the Dáil’s electoral system. I think there are some people trying to create a chasm.”

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has pressed Enda Kenny for his views on same sex marriage, but to no avail.

Asked whether he thought the Fine Gael parliamentary party would support a vote, he said he was confident it would.

“We were the first party to bring forward legislation on civil partnerships. We’ve always been very supportive of equal rights for gay people.”

Transport Minister Leo Varadkar this week said he was supportive of gay marriage.

“I am quite happy that there is growing support for civil partnerships not just in the political world but among private citizens,” said Buttimer.

“I am impatient for change, sure. But I want something that being people together and doesn’t divide us. The constitutional convention is the place to do that.” He added:

The bottom line here is that this is about the rights of people having their status as gay people enshrined in the constitution through the provision of same sex marriage.

Yesterday, Minister for Education Ruairí Quinn said that a constitutional referendum would be needed to bring in gay marriage.

Taoiseach’s stance on gay marriage is ‘nonsense’ says Micheál Martin >

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• Right, gonna be pretty controversial, but gonna say it anyway:
    This was clearly a case of the lads in the FG Press Office saying “Sh*t! We need to do something… I know, send out that gay TD from Cork to defend the Taoiseach. They can’t argue if a gay TD says Enda doesn’t have to give his opinion.”

Enda, as the country’s democratically elected leader, should be leading on this issue & not hiding behind his handlers (again).

• Jerry Buttimer.should be kicked out of the gays for this!!!

(And if you haven’t realized this is a tongue cheek comment,you are a moron)

• Yes he bloody well should. He is also the taoiseach of gay irish people, not just straight ones, and they have a right to know his views on an issue so important to them. Even if he disagrees with it, he has a duty to ensure no Irish citizen is discriminated against on grounds of their sexual orientation.

• He is the “leader” of the country! Of course he should give his opinion. What a cowardly stance. He is a pr controlled man. Nothing more

• For this clown to say ‘well the Taoiseach hasn’t given a view on 17 yr olds getting the vote’ ….. As if giving a view on that would be controversial.
    No comparison.
    He should express his view and stop being Bertie Ahern being all things to all people and dithering.

• “Taoiseach should not be forced to give opinion on Gay Marriage”

…Because to be frank, he is against it – and doesn’t want that to be known!

Heaven forbid he might lose the gay vote!

• “Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has pressed Enda Kenny for his views on same sex marriage, but to no avail.”
    Not a hope Micheál…he’ll never marry you

• I wouldn’t have thought it a particularly hard question! you’re either for it or against it, come on Mr Kenny answer the question!!

• wats new there when is the last time he had an opinion of his own that wasnt scripted for him anyways. equal rights is a concept unknown to Irish governments

• Maybe he shouldn’t be ‘forced’ to give an opinion but he should at least have the balls to give one. He is either for or against it, how difficult can it be to say which unless he is afraid of alienating one group of support? If it was a personal opinion on a matter nothing to do with a voting public, fine, but this is far from that…

• For goodness sake it’s a simple yes no question. How can a leader lead if he can make a decision or give a simple answer.

• Well I am totally against gay marriage for societal reason rather than religious mores and I am perfectly happy that we have Civil partnership to ensure equality . Am I entitled to that personal view and was I compelled to provide it? If I wish to enter politics do I put it on the record. How dishonest of the soldiers of the Extreme Left to argue this one.

• Mark yes you are entitled to your opinion no matter wether its right or wrong.But Enda as the leader of this country has a duty to represent all the citizens of the state,not just the catholic grey vote in Mayo.

• @Mark, I’m making the assumption that you’re straight, based on the fact that you think civil partnership offers us equality. CP is NOTHING on full equality. Yes I’m glad it’s there, but I can’t help feeling it’s to shut gay people up rather than make us happy.

We won’t stop until we get full equality.

• Lets get this straight and to the point:

Enda Kenny is AFRAID to say what his opinion is on this (but has NO problems telling of all his other opinions by any means possible when it suits him) because he’s don’t want to lose voters in his constituency?

So by my reading of the situation, instead of representing the people of his nation as its country’s head, he’s looking out for himself totally instead via his local voters!
    In other words, its NOT what I can do for my country – its what my country can do for me!

Blatant looking after ones self first.

Now let the FG cronnies come forth and dress it up as something else entirely in slight of hand or open supposedly other issues involved instead!

• Agree with Carlin I, he is our leader, God Help Us, he must have an opinion and share it with the people. nCome on Mr Kenny stand up like a man like a true leader and give us your view…… n

• Show me the job description where the Taoiseach has to answer to a mob.

• As an elected TD and an elected national leader, via one democratic process or another, he’s supposed to be speaking for us at home and abroad.

He has to answer – or should to any mob, to address their concerns.
      Especially when a ‘mob’ just might be the people of the Irish nation!

You know, the one he’s supposed to be speaking for!
      …But I forget – he don’t like speaking when it might lose him votes!

• Whoops Brian I think you just described something that would have taken place in totalitarian States rather than a democracy. The Taoiseach is not obliged to tell us whether he prefers Guinness to Murphy’s or Blondes to Brunettes. That’s how ridiculous the postings have become.
      Is it not interesting that when I posted my dislike for gay marriage it was immediately assumed I was straight. When I tackled someone on there extreme left wing views I was immediately labelled as a spokesperson for Fine Gael. And you folks believe the Taoiseach has a duty to tell you his opinion on a subject he has stated would compromise the working of a Commission he is about to appoint.
      What I see here is the pack forming and losing reason as it swells. Let’s just get a sense of balance.

• And are you gay Mark?

• Funny, Mark, I was under the impression that the Taoiseach worked for the people of Ireland, not the other way around.

• I would have great respect for enda if he said ‘ I am a proud catholic and my personal opinion is that gay marriage is wrong BUT I lead this democracy and as such my personal opinion is not important here. It is the will of the majority of the Irish people ( gay. Straight , black , White etc) which is more important. So let’s ask the people’ I’d have no problem with that.

• vitaminb 12/07/12 #

I also would have no problem if he were to say something along those lines as everyone, elected official or not, is entitled to their opinion. what I do have a problem with is the fact that a referendum is required. I do not think it is fair that the majority gets to vote on rights for the minority, even if it seems that the majority is in favour.

• Just have a referendum on it and let the people decide. We have become a far more accepting people in the past 20 years and I am sure it will pass.

• He has enough bloody opinions about everything else and he’s not afraid at times to shove it down our throats by any means possible!
    …But heaven forbid he might be exposed as having a issue against gays & lesbians in some way?
    No, he goes quiet as a church mouse! National cowardice in the face of the public and cameras.

No wonder Merkel is able to run roughshod over him!

• Paul 12/07/12 #

A political football he says! What part of equality do these people not understand? It incenses me to no end that our Taoiseach wont share his opinion on such an important matter. He is the leader of the country for goodness sake. By not giving his opinion, one way or the other, he just further convinces us that he is inept at his job and a complete puppet who does what he is told for whatever special interest group is calling the shots.

• We all know what a political coward Enda is. Enda just wants to crawl to the finish post of his tenure as Taoiseach so he can collect his pension and retire. His motives in his job are not to better his country, they are to better himself.

• Cormac 12/07/12 #

The Taoiseach needs to make his opinion known. Not to satisfy Martin but because it’s a topical issue. If he disagrees with me (I would be in favour) then that is fine but there is now so much momentum behind the idea that it needs to go to a referendum, and the country deserves to know where it’s leader stands.

• Surely the right to marry the person you love would not need to be decided by a referendum ,I would have thought it would be a human right.

• Cormac the only momentum for a referendum is from a handful of loggers on the Journal. Even their total readership is minuscule when compared to any provincial newspaper but they love this type of issue because it attracts more readers.
      If you read the National newspapers the extreme views as posted here wouldn’t get past the most junior of sub editors so this type of medium tends to attract a high proportion of extreme or wacko views.

• You are right there Mark. The fact that you’re still posting here on The Journal proves that extreme and wacko views are unfortunately not noticed by the editors.

• Don’t worry Enda can’t give an opinion till his advisors tell him what it is.

• Clearly they have advised him to dodge this question more than national TV debates, TV3 reporters – not just Vincent Brown and than answering direct questions in the Dail without the waffle instead of a a plain “yes” or “No”.
      Heaven forbid he might have to asked some real hard questions (and not given the soft approach by RTE, after all, they have to look after their money which they gain via government decisions – can’t upset the hand that feeds you!) .

• Is that you Gerry?

• Ben Gunn 12/07/12 #

@UnitedPeople Ireland (or maybe not) An xenophobic homophile, what an interesting combination! The poll I referred to was the Standard Eurobarometer issue 66. There is no point in quoting poll against poll untill you find the one that most agrees with. Accept the fact that public opinion in general is moving towards acceptance of single sex marriage. Support from the 15 to 34 age is well established. The task is to gain majority support in the 45 plus group. You do not achieve this by attempting to embarrass senior politicians who are obliged to seek solutions based on consensus. To do otherwise would be to open up another avenue for bigotry.

• @ Ben Gunn

I’m personally delighted that we are moving towards same sex marriage – and I know from more Irish polls taken that the majority are indeed still in favour of such.

• Ben Gunn, and all the rest of you self righteous sanctimonious half brained half hearted fascists, I don’t care if you or Enda or anyone else ‘believe’ that I shouldn’t be allowed to marry the person I love. There shouldn’t even be a vote on it. Nobodies asking you to marry someone of the same sex. So get out of my way and mind your own business.

• Bryan 12/07/12 #

All elected representatives views should be known and if withheld they should be sacked. Government of the people, by the people, for the people, that’s means all people.

• Debbie 12/07/12 #

@waterford. “we are a catholic country and it’s goes against our church “. You mean the church that raped and abused a generation of poor innocent children. Oh right, better keep on their side ! Clearly the Catholic Church is what we should aspire to!

There is very little faith left on the catholic church so to say we are a catholic country is not the case. As has been said before, if you don’t support gay marriage then don’t get gay married yourself! Simple as.

• Come on Enda show your colours even if they are rainbow but I doubt it. Pres Obama gave his opinion but then he has balls something you have never had

• Enda kenny make’s my blood boil .. A complete showman is all he is . Has anyone asked the question is he a closet case ? He’s afraid to go on Vincent Browne for what question he might be asked and can not even answer . I don’t want a man who can not give a straight answer to any question, he is asked running our country . I think it’s about time we the people of Ireland, ask him to step down as our leader if he can not support each and everyone of us, ( gay straight black white old and young ) as we are all human at the end of the day . ENDA KENNY OUT I say . And @Waterford how many times a week will we find you in DIGNITY BAR WATRFORD

• Jerry Buttimer cannot equate gay marriage with the voting age or Dail reform, these are totally different issues, gay marriage and equality is a human right. We already have the right to vote, and it is suggested we reduce it to 17. Dail reform is not anywhere near a human right. So why did he equate the three? The guy is towing the party line on this one and this for me is very disappointing.

• Interesting article in The Examiner:
    * http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/martin-taoiseach-blocking-gay-marriage-to-stave-off-referendum-200386.html

Martin: Taoiseach blocking gay marriage to stave off referendum.

• can I just ask, what’s the difference between civil partnership and marriage? I’m just curious.

• Debbie 12/07/12 #

@waterford. “we are a catholic country and it’s goes against our church “. You mean the church that raped and abused a generation of poor innocent children. Oh right, better keep on their side ! Clearly the Catholic Church is what we should aspire to!

There is very little faith left on the catholic church so to say we are a catholic country is not the case. As has been said before, if you don’t support gay marriage then don’t get gay married yourself! Simple as.

• Kim 12/07/12 #

Enda Kenny’s personal feelings/ opinions is of no interest really… Why care what he thinks either for or against… Once those personal opinions are not used to sway voters for his own benefit or stop equal rights. Allow the Irish people make the decisions as to what they want in not just same sex marriage but many other sensitive issues too!!!
    Oh by the way I’m catholic too but I believe in live n let live once it’s not harming others. I don’t have a problem with same sex marriage.
    Also to those jumping on the catholic religion bashing train…. I don’t force my religion on anyone and I won’t disregard the message just because the messenger is corrupt thats my choice. Cheers

• He’d comment if he was in opposition. He’d find the high neutral ground and spout off from there.

• How could anyone with half a brain defend Enda’s record. He’s either a complete moron or a corrupt sneak. Jury’s still out on that. Ireland is not a Catholic country. The Constitution was amended to that effect. Nobody will be forced into a gay marriage! Jerry Buttimer such a lapdog defending his master’s cowardice.

• How about people first of all concentrate on the rights of fathers in this god forsaken country before any gay marriage/rights bill passes????

I am all for gay rights/marriage/partnership or anything that involves all members of our society being equal (for a change, not just a buzzword!!)
    However, the reason I ask this question is because I am a single father with no automatic rights to my son. i will be the first to admit that a lot of fathers in this situation have nothing to do with their child. However, if our system was run on common sense, not just bizarre whims like most of our policies, this trouble would easily be avoided!
    Spend time on sussing me(and others) out…. I would do ANYTHING to provide!! If they are not up to their responsibilities , they deserve everything they get!!! Please sort this before continuing on to gay rights!!
    As i said, I want all of us to be equal… because we all are!! Aren’t we all human! But seeing as we are still such a catholic country and many claims have been made, someone must try and create equal rights for fathers who want to raise their children. Help me help my child!

• Would a married gay couple be able to adopt children?
    Some may believe that a child to be fostered/adopted should in all cases go to a conventional couple.

• If Enda was to give his honest opinion (which is likely that he’s against it) then it’d make it politically impossible for Enda to proceed with a referendum on the issue within the lifetime of this government.

• Mr Kenny is our Taoiseach, our prime minister and elected leader. Voted for by us Irish to lead this republic.
    Love him or hate him, the amount of anonymous cowards who disparage him on this stupid blog is proof of the small-minded miserableness of the contributors and not a reflection of the character of the man.
    If you want to insult the leader of my country, identify yourselves at least you cowardly saps.
    I may disagree with the rest of you but I have to give you credit for at least attaching your name to your vitriol.
    Up the Republic and a pox on all the anonymous cowards.

• Ciar 12/07/12 #

Don’t think about it and it makes sense

• He is against it and so are a lot of people. We are a Catholic country and it goes against the church to support this. Enda is right to stick to his religous belief of not supporting gay marriage. This will be illegal for a long time and rightly so.

• You are just a coward hiding behind Waterford you should be hanging out with all the Billy bum cheeks up north with your pathetic views.

• He can have his religion but stop forcing it on others. This has nothing to do with the church.

• I have to disagree with you there Waterford. State and church should be seperate. There is no arguement. Ireland is not a Catholic country that notion is long gone. There is nothing wrong or immoral about the issue either. While he is Taoiseach his religious beliefs should not come into this matter. If he personally is not comfortable with it that is his opinion. A couple of years ago Fine Fail said they would never support gay marriage and yet now they are. If the day comes where gay marriage is legalised in Ireland the sky won’t come falling down believe me I think we have a few more worries like getting our Economy back on track. It would be an excellent thing if it happened but so many leaders around the world have came out in support of gay marriage. He is actually making it worse by not giving a clear answer. I wouldn’t be losing sleep over.

• Better hand back my passport, I didn’t realise I had to be a Catholic to be Irish. My mistake.

• it really annoys me when people say crap like “We are a Catholic country and it goes against the church”…..

• It also goes against “Catholic belief” to rape, lie and cover up things that should be public knowledge, but the Catholic church are experts at all that!

Being gay has nothing to do with religion and it’s about time people like Enda Kenny stopped hiding behind it.

• Whether you like it or not Ireland IS a Roman Catholic country and politicians know how to count. 84% of the population declared themselves to be Roman Catholic in the 2011 census. I know it pissed me off too!

• Ireland is not defined as a Catholic country. Church and state are completely separate. Get your facts right Waterford.

• John, 73% support gay marriage though….. So a good proportion of the 84% didn’t agree with catholicism’s archaic view on the matter.

• Ireland declared itself to be a Roman Catholic country Mark – 84% of the people did in the last census. As census figures are used to inform Government and State policy unfortunately official Ireland will adhere to Rome Rule for some time to come.

The more stuff changes the less it changes eh?

• Michael
      Then why in hell would they align themselves with an organization that openly discriminates against the LGBT community?

• Plenty of Catholics choose what parts to believe in. Many simply tick it on the census because they were baptised. Either way, Ireland is moving on from unquestioning support of the church. http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ojeyausncwcw/

• John Murphy
      The catholic church! Another criminal organisation. Has causes more harm than good in this country in the last 50 years. This god fella is less visual and vocal than Bell-Enda. We have an elderly man (pope) who sits on a throne of gold and receives ‘messages’ in how to guide the faithful, millions of people suffer from starvation, disease and abuse. These people die while your ‘leader’ talks shit. 3/4 of Isaiah people believe in gay marriage. Bell-Enda works for them. If his opinion differs he should get out of the way

• That was meant to read Irish people

• Michael:
      I don’t buy it. The Roman Church will continue to influence official policy and political manoeuvrings as long as people are prepared to support that organization by declaring their affiliations to it and all just because they were baptised when the had no choice! It’s nuts!!

Mark:
      ”My leader” as you choose to call him, works for no other than the corporate elite that fill the coffers of his disgusting political party. From time to time (every five years or so) he will come out with some populist BS that he understands will garner himself, and his party votes by relying on feedback by the Irish people such as declaring themselves to be Roman Catholic in the census.

• Waterford, as has been said, 3/4 of the country is in favour, or at least not opposed to gay marriage. Kenny is the head of our elected government. That term elected in the context of democracy entitles us to have our majority views addressed and expressed by our representatives. Aside from some standard reasoning, is the only reason you are particularly against gay marriage because the Roman Catholic church has said that they are against it? Do you have anything moral against it? Or is it simply that they have said it is so, and so you follow? If that’s the case, then were you okay with the moving around of priests guilty of rape and abuse, simply because the church ordered it? I have serious problems with those opinions that believe the law dictates morality, given that the law is subject to change now and then, based on context etc. But when that becomes religion dictating ideology in the form of law to pass itself off as morality, then we are into some seriously hot water.

John, it doesn’t take a veteran political scientist or career politician to note the narrow chasm between those who identify in the census as being Catholic and those that believe in gay marriage. Once that is recognised the government can recognise that the issue needs to be addressed. Furthermore, given the separation of church and state, it should not be seen as a problem when elected officials, on behalf of the electorate, begin to change the landscape of archaic prejudice within their country.

• John Murphy
      People tucked the RC box not being practicing Catholics but based in their baptism. I was baptised RC. Am I therefore obliged to tick the same box? The leader I was referring to was the pope but you are right. Bell-Enda is an evil entity

• Jeazus! Me comment disappeared before it even got there! I’ll be more restrained this time… I don’t like the pope either.

• @ John Murphy, 84% may have ticked that box, but I bet 84% don’t follow the churches teachings… condoms are sinful, don’t beat the bishop etc. Tide has turned on the RCC, gay marriage is inevitable.

Add New Comment