TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Borrowing and bombs: The week in quotes

They said what? TheJournal.ie looks back at the week in words.

WE’VE PAID €1.25BN back to the senior bondholders in Anglo amid warnings of a ‘bomb’ going off in Dublin.

There’s been a State of the Union, a copyright legislation controversy, and some words from the Taoiseach that did not go down well at all.

Here is just some of what happened over the past week, in quotes:

Borrowing and bombs: The week in quotes
1 / 10
  • Week in quotes

“If I had a business executive come to me and say I want to spend a few hundred billion dollars to put a colony on the moon, I’d say, ‘You’re fired,’” - US presidential candidate Mitt Romney doesn't think much of his rival Newt Gingrich's proposal to put a human colony on the moon.
  • Week in quotes

“We don’t want you to default on these payments, it is your decision ultimately. But a bomb will go off and the bomb will go off in Dublin, not in Frankfurt.” - what the Troika told the government about not paying back the Anglo bondholders, according to Transport Minister Leo Varadkar.
  • Week in quotes

This position was maintained from 1939 to 1945 and we should no longer be in denial that, in the context of the Holocaust, Irish neutrality was a principle of moral bankruptcy." - writing for TheJournal.ie on Holocaust Memorial Day, Justice Minister Alan Shatter criticises the Irish government's policy during World War II.
  • Week in quotes

“But I think after 20 years – and it will be 20 years – of being on the high wire of American politics and all of the challenges that come with that, it would be probably a good idea to just find out how tired I am.” - US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton mulls a life outside of diplomacy.
  • Week in quotes

"You talk to anybody at the football club. I don’t write. I couldn’t even fill a team sheet in." - Tottenham manager Harry Redknapp also said he writes "like a two-year-old" on a tape played to jurors at a trial where it is alleged he cheated the tax system for financial gain.
  • Week in quotes

"We have had the deepest respect for one another throughout our relationship and continue to love each other very much, but we have grown apart." - singer Seal and model Heidi Klum call it a day on their marriage.
  • Week in quotes

“Now you can call this class warfare all you want. But asking a billionaire to pay at least as much as his secretary in taxes? Most Americans would call that common sense.” - Barack Obama outlines his tax reforms in his State of the Union address on Tuesday.
  • Week in quotes

“What happened in our country is that people simply went mad with borrowing.The extent of personal credit, personal wealth created on credit, was done between people, banks – a system that spawned greed to a point where this went out of control completely with a spectacular crash." - Enda Kenny tells Davos about the financial crisis. He was criticised by opposition parties.
  • Week in quotes

"I can say she suffered an appalling death and that is incomprehensible in a civilised society." - Garda Chief Superintendent Michael O'Sullivan on the death of Romanian teenager Marioara Rostas whose body was found on Monday, four years after she went missing.
  • Week in quotes

“Nobody wants to limit the freedoms of the internet – it is counter-intuitive. We live in a democracy.” - Junior Minister Sean Sherlock responds to ongoing criticism of the government's proposed implementation of internet copyright legislation.

Read next:

Comments (10 Comments)

• What a week. You didn’t have to work too hard this week looking for them Hugh. Enda and his the “Irish all went mad, they’re all a shower of greedy fools who have to be asked more than once” or something like that.

If he was really looking for greedy fools, he’d only have had to look at Leo Varadkar. Talk about greedy. How many gaffs he had this week. Telling us the truth re troika’s bomb threat, his advisors being able to bend wage limits, and now saying referendums are undemocratic. Way to go Leo!!!

• General Charles Pinckney describes the collapse of the US first currency. A fiat currency called ‘the continental’.
      “…he had lost fifteen thousand guineas by depreciation; but he would tell the gentleman what further injuries it had done – it had corrupted the morals of the people; it had diverted them from the paths of honest industry to the ways of ruinous speculation; it had destroyed both public and private credit, and had brought total ruin on numberless widows and orphans.”
      We’ve had the ruinous speculation and seen public & private credit dry up. Just coming over the horizon we’ll see the widows & orphans get it in the neck.
      What ‘Forest Gump’ Kenny doesn’t seem to realise is that what has happened in Ireland is not a case of people going mad. It is the beginning of the end of another fiat currency.

• ‘Forest Gump’ Kenny? If only he’d go shrimpin’ or run – very slowly – across America. Or go back teaching. As a Taoiseach he is anaemic, vacuous, kitten-weak and so lacking in any principles that he can hold for more than a day.

• Even as read – with Leo V’s latest “referendums are undemocratic”… this really is a week when the stupidity at the top is being further exposed!

…And these clowns are making decisions for us. Scary!

• Why when as a country we need gifted,clever business, savvy people we end with up 3 teachers and a trade unionist to run us it really shows there is no God looking out for us.We’re F***ed.

• If ever there was a time for people who consider themselves ‘ordinary’ to become involved in politics, then surely that time is now. Get off the fence and into the field. Now what’s the number for the local cumann . . .

• Have Leo and the lads started as they mean to go on?…….you can take that to the bank as the saying goes!

• whether there is or isn’t any truth in Enda Kenny davios comments, he made them at a time when the irish people payed over a billion euro to European gamblers, his timing wasn’t great!!!!

• Kenny may be a lame-duck Taoiseach, but look on the bright side – Leo actually sees himself as a future Taoiseach. In fact if you could look into Leo’s little mind he probably thinks he should be top dog right now. And he did try to shaft Kenny during the attempted coup, but the Castlebar Calamity was too weak to send Foot-in Mouth into the wilderness.

• ciaran84 30/01/12 #

ye kenny for the boot dumphy for supreme leader

Add New Comment