Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Berlin documents were compiled six weeks BEFORE Budget Day

Image: Michael Sohn/AP

THE BRIEFING DOCUMENTS circulated to members of Germany’s parliamentary committees earlier this week – which allegedly confirm details of the 2012 Budget – were written six weeks before the Budget was due to be announced, TheJournal.ie can reveal.

It has emerged this morning that the government has lodged a formal complaint with the European Commission over allegations that details of the 2012 and 2013 Budgets have been circulated to the German parliament.

The Bundestag’s budget committee was presented with the plans earlier this week, it was reported yesterday – officially notifying German MPs that Ireland was to raise its higher VAT rate from 21 per cent to 23 per cent on December 6.

TheJournal.ie can confirm, however, that the documents circulated to the German MPs were prepared by the European Commission, seemingly with the input of Ireland’s Department of Finance, late last month.

The documents are dated October 28 – the date on which the votes for the presidential election were counted – and were circulated not just to Germany, but to all European Union finance ministers.

So how did the Budget details end up in Berlin in the first place – and why do Germany’s MPs, some of which aren’t elected by the public, get to hear about our plans before our own TDs – or we, the taxpayers – do?

TheJournal.ie has been in contact with authorities in Dublin, Berlin and Brussels – and here’s what we’ve found out.

Not just German

While the German situation obviously has much to do with the Irish fiscal situation – where the government is completely reliant on emergency funding from Europe and the IMF, which is given subject to terms and conditions – it’s not necessarily a ‘German’ thing.

So any preconception that may be out there – that Germany is given the important data before we are, simply because Germany is the main contributor to Europe’s bailout funds – is not accurate.

The data has, in fact, been shared with all 27 of Europe’s ministers of finance – circulated for their attention and reading ahead of a summit of finance ministers in two weeks’ time.

It’s also not the case that the details were handed over by Enda Kenny to Angela Merkel during his official visit on Wednesday – because we’ve established that the documents circulating in Berlin were prepared several weeks ago.

The fact that Irish budget policies are circulating in Berlin is actually more to do with an unfortunate case of timing.

Stop the clocks

We’ve known for a while now that the 2012 Budget will be announced on December 6 – there is, by now, a long-established tradition that Budgets have always been presented in the first week of December (at least since Charlie McCreevy changed the financial year to coincide with the calendar year).

The timing this year is a little bit awkward, however – because ‘Ecofin’, the European Union’s group of 27 finance ministers, is set to meet the previous week.

While it’s the European Commission – Brussels’ central executive branch – that officially writes the cheques for international bailouts, Ecofin must first meet and agree to sign off on the lending before Brussels can release the cash.

TheJournal.ie understands that a provisional agenda for that meeting – set to take place on November 30, just six days before the Budget is announced – includes a vote to release the next quarterly batch of loans to the Irish government.

The vote is expected to be quite routine, however – so much so, in fact, that the matter is only noted on the agenda as being ‘for adoption’ and not actually for debate. This indicates that the council expects simply to rubberstamp the next round of loans without internal hassle.

Even if the Irish vote is more contentious than anticipated, it’s not likely to be the main talking point – not when that Ecofin meeting will also be hearing from the new finance ministers of Greece and Italy – and possibly Spain – for the first time.

Accounting accountability

So it’s this Ecofin meeting which has to sign off on giving us our loans – and because the meeting is taking place a week before Ireland announces its Budget, it’s realistic to assume that our international paymasters be given details of what will be contained in that Budget.

Put it this way: why would a council of ministers agree to lend Ireland billions of euro when Ireland could announce a completely different Budget the following week, and run the risk of squandering that European money?

The problem now, for the Irish government, is that political reality – and an increasingly hectic European financial calendar – means documents being considered at Ecofin need to be circulated a few weeks in advance of the meeting.

Germany’s finance minister Wolfgang Schauble, therefore, would have been sent a copy of the Ecofin documents – as would every other finance minister on the continent: George Osborne, Francois Baroin, Mario Monti and everyone else.

In Germany’s case, though, the political opposition has been strongly opposed to bailing out ‘weaker’ European countries – which has led to political compromises where parliamentary committees get to make the decision about approving loans to others.

When Ecofin meets in two weeks it won’t be Wolfgang Schauble that’s making the decision – it’ll be the finance and budget committees of the German Bundestag.

And that’s where these documents have ended up. A spokesman for the Bundestag explained yesterday that while the budget committee hadn’t met this week (the Bundestag is on a week-long recess, and nobody is in Berlin) it had received the briefing documents.

Sign-off

The two committees are now expected to meet in the next two weeks to approve Germany’s release of the next round of bailout funds – which are required by Ireland to cover the gap between its spending and its income.

TheJournal.ie understands that German officials did not realise the documents were so sensitive – or that the Irish public had not been privy to their details – before they were circulated to the MPs.

78 of the Bundestag’s 620 members sit on either the budget or finance committees – meaning a substantial chunk of the German parliament has been made privy to the documents.

The Irish government, for its part, insisted last night that the 2 per cent increase of VAT was included in the EU-IMF bailout agreement “for later years”, a fact set out by Michael Noonan two weeks ago.

“The budgetary measures are currently being considered.  No decisions have been taken on budgetary measures,” the department said.

It is implied that the measures in the documents sent to the Ecofin ministers were not final, and that the Irish government had still to reach a final agreement on what measures it would introduce.

Enda Kenny told reporters in Berlin that Michael Noonan was due to present details of the 2012 Budget to the Troika yesterday – perhaps indicating that the final decisions were only to be revealed at that point.

Confusion over how Budget documents ended up in Germany >

Opposition calls on government to explain 2 per cent VAT rise report >

Read Next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• Paul Mekitarian 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Awwww that’s so cute. The Germans are letting Enda and Eamon play mammies and daddies in the Dail.

• RP McMurphy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

And Mammies and Daddies lie to the kids when it’s ‘for their on good’. They lied about not knowing how these documents got to the Bundestag. And that their first reaction to the leak was to lie tells us all we need to know about how we, the electorate, are perceived in the eyes of our own democratically elected govt….

Report this comment

Special needs at that. They say we gotta go to rehab so we GO GO GO!

Report this comment

New philosophy of the government.
      Of the people. By the people. Fuck the people.

• Eire 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

We are no longer a Republic…….we serve a Kaiser ….Thanks to the Treason of Fianna Fail & the retreat from election promises & a lack of Balls by the Gael & Labour Government

• Paul Murphy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Get a grip Eire ;-)

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Ireland is no longer a Republic thanks to Irish people voting YES in consecutive EU Treaties. The Lisbon treaty took away Ireland’s Independence and Sovereignty, thus making toilet paper of the constitution

• Ed Kavanagh 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

What’s wrong with what he said. Its the simple truth. Sometimes the truth is hard to swallow.

• Sean Claffey 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

I’m with Eire and Paul.

• Sean Claffey 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

*Paul Kealy… And you Ed for that matter

• Ed Appleby 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Never was a real republic in truth, just a screwed up feudal theocracy run by unaccountable nepotistic gombeen clans, perverted priests and bishops and their banker and developer crony’s. The slieveen and cute hoor mentality that elected the likes of Haughey, Ahern and all the other Fianna FAILure leeches still looms large in the country. Someday when the people grow up and vote for candidates who actually want to change things it might become a proper modern democracy and behave like a first world country instead of a run down corrupt priest ridden banana republic more akin to central Africa. Maybe the Germans should just take over and run it until such a time as there are competent politicians and civil servants who know what they are doing instead of the rabble of gobshites who are now morphing into Cowen and FF with every passing day! Kenny needs to start delivering or take his place on the wall of shame alongside the other failed clowns who messed it all up!

• John Murphy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Looks very like it’s happening as we speak – ‘pipers’ and ‘tunes’ spring to mind!

• Simon O Flaherty 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

So basically are inept government just lies when they said they didn’t know how documents ended up in germany or where mistakenly sent there another blunder from this blunderful government. I wonder was it before or after the accounting error was discovered and will that be taken into account by the terms of the eu/IMF deal

• Hugh Chaloner 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

All together now …

Sinne Fianna Fáil, atá faoi gheall ag Deutschland …

• mike 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

We are run by Germany Now. So is it time to abolish our political class as a waste of time and money.

• Terry Turner 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Slagging Germany is futile. They have the money to help our bankrupt state and would be silly not to check how we are doing. Ireland is under administration and we have to live with that. We have to put our affairs in order. If you want to do some slagging look within the state.

• Paul Breen 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

In a monetary union, I would have thought this kind of information sharing would have been happening ab initio. If it had, perhaps we would not be in this mess.

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Enda has been best friends with Mrs Merkel, Herman van Rompuy and his European Lords for many, many years, over 20 yrs to be precise. Enda Kenny belongs to ‘The European Peoples Party’. His friends there, with whom he has been planning Irelands loss of sovereignty for over 20 years through Treaties and propaganda include the Ex-officio Vice-President of the ‘European Peoples Party’ and currently unelected President of Europe/Ireland Herman van Rompuy. Mr Barrsso is the Ex-officio Vice-President of the party and currently head of the European Commission. Our very own Enda Kenny is the….’VICE PRESIDENT’ of ‘The European Peoples Party’. The EPP has 17 out of the 27 heads of State or Government in the European Council, including Mrs Merkel. Enda and Mr Sarcozy. So, its hardly surprising that Enda wouldn’t be sharing information with his buddies before the Irish people) Wake up sheep!!!!!!!

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

So, its hardly surprising that Enda ‘WOULD’ be sharing information with his buddies before the Irish people) Wake up sheep!!!!!!! *****….. you get the general idea anyway :)

• Ed Kavanagh 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Spot on Paul K. We are just at the point were people are just discovering they have been had. The Conmen are gone with the money (aka our sovereignty) and we the people are dazed and confused about how it all happened. When the shock wears off we will be too embarrassed to do anything about it and pretend it never happened or we will be so pissed off that it will get violent.. I’m betting the Irish public will take the denial line.. Our only hope is the Spanish or Italian public will take the initiative and round on the traitors….

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Very well said Ed, I’ve just copy and pasted that quote in a discussion on the Facebook version of The Journal…Sadly, so very true

• Donal McCarthy 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

We are supposed to get approval for our budget measures. This is common knowledge. If people are shocked by that then, well…

What people are missing in this story is that this is not a case of Irish incompetence, it is German incompetence.

• Danyl Jaackyfe 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

It is more a case of Germany not giving a crap about how sensitive this was. And yet again a bit of dis honesty from those in charge by not making it apparent and transparent before hand. We all sorta knew we would need their approval. But let’s be fair to us, we are a proud people and to have our finances passed around like they are a local news story. Well to say it’s not cool is an understatement.

• Donal McCarthy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

It’s not cool that some German idiot didn’t know he was in possession of a sensitive document. I seriously doubt it was contempt that led to the document being distributed.

It’s not dishonesty on the part of the Government to not tell us the fine detail of what is happening until Budget Day. It’s common sense.

• Tim Henchin 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

The budget details were deliberately leaked to embarrass someone, likely Kenny, as a way to let him know that it is the Bundestag, not the Irish people that he is now accountable and to let us know as well. It is Germany’s way of saying we hold your democracy in contempt. This is their way of saying in the new Euro, all oversight comes from the Bundestag, macro decisions have to be in line with the wishes of the Bundestag, and this is for our good, how? Great to see how some of Germany’s MP’s are not democratically elected.

As for the Germans not knowing that they were sensitive documents. What do you think would happen if a German MP released details of Merkel’s budget to the press. Budgets everywhere are treated as secret documents. They knew what they were doing.

There seems to be a real disrespect for democracy within the German Psyche.

• John Murphy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Tim! Your at it again today – putting things in a nutshell.
      German MP’s are eyeing up the ballot box and need to show that they are protecting their economy from the risks of supplementing the ECB bailout fund. Enda went over there to give Merkel a sneaky peep into his copybook and as soon as he went to the jacks it was passed around the class!

• Ciarán Reilly 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This controversy over the Germans’ seeing budget documents is distracting attention from the real story which is that confidential material provided to German parliamentarians were leaked by one or more of them to the media.

How the hell are we all going to have greater economic coordination (Ms. Merkel’s solution to all the euro’s problems) if lawmakers in Germany can’t be trusted?

• Brian Daly 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

“Berlin documents were compiled six weeks BEFORE Budget Day” EXCLUSIVE

Eh? Do you think that the make up the Budget the week before?? Noonan grabbing the last page off the printer as he dashes into the Dail.

• Eoin Faz 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Maybe the budget details were available for our TDs to review, just nobody was arsed to request them!

• Mary Cleary 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Let’s get this straight. We were put into this situation by FF the PDs and their successive auction politics. The current gov are dismantling a decade of splashing the cash. It’s horrible for those most affected and there has to be a better way. Sadly the EU and Germany call the shots now and we are at their mercy. I don’t like it any more than all of you do but we are stuck with it for the moment. My faith in politicians is gone. Maybe our new presidents idea of a new Republic is a timely opportunity to look at what kind of country we want. A new constitution is required. Those who feel strongly enough should make sure to get involved in fora and discussion groups. People power will win out if it’s done properly. Let’s reclaim our country but do it in a mature way.

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

“A new constitution is required ” The Irish constitution is worthless since the majority of Irish people voted YES in the Lisbon Treaty which finished with whatever Independence and Sovereignty Ireland had left as a Republic. ‘People Power’ voted YES in consecutive European Treaties, Ireland is the only country in modern Society that willingly gave away their Freedom and Sovereignty, most other nations hold freedom precious and defend it. There is no Republic, there will never be a Republic again…The majority of Irish people voted for that I’m afraid.

• The Raf 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

According to Lisbon Treaty Germany, France and UK take control of the EU (with a little help of Italy) in 2014 (double majority rule). Since the EU was founded two years ago and established as a state, Ireland is merely a province.

• Peter Nolan 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

It’s perfectly sensible, rational and – indeed common knowledge – that the European Council are informed of planned budget measures. It would be rather stupid if they weren’t.

The only problems here are that the German Finance Minister has seen fit to distribute to the German MPs, which was inappropriate, and that one of those MPs saw fit to leak them, which was absolutely criminal.

• Lou Brennan 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Democracy no longer exists in Europe.

• Tim Henchin 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Germany is coming under fire from the markets now. Asia is start to dump their bonds from Germany, and indeed from all Eurozone countries. The world is starting to write off the Eurozone, that is what happens when you look at the no’s and set love or hate of the Eurozone aside..

If people think that it is bad now, that we are ignored by our political class, as least we can change then, at least they are living here. If Germany gets its way and implements the changes that their Govt. want according to der Spegiel, then we are going to be to Berlin what Leitrim is to Dublin. They will not give one toss about us. Permanent austerity and long term decline will be the future.

This was widely predicted by leading economists before the Euro was created, it was obvious to anyone who looked critically at it.

• Merchant man 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Jesus ! Paul do you lie awake dreaming this shit up about Enda wanting to give all up to the Germans and this ploy and that plot !!!!!!!!!,

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Not at all Merchant, seems perfectly logical considering he is the Vice President of a political movement where its members have spent their entire political lives working towards a Federal Europe.

“Europe’s nations should be guided towards the super-state without their people understanding what is happening. This can be accomplished by successive steps, each disguised as having an economic purpose, but which will eventually and irreversibly lead to federation.” Jean Monnet (Founding Father Of The EU 1952)

Dreaming is sheep MM

• Paul Kealy 18/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Dreaming is FOR sheep*** … but you get the general idea anyway :)

• Paul Lanigan 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Ireland is now a protectorate. It’s no longer a Republic.

• Ed Appleby 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

How do these clowns think that raising VAT is going to help the country? It will just stop people spending and add to the already declining sales forecasts, it will also encourage people to do more cross border shopping and will result in a drop in tax take. They should be cutting VAT to incentivise not the other way around.

• seamus moore 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Enda and Michael are just being good Europeans. Being a good European to them is like being the best boy in the class and so they have the ‘eko’ done early and given to the headmistress and the boys are hoping for a good report. Anyway we know from pre election behaviour by Enda that part of his agenda to go to Berlin for the ‘annual pat on the head’ so we shouldn’t be at all surprised by this. Good man Enda, ‘ve haf vays of making you beg’!

• HELLO SPRUIKER 18/11/11 #
    Report this comment

If Germany is running our country.

What the feck are we paying our ”Leaders” for.

Let us all not forget, Germany is carrying a lot of debt!!

Debt that they irresponsibly dished it out!!

If I irresponsibly lend money to someone that I really know doesn’t have the capacity to pay me back,
    who will bail me out?
    who can I blame?

Germany was irresponsible Enda!!
    Hence now it is in a lot of trouble!!
    Don’t give them anything too soft!!

Add New Comment