TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Beaumont Hospital bans smoking on its grounds

The HSE has set a target of banning smoking from the grounds of all health campuses by 2015.

Beaumont Hospital in Dublin
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

BEAUMONT HOSPITAL IN Dublin has become the latest hospital to ban smoking anywhere on its grounds.

The ban, which came into effect today, applies to staff, patients and visitors at the hospital who will no longer be able to smoke anywhere on the hospital campus, including doorways, entrances or car parks.

The professor who led the steering committee which made the decision said that the rationale for the move had been “very simple”.

“Smoking is the single largest preventable cause of disease and premature death and there is a growing recognition throughout the developed world that allowing smoking on healthcare campuses significantly undermines the health promotion message of healthcare organisations,” said Professor Gerry McElvaney.

Liam Duffy, the CEO of Beaumont, said it was the hospital’s obligation to provide a safe environment for its patients, staff and visitors.

The hospital is following the lead of a number of other hospitals around the country. Waterford Regional, Galway University Hospital, all of the hospitals in the Mid-Western Regional Hospital Group, and Cork University Hospital have all successfully banned smoking from their campuses, as well as St Vincent’s, Connolly Hospital Blanchardstown and the Mater in Dublin.

The HSE has set a target of banning smoking from the grounds of all health campuses by 2015.

Government to press ahead with ban on smoking in cars >

More houses now imposing a home smoking ban >

Read next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• siobeli 04/07/12 #

Looking forward to when they do this for maternity hospitals….awful to see heavily pregnant woman smoking outside the hosp

• Completely agree with you! I’m going to the rotunda for the second time around. It doesn’t seem to be as bad now though as it was with my first son thankfully. Walking through a cloud of smoke to get into hospital when heavily pregnant was nasty but it was made worse by the fact that the cloud was created by women who were also pregnant!! Quit,at least while your pregnant!

• It’s a tricky one as a lot of psychiatric patients smoke and when they have to go to a general hospital and leave the grounds to smoke who is responsible for them if they are not capable of minding themselves.come to think of it if u are an in patient in a general hospital do u have to sign out without medical consent for a fag as if u got knocked down crossing the road in ur dressing gown wouldn’t u b in the care of the hospital of u were still an in patient.

• Would it not ban people dying on trolleys ?

• I’d always see aul wans outside puffing on a fag, standing in the doorways directly below the “No Smoking” sign (and 15m from the smoking booths) in their dressing gown looking sick as death.

Just an observation…. they’ve no respect for themselves, so the least they can do is be forced to respect others who have to walk past them.

• I just have one question maybe it has been answered but how will they enforce this. I know some security will be on Thier wits end telling people to stop what they are doing. And what about the ones that don’t give rats ass and cause trouble it even fight with them. Hmm who knows.

• @Stephanie The best I’ve heard is ‘I don’t want to stop smoking cause I’ll get fat’ nGreat logic. The hospital should look at roof top smoking areas if how it looks at the main entrance.

• Just ban smoking, full stop! I say that as someone who smoked for twenty years.

• I have a apin in my face walking through crowds of smokers puffing away outside the hospital I work in. The security tell them to move away from the door but they get grief from the smokers.
    Im a patient in Tallaght Hospital as I have asthma and I have to walk through a cloud of fag smoke everytime I need to attend a clinic. Its disgusting and vile.

• I wonder if other peoples addictions are treated in this manner by the medical profession…

• Free methadone for unproductive members of society that spend their days breaking the laws. Smokers who are productive members of society however must pay for nicoteine patches, ridiculous.

• Sorry now Ann but this really deserves addressing. How dare you state something with absolutely no consideration to facts!?
      http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0426/drugs.html – read this. You will find that those in methadone programs are those who are trying their damnedest to get beyond addiction. You can also find out more here: http://www.imt.ie/opinion/2010/10/15978.html. Crime is linked with drugs, yes, however those on methadone treatment are making their own effort in a world where ignorance to addiction is rampant – this thread alone highlights how widespread that ignorance is.

It’s very easy to be up there on the high moral ground when addiction has not affected you. Even to bring up such a point is to stray from the article (but I fell it needed to be addressed)

Such a move, IMO is over-doing it. I just gave up smoking a few weeks ago and I understand both sides of this argument. There is no reason to ban smoking outright truthfully. The hospital could enforce the ban in such areas as those described by people so that smokers would not be in the path of non-smokers.
      The real reason for this is obvious; the hospital are taking a stance which says “we cannot send the message that something so unhealthy is acceptable on our grounds”.

That is very much a reasonable step IMO – just as a teacher cursing around students would be a bad example whether on the grounds of the school or outside it. It is a reflection of the professionality of the institution to enforce such rules.
      If such circumstances extend beyond the gates of a managed institution onto the public streets then yes, I think it deserves to be called nanny state stuff.

@ Sheila B – I’m sorry that your experience of smokers is such a negative one – I genuinely am. However, to say that you are out walking in the street in a “huge cloud of disgusting cigarette smoke” might be overstating things just a tad? Are you sure it wasn’t just a backfiring Garda car?

• I’d love to know if the 3:2 ratio so far on thumbs (against) my comment represents people who actually understand the issues or are simply going along with immediate emotive responses.

Ignore the facts at you’re own loss…. It’s your loss not mine. (P.S. I know the way it goes, address thumbs down and get thumbs down – if you do, you’re just highlighting how right I am)

OOOOOOOO what to do?!

• think people have the right to smoke why not give them a smoking room instead people will have to leave the hospital grounds to do it,and what happens if something happens to the Person while outside hospital having a smoke.if someone is dieing anyway to be deprived of a smoke in there final weeks is just not right.

• Its absolutely vile having to watch patients in dressing gowns smoking in a hut or doorway of a hospital & totally unacceptable. A smoke lasts for a few minutes but your health is irreparably damaged, I’m sure the doctors ans nurses do be furious seeing them all puffing away.

• It’s worse when that person is your patient. I’ve been working as a both a student and chartered physio for over four years and I will never cease to be amazed and the bullet headedness with which people treat smoking even in the face of serious illness. I don’t support a complete ban but I do support any measure that takes the smoke away from people who haven’t chosen to smoke.

• found that quite funny, as a smoker and was in hospital went to smoking area to find the doctor who had just lectured me about my smokibg puffing his brains out.. at the end of the day its the persons own choice..

• More of the nanny state. I understand why people cannot smoke in the vicinity of non smokers but sending all the patients outside the hospital grounds in the dressing gowns is a bit vindictive. Smoking in the open air hardly affects non smokers. What about the cars entering the hospital grounds emitting dangerous fumes? FGS. We are turning into a nanny state and too many of us are willing to be led by the hand towards complete obedience.

• I completley agree with you Reada. It has recently been found that deisel fumes are more harmful than asbestos, but they wont ban parking in hospital grounds. Far too much money to be made from that lucritvie sideline. Also if the patient is knocked down or falls and breaks a limb walking down that road to the gates of Beaumont hospital will the hospital be liable. You will find that nurses aids will be spending a lot of their time standing at the gates with patients in wheelchairs.

• I’ve walked passed/behind people on the street and they have flicked their ash into my clothes with not a care or sorry in the world. They have discarded their cigarette onto the footpath at my feet. While walking on the street I have continuously walked into a huge cloud of disgusting cigarette smoke. After showering and putting clean clothes on each day, within minutes I stink of their cigarette smoke.

A lot of us I am sure have a few bad habits, but smoking and contaminating others fresh air is not one of mine.

• paul 04/07/12 #

you can smoke if you can pay for your own health care. how about that?

• most people do!

• Paul, let’s not get into that debate – people have thrown around figures before which have not proved to be based on facts or at the very lest do not confirm the whole picture.

Also – smokers die about 7-8 years earlier than non-smokers so in that time, 29% of the population are saving the taxpayer in unpaid pensions.

If you want to get into the money argument, come prepared.

• paul 05/07/12 #

@ tomynnI have no idea what you are talking about as in no sense can be made out of what you wrote. Sorry.

• I think you know exactly what I’m saying – that’s why you are sidestepping it. But to clarify, rather than leave it hang….

The revenue take on tobacco is €1.2bn – this is a fact based figure.
      The treatment of tobacco related illnesses has been quoted (with no backup) as a bit over €2bn.
      I’ve asked where people have come up with the cost to health services before with no answer but taking a look around it seems to have come from a couple of sources. One of those is a report which quotes 6-15% of healthcare budgets in countries like Ireland is spent on smoking related illnesses. Those who want to attack smokers choose the 15% and that equates pretty much to the €2bn that gets quoted.
      And by sticking to the 15% the anti-smoking lobby claim that smoking is costing everyone else approx €1bn.

The other source is a news report where minister Shortall claims cost to health budget of €2bn+/year. I’ve yet to see this statement reported alongside any supporting research (other than the report by the HSE which states 6-15%)

If you stick to the 6% figure, the cost is about €800m – in which case smokers are contributing €400m per year to the economy.

On top of this is Paddy’s point. Most people do pay for their own healthcare. When the cost to health budget gets quoted, I’d like it if a more comprehensive statement were made. Is this cost recovered through health insurance in whole or in part? I suspect it is….

If the argument is an economic one then the shorter lifespan of smokers is also a valid (if uncomfortable) thought.

I don’t write this to defend smokers – I write it to defend good sense. Often people make statements based on very little, with very little though put into it. These comment pages just allow the vocal to spew absolute rubbish about how they feel, not about facts.

For anyone thinking of giving up smoking, I hope you manage it. I recently have myself.

• paul 06/07/12 #

Jaysus tomy. Sorry I asked.

• But that’s my point.
      I don’t mean to be taking digs at you about this Paul but just today I quoted research on the Youth Defense Facebook page.
      They didn’t like it.
      I appear now to be banned.
      They have also deleted my comments which were in no way abusive. Obviously they had no answer and feared that people reading the research I pointed at would steer them away from the so called pro-life stance.

I feel that people should not just vomit their feelings onto places like this. Just take a look at the thumbs for some comments – absolute tripe. Across many websites “likes” are allowing those who simply don’t know to roll with their feelings with no effort made to find out the facts.

The above is a fairly significant rant – I hope you don’t take it as aimed at you. That’s certainly not the intention. I don’t even know what the intention is… Mostly I suppose to point out that people stating their opinion as fact does not constitute fact.

P.S. if anyone has interest in seeing the comments which were deleted and banned I’b be happy to share them. Dunno what the most insulated way to do that is though…..

• It must annoy doctors and nurses who work so hard trying to mend these people then they go outside and light up.

• I’m sure it does – as it annoyed me when my dad spent a week in hospital with pleurisy. I visited – he said “let’s head outside”.
      I gave him grief and he said that he would give up straight away if it wasn’t so painful to cough and he expected to cough when he did give up.

I thought he was giving me a load of lies but he hasn’t smoked since recovering from that. I’m sure that in the majority of cases those who smoke outside hospitals will continue to do so but not all…. I’m sure medical professionals see that too.

• Just been to Beaumont and there’s smoke coming from the bushes and behind walls ,it’s sent smokers hiding to hav a quick fag

• Its crazy to be walking by hospitals and to see very ill people out smoking even in wheel chairs. While they are in hospital wouldnt you think they would stop.

• I work in a hospital and people smoke right outside clinic windows and waiting room windows they are told to move but give out because they have to walk 2 mins to the smoking area. It’s disgusting. Smell of it in the hospital then..

• So if a patient needs a smoke they have to make their way almost 1km off hospital grounds! It’s ridiculous.

• Oh no, how will that poor old man dying from lung cancer have his fag now?!

• i think the majority of people realise smokers should be given an area and having to be outside doors was never a fair option 4 smokers or non smokers. the insanity of banning it on all grounds of hospitals is insane and totally unfair. how can patients be expected to walk outside hosp grounds in mostly bad wet weather here or for those unable to walk depending on injury or illness,they pay such a high tax and yet treated worse then murderers. i just pray i never see the inside of any hosp. plus how r hosp going to cope with so many suffering withdrawal. lots of cranky patients is what might change the hse bad services to patients looks like fun days ahead.

• Nanny state I ain’t giving up smoking

• It’s a disgusting vile habit and innocent non smokers should not be inconvenienced just because someone else has no manners and as for a pregnant woman standing outside a hospital smoking. She does not deserve to have a baby!

• Good point Paul, how about a health levy on a pack of twenty to compensate for the huge negative impact on the nations overall health, maybe €5. As a very occasional social smoker, they are still too cheap in my opinion.

• Plenty of research out there about the optimum tax level on tobacco products.

If you look into it, you’ll find that there is a limit that you can tax to. Anything beyond that and you encourage the black market. Then you’re into an entire other mess which most people simply don’t see.

• The doctors in America wont treat peoplei who smoke, I try and tell the clowns who drink in the pub the danger of smoking but I think they was at the back of the Q when the brains was giving out.

• I can see both sides of this arguement but as someone with a chronic lung disease I’m kinda glad I don’t have to walk through clouds of smoke – except every time I enter or leave the hospital there is still a group of dedicated smokers, even in the pelting rain. Some even bring small stools with them, so the cloud has just moved.
    At a local shopping centre, the Scotch Hall in Drogheda, there is a sign at the back doors saying clearly NO SMOKING IN THIS AREA yet everyone does, including the security staff, and when the automatic doors open the cold air outside blows the cloud of smoke inside. You can’t win. Does anyone know if there is a law regarding how far smokers should be from a sign asking them not to smoke, or from a doorway?

• Smoking is an addiction and for most it’s not a simple matter of stopping by choice. I would suggest that while any smoker is a patient in hospital , they ate visited by a smoking cessation team and offered options to help them quit. Being accusatory and intolerant will never help a smoker to quit. If one or two leave a week ready to try and quit it’s a start.

Add New Comment