TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Video, audio: Kenny tells protester ‘You could do with a day’s work, I’d say’

Enda Kenny was met with anger from protesters on a visit to a shopping centre in Westmeath yesterday.

Enda Kenny confronted by Paddy Doyle in Athlone yesterday
Image: Screengrab via RTE.ie

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY was subjected to angry protesters on a visit to Athlone yesterday with one accusing him of forcing his children to emigrate.

In another confrontation, Kenny told a protester: “You could do with a day’s work, I’d say” when told to “take the bridge, head west and stay there” amid acrimonious scenes on a visit to the Golden Island Shopping Centre in the Westmeath town.

A man identified in today’s Irish Times as Peadar Doyle confronted Kenny as he arrived at the shopping centre during canvassing for a Yes vote in the upcoming Fiscal Compact referendum.

Doyle told the Taoiseach: “Back in 1958 I was forced out of this country. You are now forcing my children and my grandchildren out of this country.”

As the Taoiseach rejected the charges and insisted his government was trying to rectify the situation, Doyle responded that “they’re going to have to go, they’re leaving because there is nothing here for them.”

Doyle said that he had not paid the household charge and that he didn’t mind if he was breaking the law as he had paid €60,000 in taxes. Kenny responded that a “€2 a week is not beyond your capacity if you paid €60,000 in taxes.”

Watch:

YouTube: seansbarathlone

In another confrontation with Gordon Hudson, the head of the campaign against Household and Water charges, Kenny was told by Hudson: “Take the bridge, head west and stay there” to which the Taoiseach responded: “You could do with a day’s work, I’d say.”

The Westmeath Independent provides a full transcript of the brief exchange.

Listen:

Read: ‘We’re selling our souls here’ – Fine Gael mayor to vote No

Read: Enda Kenny welcomes ‘growth summit’ of EU leaders ahead of referendum

Read next:

Comments (142 Comments)

• Wow Kenny is losing the plot. Let’s not all forget we all want the same thing. A nice, prosperous environment to live in. With even our so called ‘leader’ resorting to childish rhetoric against people opposing his plans, it’s sure to lead to an even bigger divide among people that should be united.

• Declan your going to do research into the man mentioned in the article.Are you aware how that sounds.After that comment i feel i wouldn’t waste my time even reading your comments anymore.Good luck with your bitterness.

• Your right Norman sounds like Declan thinks he works for the CIA.When he profiles him and hands it to the authorities that poor man will never work again..HEIL KENNY HEIL FINE GAEL yere all nutters

• Aleo 15/05/12 #

TDs really need to be instructed in the fine art of “tongue in neutral, brain in gear” before they meet the electorate. We would all prefer work, or even the possibility of same, to fuming at street corners for the want of it.

• Barty 15/05/12 #

Nicky McFadden FG TD and Athlone native should put EK straight on Mr Hudson’s work background as she knows this man well. EK should apologise to this man for such an insulting remark.

• Maybe the penny has finally dropped for the Taoiseach. Yes Enda, that’s exactly what we need!! Work and employment!!

• not really doing himself any favours there, is he?

• Any wonder they won’t let this fool go on a debate.

• @Cal

Still not sure Cal, but the worst thing anyone could do is not vote. Whether it’s the right or wrong decision, everyone should vote. It’s a cowardly thing to leave it up to others and still moan! Nobody will really know the impact either way for some months to come but let’s hope and prayer we all make the best decision for everyone. :)

• If our children had work Mr Kenny they would not be leaving this country. Are you as thick as you appear? Not all of us are in €100,000 jobs per year plus expenses.

• where are all the fine gael cheerleaders now saying how great our glorious leader is and what a super job his gang are doing for the country!

• Enda is a prize gold medal standard at destroying and obliterating a very hard working nation at destroying families tearing them apart. Prized TRAITOR SELLING OUT HIS OWN PEOPLE
      How dare he speak to anyone as he did in Golden Island Athlone yesterday. Get out now Kenny and stay out

• And who would you have replace him? And why do you think the next govt will have an easier time of it? FF left this country with NO options. No government for the next 10 years will be able to do any different

• Stadler Waldorf
      What difference does it make to Enda’s ignorant comments who replaces him. He should not have made those comments . My God he is a plank.

• I can now see why his handlers will not let him near Vincent Browne… Is there anybody at all that can move this nation forward & deal with people’s anger in a less condescending & detached way than our current Taoiseach & his cabinet.?

• Edna has completely detached himself from reality.

Insulting this man shows how much he has No empathy for the Irish people’s problems

Edna, like this man half the population still have not paid hour household bondholder charge. and have no intention of doing so.

And you can roll up that Fiscal Bondholder Compo Treaty, assume the position, and shove it as hard as possible, where the sun don’t shine

Vote NO…….You know it’s the only way !!!!

• That days work comment is typical of a Fr Enda response

• Our Teflon Taoiseach showing his true colors perhaps, “were in this together”, My Arse!

• Well well well. I don’t know what to say about this latest display from Kenny. Shameful is the first thing that comes to mind, then I want to slap him around a bit, then I want to grab him by the scruff of the neck and make him take on board what this man was trying to say to him. After that, march Kenny to his office and sign papers that do the right thing for Ireland, not effing Europe. After that, arrange for his children to have to emigrate and throw him in a 2-room council house with €80 per week for the rest of his sorry life. Finally for good measure, offer him a job cleaning homeless shelters and cut off his dole if he doesn’t take it.

Kenny didn’t directly create this mess we’re in, but we elected him to clear it up after he said he wanted the job. That doesn’t involve insulting citizens of this country while he’s out looking for yes votes to a treaty which helps nobody in Ireland. If I could I’d fire him on the spot. But I can’t. And that annoys me very much.

• One of my comments was removed? Can it stay if I call Kenny a patronizing poo-poo head and not a patronizing bastard?

• Kenny, you are a contemptible cur!!

• That’s why he’s not allowed to talk more.

Let them eat cake.

• Well, Mr. Kenny has just managed to open his big thoughtless mouth once again. He now has probably, many more saying NO to the vote on 31st May.

How rude of him to suggest to that person, ‘a day’s work probably wouldn’t go a miss with you’! How dare he. He doesn’t know that person, he doesn’t know what his life is like or what hardship he may be having, may have lost his job, may have sucide in his family because of the greed of others.

Mr. Kenny has to be reminded, it isn’t our fault, we didn’t f .. k this country up, it was the greed of bankers, politicians, etc. not me, not that person. Kenny, I put it to you…… you’re an ass of the biggest kind and you need to apologize.

• No surprise it’s what EK is good at, talking shite, shaking hands and avoiding real peoples issues and refusing to answer simple questions. In fairness FF were a disgrace and one would have said it couldn’t get any worse, but EK has the blinkers on and the head down, he wouldn’t help a neighbor never mind the rest of us. Enda your not fooling me, get a set and start working for your country first and Europe second, you had a big mouth when in opposition, but you haven’t changed anything since coming to power, all your rabbiting on about change this and change that, we will change you if you don’t get the finger out!

• Politics by FG LB FF etc is mad in this country it’s all about (in this order) 1-parish pump politics first (keep locals happy) 2- then keep the Germans happy, 3- then keep the backbenchers appeased, 4- Make sure the local councils aren’t causing trouble with your parish pump and lastly 5- look after Ireland’s intreats (only if the Germans say so)

• FG campaign slogan – Let’s get Ireland working, err when does the it start?

• Soon as they find the 5 point jobs plan.

• They lost the list of their 5point plan on the way to the Dâil to take office and they have forgotten in which order it was Abd this us they way they are doing it from their memory
      1) screw the people if Ireland
      2( Screw them some more
      3) sure why not screw them a third time 4) by now lads we have screwed the people enough on their income let’s charge them for water yea sure it’s a gift from heaven Yea why not put meters on the water
      5)By now we have achieved all this the people of Ireland have realised that we the Fine Gael and Labour Parties are finished in Ireland Jesus help us what can we do???? I know say Kenny “we will just abuse them instead when we meet them on walk abouts such as Golden Island Shopping Centre Athlone”

• B7584 15/05/12 #

I think everyone knows now why Inda cant be trusted in a debate, hes a clown. A moron. Hasnt the cop on or political know how NOT to make a balls of photo ops, intervews & debates.
    Hes an amateur politican but a professional fool.

• Dear inda, how about YOU do the days work you were mandeted to do by the people paying your wages instead of carring out german dictats?

• Fair play to the people in Athlone who protested yesterday. Enda Kenny and all govt politicians should be forced to meet the electorate everyday. At least then we’ll know by their responses how arrogant these bunch of sociopaths are.

Anyone who felt obliged to pay this unfair tax by instalments should cancel their payments with their bank.

Above I read comments that €2 a week isn’t much and that most people can afford this. That is not the point. Seas suas for those that cannot afford this payment. Stand by them, not by the people for whom this payment is being raised – bankers and bondholders!

• Meet the electorate every day and run the country too ? You’re delirious..

• @reada, so by your logic people who can afford the household charge shouldn’t pay it to stand up for people who can’t?? Would it not be a better suggestion that people who can afford it (which im guessing is 80% of those who havent paid) pay and local councils use this money to help the people who really need it??

• @finnian – he spends so much of his time spouting rubbish, perhaps he could reorganise and restructure his working day to allow for a daily forum with the people. It need be no more than half an hour. Marches, protests etc have been more or less ignored. It would be great to have an opportunity to mainline the message!

• @Finnian this Government are neither meeting or listening to the People if Ireland Nor are they running the Country They are Ruining the country Enda Kenny and Company get lost somewhere between FRANCE and GERMANY

• Indefensible and utterly ignorant- our Taoiseach ladies and gentlemen!

• I shall be voting No. The whole promise of stability is predicated on a lie. When the single currency system is in meltdown and divisions accelerate following Greek exit from the EMU the last thing there will be is stability.
    The mantra of “We are Irish, we will behave” as we allow them to pile more hardship upon us year on year is ludicrous. I was ashamed to hear Greek protesters chanting, “We are not the Irish, we will rebel!”
    Padraig Pearse must be spinning at 10,000 rpm in his grave.

• The guy shouldn’t be allowed speak! In fact, he shouldn’t be allowed be our Taoiseach! What a waste of space!

• Ah our great leader..mao tse tung-twisted

• The best day’s work Enda could do for the country is resign.
    He should be ashamed of the way he behaved in Athlone yesterday.
    He is a public representative and should act that way

• Hear hear!
      He hasn’t a clue how to interact with people! Yesterday is a top class example as to why he won’t go on to the Vincent Browne show for a live debate! He can’t think on his feet and he knows that VB would wipe the floor with him

• Outrageously condescending put down and insulting remark from any Human Being neither mind that he is the elected Taoiseach of the Country!
      Are these the highest standards of Office that this man can attain ?
      Resign Enda , you should be ashamed of yourself !
      I certainly am ashamed of you and your Coalition and your arrogance – & we thought that the FF led government set a low standard – but you have even lowered it further with your actions !

• “Psychosis is a symptom or feature of mental illness typically characterized by radical changes in personality, impaired functioning, and a distorted or nonexistent sense of objective reality.”
      There you have it folks our Great and glorious leader is Psycotic. Not realy news I know.

• What was he expecting when out campaigning. His attitude towards this man is equal to his attitude towards the people of this island. ” pay up and shut up”. Zero empathy, zero personality. I particularly like the way he cynically grabs the boy at the start of the video to get a promo thumbs up photo with him. Sickening.

• Look at the smug, smarmy smile on Kenny’s face when the man is talking to him. Disgusting.

• Yea that smarmy face is so pathetic for a man of his age he us acting like a school boy bully.And he should resign but he will not A decent person would put their hands up and say Got it wrong And there is a better person for the Job he would also realise there are 4.5million people he is destroying in his wake and we the Joe Bloggs will never forget or forgive him for destroying and giving our country over to Germany/ France He has forgotten what our forefathers went trough and he has pulled to shreds in a few short months

• You could do with a days work. Is that the best response the supposed leader of the country can come up with? Tell ye what Enda..this lad could probably do a better job at what your doing at the minute. Ye sellout spineless euro sellout.

• Sure his own party members tried to oust him a short time before the election .But failed..There good at failure its not just kenny but it seems there is no direct challenge internally to his campaign to enslave us which makes you think a government with a huge majority are all working against us all of them local TD’s councilers its beyond belief..Kenny is not admired within party ranks.Let us not make the mistake by getting rid of him that things will change his mentality is ingrained into party politics and policies..They as in Far right partys will never change they have been blinded by there own authority for so long they are victims of their own success.We need a massive overhaul and it starts with Kenny but it does not stop there.The younger politicans of this country have to be told there is success in working for the good of the people ..

• So Kenny reveals FG’s true attitude. It’s all the peoples fault. Why don’t the people just get off their arses and get jobs and pay their taxes, then the country wouldn’t be in this mess.

• I assume the rest of this story was left out, the part where the man was so disgusted by the comment that he beat Enda Kenny to within an inch of his life. Because if I was confronted by that sheer arrogance, that desultory condescension, I’d find it hard, even as a person as non-violent as myself, not to punch that git in the face. Actually seething with anger here. He actually does not care, when will people realise that this is the face of FG/FF/Labour, they are not normal people!

• Emmie 15/05/12 #

It baffles me how FG got into power in the first place.

• Enda Kenny spoke in Dundalk the other day He said the famine was a disgrace people dying of hunger and yet the food was in the shops but the People Could Not afford to buy it Well Enda here is some news for you Today in May 2012 There are People nit able to Put Balanced Dinners on the table fir their Families 1) because you and your Government have and continue to tax their income out of all proportion and they are left to Buy their family less and less to eat. They are buying their home heating oil by the gallon or even by the euro. And these are the people who are lucky enough (haha)sarcasm ) to have a job…. 2). Unemployed God Love Them cos if the Employed are having a huge struggle how are the unemployed managing……

• Enda Kenny makes Boris Yeltsin look credible….

• Enda Kenny asked for and took this job on, when he did so he also made certain promises to the Irish people along with his party. He and his party have a responsibility to the Irish people. You can be damn sure if things go well he’d be the very one to stand up in front of all the media to say it was all down to him, just like any other politician. The flip side of this responsibility is that when things are not going so well the buck stops with him and he must alo take the responsibility for that too, whether he wants to or not.
    We can debate whether €2 a week is reasonable or not but when it becomes €100 in a single bill it really is too much for many people these days, people who have seen their wages cut to the bone, taxed to the hilt and now have their backs to the wall. An accountant recently told me to be considered financially sound someone must have at a minimum 3 times their salary in their current account at all times. Who has that? Who honestly doesn’t worry about bills, gas, oil, telephone, ESB or what if something breaks, a fridge or washing machine or maybe a car needs repairs? Who doesn’t worry that the household tax won’t increase to hundreds of euro’s within a few years, who doesn’t believe it either?
    What this man did was express the fears and frustrations of most of the population to the leader of his country, the endless taxation with the only hope of more taxes on the way, the only hope of our children getting work is to see them go abroad for it and there doesn’t seem to be much light at the end of that tunnel either. Our entire country is so much in debt that our grandchildren will be paying it off. And when this citizen expresses all this to the leader of the country how is he treated, with sympathy, compassion? No, the leader of our country ridicules him and treats him with contempt, as if this poor man is somehow responsible for his own situation he finds himself in, as if its his own fault for paying too many taxes, not having enough income and no jobs.

• The Emmigrant

How many went away
    Were any of them yours
    They left our shores to find away
    Were any of them yours.

No bankers, developers or politicians kin
    Are queuing next to to yours
    All you who trusted this elitist band
    All those going away are yours

They go away hope to return
    Are any of them yours
    They stand alone to face the world
    Are any of them yours.

The elitist gave away their land
    Putting greed ahead of yours
    Nowhere to run nowhere to stand
    All those going away are yours.

By Carlow poet PJ Brennan

Personally I will be voting No

• Every article regarding Enda seems like a sketch from the savage eye.

• Very good
      Thanks Paula

• how can i share this

• That is an awfully inadequate poem. Carlow Poet PJ Brennan should focus on finding another word that rhymes with ‘yours’ instead of spewing ignorant subjective sentiment and implying that it is wisdom. To call this ‘The Emmigrant’ is an insult to the true history of emmigration.

To anyone who thinks this poem is worthy of the word, get an education in economics and the English language.

• Thanks for the poem.

• Wonderful poem, captures the story of emigration perfectly. It touched my heart. Well done PJ Brennan from Carlow

• I have posted that poem on my Facebook and Twitter accounts. It deserves to seen by a wi audience. I hope the poet doesn’t object to that. I, too, am voting and canvassing widely for a Níl vote.

• Why all the red thumbs….

• Benjamin, why so serious. This poem captures the sentiment of the nation. It may be simply written but is that not the beauty of it. I’m puzzled by your comment on economics?

• Aleo 15/05/12 #

The word ‘yours’ is a refrain, Benjamin. Rhyme doesn’t always have to go with reason.

• Sounds like PJ Brennan could do with a days work too if it’d stop him writing poems. What an awful piece. Just because a piece is topical doesn’t make it good.

• Angela 15/05/12 #

Wonderful poem!!! Ignore the negativity, what can we expect? A lot here are upset with how their hero Enda has spectacularly showed his true colors in this video. They hope he is never allowed speak in puboic without a scrip, but when he does….they have no retort. I will be sharing this poem with all my friends, thank you PJ Brennan from Carlow and to Paula for sharing it.

“No bankers, developers or politicians kin
      Are queuing next to to yours”

So true

P.S I will be voting No and almost everyone I know will be voting NO.

• Actually, the worst of the bankers HAVE gone, (David Drumm for example) to escape the wrath of the Irish people.
      When are we going to see that arsehole and his fellow arseholes thrown in jail for his arseholery

• @Angela So if people who don’t like the poem must be FG supporters, it must also be true therefor that socialists like bad poetry!

Anyone disagreeing with you isn’t necessarily an FG/Lab supporter. If a poem is crap, it’s crap for the reason that it’s a crap poem.

• Angela 15/05/12 #

What a strange reaction Noel…Are you jealous or something?

• I personally know that man who Enda Kenny made that disgraceful comment to, he is a very hard working and self employed person for years and for the leader of this country to make a comment like that is a disgrace and he should come out and say sorry for doing so !!!

• The majority of these comments are plain bonkers. @Angela: You reveal your completely warped logic in the sentence “their hero Enda has spectacularly showed his true colors in this video”. In the context of what you’re talking about this is random sensationalist nonsense. That context, by the way, is a the leader of a country’s government and economy being accused directly by an single old man who is unhappy with his personal circumstances. However representative his case may be the reality is that emmigration as been a complex and fundamental part of our national identity since the year of dot and instead of being seen as a great tragedy should be noted for the influencial global diaspora, reputation and respect it has earned our small island. Lamenting a logical social norm such as emmigration just because your child has to temporarily leave to work abroad is a selfish and misleading tendency , and is ultimately used in this case as a tool to criticise a political figure for lack of more concrete reasons.

Although I suppose, God forbid the youth of Ireland should go abroad to work, to learn about other cultures, act as embassadors for Ireland, and build prosperous lives.

But then, why am I arguing with you, who’ll simply retreat from anything she doesn’t understand and seek refuge in repetitive populist stupidity. You wanted a retort? There’s your retort you ignorant twit.

• Angela 15/05/12 #

So upset about a poem Benjamin? Scary guy :(

• Benjamin Guy Saunders

Just because your parents dont give a shite about you leaving the country to work in France, dont assume that every Irish parent is glad to see the back of their child.

• Fagan's 15/05/12 #

Best to let Cotter play secret agents.

I’d say it might be an idea for the man in question to make sure that he locks his doors and windows when he leaves the house.

• Angela 15/05/12 #

Benjamin Guy Saunders, what a very unhappy angry confused young man. Looking at your Facebook page, it seems the few friends you have ignore your rants also. Still waiting for an intelligent retort, a long winded waffling rant doesn’t quite suffice. France is welcome to you, oh, and, you, might, want, to, study, comma, usage. When you are backed into a corner and have to angrily insult people, you have lost :)

• First of all: What on Earth are you talking about in terms of my facebook page? Are you assuming people will take your word for it and not look for themselves? In which case I suppose the hoped for result would be more green thumbs.

SecondIy, I cannot seem to post my retort for whatever reason but rest assured one does exist. Either way I apologise for calling you a twit, it was admitedly too much. But thank you for correcting my grammar, which I actually think is rather good.

To say that “France is welcome to” me, or to assume that I’m unhappy and confused because I disagree with you is very silly. As it is to assume the same because I don’t use the comma as you would see fit. Speaking of angrily insulting people, what do you think you are doing in your comment? I suppose you’ll point out that I started it, surely an apt defense. One suggestion I would make is that you try to see past your evident dislike of who I am (since you seem to be an expert) and read objectively the content of my “waffling rant”.

• As for you @Ann: There is a difference between my parents respecting me as an adult and being glad to see the back of me. My mother surely misses me but she’s intelligent enough to understand the benefit to my life of this perfectly normal thing to be doing at my age. I made no allusions to my or any parents being happy on a personal basis to see their children go to work abroad, I simply said it’s not the great tragedy it once was. The argument that emmigration spells the economic death of a country is a relic and holds no water in 2012. Modern global transport and communications technology make this the case.

• Angela 15/05/12 #

Shhhhh relax little man, it’s only a poem. The audacity of you attempting to correct the poets grammar when your own literary prowess falls way behind. You are way out of your intellectual depth here Ben, perhaps you should keep your immature insults and rants for the pub. You bore me, bye :-)

• Ha Ha Ha.
      A politician/civil service ”lifer” telling a hardworking self employed person
      ‘You could do with a day’s work, I’d say’
      all from the protection of his sheltered, taxpayer funded Ivory Tower.

• Ochón, Ochón, when Enda was in Athlone
      He was nearly in the west
      but when told to go home
      he lost his cool
      and proved that he’s a proper T@@L

• Art is subjective, no need to get so bent out of shape over this one people. :-D

• To paraphrase kenny; ‘i’ve got no willy’.

• im not standing up for Enda Kenny or Fine Gael, but arent we quicky forgetting who initially were the cause of this mess. Does Bertie and his bandits ring a bell with anyone? Where are they now and what are they doing…only throwing mud at the present Government.

• kinda missing the point !!

• I don’t think anybody is forgetting what FF did. The point is that Enda and co made all sorts of ridiculous promises in the run up to the general election and has practically broken every one of them. He also said that taxing a person’s home was criminal and now he’s trying to do just that. To say to a man that he could do with a day’s work when there is mass unemployment is not only insulting and cruel, but it also shows just how far removed the man is from the realities facing his fellow countrymen. He really doesn’t care about what’s happening here, he is well paid and cares about nothing else. I will never vote FG/Labour again….

• so you are gona vote again for FF who, after feathering their own nests and screwing us over since the early Haughey era, are gona turn the country around next time. They are the crowd who brought us to our knees begging to Europe.

• No Michael, I am not going to vote for FF, where did I say that?

• just dont believe there promises during election time especially when either them or f.f spew out the same shite everytime its not like we havent been warned down through the years a government should not be in power because the they have a stereotypical promise campaign 3wks before an election ..this is not xfactor this is our livelyhood and futures thats at stake..Start thinking outside the box and use yere intuition for future elections look at policies and mandates and decide dont just go on who has the best spin weeks before elections we are partially to blame as the electorate for all this mess ..the government owns R.T.E we all no that so why be fooled.. everytime …if this country declines deeper into the mire its because WE let it happen..WE have our chance on MAY 31st to make our stand ..

• Enda Kenny and Fine Gael voted for the Bank Bailout Scheme in 2008 let’s not forget. They were there, seen the books, knew the state of the country, knew the bailouts would inflict severe taxation and cuts on each and every one of us and voted right along with Fianna Fail. They knew. They didn’t care. They wanted their throne, and they got it. If Enda was in any way worried about the people he would have voted against the Bank Bailouts whilst in opposition but he knew that the minute the bailouts were sanctioned, people would turn against Fianna Fail and bang – we get into power.

Then the lies in the run up to the elections. “Not One More Red Cent”… Like they were appalled that Fianna Fail bailed out the banks and here they were – our saviours – who would burn the bondholders if we voted for them. Look at this mess they’ve left.. BUT THEY KNEW!!

Enda Kenny got his throne, he will continue to look after himself and come the next election he will resign and head off into the sunset with his two fat pensions and lump sum payments. And we are just the little people who could do with a days work and sure €2 a week won’t kill ya. Shameful.

• Fiona

that would be 3 fat pensions – his TD’s, his Taoiseachs and his teachers pensions, actually make it 4 – I forgot about his old age state pension.

• You’re right Michael, it is FF who are to blame.. It’s just that FG/Lab are behaving so like them it’s hard to tell the difference..

Mind you, if what you are saying is correct and all the political parties will just do the same thing regardless of their promises, then what’s the point of democracy?
      They knew what they were getting into, they lied and spouted their own populist nonsense that they knew they would never implement, they did so with enough feigned sincerity to hoodwink enough of the electorate. That is not democracy, it’s fraud.

• Unbelievable arrogant bastard in the face of real human disillusion and hurt that man represents a lot of us here and that’s kennys attitude now he’s in government this incompetent teacher should stick to teaching children and leave right decision making to proper negotiators not left to yes men/boys like him vote no

• In fairness, the “€2 a week” comment was spot on.

Not so sure about the rest of it.

• You don’t have to be Einstein to work that mathematical equation out!!! Your point?????

• The point is there is a sizeable proportion of people who refuse to pay the charge who spent €100/month on fags and booze etc.
      There’s also a sizeable group of non property owning crusties who are not even liable for the tax, jumping on the bandwagon as social agitators.

• Well said jumpthecat….Its always the same muck on here…. Was home last weekend at way to my parents house drove past a house with signs all over ot protesting against household charges etc. etc… Thing is I know the guy that owns it…..worked about 3 years in the last 20, lives in a state built house… Makes me sick to my core…

• I thought this was clarified before. They’re not paying because they can’t, it’s the moral principle.
      If people want to spend money on the little things to make their lives a little more colourful in light of all the cuts, it’s a far more worthy use of funds than pumping them into Phil Hogan’s black hole.

• Most people have no issue with the 2euro a week argument.Its when it becomes 10 or 20 euro a week is where people have a problem.BTW you can’t pay weekly.

• @jumpthecat et al – But it’s not ABOUT being unable to afford €2 a week for introductory HHC. It’s the PRINCIPLE of the matter! People chose to make a stand against an unfair charge and lack of information about the future of the tax and how it would be valued. It’s the future people can’t afford, so they are making a stand NOW.

• In fairness your man Peadar would have paid back in the day before rates were abolished in the 70′s, where they were all replaced with PRSI. Just because a lot of other countries have rates/charges/council tax, doesn’t make it right. Those countries have also got much higher population density compared to here, which is why those taxes are in place. In the UK council tax funds bin collections, public amenities, street security etc…All the household charge will do is be a small drop into the ocean of “the debt” accrued via bank capitalisation and how FF eroded our tax base. If anyone thinks it will remain at €100, and not increase tenfold over the next few years is kidding themselves. However this is a moot point. I can’t believe Enda said that to the man, he has an awful cheek. Its rather sad how FG & Lab were suppose to change things for the better instead of the same old…either things are much more worse off than we can comprehend, or they are jellyfish like the rest of them.

• 1. You can’t pay weekly; 2. It is the principal of imposing a regressive tax across the board that many are protesting against. i.e. Earn a million, or a euro, and you pay the same. Totally unfair. 3. We are not idiots (although Kenny and Hogan think we are!) this exercise is all about getting a database of owners and addresses so that in the next few years we will be paying many multiples of your €2 a week, because by voting No we will be handing the decisions on such things over to EU bureaucrats as soon as the current bail out program runs out in 2015.

• Declan i’m curious you say he owns the house,so how is it that the house’s builder is relevent.As a homeowner does he not have a right to protest against this charge he feels is unjust?

• Norman,
      The house was built and paid for by the state. The thoughts of him complaining about anything let alone 100 euro makes me sick. I am going to do my research on the the Gentlemen in the piece also….Think we need to know their background and context before we pass comment.

• Declan again i’ll point out you said he owns it,so whom ever built it is irrelevent or are you now saying he rents it,please which is it.

• Its very relevant Norman….

• “I am going to do my research on the the Gentlemen in the piece also….’

Who the f**k do you think you are Cotter?

• Declan obviously thinks he works for the CIA.When he profiles this unemployed man and hands it to the authorities they will come down hard this man should know he’s place .My masters will ensure that he never works again ..HEIL DECLAN HEIL KENNY HEIL FINE GAEL YERE ALL NUTTERS

• Ahhh Norman, Norman, Norman

Have you not realised by now that your best bet is to ignore Cotter. He’s a blind fool who idolises the condescending racist pro-Europe puppet, that we have the grave misfortune of having as a Taoiseach. In relation to Cotters attitude to the HHC – as the saying goes “a fool and his money are easily parted”.

• JUMPTHECAT

I’m one of those people who isnt eligible to pay the HHC and I am very proud to stand beside my fellow patriotic brothers and sisters against the treachery perpetrated by Kenny & Co. Ltd, who are more than happy to hand the sovereignty of our nation over the to people and an unaccountable institution that desnt give a flying f..k about the 4 million people who live on this island.

• Dermot…Dont you dare what the f**k me….
      Ann…could care less….if you are calling me a fool, that’s a compliment..

• Seriously – who the f**k do you think you are?

• here we go again with 2€ a week , ITS NOT GOING TO BE TWO BLOODY EUROS A WEEK , ITS GOING TO BE A SIZEABLE PORTION OF YOUR WAGES EACH WEEK, BASED ON THE VALUE OF YOUR HOUSE , AND DEFINATELY NOT ON HOW MUCH YOU HAVE IN YOUR POCKET .

Kenny is so afraid to admit this so he keeps repeating his “2 euros a week ” crap.

• I really don’t think it’d matter who’d be in Enda’s role, there would *always* be someone wanting to pull him aside and berate him over a greivance.

I’m emigrating one day, but I’m not blaming Enda for that.

• There would be someone likely to try and berate a leader Colm, but a good leader would reply with compassion and intelligence, not insult the man, and the nation.
      Even if he thought he was right to say that, the man is stupid enough to say it in front of a camera where the whole country can be outraged by it.
      He never was, and never will be a good leader.

• Awwwww,I’m so disappointed.I was so looking forward to seeing how David (Mr.Young Fianna Gael) Higgins was going to try and defend this ???

Another fine piece of campaigning for the No side,thanks Enda ;-)

• Good man Enda, you tell those crusties !

• Kenny was right.

• If the cat had kittens they’d be blaming Enda Kenny for it. Some people are totally irrational to deal with, that mans son is working in Wales, a half an hour flight to Ireland, get a grip. Mr Kenny kept more composure than I would have if people were verbally abusing me in the way they were to him.

• Take the bridge, head west and keep going. If you find that verbally abusive you must be very easily insulted. And regardless of where that man’s son is working, he is not in this country. He is not paying taxes here, he is paying taxes for another country. Do you think that is right? That Irish citizens must leave their own country to have the priviledge of working? For if they stay in their own country they will end up on the dole, and called a scrounger and worse? And be vilified by their own government?

You speak of half an hours flight. How much are those flights? How many times a year can the son afford to come home, can the father afford to visit him? Now ask yourself, if Enda Kenny’s son was in a different country what would be the restrictions on either to visit as many times as they wanted? That is the issue here. Children are being forced to leave this country and their parents and families mightn’t see them from one year to the next, but sure you have skype and flights – sure it’s all grand. People are angry, downright angry and they have every right to be.

• ;)

;)

/

Read

On

A

End

• So someone personally insults the Taoiseach and he’s just supposed to stand there and take it is he?

• Fair play Enda.

Add New Comment