We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Screengrab of the 'World's Worst Website'
The Ugly Truth

Best Irish website awards to introduce 'worst website' award

Nominations for the annual Realex Web Awards are now open. In terms of web design, this year’s ceremony will be recognising the bad and the downright ugly, alongside the good.

DO YOU RUN an Irish business that needs to be dragged, kicking and screaming into the 21st, or even the late 20th century? Well, the Realex Fire Web Awards wants to hear from you.

The company has just launched its annual drive to find Ireland’s best websites (previous winners include, and a certain online news publication called; there’s one major departure this time around — they’re introducing the category of Ugliest Website in Ireland .

“The rationale behind the idea is that there might be a lot of people out there not happy with their own website, so we decided to bring in the ‘ugliest’ award,” Paul Dunne of Realex Fire told

Dunne said that business or website owners would only be allowed to nominate themselves, as allowing others to do so would be “unnecessarily cruel”.

It’s open to people who may be looking at their website and thinking ‘this badly needs an update’, so it’s a different sort of prize.

The winners will get a complete site makeover worth €4,500 from the V7 agency.

Aside from the ‘ugliest’ category, the Realex awards stand out from other similar processes in that anyone can nominate a site, and the long list of nominees is drawn solely from public nominations by a judging panel. All nominations (there were over 600 last year) are listed on the awards website.

The free-to-enter awards have 29 categories recognising websites in areas like News and Media, Entertainment and Arts, Technology and Social, Government and Education. New categories on this year’s list include Best Website of a Start-up and Best Daily Web Publication.

Nominations can be entered at The process closes on 12 September, with finalists announced in October. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Dublin’s Four Seasons Hotel in November.

(Youtube: Amy Leigh Campbell)

Read: The Pat Kenny Show on Newstalk just landed itself a new sponsor >

Read: New York Times website down in ‘malicious’ attack >

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.