This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 3 June, 2020

Ireland’s first national tourism town named...

It was chosen from a shortlist of ten top tourism towns.

Image: S. Hanusch via Shutterstock

PORTMAGEE IN CO Kerry has been named as the first ever winner of the National Tourism Towns Awards.

For coming out on top, it won a €10,000 grant towards developing itself as a tourism destination, the other nine short-listed towns received €1,000 grants.

The award was designed by Fáilte Ireland to promote Irish towns and villages working hardest to enhance their appeal to tourists.

The shortlisted towns were: Ballyvaughan, Co Clare; Clonakilty, Co Cork; Dundalk, Co Louth; Ennis, Co Clare; Kilkenny, Co Kilkenny; Killarney, Co Kerry; Letterkenny, Co Donegal; Trim, Co Meath and Westport, Co Mayo.

Read: What hotspot will be named Ireland’s first ‘Tourism Town’? >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Amy Croffey

Read next: