TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Report: Government should establish a ‘youth guarantee’ for unemployed

A jobs committee has made a number of recommendations, including introducing a €1 million Youth Entrepreneurship Fund.

File photo
File photo
Image: Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD introduce a youth guarantee for unemployed young people, a jobs committee has said.

The Committee on Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation said in a report that the guarantee should be established “in the shortest timeframe to help tackle the serious problem of youth and long-term unemployment”.

Their suggestion comes weeks after the Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton TD, welcomed the progress made on the EU Youth Guarantee, which itself would be a major part of the EU response to the youth enemployment crisis.

Youth guarantee

A youth guarantee means guaranteeing a person aged 15 – 24 an apprenticeship, traineeship, or continued education within four months of becoming unemployed, the committee said.

Ireland will know if its application to be included in the EU Youth Guarantee pilot programme will be successful by the end of March 2013.

The committee made a number of suggestions in its report Creating Policies That Work: Actions to Address Youth and Long-Term Unemployment.

Its approach to the jobs crisis includes the following recommendations:

• Keep young people and jobseekers engaged with the jobs market through work placement, training and education
  • Focus on securing funding for investment and job creation
  • Match jobseekers with suitable jobs, with the co-operation of the public and private sectors.

It also says that the government, in collaboration with industry, should consider rolling out a national youth strategy on entrepreneurship, and create a €1 million trial Youth Entrepreneurship fund

The committee recommends that Ireland consider developing a scheme for encouraging entrepreneurship among first-time jobseekers (aged 18-35), following the example set by Portugal.

Portugal provides aid for the start-up of small, for-profit companies that create jobs.

The report suggests the the expansion of the MOMENTUM Initiative, which provides courses to give the long term unemployed skills in order to access work in sectors of the economy where there are job opportunities.

The chairperson of the committee, Damien English TD, explains more in this video:

(oireachtasfilm/YouTube)

The full report can be read here.

Read: Troika sounds warning note about Ireland’s unemployment rate>

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• “Keep young people and jobseekers engaged with the jobs market through work placement, training and education”

They would want to review and improve those existing training and education.I have a friend who is on a CE Scheme for a year or so now,and what they have told me in their particular case,they are being offered little or no training(nothing that could benefit getting a job) while the company they are with,are getting cheap labour,with no chance of a future job within that company,while the company grows and cutting their costs because they are not paying salaries.It’s a government sponsored scam,in their words!!!

• Internships are a complete joke, they are taking advantage of the unemployed and taking up what would have been actual jobs. Hopefully this is not true in all cases.

• Aah now, thats not true. Employers win as they have their wage bill footed by the taxpayer and the Govt win because it helps them message the unemployment figures. As for the losers, well… as long as me and mine are ok then what does it matter.

:/

• Each TD should adopt a young person because they can always find a job for relation,s

• i tried to get funding for truck driving lessons a while back i got 500 euros which may sound like a lot but the average cost is 3000 euros. i have a job lined up once i can get all my licenses, but of course that does not create any admin jobs for anyone else. what it does do is guarantee me a job in another country and me off the dole

• tom 19/02/13 #

Why am I so sceptical that this will be jobs for the boys administrating yet another scheme.

• I have it where i work. But how can we use it if it keeps getting cut year on year.

• Julie 19/02/13 #

I am a young person working a few days a week, one of them days is a Sunday, Joan burton on her 100+ salary has now taken my Sundays off me before you could work your sundays and no money would be deducted from you, now it works out that I am working for 3 euro an hour, I am grateful that I have a job, even if it is not what I studied but this is a massive disincentive to work. I find it hard to live on what I earn, I can just imagine how a family will be effected by this. Lots of young people are only part time working actually everyone that finished college with me is either part time working or have left Ireland. Ye government seen to not be able to afford a lot of things but one thing they seem to be able to afford no problem are their lavish salaries, allowances and expenses. Shame on them.

• How are you only making 3 euro an hour im confused

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Really Jay, you actually expect me to go in to detail with someone who I don’t know what I get paid and how that works out. But I will explain briefly. Seanad TDs get 63 euro a day to get to work ok, for every night I go to work Joan b takes a chunk of what I earn on that night off me, she used not take in to account if I worked a Sunday, so if you take into account the amount of day I work, the amount of hours and the big chunk of my wages that gets taken off me, it works out at about 3 euro an hour and I would be getting paid a good bit above min wage, I don’t mind when I work I get docked, makes sense, but the Sundays were a huge bonus to me and helped me pay bills etc. it prob not as financially bad for me as this is for many young people my age looking after children having a family to care for, in sure this will make a huge difference to there already very unsustainable income. That an ok answer for you Jay you hardly expect me to go into my personal finances with you.

• No julie nobody expects you to go through your personel finances but youve made a statement claiming your paid 3 euro an hour which unless your sending this email from a different country its inpossible

In relation to the rest of your comment im assuming your reciving assistance from the goverment ( the very government you hate). Well te fact that sundays were exempt from the system was a discrace anyway it ment that people were allowed work 3 days actually were working. 4. Ans in some cases coming out with the same money as someone working 5 days … Explaing how thats fair . Or is your obvious feeling of self entitelment getting in the way of the obvious

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Believe me jay what I get from the state is minimal . Yes lots of people hate this government your point is. That is what it work out at roughly. Okay so your argument is your going to compare me to someone working full time, I would love to be working fulltime, but that is impossible. As I said earlier it won’t effect me financially as bad as a family who will now see more of a cut in their wages meaning they have less money to feed their kids and heat the house. Also they want to keep youth in employment, that is a disincentive to stay in work or stay here. Slave labour rates, just like the internships and apprenticeships they have young people doing, I have my degree I have my education done when is their going to be a job around for me besides more education. I have my education.

• You get state minimum SO WAT. You still recieve assistance from them to help you get by if they decide to chance the terms of the assistance to make it farer on the tax payer and on the people who work Full time so be it . I think its very hypocrytical that you conplain about the government on this so much why they are paying you while you work then you conplain ecause tey day where you get paid time and a half you now have to class that as your working week … Well im sorry thats life. Moat od us in the real world think thats reasonable … And as for your 3 euro nonsence stick to facts itll make what your saying sound half respectable

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Oh jay do you really think the government are cutting me to make it fairer really. Okay and look you always resort to personal , it not a me against you thing going on here, that loss of money will have a devastating effect on some families, you do know POVERTY look up poverty, has had a increase in Ireland. It won’t have as bad effect on me, will make things difficult, but don’t for one second think they did it for your benefit. Your spelling went a bit all over the place there don’t know what you were trying to say,most private sector don’t pay time and a half on Sundays anymore, and public sector they doing the same trying to take away there overtime and extras.you would reckon I was awarding myself a salary of 2000 a week and giving out about losing my phone allowance, maybe you don’t understand people in low income or even middle same as people unemployed can afford anymore cuts. as always jay your crazy rants were a great way to start my morning.

• Julie i cane from povety we were actually dirt poor my mother raised 5 of us on her own so i k ow what it is only to well but the diff between me and people like you is i know im entitled to nothing in life. me like most people are one or two paychecks away from poverty . Without welfare my childhood would have been a whole lot worse but you can be sure i never ever hear my mother or anyone like her complain about the government like you do

• Julie 20/02/13 #

a lot of people did my mom grew up in a three bedroom house with 8 brothers and sisters, was no walk in the park, my grandad worked in the ESB and got a good enough wage enough to eat and keep warm they were not entitled to books, transport to school, medical cards, so they struggled along with my grandads wage but they never begrudged the neighbour who didn’t have a job and had to take welfare, which is kinda what you are doing now, we are all getting screwed together, I can’t get a full time job but if I had one and you didn’t, if we were in different positions I would be angry that they took your Sunday and I would be angry that I am paying more taxes but I would not turn on you you didn’t cause this I would turn on the people who put both of us in this situation. Yes your mother didn’t give out about government it was a different society people didn’t know the extent of what they were up to. Look at what they have done and are still doing jay, that wasn’t a good deal, they doing the same as FF it pretty clear.

• Fact of the matter is you claim more than you contrabute and yet you still complain

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Fact of the matter is jay, that is because the government have been inflicting austerity measures on me and you which is not leading to any growth and meaning I have NO option to contribute. There is no work here for me. I didn’t want to finish college and sign on, I wanted to work make a wage, just like my sister who was made to feel like a sponger because she couldn’t find work, she is now happy in oz with her wildlife biology degree working, hopefully I will be too but jay I don’t want to be claiming, I want to be working and I get people who work get frustrated because they hitting ye hard and ye have to work hard and their cutting and cutting but I did nothing to cause that , I can do nothing to fix it, so can we just stop turning on each other and look at the guys who are doing this and ask yourself are they really trying their best to get us out of this situation, no THEIR MAKING IT WORSE.

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Maybe of we all looked at them guys instead of each other we might all realise we are being made fools of and put and end to it, just a thought.

• Whats your alternative to austerity? Another hyper i flated boom to keep us all working

• Julie 20/02/13 #

Jay there has to be an alternative to something that isn’t working otherwise things will just get worse here, I think a good alternative it not a quick fix but it will lead to an improvement from what is happening at the moment is stop paying toxic bank debt that wasn’t mine and wasn’t yours and start investing it in the domestic economy to stimulate growth, if we keep going down this road of austerity with tiny growth what is going to be the outcome where are we heading with austerity budget on top of austerity budget the bondholders are doing fine. I know we have to pay our sovereign debt every country has to but maybe just maybe if we weren’t incurring all these banking debts we would have more money to invest in the economy, generating growth an jobs and making it easier to pay sovereign debt back.

• Why not throw in their one-way flight out of here? There isn’t really much point in training, further education and apprenticeships when there are no jobs here at the end of it.

• That’s the spirit

• Well according to your Twitter Michael you’re enquiring about postal costs for a product to Ireland. Buy local if you really have any interest in Irish job creation ;)

• Actually there are jobs here – many of which cannot be filled and people have to be brought in to fill these vacancies. Surely so what we need us a lot more training, retraining and upskilling rather thsn encouraging peopke to throw in the towel.

• Actually Gerry apprenticeships apprenticeships are a waste of time and financial resources as the industry has collapsed. Traineeships for the retail industry is a market that’s over saturated. Mickey Mouse six weeks courses are going to make feck all difference. FAS has already witnessed huge cuts in staff and funding. Fiddles from higher management haven’t helped. Perhaps the government could create jobs that these young people could be trained for?

• Lots of jobs in I.T just have to be interested / passionate in the field. We had a couple going but the quality of people was a real let down. Lots of people come here from all over to work and find a job easy enough. Thats why i think its all about drive/passion.

• Btw i did a mickey mouse fas course , while not intensive it did put me on the path to what i wanted to do. Just took over a year worth of freelance/apprenticeships well worth it though

• tom 19/02/13 #

@ gerry
      This isnt true that we have to seek immigrants to fill jobs. 5 years ago maybe but not now. Sure you’ll find isolated cases where languages can be benefit but these are predominately low skill call centre jobs that make up a tiny % of jobs on offer. The problem is we have nearly 1/2 million unemployed competing for few jobs not unemployable with lack of skills competing for lots of jobs.

bricklayers, plasters, electricians & plummers apprenticeships only make sense if there is prospects in those fields unless we are training these people to work abroad. As we are currently doing with our degree students.

In short we need to stimulate the economy to generate job creation.

I’ve no issue with training and its good thing to do anyway but we must be realistic it doesn’t create jobs.

• many of those jobs need high levels of proficiency in languages or IT, something that isnt going to be fixed with retraining but with a fundamental change at primary and secondary school level

• f.f.s

• Anyone who is young, unemployed and has a strong work ethic should just hi tail it to Australia. A pot washer in a restaurant over here will still make $800 a week. More if they do over time

• Thomas st

• Ireland Somalia. No fee speech and pirates everywhere

• Where my comment go?

• We provide training and up-skilling in areas such as Legal Secretary, Exec PA, Accounts Technician, CompTia N+ A+, and Medical Secretary. Currently there is work in all these areas. The courses are offered full time or part time and can be completed in as little as three months. The courses are an industry standard and we are accredited by City and Guilds, ITEC, CompTia, Microsoft, FETAC.
    http://www.pitmantrainingswords.ie

• There have been 3 full time jobs advertised by two coffee shops and one spar next to my office for the past 3 weeks. I had a chat with the staff in the coffee shop and they said they only got one CV from a Brazilian student but he could not work full time. Let’s face it,many unemployed people are not prepared to work for the minimum wage since the level of their benefits is nearly as much as a weekly minimum wage paycheck.

• How about creating alternative education programs for young people that are not suited for the regular education program.

Though the German education system isn’t perfect. They have done one thing right! They created three school programs that insure all young people receives a decent education.

One track is for university bond. The other is trade schools. Trade schools train from auto mechanics to accounting. And lastly.. A liberal arts styled school that offers studies for those who are challenged or have pwrsonal issues. The schools are not segregated but they do require references, prior course work proof, interviews testing and interviews to insure the student us in the right place. The student can switch at anytime, provided they meet all of the prerequisites. These schools also support Special Education.

The goal of the German school system is to insure that all young people matriculate with and education and a trade.

One edecation system doesn’t fit all.

• Any training courses for politician,s

Add New Comment