TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Troika warned ‘a bomb will go off’ in Dublin unless bondholders repaid

Transport Minister Leo Varadkar conveyed the strong words from the Troika partners in an interview last night.

Leo Varadkar
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE TROIKA WARNED the Irish government that unless it paid back over €1 billion due to bondholders in Anglo Irish Bank this week “a bomb will go off in Dublin”, according to Transport Minister Leo Varadkar.

Varadkar used the terms in an interview with The Week in Politics on RTÉ television last night.

He claimed that the government was warned by the Troika – European Commission, European Central Bank, and International Monetary Fund – of dire consequences if it failed to pay back €1.25 billion due to bondholders in the now defunct bank.

Varadkar said it would lead to higher borrowing costs for banks and semi-State companies which would have a knock-on effect on household bills such as electricity and gas as well as for people on variable mortgage rates.

“What they’ve [the Troika] said to us really is that it’s on your head,” he said. “We don’t want you to default on these payments, it is your decision ultimately. But a bomb will go off and the bomb will go off in Dublin, not in Frankfurt.”

Also speaking on the programme, Sinn Féin’s deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald argued this was not the case claiming that “the IMF has always taken a different position than the ECB” on the issue of paying back bondholders.

Such positions became apparent at the Troika’s press conference in Dublin last week where the IMF’s mission director to Ireland Craig Beaumont said he had no objection to the government enforcing losses on the senior unsecured bondholders in the banks.

In contrast the European Central Bank’s Klaus Masuch expressed reservations about such a move indicating it would cause a financial panic that could “spill over” to other countries.

IMF and ECB divided on whether Ireland should burn bondholders>

Read next:

Comments (150 Comments)

• The most dangerous adversary is one with nothing to lose, THE TROIKA and its lackeys in the Dail are getting the message at last, burn the bond holders because all they’re doing is milking us for what they can get now and they know it is not sustainable. Default now and tell them to FUCK OFF and get it over with.
    It will make no difference what so ever to the people of this country. The only bomb that will go off is a reality check for the bastards that are screwing us.

• His choice of language using the words “bomb going off in Dublin “is a best in bad taste at worst it’s a disgrace
    Last week we have noonan using another phrase causing uproar.
    The continuity F F boys are out quick with fear threats.It’s a disgrace.The Germans are bending over backwards to keep the whole thing together.Greece getting 65% write off with new money at 3 to 3.5% yet we will pay 8.5 on Anglo debt with no write off.
    Yet top boy Ireland will pay and pay.

• I don’t get it. The IMF guys have said publicly that we can burn the bondholders. So who is it that wants us to pay the bondholders, government or IMF?

• More scare mongering and bully boy tactics. But if a bomb is to go off, could they place it in the dáil please.

• Wish to God we had leaders with a trace element of gumption like Iceland…welcome to wimp city.

• I love the way Leo was sent out by the government to tell this news ! Wasn’t he the one who told ” not one more cent will be put into the banks” Me thinks this is a slap from Enda

• Galway 23/01/12 #

Well technically we are the bomb. As the ECB say if we don’t play ball financial panic will spread to other countries right? Surely this gives us a strong position to even marginally rebalance the existing agreements to circumvent a wider headache for the ECB.

• Burn them and let’s live with the consequences of it! I’m prepared for the worse!!! Pull the whole thing down and build it up again by ourselves!

• Now you are talking, sure we are going to live on lower levels, but that is coming anyway and we will not be in control. With the other way, people will be downgraded BUT everyone will have food and shelter and we will continue to trade and do business with other countries, and the downgrading of our lifestyles will be under OUR control. What’s more other countries will follow our lead and plenty will do business with us, in fact contrary to decreased lifestyle, such a scenario may only be very short-lived as the whole economic world structure is re-structured, to make way for a system without interest fiat money.

In which case just like after Rome fell, the Irish will emerge as savious once again of civilisation. But we have to say ‘eff off’

• ahfukit 23/01/12 #

When you buy shares and they lose value, YOU DONT GET YOUR MONEY BACK. Let the bond holders stew. Investors will always look to make money and invest in economies. Whether Ireland burn the bond holders or not, there will always be investors there.

• A bond and a share are different entities. A share rises and falls based on the performance of the company and can be sold at any time… It’s a ‘share’ partial ownership in the company. A bond is money that the company is borrowing from you for a specific period at a specific interest rate.

• Right so – it’s a loan to a bankrupt company – so let the bond holder be on the list of creditors and take what it can get from the remains of the company that has gone bankrupt. If the bondholders have loaned to a company that went bankrupt – it should be THEIR problem, not ours. It’s no good pretending now that anyone is going to want to lend to failed Irish banks – it’s the ones that are still in business and riding out the recession that are the concern for these people – or should be.

• True Andrew – but they only have to be repaid if they were guarenteed under the terms of the bond…… also the “company” is a defunct bank so it is not a simple as you are making it.

• Dave 23/01/12 #

More scare tactics. Iceland did it. Where were the “bombs”? Dumb phrase. Dumb excuse.

• lets hope they plant the fecking bomb in the dail it might wake that shower that reside there up,

• We are at war! There’s been a lot on YouTube and www and it’s not outside the realms of possibility to suspect some of it is true. I’m sure many threats have been made to our government ministers. I’m sure they are petrified. It’s a pity they don’t have the courage to stand up for Ireland and have loyalty to their country and her citizens. I also think it’s time we all pulled together on this island to stand up to these economic terrorists.

I know it sounds a bit scary but don’t buy the German/Franco thing. The enemy is big money, European too but mainly USA and Russia. Makes me laugh really because most of this money is just numbers on a computer screen – no gold to back it up. Can’t feel scared when you’re laughing!

It’s great I don’t have to worry about the men in the White coats anymore. Varadkar has confirmed what I said tonight. And I’m sure there’s been more than bomb threats made. People have been killed over far less than €1.25 billion. Just saying…

• The bomb squad detonated a pipe bomb lastnight in Dublin city centre.. Does that mean we don’t have to pay the bondholders now?.. Sweet!

• Leo looks like his staring at a bomb just about to explode in the above pic. There was a bomb scare outside the Swan pub in Dublin last night – looks like the Troika are chief suspects. Ajay Chopra aka Carlos the Jackal.

• Aydo 23/01/12 #

I’d like to think we’ve had enough and were going to the streets before this these money’s are paid.

• We were told if we don’t pay the cost of living will go up. As its already rising it seems like the government are just using scare tactics again. God help the next campaigner that calls to my home looking for support as I’ll explode on them.

• Should have lynched them when they were here last week, kick it off big style!

• We have been bombed to pieces over the last few years. Even my bomb shelter is cracking. What is one more bomb going off?

• 10 30 am just passed Anglo on green plenty of boys in blue outside door

• March 20 will be default day in Greece. Will we get there before then?The troika band are still playing the tune as the ship sinks.

• Yes Leo , it’s not about a ” bomb” going off in Dublin… It’s IS a BOMB going off in Frankfurt, use your head you imbecile. It’s the troika blatantly threatening our country with bully boy tactics, so man up.take the black eye and show them some of what we have been lacking for years “FIGHTING SPIRIT”

• Fantastic file photo.
    This I thought was going to be a govenment of straight talking as opposed to the one we have of secrecy and the odd life and death inflamatory remark

• I’m glad I didn’t vote for this evil little gremlin. I wish more people hadn’t. Seriously though, where does this p r ick get off with his threats and unquestioning cowing the the Troika scum?

• Scare mongering and bully boy tactics.

• Love how when Fine Gael/ Labour were in Opposition they refused to accept Fianna Fáil’s logic that we had no choice… Now, it’s their excuse too!
    “Not one more cent…” Indeed…

• I don’t know about everyone else but looking at the state of a health service and education system, it seems to me like a bomb has already gone off. If the ECB are saying that Irish people will bear the brunt of burning bondholders than so be it. This government need make a decision that wasn’t already made for them by the previous one!

• Call the bluff and grow a pair of Balls for fuck sake.

• This bomb that will go off is a stupid metaphor from a rather naive individual. Is there no one in this government that we have elected that has courage or are they all a bunch of lapdogs. I guess I have answered my own question because the 25 of January is coming in the year of the dragon our bank pleasing government is going to screw us yet again. A defunct bank that pays out that is just bullshit. The senior bond holders should except the bank no longer exists so except their losses and move on. 1.25 billion is a drop in the ocean to the amount of money that is flowing round the ‘markets’ at the moment with nearly 500 trillion in derivatives in the shadow banking system. The whole system has got too a level of ultimate corruption with laws be rewritten in the US and rehypotacation and hypotagation in the city of London to the infinite. When will people realize the system has got to a debt level that is uncertainable. The debt levels within the banking system have gone beyond the beyond the bank holiday is coming so take your money out of banks and put it in a credit union. A revaluation of people’s money will happen in order to rebalance the debt in the banks favor. This has been predicted in the US and so Europe will follow.
    The bomb that will go off is the debt bomb and if Ireland’s so called leaders in ‘power’ had any gumption they would let it go off. But as well known Michael noonan has his bonds and I am sure a few others do as well so why wouldn’t they pay themselves. The rich get corrupt while the richer get away with ultimate corruption because the laws change in there favor. What a brilliant system we have “let the serfs suffer” springs to mind.

• nice post!

• Certainly caught my attention. Just a small correction though Human if that’s alright.

”1.25 billion is a drop in the ocean to the amount of ””MONEY”’ that is flowing round the ‘markets’ at the moment with nearly 500 trillion in derivatives in the shadow banking system.”

• Some good points. Its very a case of “you go first” with the whole debt thing. No one (or should I say France & Germany) wants to have a default with within the Euro but maybe the time is coming when Greece will do it, the sky won’t fall in and it gives cover for everone else to act and start again. However I would not be holding up our Credit Unions as Paragons of financial solidity. Yesterdays article in the Sunday Business post on Newbridge Credit Union was sobering and is a template of how many Credit Unions have pursued lending over the last 6 or 7 years. I am sure there are management committees around the country saying “there but for the grace of god go I……”

• franco 23/01/12 #

looks more like varadkar the impaler in that photo..

• Really starting to not give a crap any more. In honour of the centenary of the sinking of the Titanic. I feel like the passengers are being blamed for hitting the iceberg and now are being told we have to pay White Star line to rebuild the farking ship!

I’m giving up commenting here, what’s the point?

• What’s with Leo Varadkar’s eyes? Did they drug him to say that? I will still come to Dublin for the protest outside Anglo in Stephen’s Green from now until Wednesday. I don’t like bullying and scare tactics. But its about strength in numbers. Last protest was the beginning of November outside Dept of Finance. We paid over €700,000,000 then. There were only a handful of people protesting. Richard Boyd Barrett was there. There were people from Holland and Belgium that were passionate about the whole thing, but where were the Irish people? I eventually met Michael Noonan on his way into the Dept of Finance. At that stage their were only 3 of us. When I returned home people were not very supportive. In fact one woman tried to humiliate me in front of others for going. She started slagging off the Occupy movement. That’s the country I live in unfortunately. People seemed to be dumbed down.

• Regarding the Leo V comment it seems the Indians have now joined the cowboys

• “You’ve done grand, laddie! Now ya know what ya have ta do! Burn the house down! Burn ‘em all!”

• I’m confused, so if we don’t pay the ECB/IMF are going to plant a bomb in Dublin and kill us?

• STFU Varadkar you Idiot. The only bomb that should go off is the one under your arses!!! Plonker!

• I agree. We need to effing stop pay unguaranteed loans.

• Dave 23/01/12 #

How about this whole nation pitch up outside the Dail some day soon and do not move until they get the message. The time for talking is done. Who’s up for it?

• Count me in. What date?

• I went to some protests in 2009 and 2010, nobody cared, you’d have barely known there was a protest on if you were around the corner, with the exception of the oconnel st one.

I then made a point of not voting FG or labour, and tried to explain to as many people as possible that a vote for them was a vote for this debt. Many economists and opposing party leaders warned the same thing. Once again, nobody cared, as a matter of fact sinn fein were laughed at for their “insane” policies (which were to burn bondholders).

The point of my post is, if the people ever had a chance to let their feelings known it was the last election. The people have clearly spoken. I’m not willing to go back and protest again, when the people clearly don’t give a shit.

• Now until Wed evening outside Anglo Irish Bank. See fb occupy dame street for details. That is if ye are serious.

• Don’t give up.

• Adrian.
      The are some residual elements of the boom period ‘I’m alright Jack’ philosophy around still and the instinctive attitude of the Irish voter to think about the cheap handy favour when voting or expressing an opinion is wearing thin.
      The gombeen politicians box of cheap tools is getting empty, the money’s not there to lend credence to vote buying catch phrases.
      Don’t quit when the time is getting near.

• What foreigners have the right to threaten the Irish people metaphorically or otherwise we keep getting told wat to do ….the scolding and do what your told attitude from our representatives in government It’s not working ….
    All the paying back in the world is not going to clear this debt /
    We are a troika guinea pig and it’s only tolerable for a while ….

• I know I’m just repeating what others have said. I just have to say it though… I really thought I voted for “not another cent” not “lets give unsecured investors to a bust bank billions”.

• is it okay if we don’t make them pay back but get some sort of compromise, like actually burning the bondholders?

• Is this, in fact, a threat of terrorism?

• No. It’s a metaphor. Now shush, grownups are talking.

• I know ;)

It was more a facetious comment on the choice words used by Varadkar to instill some fear in us all. So instead of detailing the exact threatened consequences, he has veiled the consequences in a throw back to a period of fear in Ireland. It’s cowardly.

Yours.
      A Grownup

• Alan D
      Yes he is inciting FEAR . or trying to. I emailed him and told him this. He shouild be protecting us.End of story.
      I am so angry ! ! This is a MInister threatening us, bullying us, Domestic violence. The man is a plank. but a dangerous one . I am beyond disappointment . Enough is enough.

• The last BOOM didn’t do us any favors ……. What makes him think we need another ?

• The Ray Darcy Show is organising an bulk e-mail asking the question he evaded when Vincent Brown asked last week.

Read the e-mail and sign up here: http://www.todayfm.com/Shows/Weekdays/Ray-DArcy-Show/KlausEmail.aspx

• Thanks for the link. Great idea, but I don’t think Mr. Klaus cares what anyone thinks except his paymasters.

• I’ve added my Email – but sadly it will not even get to him, I’m sure there are a couple of staff to handle this – plus they will have Filters on the server to reject mail coming from Ireland with the words Bailout, repay, unguaranteed bondholders, Anglo, defunct bank, Vincent Browne.

:-)

• i hope they plant it in the dail and wake them shower of thick fuckers up…..

• Anyone who is remotely disgusted with this little twit’s threats I urge you to take a minute to go to his website http://www.leovaradkar.ie and send him a message telling him to cop on.

• Noonan and all the Bondholders took a gamble and lost Why on earth should we pay for their greed.Enough is enough.Diesel and petrol up again;more taxes for them.Car tax up again,and most roads in shambles.What the hell are they doing with all the taxes.Gambling again,no doubt.Showe of spinless dogs the lot of them.

• jimbo 23/01/12 #

its time we all take stance and say no.

• It’s getting to the stage where none of us will believe ANY of the scare tactics of this Government and – hopefully – total civil disobedience will bring them down, along with their banker friends.

• What civil disobedience? The 20 people at occupy dame street? The ULA not paying the household tax? There will be no change and no revolution. Nobody cared when they guaranteed the banks. There was an opportunity for change with the general election and the people went for more of the same. When they made the deal with the IMF there were 50 people outside government buildings protesting while 800,000 people watched X factor. The government already know they can do whatever they want without any worries for the next few years.

• Not any more Gearoid ,
      People were in shock , numbed into disbelief . Now people are beginning to THINK, to see what is really going on and they can see who is gaining while we are sinking into poverty and submission.

• Okay Leo find me a reputable economist willing to face Vincent Browne and answer all his questions fully and truthfully that agrees with you, I can guarantee you that you won’t find one.

• Vincent B asks the questions and dispatches the lobby fodder back to the pavilion without having troubled the scorer.Tilt the lilt Enda and Michael (homer) noonan never appear on the show the questions are too hard and even the boffins from europe dont like this line of questioning.
    On another note some clever person tweeted that the bond holders are now the BOMB holders
    VERY GOOD

• I siincerely believe that the Irish people would much rather bear the burden of paying off their own legitimate debts than the illegitimate debts of foreign bondholders.

• Mark A S
      I have been saying this for months. Get the F out now, burn the bond holders and
      start all over on our own , At least we will be working for ourselves. It is a lot better
      than working for the Euro bond holders.

• Default. Fuck the kraut troika.

• You mean capitalist and neo-marxist alliance troika. Krauts were defeated, the commies and neo-marxists won and filled their place remember. In any case, it is not Germany it is international bankers, from Wall street, go and look up who most of these guys are. Same people who screwed Germany before both world wars.

• Minister Varadkar claims that burning the bondholders will increase the cost of borrowing to the Irish Banks. The bulk of Irish banks borrowing is currently coming from the ECB. The only way interest rates are going to increase is if ECB chooses to increase them. This is no longer about market confidence in Irish banks but is a blatant threat by the ECB to punish us for making our own decisions about our finances

The Minister also claims that there will be no immediate effect on the economy or the national finances as a result of a default and that it will be only be seen in when Anglo is finally wound up in eight years time – this may be the case but does he really believe that we won’t need that €1.25 billion in eight years time?

• John 23/01/12 #

Is that a V2 I hear overhead? The reich lives on.

• What an eye catching title to an article..

• …..and all this from the party of change and reform. Truthfully I expect nothing less from the fascists of FG but Labour for f$£k’s sake get out of this government; you’re dancing with the devil! Because when the shit does hit the fan (or to use Fascist Gael’s metaphor, when the bomb goes off) don’t expect sympathy from those reacting the most!?

• WW2 never ended. The Germans are coming .

• This is Max Keiser’s headline for the week.

• In reply to John Murphy your quite right it’s not “”"money”"” as such it’s more like imaginmoney or made up fiat money. Or in the shadow banking system of derivatives it’s the world debt that will keep governments of the world enslaved to the “friendly” banking system. Derivatives have got out of control the financial regulators in most country’s do not have the mathematicians to work out how they actually work. The regulations in m

• If they burn the Bondholders (which they will not, sadly), every time you log onto the Internet you will be directed here http://www.deutsch-lernen.com/

• Your right John. It’s a Shame we are not working for the betterment of society instead we are working to pay off bullshit debt that doesn’t exist. Thanks a lot physicists and a little bit of blame on nick leeson who first taught to use this way of trading derivatives and brought down barings back in 94. It’s now legal to trade the way he did back in 94 so what does that tell us.

• Bit of an insensitive statement considering the amount of bombs that the army bomb disposal team has been called out to diffuse over the last few weeks.

• This is their tactic . A fear tactic especially if you grew up during the troubles
      when bombs were actually going off.HoweverI take your point about the bomb
      disposal teams doing great work in recent months. Bad show Leo Veradkar.

• Leo – the Indian who speaks for the cowboys.

• Im no advocate of paying back any senior bondholders associated with banks who recklessly lent to Anglo, and in essence are part of the Troika…. However, it is true that they can enforce a financial “bomb” in Dublin….. That’s not a veiled threat, but it’s also not a threat we can take lightly…. standing up to them is one thing, but allowing ourselves be open to more austerity cannot be allowed either. The question is whether the financial “bomb” is worth not paying the senior bondholders. Are we ready to back-up the notion being stated here that we should not payout the senior bondholders, with pulling out of the Euro?- because without that support we must accept the payout/sucumb to the ECB “threat” for the sake of saving more austerity. We are at the brink of an austerity level where the next rounds will start to hit home very hard. Should we take the austerity induced by not paying but maintaining an EU lifetime in the medium term, just pay out and save some more austerity in the short term, or take the required austerity for the long term benefit of pulling out of the euro and perhaps aligning ourselves back with our old enemy/new friends sterling? would be interesting to hear anybody’s take on that….just a thought, no expert here…

• Worst headline ever.

• why ministers need to lie and falsify claims that doomsday is crouched ready to pounce on us should we dare to default on the 1.25billion due this week. I can only assume that there is personal financial gain to each member of our present and last goverment to implement the payment with no regards to the wishes of the masses.
    As we know from our political past,the brown envelope very much enhanced the pockets of those in the driving seat in goverment when our developers needed to bypass particular planning obstructions,would it be outrages to think that enda and co have a vested financial intrested in ensuring that we stump up the 1.25billion and screw the taxpayer to the point of suicide.

• 1.25 billion is dirt cheap compared to the run it could easily entice on state owned AIB and BOI…

Add New Comment