TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Tuesday 9 February, 2016

#Cars

# cars - Today’s News

SPONSORED

# cars - Saturday 6 February, 2016

Overturned vehicle blocking traffic on the M50

Dublin Fire Brigade is responding to the incident.

# cars - Monday 1 February, 2016

Almost 40,000 new cars were sold in January

That’s an increase of 10,000 on the same month last year.

# cars - Tuesday 19 January, 2016

Petrol prices look set to keep getting cheaper

But it should be under €1.

# cars - Sunday 10 January, 2016

From Business ETC This car has just learnt how to park itself Parallel Universe

This car has just learnt how to park itself

The Tesla models can now self-park without a driver inside thanks to a computer update.

# cars - Tuesday 5 January, 2016

First prototype from mystery electric car startup revealed

The company expects to bring its first car to market in around two years time.

# cars - Wednesday 30 December, 2015

Is Ireland changing its attitude to electric cars? Energy This post contains a poll

Is Ireland changing its attitude to electric cars?

In 2015, over 500 new electric cars were supported through the government grant scheme.

# cars - Wednesday 16 December, 2015

Iranian police seize 40k cars over women not covering hair with headscarf

The measure is part of a wider traffic police crackdown that could also see male drivers targeted.

# cars - Friday 11 December, 2015

This vintage Ferrari sold for €25 million last night

Do you think they took a trade-in?

# cars - Sunday 6 December, 2015

Owners of self-driving cars may need illegal distractions to stop them nodding off

A study in the US found people were less likely to fall asleep behind the wheel if they were watching a screen with moving images.

# cars - Monday 16 November, 2015

Iranian women who refuse to wear veil to have cars confiscated

All women in Iran, including foreigners, are required to cover their hair and neck.

# cars - Thursday 12 November, 2015

7 ways your family could be getting better value

And the euros will look after themselves…

# cars - Wednesday 11 November, 2015

NCT inspector apparently refused to test car because there were dog hairs in it

A TD made the claim in the Dáil today.

# cars - Tuesday 10 November, 2015

This technology could be installed in your car to restrict your speed

Irish MEP Deirdre Clune said the drivers should be rewarded for using the car system that can automatically limit the speed of the vehicle.

# cars - Friday 6 November, 2015

6 unexpected facts about Irish drivers

From being possessive over our radios to fearing our own mothers, we’re all a right turn up for the books.

# cars - Thursday 15 October, 2015

From Business ETC Tesla’s autopilot mode for cars ‘hopefully’ won’t hit pedestrians, says CEO Autonomous

Tesla’s autopilot mode for cars ‘hopefully’ won’t hit pedestrians, says CEO

Elon Musk unveiled the new feature for the Model M and Model X, which aims to gradually remove the need for drivers to complete certain actions.

# cars - Thursday 8 October, 2015

Police seize hard-drives and files in raid at Volkswagen HQ in Germany

The company is recalling 80,000 cars in Ireland in the wake of the scandal.

# cars - Tuesday 29 September, 2015

Paul Walker’s daughter says Porsche is to blame for his death

The seat belt “snapped Walker’s torso back with thousands of pounds of force, thereby breaking his ribs and pelvis.”

# cars - Monday 28 September, 2015

Train and Dart services affected by fire

The Drogheda, Belfast and Maynooth train lines were affected.

# cars - Saturday 26 September, 2015

Gardaí are getting hundreds of new cars, did your station get any?

Nearly €29 million has been invested in new Garda vehicles since 2012.

# cars - Tuesday 22 September, 2015

Volkswagen is going to pay out billions over dirty diesel vehicles

Around €6.5 billion, to be precise.

# cars - Wednesday 16 September, 2015

This fake gun was discovered at a routine checkpoint

No arrests were made during the seizure.

# cars - Friday 28 August, 2015

Gardaí clock driver doing 123km per hour in 80km zone

They’ve checked more than 18,000 cars for speed today.

# cars - Thursday 27 August, 2015

Gangs in Dublin asking for ‘protection money’ for residents’ cars

The crimes are happening in the Crumlin-Kimmage area.

# cars - Sunday 16 August, 2015

Minister defends plan to take the cars out of the centre of Dublin

It has been proposed that much of the centre of Dublin could be closed off to cars.

# cars - Monday 10 August, 2015

From Business ETC Retailers fear Dublin traffic restrictions will force shoppers to out-of-town centres HEY BIG SPENDERS

Retailers fear Dublin traffic restrictions will force shoppers to out-of-town centres

The Irish Parking Association said the restrictions could result in a 24% fall off in shopping and entertainment revenue.

# cars - Tuesday 4 August, 2015

This is Ireland’s most popular car

Are the good times back?

# cars - Monday 3 August, 2015

European cities are banning cars for a day … but Ireland’s not getting involved Not Happening This post contains videos

Man killed in three car crash in Louth

A woman in her 40s in one of the other cars was also seriously injured.

# cars - Saturday 1 August, 2015

# cars - Saturday 25 July, 2015

Fiat recalls 1.4 million cars after hackers take control of a jeep over the internet

Hackers were able to change the vehicle’s speed and control the brakes.

# cars - Thursday 23 July, 2015

Drive an old car? It’s about to become harder to get insured

Allianz Insurance and Aviva Insurance will no longer be insuring cars that are 15 and 14 years old respectively.

# cars - Wednesday 22 July, 2015

50 Cent ‘returns cars and jewellery when he’s finished with them’

He denied owning many luxury items.

Almost 100,000 cars in Ireland don’t get driven at all

Officially, anyway.

# cars - Friday 17 July, 2015

# cars - Monday 29 June, 2015

Appeal after man shot as he ran from masked men in University of Limerick car park

Firearms have been found in two cars which have been recovered.

# cars - Sunday 21 June, 2015

Here’s how much money motor tax brings in each year

Here’s how much money motor tax brings in each year

About 2.5 million vehicles are registered for tax annually.

# cars - Saturday 13 June, 2015

Where in Ireland gets the most penalty points?

We’ll give you three guesses…

Who was The Stig’s favourite star in a reasonably-priced car? Swearing Galore This post contains videos

Who was The Stig’s favourite star in a reasonably-priced car?

Ben Collins reveals some of his best Top Gear moments.

# cars - Tuesday 9 June, 2015

So, what does The Stig drive? Top Gear This post contains videos

So, what does The Stig drive?

We weren’t expecting his answer…

# cars - Monday 8 June, 2015

‘He didn’t punch me’: The Stig talks meeting Jeremy Clarkson for the first time in years No Fracas To See Here This post contains videos

‘He didn’t punch me’: The Stig talks meeting Jeremy Clarkson for the first time in years

Ben Collins also tells us what he thinks of Chris Evans taking over as Top Gear host.

1 2 3 4 5