TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

US Congressman: evolution is a lie “straight from the pit of hell”

Republican politician Paul Broun from Georgia, who sits on the US government’s science committee, said he believes the earth is les than 9,000 years old.

Republican Paul Broun. No, kidding, it's a replica of a Neanderthal man.
Image: Heniz Ducklau/AP/Press Association Images

A US POLITICIAN has told an audience that evolution and the Big Bang theory are “lies straight from the pit of hell”.

Republican congressman Paul Broun, who is a doctor, made the comments during a speech at a dinner in Georgia which was videotaped. Broun is running unopposed for reelection in November.

In the video, the  congressman said he has come across scientific data that proves the Earth is less than 9,000 years old and was created in six days.

“God’s word is true,” he told the audience at a banquet held in a church last month. “And I’ve come to understand that”.

All that stuff I was taught about evolution, embryology, the Big Bang theory: all of that is lies straight from the pit of hell.

He added:

It’s lies to try and keep me and all the folks who are taught that from understanding that they need a saviour.

Bround said that “as a scientist” he had found a lot of scientific data that proved that the Earth is much younger than many people believe.

“I don’t believe that the earth is but about 9,000 years old,” he said. “I believe that it was made in six days as we know them. That’s what the Bible tells us”.

Broun has a degree in chemistry from the University of Georgia as well as a medical degree. In the House of Representatives he sits on the government committee with responsibility for science.

A spokeswoman for Broun told Georgia newspaper the Athens Banner-Herald that Broun was speaking off the record to a church group about his personal religious beliefs.

Around one hundred people have left comments on Broun’s Facebook page criticising his comments, with some calling on him to resign. He has also been heavily criticised by Twitter users.

Broun is not the first member of the House Science Committee to attract public attention for his comments in recent months: another Republican member, Todd Akin, came under fire in August when he claimed that victims of “legitimate rape” have biological defences which prevent pregnancy.

(Video: BridgeProject21/YouTube)

Photos: Oldest cave paintings ‘may not have been made by modern man’ >

Read: Extinct ‘giant penguin’ species reconstructed from fossils >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (167 Comments)

• Another god fearing hillbilly !

• Tom, it’s a valid story about an elected leader who is behaving erratically and irrationally.
      Believing the Earth to be more than 9000 years old is not incompatible with any religion and nowehere in the story is that implied.
      Claiming to have proof that it’s not, on the other hand…

• I’m more concerned about the people who vote for morons like this congressman.

• “It happened in 1986, when the 40-year-old baby boomer was into booze and into his fourth marriage already — and having problems with both. Broun was at an NFL football game and drinking heavily when he noticed the fan who was a quasi-celebrity back during the Reagan years, the guy with the crazy rainbow-haired wig who stood in the end zone seats with the sign, “John 3:16.” Broun said in a speech on the floor of Congress after his election to Congress two decades later that he was captivated by this “gentleman with this big type hair wig on.” A few weeks later, after another fight with his new wife, he took out a Bible, read the verse, and decided to dedicate his life to Christ. (Ironically, it was the exact same year and at the same age that George W. Bush quit drinking as well.) Broun now considers his odyssey to the corridors of power the result of Jesus’ calling. He fails to add the kicker to the story, that the wig-wearing fan, a fellow named Rollen Stewart, is currently serving three life sentences for kidnapping.”

Paul Broun Quote

“I believe that death taxes should be zero, I believe that corporate taxes should be zero, that dividend taxes should be zero, and that all taxes should be very low.”

http://www.salon.com/2010/08/31/will_bunch_the_backlash/

• If you listen to the DUP in the north , they spout the same claptrap!

• I’m sure there are quite a number of politicians who feign or espouse religious beliefs in order to gain political
      Power. Religion is like a drug and believers are like junkies. They get hooked young and find it hard to kick the habit , withdrawal can be extremely tough. Witch doctors , priests etc are like the drug dealers and religious organisations are like cartels. They target the young and vulnerable with their opiates.

• He is running unopposed. There is no choice, so you can’t blame the voters (this time!)

• And this guy is a medical doctor? Does he bleed patients? Use leeches? Raise them from the dead?

Wouldn’t go to him with a tumour, that’s for sure.

• I work with creationists here in the states…they genuinely believe this. Had some heated arguments in work, at the end of the day they are willful ignorant. No matter how much evidence there is they ignore it or come up with some pseudo scientific explanation. The guys I work with actually believe humans were around with dinosaurs too…I slagged them for believing the Flintstones were factually correct….didn’t go down well.

• The truly frightening thing is that this idiot is on the congressional science committee. Its worrying that a man who completly denies basic truths about reality is a elected official in the Government of the USA

• mister 07/10/12 #

Sheldon Cooper would be horrified…

• Don’t you just love it when someone puts the fun back in fundamentalism? Or perhaps puts the mental back as well!!??

• He says he has data that shows the earth is 9000 years old.
    The bible doesn’t count as data. He has the neck to call himself a scientist.

• He is wrong!

Edwin Poots, Northern Ireland Minister for Health said “My view on the earth is that it’s a young earth. My view is 4,000 BC”.

Edwin is a member of the DUP and Free Presbyterian Church, in case you did not guess!

• Oh jaysus.

• Is he for real ?,.’ It must be true because the bible says so ‘ ?!,
    3 little pigs is also a Great read , but doesn’t mean pigs are gonna blow down your gaff , fool !

• I’d be more worried about the large number of people who voted him in. It’s scary but it’s not just in the US that you hear this nonsense, lot of Presbyterians much closer to home will argue this “truth”. Met people in Antrim and Glasgow who nearly attacked me with the bible for not agreeing with them

• He’s one of many in the Republican Party who believe this. Jokers of the highest degree, Obama better get in

• the democrats are equally ignorant with some of their ideas, unfortunatly most of the democrats idiocy seems to be in the field of economics.

• I think you’re ill informed Stephen, the GOPs tactics at the moment is to attack Obama on the economy through propaganda and misinformation. Every claim they’ve made about the economy has been debunked by fact checkers. Even take the stimulus that was going to break America, you don’t hear them mention it anymore, because it worked. Experts say unemployment would probably be around 20% now instead of just under 8, if the stimulus wasn’t used.
      The world is just a few thousand years old… Jesus hates all people, who are not white conservative Americans… There is no global warming… The bible is the literal word of god… Etc etc. Ideology shared by the majority of Republicans, scary scary stuff.

• Opinions don’t affect facts.
    But facts should affect opinions, and do, if you’re rational

• It would be interesting to see this scientific data he talks about. All theory and no proof are all these guys have!!

• I the world and creation were 9000 years ago, all those stars up there would be invisible as the light would not of reached us yet. But what are facts and figures when you have the ravings of bronze age men.

• Maybe Mr Brown should have read yesterday’s journal.ie or ask the little 11yo Russian boy, Zhenya, who discovered the remains of the 30,000 year old woolly mammoth in Russia.

• Clearly neanderthal bequeathed some more DNA than others. Check the slope of his forehead

• regardless of his views, I think the scariest thing is the fact that he is running unopposed !

• Americans scare me.

• Very superstitious. Writings on the wall.

• For every Charles Darwin the world has had, there is some cabbage like him spouting shite.

• His denial of evolution and the big bang isn’t particularly surprising (after all, he’s a congressman from Georgia). It’s the embryology bit that’s far more shocking – he’s a doctor and has a degree in chemistry.

• Mjhint 07/10/12 #

Ah well we can now claim that all sides of religion have fundamentalist. Imagine this is the stuff that people want teach their kids in the US.

• Why is James Reilly holding up a rock ?

• There are no words!!

• @mister,did you see Sheldon meeting Stephen Hawking? So funny

• I think they put him on the science committee so that the REAL scientists could point and laugh. I’m sure they need a break from their serious work like weapon development and such.

• that takes the biscuit. how can someone who supposedly sets on a science committee even pretend that he believes that. HANG YOUR HEAD IN SHAME. YOU DO NOT DESERVE PUBLIC OFFICE.

• we got a moron here, It’s scary that people who have such a deluded view are on such committees. Science and evolution are the only show in town, Rational arguments don’t usually work on religious people. Otherwise there would be no religious people. Faith, as well intentioned as it may be, must be built on facts, not fiction – faith in fiction is a damnable false hope.

• Is it a rule that you have to be a completely backward moron to get on the House Science Committee? Maybe they should rename it the House Remedial Science Class and teach them things like where babies and dinosaurs come from.

• Jesus saves. Put him in goal for Newcastle!

• “the congressman said he has come across scientific data that proves the Earth is less than 9,000 years old and was created in six days”………i came across a bridge the other day and found myself on the other side…….not the “other side” just the plain old other side…..just couldn’t find an audience to tell at the time…….oh well….humph!…then again i’m not running for congress….just running for the train tomorrow…..nite all……………..peace.

• To think such idiotic morons with ridiculous beliefs can be elected is crazy but if someone running for elected office in the States declared themselve to be an atheist it would be political suicide. Creationists are deluded brain washed fools who feed on ignorance. Look at Mitt Romney and his Mormon beliefs I think South Park really done a number on mormons. Dumb Dumb Dumb Dumb

• i’d say all the animals mounted up on that wall are kicking themselves and horribly embarassed that they happened to be stupid enough to get caught out by a moron like this guy!

• maybe the earth might be flat also….

• Saw this yesterday. Its a letter Einstein wrote about his views on religion and the last time i checked i think he was also a bit of a scientist. http://members.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewUserPage&userid=gazinauctions

• Yeah it is also well documented that he wasted the last 20 years of his career searching for God.

• That’s a great letter and worth reading. Einstein clearly believed the belief in religion was childish and primitive. I hope religious people realise this before claiming he was a theist. Einstein didn’t spend his latter years looking for God, he was looking for a unification theory.

• Just proves how insecure Religious people are, They see the truth and are in denial. Poor people, i feel sorry for them!

• This guy is a clown , check out the video clips on his website for comedy gold including the classic endorsement from the wife explaining he is good doctor and congressman , he’s so likeable and he calls his patients “sugar” and “prays with them”….just what you need when you go to a doctor….what a clown

• One word… Dinosaurs

• Running unopposed for re-election? Can someone please run against him??!! Even walk, it’s a start!

• Well that’s that puzzle solved so !!!

• Another Republican nut-job.
    No surprise there from that party.

• Liam 07/10/12 #

If he is a scientist, my dogs are neurologists and astronauts.

• If he’s basing this on dates in the Bible then he’s overestimated by 4,996 years! According to our very own Bishop Ussher (a Trinity College man, no less) the earth began on “the night preceding 23rd October 4004BC”.
    Of course Bishop Ussher’s meticulous research has been superceded by all the scientific If he’s basing this on dates in the Bible then he’s out by over double the years. According to our very own Bishop Ussher (a Trinity College man, no less) the earth began on discoveries since the 17th Century. The Catholic Church has learned its lesson fron Gallileo and has accepted the theory of evolution.
    This would be funny only that this guy is on the science committee (?!) and is being re-elected unopposed!

• At least he doesn’t seem to be an Irish-American!

• Wait till he maybe tries to run for President some day, they will somehow dig up Irish roots!

• may not be Irish/ American, but Ireland has had it’s fair share of zellots ! is that how you spell it ?
      and sheep like followers, who never thought for a second that they could be wrong.
      following behind the guy in the black suit, begging to be forgiven and to be saved, living for the after life.
      Talking of going to a better place, bla bla bla!!
      there was a time when the weather and the after life were the main topics.
      have you ever wondered what makes people tic ? why the need to believe in some thing, why the need to follow any thing aside from good sense and have an educated mind.
      It use to drive me mad when I was growing up in Ireland in the 60s that every one had to believe and follow.

• I’m really concerned for humanity when people in power espouse lies like this. My greatest fear is that the masses he appeals to will try to extinguish the more rational, logical , free thinking human being.

• A science degree in one hand and a bible in the other.

The bible won

• Fairy tale time again apparently

• …Meanwhile in other news Demicrat Colleen Lachowicz (hope I got that right) is running for public office in Maine. Republicans have expressed concern about her fitness for office as she plays an orc rogue in World of Warcraft. She displays (according to Republicans) a bizarre findness for stabbing and killing without the consequence of going to jail. Of corse someone who believes in creationism and that the world is 9,000 years old is perfectly fit fot office and will be returned unopposed. Irony much? I picked this up on the BBC news app just now.

• The illusion of God has controlled the minds of people for centuries! This guy is just clever enough to go along with the illusion to reap the rewards of controlling the mindless masses! Praise be to Jebus!

• F***ing.
    H*ll.

• He has obviously lost his marbles.

• The sooner atheism is victorious the better. for too long these god fearing idiots have been in positions of power and instilling fear in people.

• I bet that caveman, has more brain cells!

• These guys use the bible as proof that god exists, can i use my spiderman comic as proof he exists??

• I find it hard to understand his motivation, since he’s running unopposed. If he had serious opposition, then I could see why he might pander to the Bible Belt. Cynically playing to the gallery, of already won over supporters, is my guess as to his intentions. Yet another example of a charlatan telling people what they want to hear.

• Dec Rowe 07/10/12 #

Maybe he knows he demograph well enough to know that more than 50% of them are die hard religious freaks! :)

• Or he believes what he is saying, could it be as simple as that ?.
      I remember Ireland when the Church ruled , when the priest could do or say no wrong, if you were of independent mind and were the type to question and not be lead blindly it was not easy to live in Holy Ireland.
      I am so glad that people now speak out ! and have the right not to believe in a teaching if they don’t want to.
      There are many issues to be addressed in Ireland (as other countries in the World ) but you do have ”people power and free speech ” and the church no longer has the ‘hold ‘ on the community.

• Sure Bertie could have told him that. Bertie still believes in God, Cash, and the horses.

• Jill :D 08/10/12 #

But there is scientific evidence that evolution is a thing! what about those dino bones humans have found? theyve been proven to be older than 9000 years! I dont understand how people can just ignore these facts :o

• Actually radioactive dating methods are quite fallible, research into it…it’s well known. And there are fossils that are under 200 years. What it takes to make a fossil is mud/water and a massive amount of pressure, you can make your own if you want to…and it doesn’t take a mission years

• Plenty of our own politicians would have similar views and believe in “gods law”. they should join the republican party.

• Good to see everyone on here from Ireland calling him an idiot.

• Me nerves !. Im off now to read more fairytales , this is great Craic .

• mister 07/10/12 #

Tricia, even though they would be on the same side of the argument I reckon Sheldon’s mother would kick this guy’s butt in a debate…she’s one mighty cool creationist!!!

• When I said him I meant Gavin

• The sad and frankly, frightening thing is that people actually elected this guy to public office! With guys like this in charge how can the US ever even hope to evolve to the point where it’s no longer viewed as the redneck trailer park of the world by the rest of educated, civilised society.

• and the folks here in Ireland don’t hold similar beliefs ? Holy Enda etc.

• Not only is he out to lunch but he can’t get his calculations right. He’s overestimated by 4,996 years! According to our very own Bishop Ussher (a Trinity College man, no less) the earth began on “the night preceding 23rd October 4004BC”.
    Of course Bishop Ussher’s meticulous research has been superceded by all the scientific If he’s basing this on dates in the Bible then he’s out by over double the years. According to our very own Bishop Ussher (a Trinity College man, no less) the earth began on discoveries since the 17th Century. The Catholic Church has learned its lesson fron Gallileo and has accepted the theory of evolution.
    This would be funny only that this guy is on the science committee (?!) and is being re-elected unopposed!

• He’s after ‘Palin’ money – Carrying that view + face = Cash

• The Bible is the Word of God but unfortunately it has been hijacked by religion/s and its truths buried. It is crystal clear that Jesus Christ, the Son of God, did not come to establish a religion and equally he had no truck with religions – there were plenty of them then also and indeed it was the religious people of the day that orchestrated the murder of Jesus Christ. Religions have done untold damage to people and generations the world over. This happens largely because they have so effectively usurped authority that most people – certainly far too many – assume that what their religion teaches or says is truth. What a shallow presumption! Most people assume the religion that they happen to be born into is correct – in reality it is reduced to a question of geography rather than anything at all to do with truth – this country or region is Hindu, those are Muslim, these are Catholic … and so on.
    In very clear contrast Jesus Christ urged each individual to ‘search and you will find’. Jesus Christ stated very clearly; “If you continue in my Word, then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free”. But what do most people do, even those who purport to believe that the Bible is the Word of God? They believe instead their religion and the doctrines of their religions mouth-pieces.
    There are still many people however who genuinely want to know what the Bible has to say. For those who want to knkow, the Bible does not teach that God created the earth in six days. Rather, it says in Geneses 1:1 that “In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.” The Bible does not say when this was (apart from “in the beginning”). There is nothing to say that this was not millions of years ago, and as a corollary, it being millions of years ago does not contradict the Word of God.
    The next verse, Genesis 1:2, is translated wrongly; verse 2a says “And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep.” The word translated was is translated ‘became’ umpteen other places in the Bible and should be translated “became” in this verse also. So Genesis 1:2 should be translated “And the earth became without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.”
    God did not create the heavens and the earth without form and void, but rather since it was created sometime in the distant past it became that way. So between Genesis 1:1 and Genisis 1:2 there is all the time in the world for dinosaurs and ice ages, all the various ‘ages’ and so on that science attests to, and there is no contraciction between these and God’s Word. I am not saying this just to avoid confrontation with science. The Bible clearly tells us that what God created was perfect – it is not that God created it so-so and then started to dress it up so to speak. No, God created the heaven and earth in the beginning and they were perfect, and furthermore the Bible mentions other life forms. However, subsequent to God’s creation of the heavens and the earth there were some cataclysmic events which destroyed this perfection.
    Then, starting in Genesis 1:2b God starts to repair His creation from the consequences of these cataclysmich events. Verses 2b and following are not ‘creation’. The word creation is used in the Bible very precisely and pointedly, and certainly not willy-nilly, and it is erroneous to refer to these six days as creation or the six days of creation.
    Since God’s Word tells us that it contains all things that pertain unto life and Godliness (as opposed to ‘everything’), it is not unreasonable and in fact quite appropriate that God’s Word focuses on this period forward.

• Hey man on the street!

Here would be the criteria for a creator.
    - It would have to exist outside time, since time would be a creation. Hence – Timeless
    - it would have to exist outside physical/material substance, since these are also created. Hence – Immaterial
    - it would have to possess power beyond our comprehension
    - it would have to possess intelligence also beyond our comprehension

All of these attributes are consistent with the theory a God like character.
    These claims are not wild or beyond reason when compared to what main stream science claims is supposed to have existed before the Big Bang i.e. No Thing
    To say there is no God is extremely arrogant and more than likely a very stupid mistake.

• S..t I gave him a thumbs up by mistake. Could it be That there is a god that guided my clumsy big thumbs , surely this is a sign . ……that I should not be
      Responding to religious drivel .

• A mistake I’m more than happy to make Gavin.
      The Big Bang theory may be far from perfect, could be completely wrong even.
      But people are using the knowledge available to them to try and form theories. People are striving for more and more information to better them theories.
      Your theory is based entirely on the belief in a creator who exists outside the laws of physics and about whom nothing is known or understood. Without a single scrap of evidence to back it up.
      I don’t see any arrogance on my part in refusing to believe that.

• @Gavin obviously you have not read, or have clearly misunderstood the theories of the beginnings of the universe as we know it. None of them claim that “no thing” existed before the singularity. Most scientists say that despite a number of theories they honestly do not know yet as we have not reached the level of scientific knowledge to understand the state that existed prior to the singularity. It is arrogant of anyone to claim that religion has the answers. Religion has evolved from mans superstitious beliefs when so much of the earth’s natural events were attributed to the supernatural. The answers are not in the bible or any other religious text. Belief and faith in God is not proof of the existence of such a being. There is absolutely no proof that any being of godlike powers exists.

• Andrew, if you don’t instill some kind of creator then you have to purpose that nothing created everything.
    From Nothing…. Nothing Comes…

Did I mention any books?

• Andrew P 08/10/12 #

The Universe could be anything. It is probably something so outrageous we could never understand it. Who is to say its not a type of cell which is part of some gigantic living thing. About as plausable as the idea of a creator I would say. We dont know yet.

• Who created the creator then Gavin.
      Did he just come from nothing?
      Your theory fails because of your very own theory. Ridiculous.

• Nydon 07/10/12 #

I have some problems with the theory of evolution too though. It makes perfect sense to me when applied to animals with all faculties in place. But how could an animal without any eyes just evolve one from nowhere? The idea that survival of the fittest meant that the creature with a curious light sensitive spot on its head survived better than the one that didn’t is a long stretch. Even worse – generally two eyes developed! Would the creature with one eye and a still curious light sensitive spot really out do the Cyclops?

• Nydon 07/10/12 #

Very good James and I agree that evolution of the eye is possible. My difficulty is understanding how the first light sensitive indentation gave enough of the creatures enough of an advantage to be the best survivors. It’s more of a probability problem than a religious belief with me.
      s

• A gene mutates..
      One generation of gnats has developed a light sensitive cell..
      The others has nothing.
      A predator turns up.
      The gnats with eyes spots this and runs..
      The other gnats gets eaten..

Gnats with eye goes on to breed more gnats.
      Survival of the fittest in a nutshell

• Nydon 08/10/12 #

Believe me I’m giving thumbs up for these answers and not worrying about the red thumbs too much. But there is a big difference between a single cell mutation and an eye. How or why would a gnat that can’t see anything or even know that others are being eaten up interpret the vague new signal from their skin as a sign of danger? Or, more logically, interpret the lack of a signal (shadow) as danger? Once we get a workable scenario for one eye evolving it’s even more difficult to consider how stereoscopic vision and its advantages came about. Actually I’m coming to the conclusion that it has to be evolution by subtraction. The whole being initially being light sensitive but unable to survive in sunlight with the least sensitive being the ones that thrived. We wittled down from a light sensitive body to two highly evolved light sensitive organs. :)

• The eye has evolved several times. If you don’t understand evolution then learn about how it works.
      The selfish gene by Richard Dawkins would be a good start.

• Also trying to understand the time span involved in evolution might be useful for you. 545 million years since the cambrian explosion is a hell of a long time for mutation to occur.

• It started with very tiny creatures in the sea which depended on sun light to survive. Clearly such a creature that could tell the difference between night and day or a cave or a shaded mangrove would have a better chance of survival. The better the eye became at these functions the greater the chance of survival. Creatures grew in size and the eye gained more function. Some became predatory creatures where a complex eye is of even more value. Most predatory animals have great eyesight, while non-predatory animals rely on other senses such as smell or hearing (I believe!!!)
      As for two eyes. With one eye you do not have any depth perception. So two eyes is a great advantage over one for the simple reason of depth perception and much wider peripheral vision. 3 eyes, what advantage would 3 eyes give you? And what cost would 3 eyes have? The eye is a very vulnerable spot. Easy to get infected, easy to damage. The more eyes you have the greater the chance of damage. Two eyes gives you all the advantage you need with the minimum risk. Also you have to consider brain function for understanding what the eye sees. the more complex eyes you have the more complex the brain function needs to be. The early creatures may have had a sheet of light sensitive cells that over time reduced in numbers and increased in complexity.

• Andrew P 08/10/12 #

Eyes have had a long long long time to evolve. It is hard to imagine the time scales, I guess thats your problem.

• Nydon 08/10/12 #

All – Thanks for the replies which were (except for the verging on arrogant assumptions of complete ignorance and lack of comprehension on my part ones!) Very informative. The nub of my problem with the evolution of the eye is succinctly answered by Bryan with ” The early creatures may have had a sheet of light sensitive cells that over time reduced in numbers and increased in complexity.” This deals with the transition from no eyes to having eyes – rudimentary eyes were there to begin with as all cells are sensitive to light. Problem solved for me now. As I said to begin with, I’ve no problem if something is already there to be evolved further.

• Nydon – it hurts less if you can just believe that god created everything.

Just don’t ask anyone where god came from. happy to accept that one as a mystery.

F*ck off red thumpers. I’m trying out humour today. Don’t judge me, it’s my first time……

• It’s!!!! Bash the creationist hour! Supported by, a bunch of people that can’t think for themselves and follow the teachings of a man that encouraged and practiced excessive inbreeding!!! Nice :)

• Paul 07/10/12 #

Yes it’s now unacceptable to lampoon fools who base their idiocy on a magic book…no, actually that was just the middle eastern explodey types and it was only a temporary pause, get back in the stocks and explain your point of view, we wanna laugh some more

• Surely the bible is king if inbreeding. Adam and Eve had 2 sons. Who both lived to be 800 years old.
      Damn right it’s bash the creationists hour. Bunch of crazies.

• Evolution is bull crap darwin was wrong with his theories we are being lied to by our school churches and governments ..why time will tell

• I am not taking this man’s side as I don’t know him, BUT…there is actually “scientific ” evidence to support his statements. I bet +90% of people on here have not even looked outside of the evolution “theory”..oh yes, it’s a theory, so is creation. Because for either of them to be a scientific FACT it has to be observable, repeatable, and testable. Neither of the two are even one of the three fact tests. Therefor both are theories taken by faith. Do some research on your own and leave religion and evolution aside, you might be surprised at how much more evidence there is for a young earth. And remember you only hear about and get taught what the media and government want you to. As for creation being a fairy tale…what about evolution? NOTHING + TIME + CHANCE = “SIMPLE” CELL -> ONE CELL + TIME + CHANCE = MAN
    I’m just saying, think outside the box and being biased to something most of you actually know very little about

• @Kevin there is no scientific evidence to support the young earth hypothesis. There are pseudo scientific theories created by religious academics who are not scientists. I would be very interested if you can point me in the direction of one serious piece of accepted research on the subject. You cannot because it does not exist.

• It takes greater faith to believe everything came from nothing (meaning ‘no thing’), than to believe the universe (meaning ‘single spoken sentence’) was brought into existence by an extremely advanced being.
    Come down off your high horses lest ye fall from a great height!!!!

Add New Comment