TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

A Central Bank wedding? Possible uses for the Dame Street building

Or the Central Bank Niteclub anyone?

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

A GROUP OF architects have suggested turning the Central Bank building into a library for Dublin city after the current occupants leave Dame Street for their new abode on North Wall Quay.

According to a front page report in the Irish Times, a few more off-centre ideas emerged from a recent brainstorming session, including changing the modern building into a missile silo, bird sanctuary or 24-hour Tesco.

TheJournal.ie has taken a look at what other countries have converted their old banks into and come up with some more alternative suggestions:

A Central Bank wedding? Possible uses for the Dame Street building
1 / 10
  • Toronto

Built in 1885 as the head office of the Bank of Montreal by architects Darling and Curry, it was the most striking of Toronto's 19th-century banks. Fact: it was one of the only buildings in the area to survive Toronto's great fire of 1904. Image: Grant McDonald (Flickr)
  • Toronto

A shot of the ceiling at the Hockey Hall of Fame. The bank ceased operating there in 1949 but the Hall of Fame did not open until 1993. Image: johncatral (Flickr)
  • Porto

Built in 1958 to house the Bank of Portugal, the Estado Nova building now houses the Costume Museum of Viana do Castelo. Image: portugalacessivel.com
  • Prague

This opulent five-star hotel was originally built by the Austrian architect Wölf for the Czech Mortgage Bank. It now houses a restaurant, Cigar Bar, business centre, swimming pool, spa and wedding halls. Image: Boscolo Prague
  • Norway

The Museum of Contemporary Art opened its doors in Oslo in the former HQ of the Norges Bank. Designed by the architect Ingvar Olav Hjorth, this beautiful Art Nouveau-inspired building in Norwegian granite and marble was built in 1907.
  • Lucerne

The former home of the Swiss National Bank was built in 1924 but the conversion took place between 2000 and 2002. It now houses the Rosengart collection, including works by Picasso, Renoir and Cézanne.
  • Lucerne

The basement - originally the bank`s vaults - is home to the large collection of works by Paul Klee. Here the building`s existing structure has been skilfully adapted to create a system of different but interlinked rooms. The works are shown with reduced lighting, in view of their sensitivity.
  • London

Gibson Hall, a converted banking hall in London, hosts awards ceremonies, barbeques and weddings. The building was erected in 1862 by the National Provincial Bank of England.
  • Bedfordshire

The old Lloyds Bank in Bedford has had a number of uses since the occupants moved down the High Street. Known as the local White House, it was a £10 clothing store and chemist.
  • Bedfordshire

It was also a night club called Venom.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (51 Comments)

• Turn it into a Thunderdome for lawless politicians to fight to the death. Mick Wallace and Michael Healy Rae can be the first fight.

• Turn it into a contemporary art museum; something like the tate modern in London

• Barry 02/07/12 #

Out of the suggestions mentioned above a library seems the best by far

• I would have thought it would be a good investment for Trinity College being just around the corner? For future expansion?

• Bryan 02/07/12 #

A theatre.

• Andrew 02/07/12 #

Art gallery etc someone for tourist to spend a day in as well..

• Dole office

• Give it a makeover cover it in Glass, a central library with a restaurant ontop. Glad to see the Abercrombie and Fitch store getting renovated across the road from central bank, opening in Autumn.

• Notice that most of these foreign banks don’t look like they were put up by the Soviet Union, and I bet they likely fit into their surroundings. The Central Bank is distinctive… But that’s about the best you can say about it.

• How about moving the Abbey Theatre there?

• Dave Mc 02/07/12 #

knock it down and use that area as a European style central square

• The Irish Central Bank building is really ugly compared to all the other banks in your pictures.

• turn it into a Irish craft excellence expo . where small craft shops from all over the country can display their wares for a couple of weeks at a time. cost to display should be set at a level where the building pays for itself.

• I wonder if we could move Dublin city council into t’ knock the concrete fortress they’re in & expose Viking Dublin like what they should have done in the 1st place!

• An art gallery along the lines of MOMA in new york would be nice, and would counteract the negative effect of the 3 story Maccy D’s they are putting in templebar square. Boo.

• I like the Library idea, I’m always in favour of more lending libraries. I think it’s so big though that it could probably house a number of entities. A cultural hub including a library, bookable public meeting rooms, a gallery and a small concert area would be amazing.

• A homeless shelter.
    Take down the railings and let the Sk8er bois back.
    A prison for Banksters.

It will probably end up as a Dealz.ie or Aldi store.

• I’ve been in France for the last two months and in that time I’ve noticed people commenting here have really become complacent “I’ll be at work and paying my taxes” idiots. Thankfully there are people like Reada who’ll protest and hold the governments accountable for charges and austerity to pay off gamblers in the banks. Paying taxes to keep the monetary Ponzi scheme going isn’t anything to be proud of. It’ll never pay off the increasing debt because debt is impossible to pay off. Every time money is created by central banks and borrowed by governments (with taxpayers money) it comes with interest, which means that more money has to be created to pay it off which also comes with interest and on and on and on. So debt is impossible to pay back. But that’s the whole point. When you indebt a nation you enslave it. You can demand they privatise their natural resources and workers will work for less. Africa is a great example. The monetary system is the greatest hoax in human history. We never learn about monetary theory in school because it is the most messed up illogical piece if crap ever devised and has only gotten worse after Nixon got rid of the Gold Standard, meaning money could be created without being pegged to gold, therefore no regulation. Good luck with the protest on Wednesday I hope you get a good turnout. And I hope the people too busy to attend due to work and school will be grateful and not spiteful that there are people sticking up for them against what is increasingly
    becoming a fascist government- which by definition is the merger of state and corporate powers. Too Big To Fail- famous last words.

• Too Long, Didn’t Read.

• @Colm Flaherty

tl;dr ;) :P

• Fair enough. Do you want me to break it into chunks? Or is it too stimulating for you.

• Ignore them Daniel. There are those who lie down and those who stand up.

• Haha, you’re core argument lacks even the most basic of economic knowledge. Don’t even bother reading it lads, the usual oul shite from the angry and underinformed.

• Daniel R 02/07/12 #

Enlighten me Billy. Show me where I’m wrong.

• “It’ll never pay off the increasing debt because debt is impossible to pay off.”

International debt can in fact be paid off, all it requires is positive growth in the economy and a government with the fiscal responsibility to earmark a portion of tax income larger than the yearly interest for the repayment of such debt. Had Fianna Fail been more fiscally responsible during their time in power we could have significantly reduced our external debt. Not all repayment needs to be done through central bank lending, which is your core fallacy.

Now, as far as debt equating to slavery, you forget the ability of any sovereign nation to default from their debt. Hence, while we may have obligations based on our debt, they are self-imposed to a certain extent by our desire and willingness to remain a player in the international markets. If you think the job situation is bad now, see what would happen if we defaulted. Think Ireland pre-IDA – maidens at the crossroads and so forth.

Finally, how about you tell me a few things. Tell me what you actually know about the Gold Standard, and the inherent (serious) problems it had. Tell me how exactly this country is becoming ‘fascist’ (by the way you confused Fascism with Corporatism, two connected but seperate ideologies both practiced in Italy under Mussolini, but then again I guess ‘Fascist’ looks better on a billboard. Yawn.)

• Daniel R 02/07/12 #

Let’s deal with your first argument: Positive economic growth is needed. What is economic growth? Economic growth isn’t growth at all it is cyclical consumption i.e the moving around of money from employer to employee to consumer. The term economy means to preserve and create efficiency of natural resources- so how could anyone say that consuming more does this? There’s your first fallacy. Who do you propose we get capital from to pay off debts other than central banks?

• Daniel, I refuse to engage in conversation with someone who has no interest in dealing with the issues I raise. You asked me to show where you were wrong, so I did. I contradict you and prove you wrong, so instead of dealing with these points you move to new points. It’s all very exhausting dealing with you.

• I’d love to see your dictionary by the way, because you seem to keep getting definitions wrong. I advise upgrading to the Oxford English or Mirriam Webster.

• Daniel R 02/07/12 #

You’re misunderstanding my position here. I’m not thinking in the framework of the flawed monetrary system that created debt. You’re coming up with solutions that would reduce dangerous debt but there is no way for a country to be debt free as long as money is printed by central banks- in Europe’s case the ECB, in the US’s the federal reserve. It’s called fiat money, or money created from nothing, and this has led to the collapse.And the “Inherent, serious problems” you say the gold standard had? even the president of the worls bank says we should bring it back: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/investing/gold/8117300/Bring-back-the-gold-standard-says-World-Bank-chief.html
      On the subject of where I get my definitions- Heres an example: definition of economic growth by the businessdictionary.com- Increase in a country’s productive capacity, as measured by comparing gross national product (GNP) in a year with the GNP in the previous year. So it’s all about GNP. Health care accounted for 17% of GDP in 2009- 2.5 trillion dollars. This does not collerate with an increased quality of life but a sick nation. You speak alot about fallacies and that I “lack knowledge in even basic economic knowledge”. The fact is that economic knowledge is fundementally flawed in its most basic concepts because it is based on a free market system that socialises losses to the fullest extent and privatises profits to the same extent

• A big reference library, would be a fantastic resource that a city like Dublin deserves and there is so much space that you could also fit in a normal lending library and a couple of lecture theatres for the likes of the OU, use the current staff canteen as a cage ect. Also it’s not an ugly building, it’s one of the best examples of good 60s/70s modernism around, it is, however, unacceptably dirty and needs a good scrub

• The Central Bank building should be re-opened and re-used as ‘The Irish Expo’ . it should be self funding and include many of the ideas already being discussed. Maybe Art and Craft Expo floors allowing Irish artists and craft workers and musicians to demonstrate / perform and sell their work for a few weeks at a time for a reasonable charge. A small theatre for new theatre and music productions, changing every two weeks or so. A Childrens’ section including fun, artistic and scientific activities. An Irish culture and heritage section, including an intro to the National Archives, General Records Office and National Library etc . A Museum with selected rotating exhibits from the National Museum and the Museum of Modern Art. A shop selling related products. A cafe / restaurant on top.

• Starbucks and TGI Friday’s seems the most likely suggestion….

• I have a suggestion for Wednesdsy 18th July. Join us in the Central Bank Plaza at 5 pm for the NATIONAL PROTEST. We are assembling there and marching up to An Dáil. Time we made a bit of noise before Angela Merkel starts giving Enda Kenny another indian Head massage. See ye there.

• just knock it down and restore dame st to its former state maybe even with a few trees

• Surely turning it into a library would cost us taxpayers more money to pay for it? Sell it and use the money to pay off some of the debt !

• rubot 02/07/12 #

blow it up. it would be cathartic.

• Leave it decay. Poor stewardship by the Central Bank and Financial Regulator contributed to bankrupting the country. Leaving it abandoned and untended like so many estates and commercial parks would seem a fitting tribute.

Add New Comment