TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Government to press ahead with ban on smoking in cars

The ban will only apply to cars where there are children present.

Image: Owen Humphreys/PA Wire/Press Association Images

DRAFT LAWS BANNING smoking in cars where there are children present have been approved by the Government.

Three senators, Professor John Crown, Sen Jillian Van Turnhout and Sen Mark Daly have all been working together on the issue.

Sen Van Turnhout told TheJournal.ie in April that the senators were putting forward “very simple” legislation.

Children are suffering. So it is specifically in relation to children and we are suggesting that there is a fine [for those caught].

Under the legislation, gardaí would be responsible for policing whether people are smoking in cars with children also present.

Senator van Turnhout described it as a public health issue but said that it would make sense for gardaí to have responsibility for policing it, given that they look after road safety issues.

According to RTÉ, the Government has approved the draft laws. Health Minister James Reilly can now draw up amendments to the private members’ bill concerning the issue.

Read: Ban smoking in cars with children present, say senators>

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• The type of people who would smoke in a car with children in it are exactly the type of people who would ignore any such law…

• Have to agree with this law. It’s disgusting to smoke when young children are stuck in a car with you.

• About time. There really is no excuse for smoking in cars with young children present. I see them on a regular basis, waiting to pick up other children from school, smoking away with windows barely open. In one case, a near neighbour of mine who works as a childminder, smokes away with other people’s children with her in the car.

• where did you see it limited to young children?

• I didn’t see it as limited to young children Michael. I simply thought that the youngest of our population were the most vulnerable regarding this problem. Older children had at least some chance of escaping from the problem, whereas, younger children had no such chance. I value all our young equally, but there is a clear difference between how a four year old can protect himself from harm, and how a fourteen year old approaches the same dilemma.

• can anyone tell me the age cut-off, is it 18? cause I know 16-17yr olds who drive and smoke!

• Obviously it’s a great move in an effort to protect children but unfortunately it won’t be policed. Look at people still using their phone while driving. That goes unpoliced. I lose count of the amount of drivers on the phone every day… and I’m the Count!

• The amount of people that allow their young children to sit in the front seat amazes me, and there are still adults that dont insist their children wear seatbelts. If the police can not prevent this type of idiotic behaviour, cant see how succesful policing this will be.

• I totally agree with this law but sadly I don’t see it being enforced.the Garda just don’t have the resources to police that sort of law sure i often see people on the mobile while there driving how many years has that been against law

• I intend to ban children from my car. Simple.

• Smoking in a car when kids are present is child abuse in my book & as for the other comments above regarding safe driving they are total bolloxology ie if you have to scratch your ar*e are you going to get 3 points & an €80 fine because you are distracted ?

• It is great to see the Government accept a Private Members’ Bill from Senators, rather than voting it down and bringing it forward in their own name. Great work by Senators Crown, van Turnhout and Daly.

• Why not just ban bad parents.

• Can’t be policed won’t be policed.

• Barry 26/06/12 #

Yet they said the same same thing about the smoking ban in pubs, yet look at how thats had such a affect.

• And using mobile phones whilst driving….stand on the side any busy road in the country and count the number of people who flaunt that law and how many prosecutions in comparison.

• To be honest, lighting up while driving is no different to holding a mobile. Both are a distraction. Between the getting the cigarette out, grabbing for the lighter etc.

What gets me is seeing people driving really expensive cars and normal family cars holding a fon to their ear. If one can’t afford a proper ‘hands free kit’ there is always the EUR12 fons that can be used without having to take either hands of the steering wheel. It’s not perfect but at least both hands ‘should’ be on the wheel.

Which would one prefer? Spending EUR12 on little ear fons or 2 points on licence and a fine!

• They can’t ban smoking outright in cars. Are they going to ban me eating food, taking a drink. Opening a drink bottle is the same as lighting a cig.

• Very true about the smoking ban in pubs…profound affect…. We dont go to the pub anymore… Meeting at our houses is much more fun and far cheaper too…. Totally agree. Pub smoking ban was a great idea.

• I prefer sitting in a smoky pub than sitting next to noisy kids in a non smoking bar.BAN KIDS IN BARS.Bars are for grown-ups who can enjoy a drink and a smoke and get away from reality for a while.

• Zoooom! Straight off the point. Just because the economy is on its knees doesnt mean that everything else comes to a standstill. This proposed piece of legislation is about protecting children from exposure to cigarette smoke as well as smoking as a habit.

Not everything is about money / economy / bankers blah blah although it did take a whole 43 minutes for someone to mention the B word in a totally unrelated article.

Kudos!

• It’s not off the point to suggest that this really is pretty low on what SHOULD be on this country’s list of priorities. It’s a much more relevant point than ignoring that people should recognise that it is legislation for something that is undeniably obvious?

It is obvious that smoking is harmful, we’ve known this for decades. It’s obvious that you shouldn’t subject kids (who are not involved in your choice to smoke) to a confined environment while smoking (or to smoking in any environment).

We don’t need laws to tell us what is obvious – unfortunately, people often like how fresh the air is on their high horse and like to think that their idiot neighbour will get busted for it someday – but let’s be honest, most idiots who smoke in front of their kids in a car won’t ever get caught for it.

• There is no time better spent than protecting the welfare of children.

• I agree, I don’t think kids should be smoking in cars……

• Ban radios too – and Sat Nav systems – and children even getting IN to cars – all are distractions.

The issue here is not distractions, and if you think that it is, it might be worth reading something based on fact….
    http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/safety/publications/2010/pdf/rsgr_2010001.pdf

The issue is the health of the kids who are subject to the choices outside of their control. For that reason I can see why people would be quick to support such legislation.

Sadly though, I’m more inclined to regard this as legislating for complete idiots.

• Barry 27/06/12 #

I don’t condone people smoking in cars with their children however laws like these can easily become intrusive to a people, at the end of the day we should trust in people to not do this then introducing laws to stop it. Laws like this are intrusive, are we gonna have a law preventing you from smoking in your house if children are there next? I don’t condone people doing this I think these laws are very intrusive on people’s personal choices and places n If this trend and talk continues people won’t be allowed smoke anywhere, personally I would never smoke in a car with kids, however if a law is introduced to stop me smoking on my own in the car it will become a total joke. It’s my personal choice to smoke I don’t smoke in my house and I don’t force it on anyone so why should others force their choice of none smoking on me?

• Are you saying you would smoke in a car with your child present?

• Not really. You want to mess up your own health, go right ahead. You want to mess up a childs health, different story altogether.

Hardly big brother.

• GOVERNMENT caring about the health of kids?ANYONE SEEN THE SIZE OF THE WAITING LISTS?
    Anyone seen the state of some of our school classrooms?
    Anyone driven through some of these Unfinished estates?
    Anyone driven through some of the estates in limerick?
    Anyone see the report on the 196 CHILDREN dying whilst in the care of this CARING GOVERNMENT?
    Some people really have to start waking up to this dictatorship we are living in!
    oh and i cant afford cigarettes or tax on a car or children for that matter.

• Barry 27/06/12 #

Paul, and what about people take responsibility for their actions?

There are many parents who bitch and moan about how hard things are for them paying bills etc yet they smoke 20 a day which is not only a massive waste of money but it affects their health and that of their children.

In short, how selfish do you get? I suppose though its easier blame someone else and then complain when the government does try and bring in laws like this that would have a benefit.

• Is It any of your business!! though barry?and i mean busy ness! mind your own business control your own life and your own thoughts! Do some research yourself on passive smoking or carry on living your life being dictated to by others ie EXPERTS AND SCIENTISTS AND DOCTORS!

• Barry 27/06/12 #

Yes Paul it is my business,

Like any citizen of Ireland it is my business how my taxes are spent and I have the right to know how they are spent they same as you do.

If we can see a issue which is causing our taxes to be spend on something that should not be happening then I think you’ll agree we should take action…..would you not agree?

In this case people smoke, its completely un-needed and its an addiction, it costs our health service 2 billion euro a year which is far more then the tax smoking brings in. If the government can come up with any ways of cutting this spending then this is very much a good thing.

In this case by bringing bans in for smoking it makes it less attractive for people and more people are lightly to give it up, this in turn will save the government money in the HSE as smoking related illnesses will drop over time.

Paul, you may choose to ignore how your taxes are spend, or perhaps you like to selectively complain about stuff and tell people (like myself) to shut up and mind their own business when you simply disagree with what is a sound and logical law by the government.

Perhaps you should mind your own business about all the nonsense you listed, after all its none of your business if smoking problems are none of mine….

• @barry
      You are right barry i bow to your superiority.

• @’Barry
      Hey Barry i know your busy flittering around everyones comments telling them how righteous you and our governors are but could you do one of those lovely long lists you did on the effects of smoking for me please?
      but this time in your expert opinionated way could you list the costs and effects to your precious right to know where your tax money goes(apart from the interest on loans that is) on Fluoridated water?
      Please Barry you are so clever?

• Come on Barry – confirm this €2b euro cost – and prove it’s a cost and not a cost recouped from insurance companies and not therefore a cost to the taxpayer.
      You’re quoting this all over the place with little substance.
      The only reliable thing that points at €2b is the HSE report which states 6-15% of costs to health service in nations with similar income levels to Ireland for illnesses associated to smoking. And even at that the €2b depends on Ireland being at the max 15% and nothing less.
      If we’re at 6% then revenue for tobacco is greater than health service costs and completely shafts your own argument.

Confirm €2b or stop quoting it in every reply.

• Barry 27/06/12 #

Paul Drury, accordingly to yourself such things should be none of my business,

of course cause i don’t give a monkeys about fluoride in water and I’m certainly not one of the occupy loons who does, however if you need info about it I suggest you do some reseaecrh yourself Paul as clearly it bothers you

• Barry
      so everyone who does not believe the spin is an occupy nut
      i notice you comment on everyone and anyone yet your twitter is blocked off
      can you not debate come on barry lets debate facts i will educate you if your not a wuss! http://poisonfluoride.com/pfpc/html/symptoms.html
      heres one for starters you ignoramus!

• Smokers with no kids in the car should be able to smoke away to their hearts discontent. Otherwise nanny state here we come. With kids it makes total sense. Difficult to manage this one!!

• Won’t be policed. How many people have been in court for fare dodging,littering offences, anti social behaviour, double parking, parking in disabled spaces, loitering, drinking in public places, drugging in public, urinating in public, in the last year? The Garda don’t have the time and the courts are full of more serious offences yet we pay people to bring out more laws. I noticed 2 guys get on the Luas with 2 fully grown pit bull terriers without mussels and when the security guys got on they ignored them(and rightly so). These same guys must have passed Garda and must be known to the police yet they just carry on regardless. Instead of giving money to the politicians to make laws give the money to the Garda to enforce the law.

• Waste of time and money. Surely we all especially the police have better thing to do with our time.

• What a joke, how is this going to be enforced? We cannot enforce people to belt up their own children. I see it every day, people driving around towns with their children in the car unsecured.

• I hope it does come in. Smoking is a filthy, unhealthy habit and Conor’s comment above is correct. If you cant drive with a phone in your hand or if your hand is injured / in a plaster etc then it hardly makes sense that driving with a lit cigarette is acceptable. The sheer arrogance of people who smoke around children is unbelievable. Should be banned for the sake of the health of future generations.

• then you have to ban drinks and food on the same grounds.

• If you agree that driving and smoking could be dangerous, by your rationalnThey would have to ban someone from drinking a beverage or eating anything as it may pose a danger. That of course is stupid and moronic but the world needs fools that believe in nonsense. Thats where reality tv comes from after all. Smoking with a child in the car is disgusting and should be banned. Almost impossible I police but won’t stop them from trying

• How can introducing legislation for the benefit of children’s health and safety be construed as running a nanny state?

• Let’s take the conversation to another level then. So Irish children have much worse problems to consider, when compared to second hand smoke inhalation. That’s true, to a degree. What is not stated, is that the true levels of sexual abuse that go unreported within Irish society. It is rampant to a degree, that most people could not countenance . The scandal of the church was the tip of the spire. The real truth is something that nobody could stomach. The evil that lies within. It always has. It always will. Worse still, is what has happened abroad, and still is happening. To put Irish sexual abuse into perspective, let me tell you this story. There are people who are currently boiling children alive in Africa, while their mothers are being raped. The purpose of boiling these children alive, is to eat them when they are cooked. This is the twenty first century. This is happening as we speak. I have nothing else to say.

• Barry, you are correct to state that these laws are intrusive, but they are a necessary intrusion, considering some people simply cannot be trusted with their own, or other peoples children and their welfare. Your sentiments are to be admired, but there is a significant minority that will continue to ignore the health and welfare of children, unless they are forced to do so by law.

• Brilliant, i really would have no cop on whatsoever if it wasnt for the overpaid geniuses running this nanny state!!

• If they really cared about children and the future health of the country they would hike the taxes on highly processed, fatty and junk food. This is simply a publicity stunt and a cash cow in terms of fines.

• Barry 27/06/12 #

I find this comment amusing,

Others are saying that it won’t work, yet here you are saying its a cash cow. Its interesting that you acknowledge that it certainly is an issue then.

Do you think its ok that a child breath in second hand smoke in a small enclosed space? Do you think the government should do nothing about this particular issue then?

• This legislation is far more an attempt to make the politicians look good than actually doing something. It will be very difficult to enforce with Garda recourses what they are. nAll this is about is so politicians can point at it and say ‘ look what I did’ instead of actually achieving something

• Just make it illegal altogether like other addictive drugs such as heroin …

• Well you shouldn’t be driving and eating / drinking at the same time as driving. Should you not be giving the road your full attention?.

• It goes like this the legislation will be in the form of a BILL like the one that you get at the end of your meal in a restaurant.There will be an estimated guess as to how much Revenue this BILL will generate lets say 500,000euro a year,The government will then be handed that money by the bankers in the form of a loan,Any shortfall of that estimate and any interest due will then have to be paid and thats how it basically works.
    this goes for all BILLS so when they decide to BAN SMOKING IN YOUR HOMES! This will give any “AUTHORITY” legal entry without warrant to your HOME to see if your smoking in front of your kids!(Because the(your) government loves you)
    Think it wont happen? Think again! or rather don’t think like normal.I’ll take all red ticks as confirmation to complete and utter compliance to anything they want to do to you!

• This has to be the biggest bogey country in the world , run by bogeys , inhabited by bogeys , who gives a shite any more ,

• Nanny state bahstids.What is next?Ban my husband from smoking in his own house?????

• Total HSE budget 13.3 billion, if no one smoked is it true that the budget would only be 12.3 billion?

• Lets just say 1 in 4 smoke and half of those actually pay the duty on legal fags bought here. Average 1 pack a day. €8 duty to government per pack. Adding it all up 1.5 billion (approx) income a year. Ya so you are about right.

• But smoking related illnesses are probably costing the state more to treat then they are taking in. Dont know really.

• Barry 27/06/12 #

Smoking brings in approx 1 billion in tax, but costs the HSE 2 billion in smoking related illness

Tobacco consumption causes a range of diseases, most circulatory, chest and cancers, but other diseases are also caused by smoking.

These are listed below:

Heart attacks
      Strokes
      Aortic aneurysms
      Peripheral vascular disease
      Chronic Obstructive pulmonary disease
      Asthma
      Pneumonia
      Influenza
      Cancer of the Larynx
      Cancer of the Oropharynx
      Cancer of the Oesophagus
      Cancer of the Trachea
      Cancer of the Lung
      Cancer of the Stomach
      Cancer of the Pancreas
      Cancer of the Kidney
      Cancer of the Ureter
      Cancer of the Cervix
      Cancer of the Bladder
      Acute myeloid leukaemia
      Stomach ulcers
      Cataracts
      Blindness
      Peridontitis
      Hip fractures
      Reduced fertility

• I just found something that might look at the discussion on costs in a different light.
      First – a report published by the HSE states that UP TO 15% of the healthcare costs goes to tobacco related costs. 15% would account for the €2b quoted, however, it is important to note that this number is based on “In high income countries like Ireland, smoking related health care costs account for between 6% and 15% of all annual healthcare costs”

So really that’s anywhere between €800m and €2b. A pretty wide span in terms of sticking to €2b as a reliable figure. The reliable figure we do have is revenue at €1.2b so really you could argue (if you were so inclined) that smoking makes €400m per year for the exchequer. A pretty big contribution from 29% of the population……

Add in that there is no clarity on the difference between costs to the health service and recouped costs (through insurance) to the health service. The failure of any PR to address this allows holes to be picked in the argument.

In addition, there are jobs in the tobacco industry, without which there would be a cost to the exchequer that appears not to be noted. Often, there is talk of lost productivity due to smoking (a lot of this is put down to breaks) – but why should smokers get such breaks?

Here’s a real challenging point that gets ignored a LOT in the costs debate….. It’s pretty hard to take but it’s a reality that cannot be ignored.
      Ireland’s avg life expectancy is very close to 79 years. Smoking takes 7-8 years from people’s lives so about 10%. Now that makes the life expectancy for non smokers at about 74 years old and non-smokers at about 81.5 years.
      The fact is that this 7-8 years cut from life expectancy helps the exchequer too in pensions which would otherwise have to be paid out.
      This is a pretty dark area to get into but it’s unavoidable for a full discussion.

Again, I’m not supporting smoking and certainly not in the presence of kids.

• You wouldn’t think there was a financial crisis for many families, that the young have to flee the country to find work, that bankers are still living the life style to which they have become accustomed, that people are thrown out of their own accommodation by Dublin County Council. Meanwhile the government responsible for all of the above concentrates attention on occupants of cars smoking in the presence of children. PRIORITIES!

• The government responsible for the above was kicked out at the last election. nnLawmakers can work on several different things at once you know. Just because there are other issues you think they should be dealing with does not mean they can’t do this too.

• Barry 26/06/12 #

Yes Barry, priority’s,

Tobacco tax brings in approx 1B a year in tax into Ireland, yet smoking related illness costs the state approx 2B a year. This is money that we the tax payer have to pay towards so anything that reduces it is a good thing.

Now as you said people in financial crisis yet they are throwing money away on Tobacco each day/week, money that could be much better spent on them actually eating proper food, paying bills and generally making life easier for themselves…if these people didn’t have an addiction

The more bans the governments puts on smoking the better especially given the issues it cause,

• I bet some of the people thrown out by DCC can still afford their fags!!

• The more bans the government put on smoking the better?

You think prohibition could actually work for the first time in history? I doubt it.

• You don’t think children’s health should be a priority?

• Barry 27/06/12 #

Tomy Iona, you’ll find that the pub smoking ban has worked. This isn’t prohibition, this is about health and the implications of people’s addictions on others and themselves.

In this case because many people are too selfish to pay attention to kids health they have to actually bring in a law telling people that if they want to be selfish and ignore the needs and rights of kids then they will be fined.

I find it shocking that anyone can say this ban is not a good thing, kids don’t get the choice of if they want to breath in cancer causing chemicals in a small enclosed space so its only right that this law be brought in

• “Tobacco tax brings in approx 1B a year in tax into Ireland, yet smoking related illness costs the state approx 2B a year” so that’s a net cost of 1 billion to the state (the workers of this country) to deal with the problems associated with smoking. Thanks for that info Barry, that’s has blown the notion that some people have that the government are raking in money from the smokers, they certainly are not. Look around smokers, ye are literary robbing money out of no smokers pockets.

• Barry – I find it shocking that anyone who reads the packet warnings on tobacco products needs to have the threat of a fine in order to change their behaviour. Please don’t suggest that I think it’s ok for people to subject kids to smoke in any environment, that is absolutely not what I’m saying.

Not that I’m doubting your numbers either but tobacco revenue brings in €1.2b (I know you said “approx” but €200m is a bit of a loose margin of error). Also, I’d wonder where the €2b figure came from. The only reference to this I’ve noted is an assertion by Roisin Shortall that the next decade will cost approx €2b a year. An estimate that WILL cost the state is different from an assertion that it IS costing the state.

You would definitely have to question what vague comments like this one from Shortall actually mean. My father gave up smoking about 10 years ago and has since needed health services over what would be regarded as a smoking related illness (I’m not in any way disputing that it is). When his costs to the health services are recouped through his insurance – is that still being claimed as part of €2b/yr? I have no idea, but I’m reminded of a quote at the beginning of a chapter in an old math book – “There are three types of lies – lies, damn lies, and statistics.”

I’m not defending smoking here, I just recently gave up and am aware that the country in general should not be paying to facilitate other people’s harmful habits which will ultimately be paid for by other people.

Mostly, I’m against the idea of creating laws for situations which are blatantly wrong – and against where that can potentially lead. I wish I could find it right now but I read a very interesting piece recently about how creating laws for things which are obviously morally wrong effectively distances individuals from their moral responsibility. It concluded that when a law exists, people’s capacity to consider the moral arguement is diminished and society then depends on the lawmakers and enforcers to act – we effectively pass on the responsibility to someone else rather than challenging our neighbour on their callous and harmful behaviours. It might seem a little airy-fairy but I doubt you’ll fail to see the point.

• mart_n 26/06/12 #

I don’t have any kids. Will the Gardai be tasked with checking my car to confirm that?

Their time could be better spent elsewhere don’t you think? =/

• I love how people give out about the effects of smoking yet they will throw their kids off at the nearest mc Donald’s or chipper and feed them complete muck, I’m a smoker I enjoy it and if someone tells me to put one out in my car I’d stub all my €8 cigarettes on someone because it’s my business…the ban with children in the car is a good idea though

• lots more children are suffering from bigger problems in Ireland, and its not from passive smoke,

• Why restrict to cars with children? Driving with a lit cigarette is hardly consistent with safe traffic management. It would also make it easier to enforce. Driving is one of the most regulated activities anyone does, so one more regulation is hardly nanny statism (though there is a minority who think their car and road space is private territory).

• jrbmc 27/06/12 #

As much as I agree with it, it will be just like the mobile phone where nobodynBothers Now

• Smoking and using a mobile phone while driving is hardly comparable, smoking is not a distraction and is second nature to people who smoke. it is no more distracting then remembering to breath.
      Personally I would never smoke with a young kid in the car anyway. But I find this criminalization and demonization of smokers ridiculous and hypocritical… while they are at it they had better ban diesel cars because the emissions from them have been proven to be just as, if not more toxic then tobacco smoke, also they had better evacuate places like Cobh in Cork because the incidence of Cancer are 44% higher then average because of the toxic waste and industry!!!

• seriously? like its common sense not to smoke in a car if a child is present, COMMON SENSE!!!!!!!!!!!! why the hell do we need a law if something is COMMON F ING SENSE, what a waste of tax payers money, for something that won’t be policed. A law on common sense, CHRIST i hate this place,

• Common sense is not as common any more….

• Barry 27/06/12 #

Yes its common sense but yet loads and loads of people continue to smoke in cars with kids,

Its the same as driving while texting or holding a mobile is idiotic and should be common sense, but again look at people.

Or trying to drive 80km/hour in a housing estate with loads of kids playing, again you’d think its common sense but we see it all the time

the list of idiotic and selfish things people do is endless.

• Maybe the keyboard warriors should step up to what they seem to regard as a social/moral responsibility and tap on the windows of the apparently thousands of offenders there are out there instead of palming off the responsibility on the Gardai and then just moaning about a law which is not being enforced?
      This will BARELY be enforced – it’ll be a case of busting a driver for this as an extra thump after getting breathalised or something.

• Good idea but completely unpoliceable. I recently drive through a checkpoint in deansgrange with no insurance disk in the window. I am taxed and insured but took the insurance disk out for the policy number and forgot to put it back in. So if they can’t see that I have no insurance disk in the window how are they going to enforce a smoking ban.

• Peter 26/06/12 #

Your insane trueleft… You are big brother

• The fact legislation is necessary to stop this is depressing.

• To clarify the cost of smoking to the Health Service, no paper was ever done or published in this Country on the topic. However, the NHS in the UK did an extensive research project into the same thing in the UK late last year. They found the total cost over there, covering all aspects of smoking & health, came to £3.3bn. Adjusting for population and currency, that would be the health costs here at €412m. The Revenue Commissioners confirm that smokers contribute €1,500m annually on top of all of their other taxes !

So smokers pay four times more than they cost. While this might surprise some people, the Minister for Health in the Czech Republic has stated on television that tobacco revenue is six times greater than it’s health costs on the State there..

• But really
    How are they going to enforce this one?
    How will a Garda know if someone is smoking? If someone is pulled over by a Garda they will have stubbed the cigarette out by then and wound the window down – how will the Garda prove that person was smoking?
    This doesnt seem very workable, especially when the Garda dont seem to be able to enforce the other rules of the road very well at all.

• i’m a smoker , and i think its a good law to bring in if it will be inforced , as for the bullshit statistics on tax and what it costs the health i have this to say
    someone listed a list of illness and desieses caused by smoking above , so any smoker that gets one of these its caused by smoking apparently , but what about all the people who have got various forms of cancer , or strokes or heart attacks ect ect and has never smoked , explain that please
    bullshit it costs the health care so much , i was turned down an operation because i smoked
    and by the way the only thing i managed to give up was paying the over the top irish taxes on smoking as a result i go away and by them somewhere cheaper ,

• I’ll smoke in my car all I want, it’s my car,my kids dont mind it, they smoke themselves as far as I know,

• It’s about time for this legislation. Smoking is disgusting. End of.

• *dangers

• Wow for once I’m actually agreeing with the government. I think it’s disguising smoking in a car with kids in it, if you want cancer fair enough don’t pass it on to your children!!

• @tomy you clearly don’t know the dangerous of inhaling second hand smoke!

• Congratulations to Senators Van Turnhout, Daly and Dr Crowne on this initiative, I hope the government parties can get off their horses and pass it through!

Add New Comment