Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Advertisement

How to delete your Google browsing history ahead of new privacy policy

Tomorrow Google will launch a new privacy policy which could allow services like YouTube to access your browsing history – but there’s still time to opt out.

Image: Martin Keene/PA Wire/Press Association Images

TOMORROW GOOGLE WILL introduce a new privacy policy which allows it to gather, store and use your personal information – meaning services like YouTube could be able to access your browsing history.

When the new policy comes into effect, all data collected on users until that date (1 March) will be assigned to their online identity represented by the Gmail and YouTube accounts, TechNewsDaily reports. Users will not be able to opt out of the privacy policy once it takes effect, without abandoning Google services.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF), a non-profit organisation based in San Francisco, has advised all users to delete their browsing history, Digital Journal reports.

The following simple steps will limit Google’s ability to track your movements online and send you customised search results:

1. Sign into your account

2. Click the dropdown menu in the upper-right hand corner of your screen (by your username)

3. Click accounts settings

4. Find the “Services” section

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

5. Beside “Services” there is a sub-section that reads “Go to Web History”

6. Click “Remove all Web History”

From here, you can remove all of your previous history or selected items and stop your Web History from being recorded in the future. Once you disable your Web History it will remain turned off until you turn it on again.

White House calls on internet firms to strengthen privacy protection for users>

new privacy policy which allows it to gather, store and use your personal information – meaning services like YouTube could be able to access your browsing history.

About the author:

Read next:

COMMENTS (58)