#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 24 May 2022

Denis O'Brien owned Topaz appoints Brian Cowen as director

A number of O’Brien’s other close associates have also been appointed to the board.

Cowen joins the Topaz board.
Cowen joins the Topaz board.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Images

FORMER TAOISEACH BRIAN Cowen and billionaire Denis O’Brien are among the new appointees to the board of the fuel distribution company Topaz.

Both have been appointed as non-executive directors along with the former managing director of AIB, Colm Doherty.

O’Brien became the outright owner of Topaz after buying over €300 million of the group’s loans from IBRC.

Lucy Gaffney, who is chairperson of O’Brien’s Communicorp group, has also been appointed to the Topaz board along with with Sean Corkey who is the CEO of SiteServ.

Siteserv is owned by Denis O’Brien and one if its subsidiaries was awarded the contract to install water meters in Ireland.

The CEO of Smiles Dental Emmet O’Neill has also been appointed to the board, O’Neill is O’Brien’s nephew.

In addition, Topaz chief financial officer, Niall Devereux, is also joining the board.

John Callaghan is to remain as chairman and said that, “The new directors bring a unique level of expertise and knowledge which will be invaluable in the continued growth and expansion of Topaz.”

The company employs 1,700 people across 330 sites in Ireland and has an annual turnover of over €3 billion.

Read: Taoiseach: Ahern and Cowen won’t be reluctant to appear before banking inquiry >

Read: “There is no one more sorry than I” – Brian Cowen >

About the author:

Rónán Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel